You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/REDPIXEL.PL

Eviction ban and rent freeze to remain in place until at least April

The rent freeze arrangement was due to expire on 10 January 2021 but will now run until 12 April.

THE TEMPORAY BAN on evictions and a rent freeze for those in financial trouble is to be extended until at least April, Cabinet agreed today.

The rent freeze arrangement was due to expire on 10 January 2021 but will now run until 12 April.

At the beginning of the Covid-19 crisis in Ireland a range of protections were put in place for people affected by the pandemic.

The rental protections during the emergency period included the ban on eviction notices and rent increases. These protections ended on 1 August.

Those measures were then replaced by new rental laws, the Residential Tenancies and Valuation Act 2020, which protect renters financially impacted by Covid-19.

People financially impacted cannot see their rent increase while the laws are in operation. The rent can be decreased. 

The eviction ban was put in place again during Ireland’s Level 5 restrictions and essentiality means that people in arrears cannot be evicted unless the notice is due to one of four reasons, which include anti-social behaviour.

Speaking after the Cabinet decision was reported, Labour Senator Rebecca Moynihan says it doesn’t go far enough. 

“An extension of a ban on evictions only for those in rental arrears is insufficient and will not protect vulnerable renters as evictions on other grounds such as sale of property or moving a family member in will still be permitted,” she said.

“We also need clarity from government as to whether this ban will just apply to people who have registered financial difficulties due to Covid-19. Labour believe that the full eviction ban should be extended indefinitely to give renters certainty beyond January.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Mar 10th 2013, 4:02 PM

Rent A Crowd

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Mar 10th 2013, 5:07 PM

Delighted as its lashing rain & bitterly cold in shannon now

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Mar 10th 2013, 3:47 PM

Eh, a couple of million dead based on a lie. Sure they be grand once they get rid of Saddam. Country is distengrating by the day but they cant have a strong Iraq cause then the people might get ideas of keeping the oil for themselves. Keep them in turmoil by divide and conquer perfected in the Congo and many other resource rich nations.

Mute B Lowe
    Favourite B Lowe
    Mar 10th 2013, 4:21 PM

Ah yes, the US, the great bastion of freedom, democracy, justice and opposition to tyranny and oppression wherever it may rear it’s ugly head.

Hmmm……

I guess the unprovoked, illegal invasion of Iraq which has resulted in the deaths of a conservative million Iraqis and led to the displacement of millions of Iraqis who now live in temporary accommodation must have been a blip.

Although, cone to think of it, there have been quite a few ‘blips’. Actually, there have been numerous blips. Where to start?
    Let’s keep on Iraq.
    How about the genocidal sanctions as described by two former UN heads in Iraq of the 90′s which directly led to the deaths of half a million Iraqi children under five.
    How about the leaked stated intent of the US to make life hell for ordinary Iraqis by bombing the countries infrastructure (educational institutions, sewage treatment, water works, civil administration buildings etc) back to the stone age.
    I even had a truly delusional person claim to me last week that the US has provided billing for the reconstruction of Iraq.
    Hmmm…….
    Yes, well if it costs $100 to rebuild what was already there before the US bombs it and the US offers $5 to help rebuild to the standard it was at decades ago that is called a paltry sum.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 10th 2013, 4:47 PM

Is that your real name or are you hiding?

Mute Padraic O'Dwyer
    Favourite Padraic O'Dwyer
    Mar 10th 2013, 6:34 PM

Truth is and remains that the USA invaded Irak illigaly.Fact, Sadam Husein a long time freind of USA with billions of dollars support to make him the man (maniac) he became They even gave him the ingredients for Chemical weapons and gave him satilite pictures of civilian targets to attack in Iran (all to read in wikipedea).untill he nationalized his oil and gas reserves and then made the biggest mistake in his life ,to try to rally some oil producing countries behind him to trade his and their oil and gas on the world market in EUR. This woud have been very good for the EUR bec every barrell of oil that is sold on the world market at the moment, a big percentage goes automaticly back into the USA exchequer, This was the reason that Germany and France did not partake in this War . It would have been very good for europe, Result : USA used an old colonial trick of GB “devide and rule” which provicated a civil war between sunnits and Shihits.Result by latest UN statisticts :at least 300,000 civilian deathts, and a country totaly KAPUT. So Who is to blame ?
    Wikepedia:From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    “Iraqgate” redirects here. For other uses, see Iraqgate (disambiguation).
    Saddam Hussein donated large sums to various institutions in his campaign to curry favour with the United States. He was made an honorary citizen of Detroit in 1980.[1][2]United States support for Iraq during the Iran–Iraq War, against post-revolutionary Iran, included several billion dollars worth of economic aid, the sale of dual-use technology, non-U.S. origin weaponry, military intelligence, Special Operations training, and direct involvement in warfare against Iran.[3][4]
    Support from the U.S. for Iraq was not a secret and was frequently discussed in open session of the Senate and House of Representatives. On June 9, 1992, Ted Koppel reported on ABC’s Nightline, “It is becoming increasingly clear that George Bush, operating largely behind the scenes throughout the 1980s, initiated and supported much of the financing, intelligence, and military help that built Saddam’s Iraq into the power it became”,[5] and “Reagan/Bush administrations permitted—and frequently encouraged—the flow of money, agricultural credits, dual-use technology, chemicals, and weapons to Iraq.”[6]

As Iraq-Kuwait relations rapidly deteriorated, Saddam was receiving conflicting information about how the U.S. would respond to the prospects of an invasion. For one, Washington had been taking measures to cultivate a constructive relationship with Iraq for roughly a decade. The Reagan administration gave Saddam roughly $40 billion in aid in the 1980s to fight Iran, nearly all of it on credit. The U.S. also gave Saddam billions of dollars to keep him from forming a strong alliance with the Soviets.[63] Saddam’s Iraq became “the third-largest recipient of U.S. assistance”.[64]
    U.S. ambassador to Iraq April Glaspie met with Saddam in an emergency meeting on 25 July 1990, where the Iraqi leader stated his intention to give negotiations only… one more brief chance before forcing Iraq’s claims on Kuwait.[65] U.S. officials attempted to maintain a conciliatory line with Iraq, indicating that while George H. W. Bush and James Baker did not want force used, they would not take any position on the Iraq–Kuwait boundary dispute and did not want to become involved.[66] Whatever Glaspie did or did not say in her interview with Saddam, the Iraqis assumed that the United States had invested too much in building relations with Iraq over the 1980s to sacrifice them for Kuwait.[67]
    Iraq quickly found itself bogged down in one of the longest and most destructive wars of attrition of the 20th century. During the war, Iraq used chemical weapons against Iranian forces fighting on the southern front and Kurdish separatists who were attempting to open up a northern front in Iraq with the help of Iran. These chemical weapons were developed by Iraq from materials and technology supplied primarily by West German companies as well as [56] the Reagan administration of the United States which also supplied Iraq with “satellite photos showing Iranian deployments”[57] and advised Hussein to bomb civilian targets in Tehran and other Iranian cities.[58] In a US bid to open full diplomatic relations with Iraq, the country was removed from the US list of State Sponsors of Terrorism. Ostensibly, this was because of improvement in the regime’s record, although former United States Assistant Secretary of Defense Noel Koch later stated, “No one had any doubts about [the Iraqis'] continued involvement in terrorism… The real reason was to help them succeed in the war against Iran.”[59] France sold 25 billion dollars worth arms to Saddam.[49]
    Saddam Hussein donated large sums to various institutions in his campaign to curry favour with the United States. He was made an honorary citizen of Detroit in 1980.[1][2]United States support for Iraq during the Iran–Iraq War, against post-revolutionary Iran, included several billion dollars worth of economic aid, the sale of dual-use technology, non-U.S. origin weaponry, military intelligence, Special Operations training, and direct involvement in warfare against Iran.[3][4]
    Support from the U.S. for Iraq was not a secret and was frequently discussed in open session of the Senate and House of Representatives. On June 9, 1992, Ted Koppel reported on ABC’s Nightline, “It is becoming increasingly clear that George Bush, operating largely behind the scenes throughout the 1980s, initiated and supported much of the financing, intelligence, and military help that built Saddam’s Iraq into the power it became”,[5] and “Reagan/Bush administrations permitted—and frequently encouraged—the flow of money, agricultural credits, dual-use technology, chemicals, and weapons to Iraq.”[6]

As Iraq-Kuwait relations rapidly deteriorated, Saddam was receiving conflicting information about how the U.S. would respond to the prospects of an invasion. For one, Washington had been taking measures to cultivate a constructive relationship with Iraq for roughly a decade. The Reagan administration gave Saddam roughly $40 billion in aid in the 1980s to fight Iran, nearly all of it on credit. The U.S. also gave Saddam billions of dollars to keep him from forming a strong alliance with the Soviets.[63] Saddam’s Iraq became “the third-largest recipient of U.S. assistance”.[64]
    U.S. ambassador to Iraq April Glaspie met with Saddam in an emergency meeting on 25 July 1990, where the Iraqi leader stated his intention to give negotiations only… one more brief chance before forcing Iraq’s claims on Kuwait.[65] U.S. officials attempted to maintain a conciliatory line with Iraq, indicating that while George H. W. Bush and James Baker did not want force used, they would not take any position on the Iraq–Kuwait boundary dispute and did not want to become involved.[66] Whatever Glaspie did or did not say in her interview with Saddam, the Iraqis assumed that the United States had invested too much in building relations with Iraq over the 1980s to sacrifice them for Kuwait.[67]
    Iraq quickly found itself bogged down in one of the longest and most destructive wars of attrition of the 20th century. During the war, Iraq used chemical weapons against Iranian forces fighting on the southern front and Kurdish separatists who were attempting to open up a northern front in Iraq with the help of Iran. These chemical weapons were developed by Iraq from materials and technology supplied primarily by West German companies as well as [56] the Reagan administration of the United States which also supplied Iraq with “satellite photos showing Iranian deployments”[57] and advised Hussein to bomb civilian targets in Tehran and other Iranian cities.[58] In a US bid to open full diplomatic relations with Iraq, the country was removed from the US list of State Sponsors of Terrorism. Ostensibly, this was because of improvement in the regime’s record, although former United States Assistant Secretary of Defense Noel Koch later stated, “No one had any doubts about [the Iraqis'] continued involvement in terrorism… The real reason was to help them succeed in the war against Iran.”[59] France sold 25 billion dollars worth arms to Saddam.[49]

Mute Joe OShea
    Favourite Joe OShea
    Mar 10th 2013, 6:42 PM

Padraic people come on here to read comments, not dissertations.

Mute Padraic O'Dwyer
    Mar 10th 2013, 6:44 PM

Michelle please delete double copy, Ok

Mute B Lowe
    Favourite B Lowe
    Mar 10th 2013, 7:29 PM

Very informative. Thank you Padraic.

Mute Padraic O'Dwyer
    Mar 10th 2013, 11:21 PM

@ Joe O’Shea. Sorry Joseph if I have been boring you.?

Mute Buttoned Coat Skies
    Favourite Buttoned Coat Skies
    Mar 10th 2013, 5:26 PM

Documentary by The Guardian and BBC Arabic on James Steele and US supported Iraqi death & torture squads is essential viewing in relation to the conduct of this war of choice

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/video/2013/mar/06/james-steele-america-iraq-video

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 10th 2013, 7:30 PM

great fantastic lets chase all the Americans out of the country. keep this up lads and maybe they (the Americans) will simply pull all their factories out of the state. ye might consider your jobs and the jobs of your families the next time ye want to bring down a storm upon yourselves.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 10th 2013, 11:31 PM

You, Sir, ate a buffoon.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 10th 2013, 11:32 PM

Are a buffoon not ate a buffoon

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 10th 2013, 11:58 PM

@Sheik Yahbouti what are you sheik of the twitter egg

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 11th 2013, 12:09 AM

@Niall Carson yes i have conscience i am simply telling these people that there will be consequences to their actions. if they choose to to protest this and cause bad publicity and or attack planes with a hatchet like your one did a few years back then don’t be surprised when the Americans pull out to a more friendly country. empires come and go rise and fall it was the Romans then the ottomans then the British then the Americans. do you really think that Shannon is some sort of strategic position for the us air force. do you think that this is actually going to stop anything. they have planes that can circle the globe without refueling. tbh i would rather be living under the American banner of capitalism greed and freedom to do whatever i like (with all its flaws and their are many) then the suicide bombers who decide to blow themselves up when they dont get their way.

Mute Samuel L Plename
    Favourite Samuel L Plename
    Mar 11th 2013, 10:05 AM

Those are the remarks of an ignorant coward. Are you suggesting that American corporations making huge profits and enjoying low corporate tax rates would pull out because we won’t help the US govt kill people? That’s a pretty shallow anti american opinion you have of them. Would Kerry Group pull a profitable operation out of any country that disagreed with Ireland. You know they wouldn’t. Skip the chicken little act, it’s just a comfort blanket for your own inactivity in the face of injustice, or perhaps you like tugging the forelock to the master?

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 11th 2013, 11:58 PM

@Samuel L Plename as to the ignorant coward remark you made your starting to border on personal remarks that is only going to result in your comment getting removed. as to do i think that American companies would move out. yes i think that a countries friendliness towards Americans is one of the factors that American companies look at when setting up a factory somewhere. they are hardly going to set up a factory in the middle of Iran or north Korea are they. as to the last comment about forelocks and masters i am not even sure that is English you will have to translate that into a language i can understand

Mute Eoin Darcy
    Favourite Eoin Darcy
    Mar 10th 2013, 5:32 PM

You stay classy Ireland!

Mute chris topher
    Favourite chris topher
    Mar 10th 2013, 11:06 PM

It’s mad I can remember the war starting at Shannon Airport. Sadam stole somebody’s suit cast and it all kicked off. Gobsh1tes at Shannon with nothing better to do with their time that’s all.

Mute Samuel L Plename
    Favourite Samuel L Plename
    Mar 11th 2013, 10:02 AM

What would you know about it Chris? I think the Iraqis living here who went to some of the protest knew what they were at and were very grateful that people actually stood in solidarity, rather than just moaned on the internet, which is the best some people can manage I suppose.

Mute Noel Hogan
    Favourite Noel Hogan
    Mar 10th 2013, 8:47 PM

Great, was waiting for the old “you’ll chase the American businesses out of the country. As if a protest would do that but substandard infrastructure, high costs and lack of appropriately skilled labour wouldn’t. The local politicians in the Midwest were quick to condemn protesters at Shannon. Why? Because it distracted from their own economic incompetence. There hasn’t been a single job lost because of the anti war protests. All the job losses in this country have come about because of incompetence, in politics, business and media. But people still blame the protesters.

Mute Niall Carson
    Favourite Niall Carson
    Mar 10th 2013, 9:42 PM

Seamus, do you have a conscience? Do you think because millions are killed in another country or they have darker skin than you, they are any less dead? Allowing war to be conducted through Shannon airport makes us part of that Slaughter.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 11th 2013, 12:35 AM

Niall, Seamus has shown himself to be the perfect Irishman as required by the US or the EU. Servile, greedy – willing to sell out anything or anybody for pecuniary advantage. Go with the flow – conquerers come and go, we will suck up and survive.

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 11th 2013, 2:39 AM

@Niall Carson yes i have conscience i am simply telling these people that there will be consequences to their actions. if they choose to to protest this and cause bad publicity and or attack planes with a hatchet like your one did a few years back then don’t be surprised when the Americans pull out to a more friendly country. empires come and go rise and fall it was the Romans then the ottomans then the British then the Americans. do you really think that Shannon is some sort of strategic position for the us air force. do you think that this is actually going to stop anything. they have planes that can circle the globe without refueling. tbh i would rather be living under the American banner of capitalism greed and freedom to do whatever i like (with all its flaws and their are many) then the suicide bombers who decide to blow themselves up when they dont get their way.

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 11th 2013, 2:52 AM

@Sheik Yahbouti its called human nature get over it. i will not be living by the rules of the Taliban ever. Sharia law will not be implemented in the western world i make no apologizes for living in the west and am proud of it. The age of reason and freedom is here. if the Taliban or whatever nut jobs decide to mess with this country or any country in the west they will be destroyed. if they continue to mess with the west the next stage is to drop a nuke and simply irradiate the whole lot of them. there was 50 million people killed in ww2 you underestimate Americas capacity to make war, America did it before and they are willing and capable of doing it again. and btw i am not pro eu i am simply a being realistic

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    Mar 11th 2013, 8:33 AM

Séamus. The Taliban ain’t coming. Check under your bed. There is only one weapon that is effective against terrorism. It’s called reason.

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 11th 2013, 11:38 PM

@Virtual Architect by Taliban i was referring to Islamic extremists who seem determined to impose sharia law upon to the entire planet. these same individuals destroyed heritage sites in Timbuktu flew planes into buildings blew up trains in Spain. these are to name but a few whilst yes the Taliban is not actually here however if they as in whoever blew in a train in uk are able to pull this off you can bet they are over here as well,

Mute Tús Nua
    Favourite Tús Nua
    Mar 10th 2013, 11:44 PM

We should never have allowed Shannon airport to be used for the massacre of innocent people

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 11th 2013, 12:20 AM

Seamus, I’m sheik of no-one. I’m just one of the hundred thousand who marched to beseech America and the USA not to commit that crime against the Iraqi people. The took no notice, quelle surprise, but I never thought this country would become complicit in torture and murder in my name – for money.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 11th 2013, 12:23 AM

Sorry America and the UK.

Mute Seamus Foskin
    Favourite Seamus Foskin
    Mar 11th 2013, 2:38 AM

@Sheik Yahbouti you are obviously just not getting this are you. trying to stop the Americans from doing what they want is like an ant trying to stop a tank. my opinion is irrelevant your opinion is irrelevant, the big boys on the block have always taken what they wanted. if you want to make a difference in American foreign policy then go to America become a citizen and get elected into office, whingeing on a website based in one of the smallest countries in the world is pointless, marching on Shannon is pointless all you are doing is putting jobs at risk it is not even worth the getting out of bed for.

Mute Evert Bopp
    Favourite Evert Bopp
    Mar 11th 2013, 11:27 AM

Always good to see the nutters all in one place and put faces to names.
    ;-)

Mute GerrySligo
    Favourite GerrySligo
    Mar 13th 2013, 12:49 PM

Do you support Ireland colluding in human rights abuses & war crimes like kidnapping, rendition & torture Evert?

Mute max ryan
    Favourite max ryan
    Mar 11th 2013, 8:24 AM

Were getting paid for this so what harm