You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Several injured after explosion and major blaze at Oxford flats

Up to 40 firefighters responded to the blaze, which broke out yesterday evening.

fire Luke Sproule / Screengrab Luke Sproule / Screengrab / Screengrab

A NUMBER OF people have been injured after an explosion at a block of flats in Oxford.

Emergency services in the central southern English city were alerted at around 4.45pm yesterday following reports of an explosion, a fire and the collapse of a building.

Thames Valley Police said residents had been evacuated from nearby properties. The local ambulance service also responded. The BBC reported that up to 40 firefighters dealt with the blaze.

The cause of the explosion is unknown.

“We are keeping an open mind as to the cause of the incident however we are not treating it as terrorism-related,” Chief Inspector of Thames Valley Police Marc Tarbit said in a statement.

Oxfordshire County Council said last night that a number of people were still unaccounted for.

“At about 4.45pm or 4.50pm I was upstairs and there was an enormous bang,” Mike Magee, who lives nearby, told the Oxford Times.

“I thought ‘oh my God’ somebody’s boiler has gone off.

I went downstairs and opened the back door and there was a series of explosions lasting two or three minutes. The first was so loud I was alarmed by it. The rest were not so loud. They were like fireworks or gun shots.

The paper reported that emergency workers had been scouring the rubble in the aftermath of the incident.

Further updates are expected from local emergency services this morning.

Read: Eight killed in knife attack on Chinese crowd >

Read: UKIP leader forced to deny own statement that he lost a close friend at Hillsborough disaster >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:36 PM

I found this oul yoke in the front garden, looks a bit like a pipe bomb, don’t know if it’s dangerous and decided I’d pop it in and see if it’s……. Jaysus, what are youse all running away for?

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Oct 25th 2017, 3:56 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: ha ha ha ha ha brill!

Mute j lad
    Favourite j lad
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:12 PM

Ah here,why walk into a barracks or bloody anywhere if you found a suspicious device???

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:16 PM

@j lad: Correct.The fool/idiot or something else who brought this “object” into the Garda station was up to no good(I suspect).No person in their right mind would do such a thing.I wonder was the reason to create a major distraction in that area?Interesting to find what the object contained.

Mute liam whelan
    Favourite liam whelan
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:30 PM

@j lad: I wonder was a friend of theirs in custody at the time and they were looking to get out?

Mute j lad
    Favourite j lad
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:02 PM

@liam whelan: quite possible but i reckon a lack of intelligence more likely.i’d say if his brains were dynamite he wouldn’t have enough to blow his nose

Mute liam whelan
    Favourite liam whelan
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:15 PM

@j lad: could have been 60 something year old who knows no better in fairness. Can’t see some 18 year old scrote walking in with it, he’d probably hold on to it to throw into someone’s house!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:29 PM

@liam whelan: Nah, someone of that age would call instead of picking it up

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:37 PM

I mean this affectionately, but it’s a bit Irish, isn’t it?

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: I must say I have never understood the meaning of that phrase – probably a hangover from the times of the British in Ireland.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:22 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: t

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:24 PM

The fact that you said ‘affectionately’ makes it sound even more condescending. Just saying…….

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:41 PM

@Sean Higgins: I’m Irish and if we can’t have a little fun, it means that we take ourselves too seriously. Ahh well, I suppose we Irish are a bit precious.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Tony deFreyne : He was just showing the Jihadist lads how the Irish do the suicide bombing craic to get a job. Or is that a bit too near the mark of precious territory?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:41 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke:

Number of jihadist bombs in Ireland – Zero.
    Number of Repub/Loyalist bombs in Ireland – Thousands.

Or is that a bit too near the mark of precious territory?

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:46 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: ROTFL @PAtrick, must have added this to his LinkedIn profile ;)

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:48 PM

@Brinster: I am very we aware of that thank you. I was replying to Tony deFreyne’s sentiments and splattering the ridiculous to emphasise the point of what is precious to see what other people thought. As for the stuff you mention, Yep I saw some.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 11:55 PM

@eastsmer:
    Poor old Fiona still has the colonial mindset.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 11:57 PM

@Brinster:
    How many British Army armered cars and tanks and guns, Brinster?

Mute Oiche Fairy
    Favourite Oiche Fairy
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:28 PM

Happened in Swords a few years back. A guy found a pipe bomb stuck to the bottom of his car so he drive it to Swords Gardai station. Needless to say mayhem ensued!

Mute Jack Crabbe
    Favourite Jack Crabbe
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:14 PM

“It shows the danger the gardai face” what about the army guys left dealing with it f##king fool

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:21 PM

@Jack Crabbe: they probably got the heads up that there was a suspected explosive when they were called in, and would know to send their trained experts with appropriate protective gear. As opposed to a desk sergeant who normally just signs passport picture

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:58 PM

@Karen Wellington: Don’t mock the desk sergeant signing passport photos. A pen could break and splinter into his eye or anything! And there’s no telling when you’ll find a larger than usual blob of mustard inside your hang sandwich. These are dangerous times for the guardians of the peace.

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:14 PM

@Jack Crabbe: “f##king fool” is a bit much. The Gardai obviously were in danger there as would be the army on arrival. It’s not a competition. They work together. As for the desk sergeant jibes, he might be on the desk today but could have been running in to Citywest yesterday. Job varies. Not just 1 thing every day.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:38 PM

@Mick Murphy: My comment really wasn’t a jibe, gardaí have to deal with junkies and violent offenders on a daily basis (and sometimes idiots who find bombs), they get bitten and spat at and so, so much worse. My point was that he or she doesn’t have any training in dealing with explosives or access to the necessary protective clothing and equipment. The Army EOD team had the necessary expertise and they took over, I haven’t heard about any explosions in Finglas today so it was obviously a job well done.

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 7:39 PM

@Karen Wellington: No….I got all that from your original comment. The jibe/joke was the next one. Yeah for sure a job well done. Fair dues.

Mute Marco Pollo
    Favourite Marco Pollo
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:42 PM

Where are those posters from the article on pay and conditions in the Army today?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:38 PM

“Here, Garda. I found this yoke owside me gaff and I reckoned it could be a bleed’in bomb. So I thought the sensible thing to do would be pick the thing up and bring it to yous, like.”

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:39 PM

Anybody recognise him?
    https://youtu.be/C3PBiF5W54E

Mute Jeff Nolan
    Favourite Jeff Nolan
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:17 PM

Only in Ireland. Anywhere else they’d run a mile.

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:46 PM

As you do lmao I’d love to have seen the Garda’s face….

Mute Steve B
    Favourite Steve B
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:22 PM

I’d say that went down a bomb with the Guards

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:21 PM

If those walls could talk……

Mute Ian Heaton
    Favourite Ian Heaton
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:31 PM

Only in Finglas.

Mute Mark Kenny
    Favourite Mark Kenny
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:55 PM

@Ian Heaton: or tallaght, or Ballyfermot etc

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:33 PM

He should be done for attempted murder. What a stupid thing to do.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Darren Bates: I’d say gross stupidity. Reminds me of the guy who walked into the bar and hands out with a dog turd in his hand and says “look what i nearly stepped in”

Mute Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Favourite Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:24 PM

How stupid was that man.
    My daughters crèche faces the Garda station. I got a phone call to say there was a bomb outside and the crèche was blocked off and that parents would not be allowed through