You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Remember this famous Fine Gael ad from 2007?

Micheál Martin raised this eight-year-old campaign ad in the Dáil today.

endahealth07 Irish Election Literature Irish Election Literature

AN EIGHT-YEAR-OLD Fine Gael election ad was raised in the Dáil today as Micheál Martin lashed the coalition and Health Minister Leo Varadkar over the health crisis.

The Fianna Fáil leader mistakenly referred to the above leaflet, where Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny pledged to end the “scandal of patients on trollies”, as being from the last general election campaign.

In fact, it was a 2007 general election campaign ad where Kenny and Fine Gael promised all of this if elected to government:

endahealth07-2 Irish Election Literature Irish Election Literature

(They weren’t in the end as Bertie Ahern’s Fianna Fáil secured a third term)

Raising the leaflet at Leaders’ Questions today, Martin, a former health minister, said that the hospital trolley crisis had gotten worse in recent months. Latest figures show that 385 patients were waiting on trolleys across the country yesterday.

Martin said leaked emails from Leo Varadkar demonstrated the “appalling cynicism” from the government in relation to the management of the health service.

Kenny said he did not accept this and claimed that there has been a budget overrun in the health service for the last 30 years.

screenshot.1443540608.81001 www.thejournal.ie www.thejournal.ie

Of Varadkar’s email, warning that “heads will have to roll” over the ongoing crisis, Kenny said:

It’s a warning from the Minister for Health, where he’s not content to have a situation where year-after-year you have a budget agreed and year-after-year it’s never met.

But Martin said accountability should be with ministers, not civil servants, and got progressively angrier during his response.

He said the “deliberate falsifying of the health budget” and the €680 million overrun last year demonstrated “the dishonesty at the heart of your government’s approach to health”.

The opposition leader said that when all else fails the government was looking to save its own “political hide” by “doing a Martin Callinan on it” and sacking a civil servant – a reference to the controversial circumstances surrounding the departure of the Garda Commissioner last year.

Kenny hit back saying Martin was “the champion of false anger”, was “foundering in desperation” and had “no vision for where his party should be, and where his country should be”.

Then, he concluded with this:
http://vine.co/v/eQKbIQ5n33j

Read: “People will make their own choice” – Taoiseach says spending promises are not electioneering

Read: Enda wants to bet Ivan Yates about the date of the election

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:53 PM

You see, Hugh. If you were a journalist you’d get off your hole and walk into the first A&E near you and you’d talk to the paramedics. You’d take notes of the predicament they are in and then you’d ring up Leo or bring him in to the Journal offices and put those questions to him directly.

I’ll give you one. I was in an ambulance two weeks ago and when the paramedics dropped me off they had to wait until I was finished with the stretcher/bed. They didn’t have a second one so they actually had to stand around waiting in the hospital before thy could go back out on the road again as I was lying on the damn stretcher unable to move. . This was Cork University Hospital. So, the next person that needed an ambulance had to wait for one, in fact they had to wait for an ambulance to travel 56 miles from Bantry to Cork.

Now, next time you have Leo in the Journal offices for a little chat, how about you ask him a real question instead of using it as a photo op and handing him a Journal mug and a cuddly toy. It’s embarrassing how you are conducting these interviews. In fact, it’s a disgrace.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:13 PM

It’s beyond frustrating at this stage Journal. You’s are the one who’s employ this propaganda machine . It’s sickening the contempt he shows for 80 year olds on trolleys for days just to keep alligence to his favourite party. Shame on yous. These are real people in these situations.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:14 PM

Also fair play Sgt. Pepper. Spot on.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:17 PM
    Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:27 PM

Hear, hear, Sgt Pepper.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:31 PM

It’s a bit pathetic now what comes from government past and present. It’s pathetic that the best either can say to each other is , god you are doing a shameful job and the other one goes but not as bad as you. Both shameful and their supporters can do nothing but say but sure that other crowd didn’t do anything . resign if you can’t do the job and stop blaming the other.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:10 PM

@ Sgt. Pepper. Most modern “news” sites like these don’t employee journalists, just glorified bloggers. You’d be naive to think otherwise.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:37 PM

Well said Mr Pepper .

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:40 PM

Get well soon Sarge.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:09 PM

Well said Sgt Pepper and wishing you a speedy recovery.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:31 PM

@Sgt…that my friend wins post if the year.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:50 PM

Leaders questions and Edna doesn’t answer any. My mistake, I forgot he’s not a leader.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:51 PM

He got elected. You didn’t.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:12 PM

well done Tom, great argument . . . .

Mute Alice Simms
    Favourite Alice Simms
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:12 PM

not an achievement when the previous government drove us into recession…

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:30 PM

..and the current said they would guide us out Alice. Not clatterf*ck us at every opportunity.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:52 PM

Martino they followed the programme set out by FF and the troika but hey don’t let little thing’s like the truth stop you.

Mute paul farrell
    Favourite paul farrell
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:48 PM

Sure there all full of horse manure …. Everyone one them ….
    Enda , Gerry, Martin …promise everything to get into power

Mute catkins407
    Favourite catkins407
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:19 PM

My daughter spent 25 hours on a trolley this weekend at UHL before she even saw a doctor. This is the level progress that has been made.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan

FG AND LABOUR carried on with ff policy so they are all the same SELL OUTS THE LOT OF THEM.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:50 PM

He did bring in a national screwing programme

Mute Jamsey
    Favourite Jamsey
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:29 PM

I never got some… Oh wait, it’s that kinda screwing. ;-)

Mute A United NI
    Favourite A United NI
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:46 PM

Patients on trolleys? try patients on chairs mate. I was in Beaumont last night for 12 hours in a+e. Old and young packed together slumped exhausted in chairs, the lucky ones on trolleys. God help us whoever he is…

Mute McGuckin Annette
    Favourite McGuckin Annette
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:53 PM

There’s 428 people on trolleys today and only in Ireland would you get charged €813 per night for a chair or a trolley.

Mute Paul Mc Carthy
    Favourite Paul Mc Carthy
    Sep 30th 2015, 6:42 PM

And the €813 will pay for the three people doing reception duties, the lad who will find your file, who will pass it to the nurse at the counter who will then place it on a trolley . Another nurse will then pass this file to the doctor and so on and so on . For every hard working nurse there are 3/4 fools doing the work of one person

Sep 29th 2015, 5:14 PM

From the heading on the clip, Kenny doesn’t do responses, but he does do lies, corruption and cronyism!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

What the feck did Martin do when Health minister…..

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:09 PM

Gave us a smoke free workplace!

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:51 PM

Not because he was worried a out your health though, it was because he was worried about possible future litigation under their obligations for the Protection of Employees.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:20 PM

Larry credit where credit is due. He has enough failures to focus on

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:06 PM

Sure isn’t that what you say at election time. And there must be one coming cause I’m hearing the same tripe out of them this time round. Will people ever learn!

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:51 PM

FF raising this is like a teen giving out to his mum for not cleaning up his wanking tissues fast enough.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Lots more to come.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:13 PM

Martin is hardly the person to be throwing jibes, it’s like Hitler accusing Stalin of genocide.

Mute Always Right!
    Favourite Always Right!
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:59 PM

If he’s not trying to tell a joke he’s stealing money out of our back pockets

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:04 PM

voting in the next election will be easy- anyone but FF FG LAB ….. surely the independents can’t do any worse

Mute Its Me Baz
    Favourite Its Me Baz
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:48 PM

Sadly if Michael Martin & Fianna Fail hadn’t bankrupted the country we are not in a position to properly judge.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:50 PM

Kenny unless you missed his stunning appearance at the banking enquiry proved he would have been as incompetent in the same circumstances.

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Sep 29th 2015, 8:30 PM

Baz – it’s been a very bad day for your Rightwing extremes – now boil the kettle and make yourself a hot whiskey – it will make you feel better – No more Red Thumbs tonight Baz – it’s not good for your peace of mind – The game is up for FG / Lab. & FF , Baz !!!

Oct 2nd 2015, 4:32 AM

ECB and the U.S. AIG did have a big share in that…

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:55 PM

all of them should be ashamed. wipe them out in GE, vote all independents ,not x party, and small anti austerity parties.

Mute A United NI
    Favourite A United NI
    Sep 29th 2015, 5:54 PM

Patients on trolleys? Try patients on chairs mate. I was in Beaumont a+e there. Old and young packed together slumped exhausted and cold on chairs, the lucky ones on trolleys. The clock is ticking…

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:17 PM

Liars…

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:36 PM

I have been waiting four years to see a consultant who comes to out local outpatient clinic rather than having to do a 245km roundtrip to Dublin. I received a letter in January from the Waiting list department “we would like to reassure you that the time you have already waited will still stand and you will not be placed to the back of the waiting list.” Two weeks ago I phone the consultant’s secretary to see where I am on the list, no reply, left two messages and I am still waiting on a call from her. Today I call the waiting list department who sent the letter in January and to be told that I have been taking off the waiting list. They were to get back to me too and could be waiting. I am fuming with this health care system. I have a long term illness and need to be seen on a regular basis with a consultant regarding medication, etc. How many more people on waiting lists have been taking off like I have and don’t know it. Leo get your house in order please.

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:08 PM

It’s easy to promise the earth, moon and stars and swear you’re the one that’s going to change things…. Then you get into power and it’s like…. shite….. This is actually not just a matter of shuffling round a few beds, throwing a few quid around and shpeel. I honestly don’t think God Almighty (or who/whatever you believe in) could sort out the mess that is the HSE. The whole thing needs a complete overhaul. Can you ask people to stop being sick? No. More hospitals need to be built. There’s the general hospital in Mullingar for example. Massive wing of it completely empty since it was built in the 80/90s. Have they started to fill it with beds and staff yet?

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Sep 29th 2015, 8:34 PM

Gangsters.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:13 PM

Yeah 2007 And then a huge global recession hit, credit crunch and bank collapse happened.

If FF couldn’t end the scandal of patients on trollies with tax money to spare. I don’t know how FG can be critiqued for being unable to do so when faced with a budget crisis.

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Sep 30th 2015, 10:58 AM

Problem is people like Hugh in journal don’t care because they are probably told by Kenny go easy on us & also because they like most journalists write shite & get high pay & they probably get seen in likes of the beacon hospital . It’s a two teer country . Sickening

Mute Matthew O' Reilly
    Favourite Matthew O' Reilly
    Oct 1st 2015, 5:02 PM

Your a worst fool if you believe anything these people say, ‘except maybe when they complain about needing a mouth wash, after confessing to each other that they have puked all over the nation. Each and everyone of them are frauds, con men and incorrigible liars. If they were not successful politicians; selling political fraud, they’d be successful criminals, whose time in mountjoy jail is pending. As it is there political shenanigans have not registered the worst of them as criminals. But there will come a time in the not to distant future when they will be branded like Charlie; having subscribed to a political system that systemically pillaged the nations wealth ever since the foundation of the State. For decade after decade Fianna Fail and Fine Gael with the blessings of the Catholic Church have sold the wealth of this country to the highest American bidder.

Mute Michael Griffin
    Favourite Michael Griffin
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:03 PM

I will put them on the floor instead.Damn peasants.

Sep 30th 2015, 12:13 AM

So it is the same thing as they are doing today them, electioneering?

Oct 2nd 2015, 4:31 AM

By putting them in coffins instead? Is that the answer?