You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
HIGH-INCOME EARNERS COULD be more than €20,000 a year better off depending on who gets into government, according to an election calculator aimed at showing the financial impact of party promises.
Taxback.com has combed through all of the political manifestos released in recent weeks and produced a calculator that assesses what each of the different parties’ policies mean for you.
First, a couple of caveats. The calculator measures taxes on income, so it looks at potential changes in income tax, USC and PRSI.
It does not take potential changes such as the abolition of the water charges, which is advocated by several parties such as Sinn Féin and the Social Democrats, into account.
It also excludes the potential impact of a proposed wealth tax or other tax increases not directly related to income, such as a sugar tax.
Full term
The calculator works on the basis that the parties’ manifestos are implemented in full. Assuming that the government elected will serve a full term, the calculator measures the income tax position in five years’ time, if everything goes according to each party’s’ plans.
It is also based on the assumption that the base salary is for a single person with no dependents on their employment income. The calculations do not take into account any potential pay increases or wage inflation.
With all that said, let’s take a look at how much you stand to lose or gain. First of all, here is the take home pay for those earning €22,500. People on this income would theoretically see their income increase the most if Labour get its way while there would be no change under any variation of a Sinn Féin, Green Party or Social Democrat government.
Those with a salary of €38,500 would get the most extra income from Renua, and would see a gain from any party except Sinn Féin, the Green Party or the Social Democrats.
There are very noticeable gaps in theoretical tax home pay once you start getting up to higher incomes. Someone earning €70,000 a year would pocket almost €8,000 extra if Renua gets its way, more than twice the gain from any other party.
There are only significant reductions in take home pay once you start getting near €100,000. Those lucky enough to be earning €120,000 would take home less under Sinn Féin and AAA-PBP but would stand to gain a staggering €22,282 from a Renua government.
Taxback.com
Taxback.com
Click here for a larger version
Taxback.com Senior Tax Manager Barry Flanagan said that most of the parties’ policies are clear, meaning that the calculator is “very accurate”. He added that Taxback.com is confident the calculator represents the parties well.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Free contraception would only cost pennies compared to the cost of unwanted pregnancies and STIs. This is very much a case of short term cost resulting in savings going forward.
@John Cotter: in these politically correct permanently outraged days of you-can’t say that / I have a very clear views of exactly the type of people that we should be providing free contraception for , I would go further and make it mandatory , then I would make sure all fathers are compelled to take care and provide for their children and I would compel deductions from welfare payments or pay to do so. Then if they continue to father multiple children ( they won’t when it costs them money ) I would make the snip mandatory. Similarly people who arrive to the island 8 months pregnant would have to means tested and welfare provisions would be deducted to stop the place becoming a destination of choice for cheap births that it has become but can’t be discussed
@Roddy Reagan: yep abortions for some contraception for others. Have you a point to make or are you just parroting something you heard without actually trying to understand what happens that leads to these decisions?
@Lisa Saputo: That raises an interesting point. Why is the pill only available on prescription and not OTC? At this stage it must be the most real-life tested medicine in history. Certainly way more than the morning after pill, which doesn’t need you to go to a doctor. There seems no medical reason at all, other than the extra €100M or so it puts in GPs’ pockets.
@Ben McArthur: The pill isn’t safe for everyone. Besides there are different forms of the pill too and some can cause issues if you have an underlying heart condition but can also cause issues so for all forms of ‘the pill’ this needs to be monitored by a GP every 6 months. The morning after pill (MAP) also comes in 2 forms and is different to the pill. Typically, it is take to try and prevent ovulation from happening but of course won’t be effective of ovulation has already occurred. There are very few risk factors with the MAP and some conditions that need to be met can be checked by a pharmacist easily and doesn’t require a health check.
@Kiera: But our neighbours have 200 deaths a year from paracetamol toxicity, and you can buy that in Aldi. Apparently we don’t even keep figures. The risks with the pill are about 15x less than pregnancy. Maybe we should let people with underlying conditions go to the doctor and not be bothering everyone else. Pharmacists can, and do, undertake blood pressure and pulse testing.
@Karen Wellington: I have a medical card & get the contraceptive Implanon for free but have to pay for the GP to insert it. It’s still cheap though as it only has to be changed every 3 years.
@Cindy Crawford: at least you get the implanon free!
I will be paying €134 or whatever the drug payment scheme payment for it is, and then another €120 or so for the GP appointment. I’m having to spread the cost over two months to be able to afford it.
I’m just hoping my antidepressants are covered by the dps. If not, I’ll have to give them up for at least a month.
For anyone wondering, I’m in full time employment.
@Lisa Saputo: I had a copper coil fitted last year. It wasn’t covered on my medical card, it cost €55. The pharmacist was so apologetic about the “enormous” cost of it.
Ten years of contraception for €55? I call that a bargain.
I just replied, it’s cheaper than a child.
I must point out that I am married, so barrier contraception isn’t a must have. Free condoms, specifically in pubs/nightclubs could potentially have a big impact on STI/pregnancy rates.
My mother brought me up to believe that all responsible, sexually active people should have a condom in their wallet/purse/bedside table.
@Ben McArthur: The pill is is a hormone addition, and can cause serious side effects, need check up every six months to be on safe side. It’s not as simple as popping a pill, or checking Bp
My husband and I had our child 11 years ago, I became seriously ill during pregnancy and had an emergency section at 30 weeks. I have been on medication since then and advised not to have more children as it would endanger my life. I pay my doctor €45 to see her every 12 weeks plus €20 to cover the cost of a contraceptive injection as no other forms are suitable. I don’t mind paying for it as the pros outweigh the negatives but yes it would be fantastic if it where free
@Matt Connolly: we are actually hoping with recent medical advances and with an excellent doctor who is a top expert in my condition in the south west region we can maybe have a little hope so until I’ve exhausted every avenue nothing as permanent as a vasectomy is an option just yet, maybe in time!
@Matt Connolly: Apparently crippling after-pain is something that’s pretty widely reported. I’ve heard there can be some pretty serious chronic pain for years. There are other reported complications that can show up in the coming years after.
@Matt Connolly: and there in lies the problem of your thinking. Everyone is responsible for their own. Cathriona is taking responsibility for her own health needs. But you are straight in with a comment about a vasectomy. The male of the species are more than happy to leave females in charge of contraception. If lads dont want babies it is their responsibility to ensure they are looking after their own needs. Until this mindset changes and thr responsibility is tskrn seriously by both men and women, nothing will change.
@Carina Clarke: “advised not to have more children as it would endanger my life”
Tell me where it’s wrong to suggest a vasectomy when someone states that? So the femminazi get their knickers in a twist when men take responsibility for birth control too?
@Karen Wellington: The amount of people who thumbed up Dave’s alternative fact is proof that a lot of people believe everything they read on the internet.
@Matt Connolly: I find it strange that private heath insurance won’t pay for a vasectomy but will shell out thousands for fertility and pregnancy coverage.
@Matt Connolly: what about free sterilisation for women as well? Or how about first accepting some women want sterilisation?
I have been turned down for a consultation to discuss sterilisation, because the consultant thinks I’m too young, and will be available to talk when I come to my senses and decide to have children… Apparently children aren’t a choice??
BTW, I’m 30 and a virgin because I don’t want to get pregnant.. what are they expecting? That I’ll change my mind about not having children after over 20 years of feeling the same way?? Surely if I change my mind, I should wait until I’m sixty to ensure I give an equal amount of time and consideration to having children, as I have done to not having them?
Oh, and the consultant that refused me was in a private hospital, just in case anyone thinks I am expecting the taxpayers to pay for anything.
@Alan Daly: Irish life health do in fact pay for vasectomies on a number of their plans, both in clane general, and in a GP setting. So at least one insurer is fair to men.
@Mirabelle Stonegate: not even just to do with age, I’m in my 40s never wanted and had kids and not an option in Ireland (or country where I live), yet another procedure they send women to the UK for!
@Mirabelle Stonegate: I had a coil fitted cos they wouldn’t sterilise me. I have two lovely children, but I never want another. Too young at 33? Ridiculous. I know my own mind.
@Gemma Shah: as a virgin, it would need to be done in a hospital. Insurance won’t cover the coil, so i can’t afford it. Implanon and virginity is my combo
@Stephen Brady: even if it weren’t free, it should be more affordable. For me to get the coil, it would cost €60 to go to the GP for the initial meeting to discuss contraceptive options, €165 for the coil itself and another €110 to get it fitted. That’s not including the additional prescription meds to take before to make it easier to fit and prescription pain meds for after. You’re looking at the guts of €350! That’s not exactly accessible for quite a lot of people and yet it is a very good form of contraception.
So that is quite an investment as it is and that’s provided I don’t have any complications. If I do, it’s back to the GP, €60 each time and if that form of contraception turns out not to be right for me, it’s another €110 to get the coil removed and you get nothing back for what’s paid for it.
There are other forms of contraception but other than condoms, really every other form requires a GP which is average €55 a visit.
With very little support for women who find themselves pregnant and don’t want to be/can’t be for whatever reasons, like many EU countries, we should be doing more to help women (and men too) to prevent unwanted pregnancy and contraception and education is the best way to do that. It just doesn’t happen here.
@Tony Dowling: @Brendan McLaughlin: Do you actually think free contraception would reduce unwanted pregnancies? If so you don’t really know how people work
No such thing as “free”, question is should people who don’t know or care about you pay for your fun times and compensate for your lack of responsibility. Presume many will say they should, presume many of those who think they should will also rail against the “patriarchy” (enter Veronica).
@Liam Doyle:
Fun times? Ah here!
Sex is a basic human need Liam. Us humans are just another species on this earth. Stop denying your sexual needs. Embrace them. You will be a more fulfilled person as a result.
@Ania_on_coffee: Semantics Ania.
Facts are a person who is denied human touch is not fulfilled. Physical closeness with another warm human body. We all need it.
@Liam Doyle: you say… “question is should people who don’t know or care about you pay for your fun times….” etc.
Our taxes go toward the payment of Viagra and Cialis for ED for medical cards users. I don’t hear anyone complaining about that. Let’s stop paying for that with our taxes, and see what happens.
@Liam Doyle: We are all happy to hear that when/if you become a medical card recipient, and if you ever have a need for Viagra or Cialis…you will be more than happy to ‘fund your sex life’!
@Deborah Behan: classic parasitic attitude – if you don’t give me this for free now then you’ll just have to give me something else for free later. I think it’s parents fault for not instilling a sense of pride in children, which also explains why parasitic families endure generationally.
@Liam Doyle: so…do you assume every woman on birth control is having “fun times”?
Here’s a boggling thought…I’m on birth control and still a virgin at 30 in order to 100% avoid pregnancy. The birth control is in case something happens beyond my control. So.. no “fun times” here
@Mirabelle Stonegate:
Ok Mirabelle. I’m deadly serious here. You should go and talk to someone about this because what you’re doing is very extreme. I don’t know if you have anxiety related issues but it’s definitely worth teasing this out with a professional. I wish you well.
@Charlie Farrell: I need to “talk to someone” because I never want kids and am doing everything I can to not have them, like a responsible person?
Do you know what I was told by “professionals” ie, gynaecologists and therapists? That I need to “see sense and have children”.
Why? Why should I do something I have never wanted to do? That it would be a bad idea to do, as it would lead to disability through severe loss of movement. Thing is, those professionals didn’t care about the fact that I have medical reasons for avoiding pregnancy. All they care about is that, regardless of the medical reasons, I don’t want kids.
Why is not wanting kids a bad thing? Why is doing everything in my power to prevent an unwanted pregnancy a bad thing?
@Mirabelle Stonegate:
I’m not referring to your decision to not have children. I’m referring to the lack of intimacy in your life. The physical and emotional intimacy of being close to another human being.
But anyway I’m bowing out now. You’re an adult who is capable of making your own decisions. I shouldn’t have even got involved. I wish you well again.
@Charlie Farrell: lack of intimacy is the price I have to pay for people refusing to take me seriously. I am seeking sterilisation, in order to be able to move forward, but the comments I mentioned above are the responses I get. I am looking at probably needing to travel in order to be taken seriously, despite the procedures being available here with insurance.
The way I look at it, the lack of intimacy you mention is preferable to risking disability, which has a high chance of happening if I do get pregnant.
@Mirabelle Stonegate: I agree with with Charlie and I think from reading your comments that you may need to talk to someone . It does beyond the fear of getting pregnant. Take care .
@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: if I wanted children, the fear would be problematic. I don’t want children, so I avoid pregnancy at all costs.
Is it really wrong to fear something that will leave you with limited mobility, potentially forever? I face that if I become pregnant. Birth control isn’t 100% effective, so abstinence and avoidence ensure that pregnancy can’t reduce my mobility. I’ve experienced that reduced mobility, with agonising pain, already, temporarily. At one point, it went on for 6 months.
I take great care to avoid any triggers of my condition. I have had to give up hobbies because of it. My last flare up was two years ago. It was so painful that I didn’t notice a broken bone until I was shown an x-ray.
Still think my fear is unhealthy? Fear keeps me safe from triggering my condition. Any flare up could become permanent, meaning permanent agony and permanent loss of mobility.
And what do therapists say to this? See sense and have children… Because it makes so much sense to subject yourself to something you firstly, don’t want anyway, and secondly will leave you in a state where you can’t care for yourself, never mind anyone else, for an unknown amount of time.
@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: I didn’t exactly ask to develop my condition, but since it happened, a number of factors need to be controlled, including whether I get pregnant or not, or even which hand I use to flush a toilet. Yup, I have lost the use of a hand for a couple of days, just from flushing a toilet.
I’m trying to get sterilised so that pregnancy is one less trigger to worry about. But those that are in a position to help me refuse. Until I can get that, or until abortion is legal here, I can’t risk pregnancy. I have seen someone using three forms of birth control get pregnant despite that. Therefore, I don’t trust birth control for regular use. I defy odds far too often to be protected from pregnancy if I have sex regularly, with protection. So, I abstain and use the implant as a back up.
I live my life around my problem as best I can. Sure, I’ve had to give up well loved hobbies, but losing the use of my hands wasn’t worth it. Abstaining from sex isn’t much different.. it prevents pregnancy, which puts a lot of stress on the body, plus I wouldn’t be able to look after the resulting kid. If I hold a baby for more than 10minutes, I lose the use of my hands for a couple of days. This has been confirmed when I’ve held babies in the past.
People should apply, and be in position to take care of and raise and want a child.
Be in a financial and secure position capable of caring for a child, and be employed / have a sufficient income.
People incapable or unsuitable to have children should not be bringing them into the world, burdening the taxpayers, and society and using the child as a means to extract free money and accommodation from the state.
Decent hard working contributing and responsibe members of society should be encouraged and supported with avid children.
We would have a much better society, and better children.
Wont be popular – however it makes sense and would be hard to argue against.
@HelloGoogleTracking: “You know, Mrs. Buckman, you need a license to buy a dog. You need a license to drive a car. Hell, you even need a license to catch a fish. But they’ll let any be a father.” (From the movie Parenthood)”
And a “dog isnt just for christmas” campaigns fighting for the rights and lives of dogs and cats and hamsters.
However ending an unborn human life is “grand” – it is the mothers body (false) – it isn’t a human yet (false) – it is a zygote / foetus (just a term to describe the growth tase of human – false if used to dehumanise)
It should be mothers decision (false – unless you believe the mother should also have right to kill child after birth)
etc…no rational – illogical – emotive arguments based on achieving a conclusion rather than make sense.
A license would sort it all out – anyone breaking the law and having a child without a license has child removed and given to willing loving parents through adoption.
Never going to happen – but maybe eventually when society matures some more.
@HelloGoogleTracking: Totally agree with you, was going to post something like that myself, and as regards this Abortion issue, this referendum coming up, should only be decided by women, and exclude, any in Holy orders, such as nuns who have no intention of having children in the first place because of there decision in life,
Every Man, Couple should be held responsible for the children they bring into this world, and not just till they turn 18 and are expected to fend for themselves, but for the rest of their lives.
@Gav Quinn: I was being serious. After all it is the babies/children of today that will end up being the taxpayers that pay our state pensions. Fair is fair.
@Johnny Bellew: I was being serious Johnny, I didn’t assume you were taking the piss. I have a go at you about womens’ rights cos you refuse to answer that, but when you’re right, you’re right. It’s a great idea, they cost a fortune and they’re a cost that add up very quickly.
Of course they should be free to people who want to enjoy sex.
Invetro-fertilisation should also be free to people who are struggling to have children.
People should be free to have it on or have it off.
Have a great weekend all no matter what you choose.
@Brendan McLaughlin: people should be encouraged to have children in their 20′s. Western Europe is dying. It’s a lot more difficult to have children in your 30′s than 20′s
Not a chance, always have been and always will be against contraception,all forms of it. I’m not a church goer either. Has anyone read genesis 9:7 though?
@Charlie Farrell: that would just cover condoms though, he said he’s against all contraception. It’s an unusual point of view given the benefits of using protection.
@Maggie Elizabeth Walsh: It was how i was brought up to be honest. The family were very religious.Can’t teach an old dog new tricks. I speak as the child of someone who had an extra marital affair. My outlook on it,even as a non practising catholic is that each child is a unique gift from god.
@Charlie Farrell: All in all, between halves and fulls, i have 16 siblings that i know of, and i am soon to be a father of 6 myself in the coming weeks.
@Cork Truck Driver: once your views are yours alone and you don’t think contraception should be banned then fair enough. Best of luck with the new arrival.
@Maggie Elizabeth Walsh: My views are purely personal. I wouldn’t be one of these people marching down the streets demanding it be banned, each individual has a free choice in relation to it. Thank you for your well wishes.
No. We should be encouraging people to have children younger. Fertility peaks in your early 20′s and goes down after that. Too many couples I know aren’t able to conceive and in your 30′s it’s to late. European fertility rates are too low to sustain our standard of living.
@Cindy Crawford: afford them? Home ownership is a serious issue. But can be solved since home ownership wasn’t an issue in the 60′s&70′s&80′s when there was little or no money on the country. However you are not going to be able to whind the clock back to your 20′s if you are older.
@Mirabelle Stonegate: good for you. But if you want a pension , hospitals paid for, society to function the birth rate has to be 2.01 on average per woman. Germany and eastern Europe is 1.3 births per woman, so there is going to be a dramatic demographic change which their society can not sustain. If you don’t want children good for you. But society can not function if everyone is childless.
@prop joe: I do agree that we need people to have children, but we shouldn’t be encouraging people to have them willie-nilly. They should want the children and be able to afford them.
Instead we have people doing the opposite. I have had countless people tell me I must have kids, regardless of whether I want them or not, and despite the fact that doing so would compromise my well being, and leave me unemployed and homeless. So, even if I wanted kids, it would be a bad idea to have them.
@Mirabelle Stonegate: it’s a shame people over step the boundaries and ask are you going to have children. Some people just need to mind their own business. Not having children is the right thing for a lot of people. However we as a society are putting women in danger by not educating ourselves on delaying having children. It has happened to a lot of couples I know they get the house are settled in their jobs then try to have kids. Then they find out they are too old and struggle to have children. Pushing house prices beyond the cost of working people will destroy society. In the 70′s 80′s one wage could raise a family, now two wages can’t. There is something seriously wrong some where.
Free contraception for both sexes, yes- it’s a no-brainer, given the divisiveness of unwanted pregnancy for Ireland in particular, but on a related topic let’s make female sanitary products free too; the very thought that people are penalised with the ‘pink tax’ for decades at a time is an insult to us all.
Well I think its about time the Gov provided free shaving foam and razors (Gillette obviously, not the cheap ones). I mean, men are penalized with the ‘facial hair tax’ from puberty until death, it’s so unjust. And don’t get me started on the vegan tax.
@Michael Bride: Clearly tongue-in-cheek. What i’m getting at is the absurdity of the notion that the 30% of the population that actually work and pay taxes should have to be responsible for paying for free sanitary products, contraceptives etc. for everybody else. No! people should be responsible for themselves. Food is a necessity, if you don’t have enough food you will die. Should all food be free? how about electricity? gas? transport? internet is pretty essential in the modern age – should that be free too? Mobile phone plan? TV? Its a slippery slope. Just because person A works and supports his/herself does not mean person should be responsible – morally/financially – for everybody else. Cop on, grow-up and support yourself.
I don’t know the birth rates in South Africa, but when I lived there in my teens a lot of girls and boys went and collect from the locations. It was for what if I m at this party tonight least I have something. Instead of making a plan to get to a shop that was not local to your family.
Another Harris deflection….. forget elderly on trolleys,forget children on trolleys, ignore incompetence among doctors recruited without scrutiny of qualifications,ignore shortage of nurses in our hospitals. Try not to think of shortage of ICU beds or staff. Don’t mention waiting lists….. look over here Simon will give you free condoms, he will frown as he does it so you know he is working very hard.
@marg fitzgerald: Absolutely agree – I was even surprised the pill was free on a medical card… we have higher medical priorities then giving the pill free to those whose income exceeds the medical card threshold, and it is not just the pill but the GP consultation and Pharmacist prescription costs too. Even those with a medical card pay a prescription fee for their potentially life saving medications… and, at time of writing, 68% want to give the pill free to everyone
There are several natural family planning APPs available now for women which are supposed to be as reliable as the pill and barrier methods. Natural Cycles is one of them. And it will cost nothing. Might not suit everyone but is proving very popular.
And that’s how I know that our libido sky rockets at our most fertile time. So there’s no way I’m gonna curtail sex to when I’m least fertile and my sex drive is low (which is how the natural method works).
I want the shaky leg, climax in two minutes, and climax again three minutes later type of sex. And I know when to get it.
Days 11-14. The best days of my life. Every month!
Supposed to be and Actually are very different things. It’s effectively the same as the ol’ rhythm method of times and I am well aware of how many people I know that got pregnant using this highly unreliable method. It may suit some but it certainly wouldn’t suit the masses.
It’s considered 93% effective. That’s 6 less than the pill claims and many other forms. I certainly am not willing to rely on a 7% margin that I could get pregnant.
@Aine O Connor: a very old method known as the Ogino method but so few realiable that babies born thanks to ti are called in france “bebes oginos”. Better to use the pill, or an IUD or a condom …. however remember that pill and IUD do not protect from STD while condom does (well most of the time anyway)
the first question should be : what is the age of the youngest mother in Ireland? Knowing the answer (and I think most probably it is 14 – in UK 11) we know at what age the pill should start to be offered by the parents to their daughters because even if you as a mum or a dad think that your little angel is absolutely pure etc.. most probably she knows more about sex that you at the same age ! Having say that I would be delighted to learn that all the children around 12 in Ireland have been informed about sex and puberty .. my grandson was this week in Dublin and the DVD was pretty awesome : cristal clear informations perfectly adapted for the beginning of the puberty.
@Andre le Flohic: I can’t believe parenting like this exists. Rather than talking to your daughter and explaining that her sexuality is very special, some parent would give their daughter contraception, as in ‘don’t do it, but in case you do- use contraception’. It’s very easy to give contraception. It takes more hard work in raising a child.
If everybody gets free contraception we’ll become extinct within a few generations. People in Ireland are not generally hot at Maths, but they’ve got to learn to multiply.
Stop children’s allowance after 3 kids. Rest is like sky sports – have them if you can pay. Balance of cash saved by Government to offer free sterilisation of scobes.
From a medical point of view there are higher medical priorities then free contraception for all – particularly those who can afford to pay the consultation and prescription charges for the pill.
I do appreciate that here are a group of people who struggle to pay the doctor consultation fee and the prescription charges but I think an extension of the existing medical card would be more appropriate then giving it free to those who can well afford to pay.
Ladies and gentlemen if we are legally old enough to have sex then surely we are legally old enough too get a job so we can afford too buy our own contraception and if your too young too work and you can’t afford contraception then don’t be having sex. Problem solved.
@dec dunne: definitely not compulsory! Have it as an available option, sure, but not mandatory.
I was 27 before I first started birth control. Didn’t need it then, technically don’t need it now at 30 as I’m a virgin, but I wasn’t ready it start considering birth control until back then. Even now, it’s as a back up to abstinence until I can get sterilised
Verona Murphy 'fully intends' to continue as Ceann Comhairle as opposition parties draft no confidence motion
Updated
49 mins ago
Motion of no confidence
Verona Murphy says she won't be resigning, so what's next in the Ceann Comhairle row?
2 hrs ago
White House
Trump says he will 'look into' Yemen group chat leak but continues to defend security advisor
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say