You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Harry Kane (bottom) falls under Slovenia's Jaka Bijol. Alamy Stock Photo

England top their group despite dismal goalless draw with Slovenia

Stalemate between Serbia and Denmark ensured Gareth Southgate’s side weren’t punished for another lacklustre performance.

ENGLAND SECURED TOP spot in Group C despite again failing to fire at Euro 2024 as Slovenia also progressed to the knockout stages thanks to a 0-0 draw in Cologne.

The Three Lions were already assured of a place in the last 16 but were booed off in Cologne and can expect more criticism after failing to improve on underwhelming performances in edging past Serbia and drawing with Denmark.

England will have to wait until Wednesday’s final group games to find out which of the four best third-placed teams they will face in the last 16.

But more questions will be asked over one of the favourites’ ability to end a 58-year wait for major tournament glory as a star-studded forward line was snuffed out by Slovenia.

Gareth Southgate made a statement with his team selection, resisting the calls to make mass changes as Conor Gallagher replaced Trent Alexander-Arnold in the only alteration from the opening two games.

If the England boss was looking for a reaction by showing faith in the other 10 who have started all three matches in Germany, he was left disappointed.

Slovenia are now nine games unbeaten, which included beating Portugal 2-0 in a pre-tournament friendly.

Declan Rice had highlighted Benjamin Sesko as their big threat on Monday.

Sesko could have been lining up alongside Rice at Arsenal next season had he not shunned interest to extend his contract at RB Leipzig.

The 21-year-old shrugged off a thigh injury to start and had the first chance of the game when he tamely headed straight at Jordan Pickford four minutes in.

It took 20 minutes for England to pose a serious threat and only the offside flag denied them a slick opening goal.

Rice picked out Phil Foden’s run but the Manchester City midfielder had strayed beyond the Slovenian defence before squaring for Bukayo Saka to tap in.

England’s lack of attacking threat down the left had been pinpointed as a major weakness against Serbia and Denmark.

Newcastle right-back Kieran Trippier has had to deputise on the left side of defence due to Luke Shaw’s lack of match fitness, while Foden tends to drift inside.

However, it was down that side that Southgate’s men looked most threatening as a teasing Trippier cross just evaded Gallagher and Harry Kane at the back post.

Southgate took action at the break as Gallagher was replaced by Kobbie Mainoo.

The 19-year-old added some much needed thrust to the England midfield but they still struggled to turn dominance in possession into chances.

Kane saw a header cleared by Sesko from a corner and Rice flashed a shot wide from the edge of the box.

Southgate answered the call to give Cole Palmer his first minutes of the tournament in the final 20 minutes.

The Chelsea midfielder, who scored 26 goals at club level this season, had England’s only shot on target of the second half but failed to seriously test veteran goalkeeper Jan Oblak.

A point was jubilantly celebrated by the Slovenians as it did enough for them to progress as one of the best third-placed sides thanks to three draws from their three games.

Matjaz Kek’s men missed out on second place in the group solely due to Denmark’s superior record in qualifying as the sides had the same points, goal difference and goals scored.

– © AFP 2024

Written by AFP and originally published on The 42 whose award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye. Subscribe here.

View 33 comments
33 Comments
    Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:21 PM

Jaysus, that Southgate fella is a lost soul.

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:26 PM

@Paul Gorry: along with his starting 11

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:27 PM

@Niall Moore: He picks them niall.

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:54 PM

@Paul Gorry: oh right thanks for clearing that one up lad. Does he tell them to play shyt aswell

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:08 PM

@Niall Moore: He’s the coach holding all these great players back in a tournament tru his negative tactics niall. I mean, it’s not rocket science,is it?

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:23 PM

@Paul Gorry: How come a few subs can come in and play better than the players they replaced, I’m intrigued by your knowledge

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:32 PM

@Niall Moore: How come the lost soul Southgate didn’t play them in the first place niall? I’m intrigued by your ignorance of that fact

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:54 PM

@Paul Gorry: I’m well aware he didn’t play them in the first place Paul hence my first reply to you about the starting 11, also my last comment about them being subs, I thought your superior knowledge might give us a bit more of an insight

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jun 26th 2024, 12:26 AM

@Niall Moore: when they had two solid banks of four camped in their own box against Serbia after an hour, i’m fairly sure it didn’t happen spontaneously.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 26th 2024, 1:39 AM

@Niall Moore: Niall, it’s a comment section on a football article. Relax your kacks and get rid of your anger issues. It’s not all about you…. lad….

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 26th 2024, 8:18 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: don’t know what your on about girl

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:29 PM

Palmer should be starting

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:49 PM

@Keith: Shhhhh…

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Jun 26th 2024, 3:34 PM

@Keith: Southgate is the biggest buffer in the world. Clueless.

Mute paulie
    Favourite paulie
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:04 PM

that trent lad thinks he’s pele

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:45 PM

Coming home

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:30 PM

@Michael Burke: they will be coming home allright to a lot of angry fans and a hostile press.

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Jun 25th 2024, 11:56 PM

please god they’ll be knocked out ASAP… arrogant twits.. James McClean summed them up the other night..

Mute noel donohue
    Favourite noel donohue
    Jun 26th 2024, 1:38 AM

Well done England top the Group

Mute John Hally
    Favourite John Hally
    Jun 26th 2024, 9:28 AM

Wasn’t Declan Rice Brilliant lads? Ha ha ha ha yeah

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:30 PM

England meet who next? I still don’t know. Holland?

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:40 PM

@James Rowan: France? All will be revealed tomorrow.

Mute Peter Connaughton
    Favourite Peter Connaughton
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:47 PM

@James Rowan: We’ll have to wait until the 6 groups are finalised. One of the 3rd placed teams.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:50 PM

@James Rowan: looks like Netherlands. Can’t meet Germany, France, Spain or Portugal until the, eh, final

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:54 PM

@Peter Connaughton: Table toppers Germany are playing Denmark (a second placed team).

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 25th 2024, 10:55 PM

@James Rowan: ask Gorry he is oozing with wisdom

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Jun 26th 2024, 12:01 AM

@Pat Barry: The 24 team thing isn’t great. Some anomalies like the one you mention. A third place team in a tough group (Croatia) doesn’t make it through but a team with a bad team do.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 26th 2024, 12:15 AM

@Niall Moore: ye little sneaky snake niall. Try control that anger…. LAD..

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Jun 26th 2024, 12:28 AM

@A Well Known Comical Stereotype: groups are decided by points and goal difference, not toughness.

Mute Niall Moore
    Favourite Niall Moore
    Jun 26th 2024, 8:20 AM

@Paul Gorry: no anger from me laddy, I don’t think I know it all either like some people on here

Mute Sammydavissenior.
    Favourite Sammydavissenior.
    Jun 26th 2024, 1:07 PM

If they somehow manage to end up in the final, will anyone in England remember or care about the group matches ?

Mute John Hendrick
    Favourite John Hendrick
    Jun 26th 2024, 6:40 PM

Who finished top of Group C ?