You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Eddie Jordan. Alamy Stock Photo

'True legend': Tributes paid to former F1 boss Eddie Jordan after his death aged 76

His family said he passed away peacefully in the early hours of this morning.

LAST UPDATE | 20 Mar

FORMER FORMULA ONE team owner, TV pundit and entrepreneur Eddie Jordan has been hailed as one-of-a-kind after he died today at the age of 76.

The Dubliner, who had spoken publicly of his cancer diagnosis in recent years, died peacefully in South Africa this morning.

In a statement, his family said: “It is with profound sadness that we announce the passing of Eddie Jordan OBE the ex-Formula 1 team owner, TV pundit and entrepreneur.

“He passed away peacefully with family by his side in Cape Town in the early hours of 20 March 2025.”

Jordan ran his own team in F1 between 1991 and 2005 before continuing to be involved in the sport as a broadcaster for the BBC and Channel 4.

His team, which he named after himself, entered 250 races and won four times, with Damon Hill leading home Jordan’s best-ever result – a one-two finish at the 1998 Belgian Grand Prix.

Jordan also handed Michael Schumacher his F1 debut at the 1991 Belgian Grand Prix, with the German going on to win a record-breaking seven world championships – an accomplishment only matched by Lewis Hamilton in 2020.

auto-f1-1996-portugal-photodppi-willy-webberschumacher-s-manager-michael-schumacherferrari-ralf-schumacherjordan-eddie-jordanjordan-ambiance-weber-00000360_013-credit-dppi-media 1996 image of Micheal Schumacher (left) with his brother Ralf (centre) and Eddie Jordan (right) Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

He went on to be a pundit for the BBC’s and Channel 4′s F1 coverage, and also appeared as a host on Top Gear. 

In December last year, he spoke about his cancer diagnosis on his Formula For Success podcast. He said he had bladder and prostate cancer which spread to his spine and pelvis.

“We’ve all heard about our wonderful friend, Sir Chris Hoy, who’s an absolute megastar, and he is coming out and talking about illnesses like what I’ve got, but he’s a far younger man,” he said. 

“But this is a little message, and everybody listening to this: Don’t waste or put it off. Go and get tested, because in life, you’ve got chances.

“And there is so much medical advice out there and so many things that you can do to extend your lifetime. Go and do it. Don’t be stupid. Don’t be shy. It’s not a shy thing. Look after your body, guys.”

Tributes

In a statement shared on social media, Formula One CEO Stefano Domenicali said: “We are deeply saddened to hear about the sudden loss of Eddie Jordan.

“With his inexhaustible energy he always knew how to make people smile, remaining genuine and brilliant at all times. Eddie has been a protagonist of an era of F1 and he will be deeply missed,” he said. 

“In this moment of sorrow, my thoughts and those of the entire Formula 1 family are with his family and loved ones.”

Taoiseach Micheál Martin said he was “greatly saddened” at Jordan’s death. 

“Eddie lived life to the full, facing his final days with the same courage and tenacity displayed throughout many years as an entrepreneur, F1 pioneer and TV pundit,” he said.

“There were few like him. My sympathies to his family and friends.”

Tánaiste Simon Harris said Jordan was “a proud Dublin” whose impact on the world of motorsport was “truly remarkable”. 

“His passion, vision, and leadership shaped the sport and inspired so many. His legacy will live on,” he said. 

Aston Martin said in a statement: “We’re deeply saddened to hear of the passing of Eddie Jordan. His impact will be felt across the motorsport community for generations to come. Our thoughts are with his family, friends and colleagues at this time.”

McLaren said Jordan was “a legend of the sport”, adding: “His passion and contributions to F1 left an incredible mark.”

monza-italy-1-sep-2023-eddie-jordan-irl-former-jordan-f1-team-principal-during-formula-1-pirelli-gp-ditalia-credit-alessio-morgesealessio-morgese-e-mage-alamy-live-news Eddie Jordan pictured at Monza, Italy in September 2023 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Meanwhile, presenter Jake Humphrey, who worked alongside Jordan at the BBC, remarked that “Formula One won’t see the likes of Eddie ever again, where a guy with a love for racing can hustle his way into the sport and end up winning races”.

“More important than race wins though, he won hearts,” added Humphrey. “Eddie lit up a room whenever he entered it.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Pat B
    Favourite Pat B
    Thu 9:06 AM

A great Irishman who broke down barriers and defied the odds in the cut throat world of Formula 1. R.I.P

Mute Jack Dermody
    Favourite Jack Dermody
    Thu 5:24 PM

@Pat B: A true legend…
    But listen to him, get your bloods checked and put in your calendar to repeat that every 1-2 years…

Mute Pat B
    Favourite Pat B
    Thu 6:02 PM

@Jack Dermody: very true.

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Thu 9:05 AM

A great character and personality

Mute Noel Simon Murphy
    Favourite Noel Simon Murphy
    Thu 9:09 AM

Legend!! Still remember the Jordan 1- 2 at Spa, Eddie was on cloud 9. Rest in Peace

Mute Diarmuid Concannon
    Favourite Diarmuid Concannon
    Thu 9:13 AM

@Noel Simon Murphy: yes, I remember that also. Great memories. May he rest in peace.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Thu 9:04 AM

RIP

Mute Don Ryan
    Favourite Don Ryan
    Thu 9:10 AM

He was 1 of the many reasons that I started watching F1and i have grown to love the sport RIP

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Thu 9:47 AM

@Don Ryan: exact same don! My earliest memories of F1 was watching and supporting his Jordan team and that yellow car with drivers such as Fisichella. It is a sad day.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Thu 10:22 AM

@Don Ryan: The EJ 1 has been parked up indefinitely.

Mute Rian O'Sullivan
    Favourite Rian O'Sullivan
    Thu 11:59 AM

RIP Eddie you were an absolute legend of F1 and a hero of Irish Motorsport

Mute Mike Carson
    Favourite Mike Carson
    Thu 9:09 AM

Had the pleasure of a brief encounter with the man a few years back. Got a sense he was a very kind & friendly man. My condolences to his family and friends. Rest in peace, Mr Jordan.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Thu 9:23 AM

RIP. Seemed like such a cool bloke. A life most of us could only dream of.

Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Thu 9:27 AM

RIP to a great man. The yellow Benson & Hedges and ‘Buzzin Hornets’ Jordans were an iconic image in the sport.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Thu 7:23 PM

@Jason Memail: The Buzzin Hornet was the same car, but UK, France and Belgium had banned tobacco advertising so they used that livery.
    I’ve often wondered how that sponsorship deal worked out with the change coming into effect in 1998 or 1999. My guess was they still got paid.

Mute Brian O'Connor
    Favourite Brian O'Connor
    Thu 9:22 AM

RIP. Remember very well first 1,2 win at Spa.. still have it in VHS! The reason why I started following F1. Designed the most beautiful F1 car too… the Jordan 191 with its beautiful livery and stance. RIP Eddie Jordan

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Thu 10:01 AM

@Brian O’Connor: 191 designed by Gary Anderson another Irish man and the car Michael Schumacher made his F1 debut in, Eddie will be remembered fondly for bringing so much colour and fun to F1, as an example those concerts after the British GPs and for the Jordan fans those visits once yearly to the Jordan Factory at Silverstone and the test sessions across the road at the circuit. Eddie was an old rogue in many ways but very much a lovable one highly regarded in motorsport. Thanks for all the wonderful memories Eddie and may you rest in peace.

Mute Allo Allo
    Favourite Allo Allo
    Thu 9:36 AM

Sad, what a legend. Still young 76 too early, Lads remember to keep yourself checked and get ahead of these things

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Thu 10:14 AM

@Allo Allo: keep all medical appointments.RIP Eddie a great irishman.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Thu 9:20 AM

Rest in peace, legend.

Mute anthony lambe
    Favourite anthony lambe
    Thu 9:19 AM

Normally although sad, these death announcements don’t get to me too much, I suppose you get numb to them but this one has really got to me. Not that I knew him or anything but he always came across as a really nice bloke, really decent and a funny character. It’s sad, RIP Mr Jordan.

Mute Symon
    Favourite Symon
    Thu 9:45 AM

@anthony lambe: Just RIP

Mute anthony lambe
    Favourite anthony lambe
    2hours ago

@Symon: If you’re telling me to not write how I feel and to just write RIP and leave it at that then I’m telling you to mind your own business. It’s a free country and I’m entitled to say what I want/feel so get a grip of yourself and give your head a wobble and maybe some cop on will shake loose and you could use it to help filter the rubbish you speak

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Thu 9:28 AM

May you be forever at peace Eddie

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Thu 11:20 AM

I was diagnosed with PC in 2005, just having a check up when it was slightly elevated, it is so important to get it in the early stages, you don’t die of PC it’s when it travels to the bones and the other organs. I spent seven weeks in Luke’s hospital and received RT. I am thankful that my doctor found it early. I would every man to get checked, they have wonderful science now about the disease and men are getting through this. I may say I prayed some and it helped me to stay strong.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Thu 11:22 AM

@Phillip Smyth: (urge)

Mute Manc Chris
    Favourite Manc Chris
    Thu 9:41 AM

The man jumped through some tough hoops to get to the top of the game in F1. RIP

Mute Sea Spirit
    Favourite Sea Spirit
    Thu 9:28 AM

Great guy, buzzing hornets. RIP.

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Thu 9:36 AM

Very sad, seemed like such a good guy and always very upbeat. RIP!

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Thu 11:35 AM

His final act before dying was to save London Irish from insolvency and allow them to go back to playing rugby in the Gallagher Premiership or join the URC as the fifth Irish team. He was a proud Irishman and saving the rugby club that millions of Irish people over in London supported truly showed it for one last time. RIP Eddie Jordan, you will be missed.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Thu 4:53 PM

@William Jennings: well said William

Mute Tosh Moher
    Favourite Tosh Moher
    Thu 10:01 PM

@William Jennings: Millions of Irish people,really William?

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Thu 9:30 AM

RIP

Mute Seamus McLaughlin
    Favourite Seamus McLaughlin
    Thu 9:41 AM

Met him at Seville 2003 Celtic v Porto, and he spoke to us after the match – really down to earth. RIP

Mute Ciaran FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciaran FitzGerald
    Thu 9:49 AM

RIP Eddie. True irish legend

Mute G
    Favourite G
    Thu 10:37 AM

A bright, intelligent and proud Irishman. We should remember him fondly and wish for more like him. RIP

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Thu 10:35 AM

Legend in his time and great ambassador for Ireland and world FI.

Mute G L M
    Favourite G L M
    Thu 10:51 AM

What he did in his first year in F1 has never been matched… I was obsessed with the team in the early 90s.
    Thanks for the memories EJ

Mute Eddienowy Byrne
    Favourite Eddienowy Byrne
    Thu 9:54 AM

RIP

Mute Hibernicus
    Favourite Hibernicus
    Thu 10:25 AM

Absolute Irish sporting legend! What a race – rest in peace, Eddie!

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Thu 10:57 AM

RIP Eddie. A great guy. Condolences to his friends and family.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Thu 12:40 PM

RIP Eddie Jordan! You competed against the best as you were one of the best! Cool and Calm personified!

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Thu 1:30 PM

Unbelievable the tributes on the BBC website, just shows the standing Eddie was held in bbc.co.uk/sport/live/cj92g79pelkt

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Thu 9:38 AM

So sad, a great character, a great Irishman and I remember back in the late 90s and early 00s when Formula One was huge, and Eddie and his team were a huge part of that. RIP Eddie, gone too soon.

Mute Ben dover
    Favourite Ben dover
    Thu 9:40 AM

A legend, ground breaker, trend setter and ultra cool guy…rest in peace

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Thu 9:47 AM

Ah sad to hear. R.I.P Eddie

Mute George Bowling
    Favourite George Bowling
    Thu 9:57 AM

Wow, so saving London Irish was the last sporting act of a dying man too.

Mute Fintan Neelan
    Favourite Fintan Neelan
    Thu 3:25 PM

@George Bowling: says it all about Eddie. What an amazing gesture from a man who knew his days were numbered

Mute Jack Schitte
    Favourite Jack Schitte
    Thu 10:22 AM

A legend,God rest Eddie you will be missed.

Mute giles wolohan
    Favourite giles wolohan
    Thu 9:56 AM

Rip legend

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Thu 10:24 AM

He’ll be managing a team up in the sky now, having the pick of F1 greats through the ages to drive for him.

RIP EJ

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Thu 10:46 AM

Eddie was the epitome of cool. RIP

Mute Luas Lips Houlihan - Dub Drag Queen
    Favourite Luas Lips Houlihan - Dub Drag Queen
    Thu 10:23 AM

RIP.

Mute DeBaldyMullet
    Favourite DeBaldyMullet
    Thu 10:55 AM

RIP Eddie. A decent character.

Mute Charlie Crown
    Favourite Charlie Crown
    Thu 1:01 PM

A great man, R.I.P. Eddie

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Thu 10:45 AM

RIP Eddie.

Mute Joshua Walsh
    Favourite Joshua Walsh
    Thu 2:36 PM

I’ll never forget Spa 98 and watching Eddie dance up the pit lane. The iconic 191, debuts for Irvine, Schumacher, Barrichello. What a wonderful character, thanks for the memories Eddie, RIP.

Mute Paul H
    Favourite Paul H
    Thu 4:47 PM

Every 3 months get a blood test lads to check for psa levels you might find the GP says every year or 6 months. Every 3 months and insist on it. Time is key

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Thu 10:24 PM

@Paul H: every 3 months is not necessary, you need to get on with your life and do what your GP instructed you to do.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Thu 4:51 PM

A sad day for the Jordan family,for Ireland and World Motorsport. Thank you very much and RIP Mr Jordan

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Thu 3:47 PM

Thank you Eddy for all the great weekends and Jordan Parties in the 90s. Thank you for giving us tifosi Micheal Schumacher.

Mute terriogorman
    Favourite terriogorman
    Thu 3:21 PM

Aw bless him.

Mute Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Joseph Fitzgibbon
    Thu 3:56 PM

This

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    20hours ago

Seen HH Fretzen bring Eddie the win in Monza 99. Had an Eddie Ervine cap on who was driving for Ferrari at the time. Quickly changed to me Jordan cap and entered the track for the celebrations lol. RIP Eddie.