You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Motor Envy: The F355 GTS is a classically beautiful modern Ferrari

Ferrari’s F355 is a genuine future classic.

What’s this then?

You’re looking at a Ferrari F355 GTS, to give its full name. It’s the car that replaced the 348 and it came in three versions: a Berlinetta coupe, a GTS seen here, which has a removable hardtop section, and a Spider convertible.

Subsequently, Ferrari Aldo produced the F355 Challenge cars for the one-make race series and a limited run F355 Spider Fiorano.

What’s so special about it?

Many consider the F355 to be the last classically beautiful modern Ferrari, and we’re inclined to agree. The GTS model provides the best of both worlds when it comes to driving experiences, offering open-top motoring through the quick removal of that roof section and the security of a hardtop in the winter months.

Any standout design features?

DoneDeal DoneDeal

This car is finished in the classic colour combination of Rosso Corsa red paint and the cream leather interior. Even better is the fact that this car features a manual transmission, so you get that wonderful open-gate gear selector.

With the GTS models, it’s possible to store the removable roof section behind the seats, meaning you can quickly pull in and re-fit the roof if a rain shower comes along.

And what powers this Ferrari F355?

DoneDeal DoneDeal

Power comes from a 3.5-litre naturally aspirated V8 petrol engine. The car gets its F355 designation from said 3.5-litre engine which has five valves per cylinder.

Power output is 381hp, which might not be all that high by today’s standards, but it’s still quick enough to propel this mid-engined Ferrari to 100km/h in 4.7 seconds.

Does the Ferrari F355 have any luxurious touches?

DoneDeal DoneDeal

Those hugging sports seats are covered in soft Connolly leather, and the rest of the cabin is just as well finished. It was possible to get matching leather luggage that was designed to fit perfectly into the 220-litre boot that resides under the front bonnet.

But who would drive this car?

DoneDeal DoneDeal

Anyone with a keen appreciation for modern sports cars. The F355 is a model that was well regarded, and it has all the makings of being a genuine future classic, with values likely to rise even more over the coming years.

Want to make sure you don’t miss out on anything going on in the world of motors? Like us on Facebook and and follow us on Twitter for the latest updates.

Comments
    Mute Eoin Mulhern
    Favourite Eoin Mulhern
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:30 PM

It must be hard being the only fat man in your country.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Jan 25th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Eoin Mulhern: North Korea is Ultra-Nationalism brought to it’s logical conclusion. It’s quite scary the number of similarities between Kim Jong-Un and Donald Trump.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:37 PM

You don’t have to like trump to see that that’s hyperbole openborders.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Jan 25th 2017, 6:50 PM

North Korea isn’t nationalism, sure it doesn’t even include half of its nation. It sounds more like fascism to be hon, but who knows what it’s really like, other than Matt Cooper!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:05 PM

@Eoin Mulhern: I read his grandfather ate 2 dogs a day, rotten git…

Mute Daniel Murphy
    Favourite Daniel Murphy
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:38 PM

1 Sausage dog & 1 Hot dog

Mute john fairclough
    Favourite john fairclough
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:24 PM

Kim Jong-Un’s father is dead?
    I didn’t even know he was il.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:08 PM

@john fairclough:

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:10 PM

@john fairclough: He suffers dreadfully from wet feet when he sees his doctor… Because his doctors name Is We Too Low…
    Thanks RT… LOL.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:25 PM

He must have no other relations or cousins. If he did then chances are he probably doesn’t anymore.

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden

@Tweed Cap: He has a brother

There is a more complete article on the BBC website. He’s aware that his extended family will be in a camp being “re-educated” (at least)

Mute Tricia Golden
    Favourite Tricia Golden
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:31 PM

@Tricia Golden: And sisters:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-38741078

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:39 PM

A hard burden for him to carry around for the rest of his days.

Mute Mr Snuffleupagus
    Favourite Mr Snuffleupagus
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:44 PM

@Tricia Golden: For 3 generations. 3 generations are imprisoned – often born, raised and die in a prison camp.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:48 PM

@Tricia Golden: In the video link he clearly states that IF Kim Jong-Un’s position is threatened as a world power, be would use nuclear weapons against the world as we know it. Scary concept that there is he and trump at the controls of nuclear buttons.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:12 PM

Some of the old mates of Howlin and the stickies must be upset were they not frequent visitors to that part of the world #The unfinished revolution

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:26 PM

Trump in a modern day Cuban missile crisis, I’d go to see that in the cinema. Your man Baldwin from SNL would be a shoe in for main lead.

Mute Daisy Chai NSaw
    Favourite Daisy Chai NSaw
    Jan 25th 2017, 6:06 PM

You are worthress Arec Barrwin!!

Mute Gavrilo Princip
    Favourite Gavrilo Princip
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:07 PM

“the regime is in decline, with its people increasingly disillusioned” are they sure it wasn’t an American defector??

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:09 PM

@Gavrilo Princip: Or British…..

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:36 PM

Or German?

Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Jan 25th 2017, 4:09 PM

Oh ffs. Is the student bar closed, lads?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:43 PM

@Frank’s Cat: They are all off being taught how to pull real pints…

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 26th 2017, 10:09 AM

@Gavrilo Princip: You polititc is based on envy

Mute Gavrilo Princip
    Favourite Gavrilo Princip
    Jan 27th 2017, 11:01 AM

@Val Martin: how so?

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:20 PM

He’s not Wong there.

Mute Brendan Moriarty
    Favourite Brendan Moriarty
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:42 PM

Lacist!

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:43 PM

Plick!

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:59 PM

@David Mac Shite: borrox!

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:21 PM

Seems to harping on about North Korea’s nuclear development a little to much for the sceptic in me.

I wouldn’t be at all surprised if this was a propaganda stunt arranged by Kim Jong un himself to grab the attention of us westerners to his nuclear programs success.

After all why was this guy out of all the ambassadors allowed to take all his family with him?

Mute Neal, not Neil.
    Favourite Neal, not Neil.
    Jan 25th 2017, 4:12 PM

He wasn’t.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Jan 25th 2017, 4:50 PM

So how did he

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:00 PM

@Shane Murphy: he didn’t take all his family with him. Just two sons and the rest of his family are most likely now in camps, as he says in the BBC interview.
    I say fair play to him. Seems genuine and will take a lot more like him to finally put an end to this terrible totalitarian state.

Mute Marcus Bale
    Favourite Marcus Bale

There must not be any threadmills over there . The size of the little fat despot .

Mute Brendan Moriarty
    Favourite Brendan Moriarty
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:44 PM

There’s a North Korean reads the Journal? Why else would someone give you a thumbs down?

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:40 PM

Fat shaming is wrong, mmmkay!

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:27 PM

Solidarity with the 88.5 million euro lotto winner.
    Wally quick, your homeland is falling apart. Your esteemed leader needs you to stop trying to convert us, go home, get up on the nearest hill and Kim can use you for mortar practice. The “worker” Kim can then share in your wealth to put a roof over his head.
    See you got turfed off the journal again Wally!!!

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Jan 25th 2017, 4:43 PM

@Alan Cooke: “The elite were “turning their backs” on leader Kim Jong-Un” and we thought it is a “mass movement of ordinary workers” headed by the top worker Kim Jong Un. The left and the Shinners will go ballistic.

Mute Tony Hardwicke
    Favourite Tony Hardwicke
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:17 PM

Now. how to fix a warhead on a moore Street firework

Mute TehJurolan
    Favourite TehJurolan
    Jan 25th 2017, 3:56 PM

China should be doing something to help these people, they’re in the best position to do it.

Mute Sam Cairns
    Favourite Sam Cairns
    Jan 25th 2017, 4:20 PM
    Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:43 PM

@TehJurolan: Killing cats?

Mute Paddy Lions
    Favourite Paddy Lions
    Jan 25th 2017, 5:44 PM

No doubt SF/IRA will regard the defector as a traitor to the cause.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:06 PM

@Paddy Lions: You are more S.F. now than S.F. are?

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 25th 2017, 6:17 PM

Where is Dave O’Keefe?, he is a huge commie supporter

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 25th 2017, 11:26 PM

Jasus Kim , the cattle broke out again. Did Ya get them in again Kim.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jan 25th 2017, 7:03 PM

Misleading picture, much? For one wild moment there I thought Kim Lard-Arse had defected from his own regime.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jan 25th 2017, 6:47 PM

Sum Guy.

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Jan 26th 2017, 9:10 AM

One of the most high-profile defectors from North Korea has held his first press conference…after weeks of prepping with his western puppet masters. Hmmm…

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Jan 26th 2017, 10:14 AM

@Yenreit: At least you are honest. Readers can see what the left want for the rest of us. They would endure Kim’s rule for them and their children for the trill of seeing us suffer it.

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Jan 26th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Val Martin I’m not left or right. I just call it as I see it.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 25th 2017, 8:07 PM

Kim is waving and saying you could be like me, if your weren’t eating weeds in my fields…