You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny RollingNews.ie

Enda is meeting the north's leaders today to talk about Brexit

Northern Ireland voted to remain in the EU.

THE TAOISEACH IS going to meet Northern Ireland’s first and deputy first ministers in Dublin today to discuss the Brexit fallout.

It’s the first time the North South Ministerial Council (NSMC) has met since the UK voted to leave the European Union last month.

Northern Ireland and Scotland voted to remain in the EU, while England and Wales voted to leave the bloc in the 23 June referendum.

There has been much speculation since then as to what the vote will mean in terms of free movement of people, trade and the potential return of a border between the republic and north of Ireland.

Enda Kenny is expected to raise the possibility of developing an all-island forum with the support of political parties, north and south, to discuss the challenges arising from the referendum.

5/6/2015. North South Ministerial Council Meetings McGuinness and Foster Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie Sam Boal / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Speaking in advance of the meeting, Kenny said: “I look forward to meeting with First Minister [Arlene] Foster, Deputy First Minister [Martin] McGuinness, and their colleagues in the Northern Ireland Executive.

This plenary meeting will provide an opportunity for us to have a strategic and constructive discussion on the impact of the referendum for Northern Ireland and the all-island implications of the vote, and how we are going to work together to protect the interests of all our citizens on the island of Ireland.

Kenny said the government also wanted to emphasise its full support for “preserving and strengthening north-south co-operation” and discuss the commitments set out in the Fresh Start Agreement such as cross-border infrastructure including the A5, the Ulster Canal and the Narrow Water Bridge Project.

Meanwhile, in an interview with the Financial Times, British chancellor George Osborne has pledged to cut corporation tax from 20% to below 15% in a bid to encourage businesses to continue investing in the UK following the Brexit vote.

Ireland’s current corporation tax rate is 12.5%.

Read: Theresa May vows to push for EU trade deal that limits immigration

Read: Tens of thousands of anti-Brexit protesters march in London

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    May 5th 2018, 7:37 PM

welcome alison and take my advice the next one that tells you to go home to Canada hit them across the backside with your ice hockey stick eh!

Mute Gareth Keenan
    Favourite Gareth Keenan
    May 5th 2018, 8:21 PM

@Johnny Mason: but obviously apologise quickly afterwards eh

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    May 5th 2018, 8:30 PM

@Gareth Keenan: goes without saying and if they ever repeat it threaten to send them to Quebec

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    May 5th 2018, 8:03 PM

Can I just say, it is a pleasure to listen to Alison Curtis in the mornings at the weekend. Her upbeat humour and generally positively is an absolute joy and puts me in a good mood and and there’s always laugh out loud moments, if only there was more like her on the radio. I’d be proud to call her a fellow Irish person even if she wasn’t born here. Keep doing your thing Alison nobody should ever be told to good home.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott
    May 5th 2018, 7:38 PM

My wife who comes from NYC is pretty much in the same boat. You will get that in every country though. I moved to the UK for a while and was told to go back to Ireland whenever they’d a few drinks in them or ran out of steam during a discussion.

No matter where you go in the world that is the kind of attitude many have. It’s sad but whilst we do our best to make them aware of their behaviour I don’t think it will stop anytime soon, human nature and all that.

Mute Dave Alexander
    Favourite Dave Alexander
    May 5th 2018, 10:11 PM

@Stephen Mc Elligott: G’day just been reading that woman’s sad comments, and it make you realise that there are right Drongo’s around, I’ve traveled much of South East Asia, who was seconded to join the Royal Navy from the Royal Aussie Navy during the 2nd WW, he was in the Submarine Business as a Scientific and Ordinance Officer, which meant that he was on various Boats, experimenting with underwater stuff!. (In my set of rules; it matters not where you are from, what skin colour you have, it is simply how you are to me & I am to you! (And always take care of each other if you can?

Mute Sinéad Uí Chrosáin
    Favourite Sinéad Uí Chrosáin
    May 7th 2018, 6:16 AM

@Stephen Mc Elligott: While i would agree with your comment, your profile photo makes my blood boil!!! Have enough respect for women to make the right choice about their own bodies. #repealthe8th

Mute Ann Experiment
    Favourite Ann Experiment
    May 5th 2018, 7:37 PM

I think you’re great anyway!

Mute Porterkev
    Favourite Porterkev
    May 5th 2018, 7:36 PM

Well said.

Mute Patrick Mahood
    Favourite Patrick Mahood
    May 5th 2018, 8:02 PM

@alisoncurtis here’s an idea maybe you could go back to Canada and when you get there you can arrange for an Irish emmigrant who has gained Canadian citizenship to come back here. And here’s me thinking that Ireland of 2018 was an inclusive society. I guess we still have some work to do. Keep doing what you’re doing Alison, feck the begrudgers

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    May 5th 2018, 9:54 PM

I was due to be naturalized on the day of Storm Ophelia, and had to miss the rearranged ceremony due to being in Liverpool; but I will be ‘become’ legally Irish on the 21st, and I can’t wait. I say ‘become’ legally as coming from Liverpool, I didn’t feel English/British, but that was due to my Irish ancestry. On the 21st I will find some inner peace to my self-identity.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 12:51 AM

@Ian Heaton: Your accent will tell everyone you’re English. Also not being able to talk about how badly Irish was taught in your school will tell people you aren’t Irish.

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    May 6th 2018, 1:10 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: Tá mo chaint ‘Scouse’ ni Béarla.

Mute Cionnaith Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Cionnaith Mac Suibhne
    May 6th 2018, 1:16 AM

@Ian Heaton: welcome! Welcome!

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 1:23 AM

@Ian Heaton: caint means talk, teanga is language. You’re still an English man as Scouse isn’t a language.

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    May 6th 2018, 8:19 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: lighten up a bit Ciara.

Mute Peter Boyle
    Favourite Peter Boyle
    May 6th 2018, 9:18 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: I am 1st generation irish born if irish parents in England. I am 64 and always held an Irish passport. My Father fought for Collins and was in the first An Garda Siachana. I have continually been referred to as the ‘Englishman’ despite being a resident here for many years. The Irish on the Island of Ireland do not recognise you as being Irish unless you have an Irish accent.

Mute Brian Treacy
    Favourite Brian Treacy
    May 6th 2018, 12:03 PM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: Are you are a bit of a feckin eejit? You certainly come across as one!

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    Favourite Elvis Polkasalad
    May 5th 2018, 7:59 PM

jesus , get over it, She will have to get some counseling , i fear for the future

Mute Mark Linehan
    Favourite Mark Linehan
    May 5th 2018, 9:52 PM

@Elvis Polkasalad: hi grey faced avatar troll. You’re opinion is pointless ye gripe.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 12:48 AM

@Elvis Polkasalad:

Mute Dan Morgan
    Favourite Dan Morgan
    May 6th 2018, 2:09 AM

@Elvis Polkasalad: Jesus christ

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    May 6th 2018, 7:52 AM

@Elvis Polkasalad: if you’re aware of a murder taking place, please contact the Gardai.

Mute Jimmy Corkhill
    Favourite Jimmy Corkhill
    May 6th 2018, 11:30 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: Exactly.

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 6th 2018, 12:00 PM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: I,m flattered , but married

May 5th 2018, 7:53 PM

Please stay! Ireland needs some talent like yours, too many has beens pretending to be current!

Mute Matthew Conway
    Favourite Matthew Conway
    May 5th 2018, 8:22 PM

So sorry to hear this, Alison. For a country that saw millions upon millions of its people find refuge elsewhere – and often not with the warmest of welcomes – you would think you would be warmly embraced. That said, I suspect ’tis but a small but vocal number of trolls who wish you anything but céad míle fáilte.

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    May 5th 2018, 7:40 PM

it never even crossed my mind when I do be listening to you on the radio

Mute Laurence Cavanagh
    Favourite Laurence Cavanagh
    May 5th 2018, 10:33 PM

Alison sure we eat our own too.Spent the age of 3 through 13 living in Limerick being told to go home to Dublin where I was born.When we moved back to Dublin I was told to go back to Limerick.Its all noise.

Mute Pateen Johncruck
    Favourite Pateen Johncruck
    May 5th 2018, 9:02 PM

1st world problem

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate
    May 5th 2018, 9:43 PM

@Pateen Johncruck: try dealing with this your whole life, even as a kid. I have done so, despite being Irish and raised here, because I have a hard to place accent and an English dad, plus the fact all my Irish family is in other parts of the country.

I am at a point whereby after 30 years, I’ve given up trying to figure out what I am. I hold dual uk/Irish citizenship with Irish nationality, but don’t feel like I belong to either. Ireland is my home because that’s where the people I love are, but there is nowhere my heart calls home.

I grew up in a small village, so whilst we were very warmly welcomed, it was always clear that we weren’t locals. I was aware of this from age 3 or 4, so a very long time.

I have made peace that I will never feel as if I truly belong anywhere. I don’t have a true sense of identity that comes from knowing, feeling and understanding where you belong, so I go with what my documents say, even if that’s not what I feel.

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 5th 2018, 10:38 PM

@Pateen Johncruck: comment of the year

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 5th 2018, 10:43 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: sorry to here that, quick ? so you can have an english passport even thou you were born here , is that because your dad was born in england?

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    May 5th 2018, 10:44 PM

@Elvis Polkasalad: deadly! See ya in 2019!

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 5th 2018, 10:50 PM

@filthypete: Thank you very much

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    May 6th 2018, 12:08 AM

@Elvis Polkasalad: I was born there but raised here from 6 months, and have an Irish passport. But yeah, if I had been born here, my father’s status would entitle me to s UK passport.

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 6th 2018, 12:51 AM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: Thank you and welcome ,

Mute Craig Hughes
    Favourite Craig Hughes
    May 5th 2018, 8:46 PM

Some Irish people need to cop on .

Mute Jim Downey
    Favourite Jim Downey
    May 5th 2018, 8:06 PM

F the begrudges Alison

Mute Martin Power
    Favourite Martin Power
    May 5th 2018, 8:20 PM

I suppose as another person said you get those people everywhere. The only response needed is to assure yourself that regardless of your geographical location you are leading a full , happy and open life. They aren’t. If their mind is so closed, as to form that opinion they surely cant be happy or fulfilled. Just wish them well and move on being happy.

Mute Tomek Olo Łęcki
    Favourite Tomek Olo Łęcki
    May 5th 2018, 10:07 PM

don’t cry love… I’m Polish lives in Ireland. did you ever hear how we sound??!..lol

Mute Ken Gray
    Favourite Ken Gray
    May 5th 2018, 9:39 PM

Having listened to Alison for several years I have to say she is one of the most energetic and entertaining radio presenters around and we are lucky to have here. So forget the begrudgers and keep on doing what you do best .

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    May 5th 2018, 7:46 PM

“Ah shar we don’t have parochialism in our parish at all.”

It seems absurd to be a country that has shed population in hoards through emigration and then harbour a mob of anti immigrant bigots.

What are we….eh?

On the bright side, Alison, you can vote, but think of the hundreds of thousands of Irish citizens working abroad who can’t.

“Ah shar there’s no parochialism in our parish at all….eh?”

May 5th 2018, 7:55 PM

@Moorooka Mick: I cant vote, wish I could but the muppet government would be buried if emigrants could!

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    May 5th 2018, 9:18 PM

Part of the furniture now Alison. You’re even entitled to tell those people to feck off.

Mute Jim Power
    Favourite Jim Power
    May 5th 2018, 8:19 PM

I don’t really understand how anyone puts any merit in what a troll would say. These people will just look for whatever perceived weakness they can identify, so I’m not sure it’s about being from another country. The only thing that you should feel for a troll is pity. For someone to go online and attack another person means they have psychological problems. An honest argument is fine but anyone saying ‘go home’ should be pitied and then ignored.

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    May 5th 2018, 9:28 PM

@Jim Power: I’ve had it said to my face. Kicker? I’m Irish, though uk born (lived here since I was 6mo with an Irish mum). Problem is, I have a largely unplaceable accent. I’m Cork raised, with a westmeath mother and Oxfordshire dad, and went to school with people from Tipperary. I speak German with a perfect accent. I have also worked hard to ensure I don’t develop a strong Cork accent. Mix all that with British and American TV shows and you get people abusing you for being anything from American to eastern European and everything in between!

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    May 5th 2018, 10:06 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: why have you worked hard to not develop a Cork accent?

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 5th 2018, 10:53 PM

@Joey Navinski: Do you have to ask , is it not obvious

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    May 6th 2018, 12:14 AM

@Joey Navinski: it’s not my favourite accent, though definitely not the worst. Got teased a lot by English family also for it. Plus I have always found stronger Cork accents hard to understand, so worked hard to make sure that didn’t happen to me.

There was also a couple of weeks when I was a kid where something went wrong and my parents and I lost the ability to properly understand each other.. three people, three accents, all going “sorry, what? Repeat that?” Every time something was said. It was…unusual.

Mute Jenny
    Favourite Jenny
    May 5th 2018, 10:03 PM

Love Alison Curtis! Her voice is synonymous with the weekend!

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    May 6th 2018, 12:13 AM

@Jenny: I would not be a massive fan of her choice of music, but the song would be over in a few minutes and would get to hear her upbeat personality and sexy voice.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    May 5th 2018, 7:43 PM

@Dee O’Connoll: Get a Life

Mute Pat O'Looney
    Favourite Pat O'Looney
    May 5th 2018, 9:27 PM

There’s a ‘blow-in’ in every family, Alison. You ARE welcome here. Fáilte go hÉirinn.

Mute Bobby Byrne
    Favourite Bobby Byrne
    May 5th 2018, 7:58 PM

@Gus Sheridan: Eh I think she was just taking the piss. Calm down with all the vitriol

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    May 5th 2018, 9:15 PM

Where you’re born has little to do with your Irishness imho.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    May 5th 2018, 11:10 PM

My folks are Irish and both speck Irish as their first language. They went to London in the 1960′s and had 3 kids and then moved back to Ireland in the 70′s. All of us kids are plastic paddys and we have worked all over the place. In the UK you would meet a few Tw@ts who would call you Irish names. In Ireland I have meet a few Tw@ts who called me English names. Combined total Tw@t number was less then 5 I’m sure…but they all got the same response from me..Fucc off!….i have told my Irish kids to use same response as needed and don’t waste time thinking about the Tw@ts you will meet up with in life….just my 2 cents

Mute Dick Nagle
    Favourite Dick Nagle
    May 5th 2018, 7:55 PM

@Dee O’Connoll: why don’t you feck off to UAE where they like people with your opinions.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 12:47 AM

I love your show Alison but you’re not Irish. You’re a Canadian with Irish citizenship. That doesn’t make you an Irish woman.

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    May 6th 2018, 1:21 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: I get the distinct impression you’re rattled.

May 6th 2018, 1:21 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: ok, so this woman whose family are Irish and has contributed to Irish society and wants to be part of this country and raise an Irish family isn’t entitled to call herself Irish! Also how do you describe all those Irish who are now naturalized Australians, Canadians, Americans? What do want to call them! Just because you have a name as Gaelige doesn’t entitle you to determine who is Irish and who’s not!

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 1:26 AM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: My brother has New Zealand citizenship. He’s not a kiwi. He’s an Irish man with NZ citizenship.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 1:28 AM

@Ian Heaton: Not at all. You’re more used to foreigners calling themselves British once they get citizenship because Britain isn’t a country. How was your experience of learning Irish in school? The Irish education system etc?

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 1:29 AM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: If you got American citizenship would you be an American man?

May 6th 2018, 1:30 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: so if he is an Irishman does he not use his Kiwi passport then?

May 6th 2018, 1:33 AM

@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: if I had US citizenship, lived there long term, contributed to life there, raised a family as Americans and paid taxes, then over time, i would be entitled to call myself an American, yes

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 1:37 AM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: He uses it when heading back to NZ after being back home. Still doesn’t make him a kiwi though, just an Irish man with citizenship.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 1:38 AM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: Yetyou still wouldn’t be able to say you’re an American man because you’d not be. You’d be an Irish man with US citizenship.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    May 6th 2018, 1:39 AM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: what she is trying to state she is against duel citizenship

May 6th 2018, 1:48 AM

@Johnny Mason: ok! Fair point! But let her say that outright! Cut the ambiguity! Also who is to say that Alison Curtis hasn’t gotten rid of her Canadian citizenship? Hypothetically speaking? Also what would her view be on my neighbours 2 doors down from me! Both Chinese born and raised, but naturalized in 2009 & 2013 respectively and who had to renonounce their Chinese citizenship as the PRC does not permit dual nationality! How does she describe them? Irish or Chinese??

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    May 6th 2018, 2:06 AM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: You can not renounce the Country where you are born or the Citizenship that goes with it

May 6th 2018, 9:58 AM

@Johnny Mason: yes you can renounce! Also many countries do not permit dual citizenship! You must surrender one nationality! For goodness sake, do your homework! Stopped be honest, you could have done some research before your answered! With respect, you are starting to come across as someone who likes her own voice and what is said goes! Also if you say is true, come to my neighbours and tell them face to face what you say is true and how their legal standing with their homeland was bull! You really are coming across as someone shooting down their own argument by lack of education and unwillingness to research!

Mute Thought Criminal
    Favourite Thought Criminal
    May 6th 2018, 12:51 PM

@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: There is a difference between citizenship and nationality. Ciara is right.

May 5th 2018, 9:20 PM

Ah sorry for the crap you have to put up with. Usually they are unhappy people with unhappy lives and look to spread the misery. I know it’s hard not to take the bate but please feel pity for them and then move on. I work with many immigrants and they all truly light up my life. They and you enrich our country and I’m delighted to call you a fellow citizen and Irish woman.

Mute Liam Quigley
    Favourite Liam Quigley
    May 6th 2018, 8:41 AM

To Alison and all those who have come here from other lands…Thank you for making our country a better place. You are one of us now and you are entitled to call yourselves Irish. You have contributed to the new Ireland, a better Ireland, an Ireland that is thankfully different from the insular one I grew up in. It still has a way to go but you will all contribute to a modern, tolerant society that shows empathy, love and positivity. I thought we were there in the 80s but I had no idea it would take this long. There are a few more hurdles to rid us of the bigotry and closed minds of the remaining few who are very good at making their feelings known and still try to control the narrative on a daily basis but their time is up. Remember for every one that might speak harsh words to make you feel uncomfortable there is a silent majority who welcome you as part of the family with open arms.

Mute Glen More
    Favourite Glen More
    May 5th 2018, 8:49 PM

As an Irish person with Australian citizenship I’m in a similar position… There are car bumper stickers here saying “Love it or leave it” and “Fit in or f**k off”. They anger me… more for other immigrants who don’t “pass” as well or don’t fit into the category of “we don’t mean you, you speak English (implicitly: and are white)”.

Completely unacceptable for people to discredit or disparage based on your accent or place of birth. Call it for what it is… racism.

Good on you for saying it, it may be more acceptable for some people to hear if from a Canadian-Irish person than some other nationalities but may make those people think twice before saying it to someone else.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    May 6th 2018, 7:18 AM

Living in the northwest for over 20 years still get asked if I’m enjoying my holiday.

Mute David McLaughlin
    Favourite David McLaughlin
    May 5th 2018, 10:05 PM

You stay girl!. I love the accent. Great show.

Mute White Rabbit
    Favourite White Rabbit
    May 5th 2018, 8:09 PM

Alison I think you’re great.
    These coward trolls should be made Public. A TV show maybe where they doorstep random trolls and ask them to stand over their comments?

Mute Elvis Polkasalad
    May 5th 2018, 10:55 PM

@White Rabbit: great idea can i be the guy that confronts them please

Mute Anne Fallon
    Favourite Anne Fallon
    May 6th 2018, 6:53 PM

@White Rabbit: Some celebrities did that over here in the UK – they actually found out where the trolls lived and doorstepped them! The trolls were not very keen to be filmed – and one even apologised – as far as I remember..not so brave when confronted!

Mute Joe Soap
    Favourite Joe Soap
    May 6th 2018, 12:39 AM

Sorry Alison that you’ve had that happen to you. i well remember you talking on air about getting citizenship. You described it as a really proud moment. I felt proud to have you here and I’ve always enjoyed listening to you on the radio. Thanks for everything

Mute Sylvia McLoughlin
    Favourite Sylvia McLoughlin
    May 6th 2018, 8:23 AM

I totally agree with you Alison. I felt the same way when I moved from Germany in 1998. A year or two became 20 years and I nearly spent more years of my life in Ireland than Germany. Even though I never took on Irish citizenship..I will always be more Irish than German! You’re living in a country where your heart is…that’s Irish enough in my opinion

Mute Aine Foley
    Favourite Aine Foley
    May 5th 2018, 11:29 PM

Born in NYC to Irish parents…I get ya, even though there’s only a tiny hint of a Yankee accent it’s been said to me. Anyone who chooses their citizenship deserves extra congrats! You’re Irish if you feel Irish hun, to hell with the ar$es who think otherwise.

Mute Diarmuid Connolly
    Favourite Diarmuid Connolly
    May 5th 2018, 8:35 PM

GO BACK TO CANADA! For holidays and fun times. Come back whenever, stay for however long you want. Down with that sort of thing ( the xenophobia I mean)

May 5th 2018, 7:56 PM

@Dee O’Connoll: keyboard warrior, blank photo, you are a troll and probably an ugly one too, explains the lack of photo

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas
    May 6th 2018, 9:02 AM

the people that say them things are the people that never left the country. A few years back i was getting a bus in Dublin and a fella across from dressed head to toe in Adidas drinking out of a can was complaining about forigeners coming over taking Irish jobs, i say if i offered him a job he would run a mile

Mute Eric Byrne
    Favourite Eric Byrne
    May 5th 2018, 8:34 PM

I think the people who tell you to go back to Canada are just idiots! I’m living in Canada just over 7 years now (was born and lived in Ireland for 28 years previous), I’m eligible for Citizenship and will most likely get it to make life easier here but I would never ever consider myself Canadian. Each to there own I suppose.

Mute Joe F Murphy
    Favourite Joe F Murphy
    May 6th 2018, 8:58 AM

I remember that photo in The Irish Times of a smiling new citizen,Alison Curtis & I was so delighted to have one of my favourite radio broadcasters become one of us.All our new Irsh citizens are very welcome.

Mute Mr. H
    Favourite Mr. H
    May 6th 2018, 7:21 AM

Who… Cares

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    May 5th 2018, 10:04 PM

great that you stayed in Ireland and made such a great success of life here for yourself !! stop being so hard on yourself ! you were NEVER the WORST PA…. ;-))

Mute Frank Graham
    Favourite Frank Graham
    May 5th 2018, 11:44 PM

You’re Irish, full stop !

Mute Maria Coleman
    Favourite Maria Coleman
    May 5th 2018, 11:21 PM

Love listening to u

Mute Dave Alexander
    Favourite Dave Alexander
    May 5th 2018, 10:38 PM

@Fabio Dillon: Unless this Lass has a Mother who was born in Ireland, she can never be Irish, however she has become a Citizen of Ireland which is acceptable! It is a shame about these Trolls, their Tongues should be cut out , no more “tongue in Cheek” then Pal! RIP.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    May 6th 2018, 12:56 AM

@Dave Alexander: What has her mam got to do with anything?

Mute Frances Flynn
    Favourite Frances Flynn
    May 6th 2018, 2:48 AM

Hi Alison, Sorry to read about your experience. A country is judged by the nature, actions and deeds of the majority of its’ people but the nature, actions and deeds of a minority of people which shame the Irish are far outweighed so please always feel at home here.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    May 5th 2018, 11:54 PM

Why in god’s name did you delete my comment?

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    May 6th 2018, 6:50 PM

@Fabio Dillon: another one deleted!! You’re weak.

Mute Phil Sheppard
    Favourite Phil Sheppard
    May 6th 2018, 12:09 AM

Don’t pay any attention to the ignorant fools Alison.
    We love you and your radio show !!

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    May 6th 2018, 2:17 AM

This isn’t a story . Coming from an Irish guy living in Canada . It happens everywhere . Suck it up. Nonsense

Mute Paula Middleton
    Favourite Paula Middleton
    May 5th 2018, 10:29 PM

@Fabio Dillon: @ if all it took to be Irish was to be born and raised here, then that would mean that a child that was born here but had for example African or Pakistani parents, they would be Irish and the child born of Irish parents and grandparents etc but born outside of the country would not be considered Irish. In other words the rat born in the stable would have to called a horse, even though it is a rat.

Mute Fidelma Laffan Nielsen
    Favourite Fidelma Laffan Nielsen
    May 6th 2018, 8:55 AM

Alison, it’s hard to believe that Irish people are saying this to you. But none the less some are. You got out of your bed and made something of yourself. America, Canada England Australia and many more countries are infested with us, the Irish, I am confident that you are paying your taxes, and that is all that matters, unlike some of our fellow countrymen and women living illegally in other countries. Beware the old adage folks, ” don’t point your fingers with dirty hands”

May 6th 2018, 9:51 AM

Very interesting, I notice that a thread where I entered to a very interesting debate with a couple of persons on this issue seems to have been deleted!, one of those persons, who like myself has a name as gaelige,was adament, amongst many examples that Alison is a Canadian with Irish citizenship, nothing more and with me asking how she would describe overseas neighbours of mine who became Irish nationals and had to surrender their original nationality! I asked if she would describe those persons as Irish or their original nationality! Not only was that question not answered, but that entire thread was deleted! Nice to see people stand by their principles by running away from a full debate!

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    May 6th 2018, 8:20 AM

sorry Alison but we’re a Catholic Country!

Mute Brian Clancy
    Favourite Brian Clancy
    May 6th 2018, 10:22 AM

@thesaltyurchin: we are not. Ireland is a secular sate. Havent been in years. Look it up

Mute El Grogan
    Favourite El Grogan
    May 6th 2018, 5:05 AM

I like you Alison, but you’re not my buddy, PAL…

Mute Greg Power
    Favourite Greg Power
    May 6th 2018, 9:06 AM

Ignore the trolls! You’re Irish only with a nicer accent

Mute Hugh Corcoran
    Favourite Hugh Corcoran
    May 6th 2018, 7:58 AM

Do these idiots not realize that it’s virtually impossible to go to any corner of the world, and not find a paddy. I would like to think that our expats receive a level of respect, wherever they are. The same level of respect that should be given to visitors and people that have moved to Ireland.

Mute Alyson Sean O'Neill
    Favourite Alyson Sean O'Neill
    May 6th 2018, 11:19 AM

I for one love listening to you Alison .
    Take. A lot of no notice !!

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    May 6th 2018, 12:56 PM

How did you get your first ‘break’ into Radio? How did you get that top PA job? How many other candidates for that and the Ian Dempsey Show job? Many have tried.

Mute Tommy Dunbar
    Favourite Tommy Dunbar
    May 6th 2018, 9:43 AM

Alison your always welcome in Ireland

Mute Steve Flannery
    Favourite Steve Flannery
    May 6th 2018, 5:46 PM

All my family are irish. I was born in London and lived there until i was 10. I moved closed to limerick city and i got awfully bullied as a kid for my accent when i moved to ireland. I found it hard to adjust.. i mean them kids didnt know any better but especially with an english accent along with the past history etc.. certain stigma to it

Mute Mark Da Costa
    Favourite Mark Da Costa
    May 6th 2018, 5:22 PM

Great article. You’ll always find insular, xenophobic people wherever you go. I’ve found the same very occasional prejudices. However the one thing I would say is don’t compare Canadians to Irish and say the Irish win 100% of the time. Every country, culture and ethnic group have their good and bad. That’s what makes the world different. This place isn’t utopia by far, and I havent yet lived in a country that us. You’ve got to take the good and the bad and make it work wherever you choose to live. However, if you do, you need to put your roots down and become part of the fabric; and that really shows in your article. Well done Alison!

Mute Steve Flannery
    Favourite Steve Flannery
    May 6th 2018, 5:44 PM

All my family are irish. I was born in London and lived there until i was 10. I moved closed to limerick city and i got awfully bullied as a kid when i moved to ireland. I found it hard to adjust.. i mean them kids didnt know any better but especially with an english accent along with the past history etc.. certain stigma to it

May 6th 2018, 9:47 PM

I used to listen to Todayfm all the time especially Ian Dempsey and Ray Darcy. I heard Alison Curtis a couple of times and thought she was okish. That was until 2014 when israel had just carried out it’s latest round of genocide against the Gaza Strip in occupied Palestine. She was spouting on about the passing of Joan Rivers and how great she was. This was the same zionist Joan Rivers who had said she hoped israel bombed the Palestinian filth into the stone age and how right and justified hey were. When I sent Alison an email on her show reminding her of zionist Joan Rivers comments and how strong we Irish felt about the suffering of the Palestinians and our support for them. She said “Oh I know she said some unpleasant things but at the end of the day it was her show and she could say whatever she wanted, so tough. I asked her if she understood the depth of outrage Irish people felt about the genocide being committed against the Palestinians, she blanked me. So I have never listened to her show again or if she fills in for some of the others presenters I switch it off. She might have an Irish citizenship on paper but she’ll never be Irish in heart and soul or in a lot of peoples eyes either.

Mute Mark Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mark Fitzpatrick
    May 6th 2018, 5:08 PM

Nice person but for me the most annoying voice on Irish radio..have to turn off sorry

Mute Aidan Conway
    Favourite Aidan Conway
    May 7th 2018, 11:18 PM

“welcome to Ireland” Alison I see you meet the best we have to offer!!?
    Just wit till ya see the referendum build the hatred the spite, the hour than thousands, attitude, and the ‘who are you to have an opinion’ brigade will all be out ranting a siliikar type of ignorance and hatred towards others.
    But thanks for choosing Ireland it is a lovely country, mostly nice friendly welcoming people such as yourself.
    The nasties are a minority but with technology and no manners!
    I’m é straining from the eh? Comment. ☺️

Mute Gearóid
    Favourite Gearóid
    May 14th 2018, 3:12 PM

You are Canadian and an Irish passport holder. No issue with skilled individuals such as yourself staying in the country. However , economic immigrants with incompatible cultures who come here for a better life knowing that they can sponge from our generous welfare system while having 3 or 4 kids , those types are not who Ireland should be permitting entry to. They dislike our culture and strive to spread their own backward ways.

May 6th 2018, 8:36 PM

I used to listen to Todayfm all the time especially Ray Darcy and Ian Dempsey. I heard Alison Curtis a couple of times and thought she was ok. That was until 2014 when israel had just carried out it’s latest round of genocide against the Gaza strip in occupied Palestine. She was spouting on about the passing of joan rivers and how great she was. This was the same zionist joan rivers who had said she hoped israel bombed the Palestinian filth into the stone age and how right and justified they were. When I sent Alison an email on her show reminding her of zionist joan rivers comments and how strong we Irish felt about the suffering of the Palestinians and our support for them.
    She said oh I know she said some unpleasant things but at the end of the day it was her show and she could say whatever she wanted so tough. I asked her if she understood the depth of out rage Irish people felt about the genocide being committed against the Palestinians, she blanked me. So I have never listened to her show again. She might have an Irish citizenship on paper but she’ll never be Irish in heart and soul or in a lot of peoples eyes.

Mute Dave Alexander
    Favourite Dave Alexander
    May 5th 2018, 10:23 PM

@Dick Nagle: What a “Ratbag you are Mate ^& we thought the Kiwi’s were bad” you really take the Biscuit! RIP.