You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Is Chris checking GOOP 24/7? PA Wire

Were you born in the 1980s or 1990s? You've probably looked up an old flame on Facebook

Millennials on social media have some weird…

MILLENNIALS (THOSE BORN in the 1980s and 1990s) on social media have some new and common dating habits.

Bank of America Merrill Lynch circulated a huge research note on how they think millennials are going to shape the world economy in the next several years.

In their section about online dating, the authors of the note included a very interesting detail about millennials’ love lives and social networks: Nearly four out of five millennial social network users have “checked up on someone they used to be in a relationship with” on those networks, making them more than twice as likely as members of any other generational group to look up old flames.

Additionally, three in ten millennial users have “posted details or pictures from a date” on social networks, again a much higher proportion than other age groups.

Here’s the chart, based on survey data from the Pew Research Center:

BAML Millennials dating on social media

NOW WATCH: Here's how your sex life changes as you get older

SEE ALSO: Millennials are giving up on organised religion

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 48 comments
48 Comments
    Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    May 31st 2015, 11:35 AM

Me old flame Denis o brien wonder what he’s up to

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 31st 2015, 11:36 AM

If the Journal refuses to run DOB stories after it has been clarified that they can, I’ll be leaving this site and not returning.

But at the moment there is sufficient doubt about the legality of reporting items subject to an injunction that both RTE and the Irish Times have decided they need further clarity from the High court before they will do so.

These are significant, experienced media institutions with access to the best legal advice.

If they believe there is doubt, can you blame the Journal.ie for being circumspect?

We’ll have a ruling on this on Tuesday/Wednesday.

But until the position is clarified, can people please stop spamming the comments?

People have made their point. If they feel strongly enough they can leave/boycott until Tuesday at least. Because this attempt to bully an independent entity into only running the stories you want to read, from the only angle you’ll tolerate, is as censorious as anything else that is happening now.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 31st 2015, 11:37 AM

Wiping his arse with €500 notes.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Anto Curran
    Favourite Anto Curran
    May 31st 2015, 11:56 AM

Very well said Barry

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    May 31st 2015, 11:58 AM

1.25%

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 31st 2015, 12:02 PM

RTE make a substantial payout to a bunch of alleged homophobes for being called out and then set about thinking that it’s in the public interest that whenever there is a gay person on TV that they also have a member of the No Equality side to be present regardless of whether they are bringing up pointless topics unrelated to the Referendum.

I think RTE need to review who they get their advice off.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 31st 2015, 12:16 PM

@ Peter

Fully agree – they are being ridiculously cautious.

I can’t see that there could possibly be an issue reporting verbatim quotes in good faith.

This has damaged people’s trust in many institutions, no doubt about that. They’re not exactly portraying themselves as fearless defenders of democracy.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    May 31st 2015, 12:23 PM

You are being contradictory Barry

Mute eire366
    Favourite eire366
    May 31st 2015, 12:25 PM

You’re wrong Barry. And what’s worse is that your specious articulate reasoning is exactly what has this country banjaxed.

The Irish Times and RTE (never mind all the other media operators out of the loop due to ownership considerations) are not withholding on the basis of legal principle, but rather have been intimidated by the Deepness Of Billionaire’s pockets, legal artillery and the threat of bankruptcy.
    (everyone knows civil cases can drag on for years and even the victors can end up massively out of pocket, ref Beverly Cooper Flynn and the money she never paid to RTE).

Parliamentary Privilege is a cornerstone of democracy and every minute (never mind days) that it is muffled and suppressed by very special interests is another nail in the coffin of a functioning democracy.

Delay delay avoid avoid = corruption

Just ask all those once-upon-a-time kids abused by church and state authorities how delays in justice worked out for them….same principle here: vested interests, collusion of silence, nicely swept under the carpet.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    May 31st 2015, 12:38 PM

Your a gas man Joe, making up mad stuff like €500 euro notes.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    May 31st 2015, 12:40 PM

You’re.. I hung my head in shame their.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 31st 2015, 12:51 PM

@ Michael

I don’t agree. I think the comments should be reported – but more qualified (and certainly more risk averse) experts think there is a risk. So I can understand, even if I disagree with them, why the Journal has taken this decision. I doubt the Journal has deep pockets.

Many, many people have let them know what they think of the decision. But if they are that unhappy they can leave. Spamming the site denies everyone the opportunity to read, review and make their own minds up.

@ eire366

Absolutely correct that Parliamentary Privilege is a cornerstone of democracy. But I disagree that my reasoning is specious. Also I disagree that RTE/IT/Journal/virtually all media motivation isn’t a legal principle.

The main point I’m trying to make is that if the spamming stops we can at least have this argument.

To take up your point – I think you are missing the wood for the trees. I think it is a legal principle, but one with consequences.

If they get this wrong, they could suffer severe financial penalties. So yes, there is “intimidation” but it arises from the consequences of a legal misstep.

Every other media outlet is DYING to undermine DOB. They will be praying for the opportunity to take a swing. On on Tuesday/Wednesday, I firmly believe they’ll be cleared to do so.

But I do think that people SHOULD feel “intimidated” by potentially breaking court orders. Otherwise what is the point of them?

The law exists to protect everyone, not just the rich. And if the HC decides that the media cannot report on comments made in good faith by a TD, then I have no doubt that the street protest will dwarf the Water Charges protest.

I would definitely, definitely march against this. But we have due process for a reason. Tuesday is not too long to wait.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    May 31st 2015, 1:09 PM

Fair play Barry. The only comment worth reading on this site in the last three days.

But don’t expect the children to understand. They had the same thing in Britain six years ago. It got sorted in favour of the press. This will too.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 31st 2015, 1:17 PM

Ron €500 notes exist, you probably don’t come by many of them on the dole.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    May 31st 2015, 1:18 PM

Barry, the rte court order and CMs speech are only related by the players involved, a court cannot silence a parliament.
    Those that have given in to vague threats have given up their freedom easily, that seems to cover most of the Irish press.
    They were protected by the constitution and they’ve pissed all over it.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 31st 2015, 1:38 PM

@Alan

Thanks – having comments is what makes this site for many. Appreciate that.

@ littlejim

Correct. And that is why CM is, and was, free to say what she said in parliament.

As many have quite rightly said, if this cannot be reported, the effect is that she has effectively been silenced. That would be in my view, anti-democratic and abhorrent.

But the matter is not without doubt – hence the approach by RTE/IT to the High Court.

In the meantime, the main point I’m trying to make re spamming the comments is that two wrongs don’t make a right.

It is effectively a “Denial Of Service” attack on the people who visit here to get many different perspectives on many issues. And spamming the comments on every article denies people the opportunity to do so. It stifles debate and has same “chilling” effect as an injunction.

Of course the two aren’t equivalent.

Of course the HC ruling on DOB is absolutely paramount to our right to free speech.

But we all know this – in the meantime can the spamming stop?

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    May 31st 2015, 1:39 PM

@Coco..he’s a Malteser..fat round and brown don’t ya know.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    May 31st 2015, 2:43 PM

If the Journal isn’t allowed to report on things and want to play it safe, they need to make some sort of statement just saying they’re being cautious till the court case, and I think most of us would be grand. What I don’t like is the way they’re deleting comments, refusing to report the story properly and just acting as though nothing is happening. Make a statement, acknowledge it, and I’ll move on.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 31st 2015, 3:01 PM

@ Mrs Shalakalananaka

Agree – a statement to this effect would help.

I hope one is forthcoming.

Mute Irish_pirate
    Favourite Irish_pirate
    May 31st 2015, 11:48 AM

My DOB is 1:25 sometime in the 80s! What a great bar graph, 7.5% of gen 80s should have interest in that graph!

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    May 31st 2015, 12:06 PM

Comic genius. Have you considered doing stand up?

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 31st 2015, 12:38 PM

by the 2020s you will no longer be able to do this study as BOD and his affiliates (corrupt politicians) and bought judiciary will have clear legal grounds to silence all doubters of the great man.

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 31st 2015, 12:39 PM

*DOB

Mute RI Twing
    Favourite RI Twing
    May 31st 2015, 11:34 AM

I looked for details of a Dail speech but found it is not widely reported

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    May 31st 2015, 11:41 AM

Did you try the Oireachtas website?

Mute Quincy
    Favourite Quincy
    May 31st 2015, 11:46 AM

There is a 1.25% chance of me looking up an old girlfriend on Facebook…

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 31st 2015, 11:34 AM

“DOB MALTA 1.25 hehehe we are all rebels”.

Mute Dee M
    Favourite Dee M
    May 31st 2015, 12:08 PM

What happened to freedom of speech! Seems like dictatorship more so than a democracy. I thought we lived in Ireland not China! DOB 1.25

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    May 31st 2015, 12:11 PM

Zzzzzz

Mute Jack Dunne
    Favourite Jack Dunne
    May 31st 2015, 2:01 PM

I stalk all my exes when Im bored

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    May 31st 2015, 11:40 AM

I woke up at 1.25 this morning hoping to see a statement from the Journal over this huge [redacted] mess but nothing. Then again at 7 and again nothing. I can see how the rest of the day is going to go. My favourite lollipop flavour is cherry and carpet fluff would definitely be in the Top 10 best types of fluff….

Denis O’ Brien

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    May 31st 2015, 12:07 PM

Hahaha that’s excellent! Did you come up with it all by yourself?

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    May 31st 2015, 1:23 PM

Well I hardly googled it Tony..

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 31st 2015, 11:47 AM

Fine gael searched for an old flame when giving out the water meter contract.
    #denisthemenace

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    May 31st 2015, 12:07 PM

Not funny.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    May 31st 2015, 12:22 PM

Tough crowd

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    May 31st 2015, 12:25 PM

Just Tony

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 31st 2015, 11:39 AM

the people demand our government defend our democracy and our constitution. it was so important 2 weeks.

Mute Shay Redmond
    Favourite Shay Redmond
    May 31st 2015, 11:44 AM
    Mute John Do
    Favourite John Do
    May 31st 2015, 12:13 PM
    Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    May 31st 2015, 11:35 AM

Brian O’Driscoll

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh

Bite me millenials just lay off my future yo!

Mute Trisec Training
    Favourite Trisec Training
    May 31st 2015, 11:50 AM

Seeing as how most posts are hijacked this morning I want to say I’m disappointed in not finding anything on the FA Cup or Copa del Rey. That Messi goal would have brightened the morning

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    May 31st 2015, 11:46 AM

The Chris/Gwyneth photo is confusing as both were born in the 70s.

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee

Joe its getting to yA hehehe

Mute Chris Murphy
    Favourite Chris Murphy
    May 31st 2015, 2:09 PM
    Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jun 1st 2015, 1:19 AM

Imagine if there was a reduction of say 7.5% to 1.5% of Facebook users world wide. Thats a serious loss but if it were interest to be paid back on a loan – yippeee!!! Sorry for going slightly off topic but where’s Inda??

Mute Gemma Shah
    Favourite Gemma Shah
    May 31st 2015, 3:28 PM

Sure people born in the noughties are still a bit young to have significant dating histories. That doesn’t mean they won’t beat us at looking up ex’s, just give them enough time to have ex’s.