You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Deirdre Jacob RTE Prime Time

'Help us bring Deirdre home': Father of Deirdre Jacob hopeful people will come forward

Michael Jacob said that the family still have hope that there is one person out there who knows what happened.

THE FATHER OF Deirdre Jacob has made a fresh appeal for information on her disappearance, hoping that the passage of time will allow people to come forward. 

Deirdre was last seen walking near her home at Roseberry in Newbridge, Co Kildare, at around 3pm on 28 July 1998. She had been due to start into her second year of teacher training in Twickenham in England, and had been on her way to send a rent deposit to her friend.

There has been much speculation around the 18-year-old’s disappearance over the years, particularly as a number of other young women went missing in the country between 1993 and 1995.

Last year gardaí received the information they needed to upgrade the investigation from a missing person’s case to a murder inquiry.

‘Do the right thing’ 

Speaking on RTÉ’s Ray D’Arcy Show this afternoon, Michael Jacob said that the family still have hope that there is one person out there who knows what happened to Deirdre. 

He said that there may be someone out there who is in a position to now come forward who may have previously been held back “for whatever reason”. 

“These people are 20 years older and maybe much more mature and can look at things in a different light,” he said. 

The main thing to do is consider what the right thing to do is. We all probably bottle up things, but in this case the right thing to do is to come forward and give that information to the gardaí.

Describing the investigation as a giant jigsaw with scattered pieces, Jacob told D’Arcy said that it will only become clear when those pieces are put together”. 

Making a further appeal, Deirdre’s father made asked anyone with information to come forward. 

“Don’t hold onto it any longer. Now is the right time, do the right thing. Help us bring Deirdre home,” Jacob said. 

Since visually enhanced CCTV footage was shown on RTÉ’s Prime Time last week, Jacob said there has been “a very good reaction” with a number of calls made to the incident room in Kildare.

The investigation team can be contacted at Kildare Garda Station on 045 521222 or the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:54 PM

God forbid he would put Ireland or the Irish first.

Mute eoin fitzpatrick
    Favourite eoin fitzpatrick
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:57 PM

@Jb Walshe: and the EU which we are part of

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:59 PM

@eoin fitzpatrick: the EU that made Ireland what it is. The planks on this site seem to forget that.

Mute Declan Young
    Favourite Declan Young
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:15 PM

@Dave Connolly: You mean made it a transet camp for passport flushers?

Mute jaune hendy
    Favourite jaune hendy
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:35 PM

@Jb Walshe: both policy at home and abroad are equally important.

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:24 PM

@Dave Connolly: Eaten bread is soon forgotten by the anti-everything trolls, anything apart from Trump ruling the entire planet is Marxist to them.

Mute GoodBrother
    Favourite GoodBrother
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:16 PM

@Jb Walshe:

Where exactly do you think we would be without EU money over the decades? Poorer than Moldova, that’s where.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:16 PM

@Jb Walshe: Lovely hurling

Mute Anne Kiernan
    Favourite Anne Kiernan
    Feb 19th 2025, 9:59 PM

@Jb Walshe: Ukraine needs help. We were “invaded ” … so, you should have some empathy

Mute Ollie Mac
    Favourite Ollie Mac
    Feb 20th 2025, 8:29 AM

@eoin fitzpatrick: which a lot of Irish people did not vote for at the time .
    One dictatorship to another

Mute Ollie Mac
    Favourite Ollie Mac
    Feb 20th 2025, 8:30 AM

@Jb Walshe: 100% and on one hand wants Ireland to stay close to the USA and on the other he says this

Mute James Casey
    Favourite James Casey
    Feb 20th 2025, 11:46 AM

@Dave Connolly: no it didn’t Irish people made Ireland not the EU. We got the exact same as every other member

Mute cup of tea
    Favourite cup of tea
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:57 PM

Another bill for the Irish taxpayer

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:52 PM

Why would anyone care what this plank has to say?

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:00 PM

@Chop Chop: enough to comment ?

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:05 PM

@Chop Chop: he’s an EU head of state, just like the 25 others that will be on this call. Just because you consider him a plank, doesn’t mean that his peers do also

Mute Gavin Smartr
    Favourite Gavin Smartr
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:39 PM

@Kevin Kerr: his peers have no choice but to deal with him because the irish people voted for him to be our prime minister. I don’t pretend to know how that could have happened but I’m fairly sure he is not on the call because of any input he may have. We are and have been for a long time the whipping boys of Europe.

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:24 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Nah, I’d say they all think he’s a w-anchor.

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:26 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Although, most of them are w-anchors too, so maybe you’re right.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 9:01 PM

@Gavin Smartr:
    Whipping boys of Europe?
    Give us some examples.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:03 PM

Why?. So the EU can spend billions rebuilding a country it had no interest in before it was invaded?. The country was corrupt as the come pre the war so no it doesn’t deserve EU membership.

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:23 PM

@Joe Willis: Weird, ain’t it? Azov battalion, openly displaying Nazi symbols, while their president is a Jew. What a confused bunch of lads!

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:43 PM

@Joe Willis: Clowns like you are just emboldened by Dumps compulsion to lie and spread misinformation.. Trying to normalise BS . The financial things you cite about him and his parents have been debunked several times now.. but I would challenge you to produce your sources, or stop peddling lies. As for your sad attempt at a history lesson..more crap you licked off your screen while down some rabbit hole on X no doubt..

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:47 PM

@Ger Whelan: well said this is a fantastic comment

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 19th 2025, 5:33 PM

@Brian: They have a property in Israel, and one on the coast of Egypt in the wealthy area of El Gouna. Egyptian journalist Mohammed Al-Alawi has the documents shown that the villa worth 4.8 million was purchased in Zelenskyys mothers name. He also reported that Many top Ukrainian officials have purchased property in El Gouna since 2022. Mohammed was very critical of Zelenskyy and claimed that Zelenskyy and other Ukrainian bureaucrats were engaging in corruption with Ukraines humanitarian aid money. Mohammed was found dead in 2023 after being beaten to death in Hurghada. His brother, Ahmed, is convinced it was Ukrainian operatives who organised the killing.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 19th 2025, 5:38 PM

@Chop Chop: yes they are very confused. Most of them grew up in the Soviet Union so I’m not surprised they are completely brainwashed by the communists. Even the holodomor was kept out of official public discourse until 1992.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Feb 19th 2025, 7:26 PM

@Joe Willis: Like yourself, it’s very simple Joe.. you need to cite sources for your claims. Foreign concept to you I’m sure.. but it’s easy enough to copy and paste a link to where you get your information from.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:21 PM

@Joe Willis:
    Are you a jew hater?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 9:05 PM

@Chop Chop:
    We have a party in our parlament who hold a rally each year at a statue of a Nazi collaborater situated in Fairview Park in Dublin.

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 20th 2025, 10:42 AM

@H Woo: im a noticer

Mute BRENDAN O'CONNELL
    Favourite BRENDAN O'CONNELL
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:09 PM

He should apply for a position in the Ukraine or Palestine government as well as the rest of them , they seem to know more about their issues, than their own country.

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:49 PM

@BRENDAN O’CONNELL: completely true

Mute tiobraiddroicead
    Favourite tiobraiddroicead
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:56 PM

We have clueless politicians running the country off a cliff edge. For what benefit?

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:14 PM

@tiobraiddroicead: Reality check today from Trump as he proposes a 25% tarrif (and rising) on cars and pharmaceutical products, with the expressed intention of forcing them back to the USA. Another flagship chips company is tethering on bankruptcy and being split up.
    Our clőwns are so drunk on USA company taxes and their own personal property wealth that they have absolutely lost touch with the reality facing us.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:59 PM

@Thomas Sheridan:
    I’m sure the 100,000 plus Irish workers employed by the same company’s are taking an interest in events state side.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:20 PM

This is a huge mistake, and will only endanger Europe.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:09 PM

Let them join when they meet all the conditions, also freedom of movement should not be allowed for any EU person with a serious criminal record, this can be held in the chip on your passport. One more idea Begging, Pickpocketing, Shoplifting is not looking for work

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:58 PM

He very worried about the Ukraine and Ukraines pity he doesn’t worry about his own people like that especially the homeless

Mute Kevin Daly
    Favourite Kevin Daly
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:00 PM

Oh look mehole Martin putting others that aren’t Irish first. Imagine my suprise when I read this

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:22 PM

@Kevin Daly:
    We Tryed the isolation thingy before, Didn’t end well.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:35 PM

Horrific idea, Ukraine should be let nowhere near the EU

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:55 PM

Heres an idea tea-sock puppet Martin

And I know its a strange concept for a FF leader cos you never shut the aul pie holes but seriously, just keep quiet and worry about things on the home front like a good leader. Also Langer if ya dont want the junket to america cancelled where u will have to puker up and kiss the orange rear end of the donald, maybe dont go against his mate vlad

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:58 PM

@Patrick Newell: yawn

Mute Declan Young
    Favourite Declan Young
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:11 PM

He’s an embarrassment. He really thinks that he is some sort of international statesman, he’s a no mark political pygmy that’s how Martin is perceived in Brussels.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:26 PM

@Declan Young: He’s an EU head of state.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:27 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Or head of government, rather.

Mute Declan Young
    Favourite Declan Young
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:32 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: A tiny peripheral EU state the size of postage stamp. If you think that the EU is an alliance of equals you are deluded.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:39 PM

@Declan Young: The main thing is that it’s an alliance committed to democratic principles, and we do have equal representation in the Commission and Council.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:55 PM

@Declan Young:
    You are dead right.
    The man lacks an Irish inferiority complex. How did he ever get elected with such a flawed character.

Mute burrito girl
    Favourite burrito girl
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:48 PM

Absolutely nuts, economic disaster if ukraine joined the eu, if the shoe was on the other foot ukraine would not help or fund ireland, absolute jokestop

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:51 PM

@burrito girl: for 100% we wouldn’t get a cent of the Ukraine if it was the other way around we would be all sent packing good luck deal with your own problems

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:49 PM

@burrito girl:
    How do you know that.?

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:08 PM

Micheál is correct.
    President Zelenskyy is demonstrating incredible courage fighting a war where a second front, in the form of American disinformation spearheaded by Donald Trump, is opening up.
    There is no argument against who started the war in Ukraine. You can argue NATO expansion as a root cause of heightened tensions but annexing Crimea in 2014 and sending tanks over the border to Kyiv thereafter are simply the start of the war.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:14 PM

@Argus Romsworth: President Zelenskyy official approval ratings are 57%. Donald Trump has claimed they are 4%. Even his supporters are head scratching now.

Has his age caught up with him?
    He’s spending an awful lot of time hiding away in Florida. Maybe he’s receiving treatment for a condition?

Mute Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Favourite Shane Kinsella (Kinsey)
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:21 PM

@Argus Romsworth: you literally typed the very reason for this war, and then next sentence dismissed it.
    NATO expansion is the sole reason for this war.
    Annexing Crimea is the result of it not the reason for it.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:22 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): Ukraine is not a nato member

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:24 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): Putin’s invasion has caused NATO expansion (Sweden + Finland).

NATO expansion did not cause Putin’s invasion.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:25 PM

@Shane Kinsella (Kinsey): if you apply similar reasoning to USA expansion in the pacific do you believe the USA was to blame for the attack on pearl harbour?

Consider the fact the USA actually expanded in the pacific. While nato didn’t expand into Ukraine.

Mute brendan C5
    Favourite brendan C5
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:43 PM

@Argus Romsworth: zelensky has nearly no support so ya it’s 4%. Who would support a nut job dragging young men off the streets and throwing them into the meat grinder with minimal training. It’s all on video recorded by other Ukrainians from their apartments and other buildings, because if they were caught doing it you know what would happen to them.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:45 PM

@brendan C5: his official ratings are at 57%

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:42 PM

The Journal would not allow any comments with regards to the Ukraine/Russia war for the past 3 year’s until Trump got into power and all of a sudden the comment section was open.
    Their Reporters/Journalists and Editors have passed a lot of misinformation and utter bull ever since.
    Time to delete this app.
    I wouldn’t mind,you are not even good at it.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:19 PM

@martin lawlor: Eh wrong. The journal allowed comments on Ukraine/Russia for over a year and a half. It was only after the October 7th attacks and comments were closed on all articles about Israel invading Gaza did the journal start closing comments on Ukraine/ Russia..

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Feb 19th 2025, 6:45 PM

@Ger Whelan: Ger,or whoever you are,your talking b..l.x

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:43 PM

@Ger Whelan:
    Jew hating is a different matter.

Mute Aidan Collins
    Favourite Aidan Collins
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:46 PM

There are strict entry rules around a country’s finances etc. Ukraine needs to go through those loops before being considered. Is Martin asking for these to be waived?

Mute Bren
    Favourite Bren
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:52 PM

@Aidan Collins: of course she is he’s probably getting a brown envelope out of that money he’s sending over there taxpayers money being blown up literally

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:27 PM

Who does this guy think he is in the world? He comes from a country of 5 million people, and it takes two of them to make decisions and eight of them to ho to America, for jes sake. Every other country with multiple million population has one strong leader

Mute Michael Cooney
    Favourite Michael Cooney
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:29 PM

Absolutely ridiculous idea, it’s very sad what’s happening in Ukraine but EU membership is supposed to meet certain criteria. The war doesn’t change the fact that Ukraine is a deeply corrupt country with a questionable justice system, not to mention the economic situation. What benefit would Ukraine in the EU have for any existing members? We already have 100k of them here already, imagine how many we’d have with free movement. Ukraine should be nowhere near EU membership just because there’s a war shouldn’t change that.

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:36 PM

They’ll never pass the stringent anti corruption laws not to mention the problem with the Nazi Asov battalion.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:55 PM

@Dave Grant: I wish we had those “stringent anti-corruption laws” in Ireland, our lot could teach the Ukrainians a thing or two about conning the electorate.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:40 PM

@Mr Inbetween:
    Ireland in the top twenty of LEAST corrupt counties in the world.

Mute Paul Bannon
    Favourite Paul Bannon
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:55 PM

The EU bureaucrats are continually scoring own goals. Free trade markets and freedom to travel are what Europeans wanted. Europeans wanted more freedom over their lives, less hurdles in everyday living, what we wanted is not what is being sold to us today. If our leaders can’t see, what looks like, the majority, don’t want or buy their new vision and turn the ship around, the EU experiment could unfortunately be another failed attempt at a once good idea. This could be the last sting of a dying wasp.

Mute Sickof thisshit
    Favourite Sickof thisshit
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:41 PM

Ukraine will suck all the EU finances of the next 30 years. Zero left for investment in Ireland.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:02 PM

Did the weapons manufacturers make you do it Michael

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:46 PM

@Kevin O Brien:
    As long as those weapons manufactures continue to produce superior weapons then the Kremlins weapons manufacturers.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:04 PM

A good idea. Putin is deliberately engineering a situation in which huge swathes of people are being displaced, leading to trouble with immigration. If Ukraine join the Eu and Putin is stopped so will the flow of refugees. This should please both left and right sections of the public. if Putin is appeased and Ukraine barred then the movement of people will continue.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:11 PM

@Alan: appeasement doesn’t work.
    Neville Chamberlain defining moment was ultimately his undoing. Well educated leaders, like those in the eu and now in the U.K. are aware of this. Unfortunately coolock says no types didn’t listen in school

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:21 PM

@Argus Romsworth: A useful factcheck of Trump’s claims re Ukraine:

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2025/feb/19/factchecking-donald-trump-claims-war-ukraine

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:36 PM

@Alan: the “movement” of people can be easily stopped if the EU enforced its own border laws. Do you think if Ukraine gets EU membership tomorrow then war stops tomorrow? Because if you do you are very much mistaken.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:41 PM

@Argus Romsworth: what was chamberlain meant to do? Please enlighten us as to what you would have done in Chamberlain’s position?

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:51 PM

@Ger Whelan: you can see how us and europes cooperation has halted russias aggression in its tracks. There was no appeasement. Britain was more of a force then as it is now. Similar strategies could’ve been adopted through the League of Nations to halt German aggression.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:59 PM

@Argus Romsworth: So sanctions would have been your solution to stopping German aggression?. Yeah because sanctions are working now aren’t they. There was no EU or NATO in 1938 to apply any of the tactics used to slow Russia against Germany.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:12 PM

@Ger Whelan: sanctions are not the only thing that have stopped Russia progressing in Ukraine. Ukraine defense has been bolstered with equipment, training and cold hard cash to support their military. If you digest the above you will see the league of nations mentioned. The league of nations failed due to a lack of support. Had it have been supported and then leveraged against German aggression, as Ukraine is today by us and European nations, then Germany would might not have progressed so readily. Just like the Russian war machine is today. Lessons were well learned from the mistakes of the past and are adopted successfully today to stop russias advance.

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:14 PM

@Ger Whelan: “ There was no EU or NATO in 1938 to apply any of the tactics used to slow Russia against Germany”, I think that’s a very confused statement?

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:24 PM

@Argus Romsworth: Ukraines defence was bolstered by equipment and training supplied by NATO. NATO didn’t exist in 1938, nor did the EU. The league of nations was a diet United nations and the United nation couldn’t stop Russia so no the league of nations couldn’t have stopped Germany. But you keep dreaming lad. The fact is less than a year later Germany steam rolled both the British and French militaries on main land Europe forcing the British into an embarrassing retreat across the channel and the surrounder of the french. Nothing chamberlain did or could have done in 1938 was going to stop Germany.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 19th 2025, 12:56 PM

So long as we stay out of the Schengen zone and they’re not allowed join it either, and not for a good while.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:06 PM

Good. This is what Ukraine wants, and they should be fully supported in realising this aim. All the naysayers are braying from a position where only geography affords them such a cynical view.. Ukraine will do far better among our European community than by being tied to the paranoid mafia dons neo Soviet Union. Slava Ukraini!

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:50 PM

Meanwhile, US President Musk is starting his plan destabilise and ultimately end the EU. Luckily we had EU elections last year so it’ll be 4 years before he can interfere in the next EU parliament.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:28 PM

Computer says no.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:24 PM

Ukraine has more resources than any other country in the EU…it makes perfect sense.

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:15 PM

This should have happened a long time ago and I welcome any attempt to bring Ukraine into the European Union. After the Maidan Revolution, it was clear that the Ukrainian people would not stand for any attempts by Russia to place puppets in their government to block attempts at brokering EU aspirations and free trade deals. Mark Rutte also needs to step up to the plate and invite Ukraine into NATO in a swift manner, ideally no later than six months after they are approved for EU membership. The pro-Putin trolls on this site can’t seem to get their heads around the simple fact that Ukraine is a sovereign country. They have every right to choose their own destiny in relation to foreign affairs. We need to stop fearing Russia. They are a paper tiger and would be crushed by NATO if required.

Mute Paul O'Donnell
    Favourite Paul O'Donnell
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:14 PM

Yep, let them join the EU, and confiscate the $300Bn of Russia’s sanctioned dough to pay for Putins damage.. they won’t need funding from the US and Orange Julius

Mute Darran Macken
    Favourite Darran Macken
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:39 PM

Ukriane was actually fine without eu and us interference,it’s doomed now

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:37 PM

@Darran Macken: At first I didn’t understand why it took so long for the bots to comment in bulk on the Ukraine related articles today (mostly already several hours old to even the previous evening). First I suspected it had taken that long to come up with a co-ordinated scripted response. Then I realised that things were going badly for ‘your side’ in the international and online discussion and commentary. So cue a flood of attempts to disinform in the crudest and least polished way.

Mute Informed
    Favourite Informed
    Feb 19th 2025, 2:55 PM

The world is changing before our eyes. We are living through history being made. While it may be laudable, Ireland cannot continue to live by its old values when they are being dumped by those in power. We need new radical solutions to new radical problems.

What might have been unacceptable before — such as infringing our neutrality or admitting Ukraine to the EU — must now be reconsidered by what offers the best security for our collective future.

And time is not available to appoint committees and to dither. Unexpected events are unfolding daily while EU decision-makers react like rabbits caught in a headlight. It is now time for them to get ahead of the game, stop being caught off guard and to exert some degree of control.

Mute Finbarr Spain
    Favourite Finbarr Spain
    Feb 19th 2025, 5:38 PM

So we can go to war against Russia. Brilliant idea Michael. Sure where would we be without you. And if you want more trouble just throw the bowl of weeds at The Don.

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Feb 19th 2025, 4:39 PM

As a small silver lining, at least we don’t have Wallace and Daly echoing Kremlin talking points as MEP’s.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:34 PM

@Numinous20111:
    You can sing that, two rich kids one a Gererals daughter with an army man servant on call and private fee paying schooling for young ladies. The other a thick trust fund type of hippy who’s company when folded cost the ordinary workers millions to clean up the damage.
    Must have hurt Daly to have being shafted by the lefty left in the inner city in order to settle old scores with her.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:28 PM

Ukraine should become a member of the EU. And Russia and its allies America will hopefully sink.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Feb 19th 2025, 1:38 PM

@AnthonyK: No it shouldn’t. Ukraine wasn’t eligible to join the EU before it was invaded. Being invaded doesn’t mean Ukraine is suddenly eligible for EU membership. It should only get EU membership if it ever meets the requirement to join the EU.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Feb 19th 2025, 3:40 PM

@AnthonyK: you don’t realise how the world works huh….its all about resources, US and Russia have lots, Europe got none.

Mute Bernard Mac Giolla Bhain
    Favourite Bernard Mac Giolla Bhain
    Feb 19th 2025, 8:46 PM

Why no comments allowed on the savages with their spears in the article above?

Mute Sandra Lysaght
    Favourite Sandra Lysaght
    Feb 19th 2025, 11:31 PM

Imbecile

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Feb 20th 2025, 9:46 AM

That’s really not a good idea at this point. It doesn’t help at all.