You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Enda: I don't need Garda protection from water protesters

“Where I come from, we are well able to look after ourselves.”

THE TAOISEACH HAS denied claims he requires dozens of gardaí to protect him from water protesters.

In the Dáil today Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins said that Enda Kenny lived “in a bubble” and “frequently has to have an escort of dozens of gardaí to get him in and out of venues”.

Higgins added that Kenny needed Garda protection as he has “angered so many with his austerity agenda and, in particular, his water tax”.

Kenny denied this, telling Higgins: “I walk to work myself in the morning and walk home at night, so it is not a case of having corridors of gardaí looking after me. Where I come from, Deputy Higgins, we are well able to look after ourselves, indeed.”

Higgins said it was “unfortunate” that people had to protest water charges, noting: “They have many other things to be doing, but they are on the streets because this is the last straw.”

He said that anti-Irish Water demonstrations would “intensify if the Government persists with its approach by sending out water tax bills at the end of January and February”.

Kenny said that it “perfectly legitimate” for people to protest if they wish to do so.
“Sometimes people turn up to protest, which is perfectly legitimate in our country as a democracy. I understand that.”

It is good to listen to a different opinion. The sound might sometimes be a little raucous. I might not be able to pick out exactly what they are saying, although it sounds very vocal indeed and some of it is not normal language we might use in here.

The Taoiseach added that he didn’t like when protests escalate to the stage where people attempt to block public roads “when people are going about their work or intending to do their jobs”.

Protesters from Detroit and Greece are jetting in for the next big water protest

Could Revenue go after unpaid water charges? You’ll find out next week

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 131 comments
131 Comments
    Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:37 PM

This man is an out and out muppet. His thumbs up arrogance sneering at protesters in Ballymun nearly started a riot. He most certainly lives in a bubble. He hasn’t a clue what it is like to try and balance a normal person’s wage to pay the austerity taxes he imposed on behalf of his banker friends in Europe. Anywhere he goes he has to have a huge Garda escort now. It matters not, his party have the long knives out for him now. He is finished, his party is finished, his government is finished.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:23 PM

Dear Leader, you are demanding nearly 5cents (4.88) for people to flush the loo. 1€/day for a family of 4 (20x). And you are surprised at the fury? Extortionate rates and “Unethical” in my view. Even with allowances which future governments or private company could reduce/cancel.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:30 PM

He’s barely had a real job in his life. The only job he ever had was a short stint as a primary school teacher. This is a common gateway for politicians to gain name recognition in their community. That’s why he talks to us like bold children who need to be threatened and disciplined.

You know what I heard recently that’s really been aggravating me on my morning commute. Politicians are allowed to drive in those empty taxi/bus lanes WE paid for but can’t drive on even though the city is gridlocked for miles. They haven’t a clue what people go through.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:22 PM

The man was nearly taken out by a flowerpot a while back ffs!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:28 PM

Zes its true FineGael hau behng feeding of the peasants babks for a long time.

Mute Willie Harpur
    Favourite Willie Harpur
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:30 PM

Stop drinking Paul.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:38 PM

Damn phone I have being nobbled.

Mute sean nihill
    Favourite sean nihill
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:23 PM

He’ll need protecting from his party after next weeks water fiasco . Its broke enda don’t try fixing it . Throw it away, last chance

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:33 PM

Stop blaming enda alone on this and acting like his party are not to blame in this also. They are sitting back like gagged puppets. From time ff greens PDS labs all to blame and all need to be blamed. Take note those on these parties get out now and ssce the names of ff fg lab. And one day you may be back in government. Vote no confidence and dissolve the dail. If you don’t I will personally get everyone one of your names length and breath of the country so you never work in politics in Ireland again. :)

Mute Repeating history
    Favourite Repeating history
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:35 PM

Fuve, maybe other people are also to blame, but Enda is making a Horlicks of it all by himself

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:39 PM

Sinister element in Wicklow Count Council voted against water charged yesterday, sinister people will be on the streets on December 10th tens of thousands sinister men and women from all over Ireland telling you to take your dirty hands of our water. We were very happy to pay the way we did, no one ever complained so we’ll just go back to that , thank you very much.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:18 PM

He must be hearing the ‘Darth Vader’ music from Star Wars every time he sees a protestor.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:26 PM

You walk to your 142 Mercedes you mean!

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:21 PM

After school in the yard…

Mute Seb Lotus
    Favourite Seb Lotus
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:46 PM

A member of the local pitch-fork brigade.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:51 PM

Well, maybe not yet

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:32 PM

“It sounds very vocal indeed”…a considered view from our Dear Leader a multi-millionaire with little sympathy for those who are stuggling to survive. No wonder they shout at you. You need to ask yourself why Dear Leader.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:35 PM

If he thicks he doesn’t need dozens of guards to protect him he either can’t count or thinks anyone in a blue shirt is a party member.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:38 PM

Ha ha good one

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:32 AM

The guy’s history, luggage… he’s already a footnote!!. They had their chance to oust him 4odd years ago. Now they’re all going down together! &as it should be.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:50 PM

Enda Kenny wouldn’t bate snow of a rope…
    He always reminds me of Smithers from the Simpsons….

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:29 PM

Really? I think he’s more like a love child of Ralf Wiggum and Dr Nick.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:25 PM

You would be happy enda if we protested in a field. Gobshit*. He should be praising us for jot rioting and burning stuff like other countries. But no you have to try make it out sinister elements have been out protesting. Get your head out of your hole.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve

Not.

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq

Because burning stuff accomplices anything

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling

Releases energy and keeps ya warmI

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:29 PM

“It is good to listen to a different opinion. The sound might sometimes be a little raucous. I might not be able to pick out exactly what they are saying, although it sounds very vocal indeed and some of it is not normal language we might use in here.”

Enda Enda Enda you need to get yourself a filter before you talk. People are starting to hate you and it is all your own doing. You have several highly paid advisers and you should consult them before you make wild statements. God knows they are paid enough to avoid such stupid slips of the tongue.

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:42 PM

I’d imagine the language they don’t use in there is the “truth”.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:47 PM

Its the language of how can I get away with this in the most explosive way possible public-wise.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott

The farmers stopped hundreds of people going to work..are u upset about that enda

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:35 PM

There was one guard out managing the protest outside that factory vs several in each housing estate that man handle people at the end of their own driveways. Sure if they put that much effort into violent crime and drugs on the street we might be the safest place to live in too globally…

Fine Gael always were for the farmers. Some things never change.

Mute Traolach O'Breasail
    Favourite Traolach O'Breasail

The farmers should be deported and the land divided between the real Irish people who never took the soup or bent the knee to the british crown

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:54 PM

Is the British crown/ Irish thing even relevant anymore?
    Farmers have a right to protest if they want. But they don’t have the right to stop people from entering their workplace and earning money.

The problem I have is the double standards when a worker comes on to my property and cuts an off square hole in the existing concrete, puts in something that can potentially be used to poison me and my family, fills it back in and leaves a botched job. A first year Fás apprentice would leave a better finish…. In my estate they installed these things and the concrete is cracking already and sticks out like a sore thumb. They are complete eyesores. I am surprised Irish Water didn’t need planning permission for their blots on people’s driveways…

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:56 PM

Taking land from farmers and giving it to people who know nothing about agriculture, well it worked so well in Zimbabwe.

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:37 AM

Inda slipped up there yesterday… he accused his hinterland folk of creating a ‘blockade’ no less….. tsk tsk tsk Bell-enda is not one biteen amused!

Mute Babs Ruch
    Favourite Babs Ruch
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:34 PM

If he’s really on foot going in, meet him at the gate so! See how he likes being greeted by some 50 protesters, I say. Betcha there’d be guards there in an instance.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:28 PM

How Enda Kenny even manages to dress himself in the morning is indeed a miracle.
    I’ve said it before,
    He’s the most useless Fooker even to be put in shoe leather. .
    It definitely wasn’t his looks or his brains that got him where he is today and that’s for sure…

Mute joe johnston
    Favourite joe johnston
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:45 PM

See Enda. That’s the problem right there “Looking after YOURSELF” instead of the people that you represent…

Mute KeiKe
    Favourite KeiKe
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:53 PM

This government is finished

Mute Jay Woodcock
    Favourite Jay Woodcock
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:48 PM

A democracy is where the people talk and the government that represent you listen he can’t seem to grasp this concept of governing

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:32 PM

For some reason every time I see Enda lately I start humming the theme from the Italian Job…. ‘We are the self preservation society’….

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall

enda why don’t you walk the plank

we all know you and yours all well able to look after yourselves, take the fact that you have never worked in the private sector, correct me if i’m wrong you thought in a school(in the country) for 1year approx. and as you paid
    your dues you also have a teachers pension to look forward to, you took over your later fathers seat and haven’t got off it yet.
    you have pension’SSS o brien would be proud of!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:43 PM

Where he comes from they only look after themselves.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly

Watergate! ! Scandal flows on.

Mute Kizzi Yeates
    Favourite Kizzi Yeates
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:02 PM

He’s gonna have Post Traumatic Water Disorder by the time this over…..

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

He is as thick as a bag of sledgehammers.
    This inept idiot couldn’t take care of blowing his nose.

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Nov 12th 2014, 1:05 AM

He’s got an advisor for that.. Actually his srón is taking on a distinctly CJH/Fergie/Taggart pallor & grizzled texture. Methinks he’s been hitting the ‘top shelf’ with a vengeance!! It’s all the threats of violence on his person you see by all those nasty sinister fringe elements. Let him be let yez.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:33 PM

He should walk over to the park and take his puppets with him

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty

Hes a brainless and delusional as burton thinking he needs no protection

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:30 PM

quite a walk from dublin to mayo and back.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:02 PM

Is this the same man looking for our votes in the General Election that said he grew up looking at JFK and wanted to be just like him some day and lead the Irish people? Next time Ireland when you get a chance to vote try to cut through the bull and question these jokers policies and skills.

If he gets in again I suggest we all emigrate. Let him run it into the ground by himself in that case before we truly end up in Nazi Ireland altogether…

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:23 PM

It angers me the way he compares himself to jfk. The dead slug on the bottom of jfks shoe would be more apt Enda

Mute Matthew Doherty
    Favourite Matthew Doherty
    Nov 12th 2014, 6:31 AM

He is more of a resemblence to George W Bush

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:20 PM

Prove it so!

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:31 PM

“Where I come from people know how to look after themselves”…..what an extraordinary thing to say. What did he mean? The guy is falling apart. Keep the water pressure up folks. Don’t pay Irish Water.

Mute Brandon Steers
    Favourite Brandon Steers

This guy truly is on his last legs, I’ve seen a lot of toisigh (prob spelt wrong) come and go but rarely have I seen one so out of his depth. Dare I say, even the belligerent Brian Cowen was better able to handle himself and the media than enda Kenny is right now. Time to step down immediately

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:35 PM

He may think he doesnt need protection but the more he opens his mouth the closer he is moving towards needing protection 24/7

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:00 PM

Sure even the charitable Flannery hung him out.

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:44 PM

Why would he need protection from the peaceful water protesters

Mute Andrew Lynch
    Favourite Andrew Lynch
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:54 PM

I love to see that ba#£$~d calling to my door when the next election is called (soon hopefully) I’ll throw a pot of boiling water over the c&@t. Ps I will never pay for water a second time

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:24 PM

Id knock him out

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Nov 11th 2014, 11:53 PM

Ahh look – the ultimate keyboard warriors. All childish and yet so manly.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:12 AM

it is never wise to goad warriors Mr.?Mrs./Ms. Taxpayer…..

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz

Plonker!

Mute jamie dwyer
    Favourite jamie dwyer
    Nov 11th 2014, 8:36 PM

sure lads what difference does it make who the leader is after a couple of years we hate them all anyway its the same old story,until we get direct democracy in this country things will always be the same these gangsters raping the people for everything they have.

Mute Bob Moore
    Favourite Bob Moore
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:17 PM

“It is good to listen to a different opinion. The sound might sometimes be a little raucous. I might not be able to pick out exactly what they are saying, although it sounds very vocal indeed and some of it is not normal language we might use in here.”
    Has this sleeveen lost the plot or what? Deluded and in denial, like that famous scene in the movie Downfall when Hitler loses it in the bunker. There i said it and even Godwin would give me the thumbs up on this one.

Mute Elaine
    Favourite Elaine
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:22 PM

Jaysas all along he’s saying that we need clarity..it turns out that’s it’s him that needs it..he can’t hear what we’re trying to tell the poor lamb.. can’t hear /won’t hear ..same thing yes?

Mute speak up
    Favourite speak up
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:16 PM

Go f@!k urself enda. U f!@kin gobsh!te.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:42 PM

He’s well able to look after himself, his friends & business cronies – that’s all he’s done since being elected. Try looking after a country & it’s citizens & Edna falls way sort of the required mark.

Mute Michael Budd
    Favourite Michael Budd
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:09 PM

Is this despite the “The sinister fringe” involved in the water protest?

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:44 PM

It speaks volumes when the Queen of England can go walkabout among the ordinary people of Ireland and our own government ministers can’t.

Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:00 PM

The man is a tool! If labour don’t cross the floor soon they will be beyond redemption!

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:12 PM

I haven’t been in a fight since school about 20 years ago, I don’t believe in violence of any kind, I don’t like boxing or UFC because of its violence, however if I seen this man ( and I use that term lightly) in the street on his own I would most certainly pummel him, I’m afraid that says more about me than him though and in actual fact would mean he had “won”

Mute Gareth Lynch
    Favourite Gareth Lynch
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:35 PM

He didn’t seem very pushed to get out of the car without 10 Gardai around him in any of those protest videos doing the rounds

Mute Declan Beach
    Favourite Declan Beach
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:10 PM

Can just see Enda doing the karate kid one legged stance if any protesters got near him.
    Think he’s finally cracked.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:42 PM

The anti-water charge protesters are peaceful. The same can’t be said for Endas man Frank Feighan.

Mute Conor Murphy Ffrench
    Favourite Conor Murphy Ffrench
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:30 PM

hes nothing but a coward enda kenny should be ashamed of himself. if they cant hear what we are saying there tick and not fit to run this country

Mute Barbara Mc Gowan
    Favourite Barbara Mc Gowan
    Nov 11th 2014, 9:48 PM

It might be the rest of the population he’s to worry about!

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:07 AM

Said the highest paid liar in Ireland…. Does he actually think that there is one single person that believes one word that comes out of his mouth???

Mute Lawrence Cleary
    Favourite Lawrence Cleary
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:57 PM

He said it himself: where he comes from, people know how to take care of themselves. He leads by example, taking care of himself and his cronies. Too bad that people from whence he hails never learned to take care of those with whom they are charged.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:16 PM

“Or you’ll get a Castlebar uppercut” was the phrase used if I remember correctly.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:38 PM

No Enda it’s the whole country

Mute Tom Cullen
    Favourite Tom Cullen
    Nov 11th 2014, 11:15 PM

Enda wont have to worry bout any garda protection after nxt election as he wont get into power like

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:05 PM

I’d favour that sock puppets chances of looking after itself …..

Mute Noel Collins
    Favourite Noel Collins
    Nov 11th 2014, 10:55 PM

What is his view on IW blocking footpaths and roads. “when people are going about their work or intending to do their jobs”. Quote from Enda

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 11th 2014, 11:30 PM

Yeah but you’re from Europe Enda – this is Eire – different kettle of fish !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:09 AM

But Enda – The Mild Green Fairy Hit Squad might get you ….. they only come out at night though – as long as you aren’t near a white box in the ground you should be o.k. !

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:37 AM

Oh for the love of God will someone please save this numpty from himself! He is a PR disaster. I thought there was thunder yesterday, turns out it was actually the facepalms of his advisors when he came out with that little beauty

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Nov 12th 2014, 1:28 AM

Enough already… Let’s oust this clown& his minions, They are ugly stains on the irish political landscape!

Mute Conor Whelan
    Favourite Conor Whelan
    Nov 11th 2014, 7:34 PM

Seen him giving the

Mute Richie Tyndall
    Favourite Richie Tyndall
    Nov 12th 2014, 1:16 PM

“Where I come from, we are well able to look after ourselves.” Enda Kenny.
    You can be sure the ego-centric and his plutocratic friends will look after themselves. Isn’t it a real pity that he wont look after the nuveau poor that he and his leaches have created?

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Nov 12th 2014, 12:50 PM

Does Kenny hear himself speak? Is he completely oblivious to the fact that after pretty much every event he has been present at recently, has required Garda assistance when arriving and leaving?

Mute Pandorly
    Favourite Pandorly
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:29 AM

He’s entering George W. Bush realms of questionability as a supposed leader. Some of the things he comes out with these days make me wonder if his cognitive functions may have always been at a worryingly low level. It would explain his apprehension about giving interviews, early on in his reign of terror. He appears to have a completely deluded sense of reality and little to no decorum you’d like to associate with Taoisigh.

Mute Liz Wallace
    Favourite Liz Wallace
    Nov 12th 2014, 4:52 AM

No he needs a good kick in the behind because he is treating Irish people like dirt but let him not forget a lot of Irish people voted for his party and labour and it because of The people that he can sit in his state car and security minding him and that’s thanks to ordinary good decent hard working people and every tax paying citizens who pays for him to sit in luxury while some family’s and people are homeless and all the water charges this government are trying to ram down our throats well the people has enough and high time this government took off the rose tinted glasses and take a good look because Irish people says NO TO IRISH WATER …..

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    Nov 12th 2014, 6:56 AM

Arrogant mayo numptie

Mute Robbie O Caolain
    Favourite Robbie O Caolain
    Nov 13th 2014, 8:20 AM

thats why he has an armed garda driver

Mute Christy Edwards
    Favourite Christy Edwards
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:44 AM

there were plenty of workers locked out of work on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, so why were the Garda not called in to help them to do their work, Maybe they dont interest the Government because they dont have enought money to interest them.

Mute Greg Dissident Doran
    Favourite Greg Dissident Doran
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:55 AM

Enda you stole from our banks,social welfare pensions etc to steal that property tax,which we all have the original notification that it was for improving and maintaining our local comunities.Of course that was a lie as usual and it all went to out old friend Dennis O Brien and his new golden goose Irish water.So mate Keep the guards beside you it prevents some decent citizen from getting in trouble by doing something totally out of charachter due to frustration or depression.Cant wait to see the back of you,your party,labour and all you millionaire mates and lets not forget the FF legacy next time we hit the polls.you muppet

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown
    Nov 12th 2014, 4:10 PM

OUT OUT OUT

Mute Nedzada Nedi Ramic
    Favourite Nedzada Nedi Ramic
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:43 AM

Ya have ta star looking well after people before some1 gets you people dont have a foof over they heads sleeping on the streets yoy spending money on some crap to be build all prices are up that people leaving this country and fare play to them all who goes in better places i love to see all people to go from ireland and left you there on your.

Mute Nedzada Nedi Ramic
    Favourite Nedzada Nedi Ramic
    Nov 12th 2014, 10:54 AM

Well enda i am not gonna pay any water even 1c, and i tell you something its funny, you dont have enough rooms in prison,to lock up us all

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Nov 12th 2014, 11:53 AM

Enda Kenny…….
    I reckon if you put him in a tight bear hug, you could easily squeeze 3 gobsh%*es out of him…

Mute Ewan Law
    Favourite Ewan Law
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:25 AM

Didn’t vote for Fine Gael before and never will again. Did vote Labour and now rue the day I did. Did not give a mandate as they call it for this government to feather their, and all their mates nests, whilst battering the rest of us joe public with Austerity. New boss same as the old boss

Mute Ciara Heffernan
    Favourite Ciara Heffernan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:15 PM

Just a few points to bare in mind if you’re even thinking about contemplating the choice to vote for fine gael or labour next year. You would not keep anybody else in a job if their actions were this far removed from their job description so we shouldn’t keep these. Absolutely disgusting.
    “Fine Gael offers strong stable government that will create jobs, reform the public sector, the health sector and politics. We will introduce fairer Budgets, keeping taxes low. Our policies will keep young people at home in Ireland with their families and friends” – Enda Kenny, election campaign 2011

To pay for the jobs initiative the Fine Gael/Labour government has introduced a 0.6 per cent levy on private pension funds. It’s intended to raise €470m a year, payable in two tranches. It will operate for four years, and will raise €1.88bn overall.

“This is a stealth tax imposed on the savings of ordinary people by politicians and civil servants who have ensured that their own pension benefits remain gold and diamond-plated,” Ciaran Phelan of the Irish Brokers’ Association said.

Before the election, Fine Gael promised not to introduce water charges before meters are fitted while Labour insisted there wouldn’t be water charges at all.

Household charge was introduced the following January.

” We will put quality education at the heart of plans for economic recovery, giving equal access to third level education for all students.” – Enda Kenny, election campaign 2011

Labour’s election manifesto said the party opposed the reintroduction of third-level fees.

In less than 100 days the party’s education minister Ruairi Quinn admitted that while he was personally opposed to third-level fees, the country had to face reality.

“The politics of cronyism of the past 13 years must be brought to an end.” – Enda Kenny, election manifesto 2011

In less than 100 days of being elected it was revealed that 25 of the 166 TDs in the Dail have hired relatives to carry out administrative and other duties.

Among them are junior ministers Ciaran Cannon and Shane McEntee, both Fine Gael. Junior Enterprise Minister Sean Sherlock and Junior Environment Minister Willie Penrose, both Labour, also have family members working for them as assistants.

“we will create a completely new health system

Thanks to Micheal Martin’s creation of the HSE, €17 billion a year is currently spent on a health system that doesn’t work. That’s going to stop.
    Our FairCare plan – modelled on the reformed Dutch health service – will cut waiting lists and end apartheid in our health service. With universal insurance, we’ll offer equal access to all. There’ll be more and better community care, meaning fewer hospital stays. Fewer hospital patients mean lower hospital costs for the taxpayer.” – Fine Gael five point plan, election campaign 2011

” Labour will reform the unfair two-tier health system to reduce the cost of delivering care, and use those savings to extend universal access to essential medical care. We will start by making access to primary care, such as GPs, more affordable.” – labour party election manifesto, 2011.

Currently in the midst of what’s been dubbed as the worse EVER health care crisis in this country. Patients on trolleys reaching record numbers and waiting lists for non-emergency surgery being suspended indefinitely.

” smaller, better government with the people’s money spent wisely on vital public services

By streamlining systems, cutting red tape and abolishing quangos, we will reduce public-service costs by €5 billion. In making the system more efficient, we will protect the essential services provided by our teachers, nurses, doctors, Gardai and local government workers.” – Fine Gael five point plan, election campaign 2011

Millions upon millions have been spent to set up the Irish water quango, which is still incomplete.

” With our plan, when cuts are needed, they start at the top. When accountability is needed? It starts at the top. When sacrifice is needed? It starts at the top. Not with the blind, or the carers, or the poor. That’s example.” – Fine Gael five point plan, election campaign 2011.

Bankers walk free while protesters imprisoned. Jobseekers allowance/benefit cut. Lone parents taken away when youngest child reaches 7. TDs still on over an average of €90,000 per annum plus expenses, including expenses they don’t need to prove.

” Labour’s plan brings together private sector funding in an innovative co-op to build a high-speed, next generation broadband network.” – labour party election manifesto 2011.

High speed, next generation broadband currently only available in and around large cities and towns. Satellite Internet still the only available service in a huge number of rural areas due to the discontinuation of dial-up services.

” Labour’s job in government is to serve the best interests of the Irish people. Labour will abolish the Seanad, end cronyism on State boards, and make Ministers and public servants accountable for their decisions.” – labour party election manifesto, 2011

Luckily, the Irish people voted against the seanad being abolished. Cronyism still rampant as evident from IW. To my recollection, no ministers or public servants been held accountable for anything.

” Labour will ask a people’s convention to draw up a new Constitution setting out the aspirations, the values and the rules that Irish people want to live by now.” – labour party election manifesto, 2011

I honestly didn’t even realise that this was a thing. Considering it is not now in the government’s manifesto, according to certain politicians, to even hold referenda on the likes of abortion, I highly doubt a full overhaul of the constitution was ever legitimately on the cards.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:28 AM

He’s worried about the languages used?!! Oh, please! Pomposity mixed with prissiness to the max (where I come from we’re very well able to look after ourselves, indeed. What does he think Castlebar is, the Wild West frontier?

Mute Louise O Callaghan
    Favourite Louise O Callaghan
    Nov 12th 2014, 8:41 PM
    Mute Frankie Fivemountains
    Favourite Frankie Fivemountains
    Nov 11th 2014, 11:57 PM

The sooner the better those not protesting realise that we are living in slavery. It is time we took our country back from the leviathan mongers that are trying to control us. Its also time we sent a clear message to future governments and put manners on them before they take up office. They will work for us and at a fair wage too.