You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Fiscal watchdog slams 'everything now' approach in Budget 2024

“Budget 2024 was marked by exceptionally bad budgeting, most notably in health.”

IRELAND’S FISCAL WATCHDOG has slammed what it described as an “everything now” approach in Budget 2024, accusing the government of poorly budgeting its expenditure.

The Irish Fiscal Advisory Council has released its latest report, in which it analyses the government’s spending plans for next year.

The Council is not impressed with the Budget that was announced in October — particularly in the area of health.

Budget 2024 introduced a range of one-off payments and changes to tax rates, as well as setting out spending allocations for government departments. 

The Council is accusing the government of taking an “everything now” approach of “tax cuts, a ramp-up in capital spending and current spending increases” — which, it says “repeats Ireland’s past mistakes”.

“It entails using strong tax receipts in good times to expand the budget quickly at the risk of adding to price pressures, getting bad value for money, and potentially having to reverse measures in a downturn.”

The Council says the budget has breached the National Spending Rule — a principle that was agreed in 2021 with an aim of keeping increases in “core spending” from the Exchequer at 5% or lower.

In this Budget, the figure stands at 5.8% for 2024. Overall, since the rule was announced in 2021, the figure is 7.5% what it would have been if the rule had been adhered to consistently. 

And the Council is concerned by indications from the government that it will continue to breach the rule in years to come, saying that future governments should commit to adhering to the rule to avoid exacerbating inflation pressures and running the risk of needing to make “painful” cuts to spending or tax increases.

It is, however, happy to see the government introduce a ‘Future Ireland’ fund, which is designed to deal with future financial challenges, like the ageing population and climate change.

Sticking to the rule and utilising the Future Ireland Fund would help to alleviate concerns about “volatility” in corporation tax income.

The report says that costs linked to climate – such as expenses associated with decarbonisation measures, penalties for missed targets, and damage caused by extreme weather events — are substantial, but can be “managed and planned for”.

“Addressing these costs will require a lot of big decisions. Planning for the transition carefully will be essential to ensure a smooth transition,” it says, warning that there are “also large costs to inaction”.

In a statement, the Council’s Acting Chairperson Michael McMahon said that “Ireland’s economy remains in a position of strength and the public finances are on a good path”.

“The Future Ireland Fund, in particular, will lessen the burden of tax increases and spending increases on future generations as pensions and healthcare costs grow,” he said.

Yet Budget 2024 was marked by exceptionally bad budgeting, most notably in health.

“As well as that, the National Spending Rule was substantially undermined, through a mix of gimmickry and plans to repeatedly breach it,” McMahon said.

“The Rule needs to be adhered to if Ireland hopes to sustainably meet challenges of rising costs related to pensions, healthcare and long-term care as well as its climate transition.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Dan Danny
    Favourite Dan Danny
    Dec 7th 2023, 7:06 AM

Spending billions on ‘new arrivals’ and closing countless hotels, rentals, holiday homes, cottages and strangling the already overpriced tourist industry. But hey Europe is giving us a few million! Does’nt matter if we suffer in the long run and set up ghettos.. They are right. No thought for tomorrow or Ireland

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Dec 7th 2023, 7:26 AM

@Dan Danny: Senator Sharon Keogan and a few Independents in the Dáil are the only ones with any cop on about the refugees.

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:40 AM

I want The Journal’s ‘Noteworthy’ to investigate the 20 femicides in Ireland, from Ashling Murphy in 2022 to date, and why 7 out of 20 (35%) of the perpetrators/accused are non-Irish.

According to the CSO foreigners made up 12% of the population in 2022.

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Dec 7th 2023, 10:29 AM

@Staker Wallace: funny you boys never mention the guy in Cavan who killed his own family, the women in coolock who killed her kids or that the vast majority of murdered women are from the partner. so if you really care about murders and assault you’d be advocating that every male in the country is vetted before getting married or having kids

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Dec 7th 2023, 10:43 AM

@Martin Mongan: It’s sad that you have to resort to whataboutery to defend the indefensible.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 7:07 AM

Has anyone else noticed the change in terminology over the past week or so on this site.
    Words like “altercation” were used on this site to describe racial abuse and assault.
    In the case of the assault on James street, the word assault was replaced with the word “incident”, these are just two examples, whereby the Gardai are using terminology that doesn’t reflect the actuality.
    These terms are being used by Gardai when answering reporters on the ground.
    Who instructed the Gardai to start using misleading terminologies?

I have my own opinion, I would be interested to hear others.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:40 AM

@David: “Words like “altercation” were used on this site to describe racial abuse and assault.In the case of the assault on James street,”

I’ve looked carefully for the article you claim was published on this website, that reported an assault on James street around 6 pm on Tuesday. The article doesn’t exist. It wasn’t published on The Journal. I found two websites that mention the assault, noting on x (Twitter).

from Dublin Live “A spokeman for An Garda Siochana told us: “Gardai were alerted to an incident on James’ Street in Dublin at around 6pm on Tuesday evening, December 5, 2023. A man aged in his 30s was later taken to St James’ Hospital to receive medical treatment.”

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:44 AM

: It also hasn’t escaped my attention that there has been a major assault in the city every single day since the “riots” but the minister has completely ignored them in favour of said riots. Why is the minister ignoring (in public) these assaults while continuing to call out the riots?
    I am in no way condoning the riots but she does seem to have blinkers on with regard to these very serious assaults!

I am not affiliated to any political party, I am merely an observer.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:46 AM

@David Jordan: Yes, it was Dublin live, now that I have been reminded, but the comment stands.

I wouldn’t use twitter as a news source if I were you.

Thanks for the correction

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:48 AM

@David Jordan: did you read the story on this site this morning. there is a clear manipulation of the reality of what actually happened in both cases, the one mentioned and the one on Dublin live.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:53 AM

@Deathrow For palestine Lovers: I knew you would appear, you hateful little gremlin.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 9:06 AM

@David Jordan: I don’t want to appear as though I am harassing you but, is there a reason you completely ignored the actual point of my comment in favour of defending “the Journal” specifically, are you affiliated with “The Journal”?, genuine question.

Mute Lulu
    Favourite Lulu
    Dec 7th 2023, 9:18 AM

@David: the Media were as bad years ago ……. Stabbing in Limerick …… Assault (stabbing) in the Capital!

Mute silvery moon
    Favourite silvery moon
    Dec 7th 2023, 12:16 PM

@David Jordan: The word Incident was clearly used in a headline on the Journal today.
    McEntee to tell Committee Dublin riots were exploitation of appalling incident to ‘simply wreak havoc

Mute Mark Gannon
    Favourite Mark Gannon
    Dec 7th 2023, 6:48 AM

I’ve never seen as much money being spent in this country as I have in the last 2 years. Can it keep going?? I would be concerned…

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Dec 7th 2023, 6:52 AM

@Mark Gannon: that’s the blueshirts magic money tree, buy the next election and then screw the taxpayer once there back in. Carry on folks!!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:22 AM

@Mark Gannon: The Bank bailout?… The Billions taken from the Irish economy to repay for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilated by the same political parties that are again in power. The Billions still to be repaid…Our grandchildren will still be paying it off. Remember FFG/ Greens stating …There is no magic money tree…Borrowing would be imprudent….Seems the magic tree did exist and they borrowed what the tree left them short.

Mute Patrick Presley
    Favourite Patrick Presley
    Dec 7th 2023, 7:31 AM

Buy voters now, pay later policy.

Mute Christopher Fealy
    Favourite Christopher Fealy
    Dec 7th 2023, 7:06 AM

Elections Budget .now just like propping up RTE as the government need them on there side to pump out Favorable stories about them and then Dirty stories about any potential Opposition . Like what’s happening for years and especially now with the 3 c u next Tuesday in charge . NOW IF U REMEMBER THE STORM LAST MONTH. lot’s of tree’s came down. now look at the pictures of the tree’s ,ROTTEN TO THE CORE. now surely u get my storey .This GOVERNMENT And There buddy RTE Need to be taken out of power. Pay redundancy to the decent people in RTE and let it go .AND THE OTHER C U NEXT TUESDAY C**** ALL HAVE HAVE MASSIVE PENSION..MAKE 2024 THE YEAR THAT THE People have Copped On to This Corrupt shower of W*****s

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:39 AM

Somehow this will be blamed on SF

Mute paulgurney
    Favourite paulgurney
    Dec 7th 2023, 10:17 AM

Congratulations to everyone that allowed FF back into the finance portfolio….why did ye think anything would have changed in a short 10 years since they last wrecked the economy.Cute whoors never die they simply change their tack.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 7th 2023, 9:49 AM

Cut welfare.
    Make council tenants share their free spare rooms with the homeless.
    Working people don’t riot.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 7th 2023, 2:20 PM

@Paul: great plan, watch the crime rate go up through the roof!

Mute Dusty Bawls
    Favourite Dusty Bawls
    Dec 7th 2023, 6:25 AM

Ah feck off

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:21 AM

@Dusty Bawls: what? the Doh!!!!!

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Dec 7th 2023, 11:28 AM

@The next small thing. This grouping may not have been established until recently but it is just a grouping of the usual Conservative types who have been consistently wrong over the years in their analyses and forecasts

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Dec 7th 2023, 12:10 PM

Just checked my electricity account – €150 in credit on 1st December. I did not look for this bonus and we actually do not need it as we have solar panels.

Mute Felix Price
    Favourite Felix Price
    Dec 7th 2023, 8:33 AM

FG are awesome, things have never been better

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Dec 7th 2023, 5:16 PM

@Felix Price: All your years watching American TV shows and films has certainly paid off..Awesome will certainly have the Blueshirts scratching their heads.

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Dec 7th 2023, 9:32 AM

Please stop publishing the opinions of these conservatives. Where were they before the fiscal collapse? They are flim flam merchants.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Dec 7th 2023, 10:28 AM

@Pato: it wasn’t established until 2011 as a result of the financial crash. It’s sound advice though but the people in this country don’t like hearing it, look at the budget they’re giving out about, the opposition wanted more spending, same as before the ceash

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Dec 7th 2023, 10:28 AM

@The next small thing: crash* when all the political parties wanted more spending and more tax cuts

Mute Lynda Murphy
    Favourite Lynda Murphy
    May 24th 2024, 1:08 PM