You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Naoise Culhane

Avoiding fatbergs: Why pouring turkey oils and greases down the sink is a terrible idea

Irish Water and Clean Coasts are urging people not to pour the oil from their Christmas turkey down the sink.

PEOPLE ARE BEING urged to avoid pouring fats, oils and greases from their roast turkey down the kitchen sink this Christmas time, as it can cause sewer blockages and even form fatbergs.

Irish Water and Clean Coasts teamed up earlier this month to issue the call, and said that already this year there had been more than 6,000 sewer blockages in the public network caused by fats, oils and greases put down sinks.

When combined with the flushing of wet wipes and other sanitary items, blockages can become fatbergs which ultimately damage the environment and costs a lot to remove, they said.

The advice with the grease and oils generated by your turkey is to put it in the bin.

Irish Water’s Kate Gannon said: “The size and scale of the task of keeping the sewer network flowing is substantial. That’s why raising awareness of the issue through this Christmas campaign is so important.

Our message is simple. This Christmas we want to remind the public that small changes in our kitchens can help. We’re asking public to “think before you pour” fats, oils and greases down the sink. It only takes an extra couple of seconds to safely dispose of products like fat by putting them in the bin.

In the first nine months of this year, Irish Water estimates that it removed 4,700 blockages. 

It cost over €7 million to remove these blockages from the sewer network in 2017. 

The company has combined with Clean Coasts for the Think Before You Flush campaign, which is about “changing people’s flushing behaviour” like never using the toilet to dispose items such as nappies, wet wipes, cotton bud sticks, food, plasters etc. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute James Brown
    Favourite James Brown
    Apr 18th 2018, 8:56 PM

Just so I’m clear, we’re in the middle of a housing crisis with homeless people dying on the streets of our Capital, a health service crisis with a record number of people on trolleys in January this year etc, etc……………… & Dublin City Council want to spend €15,000,000.00 on a feckin Kayaking Course through the IFSC. Well at least it’s nice to see DCC have got their priorities right!! Total bunch of wasters. We’d be better off replacing them with a bunch of trained chimps!!

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:00 PM

@James Brown: I’m usually first to slate someone for bringing homeless into everything, but €15,000,000 for a kayak course. 15 million. Fifteeeeenn Milllionnnn. Surely its just a few poles in the water for them to go between or am I missing something here?

Mute New Property
    Favourite New Property
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:02 PM

@James Brown: crazy they have a budget and have to spend it. These should be got rid of all money should be held by government and given out according to need.

Mute Peter Heylin
    Favourite Peter Heylin
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:21 PM

@James Brown: untrained chimps would be more able than Dublin City Council, never mind trained…

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:18 PM

@James Brown: I second that and would take away the S and T in wasters and put in an N and K in their place. 31,000€ on a set of chairs and a table? Millions missing in accounts, no money in the DCC?? 27 million euros for a June on the N32? You couldn’t make it up, wasters.

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:20 PM

@Declan: A hub on the N32.

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:53 PM

@Pat Bateman: it’s a whitewater kayaking course Pat, so it would have to create currents, a slalom course is what you might be thinking of…

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Apr 18th 2018, 11:44 PM

@James Brown: let’s abandon logic and build 59 new ballymuns then… makes sense

Mute Patrick O Connell
    Favourite Patrick O Connell
    Apr 19th 2018, 9:40 AM

@James Brown: remember that Dublin City Council is run by FF/SF and the loony left and yet they constantly give out about homeless etc yet spend 15 million of a kayak course. will we see any of them hit the airwaves saying the money should be spent on social/free housing.

Mute Gordon Nash
    Favourite Gordon Nash
    Apr 18th 2018, 8:53 PM

Don’t see why not. But I’m sure someone else will…

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Favourite Patty Cullinane
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:06 PM

@Gordon Nash: pretty much everyone else will.

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Apr 19th 2018, 8:30 AM

@Patty Cullinane: that’s not what the pole says. I assume it’s got artificial rapids or something or a club house building that would justify the cost. It not it’s a joke.

Mute David peate
    Favourite David peate
    Apr 18th 2018, 8:51 PM

what a great idea, they could build a cycle track around it too while they’re at it

Mute Kevin Moylan
    Favourite Kevin Moylan
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:03 PM

@David peate: and a 18 hole golf course

Mute James Brown
    Favourite James Brown
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:13 PM

@Kevin Moylan: Maybe we could spend that €15million on another metal stick in the middle of our Capital. Just imagine all the tourists that have traveled from far & wide to witness our marvelous ‘Spire’. I bet they’d bursting at the seams to come over here & take a photo beside the tallest street lamps in the world.

Mute Murph
    Favourite Murph
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:08 PM

The boom is well and truly back I tells ya!

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Apr 18th 2018, 11:45 PM

@Murph: why

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Apr 19th 2018, 12:07 AM

@Darren Norris: when you can afford money for poop like this there must be loads of it around

Mute Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Favourite Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:12 PM

Build housing first….

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris

@Lesley Harpur O Connell: on the river?

Mute Wingah Boffah
    Favourite Wingah Boffah

Ah Jaysus i was only saying to me pal the other day “do ya know what this city needs…a kayak course right in the bleedin middle of it” and now here it is in the Journal, bleedin deadly i tell ya!

Mute Nek nedyah
    Favourite Nek nedyah

Use the liffey , it’s free , and in my life time it has never run out of water .
    For €15 million , I could tilt the western side of Dublin for a “rapids effect”

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Apr 19th 2018, 8:32 AM

@Nek nedyah: Google employees don’t wonder further than the Phoenix Park

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:02 PM

More unbelievable nonsense from our brain dead civil servants. This has Owen Keegan written all over it. Crisis what crisis.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris

@Ian James Burgess: explain why it’s a bad idea to use the river?

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:38 PM

not all of the 15 million is going on the kayaking. a large sum has been set aside for Venezuelan, Catalan &Palestinian flags to be erected at key points around the kayaking area. there isn’t enough room outside DCC hq for all the flags anymore. what do people expect a city council to do? run a city properly? don’t be daft…

Mute meh
    Favourite meh
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:44 PM

Could they not use some of that money to pay off the bar tab in the Dail?

Mute Bobby Byrne
    Favourite Bobby Byrne
    Apr 19th 2018, 7:54 AM

@meh: the Dail bar tab is 30 million so it would just be a waste of time

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:37 PM

Funfair for the Banksters?

Why not, Ireland is Shangri La for the Banksters!

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:46 PM

Maybe Eoghan Murphy and his elitist leader, Varadkar can simply wash all the homeless and the drug addicted out to sea in this new multi-million Euro whitewater bath, problems solved?

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:43 PM

I think they’re confusing kayak with craic, an easy mistake.

Mute Nek nedyah
    Favourite Nek nedyah
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:03 PM

@Ted Murray: I think they’re on crack

Mute Patty Cullinane
    Favourite Patty Cullinane
    Apr 18th 2018, 9:05 PM

Absolutely build this…and so much more yuppie bulls**t. This way…no one will ever have to leave Dublin for any reason; except everyone who can’t afford to live there anymore. Ugh.

Mute Fearghal
    Favourite Fearghal
    Apr 18th 2018, 11:53 PM

If this affects Oktoberfest, there’ll be trouble!

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Apr 19th 2018, 12:10 AM

If someone points out the liffey to these guys it will save 15m.

Mute Sam Alexander
    Favourite Sam Alexander
    Apr 18th 2018, 11:50 PM

Did the Ardmear see one in Gaza?

Apr 18th 2018, 9:18 PM

What are the subjects?

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:46 PM

Serial tree hugger Keegan’s dirty mitts are all over this one…

Mute Jane Nic Conchradha
    Favourite Jane Nic Conchradha
    Apr 18th 2018, 10:30 PM

You couldn’t make this sh*t up.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Apr 18th 2018, 11:48 PM

@Jane Nic Conchradha: using the river for a boating activity? Surely it’s madness? Maybe a floating homeless aid is needed?

Mute Pl O'neill
    Favourite Pl O'neill
    Apr 19th 2018, 12:40 AM

This could be good if your pissed , especially if ya were pissed when ya came up with the idea .

Mute Finbar Loftus
    Favourite Finbar Loftus
    Apr 19th 2018, 9:49 AM

15 million euros to complete a recreational facility … thousands homeless???
    Good to know we have our priorities right.