You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda keeps his clothes on Time Magazine

Playboy or Time? Backbencher gets confused over Enda's cover appearance

“The most sickening thing last week was to see the Taoiseach on the front page of Playboy magazine,” Mattie McGrath told the Dail.

FOR A MOMENT in the Dáil today, it seems like Mattie McGrath TD knew something that the rest of us didn’t.

The Independent TD, who has become renowned for his heckles in the Dáil, momentarily got confused over exactly which magazine Taoiseach Enda Kenny appeared on the cover of last week.

The Tipperary South had been speaking for several minutes in the Dáil chamber on the Fiscal Responsibility Bill when he began to talk about kite-flying by government ministers in the run-up to December’s Budget – and he was not impressed.

“The most sickening thing last week was to see the Taoiseach on the front page of Playboy magazine,” he told the Dáil chamber.

I wish him well, as I voted for him as Taoiseach. However, I had expected a lot more from him.

McGrath was gently corrected by Fine Gael TD Paudie Coffey who interrupted to say that it had actually been the cover of Time magazine.

“The Deputy must read the other magazine,” said Fine Gael TD Mary Mitchell O’Connor.

McGrath immediately apologised: “I am sorry,” he said. “I meant to say he was like a playboy on the front page of Time magazine”.

Easy mistake to make.

Photo: Enda Kenny is on the cover of TIME magazine this week >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

102 Comments
    Mute Austin Murphy
    Favourite Austin Murphy
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:26 PM

Jaysus, I hope he didnt think Rosanna Davison was on the cover of Time.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:25 PM

Poor poor Mattie. Easy mistake I suppose! :P

Mute Christopher Kelly
    Favourite Christopher Kelly
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:07 PM

It takes more than one tit to get on the cover of playboy

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:43 PM

@ Kevin O’Sullivan

Mattie McGrath knew exactly what he was saying. He spoke his thoughts. Because that’s what he thinks of Kenny. Many of us believe that a lot of that crowd in the Dail think they are celebrities. They love the attention, good or bad.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:23 PM

christopher – you deserve more than 187 green thumbs for that one

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:39 AM

And possibly 2 to stay there lol and remember Enda does not even have a pair of b***s

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 11th 2012, 6:57 AM

Comment of the week me thinks Christopher! Mint!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:36 PM

It’s Playtime…Yippee!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:37 PM

Now we know why they’re all flying kites…

Mute Betty-Lou maguire
    Favourite Betty-Lou maguire
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:26 PM

Now that is a playboy cover I never want to see

Mute David Kennedy
    Favourite David Kennedy
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:51 PM

Confusing Time Magazine with Playboy? Cleave it to that tit Mattie McGrath to have his mind on things like that. He has some front and has really made a major boob of himself here. Has he no support? It’s emBRArassing and chest not good enough in this day and age to have a public repbreastsentative’s mind wander to such trivial mammers

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:45 PM

@David Kennedy

HHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! Post of the week. Thanks for the laugh, needed it!

Mute Desmond Quinn
    Favourite Desmond Quinn
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:56 PM

This sums up the men we have leading the country, lets hope they don’t stick too many crayons up their noses when doing the budget, the Ralph Wiggum guide to politics

Mute starry eyed surprise
    Favourite starry eyed surprise
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:16 PM

Seriously Desmond get a life, a slip of d tongue can happen to d best of us! Very funny…. Sure if u can’t take a joke!! In fairness to Mattie he’s one of d few that speaks without a script and says it as it is so if a few mistakes here and there makes it more interesting! IMO

Mute Desmond Quinn
    Favourite Desmond Quinn
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:42 PM

Hi #, maybe you should consider getting a life, have a good look at the men and women elected to represent us, there is a serious lack of common sense evident in Dail, it was a funny comment but I would question how much of it did this ape meant as a joke, there is one man in the Dail that can walk the walk and talk the talk and thats Stephen Donnelly, the rest are lucky to have jobs, a lot like a mule with a spinning wheel, no one knows how they got it and are damned if they know how to use it!

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Favourite Creamy Hamstrings
    Oct 11th 2012, 8:25 AM

Monorail!

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:05 PM

Haha i can picture a 15 year old mattie up in his room with a stash of Time magazines wondering “i dont get why all the other lads in school love these – there’s no girls in here at all!!”

Mute Dave O Halloran
    Favourite Dave O Halloran
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:28 PM

I’m surprised he can even read, suppose playboy suits his intellect

Oct 10th 2012, 9:49 PM

There are actually quiet good articles in Playboy. Wild hormonal rages are part of the human condition. Like you never googled over porn.

Mute john fitzpatrick
    Favourite john fitzpatrick
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:59 PM

AH…but it was Tastefully done :-)

Mute Jimmy Myers
    Favourite Jimmy Myers
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:32 PM

With a bit of luck his Time will soon be up and we will use the page to wipe you know what.

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:06 PM

Ok Jimmy….who do we replace him with? We are not exactly spoiled for choice here. Martin? Adams? Ming? Mick?

Mute Catherine lonergan
    Favourite Catherine lonergan
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:15 AM

Here here.

And as for the comment above;

How about the citizens of Ireland start a party with one representative from each town and put their ideas together , instead of letting the people who are in charge now rob us from everything we have and charge us for natural resources????

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:30 AM

#Catherine -where exactly do you think our present TD’s came from? The people of Ireland did get together and sent people from each county. It’s called Democracy.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Oct 11th 2012, 2:26 AM

Ireland isn’t a democracy; it’s a republic.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:10 PM

Got an exclusive look from the Playboy Publishers folks. Its the front cover of the next edition. Whoah! http://alturl.com/sdhjf

Mute Roy Scott
    Favourite Roy Scott
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:14 PM

Classic ha ha ha…

Mute richie meade
    Favourite richie meade
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:40 AM

Enda has got his knockers

Mute Disildoforus
    Favourite Disildoforus
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:01 PM

This story made me laugh, thanks Mattie, its not often I get to laugh at what is said in the Dail :-)

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:15 PM

Me too, I think he said it just to wind Edna up !! They took the bait and Mattie went then for the kill with his. “I meant to say he was like a playboy on the front page of Time magazine”. :) A harmless bit of fun !

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:35 AM

Mattie McGrath. A turncoat happy to ride the Fianna Fáil train into the ditch along with the Irish economy and our sovereignty before jumping off rat like when the end was nigh. Makes me sick some of the comments about him on here. Explains why we are where we are….

Oct 11th 2012, 1:30 AM

A turn coat he my be but at least he has a name.

Oct 10th 2012, 9:43 PM

Mattie McGrath the type of Irish politician who is actually quiet intelligent but insists on being dumb as fuc5.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:25 PM

Oh the irony…..*quite.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:26 PM

Like Dame Enda – a politician who is dumb as fckuk who insists on being …. ummmm dumb as fckek

Mute KarlMarcks
    Favourite KarlMarcks
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:00 AM

What!! Totally anonymous comments now!! Not even a username??

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett

Karl
    I was just about to remark on this phenonomon myself ….
    Journal @ What is the story with this ? How is it that totally annonymous comments can be left on here ?
    Thank you .

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Oct 11th 2012, 7:38 AM

Strange, I’m logged in via twitter but it won’t show my name?! It’s nothing I’m doing at this end!

Mute Ang Ledave
    Favourite Ang Ledave
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:19 PM

They usually keep the c–ts for the middle pages in Playboy.

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:36 PM

Hahaha brilliant!

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw

#ang- when do you feature so?

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    Favourite Ann-Marie Wallis
    Oct 10th 2012, 9:36 PM

Ah in fairness, Playboy was on his mind like… :)

Mute Wes Freeman
    Favourite Wes Freeman
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:08 PM

was that gimp actually on the cover of time?! i thought that was a joke

Mute Creamy Hamstrings
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:11 PM

It’s true. Check out the time magazine website.

Mute jim ahh jim ahh jim
    Favourite jim ahh jim ahh jim
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:15 PM

Yes Wes,
    the leader of your country was featured on the front of a very widespread magazine, and the article was very positive about the country and what he is doing to bring us back from the Fianna Fail bankruptcy

Why not try supporting for a change

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:16 PM

Wes
    It was the European edition ….. Unfortunately !

Mute Wes Freeman
    Favourite Wes Freeman
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:18 PM

your alright jim, i’ll save my support for someone who deserves it

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:48 PM

Sadly, yes, it’s true.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:30 PM

Jim
    If it was true im sure it would get plenty of support.
    Sadly…..

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:37 AM

Yes he was. Incredible how so few cretins on hear noticed how positive the story was about Ireland and how sorely needed it was. Typical malcontents who get off talking down the country.

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:39 AM

#Eileen- do you think you should pay all your taxes before commenting on the Taoiseach. If you’re not going to pay for state services I’m not sure what right you have to voice an opinion on them.

Oct 11th 2012, 1:11 AM

Cretins man or woman with no name? Possibly those who are commenting are living in the real world and know exactly what is going on in Ireland and what conditions some people are living under. But sure if your happy that Kenny gets his picture in Time magazine that’s fine but it would be better if you put some kind of name to your posts and that way I’d know I can ignore them in the future.

BTW I suspect if you read the constitution you may find it makes no suggestion that personal circumstances may decide if you are allowed to vote or not. Also those “state services” are already payed for through our taxes we all know the additional revenue will go to paying bondholders back

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:17 AM

How can anyone respond to the posts here when there are no names on them ….
    I have no doubt who they are in favor of and like their leader can only be accused of being
    too bl**dy cowardly to face their accusers .
    When was the last time Edna was in any form of public tv debate ?

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:33 AM

That’s your problem, Kerry. You don’t understand the bigger picture. Just want to whine. That’s all you do on here. Were the Taoiseach to adopt your “the end is nigh” sentiment in a Time interview it would dissolve confidence in the country, put off investment and increase our borrowing rates. Now is that really that hard to understand? You need to read some papers that dont have a red banner headline. By the way, you don’t get to pick & choose which taxes you pay.

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:36 AM

That’s your problem, Kerry. You don’t understand the bigger picture. Just want to whine. That’s all you do on here. Were the Taoiseach to adopt your “the end is nigh” sentiment in a Time interview it would dissolve confidence in the country, put off investment and increase our borrowing rates. Now is that really that hard to understand? You need to read some papers that dont have a red banner headline. By the way, so you know- you don’t get to pick & choose which taxes you pay.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:41 AM

I recognise you now …..
    You’re the Hog ….Oink oink ! \ /

Oct 11th 2012, 1:42 AM

Two posts aimed at me repeating the same thing. Has Enda discovered the internet?

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:49 AM

That’s the best retort you have, Kerry? Thought so.

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:50 AM

Eileen- how can I put this: your opinion on the services I’m paying for means absolutely nothing to me when you’re not paying your share.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:54 AM

Your opinion is worth nothing as it is annonymous … So go away and turn off the computer it is way past your bed time ….
    Ha ha ha …

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 2:07 AM

I’ll do just that Eileen. I’ve a job to go to in the morning.

Mute Wes Freeman
    Favourite Wes Freeman
    Oct 11th 2012, 8:24 AM

well if being a cretin means believing enda kenny and his lot are a bunch of knobs then i guess i am one!
    it’s people like you (no name) giving these idiots support that has the place the way it is.
    ps, don’t go using fancy words like cretin and malcontent if you cant spell the small ones, it’s here not hear.

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:20 PM

Enda Kenny – Playboy of the Western World

Mute Enda Story
    Favourite Enda Story
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:47 PM

My blood runs cold
    My memory has just been sold
    My ENDA is a Centrefold!

Mute Eimear Lavery
    Favourite Eimear Lavery
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:50 PM

Any day now Simon Cowell will have him on as a judge on ‘Economy Idol’ alongside Shane Ross (we can’t tax our way back to prosperity), Bertie (it wasn’t my fault) & David McWilliams (I said this would happen. Didn’t I? Didn’t I???).

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:02 PM

Eimear,

Give us one for Eddie Hobbs!!

Mute Eimear Lavery
    Favourite Eimear Lavery
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:35 PM

And have FIVE people on a panel? Talk about too many cooks eh? Come on Sheila, we wouldn’t want to look stupid! *cut to photo of Enda playing golf with a whisk & remote control*

Mute Ang Ledave
    Favourite Ang Ledave
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:23 PM

He’s on the cover of Time! That must mean everything is going to be OK. Oh thank you Enda for saving the country!

Mute mike
    Favourite mike
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:37 PM

Ahhh just imaging Enda in a thong, winking at you with those Take Me Now eyes. Bet you won’t asleep tonight now…

Mute Anna Bananna
    Favourite Anna Bananna
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:27 PM

Time is a magazine, read with both hands…

Mute Ray Kinsella
    Favourite Ray Kinsella
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:54 PM

its about ‘time’ he would f**k off.. drumcondra mafia, part ll… “this time, its…. same cronyism, spineless, spin, backhander shite!” l mean did you read what he said today after AIB have put up their interest rate again?! that the ‘taxpayers should not be make this shortfall’ and backing the bank, in so doing?! are we nuts in this country or wat, complete hipocrite!

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Oct 11th 2012, 2:10 AM

And who are the mortgage holders??????????? ENDA KENNY I wish for lots in life but as for the wish I have for you to get lost and stay lost I would give up ALL my other wishes gladly Enda Kucf fof

Mute mister
    Favourite mister
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:02 PM

Actually would he not have been on the cover of PLAYGIRL?? (Sound of me shuddering…)

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:08 PM

I’m surprised nobody has accused Mattie of making a Freudian slip. How times have changed. Imagine the furore if a politician had made such a slip, say thirty years ago. I think much moral questioning would have been directed at him then. Thankfully, we now inhabit a much more relaxed world regarding sexuality, and the faux moral outrage is conspicuous by its absence.

Mute john clarke
    Favourite john clarke
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:56 PM

Now we know what FFer’s have been reading since the Irish Press went tits up

Mute Roy Scott
    Favourite Roy Scott
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:13 PM

His missus already has it framed in the dining room at home…….oh dear you look like a white Obama .

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:50 PM

LOL

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:53 AM

I’d love to see Enda’s ugly mug on the back of a milk carton??

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:05 AM

You’re no oil painting yourself. #sourthemilk

Mute Catherine lonergan
    Favourite Catherine lonergan
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:12 AM

In fairness tho.

What the hell can the rest of Europe learn from him??

It’s amazing what the Americans fall for like.

Tell them come to an ordinary citizen of Ireland who is suffering the cuts, the taxes, the charges etc. etc, etc and see what they have to say.

And secondly he is NOT a prime minister, he is the Taoiseach. (More,s the pity)

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:43 AM

Greece, Spain, Portugal could learn a whole lot from Enda Kenny. So to Brian Cowen, Bertie Ahern, Charlie Haughey.

Mute Z?
    Favourite Z?
    Oct 11th 2012, 2:13 AM

It wasn’t the US edition of Time. Wrong again there, girl.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Oct 10th 2012, 10:38 PM

He’s not a backbencher.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:38 AM

Collins Dictionary defines a backbencher as a member of parliament who does not hold office in the government or opposition (i.e. Cabinet member, minister, or opposition spokesperson) so McGrath would fall into that category. It’s slightly more of a grey area because he’s not affiliated to a party but Independents have held positions too (e.g. Mary Harney during some of the last government) so they can be backbenchers too.

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:47 AM

Definitely a backstabber, if not a backbencher

Mute Stephen Gabbett
    Favourite Stephen Gabbett
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:49 AM

Christine
    What is the story with all the annonymous comments here this evening , no names on them …..

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:46 PM

Sorry for the delayed response on this one, Stephen. Our tech team is looking into it. Very strange.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Oct 11th 2012, 4:35 PM

Thanks, Christine. I stand corrected.

Mute Audrey Hanley
    Favourite Audrey Hanley
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:46 AM

Can we not just ask Enda to leave through the exit on the left.Barrow boy Bill.meat factory with 160 jobs gone.what will he do to save them.if bill cant do it .Enda cant.can we the people call a general election .

Mute Killian shaw
    Favourite Killian shaw
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:04 AM

Yes Audrey. A meat factory closure is obviously the Taoiseachs fault. After all, he inherited a sparkling economy with massive growth and doing roaring trade. Off with his head, I say!

Oct 11th 2012, 1:17 AM

Nah don’t want Kenny to loose his head. I just want him to resign or be removed from office for saying in the Dail that banks are more important then the citizens of Ireland that he was elected to in theory represent.

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:03 PM

Yes, we can call for a general election but I think we’d need to take to the streets in massive numbers. I’m sure if this was done there certainly could be a change of government.

Mute DeadBelly
    Favourite DeadBelly
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:47 AM

eh, a big cock on the front of playboy?

Mute Kieran Fitzgerald
    Favourite Kieran Fitzgerald
    Oct 11th 2012, 4:06 AM

Playboy has many tits on the cover, time only had one.

Mute Brendan Cunningham
    Favourite Brendan Cunningham
    Oct 11th 2012, 1:15 AM

Time and Playboy, just read them for the articles.

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Oct 10th 2012, 11:59 PM

I would like my photo on Time magazine and I wonder if Enda could put a word in for me?

Mute fidelma
    Favourite fidelma
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:53 AM

Haha gas!! Enda could do it really he is a tit!!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Oct 11th 2012, 12:42 PM

Stick Leo varadkar beside him and you’d have a huge pair of tits

Mute Tom Seymour
    Favourite Tom Seymour
    Oct 11th 2012, 3:20 AM

Thanks Mattie, I really needed that image in my head of Enda on playboy.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Oct 11th 2012, 5:39 PM

God imagine if they did put him on playboy the magazine company would be gone in to recession from lack of sales!!!!! I’m still chuckling away as to what mattie said it so funny!!!,

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 11th 2012, 3:35 PM

If he was in Playboy you wouldn’t be able to close it with the big pr8ck in it.

Mute Patrick Collins
    Favourite Patrick Collins
    Oct 11th 2012, 10:21 AM

I’ve never felt more like using the cover of time magazine as toilet paper lol