Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Decision on credit line will make it ‘more difficult’ to access future supports

A report published by the Irish Fiscal Advisory Council today has warned that the changes in Budget 2014 have removed our “margin of safety”.

THE IRISH FISCAL Advisory Council has been critical of the government’s decision to exit our bailout without a precautionary line of credit, saying that it will make it more difficult for us to access this support in the future.

In its Fiscal Assessment Report, published today, the council reiterated its previous position that a credit line should be applied for.

“Provided it had come with reasonable terms and conditions, such a facility would have provided valuable additional protection against any renewed funding pressures as Ireland exits the EU/IMF assistance programme,” it said.

The council’s chairman, Professor John McHale, said that while the option to apply is “always there”, the easiest time to get a credit line is at a time when a country is in a good position – like when it is exiting a bailout.

It would be more difficult to put one in place once the markets turn against you.

McHale said he has seen “nothing the government has said that would rule out applying for a precautionary line of credit in the future.”

He also said that it will become harder to access the the ECB’s Outright Monetary Transaction programme, under which the bank would purchase the bonds of a member state that has asked for financial assistance.

However he pointed to other potentially available credit lines from the ESM and the IMF and the council’s chief economist Diarmuid Smyth commented that the government has a “cash buffer” of €73 billion in place.

Changes to Budget 2014  adjustment

Though the council’s report points to progress being made in repairing public finances, the changes to the planned budgetary adjustments in Budget 2014 have removed the “margin of safety” we otherwise would have had.

McHale said that the probability of breaching the 3 per cent Stability and Growth Pact deficit ceiling is now an estimated one-in-two and that risks to forecasts are “tilted to the downside”.

Growth this year is being depressed by a number of factors, according to the report. These include a background of ongoing balance sheet repair, budgetary consolidation and weak demand in Ireland’s main trading partners. The pharmaceuticals “patent cliff” is also reducing the growth of net exports.

Overall, the council said the government’s planned fiscal stance is assessed to be “conductive to prudent economic and budgetary management”.

Read: 5 reasons why the government decided to exit the bailout and go it alone>

Read: ‘This is the right decision for Ireland’: Taoiseach confirms bailout exit without credit line

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Shayne O'Donoghue
    Favourite Shayne O'Donoghue
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:23 PM

There is some amount of degenerative retrobates around the streets..
    Its getting sadder.

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:24 PM

@Shayne O’Donoghue: place landmines in the field. That will learn them.

Mute oneforall
    Favourite oneforall
    Mar 26th 2020, 2:20 AM

@ben: it would teach them to keep the ball up.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 26th 2020, 4:23 AM

@Shayne O’Donoghue: what’s more sadder is that there is people /organizations out that defends them and makes excuses for them. by saying its society that causes people to behave in such a way! they are called do gooders.

Mute Hundredth Idiot
    Favourite Hundredth Idiot
    Mar 26th 2020, 4:31 AM

@ben: might make mowing a bit tricky

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:34 PM

This ‘lockdown’ is bringing into sharp focus the lack of respect and regard some people have for their fellow citizens and public property. it also isnt solely a Dublin problem, its country wide

Mute Pat Coyne
    Favourite Pat Coyne
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:27 AM

@alphasully: Irish people don’t vote for authoritarian politicians; So this sort of behaviour will never cease.

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:45 AM

@Pat Coyne:

“Irish people don’t vote for authoritarian politicians”

Should we??

Mute Pat Coyne
    Favourite Pat Coyne
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:29 AM

@brendan fitzsimons: I’m just stating the facts, there is little point in complaining about lawlessness, when those advocating a more stringent law enforcement policy get demonised by the media and don’t get voted for by the electorate.

Mute david lydon
    Favourite david lydon
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:43 AM

@Pat Coyne: Ireland has very low crime rate. Some idiots driving on pitches does not alter that.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 26th 2020, 8:23 AM

@Pat Coyne: bring back the old days when parents could actually chastise their kids.. I don’t mean bate the be janey out of them but a clip around the ear and a smack on the backside!!! That and of course common sense to ‘guide’ their kids not try to be their friend!

Mute Conor McCabe
    Favourite Conor McCabe
    Mar 26th 2020, 8:56 AM

@Lydia McLoughlin: and while we’re at it can we bring back some kind of authority for the man of the house? I don’t mean bate the be janey out of the wife but a slap with an open hand. That would guide them not to over cook the dinner, be her husband not her friend.

Doesn’t sound so good does it?

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Mar 26th 2020, 9:23 AM

@Conor McCabe: Or maybe we could make examples of the parents of law breaking children. We could make them do the time to fit the crime, or pay the fine…. I see where you’re coming from, but I also see where Lydia is coming from too. But if we just debate what’s needed instead of acting on it. Then the good guys out there will get pissed off being left behind.

Mute Fergus
    Favourite Fergus
    Mar 26th 2020, 11:45 AM

@Paul Linehan:
    Imagine if the kid didnt have a good relationship with the parents.

Or undiagnosed behavioural or mental issues.

Imagine if the parents were afraid in their own home.

Or there wasnt a parent to begin with.

Debate is needed to determine a proper resolution. Half baked ideas create further injustice.

A pitch isn’t the worst of issues at the moment while public gatherings are disallowed

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:10 PM

@Pat Coyne: WTF are you on about

Mute Jarlath Coady
    Favourite Jarlath Coady
    Mar 26th 2020, 2:57 PM

@Pat Coyne: what a ridiculous statement. Authoritarians aren’t lawful. If they were, they would respect laws and constitutions that limit their power. Authoritarians are corrupt. Corruption doesn’t respect law. Authoritarians do not respect civil liberties. The most basic and fundamental laws. The middle east is full of authoritarian leaders. Is that the model you’re going for? Just a ridiculously uneducated statement.

Mute Pat Coyne
    Favourite Pat Coyne
    Mar 26th 2020, 5:23 PM

@Jarlath Coady: A observation is not an endorsement.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:33 PM

If we keep up with the current policy of soft policing these low life’s, Ireland will be a complete cesspool in 20yrs time.

Mute James Browne
    Favourite James Browne
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:43 PM

@Seán Dillon: It already is!!!

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:11 AM

@James Browne: still a few decent people and places left, unfortunately those degenerates are breeding with other degenerates exponentially and we’re paying their dole and childers allowance.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:24 AM

@James Browne: drama queen!

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:28 PM

@Seán Dillon: its already a sesspool

Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:49 PM

Is regrettable that the judiciary let these people off with a slap on the wrist. Understandable that the Garda couldn’t be bothered. All the more so when people know who they are.

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:02 AM

@Dnom: good point. Why would a guard be bothered when they know a solicitor is just going to stand up, plead their innocents and milk the system dry by claiming legal aid.

Mar 26th 2020, 12:13 AM

@aidan mccormack: I know where you’re coming from but with that mindset there’s no incentive to do anything about anti social behaviour in this country. I’ve seen a lot of vandalism reported in my area over the past while and it’s sad to see it become normalised.

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:29 PM

Do other countries have these $cumbags like we do? Spitting at gards, coughing in ministers faces, coughing in anyone’s face, vandalising things, treating humans and animals in a despicable way, just $cum. I’d have grabbed them by the scruff of the neck and thrown them in a cell.

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:33 PM

@Anne: I’d hazard a guess and say yes

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:37 PM

@Anne:
    Hard labour!
    I’ve just come back from Perth and we visited Kings Park in the city. Huge park, overlooking the city, open 24/7 to the public, people come at night just to see the lights. Not a speck of dirt or litter anywhere!
    I remarked to family members about the cleanliness, saying that it wouldn’t happen in Ireland!

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:47 AM

@Mary Walshe:

“I’ve just come back from Perth and we visited Kings Park in the city. Huge park, overlooking the city, open 24/7 to the public, people come at night just to see the lights.”

Now we know where the next Covid hot-spot will be!

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Mar 26th 2020, 5:17 PM

@brendan fitzsimons: Pre-COVID-19.

Mute Pete mc pete
    Favourite Pete mc pete
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:25 PM

Ffn was scrotes,as if the emergency services weren’t stretched end

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:20 AM

I’m quite sure their parents are proud of their spawn and boast about how great their kids are.

Mute Mike Heelan
    Favourite Mike Heelan
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:59 AM

@Justice Mickey: the parents probably dont care either way
    Payment for damages should be taken from either their wages or social

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:39 PM

Hose pipe over the legs every day for a week should sort that out

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:09 AM

Time to bring in boot camps see them squall for their mammies then

Mute Fergal Pigat
    Favourite Fergal Pigat
    Mar 26th 2020, 5:47 AM

Knackers – Enough Said

Mute Brendan Geoghegan
    Favourite Brendan Geoghegan
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:43 PM

That’s them in for the night! Say’s nobodys Ma ever

Mute Paul Carroll
    Favourite Paul Carroll
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:40 PM

If only they crashed and burned

Mute Paul Madigan
    Favourite Paul Madigan
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:09 AM

Don’t mention “caravan” “culture” “inbred” or anything thats 1% controversial or comment GONE

Mute Celtic soul assassin
    Favourite Celtic soul assassin
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:53 AM

Lock them back up in St. Pat’s…….Oh no that might upset the do gooders who said St. Pat’s was too harsh

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:26 PM

Must be the first time in a while the journal hasn’t labeled the whole place district k

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:46 AM

I was listening to RTÉ yesterday evening and in passing talk about emergency legislation still on the books from 1948 they said that flogging was still on the books…I would have no problem volunteering to wield the sally stick.

Mute Trevor
    Favourite Trevor
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:19 AM

Shur they emptied the prisons what do u expect

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:09 AM

Mulhuddart is West County Dublin.. Duh!! Just because its under Fingal doesn’t make it North. We have enough shite credited to us without taking the Mulhuddart boyos on as well!!

Mute JohnnyMc
    Favourite JohnnyMc
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:08 AM

Regular occurrence

Mute Derek Corcoran
    Favourite Derek Corcoran
    Mar 25th 2020, 11:44 PM

Dirt!!

Mute Pete mc pete
    Favourite Pete mc pete

Fcking scrotes,as if the emergency services weren’t stretched end

Mute Michael Bannon
    Favourite Michael Bannon
    Mar 26th 2020, 10:01 AM

THERE IS NO REAL PUNISHMENT FOR CRIME IN IRELAND

Mute Bill P Denby
    Favourite Bill P Denby
    Mar 26th 2020, 1:25 AM

Kn@ckers

Mar 26th 2020, 7:57 AM

Problem is we don’t take motoring crimes seriously in this country. The Gardai rarely prosecute the “minor” stuff, and the fines are tiny. Even if you kill somebody you’ll probably be let off with a driving ban which you can ignore, since if you’re caught it’s again, a tiny fine and a driving ban.

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:00 AM

Imagine if a sniper was set up nearby and imagine what would follow. This kind of behaviour (sniping) is of course against the law and can’t be condoned.

Mute jeanette
    Favourite jeanette
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:51 AM

These teenagers need the birch. Let’s see them cry like like the babies they really are.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 26th 2020, 7:23 AM

Little ballbags!

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:05 AM

All sports events cancelled untill further notice hope it is repaired bt then

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Mar 26th 2020, 9:36 AM

A community only reaps what it sows. If parents have no respect for public property due to illegal dumping etc well then their off-springs are going to follow through to form.
    Bad parenting and spongers.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Mar 26th 2020, 9:36 AM

I am not a violent man, and I despised the IRA, but I actually would love to see these degenerates kneecapped by the IRA.

Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Mar 26th 2020, 12:00 PM

When are we going to start cracking heads with these people? Driving through Dublin yesterday it’s startling how many scrumbags are roaming the streets with impunity.

Mute Pete mc pete
    Favourite Pete mc pete

Fkn scrotes,as if the emergency services weren’t stretched end

Mute DAVE
    Favourite DAVE
    Mar 26th 2020, 11:42 AM

There’s no place in society for these people.

Mute neill
    Favourite neill
    Mar 26th 2020, 3:00 PM

hopefully this virus will cull the herd of these oxygen thief’s

Mute Noname !
    Favourite Noname !
    Mar 26th 2020, 6:36 PM

more scxnbags.. who rears these ?

Mute Florin Strango
    Favourite Florin Strango
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:24 AM

Those cowboys in there….