You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Can Fianna Fáil stop the in-fighting and bounce back?

Analysis: Is the Celtic Tiger party ready to return to power?
Internal wrangling will not create one extra job, internal wrangling will not create one extra childcare place, internal wrangling will not take one extra person out of the poverty trap – that’s what we’re here to do.

THOSE WERE THE words of Fianna Fáil TD Dara Calleary when he asked about the in-fighting in his party.

Calleary was speaking at the launch of the programme for the party’s 76th national conference, which kick off at the RDS in Dublin this evening.

The Mayo TD made it clear the “internal wrangling” that has dogged the party in recent months is a distraction.

That it has been.

1916 Programme of Events Éamon Ó Cuív and Micheál Martin Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Let’s take a look back at some of the recent bumps in the road the party has encountered.

1. The War of Dún Laoghaire

Mary Hanafin is looking to secure the Fianna Fáil nomination to run in Dún Laoghaire in the general election. The former minister won a seat on Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council in the local election last year.

Her return to public life wasn’t straightforward, however. After a botched nominating process, Hanafin ended up running as an ‘unofficial’ party candidate alongside Kate Feeney, the former head of Ógra Fianna Fáil.

Both were elected in what was dubbed the ‘Battle of Blackrock’. When it emerged that Feeney is also seeking the party’s nomination to run in the general election in Dún Laoghaire, Hanafin said the battle had now become the ‘War of Dún Laoghaire’.

Hanafin Elections Campaigns Posters Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Just this week, the Irish Independent reported that Hanafin was unhappy details of her criticising the party at a branch meeting were leaked to the media. She is alleged to have said Fianna Fáil “stands for nothing”.

In a further twist, councillor Jennifer Cuffe threw her name into the mix this week, just days after party leader Micheál Martin said she wasn’t running in Dún Laoghaire. Fellow councillor Cormac Devlin is also seeking the party’s nomination. Eyes will be peeled to see how this one plays out.

2. Broken hearts

Party stalwart Éamon Ó Cuív has been one of Martin’s most vocal critics, saying the lack of progress Fianna Fáil has made under his leadership is breaking his heart.

What is breaking my heart is that the party has not made more progress because Fianna Fáil has an important role in Irish politics. Our opinions differ on what is needed by the party in order to make some progress, but that is natural in any party.

Ó Cuiv recently held a meeting with Martin to voices his concern about the “low morale” in the party.

Colleague John McGuinness, chair of the Public Accounts Committee, told us about the effect Martin’s “baggage” has on Fianna Fail.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Not everyone agrees with Ó Cuív  and McGuinness – Timmy Dooley being among this group.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Meanwhile, Willie O’Dea called on his colleagues to air their concerns internally and refrain from publicly voicing displeasure with the the party’s direction.

However, just last night former Dublin City Councillor and would-be Fianna Fáil Dáil candidate for Dublin Central Mary Fitzpatrick said party strategists “lack ambition” and are “defeatist”.

3. Defection

David McGuinness quit the party after failing to secure the Fianna Fail nomination to run in the general election in Dublin West. He was beaten by fellow councillor Jack Chambers in a controversial selection convention in February.

At the time of his resignation, McGuinness said Fianna Fáil is “a party in denial”. Another councillor, Patrick McKee was poached by Renua Ireland to run in the Carlow-Kilkenny by-election.

Speaking of which, sources within the party say Martin’s leadership is in danger if Bobby Aylward doesn’t come up trumps in Carlow-Kilkenny next month. Martin has denied this is the case, however.

The party has been trying to move beyond all of these distractions and focus on rebuilding after the worst general election in the party’s history in 2011, when it lost 51 seats.

It’s not all bad news though, with Martin and others quick to point out Fianna Fáil is the biggest party in local government.

New policies

Last week, the party launched its anti-drugs policy. While its long-awaited health policy was unveiled on Tuesday.

This weekend will provide an opportunity for the party to regroup, but is unlikely to quell the rumblings of discontent.

Calleary denied the fact the party is not going to elect a new deputy leader until after the election is due to the internal disagreements.

We’re very happy with the leader we have and he will lead the fight from the front.

Tonight delegates will be asked to vote on introducing a new method of electing the party’s leader. If passed, the new rules would extend the vote to all of the party’s 20,000 members, councillors, MEPs, senators and members of the national executive.

Dara Calleary Dail Scenes Dara Calleary Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Calleary said the theme of the Ard Fheis – ‘An Ireland for all’ – is “very deliberate, reflecting on the work we’ve done in the Dáil as a party since 2011″.

Despite trying to move beyond the past, Calleary said former leaders Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen are both welcome to attend the Ard Fheis if they wish.

“We who are honoured and privileged to be within the parliamentary party have a responsibility to the wider party membership to respect the party. They want to see us working hard for the country. They want to see us working as a team focusing on recovery,” Calleary stated.

To keep up to date with everything happening at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis, follow @TJ_Politics, @orlaryan and @oconnellhugh.

Originally published: 6.10am

Read: Yet another Fianna Fáil figure has had a go at “defeatist” party leadership

Read: A Minister for Dublin and scrapping water charges – How the country might change under Fianna Fáil

Read: Fianna Fáil wants a new tax… on sugar

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

89 Comments
    Mute Steo Dowd
    Favourite Steo Dowd
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:56 AM

Never forgive never forget the kinda stuff they got up to in power. As a country we don’t need that type of politics any more .i hope they are for history books only.

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:22 AM

Tossers all.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:50 AM

The interesting thing is that FF got to power and stayed there through a tax reducing and high spending policy when the country was collecting €60bn in taxes. This drove property inflation as wages were high and interest rates were low and the rest is history. FF started the correction and FG and Labour continued it and made themselves unpopular. Now SF and all the left learning groups are promising reduced taxes and more spending and are claiming popularity. Maybe we should have left out the middle man and left FF in?

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:48 AM

Liam left them in they were borrowing 55 million a day near the end they were not making a recovery they were borrowing and pretending they were.its f Fáil policy they think they can hoodwink people by borrowing

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Apr 24th 2015, 9:04 AM

Good man, Liam. Completely ignoring the fact that by ‘tax reducing’ this meant making the state finances completely dependent upon the revenue gained by stamp duty on property transactions. So then FF had to introduce policies to keep this housing price bubble going. So once the bubble burst, the state’s finances burst too… as did those of the banks.
    I actually can’t believe you’re suggesting FF were good for causing a housing price bubble or ‘property inflation’ as you call it. FF supporters are deluded.

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Apr 24th 2015, 9:28 AM

Fine gael no different looking at Joan avoiding questions yesterday by Ruth Copinger all there for themselves

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Apr 24th 2015, 9:29 AM

Coppinger

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Apr 24th 2015, 9:35 AM

Typically of many of the commentators here. Try manipulate a comment to suit your own agenda. My essential point is that Joe Citizen still gets sucked in by promises to reduce tax (levies, water and property) while spending more (health, education etc) and increase wages (restore public sector and increase minimum). All paid for by taxing some imaginary vast pool of wealth of people over €100k pa with spare dough (with taxes on assets buy not property). The sums don’t add up but people believe it and refuse to accept any party or politician or economist that tells the truth. Balance the books, work harder and save.

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Favourite Michael Mclaughlin
    Apr 24th 2015, 9:51 AM

Ignoreireland, what were the oppositions alternatives at the time? From what I remember it was even more tax cuts and spending.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:19 PM

The problem with political parties in this country is that they think that they can buy the electorate and then in government walk all over them. What this country needs is a bit of backbone in government to put citizens at the heart of their plans and make sure that living standards are maintained at the same pace as increases in tax. People don’t mind paying a fair rate of tax if they know that they are getting something in return which makes our lives more comfortable.

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Apr 24th 2015, 2:23 PM

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, five years is too long for them wait in the long grass, there should be an election every two years, that would put manners on all of them, the only time they seem to give consideration to their electorate is when an election looms.

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Apr 25th 2015, 3:45 PM

Keith that would never work cos realistically a government is only governing for 4 years with the last year concentrating on general election, so a 2 year term is really only 1 year of actually working on issues

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:31 AM

Every dog has its day and Fianna Fail wagged its tail for way too long thinking they were untouchable . Now their toxic .

Mute Fergus Fring
    Favourite Fergus Fring
    Apr 24th 2015, 10:52 AM

And will forever remain toxic.
    I’ll never forget the day Cowen came on my TV screen to let us know the IMF were on the way, a week after he said everything was grand. This party is rotten to its very core and I have nothing but utter contempt for the traitors that continue to support them.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Apr 24th 2015, 11:22 AM

They still have secrets that they think nobody knows but I’m betting the next GE campaign will bring stuff to the fore that they thought nobody outside the party knew about.
    They have their core support but their days as a dominant party of Govt are over.

Mute left eye
    Favourite left eye
    Apr 24th 2015, 11:46 AM

I agreed with ye all that ff are corrupt but plz don’t vote in FG who are only interested in a 2 tier system, the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer,Enda came out in the last budget and was beaming that we got money back in our pockets, I got €5 back,wudnt buy me a bottle of calpol for my kids when they are sick,

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:09 PM

Can’t understand why FF keep putting forward people associated with the financial rape of this country. Hannafin should be barred from ever running for office again.. One look at her and the whole Cowen/Ahern era comes to mind

Mute John De-ckhead
    Favourite John De-ckhead
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:12 PM

Left eye – ur rite. Fg used to be fianna failure lite but they now fianna fianna heavy. Same policies. Same corruption. Same incompetence. Both these party’s shud b made illegal for lieing to the ppl of ireland

Mute Pat Mangan
    Favourite Pat Mangan
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:44 PM

I’ve heard it said that if FF put a dog’s backside on the ballot paper, there are plenty of people who would vote for it. Their shame should never end.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:45 AM

I think I’m going to give the Journal a miss for the weekend. I don’t think I’ll be able to stomach seeing the articles relating to the sh*t they come out with at their Ard Fheis.

At least the Dubs have ensured they are finished as a major party in our capital, if only the rural folk would follow their lead-wishful thinking I’d say though.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:38 AM

Pat spot on why people outside of dublin r still putting em in as councillors is strange must be the aul mammy daddy syndrome.the spin was new f Fáil and they keep a dinosaur like m Martin as leader.they r the ones who brought in water rates and said avg would be 450 per household and now r pretending they want em scraped.55 million a day they were borrowing but that’s ok granny and grandad voted for em

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:12 AM

Farmers and pensioners are the majority in rural areas, no guessing what two groups suffered least in the recession. Job losses and the property bubble didn’t effect then much so they carry on as if nothing has happened. That’s democracy but it’s sickening in my opinion.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:42 AM

Rural Ireland has been hit very hard in this recession and emigration has devastated small rural towns and villages ,there are many more non farming rural dwellers than Farmers , If you bothered to ask a question about how rural people will vote rather than making unfounded claims you might find that many many of us will never vote for mainstream parties again , rural / urban should never be used to divide us up that’s how the establishment like it , just saying .

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:49 AM

Deco I know full well that rural Ireland has being hit hard, I’m from a predominantly rural county and emigration has destroyed it. That said I can guarantee you FF will get their highest votes in rural constituencies like Clare, Longford Westmeath, Kilkenny Carlow etc. If these communities are so destroyed why do they keep on voting in FF & FG in massive numbers.

The reason FF will never be destroyed fully is because they have a large support base in rural Ireland, simple as!

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 24th 2015, 9:11 AM

I cant see it where i am but i am not surprised that it might happen else where , i called into the mens shed yesterday on the way home from a job to give a welding lesson and to a man they were voting independent .

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 24th 2015, 4:28 PM

Pat Mustard… attacking rural people is exactly why you shinners will never lead a government. Your core support revolves around rabble rousing gullible angry inner city meatheads in some of the worst parts of this island.

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Apr 25th 2015, 3:49 PM

Maybe it’s cos ppl outside of dublin actually have a brain & think , we don’t believe the bull from SF . For eg .. AAA alliance & SF were up in arms over dublin ppl paying for their bins while in the real world , us culchies always had to pay for our bins . In the end ye lost that cos ye were fed bull from AAA to buy votes

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:54 AM

Who cares what that shower of traitors think or want. They’re desperate for attention and should be left to rot. They were a disgrace to the country. Even bertie and cowen are still welcomed into ff inner circles! And ffs stop roling out that creature orourke, nobody forgets her roles in fianna failed.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:26 AM

FF will have to go back to school and start again with complete new people otherwise the will be stuck in the bottomless pit of dirty politics and drown

Mute Cormacklemore
    Favourite Cormacklemore
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:29 AM

‘Fianna Fáil stands for nothing’ – Mary Hanafin
    Surprisingly, never a truer word spoken by a politician.

Mute Kieran Foley
    Favourite Kieran Foley
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:18 AM

They enslaved a country into paying somebody’s else’s bad choices ……… Ans……….NO!

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:28 AM

My parents were at the 1916 commemorations Fianna Fáil hold in Arbour Hill every year. By their account Michaél Martin droned on and on about Sinn Fein, had nothing positive to say, no inspirational speeches, did nothing to inspire his party members! They said they and pretty much everyone else around them was bored by his speech! We need a serious political shake up in this country. Too much of the old guard are still trying to run things bringing nothing new to the table.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:53 PM

Martin is a disgrace, they could start by sacking him.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Apr 24th 2015, 3:12 PM

David, leadership and example comes from the top.
    we have no leaders in Irish politics- only cute hoors
    We are approaching the Centennial of the 1916 rising.
    Can you imagine Thomas J. Clarke, Seán Mac Diarmada, Thomas MacDonagh, P. H. Pearse, Éamonn Ceannt, James Connolly or Joseph Plunkett insisting on retaining 90% of the obscene salaries, tax free allowances and entitlements that are the norm nowadays-while at the same time changing the regulations about how many insurance stamps you need, to get a full contributory old age pension.?
    What a shower.!
    Our leaders of yesterday must be turning in their graves in Arbor Hill listening to empty waffle about our glorious dead heroes.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Apr 24th 2015, 4:28 PM

I absolutely agree!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Apr 24th 2015, 4:55 PM

the more the evidence at the banking tribunal comes out the more the round of golf between biffo and seanie Fitz makes it clear that ff wrecked this country to protect the shower who frequented the galway tent.

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:44 AM

One word, two letters, one meaning. NO !!!

Mute Joe Hill
    Favourite Joe Hill
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:53 AM

In answer to the headline, I really hope not!

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:53 AM

The in fighting title is a little bit of a distraction, the problem is not the infighting, its Fianna Fail and it’s warped suggestion that the nation should have a sudden spontaneous case of amnesia.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:43 AM

They are a spent force along with Fine Gael and Labour keep them out

Mute Irving Chubbie
    Favourite Irving Chubbie
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:43 AM

Christ, they’re ugly looking! No votes from me.

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:03 AM

No. Next question.

Mute Mark Egan
    Favourite Mark Egan
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:46 AM

No

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:15 AM

Calleary could lose his seat with his constituency cut to 4 seats. Martin says they will out perform the polls. What gives him the right to say that. The people will decide and not him or any other politician.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:24 PM

On the other hand, Seamus, there’s 4 sitting FG TDs that might lose a seat before him :)

He’ll actually be grand. My mother is from Mayo and they’re quite polarized along the FG/FF axis. Couldn’t see there being less than 3 candidates between the parties, and couldn’t see FF not getting a seat.

Unless Chambers takes a run at him and succeeds. They’re both children of former FF TDs unless I’m mistaken, so might be more 50:50 this time out. Either way 18/19% or so 1st preferences will see them comfortably in with a seat.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Apr 24th 2015, 11:01 PM

Republican Fianna Fail in Mayo has moved to Sinn Fein and Independents ……
    Fine Gael will be lucky to get one seat in Mayo ….
    A big scandal to break there I hear – very damaging if true …

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:18 AM

Not for another generation at least.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Apr 24th 2015, 2:55 PM

“Can Fianna Fáil stop the in-fighting and bounce back?”
    Many of their favorite developer friends are already back in business so it is only a matter of time until the incumbent gang become so universally detested that Tweedledum’s turn will come again..
    Only in Ireland is there a never ending cycle of blundering, corruption and incompetence in the political life of the nation. Only in Ireland can such people get re-elected over and over again.

Mute Conor O Neill
    Favourite Conor O Neill
    Apr 24th 2015, 5:52 PM

Funny you say that but look at all of the FF politicians mentioned here. They’re all of one generation. No one young. No one under 35 even. They’re lost because they have absolutely no clue about the majority of the population of this country.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Apr 24th 2015, 6:59 AM

Great opportunities at this weekends ff Conference for a good ould barney.

The ‘small print republicans’ , are in a complete tizzy after last weekends rewriting of Irish History by Mehole himself.
    Obviously Mehole Martin mitched history classes , while at school and has no recollection of the fight for Civil Rights or the pogroms which occurred in The Six Counties from 1968 onwards?
    He seems to have no recollection either that his own Party in Government , helped to finance and arm The IRA !

In any case with Government on the Horizon and the General Election now looking sooner then later , Coalition with FG is up for grabs , in a last ditch effort for Mehole to become Enda’s new Puppy , as Tanaiste .
    Lots of the Party know that this will be the final death knell of Dev’s Old Party and are greatly upset at the Proposal!

Sure Mehole may as well propose the Amalgamation of ff and their similar Brothers – FG , as there is no longer a whiff between them , being two sides of a hugely Corrupt Coin !

I can’t wait to see the turmoil on the Horizon and Mehole’s and ff’s further disintegration and disappearance from Ireland’s political landscape !

Mute Better Call Callely
    Favourite Better Call Callely
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:46 AM

Yeah just like the 1971 ard dheis!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 24th 2015, 3:02 PM

PIRA/SF terrorists never recognised this Republic and murdered/maimed thousands of people in Ireland.

Nothing “republican” about that.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Apr 24th 2015, 4:21 PM

Diarmuid – I realise that you haven’t been to Specsavers – but the subject here is Fianna Fáil – You know the one that Mehole Martin ‘Leads’ ???

Will I give you Specsavers telephone number in your area ?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 24th 2015, 4:32 PM

Yeah Ciarraioch, but you are a shinner troll are you not? FF are a joke, but at least they have a track record of loosely adhering to the principles of a “Republic” in the true sense of the term. They didn’t blow up civilians, murder Gardaí, support the murderers of said Gardaí…

Speaking of that, you never answered my Martin Ferris questions from yesterday? Scared of something?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:00 PM

I did Diarmuid – it just proves that you definitely need to visit Specsavers ……
    A Chara ?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:11 PM

Nope, you didn’t a chara.

No worries, here are new questions for you:

Why do you think Martin Ferris supported a person who murdered a Garda? Do you support the same person too?

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:27 AM

The infighting is the least of the problem for FF. They have been pathetic in opposition, whining about the ultra local issue du jour and totally failing to hold the government to account on the big stuff. I detest SF but there can be no denying that Pearse Doherty has done more in opposition than the whole of the bigger party put together, and largely under the radar.

FF are not fit to be in opposition, and certainly not to be in government.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:15 AM

“Yes, friends, governments in capitalist society are but committees of the rich to manage the affairs of the capitalist class.”
    James Connolly 1915.
    FF will take some time to recover from this,but Labour on the other hand are finished as a political party. Call a GE so that this bunch of wasters can see how far they have fallen.

Mute Dolphins
    Favourite Dolphins
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:51 AM

Only Paddywacks vote for FF and FG. Labour are just Muppets. Our former beloved Greens are destroyed and were betrayed by a traitor named John. Glad the health destroying PDs are gone. Those who have retired are enjoying their big pension spendings. Can we give this State a bit of loyality equality and trust. Vote sensibility

Mute Paul McGuigan
    Favourite Paul McGuigan
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:11 AM

Exactly a chara. Vote SF and keep all traitors from another chance to boost their pensions

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:16 AM

Independents?

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:32 AM

Internal wrangling will not create one job true, but hopefully it will lead to you and your F F associates losing yours. Never vote F F, F G, Labour or Green.

Mute Leigh Byrne
    Favourite Leigh Byrne
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:51 PM

Who would you suggest we vote for.

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:30 AM

infighting was never FF problem, the lack of it was

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:33 AM

The journal is obviously pushing for you to vote for a FF and FG coalition!!

Apr 24th 2015, 8:22 AM

The cheating crooks are DOOMED !!!!!

Mute twonky kong
    Favourite twonky kong
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:45 AM

Bunch of traitor makers….

Mute Alan Ball
    Favourite Alan Ball
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:58 AM

If only they were gone..to deep seated in this country to be forgotten so quickly.

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:08 AM

We are still the only true Republican party on this Island.

Mute Cormac Flynn
    Favourite Cormac Flynn
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:22 AM

You spelled “publican” wrong there.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:23 AM

Citizen Smith – Who are ‘we’ ?
    Are you a ff Supporter or Member ?

Tis well known that there are some good people amongst you and that there may be some remaining Republicans – But you great Leaders is in total denial of that ethos .
    So what are You going to do about it ?

Are you going to vote for a FG / ff Coalition too ?

Are you going to allow the Amalgamation talks take place , between yourselves and FG ?

Heady and difficult days ahead for your ff Party , while Martin further destroys The Party !

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Apr 24th 2015, 11:30 AM

One in 5 voters will be voting for FF, I will be part of that 20%

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:13 PM

Rotten to the core and now eating itself from the inside out

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:44 PM

No… and we don’t want them to stop the arguing either… I Hope that they annihilate themselves …. Shower of w**kers..

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:28 PM

No politician who sat in the last 2 government cabinets should ever be re-elected.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Apr 24th 2015, 12:31 PM

I,like many people,are tired of listening to politicians saying ‘we won’t go into Government with such and such a party’.Believe me when I say that once the people vote and the election results emerge,political parties will be falling over each other,to cobble together a considered workable coalition.So instead of parties trying to influence the way you want to vote,your vote should influence their actions.As for Fianna Fáil,they still have the mindset and indeed arrogance of their once great political party and are struggling,within,to come to terms with the fact that they are currently a very minor player in Leinster House.There is nearly a feeling of injustice that they are so far away from holding power.Despite what they say,they still have not grasped the devastation their actions and inactions have inflicted on people throughout the country.Fianna Fail needs to re-evaluate itself and return to their roots by pursuing,effectively,issues directly relating to people whose lives have been made a daily misery because of the economic collapse.The Variable Interest Rate issue was a good start but people feel very alienated from the political process because,among other reasons,essentially they see that,while their finances may now be dire due to no fault of their own,they are being left high and dry to sort out their own situation..

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Apr 24th 2015, 8:22 AM

I hope that I am wrong but
    the next government can only be made up of FF/FG
    I cannot see any other alternative
    SF will not have the numbers and most parties say that they will not go in with them
    so is the next election really about
    Who will answer leaders questions on the Wednesday
    and who will answer on the Thursday
    or should I say
    give answers to questions that were not asked

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:22 PM

They went to school to learn the Rule
    But never studied Mortar
    Lo and behold contained no Gold
    Just sand, cement and Water!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:14 PM

Bounce back. They should take their hoop and roll away, to coin a phrase.
    Come the election…!

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    Apr 24th 2015, 3:06 PM

Hopefully the next government will be a f.g/f.f coalition, this will finish f.f and reduce f.g to a permanent opposition role. we will then see many years of sinn fein governance, possibly occasionally interspersed with a f.g/ dup coalition, are day is nearly here.

Mute Better Call Callely
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:45 AM

One of the finest political machines in the world especially within a democracy.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:16 PM

Yea, even lets us retake a referendum vote when we get it wrong. A super-democracy.

Mute Better Call Callely
    Apr 24th 2015, 3:55 PM

A political machine that was elected in nearly every election to government, dominated local council and didn’t do too bad in Europe.

Love them or hate them, they are regarded by historians and political scientists as a fine democratic movement

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Apr 24th 2015, 7:56 PM

A machine that needs oil to make the cogs work. The electorate is still paying for the oil even after the engine burnt out.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Apr 24th 2015, 2:34 PM

Destroy them completely in GE.they destroyed the country, but did not suffer like the rest of us have.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Apr 24th 2015, 1:48 PM

How the situation has changed for Fianna Fail only a few short years ago if this question was asked in he media there would be Fianna Fail supporters coming out of the woodwork in defence of their party not any more they have deserted their stations the reason is very plain to see. To get support back Fianna Fail will have rebrand itself move to the left a little bit there is a huge hole left with Labour having found new buddy’s in Fine Gale Clear out the Fianna Fail presses bin them leave out for the rubbish collection install a new leader prove their worth with new ideas maybe then just maybe ?

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Apr 25th 2015, 11:09 AM

Yes … They will unite and build a future for us all to be proud of…… #%$]¥ oops sorry just woke up.

BUT WE NEED SOME PARTY TO:

Turn this economy into a shining example across the world with an agrarian based industry providing excellent food across the world.
    It’s JW is to thank for the great food industry we have and traceable food, SC is building on this to be fair.
    We have a tech industry second to none. A platform for tourism, what country has a international saints day. Our education base we can be very proud of. Imagine if we all worked together and drove these…

If we (all) are not careful in the bigger scheme of things we in the eyes of multinationals will become the I part of UK&I treated like a province. This would not be good for Ireland at all.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Apr 24th 2015, 2:12 PM

The “infighting”, as the author belittlingly refers to it, is there for a reason: absolutely dreadful leadership at the top of Fianna Fail.

Such a poor direction as has been set by Micheal Martin and Billy Kelleher can only lead to growing disharmony, dismay and scattering within the once-brave Fianna Fail.