You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
HOW MUCH POWER have yiz got when Angela Merkel tells everyone what to fucking do? It’s like a puppet government. Really there’s no need for us to have a government. All we need is the civil service … the country would save a lot of money.
Those are parting words of Anne Tully to Anne-Marie McNally, the Social Democrat candidate running in Dublin Mid-West.
There are 15 candidates running for the Dáil in the constituency, with some big names including outgoing Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald, former Fianna Fáil minister John Curran and Labour TD Joanna Tuffy. Four seats are up for grabs.
Tully is a resident of Hillcrest Court in Lucan. She has a lot of issues she wants to talk about, noting: “I hate giving out at the door, but it’s the only time we see you.”
One thing that really gets to her is the property tax.
“I remember buying this house and buying out the ground that my house was on so I would never have to pay rates,” she says.
We won’t even go to the water because, hello, it’s raining constantly in Ireland.
Water charges and the property tax come up at most houses McNally visits. She earlier assured an elderly couple that the SocDems want to abolish Irish Water but told them: “Property tax is a slightly more complicated process because it is enshrined in legislation.”
Anne Tully and Anne-Marie McNally
Tully also tells her that introducing free GP care for under sixes, rather than bringing down the cost for all children, doesn’t make sense.
This thing of 60 and 70 quid to go and see a doctor. What is the point in giving people an extra euro and then next of all the doctor is gone up by another fiver?
McNally tells her a major SocDem policy is to bring down the cost of living. She reiterates this stance when another resident, Kevin Doolan, describes the €3 pension increase in the last budget as “a disgrace”.
“Health insurance, car insurance, house insurance: The three insurances that Joe Soap has to pay, they’re all gone up.”
Anne-Marie McNally and Kevin Doolan
Doolan and others are quick to raise a certain issue that is, almost literally, on their doorsteps. Many people have asked her about cutting down trees in estates. She’s told they’re blocking light and lifting footpaths, and many people fear they’ll eventually fall over.
“If the tree falls down, will the council pay if houses are damaged?,” another man asks her.
The Murphy connection
McNally, who has previously campaigned for local election candidates, says the same issues come up time and again whether you’re canvassing for the local or general election.
She has been working with Kildare North TD Catherine Murphy for the last few years, and was considering running in the 2014 local elections but says she was too busy researching Siteserv at the time.
Murphy’s digging led to a commission of inquiry being set up into certain IBRC transactions. McNally tells us a lot of people are willing to vote for her because of her connection to the TD.
Most of McNally’s canvassers met her through Twitter. One woman drives up from Offaly twice a week to help her campaign.
McNally and some of her canvassing team
So, does it put people off that the SocDems haven’t been around for very long? “The newness thing is a plus if anything,” McNally tells us, adding:
You get a lot of people saying ‘Oh yeah, we need a fresh face’, or ‘We need a change’.
She notes that some people she meets do have a “you’re all the same” attitude, but most are open to talking to her.
Of the disillusioned people she’s encountered who don’t intend to vote at all, she says they tend to middle-aged with kids and mortgage difficulties.
“They just feel abandoned,” she notes.
‘Did your man get a facelift?’
Being in a new party is not something Karen Warren can rely on. She’s one of three Fine Gael candidates (and 21 overall) running for five seats in Dublin South West. She’s from Tallaght and canvassing in the Square shopping centre when we meet her.
Elected to South Dublin County Council in 2004, she lost her seat in 2009 and failed to regain it in 2014. She’s been an active member of Fine Gael for almost 20 years.
Her mother and others canvassers are helping to hand out pens while she speaks to voters.
Many people in the constituency lean to the left politically and Warren admits Fine Gael candidates have been reluctant to run in the area. “It’ll be hard for Fine Gael to win one seat here, let alone three … You have to try.”
Mary Kearney, Eileen Blehein and Vivienne Cummins talk to Karen Warren
It’s the morning after the RTÉ seven-way leaders’ debate and this is the first thing three women raise with her.
Vivienne Cummins is quick to tell her she only watched a few minutes before giving up as there was too much shouting.
“I watched the start of it but switched over to Watermelon on TV3.”
Eileen Blehein tries to place how she knows Warren. “I’ve heard your name around. You weren’t on the telly, were you?”
“She was on a poster on the Old Bawn Road,” Cummins chimes in.
“Oh that’s it.”
Hospital waiting list
After a lively exchange about the Taoiseach’s youthful looks – “Did your man get a facelift, what do ya call him … Kenny? His skin is very tight,” Blehein moves on to more serious matters. She has been waiting a year-and-a-half for a back operation at the Mater Hospital.
She says she’s in “constant pain” and will be for a lot longer unless she goes private – something she can’t afford.
The next constituent Warren meets, a man who wants to remain anonymous, also raises hospital waiting lists – this time in Tallaght itself.
“There should be no waiting lists. You should be able to walk in, get whatever you’re getting done and walk out again in a couple of days.”
Warren says that waiting times in emergency departments are “a huge problem” in every hospital. She notes that people tell her the service they receive in Tallaght hospital is “excellent”.
‘Fine Gael and Labour did more U-turns than a sandsnake’
The man is not happy with the performance of the Fine Gael Labour coalition.
“Little Enda was going to give us the world in a while of whizz, he gave us fuck all.”
Warren defends the Taoiseach, stating:
You know, five years ago, little Enda could not promise anything … having a broken country wasn’t easy.
“He did promise and so did the Labour party, and they did more U-turns than a sandsnake,” he replies.
Medical card
The man has a muscle-weakening condition, myasthenia gravis, and tells her: “Whoever gets me my medical card will get my vote.”
I wouldn’t vote for any of the rest of them because they’re only a shower of … they’re only there for what they can take out of it.
“How come we never see any of them? How come they never come around here? … Any of them that get into the government, you never see them from one election to the other. Never.”
He’s unhappy with the salaries and pensions paid to politicians, noting: “If the country was broke they should have said ‘Right, the top wages for anyone in the government is €80,000 – €250,000′. Sure look what Bertie is on on his pension and Cowen and all those guys. It couldn’t last.”
Eileen McDermott and Karen Warren
Warren’s mum, Eileen McDermott, is helping her today.
Hello sir, would you like a pen? It’s for Karen Warren , she’s running for Fine Gael.
Tell me where Tesco is, will ya?
The same thing has happened a few times today and McDermott dutifully obliges.
Warren points out to voters that she’s from the area, with McDermott adding that generations of the family have lived there for 100 years.
Eileen McDermott, Karen Warren and Liz Dillon
The former councillor tells us she was afraid of canvassing after the local elections as, at that time, eight out of 10 people she met were angry. Now she says eight out of 10 people are happy with the government, suggesting they’re now feeling the recovery more.
She too finds that the same issues come up whether you’re campaigning for a local or general election.
A woman stops to talk to her about robberies in the areas, and the need for a bus timetable on her road.
Warren says the young people she meets are “fairly optimistic about the future now”.
One thing they’re not so happy about is paying the Universal Social Charge.
“They’ve only started working 15 or 20 hours a week. It’s their first flavour of tax. They’ve heard their parents moaning about it and now they’ve to pay it.”
‘Housing and water and healthcare are the three biggies’
Our next stop is Dublin Bay North (DBN). It has been labelled as one of the toughest constituencies in the country. There are 20 people – including Fine Gael minister Richard Bruton, Labour minister Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, and former Fianna Fáil, now independent, senator Averil Power – running for five seats.
Anti-Austerity Alliance councillor Michael O’Brien and his team are canvassing at the Northside Shopping Centre in Coolock. When we arrive he’s speaking to a woman whose daughter and grandchildren are in emergency accommodation.
A member of the Socialist Party and a trade union activist, O’Brien said running for the Dáil was the next logical step after being elected to the Dublin City Council in 2014.
He’s been a prominent figure in the anti-water charges movement.
O’Brien admits DBN is “a monster of a constituency” but notes: “There is recognition and appreciation for the role that we have played around the water charges … There are positive indications of support to suggest we can challenge for a seat.”
We’ll definitely get a decent vote. It’s impossible to say in the context of 20 candidates – five incumbent TDs, a Senator and a rake of councillors including me – what the hell is going to happen. We see ourselves as contenders and we’re putting the kitchen sink into it.
So, what are the most common issues voters raise with him?
“Housing and water and healthcare are the three biggies. There’s a local dimension with Beaumont Hospital.”
Michael O'Brien and AAA TD Paul Murphy talk to voters
O’Brien says that the politicisation of people in relation to water charges needs to be tapped into to make gains on other issues such as housing and childcare.
He tells us he has met a lot of anti-government sentiment while canvassing.
I dare say if you venture into Clontarf or bits of Howth, some of the leafier bits of Raheny and Killester, the government statistically has their support.
The key areas for us in this constituency are low and middle income. Not just your stereotypical council estates but areas that would be seen as middle income.
People have been quite radicalised and are frankly offended and irked by the government banging a drum about a recovery that’s just not being felt.
According to O’Brien, the government’s election slogan ‘Keep the recovery going’ is “jarring with people who just aren’t feeling it”.
‘The straw that broke the camel’s back’
Constituent Catherine Gaffney wants to talk.
“They’ll be locking me up because I am not paying no water bill,” she says.
Her husband Alan chimes in: “I’ll tell you about the water charges, it’s probably the one thing that politicised people because I was never politically-motivated at all … It was the straw that broke the camel’s back.”
Gaffney tells me her youngest son is considering emigrating after college.
“I’m praying he doesn’t, and if he does I’ll blame the government.”
O’Brien has a tougher time with another woman who stops to chat. She’s a community worker and helped set up the local drugs task force.
“AAA is nothing but water meters, you’re not telling me anything new,” she tells him.
O’Brien denies the alliance is a one-issue group, replying: “It’s not all about water, but water’s important”.
He tells her of its plans to utilise Nama’s cash reserve of €3 billion, as well as money from the strategic investment fund, and implementation of a range of tax measures (a wealth tax, financial transaction tax and making international corporations pay more) to raise money to build more social housing units.
The conversation switches to crime, and O’Brien says he’s in favour of “community control of policing” – namely a democratically-elected local police board that sets out priorities for gardaí in the area.
Michael O'Brien and TD Paul Murphy with canvassers
O’Brien thinks Friday’s vote will signal a shift in Irish politics.
The question of a left government is not going to resolved next week. Next week, to my mind, will be a transitional election in the sense that the left will make advances, Sinn Féin will make advances. The political establishment will be further weakened.
“We’re likely to end up with a pro-establishment government of some form, but it’ll be a weaker, less stable government with a smaller majority – therefore more prone to people power pressure.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Well now that’s bloody refreshing. A female candidate running for the first time that hasn’t moaned about unfounded sexism. Give that lady a vote. (Yes, things are that bad)
Just watched Brooklyn, (excellent movie) I realised that our young generation have moved so far from 50′s Ireland it’s alien to them. But FG, FF, SF and Labour are still there. We need a new style of politics. Detached from the past and living in the present. It’s time to remove gombeen politics. Unfortunately there is nobody. If FF and FG go into coalition we may as well pack up and leave this sh!t hole that they both created.
“It’s like a puppet government. Really there’s no need for us to have a government. All we need is the civil service … the country would save a lot of money.” …5 years of Enda Kenny would do that to ya.
We get a lot of the “all the same” attitude ….and of course we are not all the same at all…..until we get elected and then regardless of what we promised in the year of election we end up being erm sorta “all the same”…said no candidate ever..
Im a first time candidate, the most surprising thing to me is how decent people are, they welcome me and openly conversate, make you feel like we are a good race of people. Time to reward that with government for the people
I’ve been canvassing too Frank.
Great thing is that almost everyone is polite and respectful.
If people behaved in real life like they do in the comments section, we would have a hellishly divided, aggressive country.
Thankfully most people, even if they disagree with your policies (as I do with yours) are respectful.
In real life most people are much more reasonable than they are here. At least in my experience. I don’t see the vitriol which passes for ordinary comment here in any aspect of my daily life.
@Brinster.. Pull the other one. The comments section is real life just like face to face is real life. People are decent face to face out of courtesy. This, what you hear on here is what they really think of you.
Brinster,pick n choose who u pick on .can you answer waiting lists in our hospitals..housing crisis . homeless.denis obriens smutty paws in iw..just stop been a fg troll.
I brought it up after you went on about apologies , so I asked you did Michael noonan apologise for sexual abuse cover up or hep c. You ignored and refused the question . then eventually come out with what’s above. All people have to do us go back and look at the article which I will link and they will see you and few more of ye all ignored it. In fact it became like the bullies in action. http://www.thejournal.ie/fine-gael-increase-sinn-fein-change-2615230-Feb2016/
Hi Brinster, thank you, I love that you disagree, zi love that you care, Id love to debate with you, disagree, im sure we would end our total disagreement as friends
Hi Louis, I apologise if my English is not what it should be, I have visited 600 homes today and am exhausted, hope you got what zi feebly was trying to convey Frank
No bother Frank. It takes balls. Good luck to you. I think ‘conversate’ is a fine word. It is the kind of word you hear from Guards and politicians though.
Oh Frank you must be nieve, I’m nice to them all, but underneath, if you are a member of certain parties you haven’t a chance. Smile and get rid of them but the two that I want to talk to are too cowardly to come near my door. I just get junk mail. And I wonder who pays for that via an post?
“Now she says eight out of 10 people are happy with the government, suggesting they’re now feeling the recovery more.”? A perfect FG candidate… Full of BS.
So luke let’s get this right. A banker that lied pretending he was something he wasn’t is a fg person and your trying to deflect this to be something to do with shinners. It is what it is. A banker that lied and funny enough people like you making excuse for him. Some things don’t change.
I live in Dublin Mid-West and I’ll be giving McNally my first preference and I’ll be spreading my preferences across the left and independent candidates. No preferences for FG, FF or Labour.
Ha ha Brinster you weren’t arguing with me, you were just whinging and I was laughing. The hypocrisy was an added bonus, thanks for that. I had fun :-)
Jeez yer man Fergus was an investment banker and a brother of a FG TD no wonder he was upset with SF for doing well, he’s worried he might have not get pampered as much when the elitist FG are not pulling strokes for their buddies
So what if he’s an investment banker? Like any other citizen he’s perfectly entitled to challenge any politician canvassing. If Mary Lou canvassed at his home, should he remain silent or something?
Is everything a conspiracy? Fact is Mary Lou was the one that invited the cameras and every leading party politician has been challenged in such a way for years, and often on camera too.
Only time anyone seems to have a shit attack about it for days is when it happens to Mary Lou or a fellow shinner.
If I was that investment banker I would have said a lot worse to Mary Lou on SF policy, how she personally has conducted herself with her pathetic Dail theatrics, and the political company she keeps. Get over it.
So if he was just a citizen asking questions which he is entitled do, why did he misrepresent himself? He claimed he was a “small business owner” which he’s not, he also claimed he was “apolitical” but “voting for FG” until we find out he’s related to a FGer.
Come out of that Luke, even a blind man could see through this little ruse.
Perhaps. Or maybe he didn’t want to ID himself to the shinner fraternity. Who would? And a member of the public being dishonest, if he was, with a high flyer in the shinner leadership instead of the other way around is perfectly apt IMO.
At least he’s not claiming he’s never been a member of the Investment Bankers Republican Army.
I think most people are aware of it now. RTE however obviously have an agenda. I predicted a drop in support for sf in these polls. Happens every election. Cant trust the pollsters either.
I wouldn’t mind but Mary Lou didn’t even come out bad from the interview. She held her own just fine. So why the kerfuffle? Anything to do with SF dropping of late?
To me the guy looked like a knob. So perhaps he was indeed an investment banker. I could believe that easily. I could also believe it was somewhat scripted by him, but I think it was his own personal arrogance rather than some kind of a plant or conspiracy that drew him in to tackling her.
I have a feeling a lot of people will vote SF but won’t say it out loud because they couldn’t be bothered listening to the same old platitudes over and over and over.
Great lines like: “At least he’s not claiming he’s never been a member of the Investment Bankers Republican Army.” Yuk yuk yuk.
Ok lukeworm. .he was an investment banker.you have to be stupid to not to think he was planted there as a strategy. .can you answer the Dob..question…you also seem to have a short memory about bankers.
Tbh Luke. I only vote cause it’s mu duty to do so. I’m never under any illusions but that I’m voting for the best of a bad bunch. I never said I’d vote SF. I might but it has nothing to do with anything other than wealth inequality and depletion of public services. They all lie. You just have to choose the truths that are most important to you.
Luke I couldn’t care less whether Mary Lou did a good interview or not. I am far more concerned about having an unbiased media, which we quite obviously don’t. The point of his story is how yesterday when Mr. Crawford was perceived to be a “concerned citizen” the media had a field day, then when he was identified practically nothing.
Fergus Crawford isn’t even the story anymore, it is clear from the behaviour of the media that this man didn’t suit their purpose anymore so the story is dropped. If that’s not media bias then I don’t really know what is.
And there we have.it, shinnerbots resort to name calling. Hey 3A’s, I have a longer memory than you when it comes to bankers and crashes as I had something to lose and did. Unlike you, perpetually unemployed and hanging around on street corners drinking with your mates by the sounds of it.
@Luke. name calling is playful compared to casting aspersions…. We all lost. I know people like you think you’re the centre of the world and think that the perpetually unemployed are having a ball. That’s not the case however.
If you think name calling is playful then you won’t mind me calling you an obnoxious cvunt. And you are. The only thing you “know” how to do is make come-all-ye statements on here blocking up my screen.
Obnoxious? Blocking up your screen? I apologise Luke. I forgot you were the centre of the world. It must be lovely in there in your own subjective hell.
You were casting “aspersions” you hate so much when you made that initial swiping comment, Louis.That’s what I responded to. Try not to keeping tripping over your own constant hypocrisy. Having parsed your posts for a week or on here I can tell your weak points are logic and self awareness. Devastating combo to be without, Louis. “Subjective” indeed.
And your weak points appear to be anger, lots of it, hatred and an unbelievable penchant for projection. I don’t need to ‘parse’ your comments to get to the bottom of that. Your comments on this thread alone show an incredible nastiness of character.
Ireland already has some medical deserts - and it’s been getting worse
Maria Delaney
9 hrs ago
Middle East
At least 330 people reported dead in Gaza after Israel launches surprise attack overnight
2 hrs ago
United States
Tánaiste says Conor McGregor 'doesn't speak for Ireland' as MMA fighter arrives at White House
Updated
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say