You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pope Benedict XVI in 2013 Michael Kappeler

Ex-pope Benedict XVI blames clerical sex abuse on 1960s sexual revolution

Benedict has written a 6,000-word essay for Klerusblatt, a German monthly magazine for clergy.

FORMER POPE BENEDICT XVI has blamed Catholic clerical sex abuse scandals on the 1960s sexual revolution and a collapse in faith in the West.

The ex-pontiff, who retired in 2013, said responsibility for the crises affecting the Roman Catholic Church globally lay with the fight for an “all-out sexual freedom, one which no longer admitted any norms”.

He argued that paedophilia “reached such proportions” because of the “absence of God”.

“Part of the physiognomy of the Revolution of ’68 was that paedophilia was then also diagnosed as allowed and appropriate,” he said.

Benedict - born in Germany as Joseph Ratzinger – has written a 6,000-word essay for Klerusblatt, a German monthly magazine for clergy.

Benedict said the direct consequence of the 1960s era of counterculture and sexual activism in Europe and America was the “collapse of the next generation of priests in those years and the very high number of laicisations” or priests leaving the Church.

Before becoming the pope in 2005 Benedict was Cardinal Ratzinger and he headed the Vatican department that investigates sexual abuse. 

‘Deeply flawed’

Some theologians have criticised Benedict’s essay on the causes of clerical paedophilia. 

The letter was “deeply flawed” and “profoundly troubling”, Julie Rubio, professor of social ethics at Santa Clara University’s Jesuit School of Theology, said.

Catholic theologian Brian Flanagan described the letter as “embarrassing”.

“The idea that ecclesial abuse of children was a result of the 1960s, a supposed collapse of moral theology… is an embarrassingly wrong explanation for the systemic abuse of children and its coverup,” Flanagan tweeted.

Benedict’s essay comes after Pope Francis hosted a landmark conference in February on how to deal with paedophilia within the Church. 

At the end of the conference, he vowed an “all-out battle” against abusive priests.

Benedict said in his essay that the sexual revolution also led to the “establishment” in various seminaries of “homosexual cliques … which acted more or less openly and significantly changed the climate”.

Benedict criticised a seminary in Germany where trainee priests and lay ministers lived together.

He wrote: 

At the common meals, seminarians and pastoral specialists ate together, the married among the laymen sometimes accompanied by their wives and children, and on occasion by their girlfriends.

“The climate in this seminary could not provide support for preparation to the priestly vocation. The Holy See knew of such problems, without being informed precisely.”

Benedict went on to recall one bishop who “arranged for the seminarians to be shown pornographic films, allegedly with the intention of thus making them resistant to behaviour contrary to the faith”.

The Church was first rocked by the child sex abuse crisis in the second half of the 1980s, particularly in the US, and it has been repeatedly criticised for protecting paedophile priests and its reputation.

Benedict was the first pontiff to resign in almost 600 years.

Includes reporting by © – AFP 2019

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

164 Comments
    Mute Artur Gurta
    Favourite Artur Gurta
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:00 PM

Casey number 1

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:03 PM

@Artur Gurta: I think he’s winning the debate so far :)

@2101hrs

Casey #1

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:22 PM

@Fiasco99: http://www.jobs.ie

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:09 PM

@Artur Gurta: Very poor reporting here. RTE interrupting Casey all the time while letting MD talk utter crap at length.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:15 PM

@Fiasco99: you posted that at 9.03. The debate didn’t start until 9.50. Biased much?

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith

@lisa duignan: TV licence fee payers don’t want to hear Casey’s racist rants. Fair play to David McCullough for reflecting that.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:20 PM

@Artur Gurta: People don’t want to hear Higgins. They are tuning in to hear Casey!

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:27 PM

@Artur Gurta: that’s why I specifically noted the time.

Not overly trying to hide the bias.

Casey #1

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:28 PM

@Fiasco99: yes i saw you posted the time. Just making others aware.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:34 PM

@PaulineSmith: You’re obsessed. Be careful you don’t vote for Casey by accident cause he seems to be consuming your thoughts.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:40 PM

@Jane: I voted Yes to Marriage Equality and Yes to Repeal the 8th. I don’t vote for regressive, backward people.

Mute shanekeogh
    Favourite shanekeogh
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:50 PM

@PaulineSmith: veronica us back

Mute shanekeogh
    Favourite shanekeogh
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:51 PM

@shanekeogh: is back

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:52 PM

@PaulineSmith: past your bed time nan

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:23 PM

@Artur Gurta: Ha ha. People who believe the tripe Casey is spouting are not the sort of people who actually vote. Casey will be lucky to move past 2% of the vote

Mute Geraldine Fenton
    Favourite Geraldine Fenton
    Oct 24th 2018, 4:00 PM

@PaulineSmith:
    Casey speaks the truth go toRathkeale at Christmas

Mute Geraldine Fenton
    Oct 24th 2018, 10:52 PM

@PaulineSmith: please know what you are speaking if you were robbed you would think different

Mute Brian Scott
    Favourite Brian Scott
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:05 PM

A vote for Casey is a vote for world peace

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:07 PM

@Brian Scott: Ha ha! The 5 Alt-Right Trolls on The Journal would have you believe he can cure cancer!

Mute Brian Scott
    Favourite Brian Scott
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:09 PM

@PaulineSmith: I’ve seen him heal mutes

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:11 PM

@Brian Scott: Apparently he speaks ‘THE Truth’ too, LOL! Bunch of clowns voting for him, wouldn’t trust them with a pair of scissors!

Mute Brian Scott
    Favourite Brian Scott
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:17 PM

@PaulineSmith: ever since he said FG are doing a great job I knew, this man only speaks the truth

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:18 PM

He is the chosen one….

Casey #1

Mute Brian Scott
    Favourite Brian Scott
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:29 PM

@Fiasco99: I think if Casey loses, then the king is the travellers should be allowed to park his caravan within the walls of Aras

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:45 PM

Lets go Casey!

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:32 PM

@Joe: Reminds me of that pig at the end of the Loony Tunes cartoons when he tries to speak; “Ah deeba deeba deeba That’s All Folks!”

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:49 PM

@PaulineSmith: wow enlightened! Thsnks for that Pauline

Mute John O'Leary
    Favourite John O'Leary
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:07 PM

Journal, Can you please stop reporting this drivel and get back to Krispy Kreme in Blanch. We have no idea how long the queues have been all week for Christ sakes.

Mute Brian Scott
    Favourite Brian Scott
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:11 PM

@John O’Leary: I’ve been wondering the very same.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:04 PM

The cat is out of the bag for Casey now, shocking that he is demanding we spend €6 billion on weapons, what planet is this guy on??!!

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:03 PM

@PaulineSmith: sooner the bees die out the better

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:47 PM

President Higgins could fly the government jet to New York with his dogs on board and have them pampered and groomed in some of new York’s finest dog groomers courtesy of the tax payer and the people of Ireland will still vote him in because he has been a great statesman for this country.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:29 PM

@Tom Ryan: it’s not the use of the jet

It’s the lie that it was for security reasons.

And the media’s complicity in covering it up

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:39 PM

@Tom Ryan: And the lie about liking a halting site next door.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:42 PM

@Fiasco99: maybe but he’s the only one that comes across as remotely presidential tonight.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan

@Tom Ryan: They would fly him out and that would be the back and forth.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:43 PM

@Tom Ryan: statesman who screws the tax payer and then suffers amnesia

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:18 PM

@lisa duignan:
    have you had a glass of wine tonight Lisa because your not making any sense,

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:22 PM

@Martin Brennan: if he was really so interested in screwing the tax payer, and nothing else, why has he given back to the state around 100k a year in pensions he is entitled to, every year for the past seven years?

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:33 PM

@Tom Ryan: I’m not watching, so you may be right.

Mute Patrick Kearns
    Favourite Patrick Kearns
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:35 PM

@Dermot Lane: Shush now Dermot, we can’t let facts get in the way when good ol’ prejudice is much more fun. Don you not know how mob mentality works…!?

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:39 PM

@Tom Ryan: love it!

Mute David Hickey
    Favourite David Hickey
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:12 AM

Higgins does live within 100m of a halting site. You can google map it if you want.

Mute Conor Kleaver
    Favourite Conor Kleaver
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:16 PM

Peter casey is a true gent. One of our own boss.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:26 PM

@Conor Kleaver: Ha ha. Lets see how many of “your own” actually get out and vote.. Not many

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:14 PM

Come on Casey. For a non politician I thought he played a blinder given the circumstances.

MDH is the king of deflecting questions.

LNR came across terribly, very condescending.

Joan isn’t fit for it remotely, no reason needed.

Thumb was rehearsed like a Robot.

Gavin bizarrely not as annoying as the rest tonight.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

@Stephen Watson: it’s only half way through!

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:31 PM

@Stephen Watson: People from privileged backgrounds are attracted to millionaires after all!

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:46 PM

@PaulineSmith: hiding behind a bee

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:14 PM

@PaulineSmith: Oh dear! Your own prejudices are shining through there.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith

@Jane: Says the Iona-Bot

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:07 AM

@PaulineSmith: ah don’t be getting thick…

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:27 PM

Who in God’s name would vote for Gallagher. He sounds so out off touch

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan

M D’s dogs refute all allegations of eating tax payers food

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:12 PM

@Martin Brennan: Casey seems more interested in Michael’s dogs than the Irish people.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:23 PM

@PaulineSmith: Irish people wear blinkers where politicians are concerned they screw the tax payer for every expense going and we loose our marables and suspend our faculties defending whatever party or politician we support. MD has a sense of entitlement and is smug about it- the only reason he will be elected is the fffg combination want th spare their slush funds for the general election early in the new year

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:30 PM

@Martin Brennan: as a dublin taxi driver now and again I have had over the years ferried politicians on occasions and have witnessed there disregard for tax payers money first hand.
    One leader of a political party I brought out to tv 3 in ballymount an hour before she was due on set because of make up purposes. She then insisted that i wait with meter running until her (not live) interview was complete.
    Another occasion I had a politician chasing letters of recommendations to the Senate around the four corners of the city at a cost of over 180€ and this was recovered by said politician. Gravy train

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan

@Eugene Conroy: The reality is the cosy cartel in the media won’t print these types of extravaganza as they are net beneficiaries of politicians wining and dining

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:38 PM

Joan Freeman wants to promote wellness and mental health and yet voted in favour of young, vulnerable women having to travel abroad for bodily autonomy?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:02 PM

@Rochelle: are honestly doubting her expertise on mental health?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:47 PM

@Rochelle: I’m questioning whether her vision of wellness matches that of the public as it seems to be something more spiritual than based in reality. How else could someone with such a priority in the area of mental health not see the incredible psychological damage and even loss of life that the our archaic abortion laws had caused for decades?

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Oct 24th 2018, 6:57 AM

@Rochelle: The rate of suicide is lower among women who carry pregnancy to full term than those who have an abortion. So maybe check your own expertise first.

Mute Kan Ye Go West
    Favourite Kan Ye Go West
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:02 PM

Hi Thomas ; you wouldn’t mind putting up a credible source for that one ? Thanks

Mute John O'Keeffe
    Favourite John O'Keeffe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:09 PM

Haha the average industrial wage 70€k apparently…. sweet baby Jesus…..

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:17 PM

@John O’Keeffe: she got caught out badly there

Mute Travellers Are Over-represented In Irish Jails
    Favourite Travellers Are Over-represented In Irish Jails

@John O’Keeffe: she makes 100 grand a year, pays tax, gives Sinn Fein a chunk (they’re funding her campaign!!) And thinks by keeping 48k she’s on the average wage!!
    I want to know if as president will she still keep 48k and give Sinn Fein the rest?

Mute Shanley Mac
    Favourite Shanley Mac
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:52 PM

Michael D. No. 1.

Mute Elizabeth Barry
    Favourite Elizabeth Barry
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:00 PM

@Shanley Mac: he is the number one liar alright.

Mute Shanley Mac
    Favourite Shanley Mac
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:10 AM

@Elizabeth Barry: they’re all Liars….

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:36 PM

Jesus I admired Casey during the week by speaking his mind but god he’s just terrible at public speaking. He can barely string a sentence together. Quality of candidate is so poor. They’re arguing about irrelevant minor issues instead of important issues

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:38 PM

@Anthony: they can discuss important issues all they like, but they won’t be relevant to the job of president.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:50 PM

@Dermot Lane: of course important issues are relevant to the job. Political issues however are not

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:15 PM

I want the government jet ,, it’s my turn now ,,!!!!

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:18 PM

@RockyRockStar: haha brilliant

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:24 PM

@RockyRockStar: only if you can claim it is for security reasons.

And also try and blame the PSNI and expect them to keep quite

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:19 PM

@Fiasco99: yeah, he used it twice this year within the country. Such extravagance! (PS it’s quiet, not quite).

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:31 PM

@RockyRockStar: it’s the lie that’s the issue

Not the use of the jet

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:35 PM

@Dermot Lane: pretty extravagent bringing a jet from Dublin to Kerry to be fair

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:43 PM

@Declan Edward: Maybe, but I think that depends somewhat on his schedule for the rest of the day. I genuinely don’t believe the use of the jet is an issue.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor

@Declan Edward:
    The Government Jet has to be maintained in top order at all times , the pilots have to clock up flying hours , in order to do this. Would it be better just to fly the jet empty around Ireland’s Air Space to give it a run or to occasionally use it to bring the President to an engagement . Hot air about nothing.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99

@RockyRockStar: most people dont have a problem with the usr of the jet.

The issue was the lie.

Because he didn’t want people to think he was being extravagant. Bit he still wanted the jet

Mute Patrick Kearns
    Favourite Patrick Kearns
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:03 AM

@RockyRockStar: If Higgins is repeating what his staff told him, it’s hardly a lie, is it…?

Also, if the jet is necessary for state affairs and emergencies and is within the purvue of our security forces who need to maintain legal licencing and a state of readiness, then it is a security issue.

Imagine the scandal if it turned out the pilots were unlicenced to fly the thing or it wasn’t properly maintained?

Can’t you find an actual reason that stands up to scrutiny as to why Casey is so much better than Higgins…?

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:22 AM

@RockyRockStar: the Air Corps training is irrelevant here.

If he named the individual that gave him the “wrong” information I’d believe him. But an “anonymous aid”?

C’mon!

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:18 PM

Ni Riada pays €40k in tax and gets €60k take home.That’s a salary of €100k, not €75k. Plus she gets up to €50k in expenses.
    €150k per year is over 4 times the average industrial wage. She’s a bit loose with the truth.

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:12 PM

LNR saying 47k net is the average industrial wage haha my God how out of touch is she

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:12 PM

Can’t wait for Friday and the end of this election,it is boring beyond words and worse still we knew the outcome from the beginning,but still we are subjected to the stage shows which only serve to remind us how unsuitable the candidates are and how ill acquainted they are with the office of President and its functions,Michael D need not bother pack for another seven years.

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:05 PM

You’d never think rte are on Micky D’s side ,, don’t call a liar a liar please ,, David McCullagh should be sacked for the way he has started this debate

Mute Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Favourite Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:40 PM

Joan Freeman is on another planet !

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:01 PM

Unreal how biased the media are to Higgins it’s time we moved away from the establishment Higgins comes across as a very pompous person totally out of touch a complete puppet for the government it’s time that this great nation of ours moved forward and give one of these candidates a chance to make a difference

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

@Martin O Donnell: but they are all pillars of the establishment. And the amount of difference a president can make to anything is minimal

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:31 PM

@Dermot Lane: the only established candidate is Higgins backed by all parties but sinn Fein it’s time we as a country move away from this Higgins comes across as a privileged pompous individual and it’s time that a real person can take office and try make a difference

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris

@Martin O Donnell: What makes you say the “media” are all biased towards Higgins? Is it perhaps that in all the polls he has between 68-70% approval?

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate

@Martin O Donnell: If MDH is a puppet, then you are a Muppet….FULL STOPS Man look like this….

Mute James Godson
    Favourite James Godson
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:57 AM

@Martin O Donnell: Youd swear the other candidates werent pompous and privileged puppets

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 24th 2018, 7:50 AM

@Martin O Donnell: I think you need to take the blinkers off there, as regards the other candidates. Casey is running for the highest office in the land and he doesn’t even pay taxes here. Ni Riada got caught out in a lie about her salary. Of the other 2 Dragons, one was born into a privileged background and the other is FF light. Joan Freeman, while I actually think she is sincere, is backed by a dodgy businessman and seems clueless as to the constitutional role of the president. Take your pick.

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Oct 24th 2018, 8:16 AM

@Dermot Lane: All true, except you neglect to mention Michael D’s significant shortcomings. Shady expenses and extravagance in the job, pretentious waffling as par for the course, a penchant for leftist dictators abroad, the list goes on.

Absolutely none of the candidates are fit for the office.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 24th 2018, 10:13 AM

@ihcalaM: yes, I was clearly talking about the other candidates besides MD H, as I say in the comment, which was in response to someone called MD H ‘priveleged’

Mute Geraldine Fenton
    Oct 24th 2018, 10:56 PM

@Dave Harris: people being brainwashed can’t think for themselves

Mute Emer Daly
    Favourite Emer Daly
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:19 PM

What business does sean Gallagher have saying in an interview about Michael d Higgins getting a jet from Dublin to Belfast. Trying to get the people mad so we will give him a vote. Bore off.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:59 PM

Sinn Fein shown up for what they are!

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:55 PM

Thankfully Michael D changed his mind and decided to run. Having any of those other 5 as President would be a serious embarrassment for the country. Ironically he is head and shoulders above them.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:41 PM

@CrabaRev: if he hadn’t been ordained by the media FF FG and labour there would have been other candidates. Maybe Bertie ahern or Gerry Adams type.

At least we have Peter Casey.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:07 AM

@CrabaRev: We had a “Gerry Adams type” last time out and he was also a complete waste of space. He didn’t even know where he wanted to be president of. Bertie Ahern????? Get a grip.

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik

ah jeesus….gallagher the martyr beating the old drum about how he was so ” wronged” 7 yrs ago

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:29 PM

As the journal do not have a poll, thumbs up one of the comments below to support your candidate.

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:30 PM

@James Henehan: Michael D Higgins

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan

@James Henehan: Peter Casey

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan

@James Henehan: Gavin Duffy

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan

@James Henehan: Joan Freeman

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:31 PM

@James Henehan: Sean Gallagher

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan

@James Henehan: Liadh Ní Riada

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:30 PM

All the real polls ( the journal polls are not accurate because they are only made up of respondents who are on the website, not random samples as used by polling companies) put Michael D at between 68-70% while his closest contender, Gallagher is in the teens and Casey is around 2%. I

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:37 PM

@James Henehan: all varied out before Casey’s comments.

The people didn’t know we had a truth teller….

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:46 PM

@Dave Harris: And if you read those results accurately you’d know that the polls were conducted before Peter Casey made his remarks, after that he shot up in popularity.

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:19 AM

@Rachel O’ Meara: would ya go way outta that if someone gets elected president for calling tinkers trespassers we’re in some state as a population. I doubt he’d make 10%. Or I’d hope anyway.

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:48 AM

@Dave Harris: I suppose a better prediction is to see the odds in Paddy powers on Friday, they won’t want to lose…

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:34 AM

@Bilbo Baggins: Did I say who I was voting for? I just corrected another commenters claim that he was still at 2%. He has gained alot of support, he’ll definitely end up with more than 10%, judging by social media platforms, news comments sections, online forums and hearing people on the street talking it’ll be close.

Mute talksense
    Favourite talksense
    Oct 24th 2018, 7:37 AM

@James Henehan: what kind of a person would vote for Liadh, she hasn’t a clue

Mute James Henehan
    Favourite James Henehan
    Oct 24th 2018, 10:06 AM

@talksense: I was just putting up all the candidates to be fair. Although, I would sooner vote for Liadh than Gavin or Joan. One of the main reasons Liadh won’t get my number 1 is her Sinn Féin ties.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:55 PM

Ah MDH the queen wants her accent back

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:20 PM

That’s enough make-up on Seán Gallagher Mrs. Doyle

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:11 PM

Ní Riada, another lying champagne socialist

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan

Gallagher is on some martyrdom effort lol .

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:10 PM

Nobody wants a millionaire like Casey who represents the privileged elites in the Áras.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd

@PaulineSmith: no, they want a privileged millionaire who represents the left instead.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:49 PM

@PaulineSmith: Higgins is the richest of them all

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:17 PM

@lisa duignan: LOL! Back to Low Babies for you, try counting up to 10 and then come back to us.

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:25 PM

@PaulineSmith: but instead the want a millionaire like MDH!!! Go on, it’s time for a change,
    People are forced to retire at 65, but this man wants a second bite at the cherry

I know who I’m voting for

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:35 PM

@Mr Mystery: Don’t tell me. Casey #1. Derp Derp.

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:41 PM

@PaulineSmith: I wish my granny spoke like you.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:49 PM

@Grotmaster: I feel sorry for your granny.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:57 PM

@PaulineSmith: my dear, where I am from, they don’t call them “Low Babies”

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:13 PM

@PaulineSmith: I’m voting for the person I best see fit for the role, a person who will stand up and ask the questions that need to be asked and a person who has a proven track record of accomplishment in everything he does,

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:46 PM

Why is MDH getting it so soft

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:53 PM

@Eugene Conroy: hes just keeping his head down. Not reacting or interacting with the others at all

Mute Ann Morris Doolan

@Eugene Conroy: it’s simple they want him to stay…..

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

@Ann Morris Doolan: he did get asked the tough questions early on. But he’s just leaving the others to it at this stage.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:56 PM

@Eugene Conroy: because the luvvies at RATE want him to win

He is one of them

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:10 PM

I’ll do the job for 40k a year and I’ll even pay for my own travel and doggie cleaning

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:37 PM

@RockyRockStar: you should go on dragons den with that business plan

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:38 AM

@Dermot Lane: turned me down because i turned up in the government jet

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

Is Micky D missing again tonight ???

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:00 PM

Michael D is a real statesman and a great repersentive for Ireland. He seems to be the only one that understands what the job is about.. All the others shitting on about things they wouldn’t have anything to do with anyway.

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:29 PM

You know what would demonstrate who is actually in the lead in this race??a journal poll ! I mean you have a poll for which type of tomato sauce people like. does the journal think this is not important enough to run one?

Mute ED
    Favourite ED

@Andy mc Laughlin: You think the journal is an accurate representation of voters in Ireland?

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:48 PM

@Andy mc Laughlin: any poll carried out independently would be more accurate than those polls being offered at the minute. But I suppose that’s making the assumption that the journal is independent and impartial.

Mute Ann Morris Doolan

@Andy mc Laughlin: obviously not it seems to scare them otherwise they would have done it …

Mute sinead foley-coleman
    Favourite sinead foley-coleman

Oh my word. I genuinely did think Peter Casey was very Donald Trumpish……. now he’s going to appoint members of his family to important positions (his wife to the Council of State) if elected…..he has a similar Trumpishness on the issue of arms / neutrality and let’s not even go to ethnic minorities…I’m starting to think that he’s only involved for his entertainment value! Surely he can’t be serious.

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Favourite The Bull McCabe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:20 PM

@sinead foley-coleman: He says it as it is rather than pc bullshit.

@The Bull McCabe: he’s oddly quiet about how much he’d like to spend on arms tho Bull…. and presidency is all about pc and diplomacy… unless you’re Mr. Trump of course! Personally I would not want anyone representing the highest office in the land to be as bullish and aggressive as he is… be the holies we’d be at war with every second nation if Peter went off on a rant….. we’d need the other five to dig him out! Personally cannot wait for Friday to be over…. I’m losing the will

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:36 PM

@sinead foley-coleman: He can’t spend anything on arms

Oct 23rd 2018, 11:44 PM

@The Bull McCabe: I don’t believe he’ll have the opportunity to spend money on anything Bull… well only out of his own pocket in any case……it’s his ideas and attitudes on the arms that are a worry. Anyway each to his own Bull and we’ll all hopefully make an effort to use our vote on Friday…… that’ll be the deciding factor

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 24th 2018, 7:31 PM

@The Bull McCabe: The head of our defence forces can’t spend anything on arms? If you say so.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy

Is MDH still there ( where is the jet)

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:26 PM

Must say I am impressed by Ni Riada. Won’t be a SF voter historically but she will get my No 1.

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:16 PM

@Paddy Murray: even after saying 48k net is the average industrial wage??

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:34 PM

@Paddy Murray: no she says €60k net is. That’s €100k gross. Plus 50k personal expenses.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:33 PM

Rather uninspiring stuff so far. The dragons offering nothing.

Mute garrett
    Favourite garrett
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:19 PM

Michael D head and shoulders above the rest ( not literally obviuosly).

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:21 PM

@garrett: He’s full of shite to be fair

Mute Shoot Thepiano
    Favourite Shoot Thepiano
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:25 PM

@garrett: but it is, of course, very eloquent shite.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:27 PM

Casey will publish his expenses tomorrow? If he spent more than 50 quid I’d be surprised!

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:41 PM

God what planet have you put Joan on

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:47 PM

Duffy’s youth corp, sounds slightly….ominous

Mute Dubs fan
    Favourite Dubs fan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:22 PM

@DJ François: Blueshirtesque!

Mute The Bull McCabe

Casey number 1. I’m sick of all the bullshit. Casey tells it as it is.

Mute Dingleberrycity
    Favourite Dingleberrycity

Micky Ds jet is outside the grounds of RTÉ being refueled before flying him back the the Aras..

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:04 AM

Casey Peter 1

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:50 PM

Peter Casey has no chance of winning Friday’s election.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:43 PM

@Just Some Guy: we have hope…

Casey #1

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:02 AM

@Just Some Guy: well the other 5 are being politically correct in order to get a well paid job

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    Oct 24th 2018, 8:53 AM

@Just Some Guy, so wrong:

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev

It is really creepy the way Ni Riada keeps touching Michael D when she is talking to him.

Mute Shoot Thepiano
    Favourite Shoot Thepiano

@CrabaRev: Yes. # Michael D too

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

@CrabaRev: she’s stoned of her block and losing her balance over the Bob Marley she’s on

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:53 PM

@CrabaRev: If a man touched a woman like that it would be classed as assault. You’d have Veronica telling us how evil men are.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:12 AM

@CrabaRev:
    Very true.
    I hadn’t seen much of her before, but she comes across really very badly. Creepy with the touching, condescending with some of her answers, dishonest and disingenuous with her replies on the HPV vaccine and the average wage question.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 24th 2018, 12:27 AM

@CrabaRev: hasn’t that nutter “re branded” as the fly lady?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 24th 2018, 7:54 AM

@CrabaRev: AKA as a liar, even if they weren’t allowed use the word.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:14 PM

Objectively, Ni Ríada putting in an impressive performance so far.
    Not enough stuff on what they think the president sh3do or represent.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François

@DJ François: *should*

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:34 PM

@DJ François: the presidents job is signing bills, meeting people at home and meeting people abroad. What’s to debate? It’s pointless.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:11 PM

@DJ François: she just got hammered on her ‘average industrial wage’ lie. Major faux pas.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane

@DJ François: she’s messed up badly on the salary debate. What she told Hotpress was an out and out lie

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01

@DJ François: she had to admit twice tonight that she was incorrect previously

Mute Dearbhla Russell
    Favourite Dearbhla Russell

The media is very desperate to make this a mud slinging match. But its just not happening for them…
    Maybe tonights the night….

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:04 PM

@Dearbhla Russell: media are running interference for their chosen one.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:08 PM

@Dearbhla Russell: Watch Casey make a fool of himself like in the last two debates, he is an awful speaker, not Presidential quality.

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson

@PaulineSmith: oh look a Bee that can type nonsense

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:44 PM

@Stephen Watson: Stick to the sun-beds and driving around in your convertibles Chief, roysch!

Mute Stephen Watson
    Favourite Stephen Watson
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:48 PM

@PaulineSmith: Don’t be jelly you oul wan

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:51 PM

@PaulineSmith are you a fly in one of those caravans?

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:00 PM

A deeply unequal society, MDH, repeats itself because of elitists like you.

Mute Davy Mc
    Favourite Davy Mc
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:45 PM

Ironic that Peter Casey has said they cyber bullying is a scurge on the nation and hw will be working on tackling that issue if he is elected considering the absolute hatred and bullying of Travellers that’s going on all over social media. Also Ironic how he doesn’t pay a cent of Tax in the country considering he is a multi millionaire running for head office in the country.

Mute The Bull McCabe
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:55 PM

@Davy Mc: What bullying of travellers? It’s the travellers that do most of the bullying. Nothing that Casey said was untrue in relation to travellers.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:58 PM

@Davy Mc: equality is the new racism

1984 doublespeak in 2018

Mute The Bull McCabe

@Davy Mc: Also, most travellers don’t pay tax at all.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:47 PM

Duffy is taking a leaf out of Casey’s book, he’s struggling to string a sentence together!

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

The Aldi add there is a great laugh with the old wan and old fella with glasses ,, I’d say they don’t talk at all when the camera is off them ,,!!!

Mute Bewarethebeardz
    Favourite Bewarethebeardz
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:30 PM

Horror show

Mute Ananya Sharma
    Favourite Ananya Sharma

Mickey D try tries to give a straight answer. https://youtu.be/20lqowDNiFc

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:17 PM

Let’s get it on!

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:32 PM

One of the worst Presidential debates I’ve seen in a while

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

@Dwayne Jordan: wait till tomorrow’s one lol

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:44 PM

@Dwayne Jordan: yes was very bad quality debate ,mainly because nearly all the same questions we have heard all week been trashed out again with the same answers.Really taught RTÉ would have done better than that, in fact Claire Byrnes one was much better in my opinion.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 24th 2018, 7:56 AM

@Ann Morris Doolan: but what do you expected to discuss? It’s a ceremonial role for a figurehead with no real power.

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

Next up Micky D’s dogs to clarify the grooming bills for 2018 ,, ruff stuff after the break lads ,,

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:49 PM

It’s embarrassing stuff. Petty bickering like children.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:05 PM

Casey #6 ‘Call for Limerick councillors to explain Peter Casey nomination after ‘racist comments’ https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/home/343211/calls-for-limerick-councillors-to-explain-peter-casey-nomination-after-racist-comments.html

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86

@PaulineSmith: Anybody calling his comments “racist” only displays their own ignorance at the very definition of the term…

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:32 PM

@PaulineSmith: “A LIMERICK Fine Gael councillor”. We need read no further.

Mute James Godson
    Favourite James Godson
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:04 AM

@Mazza86: the only issue I have is that its a sweeping statement, if he said “most” then there’d be no critical leg to stand on, as factually most travellers do fall under his description, and I’d be very unhappy to be an honest traveller being swept in with the rest.

Mute Geraldine Fenton
    Oct 24th 2018, 11:02 PM

@Sean O’ Donovan: go to Rathkeale and see their houses

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

Hit like if you are embarrassed about tonight’s debate and the candidates that are on live tv tonight

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy

@RockyRockStar:

Hit like? Seriously?

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 23rd 2018, 11:34 PM

@Just Some Guy: ya

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar

Their at the …Let me finish what I was saying stage now ,,!!!

Mute Shoot Thepiano
    Favourite Shoot Thepiano
    Oct 23rd 2018, 10:53 PM

Well, what a dull discussion with no new ideas and all for a totally pointless position/role, and as 3 of them are used to hearing ” For that reason…… I’m out”

Mute Stephen Niland
    Favourite Stephen Niland
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:00 AM

What a terribly moderated and structured’debate’. If anyone was watching this in a hope that it would sway them, I think they’ll be let down. Absolutely no consistency and everyone allowed just shout over each other, playing one man upship

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Oct 23rd 2018, 9:46 PM

Debating what? How much money the winner will take needlessly from the taxpayer? all theyre doing is throwing shite at each other.. What a pile of b****cks

Oct 24th 2018, 12:25 AM

Sean Gallagher is from Cavan. Apparently.

Mute Delta Ball
    Favourite Delta Ball
    Oct 24th 2018, 8:54 AM

What a load of rubbish that was. Five bluffers and Michael D.

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:21 AM

On the last can of curling lads .. not happy

Mute whistlestop
    Favourite whistlestop
    Oct 24th 2018, 1:08 AM

Bunty #1:)