Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Man arrested after camper van fire on Howth pier

Another vehicle beside the camper van also caught fire.

A MAN HAS been arrested after a number of vehicles went on fire on Howth pier last night.

Dublin Fire Brigade was called to the scene at 9pm last night.

Gardaí said a camper van went on fire in the middle pier in Howth. Other vehicles beside it is also caught fire.

Dublin Fire Brigade Dublin Fire Brigade

A man in his 40s was arrested nearby and is currently detained at Raheny garda station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Nov 27th 2018, 1:42 PM

Must be OK because because Naughten said so. That’s some review. They expect us to believe that?

Nov 27th 2018, 3:06 PM

@Cathal Mac Einri: these reviews are a joke. Its like asking bank robbers did they rob the bank.

Mute Peter Kiernan
    Favourite Peter Kiernan
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:50 PM

@Cathal Mac Einri: we get the government we deserve,.They know we will forget about it after an hour or two.

Mute Thomas Molloy
    Favourite Thomas Molloy
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:51 PM

@Cathal Mac Einri: 500,000 may never get broadband and the click chasing Media who see demons everywhere are to blame. The last bidder would need to drop out as they will face years of hounding, insinuations and attack by anti progress media.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:19 PM

@Thomas Molloy: 4g or the coming 5g will do fine, waste of money building obsolete infrastructure when a few more mobile towers will do. Most people only need a few MBs of internet for their everyday needs, this notion that you need gigabit speeds to watch catchup episodes of Home and Away is ridiculous

Mute Jonathan Beatty
    Favourite Jonathan Beatty
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:45 PM

@Cathal Mac Einri: Its contemptuous of the public’s intelligence but they’ll still get away with it.

You have to feel for rural Ireland but are we prepared to allow corruption simply because he was the only bidder? Some might say yes but if we turn a blind eye to this then you’ve opened pandoras box on every state contract.

Mute Travellers Are Over-represented In Irish Jails
    Favourite Travellers Are Over-represented In Irish Jails
    Nov 27th 2018, 7:32 PM

I wonder if Peter Smyth carried out the review for free… or for about €500/hour!!!! to simply regurgitate one side of the story!!

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 1:48 PM

So much for Transparency…. This country has so much wrong with it you would not know were to start. …Leo varadkar says we are earning loads better then ever..so the indo reports. .over at the times we have 300 prams queuing up for nappies ..hmmm

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:14 PM

@Michael Nolan: free nappies and milk powder – if you were on social welfare and have nothing else to spend your day doing, then cueing up and being used by the charidee sector for publicity just before their government submission and saving €30 is a no brainer.

Mute goon4life
    Favourite goon4life
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:51 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: charidee!? Cueing!? How in gods name have you even got a job!?

Mute Juan Fangio
    Favourite Juan Fangio
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:30 PM

@goon4life: He got “their” right, no mean feat.

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:43 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: really shit man that’s some heartless shit weather they need it or not nobody wants to stand in the wind and rain with there kids.grow a pair and step up

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:40 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: Milk and nappies are necessities….A Spice Girls ticket is not, Jesus H, what a comparison to make

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:01 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: I don’t even know what inner city girls have to do with it .YOU my friend have not got a clue and you know.. even if u did know you didn’t have a clue that would be something …and while I’m replying what does homeless have to do with it there’s is plenty of people hanging on with there nails at the mo ..I hope you never have to eat your words because shxx goes full circle always

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:50 PM

@Gulliver Foyle: Did they all state their addresses to you. Gombeen.

Mute Brendan Kernan
    Favourite Brendan Kernan
    Nov 27th 2018, 10:26 PM

@Michael Nolan: I have no need for baby food for nappies, But if there are free great, sell them on the black market.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Nov 27th 2018, 1:41 PM

Of course it did…

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:11 PM

@John Ryan: one bidder? Sorry that’s not acceptable.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:27 PM

@prop joe: The question is though, was there only one bidder when all these meetings and dinner dates were going on, or were there more names in the mix at that time?

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Nov 27th 2018, 7:54 PM

@Pixie McMullen: This is what you get for voting in the lobby fodder TD’s of FG/FF.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:52 PM

The game is rigged. Anyone who thinks this never came up at the “dinners” needs to give their head a wobble. Cartels control this Country.

Mute KeithPhoto
    Favourite KeithPhoto
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:23 PM

@Frankie Mangan: rigged you say? Any evidence of this?

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:35 PM

@KeithPhoto: This country is corrupt to the core. No amount of your defending parasitic, corrupt, idiotic politicians will change the fact that everyone is onto them now, mainly through people being more educated and the access to some unbiased sources of informtaion. The game is up soon for these bags of idiotic filth.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:56 PM

@KeithPhoto: Have you been away Keith? Have a look at the Siteserve debacle. The M50 to name but 2. How have these facts bypassed you. Read some of the tribunal reports. Ask yourself why there is little or no competition in the new unregulated markets. Ask why companies like Tesco were completely shocked when they saw the markup that the cartels were raking in. But I suppose you believe that 10 dinners was not up to anything.

Mute Brendan Kernan
    Favourite Brendan Kernan
    Nov 27th 2018, 10:26 PM

@Frankie Mangan: profit before people

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:10 PM

Ha ha the old boys club rules nothing to see here lads and lassies

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:55 PM

Rember when the election comes around the great George Carlin said,
    Garbage in, Garbage out.

Mute Geoff Murphy
    Favourite Geoff Murphy
    Nov 27th 2018, 1:38 PM

Shows everyone how stupid our leaders think we are that it is assumed we’ll believe this nonsense

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:51 PM

@Geoff Murphy: We are that stupid because FG are miles ahead in all the polls

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:57 PM

@Geoff Murphy: The key to successful politics: Fool most of the people most of the time.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:58 PM

@David Garland: Yeah until the next government created meltdown and it will be back to FF, they will in turn create their own meltdown and its back to FG……if you seen a dog with similar logic you would be shocked, we are a nation of complete and utter morons.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:21 PM

@David Garland: Don’t want to burst your bubble but Everyone lies to pollsters.

Mute Alternative for Ireland
    Favourite Alternative for Ireland
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:36 PM

I posted about half an hour ago:

“We are reaching FF levels of corruption.

Still at least Leo is cool and has funny socks.”

Why was my comment deleted?

Mute Geoff Murphy
    Favourite Geoff Murphy
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:07 PM

@Alternative for Ireland: because this outlet is rigged in FG’s favour

Mute William Bryan
    Favourite William Bryan
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:26 PM

Bertie never had a Bank Account, honest

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Nov 28th 2018, 6:39 AM

@William Bryan: and with 2 branches outside his front door.

Mute Joe M Donald
    Favourite Joe M Donald
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:36 PM

Another post deleted, the auld Journal is very nervous when it comes to DOB.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Nov 27th 2018, 9:04 PM

@Joe M Donald: odd, isn’t it. nothing illegal or libelous, but an office of fear!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:25 PM

It’s hard to know which is worse. That FG take the public for such fools, or that they may be correct. We’ll see come the election.

Roll on the inevitable tribunal and millionaire barristers becoming multi millionaire barristers

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:55 PM

@Patrick Nolan: 2 out of 3? LOL!

FFG got less than half the vote in the last election, and GE votes are weighted towards older folk who traditionally support the civil war parties.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:56 PM

@Patrick Nolan: They will still be voted back in, corruption n’ all, makes no difference to electorate. Place a few strategic coins in the right pockets, a bit of an I am all right jack attitude and Irish democracy rumbles om.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:04 PM

@The Risen:
    Based on recent opinion polls.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:05 PM

@Austin Rock:
    Would certainly agree with the I’m alright jack bit.

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:19 PM

@Patrick Nolan: ‘Based on recent opinion polls.’

Yes because they are SO accurate, aren’t they?

Mute Pádraig Debhál
    Favourite Pádraig Debhál
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:31 PM

@Austin Rock: There is no doubt that they will be voted back in again. It is also most likely that their vote share will increase, possibly substantially as well. The real question is the abject failure of the alternative opposition parties. They would appear to have nothing of interest to offer that the electorate actually want. In reality the voting public at large are not interested in SD, Solidairty-PBP, GP, I4C, left wing independents and have only passing interest in SF.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:00 PM

@Larkin About:
    The usual BS from people that don’t like what the polls say.
    In the Trump election and brexit votes the final polls were well within their own margin of error. An opinion poll result now of course doesn’t mean it couldn’t change if they ran a particularly bad campaign ( FG 2016, The Tories 2017) .

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:24 PM

@Austin Rock: With less than 40 seats? Can’t see it. Leo will be John McGuinness”s biitch after the next election.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Nov 27th 2018, 4:49 PM

How can it be call an independent appointment, when he’s employed by the government? There’s no such thing as an “ independent inquiry “ when it comes to the government!

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:03 PM

Locally we have West Connect, set up by a couple of unemployed lads who learned how to set up a rural broadband service and got local people behind them. Its now a large and excellent service for rural broadband over NW counties.

This is what it needs elsewhere, local lads to learn how to do this stuff, get local support, and then good rural broadband happens.

I just cannot see how a rural broadband scheme could operate from Dublin? Best I think it could be is a front for free dinners, parties, and anything else that could be syphoned off from the expense accounts.

Mute Joe M Donald
    Favourite Joe M Donald
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:37 PM

So a company that cost the state 105 million gets to take part in the roll out of the broad band , Mc Court and DOB or Actavo as Siteserve is now after rebranding should be barred from ANY government contracts forthwith. This country is damned if these type of deals are allowed to carry on. Shame on you FG , you are as transparent as a sheet of lead.

Mute SCal
    Favourite SCal
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:34 PM

There should be a threshold for publication of the pricing model and breakdown. How on earth can it cost up to 500million for broadband? That’s the real scandal.

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:16 PM

@SCal: just incredible isn’t it! Half a BILLION and 5G just around the corner.

Many, many a yacht / carribeen home will be bought on the back this contract.

And we wonder why our heath care is a mess and there are no playgrounds for our children!

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:23 PM

@SCal: it’s looking like around 3 billion unfortunately

Mute Matt Humphries
    Favourite Matt Humphries
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:24 PM

What did we expect from a fg enquiry, not saying for one minute the minister was in cahoots with the only bidder left. Having dinners, undocumented conversations, and the likes. I didn’t expect any other outcome.

Nov 27th 2018, 2:57 PM

No surprise there! It was the only conclusion they could come up with because if they found naughten did something wrong, breens job would have been untenable too, which could bring down the gov. So they can keep their snouts in the trough for a little while longer. It wasn’t an investigation into wrongdoing, it was an investigation to get themselves out of trouble and put it on official record to portray these idiots we have running the country, as upstanding citizens.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Nov 27th 2018, 1:43 PM

The government reviewing themselves….so they don’t look stupid….that went out the window a long time ago

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:22 PM

When a government minister Richard Bruton confirms that a NERA official dealing with a complaint about an employer, doesn’t have to meet and have documents provided by that employer “anywhere”, not in the office or business place, a pub after hours is fine, what could go wrong?

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:07 PM

And if you believe that, you’ll believe anything. Crooked as ‘heWhoCannotBeNamedOBrien’

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:40 PM

Ah there’s brutal now in the photo richest man in the Dail …he slipped into that job just befor news broke that all the new schools were shoddy.com…wonder who signed off on those schools milky bar for the first correct answer ….lanagans ball

Mute Joe M Donald
    Favourite Joe M Donald
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:48 PM

Good, 500 million goes to the sharks again…

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:33 PM

Naughten has a recent history of clearly breaching ethical guidelines. I guess this report is further proof that our form of goverment is satire.

Mute Tom's
    Favourite Tom's
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:04 PM

So that’s grand we should never have doubted any of you Do you think we are complete idiots.You lot live in a different world to everyoneelse.Bring on an election and you lot will find out what we think.

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Favourite Patricia McCarthy
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:07 PM

Yes of course. He welcomes a report that reported what he and his business man buddies wanted it to report. Let’s move on to the next disclaimer.

Nov 27th 2018, 3:55 PM

I think almost every gov in the world issues supposedly “independent” reviews on various things for various reasons to make themselves look better, competent, or credible. These reviews are taken with various levels of credibility. The level of credibility of the irish govs reviews is ridiculuous, they are at the level of widespread ridicule.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:34 PM

Ah yeah it was only Blueshirt dinners

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:44 PM

Only Sorry he was Caught

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:29 PM

@Gulliver Foyle:
    Bullseye
    It’s Eir that we’re allowed to pull the greatest stunt of them all

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:34 PM

@Patrick Nolan:
    When I posted that comment 2minutes ago there was 17 comments, now there’s 10

Mute Michael Eric Devine
    Favourite Michael Eric Devine
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:45 PM

@Michael Eric Devine: just saw legal proceedings ongoing. Apologies my mistake

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:33 PM

@Patrick Nolan: Apparently if you refer in anyway to legally binding, publicly available, tribunal findings (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moriarty_Tribunal) in such a way that has a zero chance of being libellous, the whole comment tree comes down.

Apparently, it’s not the legal department in the journal that have the sway, just the fear of having to defend themselves when they are 100% in the right and protected by the law.

Mute Teresa
    Favourite Teresa
    Nov 27th 2018, 7:05 PM

THE NBP Review….?

1. Can we have names of the people who carried out this review please

2. Can we have also the evidence that they all and one of these named NBP reviewers also attended these dinners between Minister Naughton and ‘ONLY’ bidder.
    Because how else can these named reviewers be able to ascertain that the process was not affected negatively if they themselves were not present at dinners.

3. If neither 1 and 2 above can be provided and answered then this is laughable and insulting to the people of this island reading this rubbish.

We have progressed but the lies and duplicity of powers here remain intact and continue to rely on the population being either totally exasperated and dis-interested, being hopeless stupid or just plain fed-up with them all. It has worked in the past why not now.

People in France are demonstrating against higher Diesel taxes but we suffer under outright money grabbing from insurance costs, energy costs, creche costs etc..whilst having our pensionable age increased to 68. Wish there were more French in this country.

Nov 27th 2018, 6:45 PM

Only a joke of a party like FG could conclude that the project was not compromised, the independent TD was right to step down, and the FG TD did nothing wrong. Anybody with any ounce of sense would say what a nonsensical argument. The only conclusion people can get from this is that FG think they’re “special”!

Mute Doz
    Favourite Doz
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:14 PM

So the brown stain on the cover wasn’t gravy!!

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:42 PM

Good. Now get on with delivering the promised rural broadband that 540000 of us are awaiting since 2012 please.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:58 PM

@sean de paore: stop voting for them and we can all have nice things.

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:34 PM

I am sure Leo was very surprised and shocked
    at the outcome of this NBP “review ”
    along with the gullible people of Ireland

Mute Liam Morgan
    Favourite Liam Morgan
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:35 PM

I believe a man who had to resign over these meetings , that nothing untoward was going on at these meetings

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:52 PM

More lies tell me lie tell me lies tell me sweet little lies.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 27th 2018, 5:49 PM

If it looks like a duck and quacks like a duck etc.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 27th 2018, 8:55 PM

The report also stated it could not guarantee that Naughten did not discuss details of the plan. The fact Naughton lied is conveniently skipped over.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Nov 27th 2018, 6:32 PM

He was sacked or told to take the high jump

Mute Joe M Donald
    Favourite Joe M Donald
    Nov 27th 2018, 3:04 PM

Sean de paore How is that Good ? In any shape or form!!!

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Nov 28th 2018, 6:36 AM

If it wasn’t tainted, what caused the other parties to withdraw?
    That is the question remaining unanswered.
    If it was not commercially profitable, then how can it be so for this last outfit, which has no hands on experience in the technology, nor any track record of relevance?
    There is something, or someone, else to be ” discovered” in this saga, perhaps in the subcontractor undergrowth on which it will depend for completion.

Mute Rhoda Cunningham
    Favourite Rhoda Cunningham
    Nov 27th 2018, 10:35 PM

Wow! Surprise surprise… another crooked politician

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Nov 28th 2018, 7:31 AM

Haha haha did u ever hear such crap they have no shame and that 1 bruton …wouldn’t trust him with yours

Mute Dessie Varma
    Favourite Dessie Varma
    Nov 27th 2018, 2:15 PM

Of course it was tainted..

Mute Brendan Kernan
    Favourite Brendan Kernan
    Nov 27th 2018, 10:29 PM

Can see the idiots and conspiry theorists are on this. Get a life you idiots.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 27th 2018, 10:35 PM

@Brendan Kernan: The conspiracy was at the meetings that Naughten lied about.