You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamon Ryan celebrating with Catherine Martin yesterday. The leader and deputy leader of the Greens are now in the 32nd Dail. Eamonn Farrell/RollingNews.ie

Green Party back as Eamon Ryan joins his deputy in Dáil

“I think we are the first party to lose all its seats… and to come back.”

GREEN PARTY LEADER Eamon Ryan has just won a seat in Dublin Bay South, bringing the party up to two seats in the 32nd Dail.

His deputy Catherine Martin was a surprise winner of a seat in Dublin Rathdown yesterday, knocking out Fine Gael’s Alan Shatter.

Martin, speaking to TheJournal.ie yesterday after her win in the three-seat constituency, said that she had spent the last four years canvassing:

The Greens are back in town and there’s a new Green there too. Why I did it all along is to get that Green voice restored, it’s been sorely missed. I believe that’s why I was elected.

The Greens suffered catastrophe in the 2011 election when all six of its TDs lost their seats. The return of two seats and a vote share of up to 3% means that they now have State funding restored to the party.

Ryan, following his win in Dublin Bay South, remarked:

I think we are the first party to lose all its seats in the Dáil and to come back.

He said that it proves that “money isn’t everything”.

It’s been a really big voluntary effort for five years with nothing, with no resources but with people.

Though his party will have just two seats in the Dáil, he told RTÉ he still believes they can make a difference.

“Two voices in opposition, if we’re really progressive…I think you can do a lot.”

Fine Gael’s Eoghan Murphy also took a seat in the constituency – he had a total of 8,023 votes to Ryan’s 8,788 – the quota was 7,941.

Jim O’Callaghan of Fianna Fáil and Kate O’Connell for Fine Gael took the final two seats, neither reaching quota.

The Greens are back in town’: a revitalised party>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 77 comments
77 Comments
    Mute Brian Leddin
    Favourite Brian Leddin
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:33 PM

Good stuff. We need a strong Green voice in the Dáil more than ever.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:36 PM

Things haven’t been the same since The Hulk lost his seat…

Mute Karl Alldritt
    Favourite Karl Alldritt
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:37 PM

You won’t get a strong anything with 2 seats. Will be invisible and treated like the clowns they are. Also don’t forget who propped up the FF government of Brian Cowan – your friends the greens

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:38 PM

Hope they’re kept out of Government or we’ll be taxed to the hill.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:40 PM

Oh there was no propping them up. The greens were as reasonable for the bank guarantee as FF were.

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:40 PM

The phrase is “to the hilt” Mick. Delighted for the Greens

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:41 PM

Hill were I come Ciaran

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:52 PM

They need to get together with the Social Democrats and maybe a couple of independents and form a technical group of the centre-left.

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:10 PM

The Green party propped up the FF lead government for a ban on hunting animals, meanwhile they let the banks hunt their fellow human beings – how many people killed themselves due to the policies the Green party sat their supporting – I cannot believe this guy has gotten a seat!

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:17 PM

Amazing selective amnesia there Karl – typical of the Irish electorate. You take time to comment on this, and seem oblivious to the fact that the creatures who were actually responsible for it all are currently leading in seat numbers.

Mute Pat Aherne
    Favourite Pat Aherne
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:17 PM

Saw a poll on are RTE last night that the people want more taxes so that we could spend more

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:30 PM

I’d say SDs 3 could join AAAPBP’s 4. They would shun labour and probably greens. Labour/greens would probably make up 7 for speaking rights.

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:50 PM

Ironic that Dublin people vote for someone who doesn’t want them to own massive Audi cars

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:58 PM

Watchful Axe, I’d be happy for GP/SD/AAAPBP/Indos4change/MOS to get together, and eventually for a detoxified Labour which has ousted its leadership and returned to its roots to join them too. We’re talking about over 20 TDs there. If they joined with SF and called it the Progressive Front or whatever, they would be bigger than FF and could be the official opposition regardless of who’s in power. It doesn’t have a snowball’s chance in hell of happening though.

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:04 PM

Affluent Dublin people votes for higher energy bills.

Thanks.

Mute ellis
    Favourite ellis
    Feb 28th 2016, 4:29 PM

The Healy Rae family are entitled to as much of a voice as the Green Party considering they have the same number of T.D.s

Mute Rory Corbett
    Favourite Rory Corbett
    Feb 28th 2016, 9:00 PM

The Hulk may have lost his seat but we still have Alan Kelly..

Mute Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Favourite Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:11 PM

Why are people obsessed with small parties being obliterated permanently after a bad stint in government? The Greens were naive and stupid to prop up FF for so long, but there’s been a major overhaul in the party and big lessons learnt by those who remain like Ryan.

The same applies now with Labour. It’s ridiculous to hope they disappear as a party. Let the ignorant leadership of Burton, Kelly, O Riordain and Rabitte disappear, but there’s a good tract of young politicians in that party that can rebuild it over the next decade and bring it back as a proper centre left, liberal party.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:34 PM

Looks like Kelly is going to hold his seat.

Mute Pat O'Hanrahanrahan
    Favourite Pat O'Hanrahanrahan
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:37 PM

Fantastic! We need green thinking in government!

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:43 PM

Shure €2 per litre of diesel will work out just great like.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:34 PM

Great news.

Mute James O Brien
    Favourite James O Brien
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:35 PM

Well done GP!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:39 PM

Although I don’t support the Greens, there is a role for the Green Party in the Dail, providing they have learned a political lesson in not supporting parties which have a fundamental lack of support from Green environmental policies. The Greens should not sell out again. They have only 2 seats and this may inhibit the temptation to be led astray, as in the past.

Mute Tom McDonnell
    Favourite Tom McDonnell
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:39 PM

Jaysus! Plastic bag tax up… Carbon tax up.. Save the planet waffle??.? … Sod it I’m going back to bed!!

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:44 PM

And yer bed is on what planet?!

Mute Erich King 
    Favourite Erich King 
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:45 PM

Saving the planet stuff is waffle? How sad your life must be.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:12 PM

Tom there are two of them in the Dail. They’ll hardly have the power to increase taxes. Plus the plastic bag tax is a huge success and has been copied in other countries.

Mute Colm Dunne
    Favourite Colm Dunne
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:44 PM

Well done to Eamon Ryan and the Greens. We need their perspective in national politics.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace

Feckin tree hugger woffle for 5 years. Oh the humanity

Mute fergusOB
    Favourite fergusOB
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:32 PM

For forks sake

Mute Billy Cotter
    Favourite Billy Cotter

Thank god only two

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:42 PM

Two too many

Mute Rob Ó Caoindealbháin
    Favourite Rob Ó Caoindealbháin
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:51 PM

You really don’t have a clue what’s going on around you. Please, educate yourself before giving your opinion.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:02 PM

What I see is overpriced fuel that drives up the cost of everything we buy and acts as a disincentive to work because people’s commuting costs are astronomical. When there is a viable alternative to petrol and diesel then the greens may have a point. But their policy to tax tax and tax some more is utter bollix.

Mute Sean Mac Gabhann
    Favourite Sean Mac Gabhann
    Feb 28th 2016, 3:29 PM

Drive electric :-)

Mute Denis Doyle
    Favourite Denis Doyle
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:42 PM

Wasted votes

Mute Stan Crunelli
    Favourite Stan Crunelli
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:00 PM

No such thing.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan

We need a better Roach spray.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Feb 29th 2016, 1:20 AM

Looking at that profile pic I think you’ve had more than enough roach spray.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:45 PM

What a time to be alive !

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:50 PM

Here is the actual quotation from Wordsworth:-

OH! pleasant exercise of hope and joy!
    For mighty were the auxiliars which then stood
    Upon our side, we who were strong in love!
    Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive,
    But to be young was very heaven!

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:34 PM

It’s the Irish electorate that really needs to learn a lesson here. Voting the same two parties in and out of government every few years and expecting different results each time. Insane.

Mute Vincent Wallace

Feckin tree hugger woffle for 5 years. Oh the humanity

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:47 PM

Mighty oaks from little acorns grow.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:03 PM

Mighty hurl from big ash made.

Mute Ron Koeman
    Favourite Ron Koeman
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:01 PM

Climate change is a load of nonsense. The idea that I can save the polar bears by turn my lights is stupid. Big industry and business has to do the heavy lifting instead of the Greens sticking their hands in my pocket

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:58 PM

According to the RTE exit poll, climate change wasnt even an issue yet 2 greens were elected

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:53 PM

yes the more fruitcake’s just what the doctor ordered. Remember these guys would flood the country with you know who, so they can deal with their white privileged guilt complex. (WPGC) they wont be living beside them in D4, it will be next to you …. and you will be paying for it and not just from your pocket …… lol

Mute Stan Crunelli
    Favourite Stan Crunelli
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:58 PM

Who’s you know who?

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:09 PM

Lady Gaga

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:16 PM

or the smurfs

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:31 PM
    Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Feb 29th 2016, 1:22 AM

“White privilege”?

What colour are you then?

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Feb 28th 2016, 9:34 PM

Delighted to see a green voice back in the Dail.
    We need an environmental voice to call out bad developer led planning, a toothless EPA , appalling underinvestment in public transport, shoddy building standards, a free for all on wasteful packaging, poor quality groundwater … the list is endless

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:59 PM

Can it get any worse? ?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:05 PM

Jaysus, it’s a couple of well-meaning tree huggers, not the return of Hitler. Chillax

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:12 PM

LOL Neal fair point. Still fcuking greens will probably stop me mowing the lawn.

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Feb 28th 2016, 3:46 PM

Green energy is the future and a Green voice is essential to drown out the loud mouth bunch of deniers and their fantasies.

Mute Carey Campbell
    Favourite Carey Campbell
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:34 PM

Thank you for the Green Party story. Congrats to the Green Party for an excellent campaign. The Green Party Green New Deal eco jobs for the economy is a winner. Green Party solar jobs, wind jobs, geothermal jobs, rail jobs, conservation jobs.

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:02 PM

That was that lad who was on holiday in d sun a few year ago in Jan when he was minister for transport when d rest of us was freezing in d snow in traffic in our cars He was also d lad responsible for doing a Michael Jackson stunt with his child hanging over due balcony do any of u remember the incident?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:40 PM

He was never minister for transport.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Feb 29th 2016, 1:26 AM

He was minister for transport on the planet Liam lives on.

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:53 PM

Ironic that Dublin people vote for someone who doesn’t want them to own massive juggernauts.

If he gets in govt its goodbye cheap petrol. Electricity bills will go from third highest to highest in EU

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:00 PM

Nobody’s forming a government with two seats. It’ll be fine.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:05 PM

the lack of political understanding on show here is mind boggling.

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:05 PM

Greens will go into govt with anyone

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:09 PM

No Owen they won’t, not after what happened to them the last time

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:11 PM

A govt of FF/FG/Greens is not impossible.

Ryan will ask for Energy minister in return for backing them up on austerity and cuts

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:13 PM

Dermot, you dont understand green mindset.

They crave power and control over ordinary people

Mute Stephen Wall
    Favourite Stephen Wall
    Feb 28th 2016, 2:57 PM

Owen the Green Party uniquely in Ireland has never accepted corporate donations, because they view them as inherently corrupting. If they craved power as much as you imply, this wouldn’t be the case.

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Feb 29th 2016, 1:24 AM

Ah now, leave Owen alone lads, his stupidity is hilarious!

Mute Cool Lights
    Favourite Cool Lights
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:58 PM

Tax policies that reward the rich and savage the poor. No thanks.

Mute owen m
    Favourite owen m
    Feb 28th 2016, 1:56 PM

The windmill and concrete people will be hoping he gets energy minister as he will write them a blank cheque

Mute Donkey Votes
    Favourite Donkey Votes
    Feb 28th 2016, 12:35 PM
    Mute Fail Gael
    Favourite Fail Gael
    Feb 28th 2016, 4:34 PM

Green party the party of the south side of Dublin and head up their collective holes, 2 seats means nothing why as they dont have speaking rights…But they would sell their souls to the devil to get back in Dublin, bunch of over entitled idiots

Mute Robert Breen
    Favourite Robert Breen
    Feb 28th 2016, 3:23 PM

gg