You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

EBS apologises after double-charging error on debit cards

The former building society said today that the issue affected approximately 2,500 transactions.

EBS HAS ISSUED an apology to customers after charges on the debit cards of thousands of its customers were taken twice.

The former building society said that some customers who used their debit card over the weekend were debited twice when the money came out of their accounts yesterday. It said that this was “due to an internal processing error”.

“These duplicate transactions were reversed on all affected accounts on the same day,” EBS said in a statement. “EBS apologises for the inconvenience caused”.

It is understood that the issue affected approximately 2,500 transactions.

Read: Investigators uncover $45 million global ATM fraud ring>

Read: Consumers ditching cheques and cash for debit cards>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

11 Comments
    Mute john stone
    Favourite john stone
    Mar 12th 2013, 2:58 PM

Well, he’s a great guy at what he does but, film is about developing and adopting to new genres and ideas… I think bill is not someone that can power that engine

Younger people are needed at the top. They will be delighted with the opportunity at half the price.

Mute SuperFry
    Favourite SuperFry
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:14 PM

Yea but because Bill isn’t a film industry head he might take heed of more peoples opinions and ideas.

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:34 PM

He is ok – but why give it to a guy who has a good job already – and to a degree part of the establismnet – — so much for ” young blood ”.

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 12th 2013, 4:06 PM

It seems to me that the definition of Legend in R.T.E. circles means those who won’t, don’t or can’t retire !

Mute michael o'toole
    Favourite michael o'toole
    Mar 12th 2013, 2:59 PM

a good ol Blueshirt,
    more jobs for the boys.
    more of the ‘new politics’ of FG/Labour !!!!

Mute Addo Gallagher
    Favourite Addo Gallagher
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:06 PM

Bill knows nothing about sport never mind the industry he know represents , he’s a institutionalized Rte placement. Ridiculous pick…
    Well done Katie andSéamus though at least a couple of people on there might know what there talking about. Some ludicrous appointments though :’(

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:38 PM

Fine gael looking after one of its own. Nothing changes.

Mute Nick Thomas
    Favourite Nick Thomas
    Mar 12th 2013, 4:04 PM

Bill O’Herlihy, you’ve gotta be f**king kidding.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:41 PM

A blatant and shameless political for a high profile Fine Gael apparatchik. They’re not even attempting to dress it up as anything other than that. Which shows how much they do not give a shit about the optics. Be prepared to see Billo’s mug peering out at you from photos taken at more than a few international film festivals in the next couple of years while he’s putting on the green jersey – the one formally worn by John O’Donoghue.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:44 PM

You are so right. So depressing. More jobs for the boys. Will Ireland ever change?

Mute Emer Bracken
    Favourite Emer Bracken
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:19 PM

Just wondering how many of these people would be willing to serve on the board free of charge.

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:27 PM

Would you work free of charge? Nothing stopping you from volunteering your services free of charge.
    I see Ireland’s begrudgers are out en-masse today.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:47 PM

It’s not about the salary – it’s about the expenses, and the jollies and the free flights and the international film festival, symposiums and any other euphemism you can think of to describe a taxpayer funded session – all in the name of promoting Irish Culture and industry. Much like an appointment to the board of Aerlingus would be regarded as a reward for long serving party member, this is of the same ilk. To accuse people of begrudgery for pointing that out belies your own persuasions.

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Mar 12th 2013, 4:25 PM

Sorry, but I disagree. Bill OHerlihy is a distinguished broadcaster, broadcasting isn’t a million miles from film making, so why shouldn’t he be asked, and why shouldn’t he remunerated appropriately? I’ve served on 1 board – (as an expert), I was been remunerated, and no, I wouldn’t have taken on that position were there not remuneration. Why should I? I’m giving my time and my personally funded expertise and experience.

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Mar 12th 2013, 4:55 PM

I volunteer to sit on the board for no salary !

Mute James Connolly
    Favourite James Connolly
    Mar 12th 2013, 5:04 PM

That’s fine Michael, and that’s your choice. I just don’t like the idea that in order to be anything in the public service in Ireland you apparently have to do it for free, while those who work privately should be the real capitalists of the world.
    I’m sorry, but we aren’t volunteers, we are professionals, and should be viewed in that light.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Mar 12th 2013, 5:19 PM

Sorry John but you can’t expect us to use your expertise and experience and graft that on to this example. You are not to the best of my knowledge a well know Fine Gael PR professional with a sideline in broadcasting. And there is a difference Between operating in the closed glasshouse of RTE and the international world of modern filmmaking. Many people involved un the film industry are bemused at this appointment. No one is having a go at you or your own contributions to boards. But it is fair to say that the system of state appointees has been open to abuse. This government was very vocal about such practices when in opposition. However it seems to have intensified if anything since they have come into power. You are making this about you and your circumstances. It is not.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Mar 12th 2013, 5:33 PM

Apologies from the fragmented nature if that last comment. Typing on a phone!

Mute Con Ó Domhnaill
    Favourite Con Ó Domhnaill
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:32 PM

As any good Dictator knows it is very important to control the media and the judiciary so Enda is doing very nicely thank you. Fine Gael now control most national print media, RTE, most national radio stations and Bill can make sure we watch the “right” movies

Mute brunomurphy
    Favourite brunomurphy
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:48 PM

No doubt the Fine Gael defenders will be on shortly to tell us how he is the best candidate and that this is appropriate . Where is David Higgins ? Normally he would have posted by now to defend the indefensible

Mute Martin Greene
    Favourite Martin Greene
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:09 PM

Okey dokey now Maurice, would it be fair to say that was a good movie!!

Mute Andy Duggan
    Favourite Andy Duggan
    Mar 12th 2013, 2:49 PM

Okey Dokey…. Good call, few people on irish tv are as universally liked as Bill.

Mute Eamonom
    Favourite Eamonom
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:25 PM

Which universe are you living in?

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:27 PM

Few people on the journal as universally disliked as Andy

Mute Andy Duggan
    Favourite Andy Duggan
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:44 PM

Oh no, online people might not like me… do i care? No.

Mute Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Favourite Pádraig O'hEidhin
    Mar 12th 2013, 7:15 PM

jobs for the lads if u ask me.

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Mar 12th 2013, 7:30 PM

Young blood!!!!

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:39 PM

Is Anne Doyle a member of FG, surely she is due for a plum position since she retired ?

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Mar 12th 2013, 4:53 PM

All pals of Jimmy’s I presume ? Why are these positions not advertised and open to the public to apply for??

Mute dermot ryan
    Favourite dermot ryan
    Mar 12th 2013, 8:54 PM

Because “canvassing will disqualify ” ….l.o.l.

Mute Julius Cafferky
    Favourite Julius Cafferky
    Mar 12th 2013, 2:56 PM

How old is Bill now?
    He was a great anchorman with Dunphy and Giles.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:35 PM

According to wiki & google he is 74 Bill O’Herlihy (born 26 September 1938)

Mute Gina_ius
    Favourite Gina_ius
    Mar 12th 2013, 5:34 PM

New Film Board classification just announced; PG, 12, 15, 18…. and Okey Doke.

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Mar 12th 2013, 2:56 PM

Even better he’s from cork,top man..

Mute Julius Cafferky
    Favourite Julius Cafferky
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:05 PM

Joe,some sad dudes who do not like class!

Mute marcoop
    Favourite marcoop
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:49 PM

Oh right, Bill! that big hollywood hustler himself…wha?

Mute Declan Hughes
    Favourite Declan Hughes
    Mar 12th 2013, 5:15 PM

Jobs for the boys. My God, when is this all going to end? Look at Gaybo! Lyric FM, Temple Street, Road Safety, RTE TV, & so on. How many cushy numbers has he under his belt? Isn’t it any wonder there is severe unemployment on this island of ours when RTE and the likes have cosy cartels running right in front of our noses!

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:26 PM

It’s immoral Bill to accept this position at your age and in your position. Young people are committing suicide because of the hopelessness felt today for their futures. Gaybo, Bill, and the rest of old RTE staff who are beyond retirement age should look at their greed and think about others for once. As for the people who give these jobs to people – they also need to reflect on their values.

Mute John Mckiernan
    Favourite John Mckiernan
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:57 PM

Is this a joke ?Please tell me there is no salary with this job . Bill is well known for being tight . Young blood please .

Mute Ken Curran
    Favourite Ken Curran
    May 25th 2013, 1:39 PM

Bill lobbies for the tobacco industry. Disgusting.