You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin Fire Brigade attended the scene. RollingNews.ie

Woman in her 80s dies in house fire in Tallaght

Emergency services attended the fire at a house in Mountain Park yesterday evening.

A WOMAN IN her 80s has died following a house fire in south west Dublin yesterday evening.  

Members of Dublin Fire Brigade as well as emergency services and gardaí attended the fire at a house in Mountain Park, Tallaght at 6:50pm.

The fire was extinguished by firefighters but the woman was pronounced dead at the scene.

Her body has been removed to the Dublin City Mortuary in Whitehall where a post-mortem examination will be conducted.

Gardaí have said that a technical examination of the scene will be carried out. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Keith Ryan
    Favourite Keith Ryan
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:16 AM

My little one is 5 and can’t wait for it.

The singing and dancing is what makes it cool for her!

You have to compliment RTE on this regardless of how crap they are the the rest of the year!

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Dec 2nd 2016, 1:20 PM

@Keith Ryan: I can’t watch it with Tubridy doing it. Even Pat Kenny was better.

Mute John Jobs
    Favourite John Jobs
    Dec 2nd 2016, 3:53 PM

I have to disagree with you there, I think Tubridy is doing a great job as the Toy show host.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:53 PM

@John Jobs: anyone one, would compared to pat lol .

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:54 PM

@Seán Domhnall O’Sullivan: ^ would

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:15 AM

I will indeed. Watching it with my neice. Can’t understand why rte don’t change their schedule so the toy show can air earlier. It’s on too late for children. Time needs to change.

Mute Keith Ryan
    Favourite Keith Ryan
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:17 AM

I agree on the time..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:20 AM

Only late late show of the year I would turn on and watch. But come on rte change the time. It’s a toy show for kids and your showing it at time for adults.

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute (((Jason)))
    Favourite (((Jason)))
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:22 AM

It’s repeated Sunday afternoon.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:27 AM

@(((Jason))): agree it’s repeated but children are excited to watch it on the night. Which is understandable.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:40 AM

Surely you have a recording device connected to the television. Use that.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:56 AM

: : Jesus Toddy and Jason. Didn’t know it would upset so many people for questioning the time rte show the toy show for children. Don’t think either of you get the concept that the children like to watch it on the night. They enjoy it . Well aware of recording and repeats. But what’s the big deal in saying it’s on too late for children.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:13 AM

Part of the fun is staying up late to watch it

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:28 AM

LITTLEONE stop acting like a brat. People offered you alternatives and you throw your toys out of your pram. Grow up.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:33 AM

Seeaming

Little one was just looking for a reason to slag off RTÉ and it backfired.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:59 AM

Can’t speak for anybody else, but for my kids, staying up late is half the fun. I remember feeling the same when I was a kid. The fact they all be asleep by 10:30 doesn’t matter. They think they will be staying up til midnight and that gets them excited.

Mute Karl Kenny
    Favourite Karl Kenny
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:01 AM

Sky plus it and watch the following evening

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:17 AM

Wow. The buddies are out in force . Way to go boys . Stick together. Keep being so insulting because I mentioned something like the toy show and time for kids. Wow it’s really worked ye up. Getting all hot and bothered over toy show and time. It’s probably because an earlier time wouldn’t suit ye . You wouldn’t be home from your kids club. Talking about throwing your dummies out. Get a life boys

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:22 AM

@LITTLEONE:
    HOW I hated the Billy Barry kids there were the most pretentious little s**ts. Will still probably tune in for some length of time.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:27 AM

@ktsiwot: ya the kids love it . Music and dancing. Looking at the toys . Great show for the kids to watch. Start of Christmas season. . Just don’t mention time . Few above very sensitive to even mention time and toy show.

Dec 2nd 2016, 10:39 AM

Staying awake for the whole show was the holy grail as a kid! I never managed it!

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:55 AM

@Deborah Behan: agree but kids are so excited to watch it on the night. They love it . Honestly don’t know why people got all hot and bothered because I said it’s on bit late and put it on bit earlier so the children can watch it without falling asleep. Wow little did I know that would have upset a few above. Imagine saying a little bit earlier for the children to be able to watch was such an awful thing to day

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:56 AM

Say.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:19 AM

Brat

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:33 AM

Haha screaming Toddy are you 2? Grow up get a life . Good boy.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:52 AM

“Littleone, you talk sh*te”

Is anyone surprised?

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 12:01 PM

Wonderful retort LITTLEONE. You must have gotten help from a GROWNUP with that one

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 12:02 PM

David. Another little one throwing his dummy out. Are ye all in the same room . Certainly sounds like it . Talk about acting like children. Give yourselves a pat on the back for your informative contribution to the article. Oh that’s right you didn’t. You just decided to comment and act all big and mighty behind your keyboards. Good for you all. Keep up the good fight . #actinglikechildren..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 12:07 PM

Sounds like some of you could do with your afternoon nap . Your getting all cranky. Don’t want you falling asleep during the toyshow.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 1:25 PM

Ah it’s hilarious watching some fool going in and out and giving me red thumbs. Someone obviously has a problem. Keep pressing that red thumb, your doing a stellar job. Keep up the work. It’s comical knowing that your actually that vested in it. Haha.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 2nd 2016, 1:51 PM

You may be right about the red thumb thing. But that wouldn’t explain the lack of green thumbs supporting you.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 2:03 PM

@ManOnTheStreet: if you look at my first comments you will see the green thumbs are higher than the red . It’s only the ones that annoyed the boys about the times and then their childish comments like calling someone a brat . My responses got red thumbed. They are pathetic to be honest I am not surprised. I am laughing at them.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 2nd 2016, 2:35 PM

I agree, I always fell asleep for it as a kid. Yes, it was recorded and repeated but it still sucked not being able to watch it all live.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 2nd 2016, 3:03 PM

Yeah, tbf, they jumped all over you for having a very reasonable opinion. I don’t think it should be on earlier, but don’t see anything wrong with some people preferring an earlier showing. But still don’t think there is a red thumb conspiracy either. Lol.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 2nd 2016, 3:30 PM

Ignore green/red thumbs.

Jammin showed a long time ago you can manipulate thumbs. Something to do with cookies – don’t remember the details.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 2nd 2016, 4:39 PM

@ManOnTheStreet: yet somehow my comment below yours got more red thumbs than you did green. Sure no conspiracy there. It’s blatant obvious. Honestly don’t know why they are so upset and acting they way they are just for saying. Put toyshow on bit earlier so kids can watch it without falling asleep before it’s over. Unbelievable how ridiculous some people are.

Mute Declan McDermott
    Favourite Declan McDermott
    Dec 2nd 2016, 6:54 PM

It’s the “late late” toy show not the “early evening because children nowadays aren’t allowed to stay up past 11″ toy show. It’s all a bit of craic staying up late anyways

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 4th 2016, 4:59 PM

What are you like? It’s called the Late Late show, did you never notice that?

Mute Dessie Curley
    Favourite Dessie Curley
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:14 AM

You’d get more information in the Argos catalogue

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:26 AM

Back in my day it was the Family Album catalogue…at least it had the lingerie pages for the lads.

Mute SteveÓ
    Favourite SteveÓ
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:33 AM

You missed out on the littlewoods catalogue so

Mute Alan b..
    Favourite Alan b..
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:39 AM

I could never see those pages in my house someone used to always stick them together for some reason

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara

It’s just that Tubridy is a bit of a pryck. He looks like a solicitor in a Christmas jumper and talks that bell end in school who always had the answer in the book.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:17 AM

@Killian O’Hara:

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:23 AM

@Killian O’Hara:he is no entertainer has no business being on the box. Why have it at 930, my kids will be in bed.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:00 AM

Don’t put them to bed so early. Break the rules every now and then.

Mute Dubabroad
    Favourite Dubabroad
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:11 AM

I’d rather superglue my eyes open and dip my face into a bucket of lemon juice than watch that shytehawk pretending to give the slightest of fluchs about what little Lorcan from Foxrock thinks of his ‘lil lawyer play set with genuine notary stamp

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Dec 2nd 2016, 12:11 PM

@Dubabroad: Lets all see how we can cheer Ebenezer Scrooge up people….

Mute Eamonn Magrath
    Favourite Eamonn Magrath
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:18 AM

Don’t watch RTE …. I prefer unbiased stations

Dec 2nd 2016, 8:39 AM

So click “no interest/opinion” and keep it moving.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:41 AM

Good man Eamonn. Thanks for letting us all know. What are the unbiased stations?

Mute The Duke of Fluke
    Favourite The Duke of Fluke
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:22 AM

@Screaming Toddy: I suspect “unbiased” may be code for “people who tell me what I have already predetermined is the truth”.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:02 AM

Yeah, couldn’t have tubs brainwashing our kids with his biased views. Jaysus, chill out will ya. It’s a show about toys and a bit of a song and dance.

Mute Karl Bauer
    Favourite Karl Bauer
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:10 AM

Didnt they have this same survey a week or two ago?

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:27 AM

No wonder we’re such a failed corrupt country, when adults get more excited about a children’s TV programme than they do about things like NAMA or Garda corruption.

Mute BoneyM
    Favourite BoneyM
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:33 AM

Does nama and garda corruption excite you?

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:42 AM

Heaven forbid that people can’t enjoy themselves at home. You’re some misery Eamon.

Mute Sj Hanley
    Favourite Sj Hanley
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:14 AM

Defo want you at my next birthday party Eamon

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:08 AM

Always that one clown that thinks he is so enlightened and better than all the other sheep. The kinda person that people hate seeing coming. Minus craic.

Mute Pete Trevaskis
    Favourite Pete Trevaskis
    Dec 2nd 2016, 1:12 PM

@Eamon Mac Gowan: Hmmm I attended some of the water protests and pay close attention to the politics of the country. Does this mean I shouldn’t watch, or dare i say it, enjoy the Toy Show from an ideological standpoint?

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Dec 2nd 2016, 6:08 PM

@ManOnTheStreet: *crack

Mute Tom Thumb
    Favourite Tom Thumb

Can’t stand it but hate that skinny w$nker more.

Mute Linny
    Favourite Linny
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:53 AM

Watch Tubridy patronise children in a poor attempt to entertain? Hmm no thanks.

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:54 AM

This is just glorified product placement dressed up with a few dancing and singing kids !

Mute Seaghán Corcoran
    Favourite Seaghán Corcoran
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:21 AM

@Mrs M: Duff Beer for me. Duff Beer for you. I’ll have a Duff, you have one too.

Mute SteveW
    Favourite SteveW
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:38 AM

Will record it for the kids. Not wasting the Friday night on Turdbridy..

Mute Seaghán Corcoran
    Favourite Seaghán Corcoran
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:58 AM

Just watch how Tubrity treats the kids. He’s just terrible.

Mute Twittwootou
    Favourite Twittwootou
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:50 AM

Not just watching it, will be attending it!!!!!!!!! Extremely excited to get the call on Wednesday that we got tickets, 3rd time lucky

Mute OCallaghan TP
    Favourite OCallaghan TP
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:57 AM

I think it terrible it puts undue pressure on parents to buy the toys there kids see..

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:01 AM

@OCallaghan TP: then don’t show the kids the toy show

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:55 AM

NO.
    Why would I want to spend my evening watching annoting middle class Dublin 4 kids perpetuating class division by spending money on expensive presents while kids from lower socio economic groups look on in envy?
    DISGUSTING abuse of the license fee money.

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:17 AM

we put the tree up while watching it.

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:24 AM

FFS !

Mute Jimmy Rustle
    Favourite Jimmy Rustle
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:58 AM

We sit at home with a sour grin whilst everyone in the audience gets rewarded things we wouldn’t mind. Waiting patiently for the next awkward.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:41 AM

I’m recording it. I’m too invested in I’m a celebrity to miss it. I’ll watch it tomorrow.

Mute Jimmy Rustle
    Favourite Jimmy Rustle
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:06 AM

@Peter Cavey: I hope that’s a joke… I know people for miles and not one of them has time for that garbage.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:55 AM

It’s my guilty pleasure

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:07 AM

Loads of BAH HUMBUG red thumbs on this one. Merry Christmas to you all……

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Dec 2nd 2016, 12:11 PM

Saw a little pre-Toy show programme last night where judges and Tubs went to Cork, Galway and Dundalk. It was just like watching X-Factor, but I’m not talking about the way they were judging or choosing the kids. I’m talking about the way it was all about Tubs. The camera seemed to be more on and about him than the children. Puke television.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:57 AM

I’ll be working :)

Mute Linny
    Favourite Linny
    Dec 2nd 2016, 9:11 AM

Lucky you.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Dec 2nd 2016, 1:27 PM

Can’t believe Tubridy got to ride a Rose of Tralee. .

Dec 2nd 2016, 10:36 AM

No it’s my Christmas party *sobs into pillow*.

Mute Pete Trevaskis
    Favourite Pete Trevaskis
    Dec 2nd 2016, 1:08 PM

@Deborah Behan: You are not the only one in that boat Debs

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Dec 2nd 2016, 8:43 AM

I might take a look after the rugby

Mute Brianán Ní Giolla Bhríde
    Favourite Brianán Ní Giolla Bhríde
    Dec 2nd 2016, 7:09 PM

It’s years since I watched it, used to love it as it was the one night of the year when we were allowed to stay up late. Tonight I’m watching with my Mum while we share a bottle of Chardonnay.

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:52 AM

I’ll watch it with my kids, but I can already see the cringe it will be.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 2nd 2016, 2:27 PM

@niall: A big advert for children to ask Santa for toys Santa can’t afford…

Mute Anthony O'Brien
    Favourite Anthony O'Brien
    Dec 2nd 2016, 4:08 PM

…..You know I know it’s a nice tradition, but this really is just a taxpayer funded showreel of product placement.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 2nd 2016, 2:26 PM

No but I will watch the Late Late Sex Toy show instead ;)

Mute john fairclough
    Favourite john fairclough
    Dec 2nd 2016, 11:25 AM

The Late Late Toy Show.
    Ryan Tubs kids.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 2nd 2016, 5:07 PM

This years musts, a nodding dog with Hillary Clintons head and a Donald Trump cusion that grabs your kitty if you sit on it ?

Mute Kieran Graham
    Favourite Kieran Graham
    Dec 2nd 2016, 10:06 AM

Will dee forbes?

Mute cyril.1
    Favourite cyril.1
    Dec 2nd 2016, 5:35 PM

To many Culchie brats on it on to late for jasus sake

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Dec 2nd 2016, 5:10 PM

Depends if mum lets me stay up.