You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Irish Water repair burst pipe that caused major water outages in Dublin yesterday

Regional Asset Operations Manager with Irish Water told Morning Ireland that a fitting on top of the pipe, that was laid 40 years ago, was “sheared off”.

IRISH WATER HAS repaired the burst pipe overnight that caused water outages in many areas in Dublin yesterday.

Regional Asset Operations Manager with Irish Water, Margaret Attridge told Morning Ireland that a fitting on top of the pipe, that was laid 40 years ago, was “sheared off”.

The Operations Manager told the programme that crews got to the pipe around 6pm yesterday and managed to get it repaired around midnight last night.

While pressure continues to build in the pipes again, households are advised to run their taps until the water is clear as there could still be some discoloration in the network.

Attridge said there is no requirement to boil the water and that the water is safe to drink once it is flowing clearly from a tap.

Typically it takes two to three hours following restoration time for water to refill the networks and normal supply to be fully restored.

A spokesperson for Irish Water said: “Following the repairs, it takes several hours for normal water supply to return to all customers due to the size of Dublin’s network, especially for those on higher ground or at the end of the impacted network. ”

Attridge said despite the age of the pipe it was “quite a strong pipe” and the water company had feared that the damage was more extensive than originally thought, and that repairs could last “at least another 24 hours”.

Attridge said: “[Crews] started restoring pressure around two or three o’clock this morning.”

A significant and high-pressure water main burst in Dublin’s south inner city and the supply was turned off while the issue was being resolved.

Joe O’Reilly of Irish Water said: “I would like to thank the specialist water services crews in Dublin City Council for their dedication and expertise and for working throughout the night to limit the impact on customers and successfully complete the repairs.

“In addition, thanks to the residents in the area for their patience and understanding as we worked through the night on the repairs,” O’Reilly added.

Around 40,000 properties, including homes and businesses, were impacted by the outage.

Customers in the following areas may be impacted by reduced water pressure and/or water outages until the main is full restored:

• Dolphins Barn
  • Harolds Cross
  • Kilmainham
  • Fleet Street
  • Brunswich Street
  • The Liberties
  • Gardener Street
  • Dorset Street
  • Drumcondra
  • Whitehall
  • Artane
  • Coolock
  • Beaumont
  • Fairview
  • Raheny
  • Clontarf
  • Killester
  • Home Farm
  • Surrounding areas

One councillor in the Artane-Whitehall area said yesterday that they were receiving a high number of calls regarding outages in the Edenmore, Raheny and Artane areas.

Another councillor in Clontarf said they had a water supply, but that it was running brown.

Irish water arranged alternative water supplies in key locations across Dublin which closed at 9am this morning.

The Irish Water customer care helpline is open 24/7 on 1800 278 278 and customers can also contact us on Twitter @IWCare with any queries.

Additional reporting by Muiris O’Cearbhaill

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Michael Bodycoach
    Favourite Michael Bodycoach
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:33 PM

And pop a few dacent movies up there while you’re at it… Running low…

Mute Robbie Clancy
    Favourite Robbie Clancy
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:39 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: hahaha good one.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:45 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: Disney+ is out next week. Going to give that a go. Light hearted family shows and movies is what I need right now. This forty something is going to watch bedknobs and broomsticks with no shame or guilt. (Just don’t tell anyone)

Mute Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Favourite Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Peter Cavey: Disney+ is already out isn’t it? I’ve had the app AGES but still haven’t subscribed lol

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:01 PM

@Dalya Al-Tulaihi: their website says 24th March. Maybe you can download the app now but might not work till then.

Mute Darragh Brennan
    Favourite Darragh Brennan
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:03 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: kingdom. Has zombies in it, but it’s so much more. Brilliant.

Mute Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:11 PM

@Peter Cavey: I’ll try it out now and let you know.

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:12 PM

@Michael Bodycoach: Should check out Uncut Gems. Really good movie.

Mute Dalya Al-Tulaihi
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:12 PM

@Peter Cavey: oh nevermind! I have the DisneyLife app! :)

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:26 PM

@Pete Gilmartin: agreed – probably one of Adam Sandler’s best performances to date.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:13 AM

@Pete Gilmartin: Agreed it was Adam Sandler not being “Adam Sandler”, it was refreshing.

Mute Anthony Edward Healy
    Favourite Anthony Edward Healy
    Mar 20th 2020, 2:05 AM

@Michael Bodycoach: or just download CinemaHD apk?

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    Mar 20th 2020, 8:53 AM

@Dalya Al-Tulaihi: in other countries. It doesn’t launch in ireland until the 24th. signed up for the year last week.

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:37 PM

Covid is affecting everything.

Netflix could we please get the same content as America? Please? *puppy eyes*

Mute John C
    Favourite John C
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:55 PM

@Optimus Prime: Google….. Liberty Shield.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:16 PM

@Optimus Prime: you can do a little Google search for tutorials.

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Mar 20th 2020, 8:04 AM

@John C: that’s another 7 pounds a month to sign up for that.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 20th 2020, 9:43 AM

@John C: Google…. CinemaHD.

Mute Gerry Quinn
    Favourite Gerry Quinn
    Mar 20th 2020, 9:57 AM

@Optimus Prime: We get a lot of stuff that they don’t get because they are in competition with the owners there. If they aren’t streaming in Ireland/UK they don’t mind selling stuff to Netflix.

Mute mammy
    Favourite mammy
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:46 PM

So are they reducing the price for that period also? Yeah right

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:30 AM

@mammy: it’s not that expensive anyway for what you get. We’d have spent something similar for two or three movies a month in a video shop few years back.

Mute Atlas' burden
    Favourite Atlas' burden
    Mar 20th 2020, 3:32 AM

@King B: yes but that’s not the point here. If we’re paying for a service we should expect the same content and service we signed up for.

Mute Daragh Kennedy
    Favourite Daragh Kennedy
    Mar 20th 2020, 6:37 AM

@Atlas’ burden: Christ I’ll give you the €1.50

Mute Paulie B
    Favourite Paulie B
    Mar 20th 2020, 6:51 AM

@Daragh Kennedy: @Daragh Kennedy: The basic price on Netflix is €7.99 per month. Ultra HD is €15.99 per month. So, Where are you getting your €1.50 from you muppet. But if you’re giving away a free €1.50, I’ll take it also

Mute Jensen Bhroin
    Favourite Jensen Bhroin
    Mar 20th 2020, 9:12 AM

@Paulie B: the second tier standard which is the one you have to be on for HD is 12€ and the basic without it is €8. I’m in the second purely because of wanting HD as I don’t use the second screen. Why would I pay extra for a service I’m not getting? It doesn’t matter what the amount is, if you pay for a service you get it and if not then there should be a reduction in price to reflect that.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:50 PM

If quality is down for a month will subscription drop for a month? Like BMW selling you a 3.0lt and telling you they will be swapping the engine out with a 1.0lt for a month.

Mute Gary Stewart
    Favourite Gary Stewart
    Mar 20th 2020, 6:12 AM

@Paul O Mahony: No it isnt. Not even remotely.

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Mar 20th 2020, 9:20 AM

@Gary Stewart: why should I pay for UHD on Netflix and receive only HD… Yes the price difference is very small but not the principle. Netflix are obviously enjoying the kudos but will probably not pass it on to their customers by way of a reduction in fees.

Mute Dermot Quinn
    Favourite Dermot Quinn
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:58 AM

The Irishman is now going to be 6 hours long.

Mute MitchConnor
    Favourite MitchConnor
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:40 PM

Ah yes, rather buy new servers with all that new sub money the last few weeks they’ll reduce quality. Mugs the lot of ya.

Mute Shougeki
    Favourite Shougeki
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:52 PM

@MitchConnor: Its not their issue. If you look at the article it is to relieve ISP backhaul pressure. And if you look at netfix IT, stuff like chaos monkey/kong where they can fail entire geographical locations its pretty cool. So id say their infra can handle it.

Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:25 PM

@Shougeki: As someone from a networking background. I find it a little hard to believe that core networks would struggle with Netflix converging there networks. And if it was the case, the protocol will sense it and load balance it at the various tiers in the network. Also, if the telecoms really wanted they could give priority to IP ranges of hospitals, also most hospital traffic I would imagine is intranet.

Mute Mike McGann
    Favourite Mike McGann
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:34 PM

@MitchConnor: go to school

Mute Paul Quirke
    Favourite Paul Quirke
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:09 AM

@Dave.: funny here how the posts that speak the truth get so few thumbs up .. and you were nice about it :)

Mute Shougeki
    Favourite Shougeki
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:39 AM

@Dave.: By the message it is a combination of netflix plus everyone working from home – vpn, zoom, etc.
    But the telcos cores should handle it. If you want a good tech read look into their simian army and the advent of chaos engineering where they build massive failures into their designs.

Mute Who cares?
    Favourite Who cares?
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:34 PM

Hopefully PH keep their quality up!

Mute Berkieahern3
    Favourite Berkieahern3
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:06 PM

Pornhub may need to look at doing the same!!

Mute Y U no spell good?
    Favourite Y U no spell good?
    Mar 20th 2020, 8:42 AM

@Berkieahern3: be quiet you monster!

Mute Kevin Fogarty
    Favourite Kevin Fogarty
    Mar 20th 2020, 9:58 AM

@Berkieahern3: Alright John

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Mar 20th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Berkieahern3: You can get UHD porn now? What a time to be alive.

Mute Ger O'Reilly
    Favourite Ger O'Reilly
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:02 PM

They will of course reduce their fees accordingly

Mute Mal Swan
    Favourite Mal Swan
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:37 PM

So they are doing this so people can use the internet from home rather than work. Are they not using the same amount of data when at home vs at work? Fill me in…

Mute fintolini
    Favourite fintolini
    Mar 20th 2020, 4:28 AM

@Mal Swan: no is the quick answer. Working from home for a lot, means accessing your company corporate network remotely. This puts traffic over internet that would not normally be there, ad to that kids are off school and you can be sure they are generating massive traffic that would not normally be there for a fair portion of weekdays. Ad to that all of those who’ve lost their jobs to to covid 19 related business closures and are at home also potentially using internet services

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:41 PM

Less quality same sh/t

Mute Charlie
    Favourite Charlie
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:34 PM

Oh more good news

Mute Lionheart1
    Favourite Lionheart1
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:36 PM

What quality?

Mute Jenny Kelleher
    Favourite Jenny Kelleher
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:05 AM

Can people please stop complaining if you have to watch TV of a slightly worse quality, the demand of internet usage is huge now that people are working from home and streaming more. Fair play to Netflix, I’m looking forward to watching HD TV again soon.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:13 AM

@Jenny Kelleher: I am complaining I’m paying the same fee with reduced c**p service and I have to work and expose myself and my 82 year old pop to this virus

Mute Jenny Kelleher
    Favourite Jenny Kelleher
    Mar 20th 2020, 5:23 AM

@Jen Gordon: maybe if the service does turn crap then fair enough. It would be worse if it took longer for shows/movies to load or buffer in HD. This way everyone can enjoy. Well done for continuing to work, lots of us are

Mute Nelse
    Favourite Nelse
    Mar 20th 2020, 8:09 AM

@Jenny Kelleher: Actually Netflix will have significantly reduced costs due to this move, they pay bandwidth fees (primarily to amazon web services) in proportion to the amount of bandwidth they use. Its only right to expect them to pass this on to the consumers.

I’m sure you wouldn’t think it right that they profit from covid-19 now would you?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Mar 20th 2020, 10:19 AM

@Jen Gordon: hardly Netflix’s fault you have to work unless you are working for them?

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Mar 20th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Jenny Kelleher: Will somebody think of the people with 4K TVs having to watch Netflix in Full HD!

Mute Terry Tibbs
    Favourite Terry Tibbs
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:01 PM

Starting to watch highway to heaven on Netflix, great upbeat show

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:10 PM

@Terry Tibbs: maserati 3200, talk to me.

Mute Jason Dolan
    Favourite Jason Dolan

@Terry Tibbs: it is indeed and a great show for the times we live in right now!

Mute Mike McGann
    Favourite Mike McGann
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:43 PM

@Mark Walsh: Message from Maserati 3200; I’m dying, I’ve been driven hard, very hard. Too hard. I’m feeling a slight clenchy feeling on number 7, I’ve upped my oil pressure, and I’m getting a bit hot, like very hot, I can’t keep this up, @Terry Tibbs should I carry on or park up? ??

Mute Jackie&Rhum
    Favourite Jackie&Rhum
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:07 PM

@Terry Tibbs: Highway to heaven is on netflicks. well thats my weekend sorted. I’m also blind so don’t need picture just sound. no Hd needed here seems the eyes stopped showing any definition many years ago.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:07 AM

Reduce fees too ??

Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:39 PM

Daft system really this Netflix. Waste tons of bandwidth sending videos to invidual viewers one by one. Since everyone pretty much watches the same tripe anyway just like back in the day it makes much more sense to send to millions of users at the same time by satellite. Though as usual corporate greed prevents this from happening

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:44 PM

@Quiet Goer: go back to bed will you, and hop out the right side

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:47 PM

@Quiet Goer: I don’t have a detailed knowledge of how e-commerce ties into ISP profits. But it makes more money than peer to peer file sharing.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:48 PM

@Watchful Axe: I’m guessing.

Mute Shougeki
    Favourite Shougeki
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:53 PM

@Quiet Goer: Actually they have edga content servers in isp co-lo’s to reduce exactly what you are saying!

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:02 PM

@Quiet Goer: go back to the 90 so

Mute Mike McGann
    Favourite Mike McGann
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:37 PM

@Quiet Goer: yes, blockbuster on line, zero benefit, not even the walk to the shop. Move has no value, you paid for hundreds with 10.99

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:58 AM

@Quiet Goer: Do you still play ABBA Tapes??

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Mar 20th 2020, 3:09 AM

@Shougeki: actually they host everything on AWS, google it.

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    Mar 20th 2020, 8:55 AM

@Quiet Goer: that defeats the purpose of it and restricts you to having watch stuff when it’s on. And you’re still streaming it so it still takes up the same bandwidth.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 19th 2020, 10:36 PM

Makes sense

Mute zachary vvm
    Favourite zachary vvm
    Mar 20th 2020, 1:05 AM

Ah and so it begins. You watch in 6 months time … “lads we’re just shutting off the internet for 7 days…”

Mute Aaron92utd
    Favourite Aaron92utd
    Mar 20th 2020, 1:31 AM

@zachary vvm: thats it start downloading again like a few years ago burn up that bandwith before its gone lol

Mute Darragh Brennan
    Favourite Darragh Brennan
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:03 PM

Kingdom. Soooo good

Mute Engine No. 9
    Favourite Engine No. 9
    Mar 20th 2020, 12:01 AM

They get reduce the price commensurate with the drop in quality so, yeah!?

Mute mark d
    Favourite mark d

Omg now its time to panic!!

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Mar 19th 2020, 11:59 PM

Hope this doesn’t include Netflix Argentina…god knows I’m paying enough for it..

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Mar 20th 2020, 1:31 AM

@EdmundOrlando: As soon as all the Covid-19 travel restrictions lift, we’re Patagonia bound or bust. Move over Bro.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Mar 20th 2020, 9:16 AM

Considering our TV is 11 years old and our broadband is terrible due to living in the middle of nowhere, this certainly won’t affect us LOL

Mute David Giles Cloherty
    Favourite David Giles Cloherty
    Mar 20th 2020, 4:43 AM

Popcorn time

Mute The Dancing Pig
    Favourite The Dancing Pig
    Mar 20th 2020, 5:43 PM

I’m gaming rather than watching shows, much more fun and immersive. But I’m be still working even with lockdown happens

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    Mar 20th 2020, 11:34 AM

Can we also expect a reduction in subscription fees while the quality is not up to scratch?

Mute Laz Mahon
    Favourite Laz Mahon
    Mar 20th 2020, 3:41 PM

I trust we can then achieve a price drop also for the consumers.

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological
    Mar 20th 2020, 7:24 AM

What exactly does “reduce the quality” mean? We were giving you some good entertainment now have some shït stuff?

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Mar 20th 2020, 8:05 AM

@Cosmological: no.high definition down to a lower definition.it uses less bandwidth.