You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File image of the Marrowbone Lane complex in Dublin 8 where the firearms where found. Google Streetview

Three loaded rifles and one revolver found in Dublin flats search

The firearms were found during a search of flats at the Marrowbone Lane complex in Dublin 8 on Saturday evening.

GARDAÍ SEIZED a number of firearms found during searches in Dublin over the weekend.

As part of ongoing investigations into serious crime and drugs activity, gardaí from Kevin Street Garda Station assisted by national units, searched a number of flats at the Marrowbone Lane complex in Dublin 8 on Saturday evening.

During the course of a search of a common area, gardaí recovered three rifles with six loaded magazines; one revolver and some 200-300 rounds of assorted ammunition.

No persons were arrested during the operation and investigations are ongoing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:31 PM

Well done the Gardai.

Mute Amanda M. Childress
    Favourite Amanda M. Childress
    Jul 30th 2013, 1:31 AM

my best friend’s ex-wife makes $85 every hour on the computer. She has been laid off for 8 months but last month her check was $17328 just working on the computer for a few hours. Read more on this site… w­w­w.C­a­n9­9.c­o­m

Mute Steven Geoghegan
    Favourite Steven Geoghegan
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:48 PM

Well done kevin street keep up the good work lads

Jul 29th 2013, 10:40 PM

Found in a common area? Madness..

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jul 30th 2013, 1:09 AM

Could you imagine some kids finding them
    Great job Garda

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 29th 2013, 11:14 PM

Shoot the bastards with their own guns .

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:54 PM

Can’t one keep ones sporting guns anymore
    The fox cull is next week god dam

Mute Garreth Fitzpatrick-Pothin
    Favourite Garreth Fitzpatrick-Pothin
    Jul 30th 2013, 1:19 AM

Would love a special army/gardai unit to be formed just to crush known crime gangs in their activities!!!

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jul 30th 2013, 1:28 AM

Organised crime unit?

Mute Anthony Agusta
    Favourite Anthony Agusta
    Jul 30th 2013, 6:09 AM

”A special Garda/Army force” – wtf? Weirdo.

Mute Michael Henry
    Favourite Michael Henry
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:25 PM

No one was arrested means that someone is being protected-

Good to see guns being removed from the streets anyway-

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:48 PM

Found in a common area, I’d say they’re protecting the couple of hundred people that had nothing to do with it…

Mute Michael Henry
    Favourite Michael Henry
    Jul 30th 2013, 12:07 AM

More people would be protected in the long run if those behind the guns had of been arrested when they went to pick them up-people kill people-guns just wait till they are used-

Mute Fergus Gaffney
    Favourite Fergus Gaffney
    Jul 30th 2013, 1:21 AM

Criminals tend to use hiding places which can’t be linked to them.

Mute #whoarethegoons?
    Favourite #whoarethegoons?
    Jul 30th 2013, 7:47 AM

They won’t pay overtime to see who picks them up.

Mute Lump Hammer
    Favourite Lump Hammer
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:30 PM

Kevin St Garda station is a kip!

Mute Elrat
    Favourite Elrat
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:33 PM

You been there often ?

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien
    Jul 29th 2013, 10:34 PM

With a name like LUMP HAMMER I’d say you have seen the inside of it a few times if you know it’s a kip

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Jul 30th 2013, 8:03 AM

What would you call a common area in Foxrock?

Mute Brendan Byrne
    Favourite Brendan Byrne
    Jul 30th 2013, 12:57 AM

“No arrests were made” I hate seeing this accompany pieces about seizures!

Mute Jamie Edwards
    Favourite Jamie Edwards
    Jul 30th 2013, 2:47 AM

Great job.

On the other hand these news reports are convincing me the “criminals will get hold of them” argument for our incredibly strict gun laws is invalid.

Mute Cormac Ryan
    Favourite Cormac Ryan
    Jul 30th 2013, 9:15 AM

What eejit stores rifles loaded

Mute Joseph O'Neill
    Favourite Joseph O'Neill
    Jul 30th 2013, 1:59 AM

A common area in st Dublin

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Jul 30th 2013, 5:00 AM

oh noes, the revolution will have to be delayed until next week

Mute Always Be Closing
    Favourite Always Be Closing
    Jul 30th 2013, 12:48 AM

Damn.

Mute jacqueline khan
    Favourite jacqueline khan
    Jul 30th 2013, 2:07 AM

only in ireland!!