You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Archbishop's Palace area in Drumcondra where the attack took place. Eamonn Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Dublin woman on her way home stabbed in the neck by female mugger

The attack happened in Drumcondra this evening.

A WOMAN WALKING home in Dublin was stabbed in the neck by another woman in a suspected mugging this evening.

The attack happened in Drumcondra at about 6.15pm when the 36-year-old victim was approached by another woman who demanded the victim’s handbag.

Gardaí say that a physical altercation followed and that the woman received a stab wound to her neck.

It’s believed her mobile phone may also have been stolen.

The victim was taken to the Mater Hospital for treatment to injuries that are not believed to be life threatening.

No arrests have yet been made and gardaí are appealing for any witnesses to the robbery to come forward.

Anyone with information should contact Mountjoy Garda Station on 01-6668602.

Read: Man arrested after gardaí find €100,000 worth of cocaine and cannabis >

Read: ‘Driving back and forth all day’: How a lack of access to Pulse affects everyday policing >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

70 Comments
    Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Jan 3rd 2017, 9:52 PM

Attacker found,pleads for mercy siting drugs and bad upbringing judge smile and suspended sentence. Happy days! Meanwhile victim afraid to walk the streets again.

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:09 PM

You’re spot on, poor girl out doing a hard days work and that scûm walking the streets, when is this government going to wake up and react to what is going on. Hopefully she makes a fully recovery.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:19 PM

You forgot free legal aid

Jan 3rd 2017, 10:40 PM

Don’t forget she will already have over 100 convictions and will already be on a suspended sentence. Hope the victim recovers though I’d say psychologically that could take years.

Jan 3rd 2017, 10:40 PM

Wish the judge would take that into consideration.

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Jan 3rd 2017, 9:58 PM

Attempted murder. Plain and simple. What other result could someone expect from stabbing another person in the neck. Filth.

Jan 3rd 2017, 9:50 PM

WTF is the world coming to, hope she makes a full and speedy recovery

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:44 PM

Forget the World what is happening in out own city

Mute James Stallone
    Favourite James Stallone
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:51 AM

The world is long messed up

Mute John Henry
    Favourite John Henry
    Jan 4th 2017, 7:14 AM

@John: This is par for the course now in Dublin. Constant intimidation of citizens by s cu m and feral youth as well as a total and complete lack of respect for the rule of law. The Gardai and government with the help of media do a hell of a PR and spin job but the reality is they have lost control of the city and other parts of the country. Everyone knows the do gooders are mostly unaffected by these toe rags as they sit behind their desks in leafy south Dublin gated communities preaching from a height. They’d be the first to shout “civil rights” if like in the good old days a Gardai would take these young thugs down an alley and beat the living c r ap out of them until they screamed for their mammy. Of course a lot of the Gardai these days would get blown over by a wet f art so not much use i suppose.

Mute John Nolan
    Favourite John Nolan
    Jan 4th 2017, 7:34 AM

@John Henry:
    Very well said, love the wet fart bit>

Mute Sandy Coleman
    Favourite Sandy Coleman
    Jan 3rd 2017, 9:54 PM

Hopefully the victim makes a full recovery & the mugger is caught.
    Make a good example out of her & put her away for attempted murder.
    A stabbing isn’t something that happens by mistake.

Mute Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh
    Favourite Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:04 PM

2 months ago 2 young lads attacked and held captive by a gang in park in drumcondra..i came on the scene as one of the young lads broke free…called santry station 3 times..guards never even bothered comeing down…….we need a new force..root and branch job

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:15 PM

Tell them there’s a dead body tense, they wouldn’t be long leaving their tea and biscuits then!

Mute Larry Kavanagh
    Favourite Larry Kavanagh
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:18 PM

@Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh: Never even bothered? Maybe they were inundated with other problems and understaffed or undersupplied with transport!

Mute James Stallone
    Favourite James Stallone
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:59 AM

@ laborás ó fógartaigh why didn’t you call 999 as that is the emergency number, you don’t call a gardai station directly

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:01 PM

Should not have to tell lies,they are supposed to be the protector of the people

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:07 PM

@Labhrás Ó Fógartaigh: A few friends and I had the heads kicked off us in Santry Park before. Called the Guards. Waited 25 minutes, they never arrived. Has happened to other friends of mine too.

Our national police force is laughable and in my experience the only ones who disagree are those who haven’t been in a situation where they seriously need them.

Jan 5th 2017, 10:48 PM

@Carl Nolan: spot on carl

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jan 3rd 2017, 9:56 PM

I’ll say it again Zero Tolerance needed. Three strikes and your out rule. The liberal softy approach in our legal system is not working

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:19 PM

I wouldnt even give em 3 chances

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:24 PM

I Prefer, Zero tolerance, 1 strike and you’re out

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:02 PM

Three strikes refers to minor crimes. I’ll bet ya this woman has a string of previous convictions. She should not have been on the street in the first place. Someone needs to declare war against the thugs and corrupt legal system in this country

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:19 PM

@John Reese: If we started with a low bar like 100 strikes we would have to build thousands of prison places, but it would be money well spent!

Mute John Henry
    Favourite John Henry
    Jan 4th 2017, 12:09 PM

@John Reese: And has failed us for years. Open up massive camps (on islands if possible) and give the s c um hard labour breaking rocks if needs be under supervision from members of the armed services as well as private security firms. Facilities in these camps should be basic with no TV’s, playstations etc.. and food at the very minimum level required to keep a human alive. After a minimum of 5 years i can guarantee low level anti social criminal elements of our society would brush up their act pronto or risk being sent to these camps. I am a strong advocate of anything that makes life harder for these thugs and moves the ball back into the court of the law abiding tax payer. It’s time to take the gloves off and take back our nation.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:29 PM

I wish this poor lady the very best. What a traumatic, horrible event. I really hope it doesn’t leave any lasting effects, physically or mentally.

Mute Phil Keenan
    Favourite Phil Keenan
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:17 PM

Nothing will happen to this filth back out on the street after a week or 2 . Liberal leftie BS has us in this mess. Boo hoo poor slanders never had a chance. Well they have a choice. Not to stab people who pay their dole in the neck

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:30 PM

@Phil Keenan: Do you know the mugger personally Phil? What is her signing day? This mugger needs to be caught and put away but to say she is on the dole without evidence tries to paint everyone on social as been a criminal.

Mute Phil Keenan
    Favourite Phil Keenan
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:33 PM

Well would you say she is working and doing the odd mugging as a hobbie??? Not saying everyone on social is a mugger, nuts it’s too easy for those who do this to get their hands on it

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:33 PM

Oh yes, the mugger was probably on her way home from work at the ifsc or somewhere.

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:37 PM

@Phil Keenan: Which ‘Liberal leftie BS’ political party has been in power here ?

Mute Phil Keenan
    Favourite Phil Keenan
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:43 PM

I wasn’t talking about a party. It’s our social fabric which goes easy on these headers. I have no faith in any party. All our politicians talk sh.. and have no idea how to handle the state of our country. There’s a hidden bunch of public servants guiding these idiots and don’t tell me you know who they are. If we were not a liberal go soft society then why do we have massaged crime figures and guys with wrap sheets in their hundreds walking around the place. I’m pi..ed off paying for it are you not? I’m sure the stabbed girl would agree

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:36 PM

The people of Dublin would want to decide either through public forum or consequently at the ballot box what kind of society they want . Streets riddled With CCTV is not to my liking but if this poor victim were akn to me, I’d be all for it. Has always seemed to me , the crims of Dublin city can carry out whatever crime they like and will not get caught or know they’ll walk . Shut this savagery down

Mute James Stallone
    Favourite James Stallone
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:56 AM

This happens all over the country not just in Dublin, many many attacks go unreported in smaller towns / villages/ county’s

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:12 PM

A coincidence that it happened a couple of doors up from a halfway house for young offenders, a couple of guests from this fine establishment having broke into a hairdressers in Drumcondra a number of weeks ago…..

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:42 PM

It happened around 5.15 or so. I passed by, fire brigade there, at 5.35. Somebody must have seen or heard something

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Jan 4th 2017, 12:54 AM

Probably a junkie that has had a hard life and will tell a sob story to the dinosaur of a judge and he will give it a suspended sentence!!! NO matter what she could have killed that woman and carrying a knife is with the intention of murder END OF!!! Total s- combag…

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:38 PM

A description of the perp might be useful.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:19 PM

I lived down the road from the picture shown, Drumcondra and Dorset street has gotten dangerous. Which is wrong as the people of both areas are good people. Drugs are rampant, that a fact. I lived there long enough to see the changes.
    Forget the blame game, as plenty here love to play.
    Lock them up, they say! that costs. Others say…..Hug them poor darlings, that costs! and makes no real difference.
    Neither works. The war on drugs, according to the police services worldwide has failed. Management is the way forward.
    It has been proven to work in many countries. Management of supply and usage and all the rest of it. As is, the product is more dangerous than it should be, the users are victims to all sorts of illness due to the conditions they use in. Plus the very real damage the do to the community.
    Not in Ireland, some will scream. Tet getting pissed as a newt is OK to some.
    Grow up and deal with the real issue and stop pointing fingers at people.
    My idea is straight down the middle. Clear out the reason for the crime by proper management of drug use and nail anybody that breaks those rules and very hard.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Jan 3rd 2017, 9:53 PM

Horrific.
    Time for Irish women to reclaim the streets……..from ….Irish women.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:26 PM

If this gets to court judge might well give a suspended sentence ……Judge will say punishing her will do no good and take into account genuine remorse and sddiction issues…..Even if it’s 10th conviction

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:50 PM

In terms of finding witnesses, would it not help to give the exact location where it happened, or the route the woman walked? Drumcondra is a big place.

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:58 PM

@Lurfic: The Archbishop’s Palace area in Drumcondra where the attack took place.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 3rd 2017, 9:54 PM

Blame the POLITICIANS.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:27 PM

Blame the judges there are plenty of laws there for them to uphold

Mute Taekwondo Kildare
    Favourite Taekwondo Kildare
    Jan 4th 2017, 1:03 AM

It won’t be long until the people decide to take the law into there own hands. If there is no justice served by legal means, what hope do we have?

Mute Irishpolly
    Favourite Irishpolly
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:04 PM

That’s awful whats Dublin becoming. . poor lady

Mute Louise Brennan
    Favourite Louise Brennan
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:24 AM

Too right, stabbing someone in the neck is attemptive murder

Mute Irishpolly
    Favourite Irishpolly
    Jan 3rd 2017, 11:08 PM

Terrible what’s Dublin coming to poor lady

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Jan 3rd 2017, 10:36 PM

Nothing to do with ‘leftie’ or ‘rightie’ it’s down to Drugs.
    Eliminate the need for Heroin and other needle drugs and crime would drop.

Mute Imnotrodten
    Favourite Imnotrodten
    Jan 4th 2017, 12:12 AM

Ah yes, if you all could stop taking drugs now, thanks, problem solved

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:10 PM

@Imnotrodten: I say make high quality heroin free for addicts. Extremely potent, as much as they want.

Mute Gerry Dunne
    Favourite Gerry Dunne
    Jan 4th 2017, 2:05 AM

The toe rag who did this will more then likely get bail instead of prison. Some filthbags in this country alright.

Mute Cillian O'Gara
    Favourite Cillian O'Gara
    Jan 4th 2017, 8:27 AM

If the mugger’s caught, she’ll plead guilty to “grievous bodily harm” and get 5 years with 3 suspended. Then she’ll get released early for good behaviour. Max 1 year is my guess.

Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Jan 4th 2017, 3:10 AM

Wait a minute the not catch the mugger yet ?

Mute Rathminder
    Favourite Rathminder
    Jan 4th 2017, 8:04 AM

No space in jail=no time in jail. That’s why to judges are so lenient.

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jan 4th 2017, 8:56 AM

The Gardai will have some clues to track down this attacker, previous form, etc., so let’s hope they can take her off the streets, & that bail terms if allowed are tough.
    The best support & sympathy for the injured person is for the law to protect her & others in the future.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 4th 2017, 1:06 AM

I honestly don’t know what to say..

Mute James Stallone
    Favourite James Stallone
    Jan 4th 2017, 3:03 AM

@ molly coddled you don’t have to say anything but you did and it was pointless!

Jan 4th 2017, 12:25 PM

@James Stallone: ..I did call 999 James 3 times and it was them that connected me to santry station

Mute james s
    Favourite james s
    Jan 4th 2017, 12:18 PM

She better hurry up and get pregnant. You wouldn’t send her to jail now!