You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A junior minister took on Eamon Dunphy last night, and it was VERY entertaining

Claire Byrne Live was the setting for an unlikely showdown…

LAST NIGHT’S CLAIRE Byrne Live saw an unusual showdown between a junior government minister and Eamon Dunphy.

Dunphy was on the panel after fronting a report on the differences between government spending in France and Ireland.

The outspoken broadcaster was aiming to highlight the great social services on offer in France as opposed to Ireland where childcare and good healthcare are unaffordable for lots of families.

The report featured, among other things, Dunphy talking about how great France is while walking through a wine cellar.

dunphy wine cellar RTÉ Player RTÉ Player

Then we came to debate featuring the recently-released Paul Murphy and Dunphy on one side and junior finance minister Simon Harris and consumer journalist Sinead Ryan on the other.

But the only real show in town was Dunphy v Harris…

harris dunphy gif RTÉ Player RTÉ Player

“France is a great country,” Harris began.

Then he proceeded to hammer France and outline all the things that aren’t great about it, including €50 billion of planned spending cuts over the next few years.

Channelling Dunphy’s bessie mate Johnny Giles, Harris noted:

“You need to look at each country on its merits.”

Dunphy’s response?

“You’re wrong on the facts, and you’re confused.”

Ouch.

Dunphy 1 RTÉ Player RTÉ Player

Dunphy claimed that that in fact France wasn’t going to implement €50 billion in spending cuts.

Yes they are, said Harris and so it went on…

A short time later Harris noted that Dunphy had once described Ireland as “a dump”.

Not true, said Dunphy:

“I said it was a kip.”

An important distinction.

Then unfortunately, in the interests of fairness and balance, Claire had to let the other panellists speak and that was all fairly boring.

Harris 1 RTÉ Player RTÉ Player

A few minutes later, Harris had a bit of a pop at Murphy and there was a brief row over that morning’s dawn arrest of the Socialist Party TD.

“I don’t think anyone is making political points out of this, except Paul,” he said.

This had Dunphy up in arms and he started talking about Clare Daly’s arrest before Claire (Byrne) brought it back to the main topic.

So, Dunphy started banging on about Greece and Spain and Harris looked a little confused:

Dunphy Harris confused RTÉ Player RTÉ Player

Then the Fine Gael TD quickly got back to haranguing Dunphy:

“When you’re not describing your country as ‘a kip’ or walking through wine cellars…”

Dunphy was up in arms: “Would you mind not engaging in personal insults?”

So to finish off Harris had this zinger:
https://vine.co/v/OUp3nwHuPVK

The debate went on a few minutes longer, but the real match was all over.

After that Charlton dig, we have to give it to Harris on points, or as one tweeter pointed out:

Context.

As for France? A good country, but not a great country, as Dunphy might say.

Watch the full show here. Trust us, it’s worth it > 

Read: Micheál Martin wants a live TV showdown with Enda Kenny… but will the Taoiseach do it?

Read: Gerry Adams just got the better of Joan Burton on last night’s Claire Byrne Live

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

122 Comments
    Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:35 AM

When Harris mentioned Jack Charlton my eyes opened in disbelief. Dunphy wins!

Mute Sean Macc
    Favourite Sean Macc
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:59 AM

Harris made a salient point that Dunphy was representing himself as a neutral political commentator but has actually voted Sinn Fein numerous times in the past and is a Sinn Fein supporter. Dunphy did use the typical shinner line that that the huge drop in unemployment in this country is all down to Jobbridge.

You know Harris won the debate when all the best the whingers can come up with is that he was “condescending and arrogant”.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:43 AM

Harris won ?when with no comeback he got personal.

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:19 PM

Seanie.. Will ya ever feck off.. Your new handle should be pothole..

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:52 PM

Smarmy and petulant would perhaps be more accurate to describe his leary performance…..was also interesting overhear his babysitting INM hack clearly prompt him as to Dunphys previous utterances of support for Sinn Fein despite its irrelevance to the topic but more an attempt at some sort of veiled slur as they would see it!!

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:40 AM

Listening to Harris gives me a big dose of the pips. He didn’t get my vote when he ran in the European elections. Fine Gael must have a room full of files on everyone because when they are in a debate with someone all this dirt comes out. Enda can’t argue a point all you get is dirty snipes about their past. The same goes for Joan Burton and the rest of their minions. We are fed up with all this tripe its low low politics. As a correspondent has said Harris was only a gorsun when Charton was manager of Ireland so where this this dirt come from. I would suggest the Fine Gael dirty tricks brigade and we have plenty examples of their tricks in the past.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:28 AM

Ger you spot on Kenny when asked a question in the Dail goes on same personal attack Harris did. I bet he has cost Fine Gael thousands of votes because his manner and approach were a real put off. I don’t think he or any member of Fine Gael know we electorate exist and they don’t need our votes. Harris is a sore looser and he got very personal meaning he cannot stand up for Fine Gael austerity choices.

Mute Sean Macc
    Favourite Sean Macc
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:41 AM

I’d say he has impressed his electorate – articulate and far sharper than Dunphy. All of his points were spot on and he was right to take Dunphy to task for calling this country a kip while espousing France, which has massive economic problems of it’s own, as some sort of utopia.

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:18 PM

Langball is back I see..

Mute Joe Sullivan
    Favourite Joe Sullivan
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:21 PM

Fine gael are dirty cynical korrupt filth gerry thats why, who have reduced public office to its lowest ebb. Theyre all treasonous skum.

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:29 PM

are you having a laugh

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:38 PM

there were tow idiots in that so called debate and Harris was the two of them

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:43 PM

Reggie Perrin, i swear, he’s the f**** spit of him! even speaks like him!

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    Feb 10th 2015, 5:31 PM

Always bend an admirer of Eamo but last night came across as an arrogant condescending bully who sneeringly resorted to inviting the support of the audience constantly when confronted with irrefutable facts.

Mute Dermot McCabe
    Favourite Dermot McCabe
    Feb 11th 2015, 2:34 AM

I thought Simon Harris was much better informed than Eamonn on this occasion. I agree with Judy Burke.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:27 AM

Another distorted report of #CBlive from your reporter. Simon Harris was arrogant and condescending and had to resort to a cheap quip about Eamon Dunphy’s comments on Jack Charlton to try and get a hit. Harris was 4 years old when that took place.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:30 AM

As bad as Dunphy can be at least he didn’t have to resort to personal insults like Harris did.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:34 PM

cos he was losing, had nothing else to give but insult on a personal level. All of FG do that. They are trained in the book of personal insults when things don’t go their way. I’d be flattered to receive it, you know you’re winning then so just sit back like Dunphy did and smile at the idiot.

Mute Paul Anthony
    Favourite Paul Anthony
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:41 AM

Harris quickly descended to personal remarks on Dunphy, he’ll go along way in Finegael but that’s about it

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:57 AM

Looks like you are good at the personal remarks yourself Anthony.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:34 AM

The main thing that I took from the debate was that Claire Byrne is smoking hot.

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:36 AM

Oh there’s no denying that.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:28 PM

she’s bias, ruins everything.

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:25 AM

You can’t seem to park that bias at all. You make it seem like it was David vs Goliath. Dunphy gave as good as he got. Harris came out with egg on his face

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:36 AM

Would you expect any different from Hugh.

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:42 AM

It’s getttibg ridiculous at this stage Hugh.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:13 AM

I have a problem lately with this government and it’s not about the economy, jobs, health etc.

It is about the way they flitter people on talk shows, call people extreme and fire insults at people and introduced this 2-3 tier class society into Ireland. The FG side in particular is shifting further and further to the right with the arrests of protesters and it makes me wonder if we will in fact have an independent democratic election next year?

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton

Seriously! You gave it to harris. What else would we expect from journal/fg

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:56 AM

I was shocked when I saw who ‘won’, but a quick look at the author restored clarity.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

You’d have given it to Gerry I presume?

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:21 AM

I see Hugh is using his pal Karls tweets to back himself up now.
    Quickly becoming the John Waters of the journal.
    Can’t believe I wasted my time reading that, can the journal start putting the authors name at the top of the article.
    Life’s too short for this stuff.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:31 PM

yes i noticed the author as well.

Who is this Harris weasel. The squeaky little voice on him. He talked himself into a corner. Dunphy said less, was enough.

“you got a 6 minute video” lol well that was the point of the program otherwise you wouldn’t be there Harris. little coward, he was oiled up on what to say cos like Enda, knows nothing.

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods

That Harris guy is a bit of a weirdo isn’t he. Very clammy looking and speaking so quickly.

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:33 AM

Dunno why but got a good chuckle out of that

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:38 PM

its cos he’s got no friends. probably bullied in school, needs to talk a lot of nonsense, make a name for himself, make up for all those lost years.

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods
    Feb 10th 2015, 4:26 PM

If say he is still using a sock for fun times.

Mute Eric Sexton
    Favourite Eric Sexton
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:06 AM

I think this interview really exposed Harris’s inexperience and immaturity. He became emotional and petty far too easily and made Paul Murphy look composed and professional. He strikes me as your stereotypical Fine Gael politician, putting his party before his people. He needs coaching on how not be wound up on live television!

Mute John Joseph Healy
    Favourite John Joseph Healy
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:36 AM

Its a real shame there is an alternative way, a more human way, a better way to deal with the dept , look after the people first then service the dept, austerity is not the answer and never will be, Harris banging on how well the country is doing and all the improvements, but the burning question is for whom

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:59 PM

Eamonn was good if he had been given a chance by Clare Byrne it’s all a one sided show

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:12 PM

Harris gave a q&a session on Facebook after the budget where he answered hardly anyone. Then wow and behold he got thousands of likes only they all nearly came from Bangladesh India and then claimed fg Facebook got hacked. Utter nonsense. Could not believe a word he says.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:48 AM

I watched a few moments of it and found it was just a point scoring slagging match.
    Personally I don’t need to see the likes of this to make a decision on where my precious vote goes.

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:51 AM

Totally agree Mike, the likes of Harris should be well able to side step reducing a debate about supposedly finding answers to problems, to a punch and judy show… but because he doesn’t have any answers, sure any auld type of distraction will do. And sure as the heading of this article says, sure it’s all very entertaining, right? Government….no answers, just pantomimes.

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:28 AM

It doesn’t help that it’s paraded like this the next day as a sort of punch and Judy act by the media.

Mute Gerry Morgan
    Favourite Gerry Morgan
    Feb 10th 2015, 8:29 PM

Well said mick I thought Harris was up his own ass

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:40 AM

When you get personal, you’ve lost the argument. Dunphy would eat him without salt. I find it hard to even listening to Harris. Sounds like an overgrown schoolboy, whose voice has yet to break- is that getting personal? He’s just another Blueshirt puppy, who needs to get out more, and I don’t mean to a TV studio.

Mute Sheila Fagan
    Favourite Sheila Fagan
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:50 AM

Harris thought the longer he talked the better he sounded he didn’t The government hung themselves yesterday with what happened to Paul murphy I like Clare but she seemed to to under orders from the top as regards her questions to Paul

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:15 AM

So not only did the govenment tell the Gardai to arrest Paul Murphy but they also gave Claire Byrne a list of questions to ask him! OK then!

Mute Colin Deane
    Favourite Colin Deane
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:22 PM

Harris mad my skin crawl. Didn’t answer any questions. Just reminded me of the type of peaple we need to get rid off.what a shit

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:42 PM

It’s the Rise and Fall of Reginald Perrin

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:56 PM

Always get your moneys worth with Dunphy!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:22 AM

I watched it last night, not all of it mind you, but I think Simon Harris gave a good account of himself.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:30 AM

Simon Harris came across as a wise ass disrespectful pipsqueak ignoramus.

He was an embarrassment , as a public representative .
    He constantly interrupted and had just one agenda – to attack personally and with zero substance .

Is that the best FG can produce, as a spokesperson ?

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:46 AM

harris gave a great account of himself like always. he really is a star

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne

O look the Journal saying that little weasel won the debate. No surprise there. Dunphy clearly won. That other bloke was crying nearly, and Dunphy is right. I said the weekend and I’ll say it again. This country is a corrupt coward filled kip. Just to regurgitate what I said. I only buy items ( not food item’s) from England (amazon) as there usually half price cheaper and mnmdirect for cloths. Much cheaper and your not giving money to Enda and ilk. I also work for cash is hand. Constantly working as I don’t RIP people off.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:58 AM

Harris got personal when he had no comeback.

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:59 AM

Just reported yourself to the Revinue so maybe you should head for your beloved uk plonker

Mute Aislinn Matthews
    Favourite Aislinn Matthews
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:03 AM

Brown star!

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:23 AM

Agreed.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:25 AM

Dave, your use of the phrase “I don’t rip people off” seems to conflict with your assertion that you do work for “cash is hand”.

Mute Cian Doherty
    Favourite Cian Doherty
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:27 AM

Dave I believe Syrzia are building a utopia in Greece why don’t you toss off there and away from this “kip”? I’ve also reported you to revenue.

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:31 AM

Teacher teacher he’s cursing. Do you know how many times people told me I was being reported. I lost count over the last 7 years. I don’t collect the dole and I pay for everything I need out of MY money. Once again. Coward filled kip.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:47 AM

@davedunne do you pay income tax on your earnings?

If you are working in the black economy then you are not paying the correct taxes required to fund and run this country and we could reasonably argue that you are in fact a rip off merchant!

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:19 PM

davedunne
    - Pay no attention to these ‘informers’
    We knew how to deal with them once…

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:29 PM

mrgillhouley – Enda , is that Youuuuu ?

Specsavers & ask them about the hearing aid offer for the demented too ?

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:41 AM

No Norman…. because he isn’t an anemic academic in a suit that’s two sizes too big, looking down his nose on everyone else, sure, why else?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:07 AM

What have you got against anemics? What have you got against academics?

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane

Harris is a greasy, nasty, slimey little worm and speaks and makes as much sense as a chipmunk (I like all other chipmunks)

Mute James Anthony Watson
    Favourite James Anthony Watson
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:20 AM

Harris came across as a cheeky little pup and embodied pretty much the arrogance of FG as represented by this current government..

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:28 AM

Blueshirt TD criticises Dunphy for running down the country. That showed Dunphy!

Mute StephenEganPolitics
    Favourite StephenEganPolitics
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:29 AM

Harris was quite effective….the truth is that Dunphy’s clip of the French Utopia didn’t stand up…and some of the audience clearly refuted it. Harris clearly has a bright future in politics…has the right mix of intellect and and practicality..also very good communicator.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

It’s good to see someone like him in politics, young and articulate. From a modest backgound and no political dynesty to get him elected, just hard work. Much better than most in Dail Eireann.

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:38 AM

…Yes Stephen and he’s just enough of a weird cretin type to make the skin crawl enough, not quite to know why, but to feel the condescension and the contempt for an ordinary man trying to tell him what policies should be reviewed, I mean, how very dare Eamon Dunphy, a lowly sports commentator who drinks wine (gasp) tell such a high up member of government to look again….well, I never. Resorting to dragging up something Emaon said on a previous show out of context…it’s all school debate team nonsense, did any of what was said by Harris offer a solution? You are admiring him for doing so well….I didn’t hear a solution last night, all he said was “yes we know we got it wrong in previous governments, and now is the time to fix it.” Thanks for that Simon.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:44 AM

Modest background?
    Who says that?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:50 AM

I read a bio of him some time ago, can’t remember where. He comes from an ordinary enough background.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:17 AM

Reg,
    The fact that you used that term says an awful lot more about you than it does about Harris.

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:26 AM

Harris did well. Best thing about the show was that it didn’t descend into a shouting match. Claire Byrne is impressive too. I just wish the Garda hadn’t handed comrade murphski such a publicity coup.

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini

Agreed. Harris & Murphy were both class acts and never got out of hand

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini

*Dunphy

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:26 AM

Sometimes I wish that Dunphy would feck off to France….permanently!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:39 AM

Why because he holds a different view than you?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Mainly because he frequently runs down this country Norman, a country that has made him reasonably wealthy. Ireland is far from perfect but it is still a good country and certainly not a kip. France is far from the Utopia that Dunphy tried to portray it as. His glasses would not be so rose tinted if he was working or running a business there.

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke

Sorry I already posted this Norman in reply but for some reason, it didn’t attach to your comment….

No Norman…. because he isn’t an anemic academic in a suit that’s two sizes too big, looking down his nose on everyone else, sure, why else?

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:48 AM

You tell that to someone waiting for a cardiologist for their kid for 3 years Reg… did you watch the whole programme? Do you realise why people are angry, do you know what’s going on in this country? Just because things are good for you does not make it so for everyone, god forbid you go into bad health or have a few kids that need minding if you work on minimum wage here, you might actually change your mind then. It’s a kip for the ones being squeezed dry by the ones who get, but who don’t need Reg…wake up, the divide is wider than ever.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Answer me one question Ally. Did you vote for Fianna Fail (even once) during the period of of 1997 to 2007 when they were dishing out cash wholesale (SSIA, early childhood allownace etc) and reducing taxes when they should have been investing in schools, health, childcare facilities etc. Even once?

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:05 AM

None of your business Reg, where my vote goes or what I did – this isn’t about me, you’re doing typically what a seasoned politician does when faced with the hard facts and questions ie. trying to turn it around on the constituents that vote (or don’t) for them. This is about making our representatives voted for or not) answerable to us, ordinary working people, (or not) who they are working for. I don’t want to be on the so called grown up version of school debate teams, I’d like to know how they’re going to tackle problems like sick people on never ending waiting lists for treatment and individuals and parents being crippled by a very unbalanced and unjust system of paying out and that is all.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:12 AM

Well Reg, he continues to live in Ireland and pays tax here so are you saying he’s not entitled to his opinion?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:20 AM

Of course he’s entitled to it Martin. RTE seem to like to wheel him out, both on radio and TV for many things. You know what the say about opinions….every ar…………has one!!!

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:24 AM

Yep Reg, I wouldn’t disagree with you there, and I’d say Simon was delighted it was Eamon, because it creates the right atmosphere to get that pantomime going….and Simon did exactly that.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:31 AM

Initially I thought Harris came across as a bit anal, and unnecessarily provocative. But he held his emotion better than Dunphy who seemed to lose his composure a little, and therefore the strength in his argument. I still don’t like Harris or him whittling out the minor compensations his party have brought in the last budget etc. But debater against debater… He looked like a better fighter.
    Very Mr Burn-ish though!

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 10:55 AM

Mary you’re talking about it as if it was a staged match, like a boxing match or something. It was meant to be a debate about how to improve on what social policies we currently have here, not a measure of who can keep the coolest, which is all politicians seem able to do….have a good verbal fight and not lose face. Personally I’d prefer someone who did lose their temper now and again if it meant they were passionate about something and actually got stuff done, not just someone who shows me they’re incapable of emotion….

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:01 AM

It was just an opinion. Note the way I started with ‘I think’. That’s all it was. An observation. No need to criticise me for my observation. I’m just commenting on what I thought.

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:11 AM

I didn’t criticise you at all Mary. I just made an observation in reply, less of the sensitive, this is a public domain here and all opinions count, you don’t just post yours up without getting arguments back, that is the nature of opinion.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:10 PM

Fair enough. That’s angry valid point.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:11 PM

That a very valid, not angry valid!

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 3:40 PM

Mary that gave me a giggle, thank you for your response, I wasn’t attacking you personally just arguing the toss, so to speak, enjoy your day. :)

Mute Sean Barry
    Favourite Sean Barry
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:28 PM

Harris is the epitome of FG, a slimy, sneaky rat. He is just like dame Enda. Cannot answer a question without following a prepared speech full of personal insults. I hope this little rat loses his seat next time out.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:36 PM

Not sure how you came up with Harris “winning” as Eamo was constantly interrupted by Claire when he was making reasonable comments about the lack of social care from this Government.

I suspect the Journal knows what side it’s bread is buttered on… They know a large percentage of comments on numerous stories on this site are anti-government. Foster that, even channel it & there you have it… Click bait!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:36 PM

she’s always at that

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:26 PM

Harris reminded me of Ryan Tubridy, except with all the decency, empathy & charisma beaten out of him.
    A dislikeable, obnoxious, weasel of a little man.
    If he was there alone, just by himself last night, he would’ve lost the debate.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:40 PM

Byrne saved him, maybe she pitied him. Very like Tubridy yeah, that sort of whippet stature.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito

Looks like a good outing for Simon Harris alright. Dunphy is a soft target though.

Mute Mark Mc Steve
    Favourite Mark Mc Steve
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:46 AM

Dumphys a true hero!

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:22 PM

Judging from the comments here, O’Connell got the result wrong again- seems Dunphy won by a knockout, not ” Harris on points” . Have seen O’Connell on VB show. Not a good debater either. Dunphy would have him floored in round one.

Mute Pa Burke
    Favourite Pa Burke
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:51 AM

Why did you delete my comment Hugh? Can you not see the resemblance with Sean from ‘Circle of friends’ ?
    http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-9TLEbHASpR4/U8UyFtfhgtI/AAAAAAAAAKM/nV0_xvQXAas/s1600/15-07-2014+14-47-38.png

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton

Harris definitely had the edge.
    He’s a young guy, the youngest Minister in the Dáil, as far as I know.
    I reckon we will be seeing a lot more of him. He may come across as a bit nerdy and quirky but hey different is good. He’s one to watch …….

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke

Had the edge of what? I didn’t hear any answers come out of his mouth. Do tell what solutions he offered you last night. So he’s good in a row? Yep that will fix the country.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 10th 2015, 1:27 PM

Harris is a typical Fine Gaeler arrogant pompous with a squeaky voice.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:04 AM

Next week: Zig and Zag debate the political situation in Outer Mongolia.

Mute Ally O'Rourke
    Favourite Ally O'Rourke
    Feb 10th 2015, 11:09 AM

They’d probably offer better answers Neal that’s for sure.

Mute Hazel Reilly
    Favourite Hazel Reilly
    Feb 10th 2015, 3:09 PM

Harris looked nervous and ranted endlessly throwing insults at anyone who challenged him. An insolent child best describes him. Seems to be the way FG/labour ministers conduct themselves in debate. Could this day get any better for Murphy! Yet another own goal for this coalition :)

Mute David Donovan
    Favourite David Donovan
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:42 PM

Harris came across like a condescending sneering slimeball from a ruling elite…oh wait, thats exactly what he is..

No fan of Dunphy but I was cheering him on last night.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Feb 10th 2015, 1:55 PM

Remind me where Harris finished up in the European elections !.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:34 PM

Eamo 1 Pip Squeak Nil

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Feb 10th 2015, 12:08 PM

I watched the little film Dunphy presented , it confused me

He was comparing a Fireman in dublin to a French worker in a completly different field , Why not compare fireman to fireman.
    The Fireman in Ireland had a family income of 80k , didnt say if they wife had a job or not.

The Fireman related a story about how his kid has been waiting months for an appointment to see a cardiologist. That really confused me , as we were in a similar situation, our kid was ill, we couldnt wait for the public system so dipped into our savings to pay for the operation in the private system , 5k it cost and was done and dusted in a week or two….

We earn no where near 80k , is that fireman going to risk his childs health because there is a queue?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 10th 2015, 1:16 PM

You clearly didn’t watch the film.
    It stated the fireman wife because of childcare costs is working part time.They have been waiting 3 years for an appointment.
    It didn’t delve into the rest of their financial situation so anything on my part or yours is an unsubstantiated guess.

Mute John Sheahan
    Favourite John Sheahan
    Feb 10th 2015, 1:12 PM

Jesus she’s gorgeous.

Mute john clarke
    Favourite john clarke
    Feb 10th 2015, 2:17 PM

Smarmy, arrogant, condescending, opinionated, economical with the facts, ………… but then when has Eamon Dunphy been any different.

Mute mammysdinners
    Favourite mammysdinners
    Feb 10th 2015, 4:14 PM

Last nights debate only relevant if we could have had an example of France wasting 60 mil on consultants for a service for 3.5 mil of it’s citizens. We should also hear how much their tds make in expenses and pensions, and see if there are as many millionaires in Paris, relative to Dublin. Personal attacks only ensure that the argument is ultimately lost, regardless of it’s merit, made me cringe to see yet again the quality and intelligence of those in government.

Mute David Rochford
    Favourite David Rochford
    Feb 11th 2015, 8:07 AM

Disappointed with some of the comments on this thread, judging Harris on how he looks and how he was probably bullied as a kid etc etc. In my opinion Harris accounted himself very well and stood up to one of the biggest bullies on irish tv and radio i.e. Dunphy. It was great to see Dunphy being put in his place for once. Dunphy changes his tune as quick as the wind changes direction, also he insulted all of us by calling the country a kip. He should be ashamed of himself. Also i was impressed with Claire Byrne, she is improving week on week.