You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Evening Fix... now with added Jimmy Stewart and Beau

Here are the things we learned, loved and shared today.

Trees are decorated with lights to celebrate the upcoming Christmas and New Year at Garden of Morning Calm in Gapyeong, South Korea. (AP Photo/Ahn Young-joon)

THINGS WE LEARNED

#POLITICS A new poll has shown that the majority of people in Ireland want a new political party. The Millward Brown opinion poll also showed that 59 per cent of people believe they will be ‘worse off’ this time next year, while just 10 per cent believe they will be better off.

#DEATHS A 32-year-old woman died in a car crash at Ballinneen, Co Cork, overnight. The driver of the car was injured and taken to hospital. Meanwhile, a 50-year-old woman died after being rescued from a fire at her home in Co Carlow at around 4.30am today. Her son spotted the fire on his return home and pulled her out of the blaze, but she did not survive.

#CHURCH OF IRELAND The new Church of Ireland Archbishop, Dr Richard Clarke, has given his views on abortion and gay marriage in an interview this morning. He said he would be “as restrictive as one can with compassion and humanity” when it comes to abortion.

#ASSAULT A man was assaulted by four males during a hate crime attack on a Dublin to Belfast train yesterday. The man suffered a broken nose and also received minor head injuries, police said. An investigation is underway.

#SYRIA At least 60 people, including women and children, are reported to have been killed after a strike hit the town of Halfaya while they were queueing outside a bakery earlier today. This is believed to have been one of the worst strikes to hit Syria since the unrest began.

The high winds last night led to scenes like the above, as captured by reader Dylan Madden in Kilcross, Sandyford, Dublin.

THINGS WE LOVED

THINGS WE SHARED

• The ‘littlest Garda vehicle’ has lost its wheels. We wondered what this was earlier this week, and now a reader has sent us in a pic of the little vehicle without wheels outside Pearse St Garda Station. It’s going nowhere this Christmas.

• Home Alone vs Home Alone 2. Which one do you think should win?
  • Jimmy Stewart is famous for his role in It's A Wonderful Life, the ultimate Christmas movie, but did you know he wrote poems too? If you don't shed a tear during his reading of the poem Beau, about his dog, you've a heart of stone.

(johnnycarson/YouTube)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Pounamustone
    Favourite Pounamustone
    Apr 22nd 2017, 8:48 AM

Okay, unofficial poll: Thumbs up if you want the thumbs down back.

Mute Paul Foot
    Favourite Paul Foot
    Apr 22nd 2017, 8:50 AM

@Pounamustone: NO…they were childish and misused…

Mute Bluepoolroad
    Favourite Bluepoolroad
    Apr 22nd 2017, 10:14 AM

@Paul Foot: I want to down-thumb that! You’re denying me my God-given right to display culturally-significant, hand-digits at appropriate times and places. And this coming from someone called ‘Foot’, it’s cruel and un-natural.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Apr 22nd 2017, 11:49 AM

@Pounamustone: this forum has gone to the dogs as you can see by the enormous drop in the number of people clicking on the thumb to any comment compared to the green/red thumb system is replaced. Political Party trolls love the new system as the absence of a red thumb means they can spout nonsense all day. The old system you could easily spot the trolls and speedily skip past their comments. That is no longer possible and it is easier for trolls to camoflage under the new format. Transparency removed, numbers way down, real debate disappeared.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Apr 22nd 2017, 2:14 PM

@Paul Foot: at 14:12hrs unofficial result 229 for the red thumbs v 48 to keep the unfair ban

Mute Linda
    Favourite Linda
    Apr 22nd 2017, 9:26 AM

Next year it’ll be Westmeath’s lamb!

Mute Bluepoolroad
    Favourite Bluepoolroad
    Apr 22nd 2017, 10:19 AM

@Linda: So it’s a big Thank You to Galway, our sponsor for 2017. (I know ye’re possibly on about the Big Land Grab, but yiz won’t get away with it. Remember Sargeant Costume!)

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Apr 22nd 2017, 9:51 AM

In memory of Fargo Boyle

Mute Stouts O Shea
    Favourite Stouts O Shea
    Apr 22nd 2017, 9:24 AM

Roscommon s version of the ronaldo statue!

Mute Bluepoolroad
    Favourite Bluepoolroad
    Apr 22nd 2017, 10:15 AM

@Stouts O Shea: Only prettier.

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Apr 22nd 2017, 10:04 AM

Mutton to see here!

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Apr 22nd 2017, 11:37 AM

Single Roscommon mens’ favourite pastime enshrined in a statue

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Apr 22nd 2017, 8:58 AM

I have seen those at stag parties.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Apr 22nd 2017, 1:09 PM

@Tony Daly: Be plenty of stains on that sculpture after a saturday night lol.

Mute Yap McGregor
    Favourite Yap McGregor
    Apr 22nd 2017, 9:56 AM

Roscommon? What with all the bleeding news this morning!

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 22nd 2017, 10:48 AM

“This competition is a fraud and a sham and a..fraud!”

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    Apr 22nd 2017, 11:19 AM

@Gavin Mckenna: Watch out for that beasht. I hear it sounds like Liam Neeson chasin a load of hens around in a barrel

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    Apr 22nd 2017, 9:02 AM

Twenty sic sheep left Roscommon for Mayo-one died how many came back.

Mute Ray Reilly
    Favourite Ray Reilly
    Apr 22nd 2017, 11:22 AM

Right now thanks for coming to tonight’s meeting on “what in the name of jaysus are we going to call this festival”… Tom Clancy you said a goat festival? Well they are already doing that in Kerry… oh right well and other animals you can think of… a dog? No that would turn into a dog show so it would… a sheep? A sheep? Are we not feckin bad enough. I think it could turn people way, it doesn’t sound right… well maybe a lamb instead… Christ that’s a great idea everyone rise their hand if you want to call it “a lamb festival”… that’s an over all majority by the two of us… god can’t understand why we didn’t think of this years ago Mick…

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Apr 22nd 2017, 1:00 PM

Suits the stereotype I guess……

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Apr 22nd 2017, 1:08 PM

Call it Ram-esses lol.

Mute Ryan Comiskey
    Favourite Ryan Comiskey
    Apr 22nd 2017, 1:10 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: sap.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Apr 22nd 2017, 10:27 PM

@Ryan Comiskey: Why would you want it called that for? lol.

Mute Ryan Comiskey
    Favourite Ryan Comiskey
    Apr 22nd 2017, 1:09 PM

No to gay marriage. Yes to giant sheep statue. Bog munchers.

Mute Bluepoolroad
    Favourite Bluepoolroad
    Apr 22nd 2017, 1:49 PM

@Ryan Comiskey: ‘Giant sheep statue’? Shlight exhaggeration there! How big is yer man Mark and exactly what is he doing round there at the back door in the photo? We only voted against that gay marriage thing to keep out intruders from Westmeath and Dublin. And enough of this bog fixation. Maybe that’s where you meet people, but not here. If you ever stopped on the way to Galway you’d see Ros is shtoney as hell. As Mark says: native limestone is “special to the people of Roscommon”. So think ‘Ros and limestone’, like we think ‘Galway and endless supply of sheep’. And enough of yer bleatin’, yer not pullin the wool over our eyes now.

Mute Glen Quagmire
    Favourite Glen Quagmire
    Apr 22nd 2017, 3:59 PM

@Ryan Comiskey: Like alot of rural Ireland the young are forced to leave their native counties and even country for jobs etc so Roscommon has the oldest population in Ireland hence why the marriage equality vote was lost there & it was only marginally lost. Also there was plenty of voting areas within the cities, towns & villages of Ireland that only voted in favour of equal marriage in the smallest of margins.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Apr 22nd 2017, 11:51 AM

ba humbug

Mute Turk Oneeighttwo
    Favourite Turk Oneeighttwo
    Apr 22nd 2017, 7:17 PM

The Rossies like the livestock

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Apr 22nd 2017, 6:54 PM

Lets hope, some poor farmer doesn’t get any ideas after a few jars and gets caught with his pants down?