You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This is what ESB want you to do if you've received one of these scam emails

A number of customers have been targeted as part of a phishing scam.

A NUMBER OF ESB customers have received letters targeting them as part of an email phishing scam.

The emails appear to come from Electric Ireland and offer customers a refund for money they’ve already paid.

To receive this, customers are asked to provide a scanned copy of their passport as well as their bank details.

In a statement ESB has said that it would like to advise customers that the email “was not sent by Electric Ireland” and that anyone who has received one of the emails is advised “not to click on the link or reply to the email”.

Anyone who has already completed the form is advised to contact their debit card company or bank immediately and to change the password for their online billing account.

The utility has also said that it wishes to “assure all Electric Ireland customers that your personal details on Electric Ireland’s database are secure and have not been compromised”.

ESB’s IT department are currently investigating the matter and it has been reported to gardaí.

Read: Power restored to many but 25,000 homes are still in the dark

Also: Claims that it could harm this bird have been thrown out, and a Tipp wind farm’s going ahead

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

24 Comments
    Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:19 PM

I got two bills from a company calling itself Irish Water. I’m not sure how they got my details. Just a heads up.

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:25 PM

Must be a scam so.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:37 PM

You should alert the Guards

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:46 PM

Why – they think phishing is angling?!

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 18th 2015, 11:53 AM

I know this sounds harsh, but after repeated warnings about phishing email for years, anyone that clicks on this email and sends through their personal details should not be on email in the first place.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 18th 2015, 11:55 AM

And scans their passport!!

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 18th 2015, 11:59 AM

And their bank details !!!

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:18 PM

I receive several a week, normally trying for PayPal details. I got one today, better than normal standard scam pretending to be from revenue, a tax refund due, form attached for bank details to make return to.

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:19 PM

Send them fake bank account details, with an attachment labelled ‘passport scan’ – which is actually a virus.
    A bit of revenge…

Mute Kaz Kork
    Favourite Kaz Kork
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:18 PM

I send them a picture of my mother-in-law. Good enough for the feckers.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 18th 2015, 11:58 AM

How can anyone be stupid enough to:

a) Click on the link

b) Email a scanned copy of their passport

c) Email their bank details

The mind boggles!

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:03 PM

I sent your details Shak – hope that’s OK…

Mute Seb Bowyer
    Favourite Seb Bowyer
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:07 PM

So did I – for all the ‘bleeding obvious’ advice that Shak gives us!

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:51 PM

Because greedy stupid people will do anything for easy money

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:55 PM

I sent them a photo of my junk.

Mute Gav Higgins
    Favourite Gav Higgins
    Nov 18th 2015, 4:16 PM

Imagine falling for this haha, fortunately in a few weeks I’ll have no money worries as I’ve won the Nigerian lotto, a cool 14 million will be coming soon, done the paperwork, send off my details and the money needed to complete the transfer. See ye Ireland wish me luck.

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Nov 18th 2015, 12:25 PM

You would want to be a right ejeet to fall for that these days

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:08 PM

I consider everything from E.I. a scam, in particular what’s in the envelopes that come through my letterbox.

Mute paul farrell
    Favourite paul farrell
    Nov 18th 2015, 3:12 PM

I got an email from revenue this morning saying the tax man owed me money… Sure I never paid tax in my life!!!!!!

Mute Beata Dabrowska Czerny
    Favourite Beata Dabrowska Czerny
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:52 PM

I got also from Revenue 3 days ago…

Mute Thomas Swinburne
    Favourite Thomas Swinburne
    Nov 18th 2015, 1:42 PM

I’m a former Electric Ireland customer and received and deleted one of those phishing emails this morning, so some aspect of Electric Ireland’s customer database must have been accessed?

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 18th 2015, 7:08 PM

Nah, these type of emails are pretty much just spray and pray.

Mute Emma Butler
    Favourite Emma Butler
    Nov 18th 2015, 2:48 PM

I figured something was a bit “phishy” when I got this earlier on seeing as we haven’t been with them in years and the refund was for this month