You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An Israeli drone circled over the Irish base camp in Lebanon monitoring Simon Harris' visit
EU pledges to 'protect our workers' as Trump announces 25% tariffs on all cars made outside US
Verona Murphy 'fully intends' to continue as Ceann Comhairle as opposition parties draft no confidence motion
Extinction Rebellion Ireland outside the Burlington Clayton Hotel in Dublin to protest against the Atlantic Ireland conference and Exhibition Leah Farrell/Rollingnews
Leeson Street
Extinction Rebellion activist arrested following 'bloody' protest outside Dublin's Clayton hotel
An Garda Síochána said it responded to a “theft incident” at a hotel in the Dublin at approximately 1.30pm.
A MEMBER OF Extinction Rebellion Ireland has been arrested following a protest against the fossil fuel industry in Dublin.
Some 20 climate activists held the protest outside the Clayton Burlington Hotel where the Atlantic Ireland Conference and Exhibition was being held by the Irish Shelf Petroleum Study Group.
As part of the protest, XRI poured 15 litres of fake blood on its members to represent the “blood on the hands of the oil corporations” who were attending the annual two-day event for the petro-chemical industry and research community.
An Garda Síochána said it responded to a “theft incident” at a hotel in the Dublin at approximately 1.30pm.
“A woman in her 20s was arrested and conveyed to Donnybrook Garda Station. The woman was released later today, pending further investigation. Investigations are ongoing.”
Speaking to TheJournal.ie following her release, the mother-of-one who was audibly upset said she was “peacefully disturbing” the conference.
She said she was scared for her child’s future and “scared the government will continue to work with the fossil fuel industry”.
An XRI spokesperson said gardaí were responding to a theft incident as the woman ordered a pot of tea but “didn’t get a chance to pay for it before she was escorted out of the hotel”. XRI did not specify who had escorted the woman out.
Leah Farrell
Along with signs and fake blood, XRI protesters held a large drilling licence with a bloody handprint in an effort to “call attention to the relationship the Irish Government has with the petroleum industry”.
Seán Canney, Minister of State for Natural Resources, Community Affairs and Digital Development, gave the opening address at the conference yesterday, an address XRI claims had no mention of climate change.
Canney says that claim was “not at all correct”.
Related Reads
Extinction Rebellion: Former Irish Paralympian denies charge of gluing himself to plane at London City Airport
Leinster House cancels Open House participation after Extinction Rebellion protest
In a copy of a speech seen by TheJournal.ie, Canney said the government continues to be committed to exploration of all natural resources, “while respecting sustainable development principles” but that gas remains an important transition fuel.
On the government’s climate action plan he said:
The Plan will inevitably result in a reduction in Ireland’s use of fossil fuels and the government is cognisant that this will have an impact on exploration investment offshore Ireland. My officials are working hard to establish policy principals to inform your companies’ investment decisions. However, I know that many of you here today also have energy interests beyond oil and gas and I am sure this Plan will also present you with new opportunities for innovation and investments in renewable technologies.
XRI is calling on the government to enact climate change legislation and to revoke all oil and gas prospecting licences.
“We don’t want to condemn people. We understand that the people inside the building behind me, the oil executives, they’re human beings as well,” XRI member Fabian McGinty-O’Neill said.
“We’re not trying to promote any sort of aggression against them. We just think they need to realise the error of their ways. We as a group of people have the power to push back against major corporations that are condemning us to a very uncertain future.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
83 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Charlie B: The same stupid narrative. “Only the unemployed have time to care that the earth’s climate is in crisis.” You’ll find that most protesters are very well educated and fully understand the science involved. They are more likely to be employed than deniers. Some will be shift workers, some have taken leave, some may be students etc…
@Colm O’Leary: you do know you can zoom in in the pic above yeah? Not to be too presumptive as you can be a student at any age but v unlikely they’re “all” students. But out of curiosity does that lessen their point in some way?
@Charlie B: ok they make their point, but don’t find how the do it very appealing to say the least..
Think they would do far better dressed as trees or dolphins…they certainly don’t seem to be winning the public over,going by the comments here..
@classic: Cant believe the abuse they get. Fair play to them for trying to make a difference. When our grandkids cities are under water they will look back and see how we mocked those who tried to make a difference. This isn’t a conspiracy theory. Its science.
@Sledro: Its not the science that a lot of people reject, its this bunch of self appointed condescending know it alls, that is annoying most people. Middle and upper class wannabes.
Their actions take away from the cause and its more about self publicity and self indulgence than anything else.
We made a difference yes they do , they make more people hate the subject completely and everyone involved.
We dont need to be taught it by some smug mob like this lot
@Greg Daniel: To be fair I think they earnestly believe what they’re saying, however they’re creating and perpetuating a kind of mass hysteria and cherry picking from the available science to support this.
In a calm and reasoned debate most of us would probably agree that pollution and mankind are not doing the environment any favours, and this in turn is having a negative impact upon many aspects of our environment including our climate.
@Arch Angel: actually, the fast majority of experts keep on warning us that time is running out fast and action long overdue. That’s not cherry picking, those are the facts as we know them.
Everything points towards an acceleration of climate change, rather then anything else. These, mostly young, people are far from hysterical. They are fighting for their future and that of their children.
Only the idiot climate deniers cherry pick so they can pretend to be rational and balanced.
@Mark V: Some of the founders of this group, like Roger Hallam, have made some claims like “our children are going to die in the next 10 to 20 years”. While we can agree with climate change, claims like this have no basis in fact and it’s fair to say are scaremongering.
Other members of this group have made claims of billions of deaths this century due to rising sea levels, yet the UNIPCC have said that we can expect to sea levels to rise by half a metre in the same time period. Damaging and likely to accelerate, yes but manageable in that timeframe.
Most of the experts agree that climate change is happening, and we’re at the point where it may be too late to reverse it. Making grossly exaggerated claims does nobody any favours in this argument and may have the result of turning people’s opinion against climate change.
I personally believe that climate change is extremely worrying and many aspects of our lives can be changed to help mitigate it’s effects, but making hysterical exaggerated claims isn’t one of them.
@Arch Angel: According to the BMA about 40000 people die every year as a direct consequence of pollution. What you call hysteria, kills millions around the word.
@Ed: you know there are a couple of thousand involved in XR Ireland, right? The vast majority do have jobs which is why only small numbers can turn out at each event. It means that these are more than likely not the same people involved in the last event. I know. Thinking might hurt your head, but you should try it. Eventually it gets easier and you can start to see the world in full colour, rather than the black and white you have.
@Clifford Brennan: I dont want to assume all these people doing the slating dont care about the biggest issue facing our planet but Clifford here sure ain’t helping
@Kev: It’s a slippery slope when you start attesting people carrying out a peaceful protest of any description. Orwellian Police state Dystopia, anyone?
@GMCManning: They are looking for the same shock value and instead it looks like its for halloween
Are they holding a globe to inform people that we live on a planet. WOW
@Gary Kearney: decapitating innocent people holds the same shock value for you some people dousing themselves in animal blood they bought? Need to introduce some shades of grey to your life kid all that black and white must get v dull
This is a case of the over educated and the over privileged getting their pants in a knot over things they think they understand. You only have to listen to their Ernest pleas on tv and their double barreled names. I mean how middle class is Fabian McGinty-O’Neill doesn’t sound like they’ve gone a day in their lives without. Clearly all students! Until you stop places like the USA and China politics g it’s all going to mean squat!!!
@Colm O’Leary: The US isn’t doing anything because it’s using the same excuse as you. “Until China does something, there’s no point in the US doing anything”. But China is 9 years ahead of its Paris climate accord goals. Meanwhile, Ireland is the worst offender in Europe, even though there are 20 countries in Europe that have smaller populations than us. Why should they they bother? Why should China be the only country making major improvements? They’re pointing the finger at the US and Europe. https://www.newscientist.com/article/2211366-china-is-on-track-to-meet-its-climate-change-goals-nine-years-early/
@GMCManning: Actually there is. Education for the point of it is a total waste of time. Spending all you time in education gives you a narrow viewpoint as you have less real world experience outside academia.
THe snobbery in your comment shows this.
That’s simply not true, since 2005 America has significantly reduced it carbon emissions, largely by substituting gas for coal. In fact, no country has reduced their emissions more then the US in that time, next in line is the UK.
Also, despite the Trump admin taking the US out of the Paris accord their emission reduction has continued although admittedly at a slower pace.
The caveat is that America is still the highest emitter bar China and 11th on a per capita basis.
While the US has been reducing it’s emissions, China and India have been increasing theirs and quite considerably too.
We all must do our bit but if China and India continue in the current vein it will be impossible to reach global targets.
@Gary Kearney: also not true. You can be educated and have plenty of “real life” experience. And associating snobbery with education is your problem kid not mine.
I wonder what was the carbon footprint of the Garda that were called, the council that had to clean up their mess and the public that was put out by pointless and carbon multiply protesters.
Stop encouraging these people. why do they get so much publicity. And cause so much havoc. We have enough other problems to sort out in the short term. Most governments around the world are making changes to their policy’s to stop climate change. You can’t just wave a magic wand FFS
@OConnelj: It would appear not. “Natural dyes are dyes or colorants derived from plants, invertebrates, or minerals. The majority of natural dyes are vegetable dyes” https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natural_dye
@Paraic: Well if they sourced vegetable based red dye for their little demo fair play. The guy in the big red bomber jacket has a few questions to answer though. :)
@OConnelj: Just pointing out the petty nature of your initial comment. Basically you’re implying that people who protest because of the inaction of government with respect to the climate crisis, can’t protest unless they use 100% natural and vegan materials. It just displays your ignorance of the subject. CO2 output is the driver of climate change. The source is burning nonrenewable fossil fuels. It makes little difference if the guy in the jacket is wearing a vegetable dye red cotton coat or if it’s a by product of the petroleum industry that would otherwise be dumped. But hey, your “hippie nonsense” narrative is what’s important, not the fact that our children and grandchildren will inherit our mess.
@Paraic: I just can’t abide hypocrisy. And just to be clear i agree that us humans are destroying our planets ability to sustain human life. Planet earth will recover once we are gone.
@OConnelj: I don’t see any hipocracy with respect to the protest, just you making assumptions about protesters. Change needs to be implemented at government level. Sometimes we don’t know what’s best for us and need to be told. The vast majority now support the plastic carrier bag levy for example, but beforehand, it was just another tax scam. Not everyone protesting is a tree hugger. Many just want alternatives fossil fuels to be supported at government level because CO2 is genuinely destroying the Earth’s climate. I feel the same way about hipocracy as you. We’ve all had a hippie lecture us about our use of something or other, only for them to then drive away in a cloud of blue smoke, coming from their clapped out 1988 ford transit.
@OConnelj: I actually agree with you. Judging by Journal comments, there will not be enough buy in to slow climate change down, let alone reverse it. The so called “hockey stick” graph is very alarming, because too me it looks like a phenomena called “thermal runaway” in Engineering, which is caused by a broken feedback loop. The outcome is never good.
@Paraic: Co2 is not destroying the planet, its feeding the plant life. talk about a drama queen. Climate change always happens. Over 40 predictions over the last few decades and nothing has happened.
@brendan H: Nothing has happened? Get a grip. California is burning, South Africa is almost out of water and it hasn’t rained in parts of Australia for almost 7 years. The global average temperature has risen by 1.5 degrees. Sea levels have risen by several centimeters, CO2 ppm has passed the 400 mark. People died in Japan and Bermuda. 10s of thousands died in heatwaves in Europe, the poles are melting, then there were floods, Cat 5 hurricanes, super-typhoons …. Also, you are so stupid that you think plants will benefit from CO2 even though rising CO2 will cause drought. Didn’t they teach you that plants need water in idiot school?
The problem with this is that not all fossil fuels are created equal.
If Ireland was to switch all it’s oil boiler to gas tomorrow and stopped burning coal at in favour of gas we would met all our required emission reductions targets, this would have to be done along with the additional planned installation of renewable energy.
During the transition the work then can be done on introducing meaningful amounts of green gas from agricultural and carbon captured and storage.
The solutions for Ireland require working with fossil fuels not against them but XR seem to think the opposite and it’s fantasy thinking.
@Rory Mac Daibhéid: _conventional_ natural gas produces less CO2 per unit energy than coal as long as the infrastructure doesn’t leak too much. I’m not sure how it compares with oil. “_Fracked_“ gas is a different animal. Where it is extracted (damaging the health of local residents), elevated levels of methane in the air point to it actually being worse than coal in terms of greenhouse gas emissions per unit of energy. The proposed liquid natural gas (LNG) terminal on the Shannon estuary would import fracked gas from the US.
@Paraic: I have as I have qualifications in renewables. Gas is the back up to wind and allows Ireland operate it’s electricity on varying levels of wind and info ghe future most likely PV also.
There is plans to make renewable gas and also hydrogen from renewables. This is where gas is essential in the low carbon future for Ireland.
Anyone that tells you otherwise is likely misguided.
@Stephen Troake: that’s a good point. The ‘funny’ thing is if we import fracked gas we will account for the same level as gas produced here. Ideally we should get gas from off our coast. Use this to replace money point and oil usage.
Oil is a higher carbon emitter than gas. Gas is actually half the co2 of electricity currently .
Its looks like we met end up importing fracked gas from the US and this is very bad for the environment.
Not sure XR can be mature enough to say actually let’s explore for Irish gas , non fracked , and use the gains to increase renewables and add CCS.
@Rory Mac Daibhéid: Yeah, volume-for-volume, conventional domestic NG would likely do less harm than fracked gas from anywhere. I wish I knew more about this. Where is Ireland looking to get its base load going forwards? It’s a shame that nuclear is a hard sell at the moment and has high startup costs and lead-in times. French nuclear at peak demand?
This will be the least of your worries when the Rapture comes. Jesus is coming very soon. We have the expected end time convergence happening in the World.
I agree with a lot of their fears about what is happening to the Earth, fossil fuel etc., but this is a very ‘Studenty’ and rather aggressive [passive aggressive] way of airing their concerns, stopping traffic in the city while people are going to hospital, work, and now this. This is quite traumatic and upsetting for many and a few good speakers getting on Primetime would be much better but they are a type. PETA was a good organisation but started antics like this and lost my support. They are not doing themselves or the Earth any favours. Infact they are irritating people now.
An Israeli drone circled over the Irish base camp in Lebanon monitoring Simon Harris' visit
Niall O'Connor
Reporting from Lebanon
Updated
21 mins ago
United States
EU pledges to 'protect our workers' as Trump announces 25% tariffs on all cars made outside US
25 mins ago
As it happened
Verona Murphy 'fully intends' to continue as Ceann Comhairle as opposition parties draft no confidence motion
2 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say