You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Gena Melendrez

'Would it be weird if I kissed you?': Workman sacked after propositioning woman in her own home

The woman has made a statement to gardaí.

A WORKMAN HAS been sacked and a garda investigation has started after a woman claims she was the victim of unwanted sexual advances in her own home.

The woman had contacted her energy company and arranged for someone to come to her home to fit a new meter.

When the man arrived, she claims that he began acting in an inappropriate fashion. She has also claimed that at one point, the man grabbed her arm and tried to kiss her.

The woman, who realised that something untoward was happening, secretly started filming the worker.

The woman has since made a statement to gardaí who are now investigating the matter.

In videos seen by TheJournal.ie, the workman asks her: ”Would it be weird if I kissed you?” She responds that it would be. The man then adds that he could “get in a lot of trouble for this”.

You won’t let me kiss you then? I could get in a lot of trouble for doing this. Don’t say too much – you’ll get me in a lot of trouble. Still not getting that kiss goodbye? I hope I’m not getting myself in trouble here.

The woman said she felt pressured by the man during the callout which lasted around 30 minutes. She said she felt shaken and started crying the moment he left the house in Wicklow.

The woman contacted her energy company who said it would investigate the matter. Within hours, the man had been brought before a disciplinary panel and removed from his position. The CEO of the company contacted the woman directly and apologised for the behaviour of the staff member.

As an apology, she received a bunch of flowers and a €2,500 holiday voucher.

The man was subcontracted by a larger firm to provide services to the energy company.

A spokeswoman for the subcontractor said: “We are fully aware of the incident referred to. The actions of this former employee are wholly unacceptable. We do not tolerate any inappropriate behaviour and has taken all of the necessary actions in response and the employee is no longer working with the company.

“The company has engaged fully with the customer in relation to this issue. It is not appropriate to comment further at this time as the incident has been reported to An Garda Síochána.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

106 Comments
    Mute Karen Lord
    Favourite Karen Lord
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:34 PM

Horrible experience for that lady. And he knows where she lives and that she reported him. Very intimidating situation for her.

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:04 PM

@Karen Lord: the simple and real truth.

Mute Abbie Cranky
    Favourite Abbie Cranky
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:39 PM

@Ixion99: Yup. Naive women, that’s definitely the lesson to take away from this.
    Silly, silly naive women.

My god when will women learn. They are their own worst enemy.

Yup. You nailed that.

Mute Jack Jackson
    Favourite Jack Jackson
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:18 PM

@Abbie Cranky: Isn’t it possible that there is a double lesson in every event or are you short sighted?
    Whoever doesn’t report a crime whether that be male or female then they are silly and naive, and indeed responsible for that criminal behaviour prospering in the future. Time to grow up Cranky!

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:30 PM

@Ixion99: Eh, the person who committed the assault. Given how complainants are treated in sexual assault cases, I wouldn’t blame anybody for not reporting an attack like this. And neither should you.

Mute Jack Jackson
    Favourite Jack Jackson
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:41 PM

@Lisa Saputo: Then you are obstructing justice, but I guess you can say whatever you choose and you’ll find a reason to be correct.

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Favourite A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:43 PM

@Lisa Saputo: Calling it an attack might be a bit of a stretch…

Mute Felicity Hensen
    Favourite Felicity Hensen
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:02 PM

@Ixion99: I think, and I may be going out on a limb here. The person who behaves in a wholly inappropriate manner – especially while they are in another person’s home – is absolutely, entirely, and utterly to blame.

Apr 12th 2018, 9:19 PM

@A Piece of Chalk: well the woman was distraught afterwards and the Gardai are investigating so I wouldn’t think it’s too much of a stretch.

Mute Abbie Cranky
    Favourite Abbie Cranky
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:47 PM

@Jack Jackson: Yes because victims of rape are treated so well. The overwhelming amount of successful convictions and harsh sentences handed down. Yup.

More silly women. If only they’d trust the system it would work out so much better for them.

Just so silly.

So
    So
    Silly.

Mute Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Favourite Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:57 PM

@A Piece of Chalk: I was thinking the same. The fella left without a kiss or a job. This is a bit extreme.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:00 PM

@Jack Jackson: No. The one responsible is the criminal. Not the man or woman who reported them. Time to wise up, jack

Mute Paul Mc Nulty
    Favourite Paul Mc Nulty
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:27 PM

@A Piece of Chalk: Of course it’s a bloody attack. It’s a disgraceful thing to do.

Mute Elaine Tok Tok
    Favourite Elaine Tok Tok
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:54 PM

I remember when I was about 17 and living at home we had a plumber guy doing some work in the house, one evening the rest of my family were out and I was waiting for my boyfriend at the time to collect me. The plumber guy started coming on to me in a very obvious way, I never felt so uncomfortable in my life, he was about 20 years older than me. I remember seeing him in the local shopping centre with his wife and about 5 kids months later and he looked like he had been in a fight, I thought to myself, he must have tried it on with the wrong person! I never said it to anyone , I think because I can remember smiling as he was talking to me and I kinda thought maybe I had gave him the wrong impression( of course I know now I didn’t at all)

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:58 PM

@Elaine Tok Tok: how much does he charge for a call out? I’ve a leaking radiator.

Mute Elaine Tok Tok
    Favourite Elaine Tok Tok
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:02 PM

@Sean: not sure , it was about 20 years ago at this stage!!!

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:30 PM

@Sean: https://youtu.be/udlENiipBCU Saved you 100 quid there mate. Not to mention the trouble of the having the plumber try it on with you.

Mute Elaine Tok Tok
    Favourite Elaine Tok Tok
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:43 PM

@A Piece of Chalk: I think Sean would have been safe enough unless he’s a 17 year old girl!

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:48 PM

@Elaine Tok Tok: Sean may be hoping otherwise.

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:48 PM

@Elaine Tok Tok: Well considering the plumber is now about 60, he might be less picky and Sean is a good lookin fella.

Mute Jazz Buckler
    Favourite Jazz Buckler
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:50 PM

@Elaine Tok Tok: fair play Elaine for describing your uncomfortable experience in a real, refreshingly non-sensationalist and non hate-fuelled manner. I, at least, can sympathise with you much more immediately as a result.

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:56 PM

@Sean: he might fix your mahogany gas-pipe!

Mute Elaine Tok Tok
    Favourite Elaine Tok Tok
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:08 PM

@Jazz Buckler: thanks, it was inappropriate yes but by no means an attack so I don’t feel traumatized or anything close to it. I would imagine many women have had some similar type of icky encounters in some shape or form. Most men I have come across throughout my life have been respectful and kind so experiences like that certainly don’t colour how I feel about men in general.

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:20 PM

@Elaine Tok Tok: That’s a very mature attitude. I hope I can speak for most guys and say we love ye lot too :-)

Mute Elaine Tok Tok
    Favourite Elaine Tok Tok
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:55 PM

@A Piece of Chalk: thanks

Mute Breda FOR YES Carroll
    Favourite Breda FOR YES Carroll
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:25 PM

@Jazz Buckler: how kind of you

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:50 PM

What a strange story to label as an “exclusive”, like it’s the scoop of the year or something, no disrespect meant to the lady of course.

Mute Sebastian Wilson
    Favourite Sebastian Wilson
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:44 PM

@A Piece of Chalk:
    Pulitzer Prize contender without a doubt.

Mute Jay Coleman
    Favourite Jay Coleman
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:08 PM

Kudos to that energy company for taking swift and decisive action. Also a nice touch with the holiday voucher and flowers.

Mute Jacques Decharnay
    Favourite Jacques Decharnay
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:19 PM

What would happen if the woman tried it on with the guy? Would that article be EXCLUSIVE if the shoe was on the other foot and he called the police?

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:28 PM

@Jacques Decharnay: but what would we think of your comment if it was written by a woman or by your sister, mother or daughter? What would we think if, if, if or …..?

Anything but address the article and the relevant issue.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:47 PM

@Jacques Decharnay: it would be still sexual harassment and he could leave his work unfinished and leave the house. Unfortunately this incident happened in the woman’s home which, to me, would seem far more intimidating

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:07 PM

@Jacques Decharnay: Men and women are not the same. Different dynamics exist between them. That’s why cougars are not seen as creepy but old guys with young girlfriends are.

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:13 PM

@Jacques Decharnay: But yeah I agree, exclusive is a bit dramatic.

Apr 12th 2018, 10:29 PM

@Jacques Decharnay: supposing,supposing. How old are you 6?

Mute Nek nedyah
    Favourite Nek nedyah
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:27 PM

What a weirdo .

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:34 PM

@Nek nedyah:
    Gobs**te might be more appropriate.

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:35 PM

@Nek nedyah: Total creep sounds like.

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:53 PM

If the mainstream of society tacitly approves of or does not oppose sexual harassment, or minimizes the gravity of such misconduct then such misconduct will be repeated and more frequent.

If the mainstream of society severely condemns such misconduct, it will be much more limited, less frequent and less of a problem for women.

We each make our own judgment. Based on the reported conduct, which I have no reason to be sceptical about, this was sexually abusive, threatening and harassing behaviour towards a women in her own home and was, no doubt, a frightening and a profoundly distressing experience for the victim.

Apr 12th 2018, 10:33 PM

@Michael Lang: ah michael i think im falling for ye. Well said, well written. I feel so much lighter

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:35 PM

Classic chat up line.

Mute Nek nedyah
    Favourite Nek nedyah
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:42 PM

@Ciarān: He might just need to brush on the timing though .

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:57 PM

@Nek nedyah: It probably works for him in Copper Face Jacks

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:35 PM

The only flippant comments on this topic are from men although not all men commenting are flippant

The comments from women are serious and sincere.

Mute john brown
    Favourite john brown
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:52 PM

Some might think he is weird but I think he’s gas

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Apr 12th 2018, 6:57 PM

“It’s not appropriate to comment further at this time”.. unless it’s on The Journal..

Mute Billy Connelly
    Favourite Billy Connelly
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:26 PM

At least to me I think this a complete over reaction by the woman to bring this to the journal. The company dealt with it appropriately, I’m sure she took the gifts, he learned a valuable lesson so is everything now not addressed? As a man if only i could get the same outcome in that situation. Unfortunately thats a different scenario apparently. Its a crapy thing and it was wrong but ffs justice has more than been meated out. I now question the woman at the centre of this scandal!

Apr 12th 2018, 9:54 PM

@Billy Connelly: of course you do. There’s a fella at the start of the comments saying if she didn’t report it she’s to blame and now we have the “I don’t believe her” brigade. Why would a woman report this? Btw where does it say the woman reported this to the Journal? It was probably the Garda investigation which triggered the Journals report but you just keep blaming the woman!

Mute Billy Connelly
    Favourite Billy Connelly
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:06 PM

@Deborah Behan: Deborah, for a start the title “exclusive” gives me the impression it was not a Garda investigation that triggered this. Additionally let me state this act was wrong, perverted and indefensible. This man probably has a predisposition to being a predator and needs to be watched. However, since time immemorial, there has always been people who do bad things to others and far far worse than this. It will continue long after both if us are long gone. It will never stop. Im not saying you have to agree or accept, but none have the choice to dictate it from happen ing again.. Unfortunately!

Mute Billy Connelly
    Favourite Billy Connelly
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:12 PM

@Deborah Behan: I’m not blaming the woman for what happened. Im intimating that she should not have offered an “exclusive” to the journal as the man was sacked and she was compensated reasonabley. She was not raped, hurt or otherwise. Time to move on from this act as forevermore there will be injustice in this world to both woman and man. Why dont both of us try a trip to Syria to really see human suffering!

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:05 PM

A bunch of flowers and a holiday voucher as compensation for alleged sexual assault by one of their employees! How f***ing condescending. Reminds me of Georgie Burgess in the Snapper giving Sharon a tenner to get some sweets.

Mute Jonathan Ross
    Favourite Jonathan Ross
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:51 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Condecsending it may be but I bet she took the compo with a smile on her face.wonder what would have happened if it was a man in the house and a woman electrician,she probably would have just turned the whole thing back at him and everybody be thinking he is the pervert.it getting to a stage where soon you won’t be able to be alone with a stranger as we won’t know who to believe.

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:53 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Sexual assault?
    Where did you read that?

Mute Mary Ryan
    Favourite Mary Ryan
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:00 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: But they also investigated immediately and dismissed the guy that same day which is the appropriate response. The flowers and voucher were an unnecessary but lovely goodwill gesture. What more do you expect of them?

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:01 PM

@Mary Ryan: Blood?

Mute Jack Jackson
    Favourite Jack Jackson
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:20 PM

@Mary Ryan: Well, she wants to continue blaming them of course.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:57 PM

@Jonathan Ross: Why would she have accepted it with a smile on her face? I’m a woman and i would have been incensed. In fact the compo, for me, is worse than the man’s behaviour as it completely trivialises the incident and assumes that victims can be easily placated with a couple of treats.
    You’re right, we definitely need more men who have been victims of sexual abuse by females to come forward. It’s highly stigmatised and many in society would consider a guy who a woman comes onto aggressively as lucky. In fact, that’s how it’s portrayed in tv and films. Apatow type films in particular are extremely harmful in that aspect. Men are depicted as always up for it no matter how or when they are approached. The #metoo movement should be inclusive of victims of abuse perpetrated by women

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:58 PM

@VeeryDrink: alleged

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:59 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: ‘alleged’……..by you.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:01 PM

@Mary Ryan: if i had been subject to unwanted sexual advances by a representative of a company, an investigation and an apology would have sufficed. Good will gesture? I don’t think so

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:02 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: “after a woman claims she was the victim of unwanted sexual advances”

Where did the woman claim she was ‘sexually assaulted’ as you have claimed?

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:05 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: You strike me as the kind of woman who would be insulted if a gentleman held a door open for her to walk through or if a man insisted on paying for a meal.
    We know the type.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:28 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: They fired they guy, they will/did no doubt co-operate with the Gardaí, and she gets a nice holiday to forget about the creep. What more do you want them to do? Go to jail with him?

Mute I wish I was my dog
    Favourite I wish I was my dog
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:40 PM

I’m glad that the Journal is highlighting these cases.
    One of the postmen on my road is creep as well. I avoid him like the plague. He’s made comments about my purchases that left me wondering if the guy was for real. He makes my skin crawl.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:23 PM

@I wish I was my dog: general comments or inappropriate comments about your purchases? Have you reported him ?

Mute Slim Jim
    Favourite Slim Jim
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:30 PM

A bunch of flowers. How great.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:41 PM

Is that him in the picture?

Mute Sebastian Wilson
    Favourite Sebastian Wilson
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:45 PM

@Paul Roche:
    Fierce likeness there all the same.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:44 PM

I think this used to go on a lot, may be it still does and women keep quiet. A good reminder that if we like someone, to offer a date or share an interest and see how we connect. Some people like a hand shake as appreciation after a good job done, some offer a hug … but this reads creepy.

Mute Jack Jackson
    Favourite Jack Jackson
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:17 PM

@WoodlandBard: “some offer a hug” In a professional situation such as this, offering a hug is creepy!! Christ!!

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:10 PM

@Jack Jackson: well it has happened to me a few times, client is happy, I get a hug … but I do not make the first move, and its never more than that … but my work is not trade service calls like this lad, my work has always been catering, entertainment, and event management. I may be too OT.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:42 PM

He’ll probably try to sue for unfair dismissal.. no warnings or investigation first.

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:50 PM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: unless of course he was already on a final warning.

Mute niamh ryan
    Favourite niamh ryan
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:20 PM

@Siobhán Ni Mhurchú: with gross misconduct you can skip the verbal and written warnings and If this wasn’t gross misconduct I don’t know what is. I doubt he could even find a solicitor to try fight this

Mute Bríde Ní Bheaglaoích
    Favourite Bríde Ní Bheaglaoích
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:15 PM

Sarcasm and smart comments should be banned from this forum.

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:22 PM

Would it be weird if I kicked you straight in the nuts….what an absolute creep..

Mute Eddie Brady
    Favourite Eddie Brady
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:12 PM

Crazy come on ! Imagine it was your wife or even daughter as the other girl that was 17 !! He obviously is a predator .. cant trust to many these days , people that overly nice most likely have a hidden agenda .. i hope the women can pit it behind her and next time on a call out visit have a trusted male precence !!

Mute League of shadows
    Favourite League of shadows
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:44 PM

You can never be too careful who you let into your house these days, disgraceful behaviour from a so called ‘professional’

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:43 PM

Honestly, who the hell would do this on the job. What was he thinking.

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:54 PM

Mmmm…. maybe she she should have replied: ‘would it be weird if I kicked you in the nads?’

Mute Liam Carlin
    Favourite Liam Carlin
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:59 PM

Flirting is ” hey how you doooin ” etc etc . Physical contact surely is assault

Mute Paul Jennings
    Favourite Paul Jennings
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:48 PM

The apology, the flowers and the €2,500 should ensure he won’t met-er again. I could tolerate a fair amount of propositioning from members of either sex for that kind of money. How much is “copping a feel” worth? MasterCard, yes and – American Express..? That will do nicely thank you…And don’t worry about the flowers – or the apology. Really.

Apr 12th 2018, 10:01 PM

@Paul Jennings: wow! He was a stranger in her home. He was bigger than her. She did not want his attentions just her boiler fixed. Do you think she will ever feel safe letting a tradesman in her house again? Shove your flowers. But don’t worry we’ll give him your address and her can go around to you for a grope. Sounds like you’d deserve each other.

Mute RobSharpeDj
    Favourite RobSharpeDj
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:57 PM

Giggidy

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:43 PM

Am I just old fashioned because I can’t see any. wrong here.
    Just as well he wasn’t a plumbing contractor.

Mute John Doherty
    Favourite John Doherty
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:16 PM

A

Mute Nek nedyah
    Favourite Nek nedyah
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:20 PM

@John Doherty: A happy birthday to Toby ?

Mute Bríde Ní Bheaglaoích
    Favourite Bríde Ní Bheaglaoích
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:15 PM

Sarcasm and smart comments should be banned from this forum.

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:21 PM

@Bríde Ní Bheaglaoích: Are you being sarcastic?

Mute A Piece of Chalk
    Apr 12th 2018, 8:27 PM

@Bríde Ní Bheaglaoích: I’ve reported your comment anyway, just in case you were.

Mute TorKing
    Favourite TorKing
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:15 PM

Women n this country aren’t normal women. I know the fella who got himself in trouble after buying a chocolate bar to his teammate and she complained. Rediculous

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Apr 12th 2018, 9:13 PM

Actually , no comment

Mute Joe Mc mahon
    Favourite Joe Mc mahon
    Apr 12th 2018, 10:40 PM

Yes, yes it would! Now get the f u ck outta my house you absolute scrote..

Mute Clinton Baptiste
    Favourite Clinton Baptiste
    Apr 12th 2018, 7:47 PM

I’m getting the word , nonce .