You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sub-Saharan migrants walk toward a humanitarian emergency stall on arrival at the Port of Malaga in 2019. Alamy Stock Photo

MEPs pass resolution calling for EU-led search and rescue mission in Mediterranean

The resolution requires EU members and Frontex to provide vessels, equipment and personnel to contribute to an EU-led search and rescue mission.

THE EUROPEAN UNION Parliament has passed a resolution today that will see the bloc establish a search and rescue (SAR) mission to aid boats in distress in the Mediterranean, something that has not been in place since 2019. 

The resolution calls for the establishment of a “comprehensive EU SAR mission implemented by the Member States’ competent authorities and Frontex”. It was tabled by Fianna Fáil MEP Barry Andrews.

The resolution requires EU members and Frontex to provide vessels, equipment and personnel to contribute to an EU-led search and rescue mission. 

Frontex is the EU’s border agency and while it does carry out a small number of rescue operations, its remit in the Mediterranean in recent years has largely been to spot boats in distress from its planes and alert local coastguards. 

The agency has faced accusations of complicity in illegal pushbacks and other covering up human rights violations. Frontex is aiming to expand its scale and staff numbers significantly over the next few years. 

The resolution also calls on EU member states to cooperate with and make full use of NGO rescue boats working in the area. Many of those NGOs have complained in recent years that EU and individual state policies are directly hampering their efforts and leading to unnecessary loss of life at sea.  

So far this year, 1,895 people have been reported dead or missing in the Mediterranean, according to UN migration organisation IOM. 

Third countries 

The resolution also calls on the EU Commission to provide comprehensive information about the types of support the EU and its member states provide to authorities and coastguards in third countries, including Libya, Turkey, Egypt, Tunisia and Morocco.

Authorities in Tunisia and Libya in particular have been condemned by NGOs working in the area for their practices and the conditions migrants face while stranded in the two countries. 

The Libyan coastguard has been shown through a recent UN Human Rights Council investigation to be a criminal organisation.  

A UN report found that the Libyan authorities were implicated in a long list of human rights violations and crimes against humanity, including arbitrary detention, murder, torture, rape, enslavement, sexual slavery, extrajudicial killings and enforced disappearances.

Under current EU policy, the bloc funds, trains and equips the Libyan coastguard in an effort to stop migrant boats from leaving Africa in the first place. They also intercept and return boats that do make it to sea before they get to EU state search and rescue zones. 

The parliamentary resolution comes in the wake of one of the worst shipwrecks in the Mediterranean in recent memory, when the Adriana, which was carrying about 500 people, sank off the Greek coast in mid June and resulted in hundreds of deaths. 

Internal tensions 

It also comes amidst ongoing tensions between Mediterranean member states, particularly Italy and Greece, and the rest of the bloc. 

Those two countries are the most common arrival points for people attempting to cross the sea. This led to the recent establishment of a system whereby other EU states can take in more asylum seekers from Italy and Greece, or pay those countries instead. 

The Irish government recently opted to make the payment rather than accept more refugees.   

The Journal reported last month on the situation facing those who arrive on the Greek island of Lesbos, where there have been reports of boats being pushed back to sea and masked men driving unmarked cars and intimidating people who disembark there. 

The Greek government under newly re-elected prime minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis has begun to withhold food and other services from those who do not have their asylum claim accepted and for those that do, meaning many of them end up homeless on Lesbos. 

Italy introduced a law this year under the government of right-wing prime-minister Giorgia Meloni that restricts NGOs from conducting more than one rescue per trip. It also has an unlegislated policy which forces them to travel to farther northern ports instead of the nearest port of safety. 

NGO rescue boats are detained for several days if they are found to violate this new law despite the fact that it contravenes the international law of the sea, which mandates that vessels respond to distress calls without prejudice. 

A group of five NGOs issued a joint statement today demanding that the EU Commission scrutinise the new law. The statement was put out by Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders (MSF), Oxfam Italia, SOS Humanity, Association for Juridical Studies on Immigration (ASGI) and EMERGENCY.

As part of the joint statement, Giulia Capitani, migration policy advisor at Oxfam Italia said: 

“Search and rescue NGOs are the ones filling the shameful void at sea left by EU member states. Rather than obstructing their work, EU member states should involve them in setting up a proper system for search and rescue activities.”

Following the news of the resolutions adoption, MSF’s search and rescue representative Juan Matías Gil said: 

“Today, the European Parliament, representing the citizens of the EU, adopted a Resolution on the need for the European Union to step up its efforts in saving lives at sea and to invest in proactive state-led search and rescue activities.

“We call upon the European Commission and EU States to take this call from the European Parliament seriously and urgently invest in life-saving rescue capacities.

“The European Parliament also calls on the role of the European Commission in ensuring EU States take on their duties with regards to search and rescue, as outlined in international maritime law.

“The European Parliament’s Resolution amplifies our call for the Commission to take action and take the necessary steps to ensure the fundamental rights of people in distress at sea are respected and the obstruction of life-saving work of NGOs at sea finally comes to an end.”

Irish MEPs

Ahead of the vote, a number of Irish MEPs had called for the adoption of the resolution including Andrews who said:

“EU Member States continue to flout international law in their refusal to render assistance of those in distress. According to international maritime law, both shipmasters and States have an obligation to render assistance to those in distress at sea regardless of their nationality, status or the circumstances in which they are found, and irrespective of the intentions of those on-board.”

He had scathing remarks pointed at Greek authorities regarding the recent tragedy that occurred off the coast of Greece when a ship carrying over 500 people sank, resulting in hundreds of deaths. 

“Although investigations are ongoing, it appears that the Greek authorities were informed hours before the boat eventually sank. This is nothing short of immoral and cannot be tolerated in the European Union” he said.

Following the sinking of the Adriana, which brought the situation in the Mediterranean back to the fore of EU political discourse, the New York Times reported that Greek authorities had known about the boat’s difficulties for hours before acting.  

“Conditions in the Mediterranean and neighbouring shores have never been more deadly, with more arrivals each year and less assistance than ever. The Libyan authorities continue to arbitrarily detain hundreds of thousands of migrants, subjecting them to inhumane conditions. 

“I felt that the time was ripe to revisit the 2019 resolution, and am very glad that this request was approved. Now the priority is ensuring that this resolution passes. The 2019 vote was a stain on the reputation of this house. I sincerely hope that the EPP group will do the right thing.”

In response to the adoption of the resolution, MEP for Dublin Ciarán Cuffe said: 

“The EU’s failure to provide a Search and Rescue mission almost 10 years after the height of this crisis is utterly unacceptable. The Mediterranean is now the world’s deadliest migration route, counting over 27,0000 people missing and presumed dead since 2014. 

“And still, we hear calls for a ‘Fortress Europe’ response from EU governments. If we are a Union based on human rights and rule of law, we are bound to help those in distress at sea. Anything less is an abdication of our moral duties, and legal responsibilities.”

Speaking from the European Parliament in Strasbourg, MEP Grace O’Sullivan said: “I travelled to Lesbos earlier this year for the trial of Irish humanitarian Seán Binder who has been criminalised for search and rescue. 

“The testimony of refugees and NGOs in Greece has highlighted a culture of intimidation, illegal pushbacks and racist attacks by Greek authorities. We need a search and rescue mission that is overseen and coordinated by the EU and we need to urgently protect search and rescue workers from persecution.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:23 AM

People seem to be taking this pay claim personally. Unlike comparisons being made in this comments section, this is no longer a state company or a semi state, it has long been privatised. I would imagine any potential increase to fares would be minimal and likely only a few euros. What concerns me more is how the management team seem to be running the place to the ground with zero repercussions to their jobs and pay. There is no consideration to their staff, or to us, their passengers. The focus of the management is purely to get the most money out of us and then move on to their next airline and exploit staff and passengers there.

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:35 AM

@KB: fire 5 a day until they see sense

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jul 2nd 2024, 6:32 AM

@John D Doe: hope you mean 5 management

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 1st 2024, 8:42 AM

Meanwhile, it takes the heat of the Government at thousands of young Gentlemen come for a better life, maybe they are Pilots

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:19 AM

@Terry Molloy: Think you need some fresh air.. the majority of people can digest more than one story!!! As for “Takes the heat off” .. that comment just shows you come with an agenda.

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 1st 2024, 1:15 PM

@Tom Kelly: Not really Tom, but don’t you think people deserve a holiday after all that has happened in the last few years and some have saved for a few years for a holiday, but this smoke screen doesn’t hide other major problems in this country…just and observation that all

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:50 PM

@Terry Molloy: I’m going to need stats, Terry. Seeing as it’s common knowledge that refugees make up very little of the population.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jul 2nd 2024, 5:13 AM

@Jen McC: Well, I’m for immigration, my partner is not Irish born, but is an Irish citizen now. But the stats are over: 136k refugees in Ireland (104 – Ukrainian, 32 – not Ukrainian). Of the non-ukrainian (32k), 20k of those have arrived so far in 2024. Links will be below. Of a population of approx. 5.2 million, a total of 1.15 million are foreign born (I.e. 1/5 of the population. Links in next comment due to max word amount.

Mute Andrew Lavelle
    Favourite Andrew Lavelle
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:18 AM

@Alan Wright: careful Alan. People are not interested in facts.

Mute Lydia Mcloughlin
    Favourite Lydia Mcloughlin
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:32 AM

400% increase on 2022, was this not just after Covid lock down? Such increases would not have been hard!

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:42 AM

@Lydia Mcloughlin: ialpa pilots were 100% less productive on Saturday morning than they were a year ago…their wages should be cut
    Easy to make stats suit any argument

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Jul 1st 2024, 8:22 AM

@Lydia Mcloughlin: lockdown was 2020 and 2021. 2022 was a busy year for the airline. Dublin airport had 28.1 million passengers in 2022. Similar to 2016/17…… Last year was similar to 2019

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Jul 1st 2024, 8:30 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec:
    firstly dublin Airport and aer lingus are different companies
    Also alot of debt from2020 and 2021 would have been written off in 2022

Jul 1st 2024, 8:45 AM

@hi from heaven: Firstly, all of Aerlingus passenger in Dublin are counted in Dublin airport figures because guess what? They use Dublin airport to get on Aerlingus planes don’t they!!!…..it’s to give an indication of how travel bounced back.

Mute Daniel Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel Sullivan
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:23 AM

@Lydia Mcloughlin: Aer Lingus lost about €700 million across 2020 and 2021.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:50 PM

@Daniel Sullivan: And that coincided with what exactly? The industry as a whole lost 168 billion in 2020 alone.. its very important to contextualise things don’t you think.. And AL pilot’s suffered a 50% pay reduction for long periods during the years you mention .. Again context is key.

Mute Chris Wilson
    Favourite Chris Wilson
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:22 AM

2 hour delay last night flying to Croatia. Aer Lingus is shambles.

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:32 AM

@Chris Wilson: lucky to get going .Enjoy Croatia beautifull country and hope you get back safely and on time.

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:39 AM

@Chris Wilson: no, aer lingus pilots are a disgrace…
    Every time people get wages and payouts (rte executives and charity top brass members)of 200k and above it just makes the rest of us poorer..
    After buying the 750k house and two 100k cars , what else do these people do with the money..at 45 these people have money to burn and buy 2nd and 3rd houses for renting out which inflates the cost of houses for people who earn a good salary of 60000 euro…

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:44 AM

@Chris Wilson: sure a 2 hr delay on flights is just par for the course whether with Ryanair or ar Lingus

Mute Chris Wilson
    Favourite Chris Wilson
    Jul 1st 2024, 7:45 AM

@Willie Marty: oh i will. Thank you

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jul 1st 2024, 8:28 AM

@hi from heaven: I hope that is an attempt at humour, if its not then it is probably the most ignorant economic analysis I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen some doozies.

Jul 1st 2024, 8:30 AM

@hi from heaven: Around half of their salary is tax so it supports the state. 200k is around 98.5k after deductions…… Should people not be paid big money for big important jobs?!?! These lads earn it….. Cost of living is 20%+, this increase would add about €4.50 to a fare based on last year’s passenger numbers and EI would maintain the same profit. That’s a 6.5% increase on a €70 fare.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 1st 2024, 8:32 AM

@hi from heaven: So I take it you have never asked for a pay rise? You wouldn’t want others to get poorer just so you could have a few extra euros would you?

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Jul 1st 2024, 8:35 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: Your numbers are all off. They might be right if you are talking about the last 200k of their salary assuming the rest is above the top tax rate already and they didn’t hive any of it off to pensions. Also a 6.5% ticket price increase just to fund pilot salary rises? What about the rest of the staff?

Mute hi from heaven
    Favourite hi from heaven
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:50 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec:
    98.5k didn’t realise aer lingus was not allowing them to avail of the 20% tax rate up to 42k or their tax free allowance of 3750 or equivalent depending on their marital status

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:06 AM

@Chris Wilson: we were due back from Turkey Saturday, got to airport , flight cancelled , flocked to a manky hotel by the Turkish airport staff. Not one email or message from AL, got the toddler to bed maybe midnight, couldn’t sleep as didn’t know when we needed to be back airport. Flight was 2pm next day, this was delayed an hour and half, got in the plane and pilot tells us we don’t have enough fuel to get to Dublin so we had to stop in Rome to re fuel , an hour and half on the ground there. 7 hours in total on the flight. Pilot bad mouthing aer lingus the whole way saying when he left Dublin sat he knew he wasn’t returning that day but Al never told yous or the cabin crew. And the only reason they left Dublin late is AL de crewed the flight for no reason and had to re crew.

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:20 AM

@hi from heaven: You could always invest in flight school or extra education for the other positions you’ve mentioned and earn this kind of pay if you feel you’re getting poorer.

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:31 AM

@another one? what’s going on is the semi state sec: so we should do the same and you would support that.

Mute David Bergin
    Favourite David Bergin
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:42 AM

Give em few quid and let’s all go on a summer holiday

Mute John D Doe
    Favourite John D Doe
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:00 AM

Start handing out a few P45s

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jul 1st 2024, 2:27 PM

@John D Doe: time to loose all the gold braiding too! So few airlines have that now!!

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:01 AM

Nobody should be paid more than the Taoiseach or Tánaiste to fly a plane.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:05 AM

@Chaotic State: Should singers be paid less than our leaders for singing a song? Should football players be paid less than our leaders for kicking a ball around for 90 mins? Where do you draw the line at who gets paid more than our leaders?

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:16 AM

@Chaotic State: everyone should be paid more that them

Mute New Boy
    Favourite New Boy
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:19 AM

@Chaotic State: They should not be paid

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Jul 1st 2024, 1:17 PM

Aer Shambles & their ransomers need to read the room nationally. Neither side has a bucket load of sympathy for either cause. We want what you’ve already marketed, taken money for and issued booking references. Lets give you both the benefit of saying it again YOUR INTERNAL BUSINESS OPERATIONS ARE NONE OF OUR BUSINESS, we paid, our job is to sort our liquids & gels, be at the gate on time and obey the fasten seatbelt sign. Both parties go act like professionals today, get the job done or just lock the gate permanently.

Mute Éanna o Sca
    Favourite Éanna o Sca
    Jul 1st 2024, 2:27 PM

@Sandra Molloy: or if pilots are so unhappy..leave!! No one is putting a gun to their head to stay

Mute Mike B
    Favourite Mike B
    Jul 1st 2024, 4:32 PM

@Éanna o Sca: that’s not how unions work, if AL succeeds at union busting it will set a precedent, and future pilots will refuse to work there which will lead to AL’s demise and goodbye to our “national airline” which was sold off by the government

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:05 AM

Disgraceful greedy aholes. They get paid to fly a glorified bus. I’d sack the lot of them

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:09 AM

@David Fox: A glorified bus? You could literally jump in a bus driver’s seat right now and drive the bus without any training, jump in pilots seat and try to fly a plane without training and see how you get on.

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:24 AM

@David Fox: does that 9 on your profile signify your IQ.? Just asking.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:42 AM

@Ger Whelan: the lads that flew the planes in 9-11 got on okay. You also need training and a different licence for a bus. You are obviously one of them pilots that think they are above everyone. Must be great up on that pedestal while hard working people miss out on holidays. Will never fly aer Lingus again, in fact hope they go bust and see them pilots rocking up to the dole queue in their fancy cars.

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jul 1st 2024, 10:45 AM

@orb7eckn: this is a very insensitive comment. I can’t believe you would bring that up or that you were even able to post such a comment. Anyway since you did, a bit of further research by yourself will show that they undertook pilot training.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:44 AM

@KB: I know they did along with Microsoft flight simulator. They make it expensive to restrict access, it’s like a private school mentality. No sympathy for the silver spoon brigade

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 1st 2024, 12:06 PM

@orb7eckn: could the hijackers have carried out their plans with the time they spent on training simulators?. So thanks for proving you need training to fly a plane.

Mute KB
    Favourite KB
    Jul 1st 2024, 12:13 PM

@orb7eckn: any worker deserves a pay increase year on year to ensure that their pay affords them the same purchasing power when taking inflation into account. That is what is happening here. The silver spoon brigade you speak of are the ones in management hiding behind a poorly spoken and ill advised corporate affairs person. They have failed to provide enough staff and taken our money for bookings that they can’t accommodate. They have had two years to resolve this situation and have failed and there is no accountability. I can’t stand people commanding c level salaries when they can’t do their jobs. CEO, CFO and Donal the mouthpiece took home €2.8 mill between them in 2022 and this is what they have to show for it!

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jul 1st 2024, 11:07 PM

@orb7eckn: Didn’t the “lads” on 9/11 crash the planes? Anyone can crash a plane, you try landing one in a strong gale force crosswind and let me know how you get on.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Jul 2nd 2024, 8:02 AM

@Anthony Curran: Do the planes not land themselves now ?

Mute Karl Paul
    Favourite Karl Paul
    Jul 1st 2024, 9:29 AM

Apropos of nothing:

A colon can completely change the meaning of a sentence.
    For example.. Roger ate his friend’s lunch. Roger ate his friend’s colon.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jul 1st 2024, 6:52 PM

Somebody’s been telling porkies, apparently the company has offered 12.25%, and more for increased productivity (Aer Lingus pilots fly less hours than Ryanair’s/ less hours than the maximum permitted) and yet Mark Tighe says the company “would not compromise at all”.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Jul 1st 2024, 5:08 PM

Mark Tighe said the increase sought will cost the company €5M per annum, seems very low, 800 pilots, an average of €6,250 a piece?

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jul 2nd 2024, 12:44 AM

@Pat Barry: In fairness, they’re calling it an increase now? When they all took pay cuts during lockdown, was that a decrease? Seems like fair pay restoration to me.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Jul 1st 2024, 5:58 PM

Everyone that’s is working should be given a payrise by law planty of money

Mute vxQ6cYzh
    Favourite vxQ6cYzh
    Jul 2nd 2024, 2:35 AM

Pilots akin to piles, pains in the rear exit. Greedy sods holding the ordinary person to ransom.