You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

[File photo] Dole queues in Dublin Photocall Ireland

€28,000 yearly welfare payments are not indicative of average families - Department

Figures put together by the Department of Social Protection show reveal how much a family of six on social welfare could receive in a year.

THE DEPARTMENT OF Social Protection has said that figures which show that a family of six on social welfare would be almost as well off as a couple where one person earns €28,000 are not indicative of an average family.

A spokesperson has told TheJournal.ie that the department has put together a table of figures in order to see what a couple with four children, who are in receipt of Jobseeker’s Allowance, would receive in a year.

The table, which has not yet been released by the department, shows that there is a disparity of around €90 a week between the working family and the family on social welfare.

The figures were put together in response to reports during the week that job applicants were turning down offers of employment, because they felt they’d be better off on welfare payments.

The department spokesperson said that it was important to stress that the findings are not based on an actual couple, and that every situation is very different. It was also stressed that the figures are not indicative of an average family.

A report in today’s Sunday Times remarks that the figures do not take into account that the working family would also be paying rent if living in rented accommodation, while a family on welfare payments would be entitled to a rent supplement.

Sarah McInerney’s report also notes how Labour senator Jimmy Harte claimed last week that one family in Dublin was in receipt of yearly welfare payments of €90,000.

The Department of Social Protection has said that it’s anxious not to give the impression that welfare payments are a disincentive to work. The spokesperson also told TheJournal.ie that it doesn’t want people who are in receipt of payments to start worrying about those payments.

Social welfare spending to be cut – but rates to remain>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Philip Dunne
    Favourite Philip Dunne
    Oct 2nd 2011, 3:43 PM

There’s a welfare cut coming that’s why they are releasing this.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Oct 2nd 2011, 5:07 PM

I know a guy (Romanian) who lives in Dublin and has rent allowance plus has been educated in trinity with a masters in law and also worked for cash for a bookies for years. I estimate he cost the state 50k a year for 8 years. His brother also is married and lives in a 4 bed house on welfare for the same period. This costs appeox 40k
    These guys will never contribute to our country and yet our kids are emigrating every week. They will also continue to be a cost to the state for years to come as we educate their kids.
    We should change our laws to stop the rot now.

Mute Oil Foster
    Favourite Oil Foster
    Oct 2nd 2011, 8:41 PM

Dont tell us tell the dept of social welfare. That’s the problem with the Irish, too willing to turn a blind eye.

Mute Paul Mc grath
    Favourite Paul Mc grath
    Oct 2nd 2011, 8:45 PM

Too late the cancer has well spread leave now while you have half a chance… this place has become little eastern Europe

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 2nd 2011, 11:21 PM

I know a guy…..

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 12:47 AM

I knew a guy once. Then he died. Fact.

Mute Mark McInerney
    Favourite Mark McInerney
    Oct 2nd 2011, 4:34 PM

The ?90 extra a week is not going to cover rent. Just reaffirming what people has suspected for years. Include then boyfriends living with so called "single mothers" and it’s even more money coming into household.

Mute Paula Nolan
    Favourite Paula Nolan
    Oct 2nd 2011, 5:08 PM

And a medical card.

Mute Kieran Murphy
    Favourite Kieran Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2011, 3:45 PM

Nothing new. I know of a woman who was told by Social Welfare to stay on benefits rather than working because she’d be better off.

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Oct 2nd 2011, 4:35 PM

Pure rubbish. Family of six on welfare when you throw in rent allowance, medical card, various supplements coming in at a taxable income of 28k? I was told recently that Welfare has helped immigrants purchase cars for taxi use, presumably to get them off welfare. No idea if this is anything more than a myth, but nothing would surprise me when you have people emigrating to Ireland aside the welfare is so generous for those with large families.

Mute Saffron Marriott
    Favourite Saffron Marriott
    Oct 2nd 2011, 4:44 PM

If a family works and is on a low income they can claim family income supplement and rent allowance if needs be if their income is below the threshold deemed necessary to avoid poverty. Family income supplement takes away the disincentive to work and makes it worthwhile.

Mute Charlie Marriott
    Favourite Charlie Marriott
    Oct 2nd 2011, 4:53 PM

I agree. And also, you’re the first person I’ve ever "met" with the same surname as me!!

Mute John Daly
    Favourite John Daly
    Oct 2nd 2011, 6:45 PM

Social welfare is a disincentive to work.. FACT.

Mute John Marshall
    Favourite John Marshall
    Oct 2nd 2011, 8:06 PM

I think you’ve gotten confused between opinion and fact. I also doubt you’ve made sufficient research into this subject. Could you back this statement up?

Mute Noel Peare
    Favourite Noel Peare
    Oct 2nd 2011, 7:37 PM

Any comment that ends with the word "fact" can safely be ignored. Fact

Mute Jim Daly
    Favourite Jim Daly
    Oct 2nd 2011, 7:58 PM

Fact.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 2nd 2011, 11:22 PM

Infactah…

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Oct 2nd 2011, 4:09 PM

A severe global crash appears increasingly likely with time.
    Currently, the government appear to be tinkering around the edges with respect of resolving it’s own finances. They need to accelerate the correction and make provision for even more austere times ahead.
    http://articles.businessinsider.com/2011-08-04/news/30087272_1_market-crashes-fed-funds-rate-interest-rates

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 2nd 2011, 9:44 PM

i love the way this country suddenly decides all the unemployed are just bone fuckin idle…
    After this countries corrupt leadership screwed every penny out of us they then fold the economy all by themselves and the resulting hundreds of thousands of unemployed are suddenly Scroungers.

Amazing

I say that the people who release theses scare monger stories targeting the unemployed are themselves in well paid jobs..
    Get a reality check

Pathetic…

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Oct 2nd 2011, 10:01 PM

Well said ian. not on the scratcher meself, but who knows, da aul job could go bang anytime. most of the unfortunates didn’t volunteer to join the dole queue. seein as most of us didnt set the cost of livin in this dump, how could a family of 6 expect to get by on less than 28k, which i presume includes rent allowance.
    for any of yis here who have jobs and are hopin da gov slashes the rates they give the dole, yis better start prayin ya dont lose yer jobs!

Mute Eggfuel
    Favourite Eggfuel
    Oct 2nd 2011, 11:27 PM

The department would also like to stress that the figures do not reflect a single family in the state and that they have pulled the figures out of their arse because they are too lazy to check their facts as usual. Also the Dept would like to say that over 85% of their fully paid and pensioned staff are on over 40,000 euro per year each and find it very hard to afford two holidays a year and pay for their holiday investment home… Also the Dept would lilt to further add that if it ever gets it’s figures reflective of a typical Irish family then it will be a miracle..

Spin doctoring bullshit at it’s best

The Dept is full of gobshites

The public would just like to say
    The Dept can go and fuck off….

Mute Gordon Lucas
    Favourite Gordon Lucas
    Oct 3rd 2011, 12:30 AM

Well Said!

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 2nd 2011, 9:55 PM

Greece to cut 30,000 public sector jobs, miss deficit targets http://bit.ly/nVBO4I #economy

Love to see that here.
    wipe the smile off a lot of the useless HSE tools

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Oct 2nd 2011, 11:25 PM

Yeah but by the logic of the comments here, firing people will cost more, because they’ll get more on social welfare.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 12:00 AM

Very good Ian. Let’s cut the public sector by 30,000. That’s another 30,000 on the dole. 30,000 people less paying tax, levies etc. How many of them will be unable to pay loans/mortgage so banks down money.
    Also. There are more than just HSE workers in the public service.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 12:02 AM

Well said Ian. I think we should cut 30,000 public servants. That’s exactly what the country needs. 30,000 more on the dole, 30,000 less people paying tax, levies etc.
    Also there are more than HSE workers in the public service.

Mute Milly Mac
    Favourite Milly Mac
    Oct 2nd 2011, 10:20 PM

A family getting 90,000 euro a year? Seriously, get on and stop this nonsense. It is not fair on the people of 1.8 million working off their asses paying their own bills, rents, food, etc. It is also not fair on genuine welfare people who only need it for a short period of time who will work again. Its not fair on the vulnerable and people with disabilities who need welfare. How does a family get 90,000 euro in welfare is beyond me?

Mute Oil Foster
    Favourite Oil Foster
    Oct 2nd 2011, 4:13 PM

A family of 6 as well off on social welfare as a man earning â

Mute Gordon Lucas
    Favourite Gordon Lucas
    Oct 3rd 2011, 12:25 AM

A PR exercise if ever I saw one.
    Headlines of “you only get €90 extra working”, but caveats put in so they can defend their unethical public manipulation stunt if need be.
    How about looking at it the other way around – that the people aren’t being paid enough to work in profit-driven companies?
    Ironic to think of the well-paid public “servants” that are coming up with this tripe. Unfortunately I think the Irish who are still here are thick enough to fall for it.
    The “pay peanuts get monkeys” thing hasn’t really panned out has it? Perhaps TDs should go back to pre-Haughey levels of pay. Before the time TDs were lazy self-serving bastards.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Oct 3rd 2011, 1:02 AM

Who gives the money to the civil servants to pay their tax and pensions?
    Could it be the taxpayer – paying their own tax plus the civil servants tax?

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 2:08 AM

What. All workers pay tax.

Mute Debbie Murray Dargan
    Favourite Debbie Murray Dargan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 9:36 AM

You’re not using you’re head there Ian. A cut in public sector jobs will lead to job losses in other sectors as you need people with disposable income to buy products and services. Its quite funny that so many irish people think the solution to a problem is not to fix it but make sure everyone else is in the shithouse along side them!

Mute JamesTKirk1701A
    Favourite JamesTKirk1701A
    Oct 3rd 2011, 5:47 AM

In most countrys welfare is taxed.So if you earn over an x amount you pay tax.After all its income no matter how you look at it.Every body should do there bit and not just the 1.8 million working there ass off.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 3rd 2011, 7:49 AM

Cutting 30,000 jobs kn the public sector will save money not cost money as it’s all borrowed either way. Put em on the dole and they get 188 per week and not 40,000. God I didn’t realise the iq was so low in the country. Jeez!!!

Mute Earl Fitzgerald
    Favourite Earl Fitzgerald
    Oct 3rd 2011, 9:46 AM

Ian
    You want to put Thirty Thousand people on the dole? How much tax do they pay a week? 200?
    Now you want to give them €188 a week?
    Who would you take out of the system Garda? Nurses? Firefighters? Soldiers? Street Cleaners?
    Public sector workers pay tax and have a job, for years we they were the poor relations of the economy.
    Oh tell us oh wise one on your fiscal plan for the future of this great country.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 3rd 2011, 10:13 AM

i note you want to nominate cut s to all the front line staff. good of you to volunteer the hard workers.. The reality is that if it was those very front line staff that we need to keep. The behind the scenes admin staff that are replicated across the country are the ones that i wish to see cut out of the system.. The massive dept of payroll that have not being culled since the old days of the country wide he alt authorities.. The sit and play on computers all day long… they are the very ones that this country needs to cut out.. Its a common flawed argument put forward by the public sector that the from line staff are the ones they are defending when its the back office staff that are eating up the public purse..
    Interesting you think the same way as the union antagonists.
    cheers

Mute Conor Kirwan
    Favourite Conor Kirwan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 9:59 PM

The fact is Ian, we have one of the smallest public sectors in Europe and the OECD. Ireland spends a lower proportion of its GDP on public services than nearly every other OECD nation Yes, there are areas of waste and inefficiency, but just because someone works behind the scenes, or you don’t understand what their role or function is, it doesn’t necessarily hold that what they do is irrelevant, or that they are unnecessary. Such broad and sweeping statements are patently ridiculous.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 3rd 2011, 10:17 PM

Conor thanks for your comment . your facts are typical of many public sector answers. full of flawed generalisations and reticules comparisons.. Irl has already been warned for their massively over paid civil servants by the TROIKA commission and they tend to deal with facts. and not deal with rather stupid comparisons that you have had drilled into you by biased union reps from within the public sector… I am sure your a v nice fella and a real interesting chap.. Please think for yourself and stop regurgitating the union verbal diarrhea. it does you no favors…

Mute Conor Kirwan
    Favourite Conor Kirwan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 10:41 PM

I agree that our civil servants are in many cases massively overpaid, and could give you many examples to prove this point. However, this doesn’t mean that there are too many of them, just that they are used poorly and ineffectively and have unrealistic expectations. This is a situation that MUST be changed and radically (and as it stands remains to be challenged effectively).

I am certainly not being drilled by some union rep. from within the public sector. I am a self-employed individual who has no vested interest in the public sector other than the fact that it has educated me, kept me in good health, defended my country, built the roads I drive on and such. It is astonishing that people such as yourself see little value in this, and are blinded to the fact that a strong public sector can coexist and compliment a thriving private sector which is provided with the conditions to prosper and foster growth, and not choke it with red tape.

It still remains that we have a flawed public sector. It however also remains that we have a smaller public sector than most OECD nations whose public sectors are not bloated. Oh, and might I remind you that it wasn’t a coalition of hedge funds that bailed out the banking system when it was on the verge of collapse; no it was the public sector which you seem to have so much venom and ire for.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 3rd 2011, 10:48 PM

Conor u argue first “Ireland spends a lower proportion of its GDP on public services than nearly every other OECD nation” then you say “I agree that our civil servants are in many cases massively overpaid, and could give you many examples to prove this point”

I think i will leave u to the confusion to which u argue.. please take a moment to decide what u want to do with the proverbial cake.
    “have it or eat it”
    My final point on the matter is that many public sector workers can’t direct their own dept and how it works much less the whole public sector… My friend unless your part of the solution then your part of the problem…
    Kind regards

Mute Conor Kirwan
    Favourite Conor Kirwan
    Oct 3rd 2011, 11:10 PM

It’s quite simple Ian, the individual civil servants, certainly those in the higher reaches of the civil service are overpaid. As a nation however, we have fewer civil servants than our OECD counterparts. I would have thought this easy enough to understand! Secondly, yes most people in the public sector are unable to direct their departments, much less the whole sector (indeed, nor are most private sector workers). However, when you say that if you are not part of the solution, you are part of the problem, it seems like you’re suggesting that these people are at fault! Until this point I was willing to give you the benefit of the doubt, but now I would call your intelligence into serious question.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Oct 3rd 2011, 10:05 AM

lol cheers debbie… no I’m afraid that its a shit house we are all in together it s just that some people (read public sector) think the shit doesn’t apply to them… IT does and as has been proved in Greece the shit needs to hit home to the public sector before they wake up.. shame that anyone has to loose a job debbie but thats recession for u…
    Interesting that you think the jobs being falsely supported in the public sector are saving the country money. Some economists have commented on the mindset that you have just demonstrated.. Its a false reality.. Its similar to the mindset David drumm and many high flying civil servants share. I remember not long ago drive time did a feature on the wages enjoyed by the individuals in the public sector.. The aviation authority amongst others share staff who are on in excess of 800,000 per annum. This was a typical wage for many senior civil servants in quangos here. Their argument was that they create wealth and pass on taxes to the country…
    The rest of the country would agree that that is money that could be far better put to work.. thats 20 people off the dole line at 40,000 per annum wages for an increased tax take for exchequer. thats a more realistic view based on fact and not public sector flawed thinking….

Cheers for your thoughts
    you put a smile on my face…