You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of French Horizon-class air defence destroyer FS Forbin. Alamy Stock Photo

French military exercises due to take place off south-west coast brought forward to tonight

Minister Coveney has said his department is in contact with French authorities.

LAST UPDATE | 20 Jun 2022

A MAJOR FRENCH military exercise due to take place off the south-west coast later this month has been brought forward to 2am tomorrow morning.

The Department of Transport has issued an updated marine notice to vessels operating in Ireland’s Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) this afternoon.

The exercise is now scheduled to take place from 21 June to 24 June and 27 June from 2am to 4pm each day.

However, the notice says the exercise may be postponed, taking place at the same time on another date between 27 June to 7 July, excluding weekends.

Warnings had been issued on Friday by the Department of Transport after they were informed by the Irish Aviation Authority of the exercises.

The warning said that the French authorities advised it would be a large-scale missile and rocket firing operation.

The French Embassy in Ireland said in a statement that it is “in ongoing contact with the Irish authorities in relation to a military exercise planned later this week taking place in an area of the Atlantic Ocean off the French coast.”

“As indicated to the Irish authorities via the standard procedures, the area affected may potentially include a small piece of the southern extremity of Ireland’s EEZ as a security pattern, approximatively 200km southwest of Ireland territorial waters,” it said.

“No French Navy vessels will be in the Irish EEZ during this exercise.

“As a close EU partner, France will maintain close contact with the Irish authorities throughout the period of the military exercise.”

Minister for Foreign Affairs, Simon Coveney, issued a similar statement earlier, in which he said the Irish Aviation Authority (IAA) was informed of the exercises via standard procedures and the Department of Transport has issued a Marine Notice to this effect.

“As a close EU partner, the Department of Foreign Affairs will, as normal, maintain contact with the French authorities throughout the period of the military exercise,” he said.

Irish fishermen who were planning on disrupting the exercise later this month have issued a fresh call on the Irish and French government to intervene to stop the exercises.

In a statement, the fishermen of the Irish South and West Fish Producers Organisation said they were notified by the Department of Transport at 10.53am that the exercises had been brought forward.

“In late January 2022, our West Cork fishermen were successful in having planned Russian Naval exercises relocated outside of the Irish EEZ (Exclusive Economic Zone) by agreement reached with the Russian Government and we are now urgently calling on the Irish and French Governments to provide a similar outcome to our Fishermens’ concerns,” the statement said.

A source with expertise in the area said it was believed the French decision was influenced by the weather more than other considerations – as poorer conditions are expected this weekend.

Sinn Féin spokesperson on Foreign Affairs and Defence John Brady has expressed  concern regarding the planned French naval exercises.

“For the second time in six months, we have a situation where a foreign naval service is scheduled to undertake naval exercises in the Irish Exclusive Economic Zone, with the same group of Irish fishers indicating their intent to take to the area to protest at the threat that the naval exercises pose to their livelihood.” 

“It is no secret that the Irish fishing industry feels betrayed by an indifferent government that has failed to properly represent their interests in Europe.”

He added that 2 billion of fish caught in Irish waters is not landed in Ireland and that “this state does not possess the means to carry out any meaningful type of inspection of trawlers fishing in Irish waters illegally”.

Speaking to The Journal, Patrick Murphy, CEO of the Irish South and West Fish Producers Organisation said that he wanted to see Coveney engage with French authorities to stop the exercises taking place.

Murphy said that Coveney had previously told Russia - who had planned similar exercises in Irelands EEZ in January - that he couldn’t stop the exercises, but that they weren’t welcome.

However, Coveney had written a letter to his Russian counterpart seeking to have the exercise moved.

“I would think him to do what he did the last time,” said Murphy, saying that he hopes Coveney has a letter written to his French counterpart and asked that he disclose any engagement with the French government.

Due to the exercises, the Department of Transport has warned vessels operating in the Irish EEZ about the military operation.

“The exercises will be undertaken in part of the Irish EEZ.  Given the nature of the planned exercises, vessels and crew are advised of safety risks in the operational area,” said a notice from the Department.

Murphy said that he wants to see a moratorium placed on military exercises, saying that they should not take place in Ireland’s EEZ for the next 10 years.

“We’re screaming for a moratorium for this craziness to stop… We said 10 years, so no more military exercises inside Ireland’s EEZ,” said Murphy.

Speaking on Morning Ireland, Murphy said that the current climate makes military exercises of this nature inappropriate, due to the ongoing war in Ukraine.

“In the climate that we are in now, this doesn’t seem to be appropriate. We have a war as was reported in programs on the continent and we don’t need these military sizes to ramp up any tensions.”

He added that any exercises would have an impact on the fishing industry itself, potentially with consequences lasting down the line for several years due to fish spawning being disrupted.

“This doesn’t just affect you on the three days, this could affect your for decades to come because if it interferes with the spawning cycle, and if the fish don’t spawn, then you have no recruitment into the stocks.”

This means that the amount of fish that could be caught would be reduced, potentially for long periods of time according to Murphy.

Additional reporting by Jane Moore and Niall O’Connor

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:16 PM

Another leftie government falls what a fabulous start to the year. They are all finished.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:32 PM

@Trump24: Left wing, ha ha, do you know anything about politics or ideologies?

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:37 PM

@Trump24: you clearly know feck all about Canadian politics. Surprise, surprise!

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:41 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: I have no doubt at all that Trudeau himself would call his government left wing.

Mute adam page
    Favourite adam page
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:04 PM

@Jen McC: everyone is on the left to trump 24.

Mute Deco Tronq
    Favourite Deco Tronq
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:11 PM

@Trump24: utter cabbage

Mute Joe Dolan
    Favourite Joe Dolan
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:13 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: He’s Liberal not left you fool! Cleary you haven’t a clue! Just like your name States.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Favourite Maximilian Kolbe
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:43 PM

@Joe Dolan: well left wing is communists and they don’t deserve to be called human beings.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:45 PM

@Trump24: A glorious facist future awaits you and all you blondest friends

Mute Graham
    Favourite Graham

@Joe Dolan: lol. HE OSS as left as you can get.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:15 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Not sure what the blonde part means but that would be amazing.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:39 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: Because ye are all Neo nazist racists

Mute Meatball Martin
    Favourite Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:40 PM

@Basildon Joe: back to family values is what the world wants

Mute donal O'brien
    Favourite donal O'brien
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:25 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe:
    Why are you dishonouring the name of a Saint of the Catholic Church who gave up his life in a NAZI death camp to save the life of a man with a young family posting the worst of American style fascist clap trap. You are a disgrace

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:27 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: bellend.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:32 PM

@donal O’brien: and you are now part of the Gosplan

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:46 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: That would be amazing hopefully it happens.

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:47 PM

@Deco Tronq: Indeed he was but soon to be in the past

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:49 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Yes he called his government left wing so that’s what they are but luckily another lot gone to the scrap heap.

Mute Johnny Lee
    Favourite Johnny Lee
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:05 PM

@Trump24: great news indeed.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:06 PM

@Maximilian Kolbe: you must be a yank to be so poorly educated

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Jan 7th 2025, 12:26 AM

@Trump24: Another turd to mute

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Jan 7th 2025, 12:27 AM

@adam page: He’s an attention seeking simpleton.

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Jan 7th 2025, 12:59 AM

@Trump24: And you didn’t even vote.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jan 7th 2025, 3:41 AM

@Maximilian Kolbe: Proper nazi.

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Jan 7th 2025, 6:59 AM

@James T.Kirk: I voted in the US election not the Canadian one correct. But as someone from the states I have seen the mess Canada is in.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Jan 7th 2025, 1:45 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: quick lefty , dye your hair , take your reverse hormones and hope Trumps presidency will collapse

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:15 PM

Spent Christmas in Canada, and no one had a good word to say about him. Even former liberal voters. It’s definitely time for him to go.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:55 PM

@Jen McC: Doesn’t mean much. Speak to anyone in the street here and nobody will have a good word to say about FF/ FG but yet every general election they get voted in.

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:57 PM

@Ger Whelan: Canadian politics is nothing like ours. The 2 main parties there are near polar opposite.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:03 PM

@Jen McC: I never claimed it was. Just stating what people say and what people actually do are 2 different things.

Mute David Murray
    Favourite David Murray
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:28 PM

@Ger Whelan FFG and don’t forget their Proxies

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:51 PM

@Ger Whelan: I mean, the polls alone will tell you that the Liberals will be obliterated in the next election. That just hasn’t happened here, yet. When the Canadians turn on you, you’re screwed.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:20 PM

@Basildon Joe: you are a goose,,,

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:10 PM

@Jen McC: that is because he is a puppet of Klaus Schwab, Davos & the WEF – this is no secret as Schwab openly stated the WEF had ‘penetreated’ more than 50% of the Canadian gov’t & will continue with other Western nations (same in New Zealand & Keir Starmer was asked directly on British TV if he served Davos or the English people &, without hesitation, the answer was Davos).

Canada has become a complete basket case since he took the position of PM.

Have to laugh at some of the commentators on here who clearly know f-all about what’s been happening in Canada since March 2020 – the Freedom convoy, the freezing of the Freedom convoy participants bank accounts, the Go-Fundme that was set up & subsequently frozen by Trudeau’s gov’t, the removal of children from Freedom convoy participants.

Canada & New Zealand were rest beds for Western Dictatorship.

Those who don’t believe what’s happening in the world are either too conditioned to see the reality or more frightening, willfully ignorant.

The fear that people may have been lied to about the pandemic, about immigration & everything else is simply too much for some, their world view being based on deception after deception is too much for their fragile ego’s so, it’s easier for them the roll in behind whatever deception is happening at the time & sling silly, absurd tropes the Mainstream Manipulators program them to repeat.

Funny thing is: those that are trying to warn the rest are actually trying to stop the rise of neo-fedalism & serfdom because that’s what’s coming our way.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:58 PM

@Jim: The “Freedom Convoy”?

Hahahahaha!

That bunch of Fascists – mostly from Dumbfukistan – who thought they could bully the Canadians?

Aw!

Are you still sore that Canadians don’t put up with Trump MAGA bullshit and intimidation?

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:15 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: your perspective is very interesting.

Even more interesting how you define Fascists (I don’t think it means what you think it means).

Having read your comments for months on here one thing is quite clear. You are an out and out bigot & the problem with that is: while you don’t know you are, the rest of us have to suffer your idocracy.

Mute Jen McC
    Favourite Jen McC
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:33 PM

@Jim: respectfully Jim, no.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:39 PM

@Jim: I have relations in Canada.

They were sick to the back teeth of those (mostly American) truckers who thought they were entitled to breach Canadian laws to put ordinary people at risk because they didn’t want to obey regulations put in place to protect the populace during a pandemic.

And then went on to block roads and thoroughfares disrupting the already difficult times of ordinary people.

I’m told that most Canadians would have liked to see them horsewhipped.

Your inability to identify Fascism is your failing, not mine.

Mute Seamus
    Favourite Seamus
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:01 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: wow!
    Leftist tool has leftist tool relations.
    Shocker.

Jan 6th 2025, 9:18 PM

@Seamus: Yea, Canadians not wanting to out up with thuggery from Americans are leftist now.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 8th 2025, 7:35 AM

@Jen McC: as it should be. Not like this horrible FFg cartel

MN
    Mute MN
    Favourite MN
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:19 PM

Shocked he lasted as long as he did

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:34 PM

I cannot understand how the Canadian people put up with this eeejittt for so long.

Mute Maximilian Kolbe
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:44 PM

@Nodon: Canada or India?

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:53 PM

@Nodon: Why? Fill us in on your extensive knowledge of Canadian politics.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:40 PM

A dangerous woke turd of a man, Canada is a mess because of him.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:54 PM

@Freda Peeple: In what way is it a mess? Please enlighten us.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:56 PM

@Tony: Under his watch Canadians have been priced out of owning a home, healthcare crisis and access to healthcare in general, reckless immigration meaning 1 in 20 people are now from India and growing, yellow vest protests over unrealistic carbon tax increases. Lower standards of living all around and slow post covid recovery. Not to mention his sickly woke agenda. Canada was always known for its high standard of living and great healthcare but not anymore.

Mute Michael Ryan
    Favourite Michael Ryan
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:30 PM

@Freda Peeple: don’t forget the state of some of the cities there with open drug use etc

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Jan 6th 2025, 9:57 PM

@Tony: Ask the truckers.

Mute smatrix mantra
    Favourite smatrix mantra
    Jan 7th 2025, 3:44 AM

@Freda Peeple: Same as ppl under FFG in Ireland. Centre right

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 8th 2025, 1:02 AM

@smatrix mantra: yes and we exported close to a million people. Now, we are 20% foreign. People have had their dreams of home ownership destroyed.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:14 PM

No loss, in fairness. A clown.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony

@honey badger: Says the sheep who seems to spend all day every day waiting to comment on a journal article. Lol.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:23 PM

@Tony: I don’t recall anything you’ve ever written here. Thanks for remembering me, though. x

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:26 PM

About time. That said, let’s not be fooled into thinking the cost of living crisis is easy to fix, it goes beyond immigration. Those who offer simply explanations aren’t likely to fix complex issues with their simple fixes. Even then, we have the likes of Musk going nuclear over anyone who opposes skilled migrant visas, which Trudeau supports (as well as student visas). Musk uses skilled migrant visas to hire cheap replaceable labour, billionaire businessmen aren’t here to help you, they see an opportunity. Musk is literally living at Mar a Lago, as Trump remembers the last person he speaks to.

Mute FlipBip
    Favourite FlipBip
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:39 PM

@David Jordan: Woah hang on. Billionaires importing cheap immigrant labour to take jobs (and housing) from natives? Sounds like a conspiracy theory to me.

Mute Sun Rise
    Favourite Sun Rise
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:52 PM

@Basildon Joe: We have quite a history in this country regarding child abuse and sweeping it under the carpet.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Marvin Dollery
    Favourite Marvin Dollery
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:09 PM

@Sun Rise: Right.. That makes the imported grooming gangs in The UK alright then. Sympathising with kiddie fiddlers is going to bite you in the hole. You’re a top class sick clown.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan

@Basildon Joe: Musk called on the UK government to hold a national inquiry into pedophile gangs, as he seems unaware there are several local enquiries into historical sexual abuse in Rotherham and other towns, which was started by the Conservative Government, and continued by Labour e.g.

https://www.rotherham.gov.uk/downloads/download/31/independent-inquiry-into-child-sexual-exploitation-in-rotherham-1997—2013

As for your claim that, in the 6 – 7 months since the election of a Labour government, the gangs aren’t prosecuted or jailed, this is if course complete nonsense.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:38 PM

@Basildon Joe: I see Stephen Yaxley-Lennon’s rhetoric regarding grooming gangs doesn’t extend to members of his own EDL organisation that perpetrate the same crimes…

“Senior member” of English Defence League jailed for sexually abusing 10-year-old girl’, The Independent, 27 february 2018,

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/edl-english-defence-league-leigh-mcmillan-jailed-paedophile-old-bailey-a8231231.html

Mute Maximilian Kolbe

@Sun Rise: who’s we? We’re you involved in abusing children and sweeping it under the carpet?

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:47 PM

@Basildon Joe: There isn’t a disgusting facist trope that you won’t jump all over.

Mute Marvin Dollery
    Favourite Marvin Dollery
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:13 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: Shut up. You’re alone in your views. Leftism is a dead duck. Get used to right wing life from hereon in, son.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:48 PM

@Basildon Joe: Some more EDL BNP paedophiles I found:

Jack Renshaw, Richard Price, Simon Sheppard, Kane Hutchison, Ryan Fleming, Harry Vaughan, Martyn Gilleard, Darren Francis, James Siree, Stephen Payne, Ian Hargreaves, Carl Tofts, Gerard Kendrick and Peter Gillett (abused multiple children, one under the age of 12). Here’s Gillet posing with Paul Whiteside, of EDL, who has a dodgy history (L):

https://i.imgur.com/xfdjtt2.jpeg

I could go on, but there are so many.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/edl-members-avoid-jail-abduction-girl-paul-whiteside-child-grooming-a7958011.html

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:18 PM

@Sun Rise:

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:20 PM

@Sun Rise: that is a whole different thing and you know it.

The r*pe gangs in the UK have been operating with impunity for 20+ years & Starmer was part of the group that covered it up & decided that not all child r*pists should face prison time.

He & his ilk are protecting the r*pe gangs operating In Britain – it is nothing like what you are referring to.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:01 PM

@Basildon Joe: A study out of the US has shown the vast majority of your paedos are Republicans.

As has been known anecdotally for a long time.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:44 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere : source please

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Favourite Pelagius Asturias
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:19 PM

@David Jordan: Now name all the Muslim PDF grooming gang members in the interest of equality. Funny that you U turned straight into names of white PDFs but not the Muslim/Pakistanis who are the majority in the UK grooming gang scandals across tens if not hundreds of UK towns. Are you Islamophobic or something? :)

Jan 6th 2025, 9:27 PM

@Oh Mammy: You should look up those who are charged with sexual crimes. Almost invariably you will find they have religious roles, are from the right-wing part of the political spectrum, or both.

Here is a database that gathered that information over the space of about a year, and then analysed that data.

https://www.whoismakingnews.com/#who-are-the-real-predators

Here is another site that created visualisation of that data.
    https://dataviz.fyi/

If you do care about any problem then you have to be prepared to identify the source(s)/cause(s) before it can ever possible be solved.
    If you only care about tribalism then you will deny, deflect or otherwise try to distract.

Which will contribute to the perpetuation of these crimes against children

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 7th 2025, 11:03 AM

@Basildon Joe: “Starmer let those gangs run wild because they did not want to offend the Muslim community and be labelled racist.”

You are wrong about Starmerd, likely because you have fallen for Musk’s poisonous campaign of misinformation.

Starmer “began the prosecutions of the Rochdale grooming gang” when he was director of public prosecutions and reformed how his office “investigates sexual abuse to ensure more perpetrators are brought to justice” (Goldberg, 2025).

While authorities’ fear of being labelled racist was a real issue in these cases, as Goldberg notes, the evidence shows Starmer actually worked to address these problem, not perpetuate them.

When CSE case was initially dropped in 2009, he later supported chief prosecutor Nazir Afzal in reopening it, leading to nine convictions. Afzal himself confirmed that “Keir was 100 percent behind the decision to publicly admit that we had got it wrong in the past.”

Furthermore, Starmer overhauled how sexual abuse was investigated to improve prosecution rates and made it easier to reopen old cases that Police failed to investigate, and the CPS failed to prosecute

The academic research and the many inquiries held shows this failure was linked to a complex institutional failures that went far beyond any one person. Cockbain and Tufail (2020) showed how “responses to CSE in general have suffered widespread and well-documented problems.”

Furthermore, the following enquiries were held into CSE:

1. The Independent Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse (IICSA) – announced by then Home Secretary Theresa May in July 2014 to examine institutions including “the police, the courts, the education system, the BBC, and the NHS” (Cockbain & Tufail, 2020)

2. The Jay Report – Professor Alexis Jay’s independent inquiry into CSE in Rotherham in 2014

3. The Casey Report (2015) – also focused on Rotherham

4. The Office of the Children’s Commissioner’s Inquiry into Child Sexual Exploitation in Gangs and Groups (2012-2013)

5. The Home Affairs Select Committee inquiry into localized grooming (2013)

6. The Office of the Children’s Commissioner’s Inquiry into Child Sexual Abuse in Familial Settings (2014)

7. Parliamentary inquiry into the effectiveness of legislation for tackling CSE and trafficking within the UK (2014)

8. Ofsted’s thematic inspection (2014)

9. The DCLG Select Committee inquiry regarding Rotherham (2014)

References:

Goldberg, M. (2025). Elon Musk’s Dishonest Demagogy on Grooming Gangs. The New York Times, January 6, 2025. http://www.nytimes.com/2025/01/06/opinion/elon-musk-britain-sex-trafficking.html

Cockbain, E., & Tufail, W. (2020). Failing victims, fuelling hate: challenging the harms of the ‘Muslim grooming gangs’ narrative. Race & Class, 61(3), 3-32.

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:06 PM

Wonderful stuff! All the ‘jab ‘em or sack ‘em’ governments are finished! The ‘far-right’ (LOL) are on the march. Happy 2025 everyone! God bless President Trump.

Mute Pat B
    Favourite Pat B

A good news story

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:24 PM

Good riddance to bad rubbish, awful dose of a man

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:52 PM

Is there any truth to the rumours that the Canadian truckers are going to give him a guard of honour and twenty minutes of sounding their air horns as he leaves?

Mute Graham
    Favourite Graham
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:59 PM

@Dvsespaña: people are deliriously happy about this over here.

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:57 PM

He was just another trust fund socialist, like what’s in our Dail.

Ned
    Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:13 PM

Worst PM in Canadian history with doubt a doubt. It’s a very happy day in Canada I hear.

Mute William O leary
    Favourite William O leary
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:36 PM

good riddance..another woke clown gone ..

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:20 PM

Trudeau, just like his old man Pierre, was one of the worst, if not the worst, Prime Minister of Canada in history. Since Trudeau came into power, the GDP of Canada has dropped by nearly 4%, meaning that the richest province in Canada would be the second-poorest state in America. Unemployment is 7.5%, youth unemployment is 13.8% and the national debt has nearly doubled, with yearly budget deficits of $40 billion. The poverty rate has increased to 23% and multinational companies are fleeing the market due to high taxes and the highest operating costs in all of the G20. Trudeau has also destroyed the healthcare system with his insistence of doubling down on the failed model instead of privatising it. 65% of people have a longer wait time than 18 hours and 38% of people don’t even have a GP.

Mute J Cronin
    Favourite J Cronin
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:58 PM

@Frank O’Hara: And with those facts you’ll still get people supporting him.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:25 PM

@Frank O’Hara: Oh dear!

Who told you this?
    Your religious advisor?

Except for the 1st year of the pandemic, which affected all – Canada’s GDP has been growing since Trudeau assumed office, averaging about 3% a year.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:12 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: That’s a lie buddy. Enough with your nonsense. The GDP of Canada has dropped by 3.8% compared to its 2019 levels. Stop denying reality. Everything I said can be checked out both on Reuters, CBC and on the Bank of Canada’s official fiscal reports. Notice how you haven’t tried to even challenge any other points because you know them to be true. You said to yourself “hmm, which of these am I most likely to get away with lying about if I try to defend Trudeau?” You took a stab and said GDP, well you’re out of luck buster, so please sit down and be quiet.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:25 PM

@Frank O’Hara: GDP has increased every year since 2019 except for 2020, which was obviously due to Covid. It has now recovered since Covid and is higher than it was in 2019. And GDP also increased every year of Trudeau’s tenure before Covid

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 6th 2025, 10:45 PM

@Kevin Kerr: I want you to search up something very simple Kevin. Look at the per capita GDP of Canada in 2019 and then look at the per capita GDP of Canada at the end of 2024. I literally cannot explain it any more simply than that. Look up those two numbers and then tell me whether it has declined by nearly 4%. Spoiler alert – it has and if you deny what the Bank of Canada said themselves in their yearly fiscal report, you are denying reality plain and simple.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 6th 2025, 10:51 PM

@Frank O’Hara: no, I won’t look up the per capita GDP as it is the first time that you’ve mentioned it. Why not just say, sorry lads, I meant per capita GDP and not just GDP as I originally referenced, instead of being so patronising?

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely
    Jan 6th 2025, 10:54 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: well my son has lived there for over ten years and says exactly the same thing. He has private insurance to the hilt and still waiting 6 months plus for a scan. His wife who has a tumor at the base of her brain has never met her consultant in person, he phones her instead. Property is beyond the reach of most ordinary people, a leg of lamb costs 100 CAD, it’s gone to hell.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 6th 2025, 11:50 PM

@Kevin Kerr: So you concede that you are denying reality then buddy? I have you given you simple instructions for you to wrap your head around and you are openly saying that you refuse to follow them. Gee whiz, there’s no saving some people. Anyway, there’s nothing more that I can say. I shouldn’t have to do your research homework or spell every single thing out for you to understand. If we are talking about the quality of life for Canadian people, anyone with two braincells to rub together would grasp that it’s GDP per capita that we’re discussing here.

Mute joe moody
    Favourite joe moody
    Jan 7th 2025, 7:06 AM

@Frank O’Hara: you really are a vile man who truly believes himself superior to others, typical zio psycho

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 7th 2025, 8:56 AM

@Frank O’Hara: you don’t get to give me instructions, as shole

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 7th 2025, 3:48 PM

@Kevin Kerr: And you don’t get to have a hissy fit when I give you simple instructions and you refuse to follow them because they don’t fit the statement that you made. Got that buster?

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Jan 7th 2025, 3:50 PM

@joe moody: Boo-hoo Joe, let me get out my tiny violin for you. If speaking factual information suddenly makes me superior (in your own words) then I’ll happily plead guilty.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 7th 2025, 4:56 PM

@Frank O’Hara: “since Trudeau came into power the GDP of Canada has dropped by 4%”. This is your opening statement above, and it is incorrect, and therefore I challenged it. You then proceeded to get pretty sniffy with me and another commenter who challenged it, saying that you were correct, and suggested that I look up GDP per capita – why would I look up GDP per capita, when you explicitly said GDP? You then said anyone with two brain cells would know what you meant – laughable stuff!! I come from a finance background – if you’re going to quote a measure, make sure you get your terminology correct. It’s basic stuff. And as for your comment to Joe that you are speaking factual information, you’re not, that’s the whole point here. Grow up

Mute joe moody
    Favourite joe moody
    Jan 8th 2025, 7:26 AM

@Frank O’Hara: you are far to up your own ass to see the glaring issue you have with communicating..

Mute Robert Bell
    Favourite Robert Bell
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:47 PM

Trump has them all quaking already, brillant to see.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:52 PM

@Robert Bell: Yanks are quaking at the prospect of increased prices from Canadian tariffs

Jan 6th 2025, 7:27 PM

@Jack Hayes: And the Canadians are considering switching off their hydro-electric supplies to the northern US states if Trump carries through with his tarrif threats.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:47 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Canada will lose. For starters, no military, to defend herself that is.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:52 PM

@Oh Mammy: So you think the US would invade Canada to impose its tarriffs?

How do you think that would really work out, e en if the US military would go along with it?

I could see Trump being impeached for a 4th time first.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 8th 2025, 7:38 AM

@Robert Bell: if nearly 40% of Canadians can’t get a doctor or can only get one sometimes, with their model then Ireland is really screwed and the people were warned plenty. Ireland is a dark country let’s not pretend. it’ll get darker yet ..

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:50 PM

Such a brilliant politician, the bold Brendan O’Brien can’t even muster up a few fairytales about him.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:55 PM

2024 one of the hottest on record… I guess comments are closed on that article in fear anyone with half a brain would call out this as utter tripe! With the exception of a week in May and a mild December, most of the year was wet and cold. It wouldn’t make the top 4 of the last 10 years never mind since records began. Comedy gold!

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:05 PM

@Jack: I’ll choose to rely on Met Eireann’s recorded data rather than your feelings. Thanks all the same

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:40 PM

@Jack: You don’t understand numbers. Fair enough

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:27 PM

good man Kevin, go for it, it’s your choice !!

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:34 PM

@FoxyBoiiYT: you’re a numerical genius 420!

Mute Numinous20111
    Favourite Numinous20111
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:39 PM

@Jack: I know what you mean. My comments here haven’t been getting 1,000 plus up votes, which means that the world population is declining rapidly. How else could my brilliant comments not be getting 1,000 plus every time!!!

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:00 PM

@Numinous20111: you appear to misunderstand.. go educate yourself.

Mute Meatball Martin

@Numinous20111: he’s right, though, it’s a load of bollocks

Mute Mick O'K
    Favourite Mick O'K
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:21 PM

Shoulda gone for the black face

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:45 PM

It is quite clear, if you look to the east or west, Lefty wokism is dying, quite fast, we rejoice

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:20 PM

Perfect example of the quote:

“The road to hell is paved with good intentions”

He went so far left he chased people over to the right.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:44 PM

@Kieran Menon: Specifically, what did he do?

Mute Seamus
    Favourite Seamus
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:04 PM

@Kieran Menon: were his intentions good though?

Mute Raymond Gilbourne
    Favourite Raymond Gilbourne
    Jan 7th 2025, 11:24 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere:
    Introduced medically assisted dying. Threshold was very low. Homeless people, people in severe pain(not terminally ill) & citizens with depression were encouraged to kill themselves.
    Approx 50,000 people since 2016 opted for Medically assisted dying in Canada.

Don’t think Justin had much of a hope.
    According to child s€x trafficking survivor, Anneke Lucas, his father Pierre was the most psychotic abuser she had. Pierre Trudeau wanted to k1ll a child for s€xual gratification.
    Pierre himself had a murderlust – Justin hadn’t a chance.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 15th 2025, 8:09 PM

@Seamus: NO !! ROBBING THE TRUCKERS

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:49 PM

That **gob**shite irrepairable damage to the once great country of Canada. One The plus side, at least he had matching socks with Leo!

Mute Graham
    Favourite Graham
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:36 PM

Hoping for treason charges.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:52 PM

@Graham: LOL

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:24 PM

Libertarian crypto populist incoming.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:54 PM

@Basildon Joe: ‘Woke’? In what way? presuming you know what ‘woke’ means but don’t tell me … you have ‘your own definition’ LOL

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:10 PM

@Basildon Joe:
    Essex girl is hit by a car and lies dazed in the road. Passers by rush to help, and a man thinks he had better check for concussion.

“Now listen carefully, dear, how many fingers have I got up?”

The Essex girl screams, “Oh my God no, I’m paralysed from the waist down”!

Mute Martin Forde
    Favourite Martin Forde
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:38 PM

Great day for the people of Canada, They seem to be all trying to get out of Doge. The lefty Tractors are falling like a deck of cards. Western world is waking up.

Mute Jonathan Hanlon
    Favourite Jonathan Hanlon
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:16 PM

Time for the US to take over

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:53 PM

@Jonathan Hanlon: Funny

Mute Marvin Dollery
    Favourite Marvin Dollery
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:29 PM

@Jack Hayes: Shut up. Leftism is a dead duck. Get used to conservative life you muppet.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:33 PM

@Jonathan Hanlon: They tried an invasion of Canada, oh back around the 1814s or so.

The Canadians burned the White House to the ground.

The Americans – wisely, if such a term could ever be applied to an American – left them alone after that.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:33 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: are you on here all the time talking to yourself on multiple accounts because nobody is bothered about you in person?

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:02 PM

This year is only getting better. He ruined Canada.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:49 PM

@Dan Murphy: How?

Mute n3rd worldorder
    Favourite n3rd worldorder
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:42 PM

What a great loss to man….’peoplekind’. A more contemptible political figure is hard to imagine.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 8th 2025, 7:41 AM

@n3rd worldorder: until you look at anti disability Harris and see that he’s exactly the same kind of man, a weasel and we know its Tru, Do

Mute Stanley darsh
    Favourite Stanley darsh
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:39 PM

Must have something to do with him saying he would comply with The ICC arrest warrant for Benjamin Netanyahu.

Mute Donald Hegarty
    Favourite Donald Hegarty
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:43 PM

Good riddance.

Mute Shane Jordan
    Favourite Shane Jordan
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:26 PM

Little Castro is gone

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jan 6th 2025, 4:55 PM

Good ol’ black face, smarmy little git.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 5:43 PM

The best thing about people voting for Fianna Fail in their droves, is that the line with the Catholic Church is still there, and getting stronger, it is time to get back to family values

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:26 PM

Wonder if his replacement will also make a habit of dressing up in Blackface?
    Funny how the lefties forgave his racist acts!

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:28 PM

@Paul: are the lefties in the room with you now? Eejit.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:38 PM

@Ian: they probably are, they imposition themselves everywhere else, even though they just piss people off

Mute Pavel Shipilov
    Favourite Pavel Shipilov
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:46 PM

He destroyed Canada, it’s such a shame.

Mute J Cronin
    Favourite J Cronin

@Pavel Shipilov: No, Canadians that voted him in destroyed Canada.

Mute Meatball Martin

@J Cronin: y’all voted me back in!

Jan 6th 2025, 7:47 PM

@Pavel Shipilov: How?

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:52 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: elected!

Mute Pelagius Asturias
    Favourite Pelagius Asturias
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:07 PM

Adios, Justin Castreau. What a manlet that guy is.

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Jan 6th 2025, 10:59 PM

The end of woke in nigh

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Jan 6th 2025, 3:45 PM

Penguin.

Mute Seamus
    Favourite Seamus
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:53 PM

Always a “reset” needed with these guys.

The language is deliberate: a signal of deference and obedience.

Trudeau’s unpopularity is no accidental. He has successfully fulfilled a very specific purpose.

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:22 PM

In government for nearly a decade so probably naturally ran its course.

Jan 6th 2025, 7:46 PM

@John Moore: The most sensible comment here.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 7:48 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: a good Christian,

Mute Raymond Gilbourne
    Favourite Raymond Gilbourne
    Jan 6th 2025, 11:22 PM

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c0j1z14p57po

Trudeau’s government introduced medically assisted dying in 2016 – the same yr as California.
    Since then California – population 39m – has had about 4,000 medically assisted deaths.
    In Canada – population 41m – there have been over 50,000 medically assisted deaths.
    The main reason is Canada will kill the homeless & people with depression.

Trudeau is no loss to world politics.

Mute Carl Valderrama
    Favourite Carl Valderrama
    Jan 7th 2025, 7:32 AM

Captain Woke.

Mute Ray Buckley
    Favourite Ray Buckley
    Jan 6th 2025, 6:02 PM

What’s all that aboot eh !

Mute D White
    Favourite D White
    Jan 7th 2025, 9:49 AM

2025 could be the year of common sense.

Mute Mick Hanna
    Favourite Mick Hanna
    Jan 6th 2025, 11:31 PM

10 years! People have been released for murder less and they Don’t get a huge Pension to go with it! Politicians NEVER PAY.. Despite the Dam Unreasonable Taxes and Privatisation Crap they Force on their own people! RTE TAX anybody???

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Jan 6th 2025, 10:43 PM

Bye pric k

Mute Meatball Martin
    Jan 6th 2025, 8:36 PM

I’m on the road again
    Got my Michael Collins account
    I’m on the road again

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:06 AM

A most excellent example of self satisfaction and hubris The end of his tenure, his destructive work complete, thus nothing left to achieve. The end of a most terrible epoch.

Mute Leo Latorre
    Favourite Leo Latorre
    Jan 7th 2025, 7:24 AM

Can’t believe it… it’s true though.

Mute K H
    Favourite K H
    Jan 7th 2025, 11:00 AM

Fidel Castros son .. allegedly . Keep that under your hat

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Jan 7th 2025, 10:14 AM

A few ninja snipers on here with anonymous profiles doing nothing more than questioning reasonably legit comments, but failing to comment logically and defensively themselves. The word ‘Sleeveen’, or however it’s spelt, comes to mind.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Jan 7th 2025, 1:58 PM

He will be forever remembered as the mad who tried to starve trick drivers families!

Mute Vincent Hickey
    Favourite Vincent Hickey
    Jan 7th 2025, 6:48 PM

I bet the Canadian truckers are celebrating right now . I’m glad to see the back of that Woke ponce and his dictatorship another WEF puppet gone just like Arden the newzealand prime minister rejoice the leftist are falling like dominoes

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Jan 8th 2025, 12:59 AM

If there was any justice then Khan would resign in disgrace in London. While not in a position quite like Trudeaus, he has helped to lead London down a similarly dark road and allowed the supercity to fall. Trudeau will be remembered as the man who wanted to enter truckers accounts. He is a slimeball and a deeply wicked man

Mute The Black Horse
    Favourite The Black Horse
    Jan 8th 2025, 12:01 AM

Canada spoke