You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Beatles arriving in New York City on February 7, 1964, for their first visit to the United States. Alamy Stock Photo

Who is your favourite member of the Beatles?

A new documentary about the band has been released.

A NEW DOCUMENTARY about the Beatles has just been released on Disney+.

Produced by Martin Scorsese, Beatles 64′ aims to tell “a more intimate story” about the band’s first trip to the United States that catapulted them to unimaginable fame. 

It features rare behind-the-scenes footage as well as archive interviews with the band and their fans.

So today we’re asking: Who is your favourite member of the Beatles?

Poll Results:

Paul McCartney (2148)
George Harrison (1942)
John Lennon (1643)
I don't like the Beatles (1028)
Ringo Starr (747)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 32 comments
32 Comments
    Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:40 AM

For me it would have to be Herbie.I mean lads come on, a car that can drive itself and get involved in all sorts of capers.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:42 AM

@Sean Buckley: Is that the one Abi rode?

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:00 PM

@Larry Betts: lol. On form.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:24 AM

Good to see George on top, All Things Must Pass is the best solo effort by a beatle post break up. Actually one of the best albums ever.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:41 AM

A little known fact: Yoko Ono had a fashion designer sister named Kim

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:21 AM

John Lennon was my favourite. Not sure how he would have been received today for his views. “Imagine there’s no countries, and no religion too, imagine no possessions…

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:27 AM

@9QRixo8H: Incredibly moving comment Peadar

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:28 AM

@Freda Peeple: He might have said Free the People

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:35 AM

@9QRixo8H: he might have been cancelled for being a wife beater.

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Dec 1st 2024, 4:27 PM

@9QRixo8H: Sang the multimillionaire

Mute Dave McMahon
    Favourite Dave McMahon
    Dec 1st 2024, 6:34 PM

@9QRixo8H: I think he wrote that on his grand piano in his New York penthouse over looking central park.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:50 PM

It’s got to Ringo Starr and here’s why. Ringo revolutionised how drummers play. He created the matched grip in an era when traditional grip ruled which is now the most popular way of playing with sticks. He popularised drum fills and encouraged drummers to stamp their own mark on songs and not just to play to the tempo. He muffled some of his drums, added speakers to others and experimented on different sounds when playing. Rain, Strawberry Fields Forever and Taxman are masterpieces in drumming. Not to mention the fact that he wrote Don’t Past Me By and Octopus Garden among other songs.

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:01 PM

Paul, as probably the greatest song writer of our time, bar none

Mute Ray Buckley
    Favourite Ray Buckley
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:26 PM

@RIP: Spot on .

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:15 AM

Don’t like the beetles but I can’t stand the insufferable up his own hole Paul McCartney

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:38 AM

@Bertie: yeah he’s up his own hole. But they were clearly his band, certainly by the time the Get Back movie was made, and they probably always were.

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:51 AM

@Bertie: cant spell the beatles either

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:58 PM

Gerry hutch

Mute Teetotal4now
    Favourite Teetotal4now
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:17 AM

Ringo looks about 12 in that photo

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:33 AM

A band that veered between moments of genius and others where it felt like wading through treacle. And that’s before we get to their solo careers! Some truly truly abysmal moments, arguably topped by John Lennon’s ‘Woman’, which somewhat ironically would have most women filing a restraining order. A big pile of goo.

The coverage must never ever end. On and on it goes fuelling the idea that music peaked with a handful of British bands. It’s complete nonsense but beloved of the kind of people who will bore you death insisting there’s no good music being made anymore. They haven’t bothered to look but that won’t stop them!

Mute John O Reilly
    Favourite John O Reilly
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:52 AM

@SerotoninWars: yawn

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:54 AM

@SerotoninWars: I’m not a huge Beatles fan, BUT no other band produced as much quality in 7 years together. It takes a band 3 years to get an album out now,minimum. Beatles were doing two albums a year while touring. So whilst you might be fed up hearing about them, it’s for good reason. Of that era I’d prefer The kinks, The Who, Small Faces,Zeppelin etc, but I wouldn’t knock any of their success. As for the solo stuff, Lennon wasn’t afforded enough time, McCartneys is a mixed bag, but George Harrison had a great post Beatles output.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:02 PM

@Freda Peeple: There are many bands and artists putting out albums more regularly than once every three years. My issue is that the messaging has been so ubiquitous, there are many who believe unquestioningly all of the Beatles clichés. It’s like there’s no other choice or opinion taken into account. Music is oh so subjective and while I fully accept that they wrote some good stuff, it’s completely OTT and if anything a detrimental message. It pulverises people with this idea that a couple of British bands completed music 60 years ago and it’s just nonsense.

I’m not sure more time would have diluted the twee saccharine leanings of Lennon.

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:08 AM

Did anyone else just randomly remember The Beatles existed?

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:11 AM

@Daniel Skelton: just you I’d say

Mute Stephen Heffernan
    Favourite Stephen Heffernan
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:17 AM

@Daniel Skelton: Oh beetles exist alright, most of them are managing to scuttle back into the Dail as we speak.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:43 AM

@Daniel Skelton: We are never allowed to forget, ever. The daily documentary, endless stream of newly discovered footage and the entire industry that has as much in common with a propaganda campaign as enthusiasm for the music. They did of course write some good songs but man alive the feeling of being shouted into submission gets really tiresome.

Mute Ned 75
    Favourite Ned 75
    Dec 1st 2024, 5:28 PM

@Stephen Heffernan: Those are Dung Beetles you speak of.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:25 PM

Pete was the Best!

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Dec 2nd 2024, 7:25 AM

It would have to be Mick Jagger for me,

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:27 PM

George Martin or Stephen Dorff. Maybe even Mr Wall of Sound himself, Al Pacino.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Dec 2nd 2024, 2:22 AM

They were all great. ..But John Stands out. Enough said!!!