You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eamon Ryan will travel to Cop26 after second test gives negative Covid-19 result

Minister Ryan had received news of a positive Covid-19 test on Saturday.

AFTER A SECOND test Minister Eamon Ryan has tested negative for Covid-19 and will be free to travel to Cop26 in Glasgow.

In a press release yesterday the Department of Environment, Climate and Communications said that the Green Party leader was unable to travel due to a pre-flight positive coronavirus test. 

This morning a spokesperson said that the HSE had recommended a second test and that has returned a negative result.

“The public health advice in this instance is that the case is de-notified, close contacts are informed and the person can continue about their business. Minister Ryan now plans to travel to Glasgow for COP26 tomorrow.

“Minister Ryan has not been symptomatic at any point. He underwent the initial test as a precautionary measure as recommended by the organisers of COP26. On receipt of the initial result he followed all HSE protocols, including self-isolation and informing close contacts.

“Minister Ryan has updated the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and the Secretary to the Government with this information,” the spokesperson said. 

As environment minister, Ryan is due to play a crucial role in representing Ireland at the UN conference.

The Taoiseach Micheál Martin attended the conference for the two-day World Leaders Summit in Glasgow earlier this week.

Other ministers including Simon Coveney are expected to make the trip to Glasgow for the summit next week. 

The COP26 summit will end next weekend. Among the key issues being negotiated at the conference are the final details of the rulebook around the 2015 Paris Agreement and increasing funding for developing countries most impacted by the effects of climate change.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

116 Comments
    Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:20 PM

& what about all the public positive results, would second tests impact the high numbers we’re seeing ? I’m puzzled …

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:55 PM

@Ruth Colbert: Exactly. This kinda makes a mockery of testing in Ireland. With Eamon’s attitude we should all just keep getting tested until we get a result we’re happy with. How can he so easily accept the negative test and dismiss the positive. He was probably crying all night he wasn’t able to go to the COP conference.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:47 PM

@Alan Wright: a bit like sf supporters only acknowledging polls that show them on a rise even if that rise is below the margin of error. Polls that don’t show a rise are labelled polls that are meaningless this far out from an election. Point is, people will do whatever they want to get what they want when it suits them but make themselves look like hypocrites in the process.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:04 PM

@TomTraubert: Jaysus, the deflection there from you is immense. Comment on this story lad.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:30 PM

@Alan Wright: its very simple Alan, you barely have to question it, it’s one rule for them and a different one for the little people they govern, how many times have I said it, world leaders and politicians are not living like us, do as I say and not as I do, if someone in an Irish factory gets a positive test thry have to stay at home for 2 weeks and lose out on income they depend on and this guy is flying off a day after testing positive, wake up people please

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:54 PM

@Hugo Bugo: don’t be an eegit.. There are many false positive tests as well as false negative. Wake up and cop on.

Mute Peter Fernie
    Favourite Peter Fernie
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:24 PM

@Alan Wright: maybe he should have made it the best of 3 (or 5,)

Mute Marc Quinn
    Favourite Marc Quinn
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:37 PM

Well Holy Jaysis lads… Why did he not trust the first test like the rest of us???… God forbid his ego was denied his free diesel powered emission dispensing trip…. These chancers are really taking the yellow stuff at this stage!!!

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:36 PM

@Marc Quinn: His is undoubtedly green though I’d imagine…

Mute Marc Quinn
    Favourite Marc Quinn
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:32 PM

@William Tallon: Green by name certainly not by nature… In this world there’s no such thing as 100% green

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:54 PM

@Marc Quinn: I suppose it all depends on the light wavelength really and he’s definitely not on the same wavelength as many of us not to mention planet…

Mute Marc Quinn
    Favourite Marc Quinn
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:09 PM

@William Tallon: this is true Will… Maybe he’ll turn left and head straight up back to planet cabbage……finfers crossed.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:24 PM

@Marc Quinn: since an infection last 10 days, 10% of people who test positive will test negative a day later.

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:57 PM

@David Jordan: is that another way of saying he probably was spreading covid for previous 9 days while infected

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:25 PM

Every positive test of someone with no symptoms should be tested
    again, the number of cases would likely fall dramatically.

Mute White Chapel
    Favourite White Chapel
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:56 PM

@Brianán McBride:
    This is effectively a false positive even though this isn’t specifically stated in the article.

I don’t recall any statistics about false positives ever being issued in Ireland since PCR testing began, so in reality we have been dealing with inflated numbers since the pandemic began.

This also has the effect of misleading those whose tests have returned false positives into believing that they will have acquired natural immunity to the virus.

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:30 PM

@White Chapel:

Dr Cillian de Gascun of UCD put the false positive rate at between 0.1 and 0.2 percent

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:26 PM

@Robbie Farquharson: since an infection lasts an average of 10 days, about 10% of people will test negative on a second test 24h later.

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:22 PM

@David Jordan: I just quoted from TheJournal.ie fact check!

Mute Geraldine Kavanagh
    Favourite Geraldine Kavanagh
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:10 PM

Maybe it’s a false negative. He should continue to self isolate and test again in 5 days. He is bending the rules so he doesn’t lose out on his trip.

Mute Marian O Donnell
    Favourite Marian O Donnell
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:38 PM

@Geraldine Kavanagh: when Dr Tony Houlihan said these PRC Covid Tests were unreliable he was called every name under the Sun and Yet Again He is Proven Right

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:39 PM

@Marian O Donnell: He didn’t call PCR tests unreliable he called lateral flow / rapid antigen tests unreliable.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:59 PM

@Marian O Donnell: This is how splits in religions occur, a section of the original faith misinterpret a point and then form their own parallel religious offshoot, which adheres to the basic religion, but with a few very specific different interpretations that set them apart.

You just could be the Martin Luther of covidisim, who split the covid faithful on the question of, did the prophet Tony, say Antigen or PCR tests were unreliable? You just might have created covid protestantism…

Lol!

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:26 PM

Is he going over in a rowing boat to cut down on greenhouse gases.

Mute Peter Fernie
    Favourite Peter Fernie
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:29 PM

@Joe Johnson: Difficult to find out how he is going over. Cheap Ryanair Dublin Prestwick or Government PJ?. We await the official gov statement.

Mute a
    Favourite a
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:20 PM

PCR the gold standard my a$$$.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:34 PM

@a: it is, as has a false positive rate of a mere 0.2% (that’s 1 in 500 in case you also struggle with decimals)

Mute a
    Favourite a
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:37 PM

@Stephen Kearon: No, I don’t struggle with decimals as you say. The issue is the decimals may not indeed be correct. PCR is well known to give false positives.

Mute Big
    Favourite Big
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:44 PM

@a: What evidence do you have to support your claim that PCR is inaccurate?

Mute Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Favourite Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:44 PM

@Stephen Kearon: glad Eamon fell in that 0.2% and can so travel. Not like he is deciding out of caution that the second test may well be a false negative… What percentage would that be?

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh

@Stephen Kearon: only of carried out correctly

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson

@Stephen Kearon: i always found that claim dubious. Just thinking of high profile cases – Eamonn Ryan now (positive, 2nd negative), Callum Robinson (I think or else it was Connolly) previously for an irish game (positive, 2nd negative), Jon Rahm in the golf (positive, 2nd negative). I just find it highly coincidental these occurrences are making ho that mere 0.2% false negatives considering how many people are actually tested twice once they test positive.

Mute Elaine Fagan
    Favourite Elaine Fagan
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:53 PM

@Big: Eamonn Ryan’s result.

Mute Big
    Favourite Big
    Nov 8th 2021, 2:45 AM

@Elaine Fagan: ???

Ryan’s result shows that there is a level of error involved in the test. There’s an error margin with every test known to modern medicine. PCR’s error margin is extraordinarily low – if you dispute that, please provide actual data rather than pointing to one anecdote as if it proves your point.

Mute Synester Gates
    Favourite Synester Gates
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:25 PM

You’d think he would of just kept the negative result to himself, done his isolation and set an example, instead the tool has just made everyone now question the integrity of the whole PCR testing system all so he can run shoulders with world leaders. He was doing better when he was asleep.

Mute Gerard Heanue
    Favourite Gerard Heanue
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:45 PM

@Synester Gates: Well said

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:24 PM

And in one swift act by a minister desperate to rub shoulders, the entire testing system was thrown into disarray.

Mute Frank Mullane
    Favourite Frank Mullane

This I feel highlights the problem I have with all the figures about covid. Yesterday he was positive and today his is not. This is not the first time I have hear this sinario. I believe half the figures are false positives. NOTHING can be decided on these published figures. I must also say I am NOT a denier or an anti Valerie.

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:32 PM

@Frank Mullane: im sure Valerie will be delighted to hear that!

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:45 PM

@Frank Mullane: Why don’t you come over Valerie?

Mute Frank Mullane
    Favourite Frank Mullane
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:07 PM

@Frank Mullane: unfortunately auto correct strikes again. Should read anti-vaxer.

Mute Frank Mullane
    Favourite Frank Mullane
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:08 PM

@Frank Mullane: and I have a sister Valerie

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:10 PM

He has to go. His position is now untenable.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:38 PM

Very suspect

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:12 PM

@Fergal McDonagh: So green party leader unecessarily generating C02 going the meeting that could have been done on Zoom. Pure hypocrisy by our Government hammering everyone with carbon taxes etc

Mute Ian O Hara
    Favourite Ian O Hara
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:38 PM

So how many false positives are announced in daily figure’s.?

Mute Michael Hanley
    Favourite Michael Hanley
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:45 PM

I don’t remember the HSE recommend that I get a second test when my first one was positive. Is this just a special case for him.

Mute Brianán McBride
    Favourite Brianán McBride

No symptom positive tests should be tested again, the numbers would not be long reducing.

Mute Helen Kavanagh
    Favourite Helen Kavanagh
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:59 PM

@Brianán McBride: I tested positive during a routine test despite being completely asymptomatic. I was told by the contract tracer that I wouldn’t be tested a second time because I could test positive for months. It could well have been a false positive considering my health issues but I’ll never know. Wasn’t he ‘lucky’ he was tested a second time.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:27 PM

@Helen Kavanagh: the tracer is correct if you have been infected then you will continue to test positive for a long while after. This is one reason the “recovery” letter is important or even vital to avoid issues with “false” positives long after infection has passed.

However the OP idea is that if you are symptom free and test positive, as in the case of Mr Ryan, then a second test should be done, or maybe the best of three?

Mute Helen Kavanagh
    Favourite Helen Kavanagh
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:49 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Like I said, I was asymptomatic or for those at the back…. symptom free.

Mute CarlAnne Greene
    Favourite CarlAnne Greene
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:39 PM

Shocking that he can do this makes a mockery of the PCR test and all the people putting their lives in hold as a result of positive tests.

Mute Gordon Larney
    Favourite Gordon Larney
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:25 PM

Gombean…

Mute James Mccartan
    Favourite James Mccartan
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:31 PM

Should be the best of 3 results so many test are wrong it’s hard to work out what is going on.

Mute Peter Roche
    Favourite Peter Roche
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:45 PM

@James Mccartan: what,you mean like rock paper scissors????

Mute Csilla
    Favourite Csilla
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:34 PM

Who’s going to trust the system after this? Why are we not going to get tested twice?

Mute Enda Barry
    Favourite Enda Barry
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:33 PM

Lovely the way Eamon Ryan can get a second test to get a negative and sick old people can be dumped in covid wards for weeks without any 2 test under the “rules”

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:32 PM

These shower lecturing us on a daily basis to show some “cop on” and improve our behaviour with regards covid and taking all the necessary precautions and this you have this story, lol, give me a break, thankfully I don’t listen to one word they say and won’t be lectured to by them

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:34 PM

It’s more likely that the negative is false rather than the positive. He’s just eager to go to the big climate event so he’s choosing his own truth. Highly irresponsible.

Mute Rob Gale
    Favourite Rob Gale
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:35 PM

@Rob Gale: like imagine if he gave it to Attenborough and it killed him.. and he died just because this gombeen wanted his big day out.

Mute Terry Fagan VO
    Favourite Terry Fagan VO
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:20 PM

So which test result is correct? Surely he has to isolate until a third test is completed? Also, how did he get a second test so quickly? Something bangs here.

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:54 PM

Wonder where he got the first test done since the HSE recommended a second test?

Mute Maureen Ahearne
    Favourite Maureen Ahearne
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:34 PM

Is that not wonderful make them.up as they go

Mute Stephen Lambkin Moroney
    Favourite Stephen Lambkin Moroney
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:21 PM

Seriously

Mute Dominic Slevin
    Favourite Dominic Slevin
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:36 PM

Typical for an Irish Government. Keep trying until you get the result you want.

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:04 PM

if he had no symptoms why would he need a pcr test before a flight , surely he’s double jabbed and has one of those fancy free to do what you want passes,..

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:23 PM

@alan nolan: a spreader license..only license you can get without doing a test but stops you having to do any other test

Mute O'Brien
    Favourite O'Brien
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:50 PM

Marie Antoinette moment anyone?

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:43 PM

He should have done the decent thing and self isolate for 10 days, just to be on the safe side.

Mute jonathan
    Favourite jonathan
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:19 PM

That is pure bull if it was anyone else they would have to stay put .. for a pie in the sky conference

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:02 PM

Excuse me he is what???? I mean do as I say not as I do springs to mind. How can he have second test and go on a plane, to another country to a summit etc etc when the Joe public must isolate for a min of 10 days.

Mute Michael Dikie Foran
    Favourite Michael Dikie Foran
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:03 PM

He couldn’t be positive with anything the spoofer

Mute Ann Maher
    Favourite Ann Maher
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:40 PM

Interesting..
    So was the Positive results – False Positives. OR Negative Results False Negatives.

We Lyme Disease Patients have been dealing with False Negative results for Decisions, due to Inaccurate testing, resulting in Patients having a lifelong Chronic illness.
    It is Time for patients with Tick Borne Diseases to be properly looked after.
    #betickaware

Mute Dave Gillen
    Favourite Dave Gillen
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:12 PM

@Ann Maher: we have a government full of ticks. I think the whole country is very tick aware at this point.

Mute Derek Moean
    Favourite Derek Moean
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:37 PM

What about the carbon footprint.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:10 PM

Eamon Ryan’s version of the Lisbon treaty

Mute Derek Anderson
    Favourite Derek Anderson
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:06 PM

Wonder how many will test positive after this waste of time meeting.
    Makeing a mockery of this scamdemic gain.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:00 PM

Ireland’s loss is Glasgow’s gain!!

Mute Pat Morgan
    Favourite Pat Morgan
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:24 PM

Eamon Ryan Lourdes overnight

Mute bomber
    Favourite bomber
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:52 PM

They probably took the swab in the back passage while he was in a deep sleep.

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:48 PM

Unbelievable….actually no its not!! Time and time again they give reason to doubt this whole sham from the start…

Mute Paul Byrne
    Favourite Paul Byrne
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:03 PM

A joke

Mute John Vectravi
    Favourite John Vectravi
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:42 PM

Zzzzzzz Zzzzzzzz Zzzzzzzzzzz

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:19 PM

I made a comment on the first article where Mr Green party tested positive, and also said about the person who invented the test, and how he has said the test is not fit for purpose, the test is very inaccurate and is just giving Tony Hooligan his narrative to bring round more lock downs, on the strength of a badly made test system, the guy who invented it had a falling out with the others who wanted to market the test, because he maintained the test needed more refinement before being put in to use.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:51 PM

@JK: What would Tony Holohan gain from another lockdown? What would anyone gain from it except to protect the population or prevent overloading the health system?
    This narrative that all they want is lockdowns is one of the biggest POS that the Anti Vax/ COVID denial brigade keep pushing.

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:02 PM

@John Smith: I cannot tell you what to believe, I cannot tell you what to inject in to your body that is your choice, but there are others who want to ask more questions as to why things, are going so wrong why only one narrative is being run on MSM, and what is happening behind the scenes they keep trying to hide, but currently NEHPT was supposed to be history and their not so does that answer your question.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:22 PM

@John Smith: Well unlike a large section of society, they certainly wouldn’t be losing anything John. They’d benefit having the roads open only for “essential workers” like themselves again. The guards will benefit having the nice easy task of checkpoints & fining dangerous criminals being more than 5km from their home. And the media will benefit having everyone stuck at home listening/watching to the garbage that have helped their finances no end. And remember, the whole premise of lockdowns actually working was based on “data” (lies) from China.

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Nov 7th 2021, 2:28 PM

We’re both tests PCR? I know there is a higher instance of false positives with Antigen testing, which may have been why the HSE recommended a 2nd test, which would be a PCR test. So if 1st test was antigen and 2nd test PCR, that’s in line with the advice NPHET have been issuing for the past while, but if the 1st was a PCR test than that would suggest a change in official advice.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Nov 8th 2021, 1:04 AM

@D. Memery: not quite – a very weak response from a PCR high cycle has for over a year required a re-sampling within a day or two – for very marginal cases. I have linked to the HSE protocol in my longer comment below – but I still wonder how many people were ever retested because their PCR test showed a very weak response with a high cycle count.

If the first was an antigen test then the protocol for a positive antigen test is to have it confirmed with a PCR test. It is my guess though that it was a PCR test or they would have said nothing until the confirmation test.

I still think something is amiss though and would like to see what happens tomorrow and find out who did the test and was the result marginal requiring a retest as per HSE testing protocol or did he decide he was so important that he would have a second test unlike all the other people who tested positive.

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:41 PM

The climate crisis needs our best minds lads and this is why he is going

Mute JK
    Favourite JK
    Nov 7th 2021, 9:41 PM

@Colm Molloy: But is it a good thing to send someone with narcolepsy he may not be able to stay awake, all the way through it so things might get somewhat dreamed over so to speak. LOL

Mute coastal views
    Favourite coastal views
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:31 PM

How much is this going to Cost Us? advisors, staff, consultants, friends for flights, accommodation, subscriptions, memberships, bursaries, expenses, meals & entertainment, Did I miss anything line item?

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:18 PM

He has to go. Sleepy Joe needs a sleeping buddy!

Mute Gary C
    Favourite Gary C
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:48 PM

Pleb

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:06 PM

I wonder how many did have a second test. There is provision for a second test if the first one has a very high CT value and weak result which is what many of the skeptics here wanted. This has been there for a long time and is not new. People here questioned the high CT values and weak results claiming the PCR test was over sensitive and giving false positives…. I remember this being posted and people in that camp need to realise that what happened Mr Ryan may be exactly what they were asking for – retest of very weak results… .

Obviously we are not privy to the specific test results but asymptomatic people who have never had covid (or had covid more than 9 months ago) and have a very weak response are supposed to be re-tested within a day or two. Page 8 – Section 5 starts “Further evaluation should include a repeat sample….”

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/algorithms/PCR%20weak%20results%20guidance.pdf

That said I know of no ordinary person who was tested and recalled for a second test, but maybe it has been happening in hospitals or health care settings.

I find it amazingly suspicious and I think it should be the best of three. But in truth many here were looking for retesting when the CT value was very high and the results weak… so this is the type of consequence – but really all this needs to be released to dis-spell public disquiet – and there should be an independent validation of the various elements of this or we will continue to think this is a “fix” and one man can completely undermine the testing and isolation process.

He MUST be made to explain to the public why he got a second test and why he is no longer following the positive test protocols – but I think the damage has been done and the Green party leader needs to be expelled from government even if that means an election and that should the Green Party continue to support Mr Ryan as their leader then one wonders if anyone should vote Green while he is in charge, like it or not this is bad or even hypocritical action.

For once I am dumbfounded. If Mr Rayn was any use he should have stayed at home for the 14 days anyway to lead by example instead of shafting all those who have done and are doing the tight then,

I really hope the UK ask him not to travel or better still gets arrested and deported unless he can satisfy the people he represents that there was a good reason for the second test.

Mute Rerek Tony Dyan
    Favourite Rerek Tony Dyan
    Nov 7th 2021, 4:13 PM

Does this mean the the Healy Rea climate negotiation team will be stood down and can return to their pints and chip’s?

Mute Adam C
    Favourite Adam C
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:02 PM

He just wanted a lie on of a Sunday morning. Naps are important, but nothing beats a Sunday morning in bed.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:48 PM

And the faithful rejoiced, Covid Lazauras has risen!

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:28 PM

Read today’s Indo and see how some of our elected “brothers “ treated the staff in the Oireachtas… bunch of chancers.

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:29 PM

Tosser

Mute Gavin Morrissey
    Favourite Gavin Morrissey
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:29 PM

I’m sure the Cop26 lads are delighted. :o

Mute Skinny Melink
    Favourite Skinny Melink
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:09 PM

We all know the “test” is unreliable and the vast “casedemic” numbers being churned out by MSM is an unreliable and unscientificly acceptable figure. Project fear under the threat of restrictions and lockdowns is a very useful tool to keep people distracted while governments gain more control and more power under “emergency legislation”. All for our own health and safety of course (wink wink). If the Irish haven’t copped on by now, they deserve what’s planned and coming down the tracks.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:16 PM

Mabe He Was A Sleep during the First Test

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:59 PM

I wouldn’t sit near him in a cafe or plane. Get a third test.

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Nov 7th 2021, 6:34 PM

What his buddies that he co opted onto the Climate Change Committee…..failed politicians from his so called Green Party….

Mute Karl Pinker
    Favourite Karl Pinker
    Nov 7th 2021, 5:51 PM

It’ll be finished by the time he bikes there

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:37 PM

This is the typical FF FG Green type of politics , compliance is for the plebs

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Nov 7th 2021, 9:07 PM

If he had a shred of cop on he would consider the public backlash on this and not go anywhere near Glasgow but as sure as shyte smells his ego rules on this. What a mongboy.

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Nov 7th 2021, 3:38 PM

was his 1st test an antigen test?was the 2nd a PCR test?

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Nov 7th 2021, 7:10 PM

@MrJohne: I too was curious – but a very weak result after high cycles of a PCR test means resamplng and retesting within a day or two..Page 8 section 5

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/algorithms/PCR%20weak%20results%20guidance.pdf

But I am suspicions as I say in my longer command and believe even if it was covered by HSE protocol as in the link he should not travel and should isolate and have a third test just to be sure. Lead by example and not create suspicion. Most members of the public do not get a second test and hard to isolate at home when someone is positive and has no symptoms

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Nov 7th 2021, 1:57 PM

Great stuff

Mute richard grace
    Favourite richard grace
    Nov 7th 2021, 8:35 PM

Disgusting

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Nov 7th 2021, 11:30 PM

Glad he is well and second time around he tested negative.

Mute Mike Dé Vere
    Favourite Mike Dé Vere
    Nov 7th 2021, 10:10 PM

So is the opposite the case?

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    Nov 8th 2021, 10:55 AM

1 positive test, 1 negative test, how does this give assurance for travel, it’s been reported that “Dr Cillian de Gascun of the National Virus Reference Laboratory in UCD says the actual false positive rate is between 0.1% and 0.2%.” that’s a low number to assume that after a single negative Ryan is safe to travel.