You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Archive/PA Images

First ‘formal’ participation will see 600 civil and public servants march in today's Pride parade

Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan has said he is “particularly pleased” with the participation of Gardaí in uniform.

OVER 600 CIVIL and public service employees will march in Dublin’s Pride parade in the first formal participation of public servants in the annual march. 

Today’s parade begins at 1pm at O’Connell Street and will finish at Merrion Square where an outdoor event will be held. 60,000 people are expected to take part. 

Public sector employees marching include public servants from government departments, An Garda Síochána, the Irish Prison Service, the Courts Service and the National Museum of Ireland. 

Heads of state agencies and LGBT+ staff networks from across the civil and public service will also be participating today. 

Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan has said he is “particularly pleased” with the participation of Gardaí in uniform in this year’s parade. 

“This is a significant step that demonstrates An Garda Síochána’s commitment to building the inclusive Ireland that we all want to see, where everyone – regardless of their background – feels welcome in our society.”

There has been some controversy surrounding gardaí in uniform taking part in the parade, however. 

In response, Queer Action Ireland has organised an alternative Pride event to protest against garda participation which is taking place on Rosie Hackett Bridge at 12pm – one hour before the official parade kicks off. 

PSNI officers will also take part in today’s parade, at the invitation of Garda commissioner Drew Harris.

“Pride is an important series of events for those who identify as being LGBTQ and we see this as an opportunity to continue to support, and build upon our relationship with, the LGBTQ community and our colleagues in An Garda Síochána,” Deputy Chief Constable of the PSNI, Stephen Martin, said in a statement. 

There will be a number of road closures to facilitate today’s parade. These include:

• Parnell Sq East and North, Frederick St North and Cavendish Row will close from 9am to 4pm.
  • Merrion Sq East and South, Fitzwilliam St Lower, Mount St Upper and Mount St Crescent will close from 6am to 10pm.

Over 7,000 people from 150 groups will lead today’s march. 

A number of Irish politicians have confirmed their participation in the parade, which first took place in 1983.

Minister of State David Stanton TD has said that barriers still remain both nationally and internationally for the LGBTI+ community.

He has said that actions to tackle some of these barriers will be contained in the government’s soon-to-be-published National LGBTI+ Inclusion Strategy.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:25 AM

Can they not find a field to have their parade in? Transport brought to standstill no doubt, today.

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:37 AM

@M: come on now, no half measures. Let’s just ship em off to some island and be done with it

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:01 PM

@G Manning: no ,let’s pray for them,they are God’s children as you and I are,there go I but for the grace of God

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 2:10 PM

@Jimmy Carroll: nope I’m my folks kid, have the paperwork/physical similarities and everything. So God’s grace saved you from being gay? Wow that’s an impressive if bigoted sky fairy you’ve got.

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Jun 29th 2019, 6:25 PM

@Jimmy Carroll: which God? There are thousands of them!

Mute Tom Nelligan
    Favourite Tom Nelligan
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:34 AM

And most of these comments show why Pride is necessary…

Mute Lindsey O Connor
    Favourite Lindsey O Connor
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:25 AM

@Liam Whelan: Flaunting their sexuality?? I’m straight and have attended pride parade with friends the past few years and all I’ve seen is a group of both straight and gay people enjoying a carnival type atmosphere. The comments I’ve seen the past few weeks from alot of people who seem to be uncomfortable with this celebration shows that’s it’s really needed.

Mute Debbie Kenny
    Favourite Debbie Kenny
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:37 AM

@Liam Whelan: it would be great to spend some time with you to educate you on the meaning of pride and the reasons it is still very relevant for young people today. I see you only mention the ‘homies’ pride is also about lesbians’s transsexuals, bisexuals and many others. However looking at your posts I think it would be time wasted as your just an ignorant bigot.

Mute Ryan
    Favourite Ryan
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:40 AM

@Debbie Kenny: re-education eh? Live and let live yea but this pride business is OTT

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:45 AM

@Debbie Kenny: far from it my dear, down with the homies is a slang term that has absolutely nothing to do with sexuality. I have a lot of friends that are lesbians, gay men and transgender, I’d bet that not one of them would call me a bigot and they know me quite well unlike you. I’d also bet that a lot of the younger people taking part in pride just see it as a day out on the piss!

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:42 AM

@Liam Whelan: and as a gay fella you’d know I assume? The bigotry and marginalisation you’ve been subjected to has disappeared? The majority of leading comments on here and issue people have with you “flaunting” your sexuality and havin some fun? Shur that’s not indicative of anything.

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:53 AM

@G Manning: never assume as it makes an ass of u and me. I never said I was a gay man. Being of a homosexual nature in this country is more socially accepted by the majority of the population. Pride parade started off as a rebellion as being a gay person was shunned and ridiculed in the past, it’s becoming less and less of an issue these days, I’m not saying that homosexual people aren’t attacked in some form or another completely but it is happening less and less as almost everyone has a gay member of their family, a colleague or friend and it’s understood more. Don’t forget that in the past people were afraid of what they didn’t understand, times have changed immensely since then. Therefore, the sexual rebellion parade is not needed anymore! In my opinion.

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:01 AM

@Liam Whelan: there was a hint of sarcasm but I see twas missed along with the current point/s of pride. Bigotry against non-straight people is still a thing as is people just wanting to have a laugh. Both excellent reasons for Pride to keep going and growing

Mute thephantomshit
    Favourite thephantomshit
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:13 AM

So I amnt gay so I recognise my opinion doesn’t really matter in this regard. But it seems that this year with pretty much every bank, insurance company and accountancy firm etc draping themselves in the rainbow flag the pride parade is becoming about as cool as mitt Romney in a pair of jeans.
    Maybe the inclusivity is worth it and I’m just a little sensitive to corporations desperately trying to “connect”

Mute Padraig Salah
    Favourite Padraig Salah
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:17 AM

Pretty much everyone wants all people to have same rights but why is it that the pride minority seem to get all the attention marches tv time etc. what makes that minority more special than other minorities in society. When Catholics in the north marched for civil rights then got equal rights they didn’t keep marching.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:29 AM

@Padraig Salah: People still get abused and beaten up for displaying their homosexuality in public. Children and older people still use the term gay as an insult to their peers. Homosexuality is banned in many countries and can even attract the death penalty. People still object to having same sex couples depicted in children’s books. As far as I know, none of this applies to heterosexuals. Legislating for marriage does not mean equality. As for your comment on catholics in the north, it is completely unfounded

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:35 AM

I don’t know…id say after what ya witness today with the boys in blue and their rainbow motor… The odds on the hutch/kinahan war ending anytime soon has lengthened considerably.

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:43 AM

@M: what?

Mute Juan Fangio
    Favourite Juan Fangio
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:38 AM

Think I’ll wait for the straight parade meself.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:51 AM

@Juan Fangio: Bingo!

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:49 AM

@Juan Fangio: patient?

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:14 AM

Rain and thunder: God isn’t happy

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:48 AM

@Jack: hehe…does that mean he/she approved of any Nazi parades that were sunny?

Mute Patrick Leonard
    Favourite Patrick Leonard
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:52 AM

Wishing all those participating in todays Gay Pride, a great day

Mute MA Hend
    Favourite MA Hend
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:07 AM

I’m completely for equality and live & let live. However feel this completely OTT parade marginalises the LGBT community rather than fully integrating them

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:00 AM

I’m surprised at some of the comments. I think this year is that little bit different.
    The guards and civil service are marching too.
    To be honest, I don’t know why this never happened before.
    It’s gotten better for the gay community but I am sure more to go.
    The commercialization part just shows that there is money to be made from supporting the rainbow.
    Maybe in 20 years you won’t need a pride day but for now I support it for all my gay friends and family.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:58 AM

@Patrick: because historically Pride was seen as partially political, lobby for equal rights and all that, and public servants, particularly gardai, are not allowed to engage in political activities in an official capacity, that’s the politicians job. With recent votes Pride is now more of a celebration than political, hence public servants can now officially participate

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Favourite Tim McCormack29
    Jun 29th 2019, 1:01 PM

@Patrick: for civil servants it makes sense to join the parade as their boss Leo is gay.

Mute Patrick Leonard
    Favourite Patrick Leonard
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:52 AM

Wishing all those participating in todays Gay Pride, a great day.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:52 AM

Those complaing about the parade are seeing the Big picture. After the parade is over, what do you think all those taking part and spectating are going to do? They are going shopping, dining, drinking and when all is done many will have travelled to Dublin will return to their hotels and B&B’s. And that folks is the bigger picture. The amount of money that will be put into Dublins economy today will far exceed what any normal Saturday would get. Why do you think St Patrick’s day became a 3 day event. For the very same reason. A happy crowd is a spending crowd.

Mute Roy O'Rourke
    Favourite Roy O'Rourke
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:22 AM

Is it Gay Pride already?? Jaysus you’d never know

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:53 AM

Always a fun day in town, will pop in with the kids, should be nice weather as well.

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:06 PM

@DJ François: mind your kids

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 29th 2019, 7:39 AM

Have a great day anyway.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:15 AM

@M: how many comments now? You sure you’re not “curious”?

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:02 AM

@Matt Connolly:
    LOL!

Mute Micheal
    Favourite Micheal
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:23 AM

You forgot to mention, which is nothing new for the journal, the Defence Forces are also marching and I think you’ll find they were the first out of all government organisations to fully participate last year and you couldn’t even mention that, sloppy as always so called journalism.

Mute Paul Mujcas
    Favourite Paul Mujcas
    Jun 29th 2019, 2:23 PM

@Micheal: Disgraceful that our defence forces are being ordered to take part in this carry on while normal people just avoid the city for the day. This is what happens when we have a gay Taoiseach ! Cringe ….

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:58 AM

@Rodney Williams: when and where are ya having it? Be there with the popcorn

Mute Rodney Williams
    Favourite Rodney Williams
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:28 AM

@G Manning:
    Maybe down along the quays?
    Then if it rains or snows we could occupy the Point or the Convention centre.
    Open to all from our great city!
    Cost?
    Did you ask how much?
    No worries Leo the Leader will foot the bill!

Mute G Manning
    Favourite G Manning
    Jun 29th 2019, 2:13 PM

@Rodney Williams: Nah if tis ok I just wanna eat my popcorn and giggle at yourself and ur 7/8 angry, frustrated little mates.

Mute RailroadGin
    Favourite RailroadGin
    Jun 29th 2019, 6:55 PM

Nothing against Pride whatsoever and I hope they had a great day but it would be nice to see Gardai on the streets doing their actual job a bit more often. Our cities are becoming kips.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:00 AM

Why are QAI protesting against the gardai?

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Favourite Tim McCormack29
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:58 PM

For civil servants their boss is gay so it makes sense to join the parade and suck up to their boss.

Mute Pat Mullin
    Favourite Pat Mullin
    Jun 30th 2019, 2:19 PM

It’s all about pride the worst of sins and which has us on this earth slaving away. It is the demonic parading under the guise of “compassion ” and “inclusivity. The moral bill is on the way for it.

Mute Dartin Molan
    Favourite Dartin Molan
    Jun 29th 2019, 8:13 AM

All People in Ireland are very quiet, as this is over pushed by Groups, Party groups in Dail Eireann, which they keep only by newspapers, radio, Facebook. All people, straight always had respect for Gay,bisexual,lesbians as humans, not disruptive or against any them. All people know what God created this world, all people, straight people are getting, feeling annoyed with this . We always accept, respect them. People want these marching, days of this marching to totally stop.. all straight people who want respect, do not go out and walk in groups to make more noise to rise above any other people’s ideas, or ways. Believe in respect for all people. We are all human.God, Jesus,Mother Mary.. Abd Prayers to one soul, one spirit can help every one’s inside mind.