You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny in the Seanad this afternoon Screengrab

Enda Kenny tells the Seanad: ‘I come in peace, not in war’

“Well, I come in peace, not in war,” Kenny told members in the upper house this afternoon.

Updated 4.09pm

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has been hearing senators’ ideas for reforming the Seanad in the wake of the defeat of a referendum to abolish it earlier this month.

“Well, I come in peace, not in war,” Kenny told members this afternoon, saying he wanted to hear senators’ ideas “on how this house can be made as effective as possible”.

Senators called for their chamber to be given a chance to scrutinise EU legislation and statutory instruments as well as for more time for private members’ time.

Several senators called for the implementation of the Seanad reform bill put forward by two independent senators, the Quinn-Zappone Bill.

The Taoiseach reiterated his intention to enact the 1979 referendum result to widen the electorate for the university panels so as that all third level graduates can vote, and said he wanted “input and advice” on how this can be achieved.

He said that suggestions on reform needed to be “workable, legally and constitutionally sound”.

Before hearing from senators, Kenny said that he did not have “any interest in some of the bombastic triumphalism” he heard during the campaign.

“The question was put, the decision was made and I’ve moved on from that,” he said.

Fianna Fáil’s Darragh O’Brien said senators should be able to scrutinise statutory instruments and called for the opposition senators to be allowed additional time in the Seanad for private members’ bills. He also called for the relaxation of the whip system.

Independent senator Jillian van Turnhout, who was nominated by the Taoiseach, said that all parties, and not just the government, use the whip system with “equal vigour”.  She criticised the delay with a bill she introduced in the Seanad last year to ban smoking in cars with children.

The Fine Gael leader in the upper house, Maurice Cummins, called for the creation of a task force to look at all aspects of the Seanad and said there should be greater public consultation.

He also suggested that there be a dedicated committee week where TDs and Senators focus on their Oireachtas committee work.

Labour’s Seanad leader Ivana Bacik broadly called for the implementation of the reforms outlined in the bill put forward by senators Feargal Quinn and Katherine Zappone, both of whom also spoke in favour of their bill.

Sinn Féin’s Trevor Ó Clochartaigh said that the country has a very weak local government and complained that both houses of the Oireachtas “are not fit for purpose in 21st century Ireland”.

Referring to the recent referendum, Fianna Fáil senator Labhrás Ó Murchú noted: “Nothing focusses the mind like knowing you’re going to be hanged in the morning.”

One senator, Marc MacSharry, apologised to the Taoiseach if he took offence to the “intemperate” language he used earlier this year when he said Kenny was acting like “a clown”.

Responding to senators Kenny said there had been a lot of diverse opinions expressed in various reports on Seanad reform that have been published over the decades.

He said that no analysis had been done as to what the proposals for reform would mean if followed through. Kenny said he intended to consult with party leaders on the best way forward.

“We need to engage further,” he said.

First published 3.19pm

Read: ‘They’d do an excellent job’: MEP says senators should scrutinise EU legislation

Kenny: I’ve a busy schedule but I’ll talk about Seanad reform as soon as I can

Explainer: Everyone’s talking about reforming the Seanad, but how could we do it?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:25 PM

“I come in peace, not in war.”

No, you come in defeat, having lost the war.

Yours sincerely

A ‘NO’ voter.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:55 PM

Werejammin
    You voted against your Party’s decision to support the Yes side in the Referendum!

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 23rd 2013, 6:24 PM

I don’t belong to a political party and have voted labour in every election since I was 18.

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2013, 6:25 PM

And he was right too.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:23 PM

Bloody drama queen.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:48 PM

More like a whipped dog…

Mute D J Moore
    Favourite D J Moore
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:05 PM

Likely to have the same impact as Napoleon would have had had he said the same after being whupped at Waterloo…..

Oct 23rd 2013, 4:15 PM

Does he not come in defeat?

Mute nufisnuf
    Favourite nufisnuf
    Oct 23rd 2013, 7:35 PM

In his own wee feat

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:33 PM

When is he closing the bar in the Dail?
    Letting these people get drunk and make decissions on the future of our country
    has to be stopped. It should be treated as a job no big long holidays ,if your not there no pay
    And the removal of these pensions for 4years or less work, the rest of us have to pay for our own
    pensions and pay into them for 40 years.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:23 PM

John will you stop treating them as if they’re the same as us. There’s a political class and then the rest of us. The same rules don’t and never will apply. It’s not an Irish thing, look at any country in the world and it’s patently obvious.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca

If he came in war then….
    “My name is Endaus Decimus Kennuldius, commander of the Armies of the North West, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Angleus Draghius. Father to a murdered bill, husband to a murdered party. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.”

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Oct 23rd 2013, 9:20 PM

Comment of the day. Well done.

Mute TheIrishBrain
    Favourite TheIrishBrain
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:11 PM

Gobsh1t.

Mute aaron mohan
    Favourite aaron mohan
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:35 PM

Any of them Fg come to my door at the election time and there will be war and they be going in pieces the dirty lier

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:37 PM

Bucket of water will be waiting at my door for them.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:56 PM

Aaron
    What’s a lier ? Would that be the same as eeja?

Mute richie meade
    Favourite richie meade

Surprised he didn’t go in and say kneel before Zod….

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:30 PM

Enda should be a stand up comedian. Seriously.

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:43 PM

If only he could actually speak properly.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:46 PM

Wheres wally? Oh he showed up again.

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:49 PM

The errand boy for the EU and Draghi

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:36 PM

A lesson learned Mr Kenny. The NO votes await you in the next general election also.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:50 PM

“I come in peace” *as I shred the country to pieces*

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:35 PM

“I come in peace, not in war”, now that the Irish people gave a wallop.

Mute Jim Jackman
    Favourite Jim Jackman

The whole Seanad disaster was an attempt by Kenny to take every bodies eye off the ball and it worked . The elephant in the room is the actual Dail itself….we don’t need 166 TD,s for a country the size of Ireland….100 would be more then enough….

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:51 PM

Awwwwkward

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:39 PM

Enda wanted to destroy the Senate not he “comes in peace” after the Irish electorate gave him a big no. Who is he fooling? Himself!

Dictator Enda lost again.

What next?

Destroy the Catholic Church in Ireland!

Remove Catholic Christian doctrine from Irish schools!

The dictator who closed the Vatican Embassy!

The Dictator who forced abortion on the Irish people!

The dictator who calls himself a Catholic but not a Catholic Taoiseach!

The dictator who is not for turning after he taxed the retired pensioners.

The dictator who reduced tax relief on the old age pensioners premiums to VHI

It’s time for you to go to Europe among your friends who have a liberal agenda like you!

Mute Edwin Cashman
    Favourite Edwin Cashman
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:54 PM

You lost me at catholic

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:58 PM

Why the hell should he be a Catholic Taoiseach, church and state are separate and a mans religion should have no bearing on how he runs the government!

Mute Chris Dunphy
    Favourite Chris Dunphy
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:58 PM

He (and any other Taoiseach) should be a Taoiseach for ALL Irish citizens, not just the Catholics.

Oct 23rd 2013, 5:02 PM

In fairness not even I would blame Kenny for “Destroying the Catholic Church in Ireland” seems to me they managed it (the church) themselves.

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:33 PM

Was it a big no ?? I thought it was 52% to 48%?? with a very low turnout?

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:29 PM

Ah…. Enda thinks he’s an Indian chief.

Mute John Mac Evilly
    Favourite John Mac Evilly
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:56 PM

He got a wallop alright but we got hit for the €14 million bill.

Mute Francie Doherty
    Favourite Francie Doherty
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:49 PM

Did he not have the framers brigade behind him.we use to call them s.b.

Mute Francie Doherty
    Favourite Francie Doherty
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:00 PM

Farmers.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca

lets not forget the framers either and blessed are the cheesemakers

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Oct 23rd 2013, 7:08 PM

Whats so special about the cheesemakers????……well its not to be taken in the literal sense,I think hes referring to all manufacturers of dairy products…..best film ever

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:37 PM

When senator Labhrás Ó Murchú noted: “Nothing focusses the mind like knowing you’re going to be hanged in the morning.” did be say that yesterday about Enda talking in the Seanad today? Or knowing the changes that will be implemented in the Seanad will hang him tomorrow?

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 23rd 2013, 3:56 PM

This, for anyone interested, should be the Quinn/Zappone Bill: http://senatorkatherinezappone.ie/files/Official_Seanad_Bill_2013.pdf

What ever Enda decides, will it go far enough?

Oct 23rd 2013, 6:39 PM

Roll on GE or is there any other way we could kick them out before that?

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Oct 23rd 2013, 4:22 PM

No fan of Enda but even in his delusional world it must a big come down to meet the Seanad knowing full well they are a house of tossers

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:31 PM

Why is this news Hugh?? And why did you roll with that headline?? Is it always about provoking a response with Journalists as opposed to providing useful information… ??
    Its pretty clear that Kenny was trying to take some tension out the air before his address… Thats all!!! Tell me Hugh what would you have said to the Seanad if your were in Mr Kenny’s position??

Oct 23rd 2013, 5:36 PM

He could of tried saying he was wrong with his referendum.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 23rd 2013, 5:37 PM
    Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Oct 23rd 2013, 7:24 PM

Was he wrong to put it to the people?? Its was 52 to 48 which says it was cetrainly worth the discussion and ref… Funny enough if Kenny was in favor of the Seanad most of ye would just do the opposite for the sake of it!!!
    Its pathethic really

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Oct 23rd 2013, 9:24 PM

“The Taoiseach reiterated his intention to enact the 1979 referendum result to widen the electorate for the university panels so as that all third level graduates can vote, and said he wanted “input and advice” on how this can be achieved.” – Just when I begin to think there couldn’t be any more WTF’s left…… WTF???

Mute Ciaran Harford
    Favourite Ciaran Harford
    Oct 23rd 2013, 10:15 PM

Agreed. Do you have to show up with your parchment to the polling stations?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 23rd 2013, 11:06 PM

And that’s what this country voted for as reform! Jesus wept.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 23rd 2013, 8:42 PM

On the day Enda strides into the talking shop that is Seanad Eireann; costing 20 million for a referendum and a few million euro a year to run to keep these wasters – the Irish people take the hit with10% rises in public service travel fares to pay for it. Reform is coming – a couple of additional universities and a percentage of women will be the best. You see its doesn’t pay either house to reform.

Bad for me – I voted to get rid of and pay for travel to work; how many do neither?

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Oct 23rd 2013, 9:28 PM

I come in peas, what a horrific thing to say.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Oct 24th 2013, 12:30 AM

I hear that there’s a new film out on Friday called “Enda’s Game”. It tells how he fights a war against the Buggers! Would that be the Catholic Church?

Mute John Mcloughlin
    Favourite John Mcloughlin
    Oct 23rd 2013, 8:10 PM

Jaysus, another task force

Mute Joe Tone
    Favourite Joe Tone
    Oct 23rd 2013, 7:11 PM

Sorry for being so stupid but what would the consequences to this country if the senad was no longer or if it is still around any chance of getting into it for a handy numbet