You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí seeking prisoner who escaped after attending hospital appointment in Mayo

The man, aged in his mid 30s, escaped from the custody of the Irish Prison Service at Mayo University Hospital in Castlebar yesterday morning.

8 Mayo University Hospital, Castlebar Google Maps Google Maps

GARDAÍ ARE SEARCHING for an escaped prisoner who absconded from a hospital appointment yesterday morning.

The man, understood to be aged in his mid-30s and on remand for burglary-related charges, escaped on foot after attending Mayo University Hospital in Castlebar in the Connacht county while in the custody of the Irish Prison Service.

A spokesperson for the service said that the prisoner “had escaped custody while at hospital” and that gardaí “have been informed and are looking to catch him”.

The man had only been put on remand at Castlerea Prison the day before, they said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Mar 3rd 2022, 1:58 PM

Well, they clung on for long enough, who would have known they would be burying themselves? The worst possible leader given the parties absolute disconnection with its base.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:00 PM

@Local Ore: that’s the party though – he just reflects what they stand for or rather that they stand for nothing.

Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:10 PM

@Peter McGlynn: Bacik is the worst potential leader possible for Labour. Labour’s grass routes organisation needs to go back to the people and their members and ask them what they Labour to be? They need the most dramatic reset in the history of politics in the state if they are to survive because Bacik represents everything they should not, and should never, be. Self serving, self righteous and out of touch with the people who were once their base. If Labour is to exist in the future, as they won’t survive her leadership, they need to get rid of people like her – Joan Burtons biggest supporter – and reset with proper, working class, centre left people

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:50 PM

@Local Ore: Bacik is one of the most competent parliamentarians in Dail Eireann. I’d imagine we’ve passed the low point for Labour, and they will be seen by a lot of people as a safe place for a protest vote compared to SF, or the greens.
    Their attempt to curb the worst excesses of FG in the previous administration backfired on them, and SF in particular managed to heap the blame for any cutbacks on Labour despite them being a minor partner in that coalition. Labour will do a SF on it next time, sitting safely in opposition where they won’t have to make decisions.

Mute Credalytics ☘️
    Favourite Credalytics ☘️
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:30 PM

@John Mulligan:

Her solution to just about everything is more abortion.

I suppose she’s right in a way. There’s less problems to deal with if nobody is left around.

What an inspiring woman.

Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Mar 3rd 2022, 4:30 PM

@John Mulligan: John, I was a Labour supporter for years, for my shame, and I met the woman while she was with Joan Burton. To describe a person who has failed to be elected in more than two thirds of their attempts running for political positions, who spent 15 years in the Seanad – a completely irrelevant body – and has been a TD for less than year as one of the most competent parliamentarians in Dàil Eireann is ludicrous in the extreme! Are you basing that on her few months in the Dàil? Are you basing it on her ineffectual time in the Seanad or what are you basing it on? Completely ridiculous claim to make. I would say she is a competent and intelligent politician but has no connection, at all, to the core values of what Labour used to be or should be. Your statement is ridiculous

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:03 PM

@Credalytics ☘️:
    That’s so unfair, she’s for Euthanasia too. Another Millionaire “Socialist ” Skumbag.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:08 PM

The open road to the leadership of the Labour party with Ivana Bacik will ensure the Labour party will follow the PDs into the dustbin of history.

Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:12 PM

@Donal Desmond: And they don’t see it all, the handful of them remaining think this is a progressive step…. I, like many others, once voted Labour, I’m ashamed of what they have become and can’t believe there is anyone left in that party that could ever support a Joan Burton acolyte as leader in 2022

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:32 PM

@Donal Desmond: You never know. I can see Bacik transform the party from low single digits to, well, slightly higher low single digits..

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:01 PM

@Toon Army: Agree, That’s as good as it will get.

Mute Michael Howe
    Favourite Michael Howe
    Mar 3rd 2022, 6:55 PM

@Local Ore: there are none so blind as them that won’t see.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:37 PM

If Bacik is leader will she have to speak to any poor people or will she have an interpreter for that?

Mute Roland Tarrant
    Favourite Roland Tarrant
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:10 PM

From one dose to another…

Mute Local Ore
    Favourite Local Ore
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:14 PM

@Roland Tarrant: If Alan Kelly is as clever as he is given credit for, he will join FG or FF or whatever before that absolute dose is announced leader. There cannot be another TD with a brain cell that would support JB2.0 as leader? Surely?

Mute Aidan Bergin
    Favourite Aidan Bergin
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:30 PM

Disconnected from the working class years ago so who cares who the leader is.

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:10 PM

Why does it still insist on calling itself the ‘Labour’ Party? These people live in a political fantasy world. They have zero affinity with the working people of this country and Ivana Bacik exemplifies that absurd disconnect from reality…

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:13 PM

If that’s the direction that Labour are heading, they might as well fast track a merger with the Social Democrats ASAP. Absolutely pointless having two identical parties and they are far removed from the once respectable Labour party who actually represented the interests of the common man and woman.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 3rd 2022, 4:31 PM

@Longlin: why would the Soc Dems want or agree to that???

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Mar 3rd 2022, 5:02 PM

@Graham Manning: Could you outline the major ideological differences that would warrant Ivana Bacik and the like of Holly Cairns being in different parties? Looking on from the outside, I would think that they weren’t far off being identical.

Mute Fakë Ăvatăř
    Favourite Fakë Ăvatăř
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:46 PM

Bacik as leader is a death sentence for Labour.

Mute Muckser Maher
    Favourite Muckser Maher
    Mar 3rd 2022, 4:20 PM

You couldn’t make this up. Whatever chance you had of getting a no. 2,3,4 vote from the left leaning voter, you’ve none now. Truely astonishing selection.

Mute Tjamr
    Favourite Tjamr
    Mar 3rd 2022, 4:03 PM

This is will see the end of the Labour Party. I voted Labour up until they entered government in 2011 and turned their back on their traditional voters. I was delighted to hear that Alan Kelly was no longer going to be leader, however when I heard that they were considering Ivana Bacik as leader I realised that they have learned nothing.
    Ms Bacik was one of the elite that was at the party in celebration of the awarding of a Government job to Catherine Zappone.
    I wish they would look back to their routes and realise that their traditional voters don’t want a party that cozys up to FF and FG.
    I don’t want a right wing labour party, looks like I will never again vote for Labour

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:09 PM

I suppose its akin to inheriting a set of fine bone china tea cups with no handles. They only look good from a certain angle.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:23 PM

@Charles McCarthy:
    Beautiful, I hope you don’t mind if I use this.

Mute Ray Walsh
    Favourite Ray Walsh
    Mar 3rd 2022, 4:21 PM

Labour pressed the self destruct button a long time ago.
    Consigned to history.

Mute Paul Brierley
    Favourite Paul Brierley
    Mar 3rd 2022, 1:59 PM

The kiss of death from Varadkar!

Mute Sean Doheny
    Favourite Sean Doheny
    Mar 3rd 2022, 6:40 PM

I see Ivana Bacik is the favourite,they are welcome to her it seems to me that she is anti everthing that is good

Mute E.J. Murray
    Favourite E.J. Murray
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:57 PM

They must have scraped all the way through the bottom of the barrel now, and turned it into a big tube.

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:11 PM

Another party down the drain, Old enough to remember dick spring and the difference now

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:38 PM

@Hugh Mc Donnell: imagine what he thinks of the party nowadays.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:45 PM

@Seamus Mac:
    Probably proud, himself and Millionaire Fergus Finlay dismantled the Labour movement.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Mar 3rd 2022, 2:31 PM

Wow is this still news.

Mute Derek Anderson
    Favourite Derek Anderson
    Mar 3rd 2022, 3:55 PM

Oh dear just another lamb to the slaughter.

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Mar 4th 2022, 2:39 AM

Surprised to hear Alan Kelly Got Emotional when he was resigning. He wasn’t very emotional when he was threatening to cut people’s water off ten year’s ago GUUD LUCK *ank stain

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Mar 4th 2022, 2:34 AM

god help us

Mute Jim O'Sullivan
    Favourite Jim O'Sullivan
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:41 AM

Maybe I misheard; the reason for the heave against Alan Kelly was because of his association with the antics of the 2011-2016 government and in particular, the push to levy water charges. Then it was announced that the front runner to replace Mr Kelly is Ivana Bacik. But Ms Bacik was part of that government too and voiced strong support for water charges stating during the debate in the Seanad “we must incentivise to avoid excessive usage” The “conservation” malarkey was the same excuse being used by members of Fine Gael for the introduction of the charges. Is there a pointer here as to what Labour’s real problem is? Maybe too many of the senior active members are actually in the wrong party?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:19 PM

@Jim O’Sullivan:
    Thanks Jim, well said.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 4th 2022, 12:44 AM

What about God Nash probably the one Labour TD with real legislative achievement i.e. increasing minimum wage and Construction Contracts Act among others. Down to earth with excellent communication skills.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:10 PM

Communication skills? Talk Bolloks an convince everyone you are sincere.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:54 PM

@Liam Byrne: I assume Liam you are referring to God Nash

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Mar 4th 2022, 6:20 PM

This is doomed to failure ,–AGAIN -’Another one to end in Tears.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 4th 2022, 9:56 PM

Jaysus a lot of angry people posting these comments