You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

BBC/PA

Episode of Fawlty Towers pulled from BBC-owned UKTV streaming service over racial slurs

The episode The Germans features Major Gowen using offensive language about the West Indies cricket team.

THE FAMOUS “DON’T mention the war” episode of classic 1970s sitcom Fawlty Towers has been removed from a streaming service because it contains “racial slurs”.

UKTV, which is owned by the BBC, said it had temporarily made The Germans unavailable while it carries out a review.

The episode first aired in 1975 and sees John Cleese’s misanthropic hotel owner Basil Fawlty goose-stepping around while shouting “don’t mention the war” in front of a group of visiting Germans.

It also contains scenes showing the Major Gowen character using offensive language about the West Indies cricket team.

According to reports, Major Gowen’s scenes had already started to be edited out by some broadcasters.

A UKTV spokesman said: “UKTV has temporarily removed an episode of Fawlty Towers The Germans from Gold’s Box Set.

“The episode contains racial slurs so we are taking the episode down while we review it. We regularly review older content to ensure it meets audience expectations and are particularly aware of the impact of outdated language.

“Some shows carry warnings and others are edited. We want to take time to consider our options for this episode.”

The removal comes amid a re-energised debate on how best to deal with parts of well-known films and TV shows that are now deemed offensive by portions of modern audiences.

As the Black Lives Matter movement has returned to prominence following the death of George Floyd, broadcasters and streaming services have reevaluated their content.

HBO Max temporarily removed 1939 civil war epic Gone With The Wind because of its “racial depictions”.

Little Britain had been removed from iPlayer because “times have changed” since the comedy first aired.

The series, starring David Walliams and Matt Lucas, has come under fire recently because of the use of blackface in some sketches.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 202 comments
202 Comments
    Mute Declan B
    Favourite Declan B
    Jun 12th 2020, 7:59 AM

Someone press reset on the world.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:38 AM

@Declan B: I think that’s what they’re trying to do… Scary territory

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Favourite Daniel O'Connor
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:54 AM

@Nosmo King: underground screenings next

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:06 AM

@Declan B: You guys realise this is temporary right? It’s the way the Major describes the West Indian Cricket team…….. the version being removed is the unedited one:

1) It’s not because of the war
    2) It’s about repeated use of the N word
    3) BBC edited the offending scene in 2013
    4) Cleese fully approved of it
    5) Netflix & UKTV were airing unedited version
    6) Edited version will likely be used in future

https://twitter.com/gdimelow/status/1271341519010701312

Mute Ciaran Farrelly
    Favourite Ciaran Farrelly
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:32 AM

@Declan B: Agreed, it’s getting stupid at this stage. When will it stop? Shall we just rewrite history completely?

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:06 AM

@Tricia G: Yeah totally… People are getting very hot under the collar about this when it’s always been happening. British media broadcasters removed lots of things that were offensive to Irish people from syndicated circulation in the late 80s / early 90s too.

It’s not censorship in the oppressive sense of the word, it’s creating an environment whereby people of colour can more readily identify with what they see on TV of an evening after a long day’s work. It also makes racist language less acceptable to us white people.

If people feel really strongly about wanting to see the version with the N word they can easily find it online I’m sure.

You’re right, John Cleese, Matt Lucas and David Walliams aren’t kicking and screaming about this action at all, quite the opposite.

People suddenly getting so bothered by this in the current climate of Black Lives Matter protests are revealing a lot of internalised racism. It’s fairly cringeworthy but one hopes it will be ultimately enlightening for all.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:02 PM

@Daniel O’Connor: My comment was removed. It wasn’t even flagged as possibly toxic nor could it be. Nice to see The Journal getting involved in the censorship business. How’s the donations appeal going , Journal ?

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:35 PM

@Cupid Stunt: Im telling you..nobody and i mean nobody is going to tell me what to watch and what to read.

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Jun 12th 2020, 4:52 PM

@Nosmo King: me too

Mute Rebecca Keyes
    Favourite Rebecca Keyes
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:00 AM

Ah here, this is getting ridiculous

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:08 AM

@Rebecca Keyes: This is about repeated use of the N word…… you know that right?

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:54 AM

@Tricia G: The same N word that is used in countless Rap songs that seems to be ok because it’s Black people saying it. Ever watch The Wire? Nearly every episode of the five seasons someone is called the N word. Example “Put a bullet in that N’s head” but that’s allowed because it’s a Black person saying it I suppose..

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:00 AM

@David Garland: think of it this way.
    Imagine somebody from England saying the term “Bloody Paddy” to an Irish person, we see it as derogatory and rightly so.

Very different thing if one Irish person says is to another, it simply does not have the same meaning or level of offense.

If black people say the N word then that is their decision, but they didn’t create the word to begin with. It’s always been used as a derogatory term towards them from whites. Them using it allows them to “own” it and control it.

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:10 AM

@David Garland: it is absolutely okay for black people to use the N word if they so desire. Just as Irish people can use the word Paddy, women can choose to use the C word and gays can choose to use the F word. Not all language is for you, words have different values and carry different weight depending on who is using it and why.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:20 AM

@Lingwood: it’s not “Absolutely ok” for black people to use the N word and everybody else is considered a Racist for muttering it, even if it was 40 years ago. The actor Michael Richards who played Kramer in Seinfeld used the N word in one of his stand up shows years ago and he hasn’t worked since. Today black stand ups use the word all the time and that’s ok. If a Black stand up uses the word in one of his shows is it ok for white audience members to laugh at the joke or are only black audience members allowed laugh?

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:32 AM

@David Garland: In the stand up scenario you are allowed to laugh along with other black people by a black person literally standing before you trying to to make you laugh. If you think that black stand up comedian is pandering to your specific racist sense of humour then you are mistaken, they are speaking to black people. The reason you laugh is because you know it is wrong for you to do so, a common trope in comedy. But that’s when a black person makes the joke. White people have used the N word for centuries to oppress, animalise and abuse black people and so have lost the right to use that word for the foreseeable future. Not you or I, of course, but white people in the name of white dominance and that legacy is still very much alive to the point where Irish people, once ourselves oppressed, now feel entitled to use a word with such a violent and oppressive weight behind it. What are so many Irish people doing on here, defending the use of a word that was never part of our culture to begin with? Cringeworthy.

Mute Garret Fawl
    Favourite Garret Fawl
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:50 AM

@Lingwood: The C word is unisex in Ireland and England, it’s more offensive in the USA.

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:53 AM

@Lingwood: Only one Cringeworthy person around here and it ain’t me, that’s for sure

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan

@Tricia G: Your a bit on repeat there Tricia, this is just a prelude to people telling you what to watch, what to listen to and what to eat.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan

@Tricia G: Your a bit on repeat there Tricia, this is just a prelude to people telling you what to watch, what to listen to and what to eat.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:22 PM

@Tricia G: So you are in favor if censorship and getting things banned. People could you know, just NOT WATCH THE EPISODE! the character is an old, slightly senile, curmudgeonly war veteran. You are condoning the end of artistic freedom. Our future will consist of sanitized history, rewritten, book burnings, banning of all films and tv shows that offend, which will be a great, great many. It was a sitcom from 40 years ago and is still a classic for a reason. This is George Orwell and Ray Bradbury future here, and frankly, that is a fascist hellscape that i wouldnt want future generations to endure.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Lingwood: Not defending it. You act like we are all DYING to use some word that frankly, i have never uttered in my life. The issue here is restriction of artistic freedom and censorship. The character in the show is old, senile and racist. These fictional characters are now meant to be deleted from history? And your little speech there about standup; how divisive can you get? and since when do you get to speak for black people, about what they will and will not tolerate? there is a Dave Chappelle sketch on racism, that is littered with the word, and im pretty sure he wants everyone to laugh at it, not just black people! you are basically SEGREGATING comedy, telling us white people what we can and cant laugh at. Oh the irony of it all, because, you know, youre the anti-racist, whereas the rest of us are all bigots.

Mute albhbc
    Favourite albhbc
    Jun 12th 2020, 4:13 PM

@David Garland: yes.

Mute Canyon
    Favourite Canyon
    Jun 12th 2020, 5:04 PM

@Barry: I identify as black, can I use it?

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:01 AM

Good job I have the box set. Fr. Ted will probably be next…

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:15 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: was thinking the same. Recently watched a video where a black man did one of those “reacts” videos on YouTube where he watches the racist sketch involving Ted mocking the Chinese. He was in stitches. Wonder if it was a blackface would he still think it was hilarious? People are generally intelligent and can accept it was a different time, however there will always be the outraged. Amazon Video (I think) still show classic cartoons but have a disclaimer at the start in relation to depictions and stereotypes, leave it at that. It will still stir up the same conversations.

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:18 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: blackface priests and ted making a Chinese face with a lampshade on – you know they will pull it. Thankfully I’ve the boxset too.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:24 AM

@Daniel O’Connor: the whole point of the episode is about being offensive and backwards

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:24 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: I hear you are a racist now father …

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:32 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Exactly, but you know how this world can work sometimes.

Mute Michael Carolan
    Favourite Michael Carolan
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:24 AM

@Joe Moore: Fe€kin Greeks….they invented gayn€ss

Mute Gerry Mc Carthy
    Favourite Gerry Mc Carthy
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:34 AM

@Daniel O’Connor: You can be damn sure they won’t pull any episodes of “Fr. “ Ted , especially in Ireland as it’s suitably anti Catholic ! No other section of society would have tolerated its insults and caricatures over the past years without a proactive response .

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:47 AM

@Ian Breathnach: I wouldn’t be using a single black person’s reaction to single example of racial comedy as a catch all for how black people in general are affected by it. I’m gay and would of course laugh at homophobic jokes but more out of pity or incredulity than agreement. Putting a disclaimer at the start of a show is a better idea… but at the same time it’s a bit like, to use a somewhat obscure analogy, letting somebody scroll through your case of embarrassing old CDs and saying “oh all that 90s pop was just a phase!” or “don’t judge me on all the amateur heavy metal!”… there comes a time when it’s best to just throw it all out and make room for some fresh newness.

Mute Garret Fawl
    Favourite Garret Fawl
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:57 AM

@Lingwood: what about the Simpsons, Apu was cancelled because a guy made a you tube video saying it was offensive. But I would say the most lampooned group are the Irish with literally dozens of instances of stereotyping scenes in it. Doesn’t offend me, still a top show. There are people now that watch things looking to be offended, that is the issue.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/nov/01/apu-simpsons-hero

That is the Guardian, not the Daily Mail.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:41 PM

@Lingwood: So youre suggesting banning father ted and making way for newer ( in other words, crap) comedies. I dont think so.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:14 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: They could always put up 30 mins of memes to replace comedy programmes.

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: To quote word for word from Braveheart:
    Run, and you’ll live… at least a while. And dying in your beds, many years from now, would you be willin’ to trade ALL the days, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives, but they’ll never take… OUR Fr TED!

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:25 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: Brilliant hahaha

Mute Tanks a Minion
    Favourite Tanks a Minion
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:00 AM

Don’t mention the war. I mentioned it once but I think I got away with it.

Mute Brian McArdle
    Favourite Brian McArdle
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:07 AM

@Tanks a Minion: “….but I don’t agree with that in the workplace!”

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:33 AM

@Tanks a Minion: you started it! You invaded Poland.

Mute Karl Keane
    Favourite Karl Keane
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:25 PM

@Brian McArdle: hahaha!

Mute Malachi Shanks
    Favourite Malachi Shanks
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:01 AM

Stop the world I want to get off….

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:04 AM

As a German I found it rather funny…
    However was the whole show not about poking fun about stereotypes…
    I mean that ‘Italian’ guy is in all episodes.

Mad world

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:44 AM

@8-Bit-Relic: you found the use of the n word funny as a German doesn’t really mean it is OK which is why the episode was pulled

Mute Thomas Harrington
    Favourite Thomas Harrington
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:00 AM

@8-Bit-Relic: “ Spanish”

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Thomas Harrington
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:01 AM

@Craic_a_tower: he was able to laugh at the anti German jokes though? What about ze Germans

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:08 AM

@Thomas Harrington: oh sorry, I haven’t seen the show since quite some time.

However, Basil is always confused and all over the place. It wasn’t about calling all Germans Nazis it was just his incapability to get anything right.

At least that’s how I saw it.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:25 AM

@8-Bit-Relic: same, I’m half German and people always make jokes about “ze Germans” and Nazi jokes. Doesn’t bother me at all.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:31 AM

@Thomas Harrington: There were no anti German jokes. The whole thing is anti British. That’s the point.

The Germans who show up are polite friendly decent people.

This is about mocking the prejudices of conservative Britain. Why would a German be offended by it?

The Major story on the other hand wouldn’t be allowed in a modern comedy which is why it’s been pulled.

Mute Dick Barrett
    Favourite Dick Barrett
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:32 AM

@8-Bit-Relic:
    In Spain, when Fawlty Towers was broadcast and dubbed, Manuel became Mexican, as the Spanish stereotype was not recognisable to the Spanish. When he became Mexican, they could laugh at the stereotype. Don’t forget the ‘Oirish’ builder episode. Everyone gets satirized. Basil is a particular type of eccentric Englishman; he couldn’t be anything but English

Mute Martin Moloney
    Favourite Martin Moloney
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:57 AM

@8-Bit-Relic: Manuel was Spanish!

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Martin Moloney: In Spain he wasn’t

Mute Colin Mac
    Favourite Colin Mac
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:28 AM

@8-Bit-Relic: He’s from Barcelona

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:40 AM

@Colin Mac: 22

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:10 AM

@Thomas Harrington: so what that was not why it was pulled. It is about the language used by the major. So a German person wouldn’t be offended

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jun 12th 2020, 3:59 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I had actually to read somewhere else what it was about since I couldn’t remember the scene.

I apologise the article here is oddly written.

Mute Joan Doyle
    Favourite Joan Doyle
    Jun 12th 2020, 5:36 PM

@8-Bit-Relic: Barcelona catalonian to be politically correct I think

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:29 PM

@Sam Harms: Same with me being called a foreign ba$tard. 1 ear in and other ear out.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:16 AM

I wonder will Blazing saddles ever be shown on TV again?

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:51 AM

@Dave Byrne: Doubt it will, think the beans were offended.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:05 AM

@Dave Byrne: the poor horse got an awful belt into the mouth in fairness

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:02 AM

@Dave Byrne: ‘The sheriff is a..(((bong)))..’

Mute Denis White
    Favourite Denis White
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:09 AM

@Dave Byrne:
    Candy gram for Mongo

Mute Decko49
    Favourite Decko49
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:24 AM

@Dave Byrne: Its my favourite movie of all time

Mute qwerty
    Favourite qwerty
    Jun 12th 2020, 7:59 AM

I don’t want to live on this planet anymore. At least I have my box sets!

Mute Susan O'flaherty
    Favourite Susan O'flaherty
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:46 AM

Think things are going too far at this point. Fawlty towers are classic comedies which are still funny today. What is next. Will we end up like George Orwells 1984 where books are outlawed and any that are found are burned.

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:13 AM

@Susan O’flaherty: Don’t be silly!

Mute Gary Culleton
    Favourite Gary Culleton
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:07 AM

I’m white and I’m Irish and I’m really offended by the episode of Fawlty Towers where David Kelly is portrayed as a stupid Irish builder called O’Reilly… NOT !! A bit of clear thinking and calm needs to restored !!

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:23 AM

@Gary Culleton: you’re to sensitive Gary ,man up ,boy

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:37 AM

@Jimmy Carroll: Whoosh !

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:56 AM

@Jimmy Carroll: You don’t really get sarcasm do you ?

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:57 AM

@Nosmo King: even the whoosh would be whoosh to him I’d say

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:23 AM

@Gary Culleton: I have not one scintilla of doubt that there are Irish people who would, if they saw it, call for it’s removal… scary stuff. A 6 minute appearance that attained absolute legendary status on both sides of the pond

Mute Marty H
    Favourite Marty H
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:56 AM

@Gary Culleton: get a f*****g life man. I’m white Irish and find it hilarious

Mute Gary Culleton
    Favourite Gary Culleton
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:08 AM

@Marty H: Read what I posted again properly…………. I accept your apology

Mute Kieran Fogarty
    Favourite Kieran Fogarty
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Marty H: Thats why he ended the sentence that he was offended with NOT….

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:16 AM

@Gary Culleton: at least David Kelly portrayed an Irish character and they didn’t use an English actor actor a la Dick Van Dyke.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:55 AM

@Gary Culleton: what about a few episodes of the Simpson’s. There’s some serious stereotypes on there. Not in the least offended but I would say a few of them will be in the firing line. I think Apu is gone anyhow.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:57 AM

@Gary Culleton: urs the NOT! was a dead give away.

Mute Gerry McHugh
    Favourite Gerry McHugh
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:26 AM

“A joke should never be taken seriously” – Bernard Manning

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson

@Gerry McHugh: Manning was particularly one sided though. Vulgar without a trace of irony. Jingoistic. Not too many jokes about himself or the English.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:23 AM

Will they remove 12 years a slave and roots next? Plenty of racism in those movies.

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:52 AM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: and Django

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:06 AM

@Tony Stack: Tarrintino May as well call it a day

Mute Tweeter
    Favourite Tweeter
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:56 AM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: and the colour purple

Mute Ross Dunne
    Favourite Ross Dunne
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:06 AM

Will White Chicks be removed from streaming services? Not because I find it racist, just because its terrible!

Mute Padraig McConnell
    Favourite Padraig McConnell
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:43 AM

Next, they will be telling us the prince can’t kiss sleeping beauty.

Mute Máiréad Hurley
    Favourite Máiréad Hurley
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:52 AM

@Padraig McConnell: would you believe they already did… She was asleep so didn’t give consent! I kid you not!

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:59 AM

@Máiréad Hurley: read that.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:46 AM

We are so PC now. Should we stop showing food commercials because of the millions dying around the world from hunger. The word is just full of hypocrisy, there is so much more evil going on that is ignored because it’s not fashionable.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:51 AM

@Seán Dillon: not the same. Justify the use of the n word should be allowed rather than make up a scenario

Mute Thomas Harrington
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:03 AM

@Craic_a_tower: need to shelve dads army too ref Pvt Jones’ comments about the Sudanese

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:05 AM

@Seán Dillon: The BBC have a lot to answer for.

Mute Heisen berg1
    Favourite Heisen berg1
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:30 AM

OMG, are we going take every show off the air ?.

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:34 AM

@Heisen berg1: No. Don’t be so foolish.

Mute Tweeter
    Favourite Tweeter
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:58 AM

@Ajax Penumbra: ha

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham

@Heisen berg1: We’ll be left with winning streak and nothing else, hard to get offended at that unless there are some colours on the wheel you find offensive because of their monetary value.

Mute Sean Dalton
    Favourite Sean Dalton
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:25 AM

What joke, they’d want to cop on now. Its a comedy, if you dont like it dont watch it

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:50 AM

There’s no room for nuance or context in the SJW world of black and white.
    When do we start burning books?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:53 AM

@Will: what is the nuisance of using the n word?

Mute Kevin L Wearen
    Favourite Kevin L Wearen
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:58 AM

@Craic_a_tower: always look on the bright side of life’s?

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:06 AM

@Craic_a_tower: ah ffs. I don’t use it myself out of fear of offending. But the people who are supposed to be most offended by that word use it all the time.
    That sir, is nuance.
    In the case of faulty towers, one of the funniest shows ever made for tv, the joke is that the colonel who said it is a complete idiot.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:20 AM

@Craic_a_tower: The nuisance of using the N word is that it will get you in trouble (and rightly so). The nuance of using the N word in FT is that it sends up the character of the major. There are people like him in the world and it is poking fun at them. FT was of it’s time and you couldn’t make it now without major changes but the jokes were always on the characters.

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:18 AM

@Will: Here in Ireland we used to ban books until the 1960s – Joyce, Beckett, Orwell etc all banned. Only Old Moore’s Almanac, the Church catechism, Bible and Peig were allowed! :)

Mute Lingwood
    Favourite Lingwood
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:20 AM

@john doe: Black people are allowed to use the N word… they have the right to take ownership of a word that has been used to oppress them for centuries. White people have lost the right to use that word by their actions. (maybe not you or me but white people in the name of white power have abused black people to the point where certain language is now off limits to all of us for the foreseeable future)

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:01 PM

@James Walsh: don’t forget about sings being banned into the 80’s

Mute Martin Moloney
    Favourite Martin Moloney
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:59 AM

We get closer to Orwell’s “Thought Police” every day.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna

If only it had have been pulled off air a month ago all that madness in USA wouldn’t have occurred! Fr Teds next! Absolute madness.

Mute Johnny Rielly
    Favourite Johnny Rielly
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:21 AM

Its getting to be ridiculous now… yet they allow video games and television programmes continue to condone disgusting levels of violence… They fill the spots vacated over recent years by new comedy shows that cant be politically correct.

Mute Sean Bradley
    Favourite Sean Bradley
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:43 AM

On to the next one, this cancel culture has to stpp or company needs to not flinch when something like this happens. This will only get worse.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:27 AM

The comedy value isn’t in what Major Gowen says, it’s that his character says it and that there are people like that. Major Gowen is the joke. I re-watched the scene and it made me feel uncomfortable that he uses the n word, but isn’t that the point, to poke fun at people like him.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:41 AM

Just speechless, people need to get a grip.

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast

Richard Pryor and Gene Wilder in film silver streak will have to be pulled so.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:29 AM

Now its gone tooooooo far..

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:33 AM

What’s next? Knock the Colosseum in rome the pyramids in Egypt. Where will it end!

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:19 AM

@Dwayne Jordan: Obviously not, don’t be daft!

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 12th 2020, 4:22 PM

@James Walsh: you would have said pulling episodes of faulty towers was a daft idea ten years ago!

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Jun 12th 2020, 6:50 PM

@James Walsh: don’t take everything so seriously!

Mute Giles Wolohan
    Favourite Giles Wolohan
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:11 AM

I see the world in 20/30years we wont be able to laugh in public or it will be seen as racist by who is looking at us all these comedies are about jokes and laughing i blame the pc brigade and its only going to get a lot worse

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:25 AM

@Giles Wolohan: When I see the world in 20/30 years they won’t even care about stuff like this as the full impact of the climate crisis will see tens of millions of climate refugees on the move, wars over access to precious water supplies etc. They’ll envy us for the relatively small stuff that used to trouble us in 2020.

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:42 AM

The whole point of that scene is when the Major uses those words, Basil Faulty looks disapprovingly at him, dismisses him, and gets back on with what he is doing. That is the context, and it was correct at the time when some people still used that language.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:10 AM

Probably my favourite episode.. surely If they pull this they have to pull the German episode?

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:14 AM

Joke

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:03 AM

You wont be able to buy black jocks next

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:12 AM

@Vladimir Macro: only very very very very very VERY dark blue from now on.

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:21 AM

@Joey Navinski: don’t go to a normal shop….they shaft you every time

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:17 AM

You may as well pull the whole thing then. That episode is no worse than the racial and xenophobic treatment of Spanish waiters, and don’t get me started with the negative stereotypes of the Irish. I’m outraged that they pulled that episode and not the one portraying the Irish as stupid yet conniving builders. Ffs, the whole thing is a satirical take on British xenophobia

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:22 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: “the whole thing is a satirical take on British xenophobia”

Bingo!

Mute Fon_Ellard
    Favourite Fon_Ellard
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:48 AM

Does nobody understand the meaning of satire? It doesn’t promote racism or celebrate it, shows like Fawlty Towers or the Father Ted episode shine a light on the ridiculousness of racism. Are they going to remove the episode of Fawlty Towers where the Irish builder is depicted as workshy and inept? I mean, come on, where does it end? Where has the world’s sense of humour gone to? Is anyone even actually calling for these things to be removed or is it bandwagoning?

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:03 AM

@Fon_Ellard: The Inbetweeners, Little Britain, League of Gentlemen and Mighty Boosh have all been pulled in some way off the internet in the past 2-3 days. This new, sensitive world has no sense of humour because humour is often based on making jokes about others and then having it bounce back on the viewer. I dread this trend of self seriousness.

Mute jl
    Favourite jl
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:13 AM

They’ll have to edit the Duke of Edinburgh out of existence completely soon if they’re worried about the major in Fawlty towers!

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:47 AM

Well, they can’t break into my house and steal my DVD collection. Yet.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 7:19 PM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: Or mine. I think i’ll watch Gone With the Wind later, got it for a fiver in Dublin last Christmas. Its brilliant.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan

When will they start burning history books because they are deemed offensive??…..

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:25 AM

The Gramscian long march through cultural institutions continues apace. Frankfurt School adherents must be delighted.

Mute Tom Harpur Photography
    Favourite Tom Harpur Photography
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:36 AM

So now every episode of every comedy ever shown on tv will be scrutinised in detail to see if any offence was caused. Should we as Irish start kicking up then where certain comedians or comedy shows portray the Irish as drunken Irish or as leprechauns or thick ole paddy. Surely this all constitutes as racism towards Irish.

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:03 PM

@Tom Harpur Photography: Derby o gill and the little people.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:12 AM

Anyone remember the debate between Monty Python and the Bishops over the film, The Life of Brian? Those bishops didn’t even watch the damn film before condemning it.
    Isn’t it funny and strange that it is the left that has taken on the mantle of those small minded bishops and their zeal to cancel or erase anything that offends them.
    The mentality is the very same even if they come from opposite ends of the social spectrum.

Mute Denis White
    Favourite Denis White
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:09 AM

Think they should knock down the pyramids in Giza too, built by slaves.
    Oh and the rail networks across the US

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:27 AM

@Denis White: Pyramids were NOT built by slaves, this is a fallacy!

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:28 AM

@James Walsh: built by slave owners then; let’s not split hairs, the point is still valid..

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:14 PM

@Denis White: good article in an English newspaper today. ( a paper I usually call the daily xenophobe , but I read it as it has got good sports coverage) The article was about the slavery in Qatar during stadium builds for the world cups and where many have not got paid for months and 1400 have died during these builds. I have read more on this and it’s strange that a bigger deal is not made about this nations human rights issues and FIFA being complicit in all this. It’s no less shocking than what has gone on in the US and it’s been going on for a long time. Just a by the by, not trying to change the subject.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:17 AM

When will they burn history books because they are offensive???….

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:26 AM

@Koochulan: That’s more of a far right thing

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:27 AM

@James Walsh: apparently not any more..

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:15 AM

@James Walsh: The Left are the new right

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:48 AM

@Koochulan: that’s an odd statement to make, no picture hiding behind fake name commenter. Where does that leave the ‘right ‘ so ??

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:09 PM

@Wayne Connor: Applauding the left

Mute Richard Starling
    Favourite Richard Starling
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:29 AM

For heavens sake, it’s a classic COMEDY series! The politically correct idiots in charge again. If it offends SWITCH OVER!

Mute Ger Power
    Favourite Ger Power
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:14 AM

I hearby proclaim today Day 0 for the TV and Movie World. From this day forth no TV show or movie made prior to June 12th 2020 will be aired for fear that someone will be offended. All new TV shows and Movies will be subject to strict testing by a panel containing at least 1 person from every nation, ethnic background, skin colour and sexual orientation in the world. If I have excluded any grouping from this list I am sorry for offending you.

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:04 AM

FFS . The World has gone crazy ! Too many people with nothing to do only try and distract us from real issues

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:26 AM

Oh ffs…The show satirises EVERYONE: German stereotypes, Irish stereotypes and particularly English stereotypes. Basil is the biggest clown in the show. Should we all hide in a bunker (with Trump?)

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:48 AM

Media should focus on the person exactly who is complaining about it and help them understand it’s not a political show, it’s a comedy making fun of a racist bigot. This pandering to the perpetually offended is tiring.

Mute Marty H
    Favourite Marty H
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:54 AM

Ah now come on, that was the best ever episode. Love the part where Basil meets the ‘non white skinned’ Doctor and the major was hilarious

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jun 12th 2020, 8:06 AM

The only good Ger is a laughing, beer-swilling Ger. Here’s to cricket and Gemuthlichkeit in the West Indies.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:40 AM

Que?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower

There is already an episode of Faulty Towers that they don’t show because of it’s content and people didn’t notice

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:00 AM

@Craic_a_tower: which one??

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:17 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Do you mean the one with the black doctor? I don’t watch TV much but have these on DVD. In that episode the joke is entirely on Basil Faulty. The doctor is the adult in the room.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:48 AM

@Will: That’s The Germans

Mute Will
    Favourite Will

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: Oh right. I must dig the disks out of the garage and re-watch them. I’d imagine I won’t be the only person doing that after this article.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Favourite Modern Irish Dad
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:16 AM

Is a boycott on the cards?

Mute Vinylman_Teaboy
    Favourite Vinylman_Teaboy
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:22 AM

When did they put acid in the water supply?

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:36 AM

It is only a word….. it is a racial slur and can e quite offensive…..people should be able to use this word if it is used in the context of debate about its usage.

It is more commonly used by black people and it seems acceptable when one black person calls another black person N_____.
    Why is this contradiction allowed….

I understand the historical association of the word in the English language but it is a translation of a Spanish word…

Do these people not hear the same word come from Snoop Dog and samuel l jackson in some films ? Why is it ok in this context and not ok in film and comedy that were recorded decades ago…. the more this word is suppressed the more it will seep up negatively.
    This word would have died out in the 1990s as white people gradually ceased using it but it has been kept alive by black people….. they cannot have it both ways….

The word is only wrong to use when it is used to hurt another persons feelings….

It is the film Resovoir Dogs which was shown on TV last night Film 4. I have no problem with it.

Mute Robert O’H
    Favourite Robert O’H
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:00 AM

I think they’re trying to suck the life out of everything at this point.

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:14 AM

Why would the journal waste time going on about the goose stepping stuff when that’s not why it was made unavailable.

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:37 PM

This pc world is impossible to navigate thanks to those who jump on each word that they find offensive. The journalists and politicians dont help with the constant promotion of these people and do not exhibit the leadership they should and tell them to cop on. History is history and if anti racist laws were enforced and people educated this would not be a huge hoopla but they the protesters would find something to be offended by. ALL LIVES MATTER should be the call

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:44 PM

@Dangling Damo: All lives matter, and Black lives matter just as much as everyone else…that should clear up your confusion

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:17 PM

@Bountyop: my point was all lives matter irrespective of colour race and creed

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:26 PM

@Dangling Damo: And my point is that black people aren’t feeling it, and that doesn’t mean you are suddenly threatened

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:07 AM

Crazy world

Mute TheCraftyCulchie
    Favourite TheCraftyCulchie
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:19 AM

What about the clearly racist, episode with David Kelly, as the lazy, drunk irish builder who didn’t know what he was doing!! Using the N word is obviously worse for historical reasons but where is the line?

Mute Jason O Flynn
    Favourite Jason O Flynn
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:10 AM

Poor father Dick Byrne . . Diana Ross and the supremes . .
    Gone. . .

Mute Colm Beck
    Favourite Colm Beck
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:37 AM

I wonder will ever TV show and movie that slags off the Irish be removed from history. I loved been away from home and having a good laugh at my own expense.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

@Colm Beck: This is about repeated use of the N word…… you know that right?

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:26 AM

@Tricia G: Don’t be so simplistic; you know the context. This is unnecessary..

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:51 AM

It’s still on Netflix. For now.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:12 AM

I am Elvis

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:30 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: If you were the Emperor of Japan, you’d be strumming and jiving with a geisha girl, man.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Garreth Byrne: I would take you on as my special advisor and together we would rule the galaxy

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:37 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: Just don’t try overthrow me or poison me.

Mute M.J. O' Neill
    Favourite M.J. O' Neill
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:51 AM

Ridiculous!!!

Mute Jim Carolan
    Favourite Jim Carolan
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:16 PM

FFS…this is getting ridiculous

Mute Stuart James
    Favourite Stuart James
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:59 PM

Snowflake generation eh? Enough maybe..

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:05 PM

Unedited scene still on Netflix

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:55 PM

It was in the past

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:43 PM

One of my favorite comedies is Parks and Recreation. Leslie Knope makes several misguided remarks to Tom Haverford because of his Indian ethnicity. The comments are in no way racist, she loves Tom. But this will be next. It will be banned. This is insane.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:56 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: a bit like the Indian character i from India in the Big Bang Theory he gives himself a right doing off, and I’ve always questioned it myself….. I’m not even sure the actor is from India or American with Indian heritage….

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:18 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: hes an english actor

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Jun 12th 2020, 3:49 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: the jokes in Parks and Rec are so funny, but a little at the expense of his heritage Leslie says: ‘Youre not from here are you?’ ‘No, im from South Carolina’, Leslie says ‘ and you moved there from —’
    ‘My mothers Uterus!’ Leslie: ‘how did you get the name haverford? ‘i chose it because funny sounding muslim guys dont make it far in politics’ leslie says: ‘um..what about Barack Obama?’ Tom gets annoyed and says, ‘yes if i knew some guy named Barack Obama was going to be elected president of the Unites States i wouldnt have changed it’. Another joke has her referring to him as a little brown pony, which he mutters ‘totally uncalled for’ but its all in such sweet, gentle humour, if its misconstrued as racist, then the protesters are cracckpots.

Mute gk ricko
    Favourite gk ricko
    Jun 12th 2020, 6:40 PM

So they can call us whites and get off soct free

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Jun 12th 2020, 9:33 AM

Maybe we should just set up a country where normal people from any race culture etc. Can go and leave the perpetually offended to ruin the rest of the world. Idiots!

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jun 12th 2020, 10:07 AM

You guys realise this is temporary right? It’s the way the Major describes the West Indian Cricket team…….. the version being removed is the unedited one:

1) It’s not because of the war
    2) It’s about repeated use of the N word
    3) BBC edited the offending scene in 2013
    4) Cleese fully approved of it
    5) Netflix & UKTV were airing unedited version
    6) Edited version will likely be used in future

https://twitter.com/gdimelow/status/1271341519010701312

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:22 PM

To all the white people whining about their right to use the n-word…you can’t. Why don’t you try dropping the n-word the next time you’re with a coloured person and see how it goes for you? A black person can…they are taking ownership of the word. Your experiences do not qualify to use it. Unless you’re born a visible minority in a country your experiences are completely non-transferable. You don’t get it. Although the episode is amusing and I wouldn’t edit it, for balance you should also watch ‘Fire in Babylon’ to see what the West Indians really thought about the British at the time…

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 12th 2020, 12:53 PM

@Bountyop: it is a word I can use it if I want in an academic discussion if I want….I can use it as long as I am not using it to insult a black person….

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Jun 12th 2020, 1:30 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: You go on and use it then in your ‘acadaemic’ discussion and see how it goes for you…it sounds quite petulant when you whine, ‘I can use if I want’. Good luck with your acadaemic discussion and publication

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 12th 2020, 3:17 PM

@Bountyop: if you are not up to the discussion you should leave now, but we will be discussing issues that some people will find offence, but we hope you can internally overcome the subject matter and see it for what it is intellectual conversation…. what is wrong with adopting this principal….. ??

Mute gk ricko
    Favourite gk ricko
    Jun 12th 2020, 6:39 PM

Fu&k sake crybabies oh it’s the N word

Mute Anthony MacDonnacha
    Favourite Anthony MacDonnacha
    Jun 14th 2020, 3:09 PM

Yes and the Waldorf salad episode is anti American, ban that one. And the Anti Irish episode that also….

Mute Louise Dec Evans
    Favourite Louise Dec Evans
    Jun 12th 2020, 11:11 AM

FFS