You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'It's quite demoralising': Dozens queue for over an hour to view three-bed rental in Dublin

People who attended the viewing said they faced a wait of over an hour to even get into the house.

PROSPECTIVE TENANTS AT a house viewing in Dublin last night have expressed their frustration with the rental market after they waited over an hour with dozens of other people just to see the property.

Conor Finn, who planned to attend the viewing in Drumcondra last night, shared a photo of the queue outside the property at 8.44pm. Dozens of people waiting to get into the property can be seen in the image. 

In a video posted by Finn at 9.30pm, at least 50 people could be seen still queuing to view the property. Finn said he had left the queue “after no real movement or chance of viewing the house”.

A number of other hopeful tenants, including Ben O’Donnell also shared images and footage of the queue:

O’Donnell told The Journal that he had arrived early for the viewing, which was due to start at 8.30pm and by 8pm “there were already 100 to 120 people there, conservatively”. 

“There were more people who came along but when they saw the queue decided to leave,” he said. “I can’t understand why the letting agency invited so many people.”

O’Donnell said he finally made it into the house at around 9.15pm and estimates that there were still 50 people in the queue behind him. 

The rent on the three-bed property is €1,850, which O’Donnell said may explain the high level of interest because he believes it is “under-priced for the current market” and in a good location.

He is not optimistic about his chances of getting the house.

“With the sheer volume of people I have maybe a 1% chance, it’s not like some viewings where there are ten or 15 people and they might remember you because you can chat personally with the landlord or estate agent; no one could make an impression,” he said.

“I was saying to my friend on the way out ‘make sure to look him in the eye and shake his hand’, anything to stand out a bit, but I wouldn’t be resting too much hope on it.”

He has been looking for a property to move into for a month-and-a-half without any luck and said he will need to find somewhere in the next two weeks. 

“It’s quite demoralising in the long-term, even if you can find somewhere you can just about get by with half your take-home salary gone straight away on rent,” he said.

“How is that going to change in the next seven to eight years when, God willing, we might have a family – how will we even afford it on two salaries? I have a contract to be a trainee solicitor and you’d think that’s a good profession to get by on but I’m not so sure about that anymore.”

Another person who attended the viewing told The Journal they also made it inside the house after queuing for over an hour. 

“I was amazed at the amount of people who had been called… [there were] more than 100 people,” he said. 

“I’ve been in similar situations in the past as well. I arrived as a student in 2019 in Cork and that time too I witnessed many viewings where there were more than 100 people. People didn’t give up and go home as the situation on the ground is so bad.”

He said in the current climate, even getting a viewing is “a miracle”. 

“It’s so stressful,” he said. “The rents are unimaginable and nowhere near what you get paid.”

The latest rental report from property listings website Daft.ie found advertised rents for homes were 12.6% higher between April and June this year than they were in the same three-month period in 2021. It also found that on 1 August there were just 716 homes available to rent across the country and fewer than 300 were available in Dublin.

Responding to Conor Finn’s first tweet about the queue, former TD Billy Timmins questioned whether it was real.

“Am a bit of a doubtful Thomas so would like the address, agent and date time [sic] to authenticate. Thanks,” he wrote. 

Speaking to The Journal, Timmins said he is “well aware of the difficulties with regards to rental property”.

“I have young family members myself who are students and work in Dublin and it’s a continuous battle to get accommodation,” he said.

Timmins said he had spent weeks himself looking at rental properties for his own children but had never seen such an “unacceptable” situation. 

Letting agent Michael Carr told The Journal that the scenes witnessed at the viewing yesterday were “a direct reflection of what’s happening in the moment with the property market”.

Carr said he “took no pleasure” in queuing up 150 people for the viewing, but said he had heard from tenants that they often did not receive responses when they expressed interest in rentals and he wanted to give people a chance.

“I have my own company that I built from scratch and I was going as fast as I could, conducting myself professionally and was walking up and down the queue to try to keep people’s spirits up,” he said.

“There were people coming from as far away as Wexford to see it and they appreciated that they actually got a response. There are about 300 emails for that particular property that are still unanswered.”

Carr said he expects to notify the successful tenants by the end of this week and confirmed that the rent had not increased from the advertised rate.
He said he sympathises with tenants as he is aware of the difficulties in the market at the moment. Carr said it is time for everyone involved in the sector to “sit down around a table and sort it out”.

A top priority, he said, should be ensuring private landlords can pay a lower rate of tax so they have parity with vulture funds that own numerous properties.

“It’s a shame what’s happening because everyone in Ireland deserves a home,” he said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

78 Comments
    Mute Irish View
    Favourite Irish View
    Aug 17th 2022, 11:48 AM

It’s not surprising. Ireland’s population has exploded in recent times. A housing shortage was inevitable.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Aug 17th 2022, 11:54 AM

@Irish View: it’s hardly exploded, averaging about 1.2% per year recently or do you mean over the last 100 years which equates to about a 50% growth?

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Aug 17th 2022, 11:54 AM

@Irish View: Thats a cop out. Barely anything has been built for over a decade and that’s how FFG and NIMBY’s like it.

Mute The CFC Standard
    Favourite The CFC Standard
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:00 PM

@Irish View: It’s not inevitable. How do you usually respond to an increase in demand for something? You increase the supply. The whole reason prices have skyrocketed is because there’s a demand/supply mismatch. What are you talking about?

Mute Chris Whelan
    Favourite Chris Whelan
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:15 PM

@The CFC Standard: for 10 years the government treated construction workers like dirt let them rot now big panic build build build were workers are getting older no young lads even interested working construction remember 2005 96000 houses built in 1 year at the rate tradesmen leaving the industry it will get worse

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:39 PM

@Irish View: Here’s population and increase since 1986

1986 – 3.540 million people – Increase of 97,300
    1991 – 3.525 million people – Decrease of 14,900
    1996 – 3.626 million people – increase 25,357 (annual increase 6,339)
    2002 – 3.917 million people – increase 291,249 (annual increase 72,812)
    2006 – 4.234 million people – increase 317,722 (annual increase 79,430)
    2011 – 4.581 million people – increase 341,421 (annual increase 85,355)
    2016 – 4.761 million people – increase 173,613 (annual increase 43,403)
    2022 – 5.124 million people – increase 361,671 (annual increase 60,278)

Rate of Population increased, accelerated after 2000, 22 years ago. For most of that time we built enough homes, there was no housing crisis, something changed:

https://i.imgur.com/xMC3yE0.jpg

and Social Homes:

https://i.imgur.com/k3zERGG.jpg

The lack of housing in the last 10 years isn’t related to population increase.

There was the 2007-2008 property bubble financial crash that stopped house building, an event exacerbated by government’s switch from building social homes to HAP / rent model leaving, leaving many young people in rented accommodation unable to save to buy home. The government also promotes a free market house building model, attracting foreign investment. New homes are build to rent or sold at unaffordable prices, businesses want to make a profit they are not here to solve the housing crisis, building too many homes undermines market value and profits.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:48 PM

@Irish View: Always one that is desperate to downplay the situation, blaming a population surge is just peak FG/FF mindsets and then having no empathy at all. Embarrassing stuff but expected here on comments.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:56 PM

@Irish View: we have a census every 5 to make sure this kind of thing doesn’t happen. The governments of the last 15 years have failed as the clearly did t prepare enough stock to meet needs.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:04 PM

@David Jordan: On the nail. Also the population surge was to be expected and plans should have been made.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:53 PM

@Chris Whelan: exactly I was one of those thrown on the scrap heap in 08. None of them had the brains to realise what would happen to all the skilled tradesmen but as you said we were treated as expendable. I feel sorry for anyone hoping to buy a home to raise a family.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:19 PM

@Irish View: it’s not inevitable. It’s poor planning.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Aug 17th 2022, 3:07 PM

@Steve: The population has increased, but family sizes have decreased. Fifty years ago it was not unusual to find families with six, eight or more children. Nowadays, a property might typically house one person, a couple, or a small family.

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Aug 17th 2022, 7:22 PM

@Earth Traveller: Good point

Mute Genera L Consensus
    Favourite Genera L Consensus
    Aug 18th 2022, 1:05 AM

@Irish View: housing shortage is there since 12AD

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:00 PM

Agent invited all at the same time to cause a bidding war on the rent. Its not the landlord increasing the rent if the tenant offers more.

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:18 PM

@barry moore: my thoughts exactly. There’s no other reason you can accept 100’s of viewings when only one will get the coveted prize. Greed at its worst.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:30 PM

@barry moore: that’s exactly it and most likely why the agent won’t comment. It’s the old art of gazumping. Agents love it.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:56 PM

@barry moore: That is not how it works. The rent has to be notified to the RTB and there are severe penalties for fraudulent reporting. It says the rent is underpriced to market indicating that €1850 is the max that can be charged regardless of how many tenants turn up. The free market doesn’t operate for rental which is why landlords are leaving. In a normal market increased demand would lead to increased supply and the competition from that would drive prices down.

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:07 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: Did any of you guys actually read the article, the agent said “expects to notify the successful tenants by the end of this week and confirmed that the rent had not increased from the advertised rate.”

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:15 PM

@barry moore: But he was quoted as saying that he’d checked twice and the rent is exactly as advertised and hasn’t been raised. Things are stressful enough for the people in queues without adding stuff that didn’t happen in this case. Sounds as if the letting agent himself queued with them and talked to them while they waited, which is decent enough. He didn’t leave them to get into the bidding battle you described.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:38 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: everyone knows auctioneers and letting agents never disclose under the table payments.

Mute Brian Osborne
    Favourite Brian Osborne
    Aug 17th 2022, 4:03 PM

@Alex Marquis: if you know this for sure, report the agent to the RTB

Mute Brian Osborne
    Favourite Brian Osborne
    Aug 17th 2022, 4:05 PM

@barry moore: you obviously dont know the law

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 17th 2022, 4:09 PM

@Brian Osborne: never claimed to know the law. I’m saying how some agents and landlords avoid tax and RTB.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 17th 2022, 4:28 PM

@Brian Osborne: and if you think landlords won’t accept cash to cut down on the amount of tax they pay your sadly mistaken. Everyone would accept cash instead of paying tax on it.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 17th 2022, 7:14 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Decent would be arranging five pairs of tenants to come for a viewing rather than wasting everyone’s time. It’s not X Factor.

Mute Gerry Dornan
    Favourite Gerry Dornan
    Aug 17th 2022, 11:52 AM

This is disgusting..

Mute Andy #FBPE
    Favourite Andy #FBPE
    Aug 17th 2022, 11:49 AM

This is genuinely crazy.

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:01 PM

And the FF/FG will promise again 20000 houses wil be built and then build zero again. Promises and lies are cheap.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:17 PM

True, and I’m so sick of this. Plus the smugger ones are still prating about “homes” as if they meant houses – when they mean overpriced substandard flats let at far too high a rate.

Mute Vincent Hughes
    Favourite Vincent Hughes
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:24 PM

Never changing.
    FFG in power for decades and this is the result.
    Our politicians seem in capable of a strategic plan, one that focuses on us not big business.
    No matter what they waffle on about the buck stops with FFG.
    What would I do:
    1. Stop rental only accommodation being built.
    2. Bring in stronger regional development to encourage living outside of Dublin.
    3. Develop a plan to discourage mass purchase of developments by big investment companies.
    4. Stop wasting great public land with data centres example Clonee.
    5. Introduce an empty house levy and a significant empty apartment levy.
    6. Raise tax significantly on investment companies involved in the rental only market example comer brothers etc.
    It takes a real leader to change.
    We haven’t got them.

Mute Roger Baines
    Favourite Roger Baines
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:48 PM

@Vincent Hughes: Stop rental only accommodation being built? How is that a good solution? Not everyone wants to or is in a position to buy. This is a crisis caused by a lack of supply and that idea would only exacerbate the crisis further.

Mute Vincent Hughes
    Favourite Vincent Hughes
    Aug 17th 2022, 4:46 PM

@Roger Baines: Take a deeper look at those behind the rental only accommodation what you will find is very large, wealthy investment firms who control the pace of availability, control the supply and artificially keep rents as high as possible.
    When you have researched these companies check out they have a lobby group here in Ireland whose sole focus is lobbying the government that they are the answer to the lack of accommodation but in my opinion are the cause. Its not just here this is happening but across Europe and further afield.
    So tell me these companies care about you and I and our ability to source accommodation now and when we are older?

Mute Roger Baines
    Favourite Roger Baines
    Aug 17th 2022, 10:59 PM

@Vincent Hughes: Not saying by any means that rental accommodation is the sole type of accommodation that should be built. But stopping it when there is a housing crisis is very counterproductive, and how exactly are prices going to lower when you completely cut off new supply? Continued demand for the same amount of housing stock will only drive prices further upwards.

Mute space invader
    Favourite space invader
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:16 PM

This has been happening for years. Nothing has changed except for higher prices.
    Lots of our workforce leaving cause of this.

Mute Cormac McKay
    Favourite Cormac McKay
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:43 PM

1 in 20 houses in Drumcondra is currently vacant according to the CSO! the vacant property tax can’t come soon enough.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Aug 17th 2022, 3:21 PM

@Cormac McKay: There’s ‘vacant’ and ‘vacant’. I worked on the recent census. A ‘vacant’ property could also mean, for example, someone was in hospital, temporarily working abroad, or having renovations done. Also, newly built apartments are habitable but new owners/ tenants have not moved in yet.

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:24 PM

Love all the people complaining about FF/FG not building houses. The biggest objectors to housing in Dublin are SF td,s including Mary-Lou

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:22 PM

@jerry slattery: All I’ve read in the past few years are perfectly valid concerns raised about proposed buy-to-lets being thrown up without any public transport, shops or space to park. They’re already costing people far too much salary just to have a place to sleep in, with no prospect of owning their own place. Besides that, those objecting are representing long-term residents who would like neighbours to move in, instead of a tenant factory.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Aug 17th 2022, 7:32 PM

@jerry slattery: someone was always going to come along and try to pin the blame on SF. The housing crisis has been created by current and previous governments and nobody else. The buck stops with them and it’s as simple as that.

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Aug 17th 2022, 8:29 PM

@jerry slattery: but but but .. typical blue shirt

Mute Sequoia
    Favourite Sequoia
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:29 PM

This type of queue is going to become more common and for one purpose only – publicity.

The agency will gladly promote the fact they literally have people queuing around the block for viewings. At the same time, they’re going to increase their database and ensure further queues.

Yes there’s a shortage of housing, yes, what’s there freshly available is probably overpriced for what it is, but it could have easily have been filled quietly from a list at whatever price.

This is a PR stunt, nothing more.

Mute space invader
    Favourite space invader
    Aug 17th 2022, 5:06 PM

@Sequoia: no it’s not. This is a housing crisis

Mute James O' Connor
    Favourite James O' Connor
    Aug 17th 2022, 7:40 PM

@Sequoia: Every listing receives thousands of emails, they hardly need any more ‘PR’.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Aug 17th 2022, 10:39 PM

@Sequoia: I agree with you 100% a PR stunt at its finest.
    The agent pretending to be such a caring individual. I was wondering when somebody would cop this as most were saying oh he trying to get a few bob extra. Anyway, kudos you hit the nail on the head.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Aug 17th 2022, 10:58 PM

@James O’ Connor: One thinks he gets his name out there as he has been pretty much successful in doing & his agency will of course attract more property owners. Always a method in the madness. Getting the huge press coverage he has is of course far more beneficial in terms of PR than the emails you speak about.

Mute Patricia O'Brien
    Favourite Patricia O'Brien
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:29 PM

The TD casting doubt that it was real ? How effing dare he, they really dont have a clue.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:26 PM

Agree, you’d really have to question whether his own family can afford to pay even more in rent so their experience of the search is slightly more civilised. How many independent young people would willingly bring their parents through one miserable long queue after another?

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:30 PM

@Patricia O’Brien: he is not a TD.

Mute BadBob
    Favourite BadBob
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:18 PM

This is a problem partly because small landlords are being driven out of the market

Mute Brian Doran
    Favourite Brian Doran
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:10 PM

But at €3,500 a month it was a bargain, people couldn’t pass it up……..

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:10 PM

@Brian Doran: The rent on the three-bed property is €1,850

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:21 PM

@Alan Byrne: ya till 1 of the 100s there offeres 2100 to make sure and secure it .. that’s what this is all about .. all would take it at a heart beat and agent can do the rest from the office .. this seems to be a bidding war nothing else

Mute James O' Connor
    Favourite James O' Connor
    Aug 17th 2022, 7:42 PM

@John Kavanagh: Read the article

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:44 PM

Not surprised in the interest when the asking is 1850 for a 3 bed. Same price for a 1 bed nearby

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:46 PM

Laissez-faire attitudes to housing provision are not working. The ‘hidden hand of the market’ is anti social.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 18th 2022, 8:36 AM

@Garreth Byrne: It’s the Government’s interference and effective nationalisation of private property that has driven out the small landlord. There were three legislative changes to rent limits within a six month period in 2021. It couldn’t be further from laissez faire.

Mute Séan Ó Nuanáin
    Favourite Séan Ó Nuanáin
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:17 PM

You either have to know the landlord or someone who knows them or know the outgoing tenant

Mute Tomasz Szaboń
    Favourite Tomasz Szaboń
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:40 PM

Just let people buy a piece of land and build their homes like other countries do. Problem solved. I don’t need government favour to build me anything.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:37 PM

@John Bathe: So let’s imagine what that might look like. No private sector housing market. A state run construction company with employees who can’t be fired – basically a HSE for housing – where people wait on years long waiting lists in order to be allowed to buy a house and where we lock in a permanent supply demand mismatch. The rent pressure zones have, as every economist predicted, worsened the housing shortage. Landlords are leaving the market. The housing crisis has state ineptitude written all over it. Wise up.

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:29 PM

@Damon16: What could possibly go wrong.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:48 PM

Fffg at its best they’ve had years to fix the problem ,stop voting for these look after the rich parties !!!

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Aug 17th 2022, 2:38 PM

In 2008 we had ghost estates. Hundreds of but thousands of vacant homes. The population hasn’t grown that much so what’s going on?? Are the vulture capitalists holding on to stock to drive up rents?

Mute Alan McDonagh
    Favourite Alan McDonagh
    Aug 17th 2022, 4:02 PM

Sure that can’t be right !!!! Michael and Leo said we have no crisis !

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:09 PM

I’d still sleep a little easier if I saw a little trampling

Mute Benjamin Moore
    Favourite Benjamin Moore
    Aug 17th 2022, 12:34 PM

Quite a significant disparity between ‘dozens’ and ‘over 100’. Which is it?

Disgusting either way.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:24 PM

It’s fine, the government will build 40,000 homes in 50 years. Just hang in there! Honestly, something has to break pretty soon the number of homeless and the inadequately house will be through the roof!

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Aug 17th 2022, 8:31 PM

@Benjamin Moore: 20 dozen would be 240 .. it’s a matter of maths

Mute SkylineSi
    Favourite SkylineSi
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:52 PM

Why allow so many to view the property in the first place knowing full well there would be so much interest.

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:26 PM

@SkylineSi: Hard one to answer but landlord in question was not discriminating, and allowing all callers to view.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:38 PM

1850 property is priced for the HAP, good to see

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:29 PM

@Mark Dawson: more likely a legacy rent set years ago and constricted in increases by RPZ. The landlord complied with the law, and so the current rent is lower.
    Sadly, most landlords do not comply once the old tenant leaves and if they are one of the 40% not registered by RTB increase the rent to market rate when advertising. Or they leave it vacant in order to avail of a loophole, or bring in family to live in it. Then in 2 years time, goes back on market at market rent.
    Or else, they sell up, in many cases evicting the tenant in order to do so.

I am not a landlord, and a passing out tenant, making an observation on what I see around me, not commenting on what is right or wrong.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Aug 17th 2022, 1:25 PM

It’s fine, the government will build 40,000 homes in 50 years. Just hang in there! Honestly, something has to break pretty soon the number of homeless and the inadequately house will be through the roof!

Mute J Mac
    Favourite J Mac
    Aug 17th 2022, 8:39 PM

How many empty investment properties out there ?

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Aug 17th 2022, 8:46 PM

OBrien should resign

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Aug 17th 2022, 11:44 PM

@adrian j aungier: This agent should offer an apology to the people who he conned to attend the viewing. . As a journal poster said above nothing but a PR stunt for a bit of exposure.Simple as that as I know full well that if an agent disclosed the number of parties that were expected to attend a viewing such as have attended in this instance I would not be going as I am sure most people in that queue knowing what they know now would feel the same.
    Shame on the agent Michael Carr. We have a property next door to rent and the agent comes with maybe five couples & a few singles at most. let’s hope the PSR has a word with this agent.

Mute Joseph Duggan
    Favourite Joseph Duggan
    Aug 17th 2022, 9:42 PM

Housing shortage there for yrs

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Aug 19th 2022, 2:25 PM

Sadly, explanation for this was a rare case of a law abiding landlord renting such a property out on the open market without discrimination. The law as it stands prohibits rent hikes when old tenant leaves. 40% of landlords are not registered with RTB and hike the rent between tenants, which is prohibited, but obligation of landlord to tell new tenant is not met.
    I’ve suggested this many times but issue is non compliance with registration and absence of a public rent register. Treating it like TV licence collection would end this problem if all homes were visited, details of tenancy recorded, and cross checked back to RTB. Then properly enforce the RTB penalty for non registration. And on public register of RTB registered properties, include current and last rent.