You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny refuses to rule out coalition with Sinn Féin or Fianna Fáil

The Taoiseach said Sinn Féin has emerged from the local and European elections as “a significant political entity”. He made the comments in Castlebar this afternoon, where he narrowly avoided a group of protestors.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EY1WhetszmQ

Source: ÓrlaRyan/TheJournal.ie

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY refused to rule out a coalition with Sinn Féin or Fianna Fáil after the 2016 General Election.

Kenny said Fine Gael has had “alliances” with both opposition parties at council level in the past, adding that it has also “relied on other parties in the Dáil” on numerous occasions.

Who knows what the future holds in politics? People here are masters in the democratic situation – they make the decisions. We’ll wait and see what result there comes [in the General Election].

“For our part, we will continue the programme for government we have agreed and set out … to rectify the economy and get jobs for our people.”

Kenny said he would speak to Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore about the government’s performance in the European and local election later today.

He made the comments while attending the election count centre in Castlebar, Co Mayo this afternoon.

“Clearly, across the country, people have given a very resounding decision here,” he said, adding that it’s “not unusual” for the public to express their annoyance with a government during a mid-term election.

‘A Humdinger’

He described yesterday as a “a good day” for independent candidates and Sinn Féin, but warned: “with success comes responsibility”, particularly in terms of budgets.

Kenny said that the 2016 election would be “a humdinger” and slightly different to previous elections due to the recent surge in support for independents and “the emergence of Sinn Féin as a significant political entity”.

“The General Election situation is conducted at a frenetic pace and focus, specifically and exclusively on the economic programmes being put forward by the parties in terms of running the country. Local elections are different: based on personalities and local issues.”

[In the General Election] the people will be asked a simple question: ‘Have the government sorted out our public finances and have they put our people back to work?’. I expect the answer to that to be affirmative in both cases, but we’ll be judged of course by the people.

Protest

Kenny avoided a group of protestors in Castlebar, which included independent Midlands Northwest candidate Mark Fitzsimons, by using a different entrance.

He said Fine Gael hopes to retain four European Parliament seats, but admitted sitting MEP Jim Higgins in “in trouble” in the Midlands North West constituency.

Kenny praised Higgins as “an outstanding and committed member of Fine Gael for very many years”, saying he “first came across Jim in 1979 at council level”. He said he was “one of the most tenacious public representatives for following through on issues that are of concern to him” and noted his role in setting up the Morris Tribunal.

Kenny described Fine Gael losing two seats in his home constituency of Castlebar as “a blip”. His brother Henry, retained his seat, but a recount is due to take place this afternoon at the request of party colleague Brendan Heneghan.

“You win some and you lose some,” he added.

Related: Fine Gael loses two seats in Castlebar as elected independent says people there ‘go to bed hungry’

Read: What does Enda Kenny make of Fine Gael’s election performance so far?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 165 comments
165 Comments
    Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 25th 2014, 3:42 PM

Another u-turn from the master

Enda kenny stating he would not go into coalition with Sinn Fein due to northern ireland related matters

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-iqGmIFdC0

May 25th 2014, 3:53 PM

Were Jammin maybe Enda experienced another seismic shift?

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    May 25th 2014, 4:03 PM

The thought of SF and Gerry being in government makes me feel sick, maybe some day without Gerry but not with him.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 4:07 PM

Refusing coalition with SF because of NI issues is non-nonsensical anyway:

1. If Ian Paisley and Peter Robinson can sit at the cabinet table with the former Cheif of Staff of the PIRA then Enda Kenny can sit at cabinet with Adams (who spent decades from the late 70s bending the Provos towards the political process…or if he’s gone..in which case SF would break into the middle class more..) ..or people who were children or not alive during most of the troubles like Mary Lou..

2. Every single party in this state has it’s distant origins in violence, including Labour-Democratic Left.

3. Were all parties to the same peace deal that 86% of this island voted in favor of so how can one party to that deal break off and say they are more holy than another party?

The other notion they are putting out there, you’ll notice they never name specifics when they do this which should give you a clue to how legit a point it is…is that SF economic policy is not realistic. But when you actually read it, it’s no different from any Social Democratic mainstream party in the EU15 in fact the French equivalent of the Labour party was significantly more radical in the 80s than SF is today and they were in govt on their own!

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    May 25th 2014, 4:23 PM

A politician is an animal which can sit on a fence and yet keep both ears to the ground.

Mencken

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 25th 2014, 4:46 PM

Hahahahahahahahaha. Well done were jammin. Just ad I predicted yesterday. He hasn’t done a u turn you fool. He’s based this on the results of yesterday. He has you and your ilk to thank for your protest vote. Enda says thanks sweetie, love you!!!!

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    May 25th 2014, 4:49 PM

De Valera was a commander in the Irish Volunteers who were armed and involved in gun running as well as killing the enemy also Michael Collins was active in the armed struggle , what’s the difference between them and Martin McGuinness …100 years ….what are FG and Enda talking about ?

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 5:15 PM

They talk like that to play their own base. That kind of talk rabbles up the FG base, who tend to think they are better than SF voters, Varadkar etc knows that trash talking about the troubles energizes the FG base and gets them turning out more, if only they realized FG is playing their irrational impulses like an acordian they might be outraged.

Thing is people never really stop to look at the nuance and the history or really think through their positions on these things. Unless you are in politics professionally most people don’t do a deep amount of thinking about their political positions and their positions are defined by their irratiional subconscious rather than their brain. FG know that, they know their people will laugh and say ”YEH…EXACTLY!” when they refrence ”the gun” etc , they know they won’t think ‘well didn’t our guys use the gun…’ they won’t think about Free State army soldiers marhing POW’s over land mines or stuff like that. It’s quite disturbing to me how little people think about where they stand on things and if their various positions are consistent with each other.

Every party in this state came from violence originally. I wonder how Enda Kenny would have reacted if he was on Bombay Street in 1969, would he have called the RUC for help? I doubt it, he’d probably notice, as everyone else did at the time, that they were on the side of the people burning the street to the ground, he’d have picked up a gun and he’d have defended his area. If he can’t admit that, that’s his problem. I’m not a shinner, doubt they will be the party I’ll eventually join for a couple of reasons, but I’ve no doubt it would have been a less than black and white choice if I was facing that kind of situation back then.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 25th 2014, 7:37 PM

Onus on FF and FG to go in together. Would be more efficient – they agree on almost everything. To leave either of those in opposition would be a waste of opposition seats.

Mute JR
    Favourite JR
    May 25th 2014, 11:42 PM

Don’t ever recall having read about Collins, Dev etc blowing up innocent people without warning. Innocent people were killed no doubt during those struggles but I think they are incomparable. Not that I am a supporter of any party or anti-sein fein (after 1998) but don’t agree with your comment.

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton
    May 25th 2014, 3:36 PM

These ‘politicians’ would deal with the divil himself to keep their clutches on power.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 4:02 PM

On that point, a message to the SF people: LEARN from Labours mistake.

Don’t, in 2016, promise things you can’t deliver on. If you oppose water charges they CANNOT be part of your PFG be that PFG with Labour-FF-FG whatever. Don’t think you are any more immune from a kick in the arse than Labour were.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael

They are if they deal with Gerry, to some people

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    May 25th 2014, 4:59 PM

Yep, just like the PD’s, the greens and now Labour. Lol. When you’re the little man, then that’s what you are

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    May 25th 2014, 3:37 PM

A merger of FF and FG might end civil war politics in Ireland for good but will it end cute hoorism and gombeenism?

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton
    May 25th 2014, 3:41 PM

Cannibalism, Dean, that will be the outcome.

Mute Shane McGettrick
    Favourite Shane McGettrick

More likely to enshrine it beyond any doubt

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    May 25th 2014, 3:49 PM

Sadly you may both well be right

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 25th 2014, 3:51 PM

The cannibalism has and is already taking place.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    May 25th 2014, 3:54 PM

Dean didn’t another generation of the Healy-Raes get elected yesterday? I thought I heard that somewhere. So much for an end to Gombeenism if so.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    May 25th 2014, 3:33 PM

But Kenny, what if Sinn Fein only new a few Independents to make a Government?

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:35 PM

Let’s just hope that never happens David. Although I think we can rest easy!!!

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor

Hahahahahahaha.

SF needing just a few independents to form a government.

Jesus the asylums must be empty today.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 25th 2014, 3:38 PM

Kenny was not man enough to use the front door and this is the man who is meant to be leading our country.Just goes to show what sort of a wimp he is.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:39 PM

Hahaha, some of the nonsense people spout on the Journal is hilarious Alan!!!

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    May 25th 2014, 3:40 PM

Why put himself in front of a load of ranting nackers?

Mute Angela O'Connor
    Favourite Angela O'Connor
    May 25th 2014, 3:46 PM

Good one, only thing a vote for SF does is to move FG and FF closer together.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 25th 2014, 3:50 PM

Good. The closer they are the more people will realise they are opposite cheeks of the same sleveen backside. They should actually merge, their policies and underhanded tactics are practically identical anyways.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash

Mark Fitzsimons didn’t impress me very much on Prime Time the other night.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    May 25th 2014, 3:52 PM

16% is hardly a ringing endorsement of SF given the circumstances. That will give them 23 TD’s in the next election which isn’t great.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    May 25th 2014, 4:00 PM

Dear Eamon,
    I hope we can still be friends. It’s not you, its me.
    More recently I’ve been spending more time with Gerry. You would like him, too, if you got to know him…..

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 4:12 PM

B. Boyd, is hiding and sneaking also. FG like the cloak and dagger, haven’t the Balls to show their true I.D..

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 4:22 PM

Agreed anything with SF in the mix is not acceptable

Mute Angela O'Connor
    May 25th 2014, 4:34 PM

…giving them a voting block impossible to dislodge. Phew! Glad we’re on the same page there jammin.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 25th 2014, 4:38 PM

Don’t get confused between local elections and Dail elections, we have just seen two bye-elections and SF didnn’t win either of them. SF will hardly be anytthing other than a minority party after a government election and we know what happens to them.. remember the PD’s Greens, Labour

Mute Joe Mahon
    Favourite Joe Mahon
    May 25th 2014, 4:46 PM

Haha SF and a few independents, with 15.4% of the vote?? Your having a laugh right? 15.4% in a GE would struggle to return 20 seats. Fianna Fáil only got 21 seats in 2011 with 20% of the vote.

Mute Paul Fanshawe
    Favourite Paul Fanshawe
    May 25th 2014, 3:47 PM

Enda, my dear fellow, if you think that Sinn Fein would accept that poisoned chalice, you’re a bigger gobdaw than I thought.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 4:24 PM

Look what FG did to the Clann na Poblacta health minister when he tried to introduce the mother and child scheme, they stabbed their own minister in the back and fed him to the wolves of the church and IMO, that should tell anyone what coalition with FG is like.

Labour paid dearly for coalition with FF after saying they’d not go in with them, and their previous govts got no real policy concessions. Think of all the progressive changes in the last 20 years, the min wage, equality laws most of that was FF-PDs only free college fees was Labour policy and they’ve let that go back to way it was.
    PDs proved that it’s possible for a junior partner to punch above their weight, and they proved that punching above your weight and getting MAJOR policy concessions is the ONLY way a junior partner can survive, they managed it for 20 years. Labour should demand a new programme for govt without water charges / college fees and an end to austerity/ switch to stimulus, and walk to lead the opposition if they don’t get one.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    May 25th 2014, 7:25 PM

@Ryan Carroll

In the present government, it is Labour, not FG, that is the obstacle to genuine reform of government because Labour is protecting the jobs of surplus HSE bureaucrats while doctors and nurses are doing their best to help the ill.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 8:03 PM

Reform is a seperate issue. FF was not getting any PS reform done and they didn’t have labour blocking their path.
    The PS reform issue is Irish political establishments common fear of PS unions.

My point on labour was they are being punished for broken promises. While PS reform is something the public wants it’s lower down the ‘must do’ list than things like scrapping water charges.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll

I assume this is meant as a shot across the bow to tell labour if they demand a renegotiation of the PFG and are not satisfied, it won’t mean an election…well Enda that’s not much of a threat for several reasons:

1. SF would demand far more concessions than Labour did in terms of scrapping college fees, water charges and the property tax.
    2. If there is no GE and you intend to continue in office then that makes it SAFER for Labour to leave govt not more dangerious because they can repair their image in the walk out and leading opposition based on their 2011 promises, that’s something the public would reward them for.
    3. If you go into office with FF there are two issues:
    -They are way more conservative than you, Christian Democracy is to the left of where FF is so you won’t be in much alignment in policy terms they oppose things like universal healthcare for some reason..
    -You’d be HANDING Labour-SF a HUGE victory and re-aligning Irish politics in a historic way that would give the people a choice between centre-right and centre-left for the first time ever…and I think you’d be surprised at how hard a fight that would be for you with Labour swolloing the middle class social democratic moderate vote and SF drawing from the more radical disaffected vote…they’d combine the best of both worlds.

If he’s defining terms of council power sharing thats not new, FF and FG have been buddy buddy in council coalitions for YEARS.

Go on Labour…ask for a renegotiation of the PFG based on the 2011 election pledges you made, remind FG that 1. They also promised to abolish college fees (up front) 2. As to water and property they ran an anti-FF campaign in the 00′s that pitted the party against all stealth taxes, so if they change position on this issue it’s a winner for FG too.

Come on Enda, Eamon recognize you were served a message, let history record not that you behaved like the previous FF govt, arrogent and out of touch refusing to change course, let it record that you heard the peoples message, decided to change course and stand by your 2011 election promises…let history say you respected the democracy you served, or history can throw you in the same bin as BIFFO…arrogantly trundling forward disconnected from the public, never listening, compounding one mistake with another.

Mute Neil Murphy
    Favourite Neil Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 4:17 PM

Where are you getting that FF is way more conservative than FG? Certainly not more fiscally conservative. And if you mean socially conservative, how do you figure that would be an issue? Abortion is somewhat off the agenda (they’re split on that) and gay marriage is actually supported by FF. Don’t see many bones of contention between FF & FG other than they both know a coalition would spell the end to the back and forth of them seen as alternatives.

You also jumped to the conclusion that Enda’s comments are geared toward a renegotiation of PFG, it could just be an overture to SF that they are now considered possible coalition partners of the other parties in 2016.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 4:35 PM

Ok lets compare and contrast….

[EDUCATION]
    FG want to abolish up front college fees (all of them) and do some model of graduate tax that you pay based on your post college life income. FF just want fees with a few token grants for those who are dog poor, anyone caught between dog poor and middle of the road can just go f-k themselves or drown in debt.

[Healthcare]
    FG want Universal Health Insurance (not the most progressive model, single payer like Canada Medicare would be better, but it’s way better than what we have now).
    FF want to just keep the status quo, and in govt in the past they have introduced charges for bloody emergency room visits which is shockingly right wing.

[Economy]
    FG say (though it has not been bourne out in practice but they had to vote this thru in confrence so it shows they’re more to the centre) they want stimulus going forward rather than Austerity, kinda like what Germany did.
    FF confuses the state budget with that of a persons and think the problem is one of accounting rather than growth, and gutting the budget with cuts is how you fix the problem…that pure austerity route is how right wing parties approach recessions.

During the better times they would have been fairly close on policy to the point of nearly being identical, both were quite centre-right bubble-nomics loving types who thought low taxes privatization and deregulation were the soloution to everything, but you can see the diff in how they approch (in theory) recessions.

[Social Issues]
    Both quite conservative, both hate same sex marriage , both bang the abortion drum.
    I don’t buy FFs bs on same sex marriage and I’ll tell you why. Taking the stimulus exception (because they may still do that) I generally judge this kind of stuff by what they DO in government rather than what they say. In power, FF stood over criminalization of homosexuality, then later banned same sex marriage in the late 2000′s. While the two of them were close on these issues FF were far more venomous on both abortion and gay rights.

FG have always had a more moderate social democrat wing it’s why they worked so well with Labour in the past in coming to agreements. It’s clear to me who, in practice, is further to the right.

Mute Neil Murphy
    Favourite Neil Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 5:04 PM

Each and every one of those differences are not only very surmountable, they will be subject to change as the GE gets nearer. Both parties still have a very similar mindset for policies (usually whatever’s popular) and in FF’s case, they respect FG for proceeding with FF’s plan upon entering govt.
    Any differences in policy could be ironed out in a five minute sit-down between Enda & Micheál, certainly less ideological contention than FG/Labour. But like I say, it will always be the last resort coalition. They share the same voter bloc and will want to maintain the false dichotomy, the fake competition to ensure one of the 2 is always in govt.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 5:21 PM

They might surmount them, sure. But the junior partners have historically been a moderating influence on the more reactionary impulses of FF and FG, be the partner to the left or the right.

PDs stopped FF from reintroducing college fees
    CNP and CNT and Labour veto’d a lot of FG reactionary stuff in the interparty govts

You take away that influence and you get a govt that is going to be very unpopular not just amoung the working class but among the middle class too. You think middle class people like the idea of stealth taxes, another two regressive flat bills through their door? 3/4 of them oppose these charges they voted FF-FG cos they liked their local guy, if the central govt becomes too reactionary it will backfire.

All my more right wing friends think this would be a good govt, they’ve this notion in their head that it would be this brave grand coalition doing what needs to be done, finally locking up the bad gangsters, making the necessary cuts etc…I fear with no check on them it will instead bring out the worst, not the best, in both of them, because their more reactionary elements like the antiabortion drumbeaters will now say ”sure we can do what we like now…so whats your excuse?” and that will = bad unpopular reactionary policy that will backfire.

Mute Neil Murphy
    Favourite Neil Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 5:45 PM

I’m not proposing or opposing a FG/FF coalition. I’m not arguing anything to do with the aftermath or consequences or lack of left-wing counterweight. Just stating that it’s a pretty good fit and they’re not opposed ideologically, just superficially.

It would of course be unlikely for either to contemplate going in as the minor party in a coalition, given the fate of the PD’s, Green’s, etc. But they might have no choice. SF may refuse to play the game of Minority Destruction and Labour may not have enough seats. We’ll see.

Mute Jeremy Usborne
    Favourite Jeremy Usborne
    May 25th 2014, 9:41 PM

spot on there is no real differences between the two,its only minor issues really,dont be fooled into thinking you are actually making a choice between two different ways to run the country

Kenny would make an alliance with North Korea if it meant staying in power the gombeen, people in Mauo must be embarrased to say where they are from now.

Mayo…. :)

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 4:13 PM

Kerry and Mayo, what are you thinking when voting?

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    May 25th 2014, 4:27 PM

man is a soulless parasite

Mute L-Plate
    Favourite L-Plate
    May 25th 2014, 3:32 PM

Don’t think they’d share a sandwich with Fianna Gael

Mute Richie Smith
    Favourite Richie Smith

A FF and FG would make a lot of sense for both parties. But I can’t see SF going into power with either.

Mute Charles
    Favourite Charles

Sf would join any coalition, of any political leaning, if it gets a weepy gerry in front of the gpo for the 1916 commemoration.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 4:26 PM

FF-FG govt makes sense for anyone of a centrist or centre-right bent. FG, because of this odd combo philosophy Christian Democracy (which is an odd mix of conservative and social democrat ideas) is centre-right but not too far right, and they actually have some kinda progressive policies like universal health insurance (tho there are better models to follow)
    It would give the Irish electorate a proper real substantive choice for once but you’ve no idea how childish the two of them are in their little civil war battle, they hate each other but can’t explain why..

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:32 PM

I’m a proud Fine Gaeler and always will be regardless of what anyone says, and I’d love to see us go into coalition with Fianna Fail. It’s a real possibility.

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy

What’s there to be proud of?

Mute Becca Laste
    Favourite Becca Laste

Hahahaha.. Good one :’)

See 50 more replies ▾
    Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 3:38 PM

….and always will be. Why Alex? What’s the deal with blind party alliegence?

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin

Random, we have everything to be proud of. The party inherited a country on it’s knees and managed to bring about real change and move us in a positive direction.

Alex old son, you are part of the problem if you blindly vote for this shower of crooks

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan

Dear Leader how about turning up on the Vincent Browne show some night ?.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 3:44 PM

That would be the most unpopular govt in the history of the state and would be RAPIDLY followed by a Labour-SF-Ind govt.

All the stuff the public have liked that have come out of FF and FG govts have usually been the result of their centre-right or centre – left coalition partners.
    A FF-FG govt arrogently passing stealth tax after stealth tax, cutting service after service, privatizing everything that moves, cutting taxes on capital while jacking them up on workers…it would be a disaster.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:45 PM

Because I will vote for the best party at the time Jill, which always seems to be Fine Gael. I am going to give my first preferences to Fine Gael but I will also transfer to Fianna Fail as well. I will give nothing to Labour, Sinn Fein or Independents. I will vote for the centre right the whole way down.

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan

Positive direction what country are you living in

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 25th 2014, 3:48 PM

The most asinine and stupid comment i have read in a long time Alex Nevin. The only change FG brought about was the transfer of wealth from the poor to the rich. And you’re proud of that???

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    May 25th 2014, 3:48 PM

Youre the reason why the country remains in tatters,political parties are not football teams,you dont pick your favorite and stay with them no matter what,you make your vote based on the party most likely to further your societies progress,its people like you that keep the country running to stand still.

Mute Paul Fanshawe
    Favourite Paul Fanshawe

@Alex Nevin. “managed to bring about real change and move us in a positive direction”. Who are this “us” that you talk about. I have only moved backwards.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin

Ireland, Enda. People seem to be quick to forget that thanks to Fine Gael we managed to exit the Troika last December. Employment is also on the rise thanks to the jobs being created by the party.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones

Voting for the best party at the time does not transpire in what you wrote, “I am a FG voter and always will be”.

This type of blind party alligence is slowly disappearing. Thank goodness.

I would class myself as a party less voter, someone who actually does vote on the best party at the time.

You, on the other hand Alex are not.

A FG party faithfull who will vote for them no mater what they do.

Sad and pathetic really, and is one of the main reasons this country has had either FG/FF in power at any one time.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin

Don’t be ridiculous Dave. We have all suffered due to mistakes made by past governments.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes

Now there’s the ultimate doomsday scenario. Just imagine what those two parties would do to the country , and citizens,given free rein, and based on their recent track record. This is a lot more concerning than the rise of Sinn Fein. The arrogance synergy would be unprecedented . People need to be vigilant, and discerning, to ensure this is prevented at the next General Election.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones

You’re a FG member Alex?! That’s the reason of your blind alliegence.

Excuse me, I didn’t realise I was talking to a shill. Please carry on this conversation without me.

There’s just no point in discussing anything further because of your undying support.

Regards.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin

Jill, I think it is a great thing that the country has not had a government since the foundation of the state that did not contain either Fine Gael or Fianna Fail. The country would be in an even worse place than it already is if it wasn’t for the centre-right.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:56 PM

I would love an FF – FG coalition Johnny. I will give all my top preferences to Fine Gael and will give all my transfers to Fianna Fail.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 3:57 PM

Jill, I am not a member, but I will always and ever support the party.

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    May 25th 2014, 3:58 PM

Alex you d want to open your eyes if you think ireland is moving in a positive direction because of fg

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 4:00 PM

Why Alex? Why would you always and forever support the FG party?

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    May 25th 2014, 4:01 PM

“Random, we have everything to be proud of. The party inherited a country on it’s knees and managed to bring about real change and move us in a positive direction”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyaJ8eR9tzw

Mute Niall Russell
    Favourite Niall Russell

Alex have you been living under a stone for the last 3 years… It’s embarrassing that some people are so blinded by party loyalty.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle

I wonder just how much Inda or the rest of them have suffered. Past governments, the EU, the Trokia, all easy scapegoats for the easy decisions Inda took to steal from the poor to give to the rich. Yes when you think of it, people were ridiculous to believe what he said prior to being elected.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 4:04 PM

Mainly, Jill, because I believe that Fine Gael are the only party who have proven they are capable of managing Ireland successfully. Since Fine Gael came to power, this country has turned a corner in the right direction and we are now on the road to recovery, thanks to the hard work and effort put in by the party.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh

Alex is a troll, he has yet to provide a comprehensive response to any question put to him. He follows FG like a good little sheep anf obviously cannot think for himself.

Mute Enda Nolan
    Favourite Enda Nolan
    May 25th 2014, 4:06 PM

The hard work by the party is the party facing losing their homes or jobs or watching their kids suffer because if the greed of the few

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin

Ian, I am not a troll. You can check out my Facebook if you don’t believe me. Yes, I follow the party, but that does not make me a troll the same way you supporting Sinn Fein does not make you a troll.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 25th 2014, 4:08 PM

Like i said on other article blind voters.Bounce back and forward to FG FF its a flipping nightmare.
    You Alex is what is wrong with Irish politics and thank god that cloud is lifting off Irish politics and shaking it up so they know they don’t get preference because of political family voting.

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe

Good man Alex! Keep up the good work. There’s nothing better than seeing the proverbial nails getting driven into the FG coffin! ;)

Mute Gerry McCormack
    Favourite Gerry McCormack

A Blue Shirt is always a Blue Shirt. A real Thatcherite view of the world.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    May 25th 2014, 4:14 PM

“Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority. The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong. All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who have doubted the current moral values, not of men who have whooped them up and tried to enforce them. The truly civilized man is always skeptical and tolerant.”
    ― H.L. Mencken

Mute Aideen Clancy
    Favourite Aideen Clancy
    May 25th 2014, 4:19 PM

Jobs???? Jobs???? Oh you mean the jobs advertised then taken down and replaced by job bridge internships!! Those the jobs you mean??? The jobs that have someone who is highly skilled working for 50euro a week??? You are dreaming man!! And yes I know what i am talking about. One example is the job i applied for in UL for about 27k a year and it was taken down and re-posted as a job bridge job!!! that is just one example and there are many more I am sure people here could tell us about. I have had to sell my house to get out of debt cause I cant get a job!!!

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 25th 2014, 4:20 PM

Enda – Wanting Coalition with SF – Does he really think that a Republican would ever want to get contaminated by the fleas of FG ?
    It will never happen Enda !

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 4:21 PM

Aideen, although unfortunate, how is that the fault of Fine Gael?

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen

Sorry to hear that Aideen. I to have come across all of those scams, and SF and independents are PBP are calling on people to copy these jobs and send to them for proof of it happening.
    I wish you the best in future and hope things turn around for you.

Mute Tom Cross
    Favourite Tom Cross
    May 25th 2014, 4:36 PM

Good call, this country has had enough of the left wing leeches that bleed the country joy.

Mute Tom Cross
    Favourite Tom Cross
    May 25th 2014, 4:37 PM

Good call

Mute Tom Cross
    Favourite Tom Cross

Wrong

Mute Tom Cross
    Favourite Tom Cross

J

Mute Tom Cross
    Favourite Tom Cross
    May 25th 2014, 4:44 PM

The last thing this country needs is more left wing leeches that want everything for free.
    A fg ff coalition would be good for the country

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    May 25th 2014, 4:45 PM

Aideen, I hear Donald Trump is giving us loads of jobs for €50 a week! Celebrated as a success by FG and Labour.

Mute Jill Jones
    Favourite Jill Jones
    May 25th 2014, 4:47 PM

Alex, FG have proven nothing other than to implement tax to cover the infamous prom notes into sovereign debt.!

The mock elections have proven the electorate don’t buy the BS notion that they’ve had any input into a so called recovery.

I would say that they are actually stifling and hindering a recovery thanks to the tax tax tax take.

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    May 25th 2014, 5:00 PM

Alex are you even old enough to vote? You look about 12, just curious how you know so much about how previous governments have caused you to suffer?

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 5:13 PM

No, I don’t look 12 David. I’m 16 and have a keen interest in politics. Whilst I may have no voice now, will have a voice by 2016. I will be able to vote in 2016 and I will be voting Fine Gael for all my first preferences and Fianna Fail for all my transfers

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 25th 2014, 5:17 PM

Alex what’s the name of the bar that picture was taken in? I think I’ve been there before?

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    May 25th 2014, 5:36 PM

That you Edna???

Mute Angela O'Connor
    May 25th 2014, 6:13 PM

How exactly?

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    May 25th 2014, 6:17 PM

Alex, my vote is fluid, I supported FG and Labour in the past, never again. I voted Sinn Fein for the first time ever to see if they can provide an alternative to the shafters. Roll on the GE, I only hope its sooner and well before 2016.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    May 25th 2014, 6:29 PM

So Alex, whats your understanding of the economic crash and the causes? Why are the people paying for the mistakes of the banks? How can you support the very parties that are causing seriously ill people to lose their medical cards? How can you support the parties that helped cause the problems we continue to face? How can you support the parties that punish the least well off who can’t afford it over those that can?

May 25th 2014, 10:36 PM

Alex you are such a wally, made me laugh! You are part of the problem, not the solution

Mute Imso Ripped
    Favourite Imso Ripped

There’s only one good party in this county and its my party! Come today 4-6pm

Mute Luke Broghan
    Favourite Luke Broghan
    May 25th 2014, 4:02 PM

Am I invited?

Mute Imso Ripped
    Favourite Imso Ripped

Are u gonna bring a present?

Mute Luke Broghan
    Favourite Luke Broghan
    May 25th 2014, 4:45 PM

A six pack of dutchie do?

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton
    May 25th 2014, 5:13 PM

How about inviting Ming?

Mute Imso Ripped
    Favourite Imso Ripped
    May 25th 2014, 5:32 PM

Sorry I only like the finest stuff! Unacceptable! You come next year year if u giz a bag a grass!

Mute Imso Ripped
    Favourite Imso Ripped
    May 25th 2014, 5:33 PM

Ming is already here! He never misses anything if its free!

Mute Gerry McCormack
    Favourite Gerry McCormack

FF and FG a certainty the next time. Just add a few extreme right wingers from the independents and bobs yer uncle. Big business will prosper while the poor will suffer. The left needs to prepare for government.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 5:06 PM

I would love to see the FF/FG and a few right wingers in Government. FF and FG need to start getting used to the idea of government next time round. The left is evil to the core

Mute Nigellus Murphius
    Favourite Nigellus Murphius
    May 25th 2014, 7:02 PM

Hi Alex.

I like your work but you need to be more subtle. Try harder.

I would love to see Fine Gael and Fianna Fail merge. The new name though has got to be Fine Failures.

Just imagine if they did merge. All them ardent Fine Failure voters would realise the lies they’ve been sold for years about the two groupings being ideologically different when at the heart of their cause is the drive to retain power at all costs.

Does it not send alarm bells ringing when you hear the Taoiseach say he would share power with Gerry Adams. Does that not tell you he just needs the power. I can’t see it happening though and not because Enda Kenny doesn’t want it.

The Taoiseach has no ideology. Just greed and a hatred for Irish people as do all Fine Failures.

Mute una barrett
    Favourite una barrett

Alex grow up as I see you have a lot of that to do.Join the real world and see how FG have shafted us by selling our country down the Swanee.I would like to see your comments in a few years when you have matured.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 4:17 PM

My views will never change Una, I promise you that now. I will always be a True Blue right up to my dying day.

Mute Aideen Clancy
    Favourite Aideen Clancy
    May 25th 2014, 4:12 PM

We need a general election now not in 2 years. Time for labour to do the right thing and leave the coalition so we can vote in a government that are going to help this country not help to destroy it!!

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 4:20 PM

It’s too early. The parties just spent a load of cash and atm we don’t have public financing of elections (As we should) so they need the 2 years to rebuild and refundraise.

Labour leaving office does not automatically = election, that’s not how it works. Only a loss of a no confidence motion or loss of supply (budget not passing) requires the Taoiseachs resignation.
    Labours smart move would be to demand a renegotiated PFG that drops (at least!) water charges and college fees and ends the austerity (nearly 10 years of it is enough and its murdering any hope of economic growth, it’s time for stimulus like Germany did). If FG say no Labour should leave and lead the opposition.

The opposition won’t put down a confidence motion because they’re not ready to fight an election yet, and FG can stay as a minority govt at least until december, and maybe beyond that if they can get some support elsewhere maybe from indos to pass a budget.
    Labours smart move is not forcing an election that would be vv stupid, they’d be killed. They have to try to get a new Programme for Government first.

Mute Nigellus Murphius
    May 25th 2014, 7:13 PM

Hi Ryan.

Based on todays results I would think that an immediate General Election would be problematic because of a probable merger of Fine Gael and Fianna Fail.

We need to sort out those that vote for them two groupings first.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 25th 2014, 8:05 PM

I don’t think a GE is what we need yet. We need a new PFG first, and if labour can’t get it they should lead the opposition instead and give the public a real choice next time.

Mute Nigellus Murphius
    May 25th 2014, 8:45 PM

If Labour can’t maintain their principles while in Government then having them in opposition serves no purpose at all.

Having a Fine Gael & Fianna Fail Government would be the effective death-knell of social services and the loss of hope for a renedotiation of the debt.

The debt is the issue that people aren’t talking about and I think if everyone who votes for establishment parties could see first-hand the misery these policies cause then I would hope they would correct their voting pattern. If not then I fear the country is doomed and anybody with sense should just pack up and leave the country to rot from the inside.

We need to do something about the Establishment voters.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin

This photo shows it all, a deficient eamon gilmore and a master of labour enda kenny. The idea fine gael are back in government in twenty months time, just shows they still cannot get the message, the people do not support their whip system or cruel vicious policies on the old, disabled, sick, lone parent families. As stupid as he is he has no passion to change any thing.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 25th 2014, 4:10 PM

Kenny and co are in a panic. Now you can look at things again and think about budgets because Irish put gun to your heads?
    Never about good of Irish people for you lot always about saving your own necks and fat wages.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 25th 2014, 4:11 PM

P.S I think one thing EU politicians and Irish ones forgot,is the people are the ones with the power not you lot. Irish people remembering at last we dont have to lay down and take it.

Mute Nigellus Murphius
    May 25th 2014, 7:18 PM

Hi Karen.

Yes we’re the ones with the power. That’s the way it’s supposed to be.

But you and I both know the promises made were mostly all broken. We have the power to believe the lies but once they get in to power we have no power.

We need something other than just voting now.

Fianna Fails support is disgusting. How dare they vote for the Blanket Bank Bailout Group.

Mute James Halligan
    Favourite James Halligan
    May 25th 2014, 4:44 PM

I WOULD HOPE THAT SINN FEIN HAVE MORE SENSE THAN TO GET INTO BED WITH ENDA AND CO.I BELIEVE THAT SINN FEIN ARE A LOT SMARTER THAN THAT .

Mute Conor O'Neil
    Favourite Conor O'Neil
    May 25th 2014, 4:28 PM

Gerry Adams for taoiseach because he is leader. Look at how much he has done for this country.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 25th 2014, 4:23 PM

Sinn Fein are predicting 60% of the vote in the General Election; they won’t need a coalition partner.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    May 25th 2014, 3:36 PM

Yer man leaning against the wall looks very disgruntled.

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    May 25th 2014, 5:25 PM

Kenny is a horrible excuse for a man and he is a lying pr*ck.

Take every word that comes out of his mouth as most likely being a lie.

He had a chance to go down in history as the man who introduced change and make Ireland a better more honest place for all of its citizens to live.

Instead he chose to look after the rich and powerful and make loads of dosh for himself, and Rabbitte, and Lowry, and Shatter, and Howling, and Burton, and the Gilmore’ s, and hot air Dickeeeeee Brutal and all of his rich friends, while removing medical cards from people – even kids – with cancer, and respite hours from those in need and cutting blind pension etc etc. What a horrible excuse for a leader.

When honesty and integrity eventually permeate Irish politics, Kenny’s short cruel regime will be shown for the awful useless gombeen self serving regime that it is… and then promptly forgotten.

A lesson on how NOT to run an honest and just government.

Mute Juan Keville
    Favourite Juan Keville
    May 25th 2014, 4:55 PM

Enda won’t even sit with Newstalk… So what chance does anyone else have…

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological

Power is the addiction and any steps to achieve it will be taken. Politics you can have faith in.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 25th 2014, 5:26 PM

F€&k off Kenny. Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael is all that makes since. SF will not fall into your trap and you are both suited to each other. #sellouts

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    May 25th 2014, 4:58 PM

Never say never, Enda ehh?

Wonderful how the grim reality of power slipping from your grip focuses the mind on finding solutions.

Still better late than never, I hope we can now read the journal comments section without having to wade through the anti Adams drivel that was blocking every thread.

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton
    May 25th 2014, 5:16 PM

It’s time to look at smaller government, we could manage without all the leeches and parasites.

Mute Eannán Monaghan
    Favourite Eannán Monaghan
    May 25th 2014, 5:38 PM

The reason why I’d never vote for Sinn Fein, is not for their past, but instead for their lunatic economic policies!

Mute Michael Brady
    Favourite Michael Brady
    May 25th 2014, 7:17 PM

Eannán, the term lunatic means what exactly?
    If you can answer that, then I’ll try educate you on economics.

Mute Eannán Monaghan
    Favourite Eannán Monaghan
    May 25th 2014, 7:27 PM

Placing a 30 percent tax on all earners earning over €100,00, which drives away foreign investors and potential businessmen setting up here. Increasing social welfare, which would increase unemployment, because people figure they can earn more on the dole, than working. Increasing corporation tax to 17%, which drives out multi national companies and businesses setting up here. Getting rid of private pensions. Leaving the EU. These are just a few things, on a very long list.

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    May 25th 2014, 7:46 PM

Charlie nauhty was guilty of arms dealing, and 3 other ministers in the past. The idiot went on TV Telling all of us that we were broke, while the moron had mansions, yachts, and told the rest of us to “tighten our belts” in a 500 pound shirt.!?! What a liar just like Bertie, Martin, Kenny and Rabbitte.

Up Sinn Fein, I hope they lead the next government. Go away the rest of you trolls.

Mute Michael Brady
    Favourite Michael Brady
    May 25th 2014, 8:35 PM

Eannán, We must of have read completely different policies budget plans.
    All policies can be found on the SF website.
    “Increasing social welfare, which would increase unemployment, because people figure they can earn more on the dole, than working” …try meditation Eannán, read after your meditation session.

Mute Hallie Burton
    Favourite Hallie Burton

The aim of SF is a 32 county ‘Republic’ under their sole ownership. They have their own interpretation of the word ‘Republic’

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 25th 2014, 4:25 PM

Which is sheer insanity. They are a minority in NI and a minority in the Republic. We are as likely to become a nation under Gerry as we are a nation under Islam.

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    May 25th 2014, 5:35 PM

Some amount of comments here, instigated by a troll called alex.

* I didn’t use a capital for his first name because he doesn’t deserve it. Brain dead & in denial sums it up.

Mute Alex Nevin
    Favourite Alex Nevin
    May 25th 2014, 7:13 PM

Hahahahahahaha, yeah, whatever you say bud.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 25th 2014, 4:43 PM

It takes the smell of a threat from SF to unite FF & FG.

Good news for a balanced democracy. If FF & FG were to actually merge, then there is room for a proper left in the country.

Don’t count the Labour Party out yet. A REAL Labour/Workers party on one side of the spectrum and FF/FG on the other would give Ireland, for the first time ever, a balanced political spectrum. Could be 10 years away at least.

A problem could be that the Left in Ireland has a horrible habit of infighting itself to death.

Mute Anthony Dunne
    Favourite Anthony Dunne
    May 25th 2014, 5:15 PM

It’s a matter of Left and right….. Right and wrong…… In and out…… Up and down….. The same right wing parties wouldn’t allow Sinn Fein to use the media ,, Enda and co needs to get of the stage and let the next act in this play take place,,, so the audience can enjoy play……… Let some good players on stage……….

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 25th 2014, 7:59 PM

It’s a democracy Anthony, the people decide.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    May 25th 2014, 6:51 PM

Maybe this could be settled via a dance off between Martin, Gilmore, Kenny and Adams?
    Failing that, another civil war.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 25th 2014, 6:24 PM

Did not take Kenny long to drop labour from next coalition…..All those days slagging adams off in the dail will bite you in the arse Kenny as the electorate will not let you forget what you said……With the results today bang goes Kennys goal of leading the next govt fg will drop him as leader before the election……

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    May 25th 2014, 6:00 PM

The bas@@t would go to bed with the devil to stay in power

Mute Simon Bevis
    Favourite Simon Bevis
    May 25th 2014, 4:53 PM

And so it begins.

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    May 25th 2014, 5:49 PM

I would never vote for a party that would join up with the SF gang.

Mute Nigellus Murphius
    May 25th 2014, 7:21 PM

I would never vote for a Banker-Austerity Group.

They heap misery on the most vulnerable in our society and all Irish people are paying for it.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    May 25th 2014, 7:19 PM

If FG went into govt with FF I’m pretty sure that would release Cthulhu.

Mute CW
    Favourite CW
    May 25th 2014, 8:58 PM

Ride the lightning?

Mute Leo Conway
    Favourite Leo Conway
    May 25th 2014, 5:01 PM

Or Satin

Mute Elizabeth Gibson
    Favourite Elizabeth Gibson
    May 25th 2014, 6:27 PM

What’s wrong with satin Leo? Satin is the poor mans silk.

Mute Killian Foley-Walsh
    Favourite Killian Foley-Walsh
    May 25th 2014, 8:20 PM

FG/ SF is all well and good, but did anybody else notice Frank Underwood’s phone going off in the background???

Mute Éanna™
    Favourite Éanna™
    May 25th 2014, 5:47 PM

FF – FG coalition and then we get the right-left system that works oh so well in the US. Looks likely from where I’m sitting

Mute Rory Mc Evoy
    Favourite Rory Mc Evoy
    May 26th 2014, 8:40 PM

Sorry!

Mute Robert McGuinness
    Favourite Robert McGuinness
    May 26th 2014, 12:21 PM

I really hope the people of Ireland have learned a lesson and any hope of a Fianna Fail coalition is just fanciful thinking from Michael Martin and his band of thieves. You would also have to question the wisdom Of Enda Kenny if such a situation were to occur.

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    May 25th 2014, 11:45 PM

That’s all fine and well enda, but what does eamon coughlan think?