You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The front of the Fine Gael booklet Hugh O'Connell/Tge

Revealed: The Fine Gael guide to canvassing and how to lash the other parties

The party has produced a 15-page guide for canvassers ahead of the general election campaign.

FINE GAEL CANVASSERS are being advised to warn voters that it’s “the same old Fianna Fáil”, that Sinn Féin is a “high tax, anti-jobs” party and that Renua has “no substance”.

A 15-page canvass guide has been produced by the party in advance of the general election with thousands of party members expected to hit the doorsteps seeking votes for Fine Gael candidates in the coming weeks.

The guide has two full pages of speaking points on the opposition parties with canvassers told to inform voters that independents will be a “recipe for chaos and crisis” and that the Social Democrats would “hike your taxes”.

The canvass guide is being distributed to members attending the Fine Gael Ard Fheis in Citywest this weekend.

There are several speaking points for most political parties with, among other points, a direct warning that Sinn Féin policies “would kill jobs”:

IMG_8762

The guide also has notes on why people should vote for Fine Gael with bullet points outlining the government’s progress on employment and investment.

It lists key statistics, including the rate of economic growth, the cuts in Universal Social Charge, the fall in unemployment, the reduction in public sector numbers by 10% and the recruitment of more guards and nurses.

There is a guide to preparing for a canvass with a checklist that includes ensuring canvassers have a biro, comfortable shoes and that they “dress smartly, but comfortably”.

The guide says:

Canvassing is about effective communication with the electorate to secure their support. Canvassers are at the frontline in the struggle to secure votes. Your efforts are vital. The more effectively we canvass, the better the result.

There is also a list of Dos and Don’ts when canvassing.

These including ensuring that you close gates behind you, that you don’t “take shortcuts over walls or hedges”, and that you make sure you “don’t waffle”.

“Don’t pick times when people are most likely not to be at home, or receptive (during televised sports events, blockbuster episodes of TV soap operas),” the guide states.

Canvassers are also warned to be wary of “spoilers” – supporters of other parties who may try and hold you on the doorstep.

FullSizeRender

The guide states that canvassers should also keep a note of those who require transport to the polling station on election day.

Read: Love and kisses for Noonan who likens Fianna Fáil to ‘Comical Ali as the tanks roll in’

Read: Security alert at Fine Gael Ard Fheis after suspect cartridge found

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

160 Comments
    Mute David Flynn
    Favourite David Flynn
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:40 PM

Or ‘How to cling on to power by telling people what they want to hear and avoiding any sort of useful dialogue’

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:10 PM

FG got in on lies and spin, in the short time they are in power the arrogance outstrips anything FF ever did, I’m genuinely worried what will happen if they get in again, water charges enforced, more stealth tax, using the line they have the mandate of the people, that’s you and me!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:49 PM

A booming economy, falling unemployment, falling national debt…

Hope the next government gives us more “lies and spin”…

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:53 PM

What exactly are FG doing different than FF signed up to do?

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:10 PM

homelessness at an all time high, with an additional 73 families being made homeless monthly, HSE in absolute turmoil with full to bursting A&E`s, cancellations of surgeries on a massive scale, scoliosis in children going unaddressed for more than 15 months at least, food banks opening at an unprecedented rate, fuel poverty at it`s highest in the oap`s age group at a recoed high, emigration, house prices all off the scale. rise in inequality the highest in the history of the state, tax cuts for the rich and medical cards taken off sick children.
    Moriarty, IBRC, NAMA, Siteserv , Irish water scandals, Nepotism and croneyism in full flow….
    I hope the next government will not keep all these things going, like the one currently in power have created.
    hows that for a quick rebuttal for you Dermo?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:33 PM

Sorry Diarmuid, falling national debt?….. http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/ireland
    Watch it for a few mins and tell us it’s coming down.

Mute Brian Healy
    Favourite Brian Healy
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:34 PM

He said he would end trolley crisis but now far worse. Criminal’s are having a free run in this country under this government. IW has been a joke. Nama is robbing us all and Kenny doesnt care. Apple owes 19 billion in tax yet we are taxed to within a inch of our lives. The new postal code ( cant remember what it’s called) is a total waste of money and doesn’t work. Homelessness is forever increasing. And the list goes on. There’s more to running the country then falling unemployment.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:39 PM

… debt to GDP ratio

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:43 PM

As pointed out by Joseph Stiglitz to edna during the week, GDP is meaningless as a measure of the economic wellbeing of a nation. In Irelands case even more so, as it includes the profits that multinationals avoid tax on and simply repatrioate to their home country.

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:52 PM

Thomas, just the words they use?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:39 PM

…debt to GNP ratio…

Actually, try any calculation by accepted international standards…

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jan 23rd 2016, 8:01 PM

I have tried to ignore Diarmuid for weeks and resisted the temptation to respond to his tripe until now because I would love to know what he thinks is a booming economy. Creating “135,000″ jobs is the latest warcry but it is a lie. Positions created on Jobs bridge etc are NOT jobs and those that have been announced but will come on stream until 3 years from now are NOT jobs. Now here’s another “dont ” for your handbook. Don’t set foot on my tax compliant property!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 23rd 2016, 10:14 PM

Diarmuid is just a zombie minded FG hack.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 23rd 2016, 10:28 PM

You cut me deep FiFi.

Unemployment has fallen beneath 10% Harris, for the first time in 5 years. It’s not all Jobsbridge.

Jan 24th 2016, 4:09 PM

Diarmuid Momentum had courses where the unemployed were forced to work 38 hours a week for 12 weeks just to be entitled to get their basic dole with nothing extra and refusal meant being kicked of the dole for 9 weeks…
    70,000 unemployed are not added to the unemployment figures because of these scams…

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jan 25th 2016, 9:45 AM

I think the phrase is more accurately below but it still untrue to quote such figures as those on Jobs bridge are still not employed. Show your ignorance again you troll I have first name, please use it or have some semblance of manners and use Mr. Harri . Oh wait, calling me Harris was something only teachers did. Apologise Taoiseach your using the name Diarmuid this month, how stupid of me not to recognise your style.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:52 PM

Any mention of a 5 point plan

Mute Paul Davis
    Favourite Paul Davis
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:17 PM

Looks like they’ve ditched the numerical points and changed to bullet points. Sh!t just got real.

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:17 PM

No mention of why people of ireland had to pay for fine gael 5 point plan or how to deal with why 2 people out six in job schemes wont get job or why more people on trollies in hospitals or why are people asked to avoid & e or why 2000 are in holtel or b& b accommodation

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:32 PM

I taut only SF did bullet points.

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:34 PM

Only labour disidents do bullet points

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig

No FG and Labour, for ever and ever and evermore

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:41 PM

The same tripe you read trotted out hear , the best one for me is ” don’t waffle ” obviously Kenny hasn’t read this critical document

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:42 PM

Here even , before the pedants show up lol

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:39 PM

The whole booklet can be summed up in one line…” SF SF SF SF IRA IRA IRA Gerry Gerry Gerry Gerry SF SF SF SF IRA IRA

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:47 PM

As opposed to the false outrage shown by the populist party SF you’d swear the way they go on they are for the people, the party of theatrics shouting the house down but with no real credibility

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:50 PM

@Proctor What are you going on about? You should lay of the Champagne up there in Citywest

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:53 PM

Sorry was meant to say a party with credibility is the social dems unlike SF, their rotten to the core!

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:53 PM

Ah lads, you don’t need handbooks. People are just going to slam the door in your face anyway.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:00 PM

As opposed to the buffoons who won’t answer democratically posed questions in the Dail without resorting to something you will note is frowned on in the above document , WAFFLING

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:21 PM

So far I have had FF and SF at my door, I did not slam the door in their faces, I wouldn’t behave in such an ignorant manner, I listened, I put my views across and took the information,

At lease SF canvassers are more polite and engaging then their supporters on here, it’s a pity that they seem to attract the support of some people here – it’s really true to say that their supporters are their real enemy.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:28 PM

@Patlyndo,
    It was a joke, would you ever lighten up!

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:40 PM

Sure it was watersedge….

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:43 PM

B.T.W. The establishment posters on here are the dirtiest, most underhanded by a mile. Jump on an article and all they spout is SF/IRA, sex abuse on every article. Maybe you might like to address them?

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:48 PM

These FG/LAB party hacks don’t care about democratic principles let alone manners , I don’t see what is wrong with slamming a door in representatives of 2 parties who have shown no consideration for the citizens of this country , especially members of the Labour party who betrayed their core support . But it will be with satisfaction that i watch their demise come election day .

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:55 PM

Why would I address them, they don’t fling insults at me watersedge – the anti establishment posters, who are as dirty and as underhand do, because if you don’t agree with their opinions you are automatically labelled a “blue shirt”, “political hack”, “party hack” etc….

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:59 PM

“I don’t see what is wrong with slamming a door in representatives of 2 parties who have shown no consideration for the citizens of this country.”

Fair enough, I wouldn’t do it. I would tell them I am not interested, I would share my anger with them and I would be polite – I would never let my standards drop.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:01 PM

Speaking of dirty and underhand SF supporters on here constantly throw personal insults around teenage stuff really!

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:02 PM

Yes, I seen alright all the abuse you have been hurling yourself today at other posters on the water charges poll article. Move along now Patlyndo, I am not interested in having a row with anybody on here. You jumped in on my comment which was meant as a light hearted joke remember?

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:05 PM

For the record, I would never slam the door in anybody’s face. Is that the new tactic now, to try and insinuate that people opposed to government policy are like some sort of anti social mob?

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:10 PM

Admirable qualities there Patlyndo , it is a pity the parties you support did not have the same principles .

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:17 PM

Watersedge – you have joined the ranks of those unable to hold a discussion.

“You jumped in on my comment which was meant as a light hearted joke remember?”

****NEWSFLASH*****

This is an open discussion forum, your post wasn’t “jumped” on – it’s called engaging in the discussion, now move along yourself and if you don’t want your posts to be “jumped on”, then try aiming them at someone and trust me, you won’t hear a peep from me!

Have a good one.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:19 PM

Have a nice evening Patlyndo.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:27 PM

Thank you Matt, I don’t support FG or Labour, they didn’t get my vote in 2011 and they won’t be getting it this time around either.

This is a repeat of 2011, an anti-government election where FF were almost decimated and people believed the election promises from two power hungry parties and as soon as they went into government together – those promises became null and void.

As history has shown, the smaller party get it. The PD’s, the Green Party and now Labour.

Best advice, vote one preference only, don’t go down the ballot paper. if you want SF or any other party, then stick to that person only.

And not to single out SF, but have they ruled out a coalition with FF or FG? Because that is the question people need to be asking,

As to who I will vote for, I don’t know – but it won’t be FG, Labour, Fianna Fail or SF – so that leaves me with limited options.

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:30 PM

Never used spell check then lol.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:41 PM

I’m a little surprised at that admission considering some of your comments on this site but hey its not the first time i have been wrong lol , I do think labour are dead and buried and FG won’t get enough seats to form a government , they will then do a deal with the devil himself to hold on to power be it Lowry or any other undesirable . There is the possibility of SF and the independent alliance doing a deal also depending on seat numbers despite Ross’s denials . And then you have the worst case scenario of FG/FF , Interesting and possibly scary times ahead .

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:56 PM

@Matt, it has always been the case and believe me, I have posted it many times before.

My views differ because while serious mistakes were made by FF (and carried through by FG and Labour), the fact is that we were never going to come through this period without suffering from major readjustments in our spending.

We were too dependent on one income, property.

FF increased long term spending, with short term and temporary income, it was unsustinable then, and simply unsustainable once property collapsed.

I disagree with any cut to a disabled person or a sick person or an old person dependent on a fixed state income, I believe that these people should absolutely have been ring fenced.

But our political parties do not make the correct budget decisions because they take “party” over what is right every time.

Their decisions are not what is best for the economy – only what is best for the party.

None of them will take on the PS unions. Here we are now being promised reversal of the cuts – back to when they were unsustainable?

The largest part of the health budget goes on pay and pensions, there is one department (agriculture I think, I have to look it up) where their pension bill is more than their salary bill.

Think about that for a moment.

I know PS workers who retired in the last 5 years who receive bigger pensions then nurses starting off receive in their wages.

That isn’t right.

Water charges are not an issue for me – nor is USC – we have some major shitstorms on the way, the pension crisis that is building, those still paying celtic tiger mortgages and only doing so because interest rates are at their lowest – we are not out of the woods and whoever is in Government in 2016 or beyond, will not be able to deliver on their promises – I guarantee you that.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jan 23rd 2016, 8:11 PM

A vote for FG or Labour is a vote for water charges. If you think Kelly is arrogant now, what do you think he will be like if wecreturn them to power?

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Jan 23rd 2016, 8:44 PM

I would shoot anyone that didn’t share my political views and I would expect my political party to defend me.
    Step forward the party of the people … SF xxx

Mute Darren Fagan
    Favourite Darren Fagan
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:43 PM

The big FG book of platitudes, spin, and hominem.

Mute Darren Fagan
    Favourite Darren Fagan
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:47 PM

*ad hominem

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:04 PM

Laughable, on of their reasons to attack SF is they aren’t abolishing USC. Is it now FG policy to abolish the USC or what????

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:07 PM

Fine Gael/Labour candidates are in for a rude awakening when they come knocking on the doors in my area. The protective bubble they live in will be popped as soon as they knock on the first door. Once the word is out that they are in the area canvassing, they will be confronted and politely asked to leave by the residents. We don’t want to hear any of their lies & spin, my advice to them is to carefully choose the areas they enter looking for votes.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:43 PM

The poor little doggies around the country…They’ll be run off their feet chasing Blueshirts from front doors…

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:57 PM

Can you imagine what the water taxes (among others) will be if Fine Gael abolish the USC.??
    Ahern’s advice to commit suicide may become widespread among low income families and the homeless and unemployed.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:43 PM

No sign of an article on the huge anti water protests all over the country today Hugh ?? What a suprise

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey

Huge protest – your joking.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:03 PM

5,000 in Dublin. 1,500 in Cork. Ogle just had his arse handed to him.

This election is about reducing the tax burden on the workers of the nation. The ones who pay for everything for everyone else.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:52 PM

RUBBISH AND RUBBISH again O’Connor, just back from it. Great turnout and some excellent speakers. I feel energised by the solidarity shown.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:57 PM

Alan believing the RTE propaganda figures , good man

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:07 PM

Oooohhhhh. Caps Lock ON!!!! Must have touched a nerve. So how many were there? 100,000? 50,000? 10,000?

And what about McVerry praising Alan Kelly? That doesn’t really fit the narrative, does it?

That’s what happens when you put people like Ogle, Coppinger, McDonald et al out front. People can’t stand to listen to them.

You underestimate the people of Ireland when you claim that they are too dumb to work out what taxes need to go.

But I’m glad you had a nice day.

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:26 PM

WERE YOU THERE POWERABBEY???

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:29 PM

far from had his arse handed to him,

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:46 PM

Who do you believe folks, the YFG trolls or your lying eyes?

Here’s just the O’Connell st. one. Theres also citywest and all of the regional events.

https://www.facebook.com/DublinSaysNo.DSN/photos/pcb.1284396091586895/1284395921586912/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/DublinSaysNo.DSN/photos/pcb.1284396091586895/1284395954920242/?type=3&theater

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:51 PM

Thanks for those F.C.

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jan 23rd 2016, 7:53 PM

PoorAbbey is most likely too busy making Mrs Doyle-esque mountains of cucumber sangidges and topping up the BellEnda mugs out at CitshyWhest!

Mute Lorna Dempsey
    Favourite Lorna Dempsey

Vote for us, we’re the best of a bad bunch in other words. I’m grateful to live in a democracy but this year I don’t have anyone to vote for. Every single politician in my area is the same old same old. Can’t get refund for some stale bread in your local shop? Your local td will intervene on your behalf…ask about a national issue such as the 8th amendment and you get a panicked look of “eh, that would be an ecumenical matter”….

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:16 PM

A document to thump the opposition rather pump its own policies..

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 23rd 2016, 7:30 PM

No idea where you live but typically there will be 13 names on a ballot. You can’t say “they’re all the same” as it is impossible. There must be some you dislike more than others so your vote still counts.

My credentials here are well known (FG supporter) and even if you don’t vote FG, find someone who fits closest to your ideals or who argues strongly for their own ideals or on their record. All politicians want you to vote for them but great ones want you to vote for the betterment of society.

Best of luck.

Mute Car K Stanley
    Favourite Car K Stanley
    Jan 23rd 2016, 10:33 PM

try smartvote.ie to see who is closer to your views

Mute Lorna Dempsey
    Favourite Lorna Dempsey
    Jan 23rd 2016, 11:28 PM

I will vote, I would never be stupid enough to think my vote doesn’t count but my problem is who do I give no 1 to? I ran through candidates the other day and they’re all only interested in parish pump politics and I’m not. I couldn’t give a crap about who fills the potholes tbh. I’m not supporter of any party, I’m anti ff is the only definate (my memory isn’t that short) but they’re ALL lacking this year. Sad state of affairs.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:49 PM

Hahaha! Hope they call to my house I will make sure they lose a day,I will keep them at the door all day.

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:14 PM

Hahaha, that you think they haven’t considered obvious plays like that from Day 1

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:36 PM

Yes Micheal……they will run away like the chickens that they are.

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:51 PM

Just answer the door naked and invite them in lol.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 23rd 2016, 7:35 PM

Declan, seasoned canvassers move very quickly. They assess the voter and they can tell who’s who. We occasionally get a well intentioned but not great canvasser out (the ones who don’t ask questions). When we meet someone like you we often pass them on to guys like you. They get a free lesson in how to spot a time waster and we get to talk and listen to more engaged Voters.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 23rd 2016, 7:36 PM

@michaelsands every canvasser from every party gets one or two naked door greetings on each canvass.

Jan 23rd 2016, 10:45 PM

Tom, there should be more lol.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:46 PM

To summarise: Don’t waste your time defending FG, just attack attack attack.

(By the way, great atmosphere in O’Connell st. Despite the weather. Fr. Peter McVarry was excellent.)

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:55 PM

Jammin – Are you suggesting that IRA/SF do not have canvassing guidelines? Since all you guys speak from a common manual it is not conceivable that the are no guidelines.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:09 PM

.003% of the population of Dublin out protesting.

So much for the massive popular rejection of water charges.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:52 PM

James Connolly has spent more on Dublin Bus fares to O’Connell Street the last year, than the cost of his water bill!

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:09 PM

It has been a disaster for the Left. Murphy and others are now out on bail. Two lads have already pleaded guilty and will be sentenced soon.

Most Irish people have no great love for those who break the law. Hence the pathetic turnout today.

Water charges will be a minor footnote in this election now. Ogle et al are a joke.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

Good ol al. Self appointed spokesperson for ‘most Irish people’, but defends water charges nonetheless.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:21 PM

I thought Gerry was the spokesperson for the Irish people.

And please address me by my given name. It’s rather rude not to.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:54 PM

Thought I was al. Considering so many people round here refer to each other using insulting terms, I hardly think calling you al is ‘rude’.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:48 PM

“Don’t take shortcuts over walls and hedges” I can only imagine Enda climbing over a five foot wall getting a boost from one of his famous advisors thinking he’s ‘The Man from Milk tray’

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:45 PM

I can guarantee that rule will be broken on the way out of my place….

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:29 PM

Because the oulde slapper Merkel loves Milk tray?

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:37 PM

Fine Gael Bible

Mute Phyllis Murphy
    Favourite Phyllis Murphy
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:19 PM

What will Hugh do when FG aren’t elected in ge2016?

Mute StephV
    Favourite StephV
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:32 PM

Turn his coat like all pay per click journo & pretend he was at the GPO

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:21 PM

Brought to you by British Conservative Party consultants.

Jan 24th 2016, 4:32 PM

Let him who has understanding, calculate the number of the Kenny, his number is 087….. lol.

Jan 24th 2016, 4:33 PM

Sorry that is the F.G. Partyline whoops lol.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:45 PM

Best avoid my door…

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:48 PM

How to be a blue shirt. “Play dirty and be a sneaky ,sneering ,swiping little person at all times. Point your finger when addressing the voter and warn them not to forget who has got the country moving again” . I can’t feckin wait for one of these to call to the door!

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:56 PM

Not voting fg but i will take them in for tea and ask them lots of questions. As long as they are wasting time on me they wont be convincing anyone else.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:17 PM

Michael, did you not hear, you are not allowed make jokes on here, you might offend some people.

Jan 23rd 2016, 10:47 PM

I am always making jokes out of pathetic jokes or should that be spelt g-o-v-e-r-n-m-e-n-t?

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:57 PM

Don’t mention homelessness, don’t mention the hospital crisis, don’t mention child poverty, don’t mention water charges, don’t mention property tax, don’t mention cronyism, don’t mention failure at politcal reform, don’t mention turning private banking debt into sovereign debt, don’t mention Enda… After that FG canvassers can talk about what they like I’d say

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Jan 23rd 2016, 7:08 PM

Thanks P Quinn, you have just helped me make my FG/LAb (and FF) ready reckoner list for when the cheats and the liars come calling.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:04 PM

Avoid waffle? Has to be some kind of joke

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:38 PM

That’ll leave them with their mouth open and nothing coming out.

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:50 PM

In a porno way Al, lol.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc

There first port of call should be A & E departments around the country, that’s where they will get honest feedback, and also what really did they do since 2011 outside of turning us into one of the most miserable countries in the world. My response to any of that shower will be ” go fly a kite ” I’m far too polite to be rude! I just can’t wait for that knock on the door. . . . . . ..

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:51 PM

Another propaganda piece by Hugh. They’d better not darken my doorstep.

Mute Papasmurf
    Favourite Papasmurf
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:54 PM

How is an article that doesn’t reflect well on FG pro FG and therefore propaganda by Hugh?

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:03 PM

How does it reflect badly on FG? Hugh has just published a list of what FG think are the main failings of every other party.

Mute Jay Coleman
    Favourite Jay Coleman
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:51 PM

I find it hugely depressing as if you asked any unbiased person to write comments about the other parties this is what basically they would write. All you need is add FG to the book and you can see the country is screwed no matter who we vote in.

Mute Notthatguy
    Favourite Notthatguy
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:01 PM

Page 1: lie
    Page 2: lie
    Page 3: lie….
    You get the picture….

Mute DMurph
    Favourite DMurph
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:54 PM

Is the guide called, How to lose friends and alienate people?

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:41 PM
    Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:44 PM

Great crowd in Cork city today despite the terrible conditions

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor

1,500 people? In a city of 120,000?

0.0125% of the population.

It’s over. It’s not even a story any more.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

The main protest is non payment al. Well over half a million households have not paid. Bit more than 0.0125% yes?

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne

Avoid areas that we screwed with our lies. Shout down anyone that tries to argue with you. Follow your leaders example by not answering any questions. Keep blaming all the other parties for their cock ups. If flooding comes up just say that the people should have built their houses on higher ground. If the subject of health comes up follow Leo Verrucca mantra i.e. im gay and im aware of the health situation. Waffle and Bullshitting are the way forward.

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:08 PM

Just looking at their “do’s and don’t's”. If they do call to my door they will most likely take that short-cut on the way out. Across the fence or through the hedge. I’d say the labour canvasing guide would be short and sweet.
    “Please return our knives from the people of Ireland, they should be located between their shoulders.”
    “Please familiar yourselves with Usain Bolt’s video….”

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:05 PM

Booklet should be sponsored by Volkswagen..both sell one thing..and deliver something completely different…

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:06 PM

Fair play to Hugh for putting this up on the Journal.

BTW Edward Snowden says there is a spare room in his gaff if you’re stuck!

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:36 PM

Hugh could be getting an auld late night visit from a high ranking civil servant …..

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:02 PM

Vomit, vomit, vomit.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:08 PM

FG Canvas Guide as draughted by journo Hugh

Mute Thomas Hanlon
    Favourite Thomas Hanlon
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:23 PM

Jesus Wept, like kids in a playground. Is this the type of pathetic leadership the creators of the Irish Republic intended. We deserve better that what we have been served since inception.

Mute Paul Lynch
    Favourite Paul Lynch
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:35 PM

Their was a big water protest today journal if you didn’t notice

Mute Ben Connolly
    Favourite Ben Connolly
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:08 PM

Don’t worry about me being a spoiler I’m just going to tell any FG canvasser to fcuk off out of my garden

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:14 PM

Can’t wait for their presence at my door and illn

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:44 PM

Remember you can only use violence if the intruder poses an immediate threat to you or your family…. so hitting a Blueshirt a belt of a shovel should be covered…

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Jan 23rd 2016, 7:11 PM

@Rasputin – LOL, a belt of the back of the shovel or the edge!?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:40 PM

HAAAAAAA, HAHAHA, HAH! If it wasn’t so funny it would be sad – or should that be vice versa?

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:39 PM

Did this booklet include all of FG’s broken promises from their last general election campaign???

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:21 PM
    Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:33 PM

Oh, I can’t wait for these arseholes to call to my door.

Mute Derek O'neill
    Favourite Derek O'neill
    Jan 23rd 2016, 5:11 PM

i just love the don’t waffle instruction. (Don’t be like any of our Ministers) because people may be sick of hearing our lies and exaggerations and you mustn’t get into a real debate.

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:49 PM

Is this the bit where we pretend that every party doesn’t have their own version of this for their own canvassers? For me it’s not a case of who to vote for but what’s the alternative? FF have a proven track record of ruining the country, Labour and FG put all these austerity measures in to begin with, the socialist parties will go all Robin Hood on the country and as a taxpayer I don’t fancy giving any more of my money to the welfare careerist (don’t get me wrong I have no issue with people being helped out while they look for sometujng but we all know plenty of dole lifers that have no intention of ever working) the independents wouldn’t know what to do with the power if they did get it, and Renua, well the less said there the better!

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:54 PM

They’re going to need more than a “How To Con Your Way” booklet to buck the trend of NEVER EVER being re-elected by the Irish people.

Not even once in their entire history (some ninety years) have we been duped into giving them a second term.
    We always cop on to the social deprivation Fine Gael leave in their wake after a stint at the wheel.

“FINE GAEL CANVASSERS are being advised to warn voters that it’s “the same old Fianna Fáil”, that Sinn Féin is a “high tax, anti-jobs” party and that Renua has “no substance”.”
    But Renua are part of F.G.?
    Sinn Féin is a “high tax, anti-jobs” WHAT BULL, THAT IS NOW SCRAPING THE BARREL…

F.G. reminds me of someone in the old folks home shouting the same thing over and over again while urinating themselves… Asking who stole their teeth when there are in their back pocket…

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:48 PM

Hello I am from the DOB Party, o sorry I mean F.G. Party… lol.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:36 PM

Remember people couldn’t get in or out of their own house, with paths being dug up? We were told we Had to let the workers do their job?
    Now, they can read my sigh” Keep Away” or be prosecuted! By Owner!

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney

Don’t enter treacherous houses, don’t drive into dangerous estates.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 23rd 2016, 6:36 PM

Sorry to disappoint Enda, but I’m sure many FG Canvassers will be taking short-cuts over hedges … on their way out. He should ask his canvassers to carry a 2st aid kit… as well as the biro.

Why are they marking yes / no / maybe on any register, that is sinister…
    Work in pairs, incase they want a 3 some?
    Stand back from the door and SMILE, would it not be better to smile when someone opens the door first?
    Canvass everyone in the house, do you mean in a wigwam way or portrait way???
    Never leave a door step without handing over a piece of literature, like Mein Kampf?
    To identify local issues on the doorstep, like dog poo on the door step?
    Seek support for other F.G. candidates, walking stick, methadone???
    Always have someone local to the area like the town fool?

But seriously it is wrong for anyone to ask anyone who they are voting for and offering lifts to the polling stations is adding undue force on people voting, is that not illegal?

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:47 PM

Don’t spend too long on any one door, what are they slugs?

So treat people like planks…

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane

Hit then with a questionnaire of ten simple questions to which the answers may only be “yes” or “no”. Get them to sign it. And if they want a receipt they can take a photo of it. Otherwise no preference at all.

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:23 PM

A Can of Vaseline Guide, we know what to do with that then lol…

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jan 23rd 2016, 4:01 PM

Every party will have something similar on paper. This is harldy news

Jan 23rd 2016, 5:15 PM

Who pays for this 15 page booklet might be news?

Mute Michael Murphy
    Favourite Michael Murphy
    Jan 24th 2016, 12:43 PM

The like’s of you

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 23rd 2016, 8:37 PM

They are being chased from doors around the country, can’t get a word out.don’t forget john perry had them in court on corruption charges, of course they bribed hm and charges were dropped.

Mute Dermot Collins
    Favourite Dermot Collins

They will never lash our Beard’s

Mute Car K Stanley
    Favourite Car K Stanley
    Jan 23rd 2016, 10:36 PM

check out this page if you want to ee the real state the country is in …not listening to spin and hype by those that are totally out of touch https://www.facebook.com/Support-for-Nurses-Midwives-and-Frontline-Staff-in-Ireland-1475393262725729/?ref=ts&fref=ts

Mute Aoibhe Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Aoibhe Ní Shúilleabháin
    Jan 23rd 2016, 11:43 PM

Well, we’ve had two FG canvassers so far.
    Their pamphlet was no use to them at my doorstep!

Next one is being chased off with a Super Soaker.

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway
    Jan 23rd 2016, 8:27 PM

Canvassing Don’ts: Don’t take shortcuts over walls or hedges…. The mind boggles!!

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Favourite onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jan 24th 2016, 7:47 AM

Knock as opposed to ringing the doorbell. Yeah, so you can run off.

Mute Con Creedon
    Favourite Con Creedon
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:57 PM

It has become clearer than ever that FG are a dictatorship, with a cult group think mentality. I fear greatly another 5 years of their regime. The leaflet and literature has began to indoctrinate a new generation of young FG er’s to lie, deceive and muddy the water. God help us first and them second.

Mute Michael Murphy
    Favourite Michael Murphy

Only an idiot could swallow a blatant contradiction like that, “Fg has cut public sector employment by 10%, Fg are now recruiting more nurses and gardai”. Joseph Goebbells wouldn’t even stoop to trying to feed the population such blatant propaganda ffs.

Mute Michael Murphy
    Favourite Michael Murphy
    Jan 23rd 2016, 3:55 PM

You would want to be an idiot to swallow dirge like that. “FG has cut public sector employment by 10%, FG is now recruiting more nurses and gardai”. Not even Joseph Goebbells would stoop to try and pass such a blatant contradiction off as propaganda ffs.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 23rd 2016, 11:03 PM

The answers have to in writing for them