You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ireland's top 20 attractions, both fee paying and free, revealed

Fáilte Ireland has published its annual list of Ireland’s most popular visitor attractions in 2017.

THE GUINNESS STOREHOUSE is Ireland’s most popular tourist attraction, with visitor numbers increasing by 4% to 1,711,281.

The Guinness Storehouse Gate DRTA DRTA

Fáilte Ireland has published its annual list of Ireland’s most popular visitor attractions in 2017.

It looks at both fee charging and free attractions. In the fee charging list, the Cliffs of Moher came in second, while Dublin Zoo was third.

Cliffs of Moher 2 (1)

The National Gallery of Ireland topped the list of ‘free to enter’ attractions, surpassing the one million mark for the first time with a 41% increase in visitors.

New entrants Castletown House and Parklands in Kildare and Glendalough in Wicklow came in second and third.

Overall, the top 20 fee-charging attractions during 2017 were:

1. Guinness Storehouse – 1,711,281 (+4%)
  2. Cliffs of Moher Visitor Experience – 1,527,000 (+7%)
  3. Dublin Zoo – 1,264,300 (+10%)
  4. National Aquatic Centre – 1,099,756 (+6%)
  5. Book of Kells – 983,410 (+10%)
  6. Tayto Park  - 735,000
  7. St Patrick’s Cathedral  - 603,000
  8. Kylemore Abbey & Gardens  - 558,000
  9. Muckross House Gardens and Traditional Farm - 552,923
  10. Powerscourt Gardens & Waterfall - 501,601
  11. Fota Wildlife Park - 455,559
  12. Blarney Castle & Gardens - 450,000
  13. Kilmainham Gaol - 425,000
  14. Kilkenny Castle - 418,685
  15. Rock of Cashel - 376,488
  16. Dublin Castle  - 371,000
  17. Bunratty Castle & Folk Park  - 369,275
  18. Brú na Boinne Newgrange  - 281,103
  19. Christ Church Cathedral  - 238,285
  20. Glenveagh Castle and Grounds  - 211,000

Amongst Ireland’s ‘free to enter’ attractions, the National Gallery of Ireland had a total of 1,065,929 visitors.

National Gallery of Ireland (2)

Ireland’s top 20 ‘free to enter’ attractions for 2017 were:

1. The National Gallery of Ireland – 1,065,929 (+41%)
  2. Castletown House Parklands – 666,541
  3. Glendalough Site – 639,826
  4. National Botanic Gardens – 569,652 (-2%)
  5. DLR LexIcon (Dun Laoighaire Rathdown) – 525,708 (+12%)
  6. Irish Museum of Modern Art  -  489,295
  7. Doneraile Wildlife Park  - 480,000
  8. National Museum of Ireland – Archaeology, Kildare St  - 474,564
  9. Science Gallery at Trinity College Dublin  - 407,529
  10. Farmleigh  - 359,432
  11. Kilkenny Castle Parklands  - 336,315
  12. Newbridge Silverware Museum of Style Icons  - 350,000
  13. National Museum of Ireland – Natural History, Merrion St - 336,412
  14. Chester Beatty Library  - 335,875
  15. National Museum of Ireland – Decorative Arts & History, Collins Barracks  - 234,336
  16. Connemara National Park - 221,713
  17. The National Library of Ireland  - 197,245
  18. Crawford Art  Gallery  - 188,814
  19. Malin Head Viewing Point  - 172,329
  20. Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane  - 167,410

Welcoming another record year for visitors, Fáilte Ireland’s Director of Product Development, Orla Carroll said:

“Fáilte Ireland invests in new and compelling attractions throughout the country because we know that they bring visitors from around the world to our shores.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Paul A Whelan
    Favourite Paul A Whelan
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:05 PM

Cliffs of Moher are to be avoided! Biggest rip off in Ireland tourist wise. You don’t pay to park your car you pay for each person in the car!! Gives very bad impression of Ireland to tourists. Better cliffis in Donegal!

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:11 PM

@Paul A Whelan: You said it. The Sliabh Liag cliffs in Donegal are more impressive and also free. Plus, there are short hiking trails in the area to do too once your viewing of the cliffs are done. At the Cliffs of Moher it’s just back to the car with ye.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:31 PM

@Paul A Whelan: they don’t even have a handrail around it! It’s a health and safety nightmare!

Mute Jonathan Power
    Favourite Jonathan Power
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:54 PM

@Paul A Whelan: Donegal is a hidden gem lots of places here never get saturated with tourists but don’t tell people in Kerry that.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Paul A Whelan: If in Clare the cliffs south of Kilkee are not as high as the cliffs of Moher but are still very impressive. That bit of coast is very scenic and relatively ‘undiscovered’.

Mute The Thinker
    Favourite The Thinker
    Jun 7th 2018, 1:01 PM

@Paul A Whelan: Cliffs of Moher are actually free to visit, they just want to make you think you have to pay.

Mute Ollie Lad
    Favourite Ollie Lad
    Jun 7th 2018, 1:56 PM

@Paul A Whelan: if you spot the sign down the road for carpark go up there.. park in your woman’s little car park for 2euro and enjoy the long stroll along the cliff edge all the way up to the tourist spot.. as g or the lack of barriers on a cliff edge, it’s a cliff, you know there’s an edge, so quite simple just keep back from it.. not everything needs a sign and railings and all that crap

Mute Paul McDermott
    Favourite Paul McDermott
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:05 PM

@Ollie Lad: Yes this. Nice loop walk and only cost is to park the car.

Could go a step (or a few) further and park in Liscannor or Doolin and get a bus to walk back all along the cliffs / coast walk.

Quite the spectacle on a clear day.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:55 PM

@The Thinker: You still need to get there and, for most of us (unless we’re walking or cycling), that involves paying for the car park. Again, Sliabh Liag is free.

Mute Colm Connolly
    Favourite Colm Connolly
    Jun 7th 2018, 3:37 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: you only have to pay for 1 person into the car park if you clear everyone out of the car before the paypoint they can then just walk into the car park after the driver

Mute Daragh Cassidy
    Favourite Daragh Cassidy
    Jun 7th 2018, 7:07 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: it’s a natural attraction for Christ’s sake. It shouldn’t have poles, and rails, and warning signs. I think people have enough cop on to know how to take care of their own personal safety.

It attracts over a million visitors every year. Few, if any, serious accidents.

Mute Jack Jackson
    Favourite Jack Jackson
    Jun 7th 2018, 11:51 AM

Strange that Garnish Island isn’t on this list and yet other very average stuff (in my view) has made it.

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Jun 7th 2018, 10:16 PM

@Jack Jackson: Garnish is just fantastic, like another world.

Mute Coll S
    Favourite Coll S
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:42 PM

The Dunmore Caves in Kilkenny and the Japanese Gardens and National Stud in Kildare are also worth visiting.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jun 7th 2018, 3:10 PM

@Coll S: Those Japanese gardens are excellent and I always thought that there would be a demand for a much bigger version in the country somewhere. They are a treat for senses and food for the mind when done well.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:14 PM

Disappointed with New Grange I thought it would be up in the top 5

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:58 PM

@Gareth Cooney: It’s more a capacity issue. You can fit a heck of a lot more people in, say, the Guinness Storehouse than in Newgrange at any one time. Though, it’s not clear if they’re talking about Newgrange itself or including the Brú na Bóinne visitor centre.

Mute Colin Marry
    Favourite Colin Marry
    Jun 7th 2018, 3:34 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: Visitors Centre. Newgrange itself usually gets around 140,000, again down to capacity / logistics

Jun 7th 2018, 12:34 PM

The dail is worth a visit for morbid humour, listening to all the crisies followed by another pay rise for the lads followed by sessions in the dail bars.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:32 PM

Giants Causeway over one million visitors in 2017,
    Oh yes of course, I forgot. That’s Nordie territory and doesn’t count.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:43 PM

@ted hagan: Speaking of nordie territory, Marble Arch geopark in Fermanagh is well worth a visit. Walk down into a cave and take a boat trip on an underground river – then hop in the car and visit Cavan Burren park. (I think the GC is overrated)

Mute ROBERT FERGUSON
    Favourite ROBERT FERGUSON
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:58 PM

@ted hagan: whats wrong with nordy is it cos weve best coast line best people best food
    Go yo bed ted lol

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jun 7th 2018, 3:24 PM

@ted hagan: Don’t think Northern Irish attractions fall under the remit of Fáilte Ireland. I think the name would be the first stumbling block.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jun 8th 2018, 3:15 PM

@ROBERT FERGUSON:
    Yes I know. I live on the Antrim coast.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jun 8th 2018, 3:16 PM

@Matt Connolly:
    Comes under Ireland though surely and there is close cooperation between the two tourist boards.

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Jun 7th 2018, 11:38 AM

Surprised at some of the statistics… Guinness has been leading for a few years… As said on thread its a bit overrated…. But I’m amazed at Kylemore Abbey been so high on the list …. I thought it was the most boring experience….

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    Jun 7th 2018, 11:52 AM

@Sean Leonard: I’m wondering what you expected?

I’ve visited Kylemore Abbey, and while inside the Abbey itself isn’t the most interesting, the grounds around it and the view of seeing it as you’re driving over are amazing, in my opinion.

Mute Eamonn Skerrett
    Favourite Eamonn Skerrett
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:12 PM

Better cliffs in Kilkee

Mute Joe Nolan
    Favourite Joe Nolan
    Jun 7th 2018, 1:36 PM

@Eamonn Skerrett:
    Moher is a rip off for sure. Cliff walks in Kilkee are lovely and it doesn’t end there, as the entire coast south to Loop Head is on a far bigger scale to the fatted calf that is Moher. And Kilkee is free.

Mute Declan Bowe
    Favourite Declan Bowe
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:52 PM

What about Poulnaproun Dolmen Co Clare? Surely 1 of the most visited free sites n the country

Mute Jonny Martin
    Favourite Jonny Martin
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:14 PM

I visited Kylemore this year and thought it was a nice day out, but I’m very surprised to see it had twice as many visitors as Newgrange

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:37 PM

Avoid Powerscourt waterfall at all costs, crazy that you can park your car 50 meters from it, too many folk having BBQs. Kids of all ages clambering up slippery rock faces, not surprised to see emergency services dealing with casualty when I was there earlier this year.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Jun 7th 2018, 1:03 PM

@Maurice Frazer: Would you rather it was fenced off? Surely nature is there to be experienced not just looked at? I’ve happy childhood memories of climbing trees and rocks in Powerscourt, nd getting right up to the pool where the spray would wet you. Would hate the next generations to be deprived of that experience. What was the song “…they took all the trees and put them in a tree museum.. “?

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Jun 7th 2018, 5:11 PM

@Maurice Frazer: you can walk above powers court for free. And there are also other lovely free walks in the area.

Mute Peter Campbell
    Favourite Peter Campbell
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:02 PM

From Dongal and not far from Glenveagh and never had to pay in ever!
    Probably been there 40times

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Jun 7th 2018, 10:17 PM

IMO, there should not be an entrance fee for the Cliffs of Moher because the commercial activities on site should be more than adequate to finance the operation. Its a bit much to charge admission to what is a natural sight.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jun 7th 2018, 11:17 AM

Bar kylemore,its still to hell or to connaught.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Jun 7th 2018, 11:45 AM

@Brian Murphy: Certain parts of Connaught are an experience in themselves. Delphi Valley, or the Sky road on the way to visit Inisbofin are 2 of my favourites. Looking back to the mainland from Inisoirr on a fine evening. Dont mind the tourist traps. Connaught is world class.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:17 PM

St Catherines Park is Lucan/Leixlip is a lovely parkland and should be included in the list

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jun 7th 2018, 12:17 PM

Wonder did the Kute Kerry Kintz find a way of charging us to look at Skellig Rock………….. wait for it, wait for it…………. on google maps yet?

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Jun 7th 2018, 4:38 PM

What about the Spire? It didn’t feature, the only monument to our Junkies we have???

Mute Liam Lally
    Favourite Liam Lally
    Jun 7th 2018, 6:39 PM

What makes a venue the post popular in Ireland is the marketing of that venue. The proof of that is the Guinness Store House.

Mute L'Ari demana llibertat pels presos polítics
    Favourite L'Ari demana llibertat pels presos polítics
    Jun 7th 2018, 10:55 PM

The NAC, the swimming club in Blanchardstown? #3? Weird..

Mute L'Ari demana llibertat pels presos polítics
    Favourite L'Ari demana llibertat pels presos polítics
    Jun 7th 2018, 10:57 PM

@L’Ari demana llibertat pels presos polítics: correction position #4

Mute Donal Fitzgerald
    Favourite Donal Fitzgerald
    Jun 8th 2018, 3:38 AM

Dun Aenghus fort on Inis Mor is amazing

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Jun 7th 2018, 10:22 PM

Spike Island,. now the joyriders are all gone. lots around Cork harbor, Camden fort, Roche’s Point lighthouse, Cobh (just forget that its tourism is based on two maritime disasters Titanic+ Lusitania)

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Jun 7th 2018, 8:38 PM

And all this will just make them hike the fees. Tourists are fleeced here. Full stop.

Mute Joanne Muldowney
    Favourite Joanne Muldowney
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:15 PM

What about Lough Rynn Hotel and gardens,!?