You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

At a rally supporting President Assad in Beirut, a little boy wears the slogan "Syria is protected by God". Bilal Hussein/AP/Press Association Images

EU imposes more sanctions on Syrian officials

As Ramadan begins, the EU freezes the assets of five more high-level Syrians and the army mounts another attack on Hama.

THE EUROPEAN UNION has expanded its sanctions against Syria, as the army attacks Hama again, killing at least four.

The EU is imposing asset freezes and travel bans on five more military and government officials bringing to 35 the number of individuals Europe’s targeting, including President Bashar Assad. Four government entities are also on the list.

It comes as the city of Hama comes under attack for a second time – more than 100 people are reported by RTÉ to have been killed there yesterday.

The EU accused President Assad’s forces of an indiscriminate massacre of civilians in Hama.

The United Nations Security Council is to meet on the matter today, in an emergency session thought to have been requested by Germany.

EU Foreign Policy Chief Catherine Ashton condemned Syria’s crackdown on pro-democracy protesters, a day after one of the bloodiest since the uprising against Assad’s authoritarian rule began.

The Huffington Post writes that activists have called for Ramadan to be like ‘a month of 30 Fridays’, referring to the traditional day of prayer — and the day on which most protests have taken place.

Violence

Syrian rights groups say 74 people were killed throughout the country, 55 of them from Hama and neighbouring villages.

More than 1,600 civilians have been killed in a crackdown on largely peaceful protests since a popular uprising began in Syria in mid-March.

Attacks by the security forces showed that the leadership was “unwilling to implement the reforms it has promised in response to the legitimate requests of the Syrian people,” Ashton said.

The European Union also has an embargo on sales of arms and equipment that can be used to suppress demonstrations.

“I wish to remind the Syrian authorities of their responsibility to protect the population,” Ashton said. “The brutal violence creates a serious risk of escalating tension and factional divisions and is not consistent with broad reforms.”

The EU said it would release the names of the new officials added to the list on Tuesday.

Pressure

“We are keeping the situation under constant review and we will continue with this policy of putting pressure — economic pressure and political pressure — on the Syrian regime,” EU spokesman Michael Mann said.

France too said political, military and security officials in Syria will be held accountable for their acts.

Syria’s expected to top of the agenda at an informal EU Foreign Ministers meeting next month.

Opposition to UN resolution

Russia, China and other Security Council members have so far opposed resolutions condemning Damascus for its crackdown on protesters, partly because they fear that it may be used as a pretext for armed intervention against Syria.

They say a resolution allowing the use of all means to protect the civilian population in Libya has been misused by NATO to justify five months of air-strikes against Muammar Gadaffi’s regime.

Britain’s Foreign Secretary, William Hague, also called for tougher sanctions against Assad’s government, but cautioned that military action was “not a remote possibility.” He said such sanctions had to come from both Western nations, and Arab countries and regional powers like Turkey.

Speaking on the BBC, Hague said the attacks were “all the more shocking” for the fact that they fell on the eve of the Muslim holy month of fasting.

US President Barack Obama issued a statement yesterday, saying he was “appalled” by the violence and brutality the Syrian government has aimed at its own people, and calling the reports from Hama “horrifying.”

Obama said the United States will continue to increase pressure on the Syrian regime.

- Additional reporting by AP

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute ads2⃣️0⃣️1⃣️0⃣️1⃣️™️
    Favourite ads2⃣️0⃣️1⃣️0⃣️1⃣️™️
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:13 PM

The only thing that trump has “made great again” is Saturday night live.

They’re on feckin fire at the moment

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:48 PM

Has it been on an 8 year hiatus? I don’t recall weekly updates for us here in Ireland of SNL satirising the Obama administration.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:53 PM

Sorry you’re upset that your hero trump and his admin are being satirised John. If you were honest with yourself you could admit that trump, Spicer etc throw fuel on the fire whereas Obama and many more before had the sense to just laugh it off.

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:54 PM

They’ve gone after every president. Trump is the only one thing skinned enough to take offense. That makes it newsworthy.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:56 PM

I’m not upset that the Trump administration is being satirised merely illustrating that SNL is an attack vehicle of the left and the Democrat party having taken the last 8 years on hiatus from political satire it would seem.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:04 PM

@peterking Are you for real watch RTE BBC CNN Sky news…. This time it’s different …..95% of US media hate Trump…No matter what he does….Obama was able to bomb Muslim countries ship advanced weapons to Jahadi rebels… Deport almost 3 million people from the US without US media even mentioning it…

Mute Pat O'Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O'Dwyer
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:14 PM

@Tony Canning: Laugh it off ?Just let’s hope he does not murder as many women, children , old people and innocent bystanders as OBOMBA did. One minute clip.
    https://www.facebook.com/ajplusenglish/videos/879312705543571/

Mute Martin Fahy
    Favourite Martin Fahy
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:20 PM

John, I watch it regularly and they have been satirising Obama for years, but Obama didn’t give a tuppence about it.
    Don’t you understand that the reason the Trump administration lampooning is getting so much publicity and being reported over here as well, is solely down to Trump’s comments on Twitter showing it has got under his very sensitive skin. Has he kept his trap shut you’d only have heard of Alec Baldwin’s impression once.
    But Trump is just comedy gold to SNL.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:25 PM

I must have missed all the weekly “OMG SNL just totally SKEWERED Obama” “watch SNL EPIC TAKEDOWN of Obama administration” headlines the last 8 years.

Mute Martin Fahy
    Favourite Martin Fahy
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:28 PM

You really need don’t get it do you

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:36 PM

Martin have you any totally epic takedowns of Obama and his administration in particular that you could recommend please be sure that it’s as epic a skewering mind you.

Mute Pat O'Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O'Dwyer
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:40 PM

@Pat O’Dwyer: Modern day fascism with a smile on it’s face.

Mute Pat O'Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O'Dwyer
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:45 PM

@Pat O’Dwyer: The US have killed more than 20 million People in 37 Victim Nations Since World War II – in order to subvert democracy ( In the name of democracy of course) And now ?
    by AnonWatcher

Recently, the world commemorated another anniversary of the 9/11 attacks, which changed the world as we knew it, and has since, cast a terroristic haze over the planet. The War on Terror was engaged; the premise was a globally united citizen, freedom was under attack, “God Bless America.”
    Admitting, in the famous Bush speech, to rally the world to a new war, he stated this:
    “The Americans have known wars, but for the past 136 years, they have been wars on foreign soil, except for one Sunday in 1941 [Pearl Harbour].”
    It is with this quote that I bring the attention to the countless deaths over not 136 years, but only those since World War II, that the United States of America can be partially held culpable.
    http://anonhq.com/war-on-terror-lest-we-forget-the-u-s-coup-detat/

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:50 PM

Do ye not remember the Kate McKinnon-Hillary Clinton impression or the Larry David-Bernie Sanders one? As for the Obama administration, what about Luther the anger translator. Obama had him perform alongside him at the correspondents dinner. As with every US president SNL had an Obama impersonator. Larry Wilmore dropped a drone joke amongst other criticism when he performed at the correspondent dinner. The difference is rather than ignoring/embracing the criticism Trump has openly shown his annoyance at it. Stop being such “snowflakes” and take a joke. You are the establishment now, the window where you can still deflect criticism is closing. Soon Trump will actually have to take responsibility for what he says and does rather than saying “but . . . but her emails.”

Mute Pat O'Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O'Dwyer
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:56 PM

@Pat O’Dwyer. Only lies to make us hate Muslims. Divide and rule. Please watch following short clip.
    https://www.facebook.com/Be7hechange/videos/547818588758588/

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:00 PM

@John Smith: Awwww, u hurt, snowflake???

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:03 PM

@Martin Fahy: Of course he doesnt, Martin. It hurts his feelings. Trump is a publicity seeking prostitute. He gets what he deserves.

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:10 PM

Just some examples of SNL criticising Obama, don’t let facts get in the way of a good persecution complex. ISIS: https://youtu.be/1MaHPx5aCuw

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:15 PM

Here’s the entire cast of SNL singing “To Sir, with Love” in homage to their messiah Obama leaving office, this is all you need to know: https://youtu.be/6ZqCIy-2myY

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:16 PM

For some reason I can’t post links. But I found several videos of snl criticising Obama Search on YouTube: Capitol Hill cold open, Ebola czar cold open, Obama 60 minutes cold open. Anyone have any idea why I can’t post links but others can? Seems a little strange.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:18 PM

@Liam stop whining snowflake.

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:22 PM

When did I whine? I’ve literally only posted facts.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:25 PM

“why can’t I post links but others can?” waaaaaaa

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:34 PM

Turns out (best I can tell) there’s a block on comments with more than one link. I was literally just asking how other people were getting links in their posts. I was trying to post a comment with 5 links and maybe 10 other words. They were obviously blocking me as spam. I wasn’t aware asking a single question constitutes whining.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:41 PM

What did you think of SNL tearful farewell homage to Obama? Do you think they’ll do likewise with President Trump?

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:51 PM

I don’t think anyone will be thanking Trump for anything in a few years, his supporters included. How did you feel about SNL when Trump hosted?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:56 PM

I thought SNL was thrash then and it’s still thrash. Would you ceed that the tearful homage to Obama demonstrates SNL’s ideological/political bias?

Mute William Kavanagh
    Favourite William Kavanagh
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:06 PM

@ads2⃣️0⃣️1⃣️0⃣️1⃣️™️: SNL condones the immigration crises created by Obama and Hilary, and also children floating dead in the sea….. Again, created by Obama and Hilary… But Nordstrom! National disaster!

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:12 PM

The joke was about how terrifying an unknown the Trump presidency was/is. The “tears” we’re not entirely sincere. Colbert did a similar (but better) bit in character where he feigns crying at the end and begs Obama to stay as he’s the only thing that defines him. I’ve already shown that SNL did critique Obama/Hillary/Sanders. I would guess the writing staff does probably lean left but it didn’t stop them from criticising Obama for numerous things, anyways it’s a comedy program so who gives af. You’re the only one who wants your chosen politician to be free from criticism. Trump is the one who feels the need to attack a comedy show. Funny that the “ideology” of a comedy show is so important to you yet I assume you have no problem with breitbart, fox News etc. However I will definitely cede that you don’t know how to spell cede or trash.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:14 PM

I’m glad you can finally admit they’re biased.

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:22 PM

I never said they were biased. I said the writing staff probably does lean left (given geographic/industry etc. context) but still critiqued politicians on the left. That is the opposite of biased. Everyone has a point of view being impartial isn’t about not holding a view it’s about not letting your ideology effect your decisions and who you critique. Which as I have shown SNL have not. I lean left in my ideology but I still critique Obama (and others) for many things, drones, prisons, human rights abuses, etc. You on the other hand are biased as you cannot admit a single fault in one of the most fault-ridden politicians in history.

Mute Warthog
    Favourite Warthog
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:57 PM

@Liam Mc Loughlin:

They may have done so but they were not ever reported on day in day out like the satires on Trump are! That is the “truth” of the matter. It is like the so called “Liberal Left” are trying to compensate for the great disappointment, shock of Trump been elected by taking solace in all things “negative” about him! That to me is the funniest thing of all.

Mute Liam Mc Loughlin
    Feb 12th 2017, 9:14 PM

That is a blatant lie with no factual basis. A quick Google Search finds lots of examples of MSNBC, FOX news, breitbart, vanity fair, Washington Post, salon, vox, the blaze and many others covering SNL pieces mocking liberals. Like everyone has pointed out it is Trump’s constant reactions that make the coverage more widespread. Comedy has always been about poking fun at the establishment, Trump is now the establishment, he is a rich vein of comedy gold. His reactions make the comedy bits newsworthy internationally. And his unpopularity drives people to click/share the stories meaning more coverage. If Trump and his supporters could stop being so perpetually offended at everything it wouldn’t get such traction. Understand “snowflake”

Mute Larry Kavanagh
    Favourite Larry Kavanagh
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:20 AM

@John Smith: That’s because there wasn’t enough negative material to satirise Obama.

Mute John Gilsenan
    Favourite John Gilsenan
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:56 AM

Seems to me you’re as sensitive as Orange face, guess it’s a Republican thing

Mute John Gilsenan
    Favourite John Gilsenan
    Feb 14th 2017, 1:59 AM

Jesus Pat take a breath, or a laxitive!!

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:37 PM

The American people elected a buffoon to be president who selected a clown for his press secretary and jackasses for his cabinet. They are entitled to the fruits of their decision which includes the mega mockery SNL dishes out. So could all you critics of SNL’s skits just shut it. The American people have spoken. It’s not for you to question their decision.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Martello Mulligan: Like you, we happen to live in a free country like Ireland so we can make loads of comments here freely as we much like to whether good or bad. So not very democratic, are you?

Mute Mark Mcloughlin
    Favourite Mark Mcloughlin

@Martello Mulligan:@Martello Mulligan:they spoke when they elected Trump actually. Anything after is meaningless including that stupid show and all who watch it.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen

@Martello Mulligan:

Indeed, in fairness Spicer must have the toughest job on the planet. Getting inside the head of Donald Trump and explaining his Tweets and rants to the world, and pretending that was government policy all along.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:58 PM

SNL represents the Hollywood/NYC elitist bubble that gave the world President Trump in the first place. More of it will only help him.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:17 PM

Philip must not realise the popular vote is irrelevant to the US electoral system.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:08 PM

YAWN!

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:12 PM

This article has been up for over 7 hours without a single comment.
    SNL is a like a joke. Great the first time you hear it bit really boring when you hear it for the thousandth time.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:22 PM

This is a CNN news story…..Most of the Trump stories on Irish media are just cut and pasted from CNN…..SNL very poor and obvious compared to Spitting Image…

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:23 PM

What doesn’t get boring the thousandth time? Making sweet love to the same beautiful woman gets boring the thousandth time!

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:27 PM

But hey, if it brings a little ray of sunshine into the existence of the anti Trump brigade during the next four years of their Great Depression then who am I to knock it.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:29 PM

@Rudy Rameerez: I’d rather read MAD magazines than watch SNL. Why? This drivel that is called SNL is rarely funny. Take a look at YouTube to see the vids of SNL past & present and you’ll know why…

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:33 PM

@john:
    Dunno, took me 37 thousand gos to tire of Cead Mile Failte,

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:52 PM

Poor snowflake Trumpanzees defending The Orange One’s honour. Do you not see the man himself is a joke?

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:46 PM

Did you see Sean’s little motorized podium? Oh how we laughed, we drank champagne, we cried, we group hugged, we stood at the wall and chanted ‘He shall not divide us’
    Then we remembered there’s four more years of Donald and we had a Total Meltdown.
    Please, someone help us.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 10:55 PM

I think you need to deal with your obsession with Alex Falcone.
    Maybe get a girlfriend or something.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 12th 2017, 10:57 PM

@Rudy Rameerez: a new poster thinks I have an obsession with an old poster. How would a new arrival on the Journal even know that? Weird.

Take a break for a while, Alex – you’ve been at it all week. Speaking of needing a life or a girlfriend.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:34 PM

@Jason Maguire:
    ‘At it all week’
    Some achievement considering I only signed up today.
    I noticed you mentioning this Alez Falcone on other forums I browsed through today.
    Is this your gig? Stalking other people and getting them banned?
    Weirdo.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:38 PM

@Rudy Rameerez: lol – nice try, Alex.

“Oh who is this ‘Alez’ character you refer to? I can’t even spell his name because I’m not him!”

You must have browsed a lot of pages, because the last article I replied to him in is now on page 5. And what a memory you have too! Casually noticing interactions between people on your very first day – on articles that have >100 comments! What a clever boy!

You’ve been outed, you troll.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:46 PM

@Jason Maguire
    As I say, cure your obsession, move on, it’s a free forum, a free country.
    Stop stalking people.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:49 PM

Whatever’s eating you, get over it, life’s too short.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:50 PM

@Jason Maguire:
    We’re all here to have fun, tune in, get with the programme.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:54 PM

lol – outed.

All that signing up again so you could start fresh, and you get outed on Day 1.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:06 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    Go ahead, get me banned again if it somehow makes you feel smug and superior.
    No skin off my nose. Actually most contributors here have had numerous accounts along the way, that’s par for the course. Including your self I might add.
    As I say, tune in, have a laugh.
    It’s the Journal ffs, not the Citizen’s Assembly.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:09 AM

@Rudy Rameerez: I’ve never gotten you banned or ever reported one of your posts.

So did your Alex Falcone account get banned? I wasn’t aware – and it wasn’t me. Sorry to hear. I reply to people – I don’t report them.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:10 AM

“As I say, tune in, have a laugh.”

No, you say things like “Who is Alez Falcone?”

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:15 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    Well if you keep drawing attention to me then you’ll definitely get me banned and I’ll have to open account No 13. Then you’ll get all high and mighty, do your Inspector Clouseau thing again and round and round we’ll go for all eternity.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:16 AM

@Rudy Rameerez: then let’s keep this our little secret. Wink wink. ;-)

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:20 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    ‘So did your Alex Falcone account get banned?’
    Why do you think I’ve had so many different accounts here? Like most people.
    Excessive moderation of anyone who isn’t a card carrying member of the liberal club.
    Dissenting views are frowned upon here.
    Anyway, I’ll definitely be banned again now so see you in the next cartoon.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:22 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    Good to know you have my back bro.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:22 AM

Just stop being so ubiquitous & constant, FFS! You stand out like a sore thumb. You’re in nearly every article – pear it back a bit & you can last a few years on 1 account.

Hope it works out for you. Seems to be all you have going on.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:27 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    pare*

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:29 AM

Cool. Let’s tag team for a while & see how it works out. Might be fun.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:30 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    ‘Seems to be all you have going on.’
    Cmon, admit it, my presence has given you a focus in your life lately.
    Some sort of symbiotic bucket of sh*t.

Mute Rudy Rameerez
    Favourite Rudy Rameerez
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:31 AM

@Jason Maguire:
    Anyway, look, take care dude.
    (mum’s the word)

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Feb 13th 2017, 6:53 AM

@Rudy Rameerez: You said not too long ago that you kept on forgetting your passwords,dude.You wouldn’t be spoofing us,spoofer? At least you don’t be having conversations with your other accounts on here…oh wait..Yikes!

Mute Trish Forde-Brennan
    Favourite Trish Forde-Brennan
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:49 PM

Melissa McCarty is comedic genius. SNL is my weekly highlight.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:42 PM

Boring. Journalists must be the only ones who still watch that show #WeAreTheResistance

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:57 PM

You’re such a little cry baby.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:44 PM

@John Smith you’re starting to sound like the head Trumpanzee, calling all of his detractors overrated/fake/trash/losers. Is there a phrasebook that you guys use or is it more a follow the leader thing?

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:40 PM

@John Smith: No. Lots of people watch it.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/snl-highest-ratings_us_58a09294e4b0ab2d2b15e39b?ncid=tweetlnkushpmg00000067
    Remember the voters rejected Cheetoh Christ, you silly little Trumpanzee.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:21 PM

First outing last week was brilliant . Last night no so . You can only do a Spicer skit press conference a couple of times more and then there is nothing new . Then it will be the same every week .

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:29 PM

It’s not so much the skit that’s funny as the idea of winding up the Trump administration and it’s supporters. In isolation the skit itself wound wear thin very quickly but as long as the people being skewered keep reacting it’ll never get old.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:45 PM

@Robert Preston: For as long as Spicer, Conway and Trump continue behaving as grotesquely as they have, there will be plenty of new material for mockery.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith

Oh ye they’ve totally pwned the Trump administration I’d say they’re on the verge of quitting and walking away. “#WeAreTheResistance and we just totally and epically SKEWERED the Trump admin”.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:55 PM

Apparently Spicer was pretty cranky at being sent up by a woman. Knowing that makes it funnier to see the bracelet and shoes stuff.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:08 PM

@John Smith: Awwww, the ba ba ba is cwying. Change his nappy, ma.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    Feb 12th 2017, 11:18 PM

@James: Yes but SNL has an audience and ad breaks . If no ones watching and is bored they wont make money . So if its aimed at Trump administration it wont last long

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:30 PM

Why does the left idolise world renowned homophobe and child abuser Alec Baldwin?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 12th 2017, 6:53 PM

Getting a little defensive I see. Calm down snowflake.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:08 PM

Do you support child abuse? Sounds like it.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:14 PM

@John Smith:What is the latest product that ye precious snowflakes will be boycotting this week? Ye Trump minions are so flakey.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:17 PM

What gives you that idea? I’m not even religious. Ps. You’re a supporter of the ginger skinned sex abuser.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:23 PM

You just rushed to the defence of Alec Baldwin who is a world renowned child abuser.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:45 PM

If you have information about a child abuser, I urge you to notify the relevant authorities. What do you know?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:02 PM

Baldwin to his daughter: “I don’t care that you’re twelve or eleven or whatever, are you pig enough to pick it up? I’m a good father, and you’re a pig. I don’t give a shit. Good father. You think this is abuse? You think this is abuse, you thoughtless pain in the ass? Get mad you daughter-of-a-bitch. Get mad. You know what it takes to answer my call? It takes brass balls to answer my call. Go and do likewise. The phone is ringing, you pick it up, it’s yours, you don’t, I got no sympathy for you. I’d wish you good luck, but you wouldn’t know what to do with it if you got it. You better be ready Friday the 20th to meet with me. Pig. Oh, also, tell your mother I said “Go f**k yourself.” This is Dad, ring me back when you get a chance.

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 8:38 PM

@John Smith: Baldwin is not the leader of the free world, dumbo. Trump wants to bang his own daughter.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 12th 2017, 9:04 PM

And that’s child abuse? That’s a bollocking. Sex abuse is what the head Trumpanzee is accused of.

Mute John Gilsenan
    Favourite John Gilsenan
    Feb 14th 2017, 2:09 AM

Snowflake, you got majors issues

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:15 PM

Funny, but…… Spicer seems like one of the very few almost affable members of Drumpfs inner circle. Soft target. Wonder why they seem so reluctant (scared? ) to go after KAC instead?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Feb 12th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Liam Dunne: Guessing you don’t actually watch SNL then since Kate McKinnon plays Kellyanne every week, they even had a musical number about her last week.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sb9ybImGwkU

Mute Philip Gerard
    Favourite Philip Gerard
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:12 PM

@Rochelle: That was a great take on Chicago. It looks like SNL is entering another golden age. It’s the best writing since Tina Fey was taking down Palin 8 years ago. Baldwin may be the best president ever.

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Feb 12th 2017, 7:27 PM

What a load of baloney maloney jobloney youse silly people. Trump is in. He will stay in. He will drive youse out of your trees. He has created a situation where the next iSIL attack will be blamed on the democrat better described as demobrats.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Feb 13th 2017, 12:30 AM

@Val Martin: he won’t stay in – he’ll be impeached very soon.

Mute Noel Deegan
    Favourite Noel Deegan
    Feb 14th 2017, 8:58 AM

She is a breath of fresh air at Mo. Hit the nail on the head so funny and that’s all we can do at the moment, is laugh at stupidity of it all.