You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny and Leo Varadkar Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Enda thinks Leo is doing an 'excellent job' in Health

The Taoiseach has come to the defence of the Health Minister, but won’t say if he’ll be reappointed if the government is re-elected.

ENDA KENNY HAS moved to defend the increasingly embattled Health Minister Leo Varadkar by insisting that he is doing an “excellent job in a very difficult position”.

Despite an initial honeymoon period Varadkar has, in recent months, been accused by opposition parties of dodging responsibility and accountability for the crisis in the health service.

Fianna Fáil’s health spokesperson Billy Kelleher said last month that Varadkar needed to realise he is “not the David Attenborough of the Irish health services, observing from a distance while they career out of control”.

But Kenny defended Varadkar yesterday, insisting: “Leo Varadkar is doing an excellent job in a very difficult position. He is one of [the] first class ministers in Cabinet. They are all doing their job very well indeed.”

Yesterday, Varadkar unveiled the HSE Service Plan for 2016 which will see the health service spend just under €13 billion next year.

However, the HSE has predicted a €100 million funding shortfall for hospitals.

screenshot.1450293716.8498 www.thejournal.ie www.thejournal.ie

Kenny was asked yesterday if he would reappoint Varadkar to the Department of Health if the government is re-elected next year, but he refused to be drawn on such a possibility.

“It would be very presumptuous of me to presume anything – and I never do. What I would like to do is appoint the best cabinet I have,” he said.

Asked if he agreed with Varadkar’s previous contention that the government needs to pay more attention to the health service if returned to office, Kenny said the focus was on economic recovery and the knock-on effects of that:

What the government will pay attention to is continuing to drive the recovery to have the engine. You need an economic engine to be able to provide for these many services in health, education, justice, defence and infrastructure.

“The country cannot continue to develop unless you manage that central issue and manage it competently.”

He insisted that the government is committed to introducing “universal health care” and ending the “two-tier” health system.

This comes despite plans for universal health insurance being pushed back several years. Varadkar recently admitted it could be the coalition’s third term – if it gets one – before this happens.

Read: ‘A patient could come in with a heart attack and wait on a trolley’: Life for Ireland’s emergency department nurses

Read: ‘Leo needs to accept he’s not the David Attenborough of the health service’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:17 AM

It doesn’t matter what Enda thinks of his performance. What matters is what the Irish public, who can’t afford private health insurance think. As someone who has been through the HSE merry-go-round for a decade – I can say, it’s worse now than it’s ever been.

He’s really living on another planet. And it doesn’t matter, because the Irish public will vote him in again.

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:03 AM

Has he done anything of note other than agree the HSE is a shambles?

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:34 AM

I love the comments on anything Leo is in. Remember how loved Mary Harney was and what a brilliant job everyone thought she had done and with a budget of 13 billion it’s all Leo’s fault.

People need to realise that the minister has to deal with entrenched civil servants and management that have been there for years. If you think they will let some minister upset the apple cart every few years to gain some votes you’re a fool.

Mute scoop delivery
    Favourite scoop delivery
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:55 AM

Then deal with them that’s the job.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:59 AM

Don’t forget the “thats not my job” public servants in the Health Service you know the electricians that won’t allow anyone else change a light bulb. Many of our public services are run by unions for benefit of staff not us.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:01 AM

That says it all. That enda thinks leo is doing an excellent job and is a first class minister. Where have you been enda. The health service is a shambles, scandal after scandal. Trolley crisis, a&E shambles. Open your eyes. Leo should have resigned a long time ago. He spends more time talking about other issues and constantly on his phone in the dail. If this is enda’s idea of excellent , that days it all.

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:13 AM

Easier said that done scoop

Mute Joe Keena
    Favourite Joe Keena
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:08 AM

In a shambles due to excessive overpaid Executives and their advisers.
    Excessive wage bill engaging Agency staff, instead of bringing back our own highly skilled Irish nurses and doctors. Pay them a decent wage instead spending it on agencies.
    Government agree that Elderly be allowed remain in their own homes and not nursing homes.
    An excellent choice that I agree with. For that we need Home Carers. This is where another difficulty arises in getting proper carers, so as to avoid situations like those discovered in some nursing homes.

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Dec 17th 2015, 11:16 AM

Then surely the time has come for a minister who’s not afraid to take on The System…thats what we elect them to do

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:17 AM

That comment sums up enda Kennys mentality right there

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:15 AM

Being a Health Minister in Ireland is a bit like Macgyver. Here’s a ball of string and a couple of twigs now make me a bulldozer

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Dec 17th 2015, 12:29 PM

To think this eegit runs the show.

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:09 PM

Ye totally both are incompent fools

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:40 AM

” The focus is in economic recovery’
    Bull , your focus is and always has been the payback of a debt not belonging to the Irish tax payer. You put more bills on struggling families throughout the nation despite promises not to. You even taxed family homes despite previously stating it was immoral to tax a home. Should you have left it there Enda you may have survived . Greed brought you to water tax. All to please German master Angela. You show no pity to mass emigration. No pity or remorse to thousands loosing homes. No pity for those freezing and starving on out streets and cities.You care less for 1 in 5 kids going to school hungry. I could go on how I feel uterly betrayed by you and Liebour. I sincerly hope the electorate treat you as you treated them. With no mercy or compassion. This election is about anyone but FG/Lab. So to say presumptuous would be correct. You can presumme to think about fu(king of to Angela for employment. You self serving 9&%(k..

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Dec 17th 2015, 9:32 AM

Perfectly said Willy.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:18 AM

Well said willy

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:42 AM

Willy -all done for a pat on the head, a belly tickle from Angela and a nice EU comissioner role when the time is right.

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Dec 17th 2015, 11:13 AM

Well said Willy

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Dec 17th 2015, 2:11 PM

Willy for tee shock !

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:25 AM

Perhaps ask the patients occupying trollies in hospital corridors around the country for days on end the same question- there’s plenty of them; no doubt they’ll agree with the view of Enda Mitty! Leo doing an excellent job – not even remotely close to the truth & we all know it.

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:34 AM

Other than this universal healthcare where we just all pay more, What plan exactly has FG executed. You want people off trollies? Trim the admin fat in the HSE.

Mute David Peate
    Favourite David Peate
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:18 AM

“eejit says eejit is great”

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:24 AM

All them ministers and a lot of TDs and Senators have private health insurance . They don’t care

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Dec 17th 2015, 12:33 PM

Let them and their families use the public health system and guaranteed the HSE would be sorted out over night.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:31 AM

Enda says a lot of things.. Most of which we know not to believe or take seriously, he’s known to be a bit of a spoofer! Fine gale couldn’t care less about the health service.. It’s worse than what its being portrayed atm. If fine Gael are elected again it’ll just be privatised eventually.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:34 AM

The Journal should do a poll on this viewpoint

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:12 AM

There an awful people in the HSE earning huge salaries for doing sweet FA. And I’m not talking front line staff. If these were got rid of there’d be plenty of money for the essential service but no the unions will keep these lifers on the payroll and on a pensions for life.

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:00 AM

‘It would be very presumptuous of me to presume anything…’
    Profound.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:23 AM

I heard the Yorkshire Ripper also had glowing respect for Jack the Ripper

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:35 AM

Enda still telling porkies.

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:31 AM

That comment from enda alone is a pure example of how far away from reality that gob$hite is. It’s very worrying, the health system in this country is on its knees at present, if not worse!!

Dec 17th 2015, 8:12 AM

This comment by Kenny shows how out of touch with reality he is. Its scary that such an ejiit is supposed to be our leader.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:45 AM

He would say that, wouldn’t he!?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:17 AM

The headline is enough don’t need to read the article.
    Mr Kenny is so cocky he really believes what he says, pity the people on trollies and the overworked nurses feel differently.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:58 AM

Thats an insult to David Attenborough!

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:12 AM

True. Attenborough does an excellent job.

Dec 17th 2015, 7:23 AM

Fairytale stuff. Enda is living in cloud cuckoo land.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:18 AM

That’s like saying Jack the ripper was a Good man at doing autopsy

Mute JibberIrish
    Favourite JibberIrish
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:26 AM

Varadkar is a self serving politician more interested in cementing his name on reeling in the years for years to come, than he is fixing the health services.

Mute Repeating history
    Favourite Repeating history
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:20 AM

Enda thinks?

Mute Mark Mulligan
    Favourite Mark Mulligan
    Dec 17th 2015, 9:29 AM

Yeah I know, that caught me off guard too, wonders will never cease

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:23 AM

Poison chalice etc.

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:53 AM

Oh course Kenny’s happy with him. He’s doing ecactly what’s expected of him – twiddle his thumbs and allow the HSE to deteriorate to such an extent that people begin en-masse to enter the private health market, HSE can then be fully privatised.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:10 AM

This is one of those situations where if a boss feels the need to praise his underlings to keep him motivated, he’s be better off doing it in private.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Dec 17th 2015, 9:28 AM

If Dame Enda needs to say he thinks Leo Vanker is doing a good job like a good little underling it means Leo is truly banjaxed, in the naughty corner, right where dame Enda wants him.
    That’ll teach that bold Leo for shooting his smart arsed mouth off about everything else in government, and stop Leo from knifing Enda fair between the shoulder blades at first opportunity.
    That’s what it’s all about- who gives a flying fig about what’s good for the countries health services- Leo has been put in his place

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:55 AM

Enda and Leo make me puke!

Mute P. Ennis
    Favourite P. Ennis
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:22 AM

Genuine question? Is it not the case that who ever you put in that job has their hands tied from the outset? All the managerial structures are in existence, all employees have their roles and positions… To say cut amount of management, how? Is it actually possible without major union and employment law opposition? What options are there beyond to draw a line in the sand now, change they policies on how you fill positions in future and wait for natural attrition, I.e. People to retire. Genuine questions.

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:38 AM

You are correct.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:43 AM

Genuine question it is, but the barriers are all perceptions. The Minister can and has before enact measures and inducements for leaving ‘the job’. It may appear costly in the short term, but in the medium to long term it would leave the HSE in a far better shape for the future. Constructive destruction, you have to dismantle before you can rebuild what we always have is sticking plaster politics -ah it will all be someone else’s problem after an election.

Mute The Artic Monkey
    Favourite The Artic Monkey
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:50 AM

Impossible job but if Leo stopped saying things like trolley numbers are improving from this time last year & he understands what’s going on in A&Es etc. it’s absolutely infuriating to listen to & makes him sound like an absolute tit.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:42 AM

hate to be on a trolley if that’s what he thinks

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:20 AM

Well, Enda’s hardly going to start telling the truth or admitting how utterly shambolic the state of the health service is at this stage, is he? The man is pathologically divorced from reality.

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Favourite SickOfCorruption
    Dec 17th 2015, 11:59 PM

Did you see that very very well fed fella on the news last night giving forewarning that, by jove, there will be an enforced lack of funds next year. I trust that every one here appreciates the sacrifice that Comrade HSE boss man has made.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:04 AM

Enda thinks?…….proof or it didn’t happen.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:13 AM

Sure he would say that wouldn’t he. I’m sure he thinks he’s doing a wonderful job too.

Dec 17th 2015, 8:14 PM

In their fantasy bubble…

Mute Sandra Lysaght
    Favourite Sandra Lysaght
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:27 AM

Jesus help us all if he does ,

Mute Brian Casey
    Favourite Brian Casey
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:49 AM

Another lie Enda

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 17th 2015, 9:53 AM

This Verruca on our health service needs treatment and Bellenda is obviously “off his trolley”. What will he “come out” with next?

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:06 AM

He’s doing a far better job then his predecessor.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:56 AM

Yeah so did Karl Donitz.

Mute Louth Noises
    Favourite Louth Noises
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:20 AM
    Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Dec 17th 2015, 10:35 AM

A nice little Christmas f*ck you from our glorious leader.

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Dec 17th 2015, 9:31 AM

Kiss of death for Leo then.

Mute Rachel Flood
    Favourite Rachel Flood
    Dec 17th 2015, 12:44 PM

go f*uck yourself Enda! really deserves a punch in the face that man

Mute Bertie O'Riordan
    Favourite Bertie O'Riordan
    Dec 17th 2015, 12:59 PM

If only we could vote them out, oh wait a minute WE CAN FFS

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:25 AM

Leo should be the next Taoiseach right ? or will it not happen over him being gay ? Are we ready for a gay head of state ,or is it too risky yet ? Thats if fine gael hold power .

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Dec 17th 2015, 6:36 AM

People don’t give a toss if he’s gay. Enough with the gay already. What’s he doing for patients other than Radom sound bites.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:22 AM

Preference of Partner is of no consequence if the person is honest and cares for his Country, if there is honesty and transperancy.

Mute Raicheail Ní Ódhra
    Favourite Raicheail Ní Ódhra
    Dec 17th 2015, 1:38 PM

Oh yes Enda, such a great job that no pancreas transplants have taken place in Ireland since David Hickey’s retirement this time last year, because the HSE didn’t have the “foresight” to replace him! I say “foresight” in inverted commas because the man gave 3 years notice of his retirement and still nothing was done! Now patients lives are at risk because of this absolute neglect! It beggars belief!

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 17th 2015, 11:51 PM

Incredible. Now if there was a sniff at a windfarm with sterling involved, you can be sure they’d be all over it!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Dec 17th 2015, 9:23 AM

Name one Health Minister who has managed to be a success in the last 30 years. Any Minister who proposes radical change in the health service is blocked by the unions. You can’t sack anyone. You can’t allow them to go on strike because you can’t allow the service to stop! So major change is blocked.

Some nurses and doctors are overworked in ED. Many in the other sections have it too soft. The flexibility allowed to nurses with job sharing, short weeks, flexible starting would not be tolerated to this scale in private companies.

Administrators, porters and managers in the HSE have cushy numbers.

Putting more money into the HSE would be a further waste of money. All it would achieve is higher taxes.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Dec 17th 2015, 3:04 PM

A pretty boy who is of no use to women or the Irish Public Health System. When you prop up the private health market to allow commercial enterprises to profit on peoples illness’s you have to make the public health system fail. Because if we had a ‘world class’ public health system then there would be no need to waste money allowing these commercial private health parasites (D O’B and the Beacon) to make profits out of our misery and money, however because they vote for fine gael you can be sure the government will ensure that the public health system can never be as effective or efficient as private health facilities; except for the weekends of after eight in the evening when these private rackets can not be bothered to provide services because it is not financially viable? That is the attitude which proves that they could not give a damn about the sick unless they have money and the contempt that this government has for the citizens of Ireland by promoting and protecting this inequitable cash cow

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 17th 2015, 2:06 PM

Shame on this government, it destroyed services to privatise them punish them in GE.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Dec 17th 2015, 7:08 PM

You couldn’t make it up. Well you could, but its a horrible story.

Dec 17th 2015, 1:42 PM

They do this in politics and in football, just before they sack them but it is too near the election now?

Let’s ask the ones on the trollies or those who took the HSE to court???

Dec 17th 2015, 1:43 PM

It is just more electioneering again, if Leo is doing a good job then Enda must be doing a better job, that is what this is about and that is spin?

Mute SickOfCorruption
    Dec 17th 2015, 11:47 PM

Of course he does, the Bert and Ernie of Irish politics, see no evil and hear no evil.

STILL waiting for Kenny managerial response to the RTE investigates program last week. After specifically voting for Endas ‘End to Corrupt’ (lie) I’m like a dog with a bone about this.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Dec 17th 2015, 8:38 PM

Enda ,Deluded fool ,Is always the government policy to privatize everything ,Run the “service ” down come up with the “master-plan ” Get some of your rich pals and cronies a contract to run parts of the “service ” People die on waiting lists ? Thats to bad but nothing must interfere with our right wing dogma and the markets must rule ,,