You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 5 at 5 Five minutes, five stories, five o’clock…

EVERY WEEKDAY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you the five biggest stories of the day.

1. #MALAYSIA: The family of Nora Quoirin have offered a €10,000 reward for information that will lead to her safe return

2. #ALICANTE: An Irish child aged 5 is in critical condition after being discovered in a pool in Spain.

3. #UNITED STATES: An autopsy was due to be carried out on the body of billionaire Jeffrey Epstein, who was found dead in prison at the weekend.

4. #GAEILGE: Changes were announced to the grounds for student exemption from Irish in schools.

5. #SHUT DOWN: All flights in and out of Hong Kong have been cancelled amid massive pro-democracy protests.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Simon F
    Favourite Simon F
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:04 AM

Yay keep it up with the positivity !

Mute Levante Dublin
    Favourite Levante Dublin
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:17 AM

@Simon F: EY a full of Bs. They make things up as they go along.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:42 AM

@Levante Dublin: They’re right about one thing, there’s going to be a massive contraction of the economy and large increase in unemployment.

Mute Des Crowley
    Favourite Des Crowley
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:42 AM

@Simon F: What dimwits to print something like that in times like this…..it’s straight from the ‘Nancy Pelosi School of Negativity”!

Mute Charlie Kavanagh
    Favourite Charlie Kavanagh
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:21 AM

@Simon F:

* Meteor hits the earth*

Dinosaurs – “oh no… The economy!”

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:09 AM

@Simon F: after the 1918 Spanish flu /WW1 when many millions died it led to massive economic boom through out 1920s /roaring 20s even after WW11 too ! who’s know what ahead of us all after this pandemic is over along has we are all still live!.one thing for sure our .carbon foot print will be rock botton!

Mute Towger
    Favourite Towger
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:49 AM

@Conall: They were wrong about Anglo Irish Bank!

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:35 AM

@Bobby wilson: that boom was really only seen in America, Bob. Whole different set of circumstances which led to it and the following crash. We are at the beginning of a Depression, the 2008 crash was never fully sorted out

Mute Sharp Elsi Mate
    Favourite Sharp Elsi Mate
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:50 AM

@Conall: a dog with a mallet up his hole can see that happening

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:49 AM

@Declan Edward: no one can tell how this will pan out or how long it will last so give it a rest with the doomsday stuff . You dont have a crystal ball and elderly people might be reading this and be trying to stay positive through these tough times

Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:16 AM

I think we should concentrate on getting True the crisis first,and be grateful if we don’t loose to many of our people,
    Before we start putting a price on the lives of our most vulnerable people.

Mute Getaldine Byrne
    Favourite Getaldine Byrne
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:29 AM

@Des Doran: through

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:39 AM

@Getaldine Byrne: True.

Mute Matthew Lowe
    Favourite Matthew Lowe
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:23 AM

@Getaldine Byrne: lose

Mute Mick Hunt
    Favourite Mick Hunt
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:19 AM

@Getaldine Byrne: too

Mar 31st 2020, 3:48 AM

@Getaldine Byrne: Geraldine*

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:49 AM

@Des Doran: which one, the coronavirus or the housing crisis or the decades of health care mismanagement which as crisiss go lined up with covid-19 is quite the equaliser in the big picture which is uncertain

Mute Fergal O Lachtnain
    Favourite Fergal O Lachtnain
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:28 AM

@Des Doran: *before

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:59 AM

@Des Doran: were you hiding during the last recession or werent you paying attention to the amount of daily suicides (mostly men) who either lost their jobs, homes, businesses?
    It’s going to get worse, you trying to be positive won’t help them.

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:05 AM

@John: ahahahahahaha brilliant. Thats for being pedantic Geraldine!

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:49 AM

@Des Doran: well said

Mute Brian Maverick O'Flaherty
    Favourite Brian Maverick O'Flaherty
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:40 AM

Journal. Publishing predictions from consulting firms looking at modern macro economics not comparable with a once in a 100 year global pandemic is not helpful. It’s pure speculation with no significant frame of reference. Not even 2008 banking crisis is comparable. Stop publishing guesses from researchers, you might as well ask Mystic Meg while you are at it.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:18 AM

@Brian Maverick O’Flaherty: destiny follows a red T-shirt

Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:59 AM

@Brian Maverick O’Flaherty: They make their money by scaring the crap out of industry so that companies hire their consultants. Great business. The biggest earners after this crisis will be consultants and people recruiting resulting in zero hour contracts, agency recruiting, self employed and a whole host of new ways to employ people.

Mute Gordon Comstock
    Favourite Gordon Comstock
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:10 AM

@Brian Maverick O’Flaherty: we’re all locked in our homes on the basis of medical models and you’re not complaining but economic models are pure speculation worthy of Mystic Meg? Do you know what cherry picking means?

Mute Brian Maverick O'Flaherty
    Favourite Brian Maverick O'Flaherty
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:17 AM

@Gordon Comstock: the economic models are not fit for purpose in this instance is what I’m saying. I do know what cherry picking means thank you for asking.

Mute Gordon Comstock
    Favourite Gordon Comstock
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:28 AM

@Brian Maverick O’Flaherty: why, what specifically is wrong with the methodology employed? Or, and I’m sure this couldn’t be the case, are you dismissing them on the sole basis that you dislike or disagree with their conclusions and haven’t even observed the methodology employed?

Mute Aaron O'Leary
    Favourite Aaron O'Leary
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:19 AM

@Brian Maverick O’Flaherty: Yes they are.

Mute Consey
    Favourite Consey
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:49 AM

@Brian Maverick O’Flaherty: this looks like a majorly amateur output. Have the stimuli of each state been taken into account?
    Yes you can guarantee gougers will always take the state handout to avoid paying invoices….and on and on. However those in similar industries, tgat ardent hand to mouth will prosper and grow.
    As someone else pointed out, macro is only macro! Wonder what Dalkey’s favourite micro man thinks.
    I see contraction as a great way for well run businesses to in turn drive the economy and its new wfh culture

Mute Nicky O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicky O'Donnell
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:50 AM

When they say the effects will last for decades, what they mean is that they expect working people to bail out the billionaires and bankers again for the second time in a decade.

No way. It’s not happening this time. Tax the billionaires or expect kiss goodbye to this broken and rigged capitalist system.

Mute Derek Delaney
    Favourite Derek Delaney
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:16 AM

@Nicky O’Donnell: Nail on the head id say Nicky ..Best comment ive seen exactly what it says on the tin.

Mar 31st 2020, 3:52 AM

@Derek Delaney: sounds great but not much chance of it happening.

Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:11 AM

@Nicky O’Donnell: The landlords are doing just fine. They have a “rent increase” freeze not a rent freeze. The poor darlings. But this government has not interfered with their right to collect their rent once this event passed. Immediately this ends more institutional investors will be invited in for yet another massive property sell off to partake of the highest rent returns in Europe. The safest place to put investment money is commercial property in Irish cities. Why is your rent so high?

Mute Zmeevo Libe
    Favourite Zmeevo Libe
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:39 AM

@Dnom: Would you stop this c%#p? This “landlord” allowed her tenant not to pay rent this month and is still paying mortgage, out of her savings. Why don’t you ask why is the bank allowed to ask for mortgage repayments?

Mute Dylan Moran
    Favourite Dylan Moran
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:21 AM

It’s interesting. The common flu kills more annually but we are willing to completely destroy our children’s futures over a virus that they have no problems surviving. This is all media lunacy followed by political correctness

Mute Roberto González
    Favourite Roberto González
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:32 AM

@Dylan Moran: nah you’re right Dylan, all the world’s medical experts, who went to university for years to get their doctorates etc are wrong. I’d say you’re right.

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:33 AM

@Dylan Moran: is that you Jim? Gemma?

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:34 AM

@Dylan Moran: the death rate is higher with confirmed cases of Corona. So you’re wrong.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:43 AM

@Dylan Moran: not in any way interesting cos you’re lying. Puzzling but not interesting

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:48 AM

@Dylan Moran: We have two choices. Let it kill off a pile of the weaker and older people and minimise the immediate damage to the economy. Or we can mortgage our childrens future. We can’t do the first because we’re human, so that sort of narrows it down.

Mute johnny onion eye
    Favourite johnny onion eye
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:54 AM

@Conall: This choice should never have to be made. The age of the billionaires and wealth hoarding has to come to and end. And before anyone starts I’m no Paul Murphy.

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:31 AM

@Dylan Moran: it’s twice as contagious as the flu and 30 times for deadly.

But do tell us more Dr. Moron

Mute james dimaggio
    Favourite james dimaggio
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:49 AM

@Dylan Moran: The difference being there is a vaccine for the common flu. Oh and it would seem this virus is way more deadly than the common flu. You really do need to think a little before you post comments like that.

Mute James Joseph
    Favourite James Joseph
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:29 AM

@Dylan Moran:
    With all the restrictions in place it’s is killing a hell of a lot more than the common flu. How many do you think it would killed if we had no restrictions?
    As regards our children’s future what do you think is going to happen? There will always be recession. But this is the first world. They won’t go hungry. To spite what you might think and many others think their happiness is not subject to the size of their checkbook.

Mute barry walsh
    Favourite barry walsh
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:47 AM

@Dylan Moran: children getting a few months off school is not the worst thing that is happening right now. The people that are dying are dying alone in a awful way with no family members aloud get close to say goodbye. Wake up Dylan ye fanny head

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Mar 31st 2020, 5:06 AM

@Dylan Moran: it is quite scary that so many people upvoted your comment (you are completely wrong by the way. I was going to say that you are misinformed but actually you are uninformed. The flu exists in an environment without social restrictions and kills roughly 500 people annually over the course of an entire flu season. Covid-19 is sweeping through a world with severe social restrictions and has only been in Ireland for a few weeks and has not even reached its peak)

Mute brendan fitzsimons
    Favourite brendan fitzsimons
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:12 AM

@Dylan Moran:

Not sure where you are getting “destroy our children’s futures” from.

That was being destroyed already by global warming and the consequences of the neoliberal corporatism that is funnelling all the increase in wealth in the West to the 1%.

This will hopefully, when the dust settles, result in the destruction of the neoliberal economic paradigm that has been eating society like a cancer for the past 20 years or more.

Just as after the recovery from the destruction of WW2 led to a golden period of social democracy and productivity growth – there is no reason the same can’t happen again.

A highly regulated capitalism in a mixed economy with huge redistributive taxation systems will be the only hope of saving capitalism – yet again.

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:13 AM

@Dylan Moran: Incredibly ignorant comment. Well before this virus hit our shores I was amazed by the amount of people who just dismissed it like “ah, sure the flu is worse” or “a few days in bed and you’ll be grand” . Sad to see the ignorance continue.

Mute Bleurgh
    Favourite Bleurgh
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:07 AM

@Dylan Moran: no Dylan you are the looney…wait til it calls at your door.
    Keep Up the conspiracy theories…it’s all the 5G and the government trying to control us

Mute Quia Timet
    Favourite Quia Timet
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:36 AM

@johnny onion eye: Taking things from people who worked hard and earned them (most of the worlds richest people are 1st gen) has always worked well…

Mute Dnom
    Favourite Dnom
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:04 AM

@Dylan Moran: the common flu has a one to one transmission rate. This has a one to 3.5 rate. In other words most people don’t get the common flu every year but this year nearly everyone will get this one.

Mute shay
    Favourite shay
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:23 AM

@johnny onion eye: billionaires and wealth hoarding, with millions removed from. Real poverty, its not all negative, but I’d agree that social democracy sounds right

Mute Mick Curtin
    Favourite Mick Curtin
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:43 AM

@james dimaggio: there is no ‘cure’ for the cold or flu – if so, please name.

Mute Peter Leonard
    Favourite Peter Leonard
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:45 PM

@Dylan Moran: I’m just going to listen to Dylan from now on

Mute Seymour business
    Favourite Seymour business
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:26 AM

Absolutely pointless piece. Nothing can be done about the state of the economy at this point. Let people get through this and when we’re all outside again we can face what’s coming.

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:14 AM

When the wealth of countries is in private hands this is what happens, well done the West, American states competing against each other for lifesaving equipment.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:26 AM

Great another round of austerity, it would be nice if everyone around world decided on real change and shared the burden fairly through society

Mute Tom o brien
    Favourite Tom o brien
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:52 AM

Were EY not the honest auditors of Anglo

Mute Chengo Warrior
    Favourite Chengo Warrior
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:04 AM

Ah some good news for a change..

Mute JJandtim Dwyer
    Favourite JJandtim Dwyer
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:30 AM

love the positivity, and love Colm Mccarthy,when you think things are not bad enough along comes old faithful Mr doom and gloom himself.

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:42 AM

@JJandtim Dwyer: Oh yes, that tool McCarthy the embodiment of the saying ‘ knows the price of everything and the value of nothing’

Mute McCarthy Rose
    Favourite McCarthy Rose
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:03 AM

Can we just deal with one problem at a time. Let’s just get through this, stay at home, stay well, stay alive, keep our family alive.
    We’ll deal with the economy when we can get out our front doors again!

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:38 AM

It’s all about saving lifes at the moment not saving money, we are heading into the eye off the storm we can count the cost later These ERSI Style reports remind me of sports pundits guessing the results and we know how good they are

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF

From delaying taking proper action and going on lockdown for WEEKS… for fears of “hurting the economy”, to being forced to negotiate with banks (that we bailed out) for mortgage grace periods (that the banks will actually profit on) and trying to impose rental and eviction freezes so people don’t end up on the street due to a isolation to paying god knows how much in taxpayer money to private hospitals for use of their facilities and to purchase vital medical equipment and PPEs at astronomically inflated prices …late stage capitalism once again rears its ugly head

Mute Noel Donohue
    Favourite Noel Donohue
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:01 AM

Does anyone know when the pubs will be opened again

Mute Cat Reid
    Favourite Cat Reid
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:28 AM

Nice splash of positivity before we all go to sleep

Mute Shimo Tbay
    Favourite Shimo Tbay
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:44 AM

Who cares about some half baked report from..EY. Any report written with “maybe” should be thrown in the bin it’s not a report it a prediction based on fluff.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall

@Shimo Tbay: There’s a few reports going around at the moment that say if you catch the COVID virus, maybe you’ll die and maybe we’ll run out of PPE. EY are a financial firm and not all financial predictions are rubbish.

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan

Pray to God and the angels they find a cure soon.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:54 AM

@Koochulan: I was struck by a cartoon yesterday that had a jew, a christian, a muslim and a doctor holding up their tools to fight coronavirus. Guess which one was making the virus go away?

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:18 AM

@Paul Cunningham: None of them.

Mute Phil Byrne
    Favourite Phil Byrne

Scaremongering at a time when we do not require further analysis. When this is said and done I will be supporting all that I can to bring this country back to a great place for my kids to live in. It will require us tightening our belts and going back to basics a bit. For now we should be getting through this. Most people are in the zone. Stay Safe for now! Keep it up!

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:59 AM

@Phil Byrne: a lot of people were at basics before the pandemic.

Mute Bleurgh
    Favourite Bleurgh
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:14 AM

What will change is people and their priorities…thus virus has shown that what people miss most about the lock in is people and human connection.
    That we depend on low paid workers more than we realise.
    That the majority of meetings are b&llsh!t, can be done on a 10 minute zoom call.
    That companies have the capacity for employees to work at home and the work is done…companies will realise they are wasting money on expensive rents of office and start hot desks and half the size Of offices.
    That young kids will remember being with their parents and seeing them

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:59 AM

Or we could initiate a massive testing programme and try to get rid of the virus altogether.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:36 AM

@Adam Conroy: How does testing for the virus cure the virus Adam?

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:00 AM

The job losses are mostly temporary, as long as the banks play ball and allow moratoriums on mortgages and the 1-2 months rent written off, theres no reason why the economy wont swiftly recover in May/June when everything is open again and people are reemployed to their previous positions, it’s not all doom and gloom like!

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:53 AM

@Adam J: there’s uncertainty in the air and change is anxiety but you have the right attitude

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Mar 31st 2020, 4:05 AM

@Adam J: moratorium is helvellyntly to a family with a mortgage in their home so who pays when the incidental renter doesn’t get paid the rent… Genuine question

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:06 AM

@Adam J: in a perfect world you’d imagine everything goes back to normal wouldnt you? But exonomics is about people, and their behaviour, and right now were all on survival mode. Collecting essentials. This behaviour carries on for months. Add to the 300/400 even 500k out of work, thats alot of people not spending in the local economy. Thats a huge deficit in the Governments tax revenue. And as the Gov are borrowing to pay for the emergency revenue fund, they’ll have to pay it back on top of the Banking debt/Failed gamblers debt from 10 years ago. Expect more Gov cuts in essential services and projects and an increase in taxation.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:04 AM

EFF OFF Ey

Mute meh
    Favourite meh
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:33 AM

Well done Journal, peoples mental health is a big issue now more than ever so keep piling on the misery. Disgraceful

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:08 AM

@meh: bury your head in the sand so and dont face the problem. Honestly, some people dont like reality when its told to them.

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:43 AM

@meh: me, troll? You’re actually trolling everyone by giving out about the Journal reporting on an economic study because its affecting your fragile mental state. Again, bury your head in the sand and fail to acknowledge what lies ahead for us all. Will they call a ‘pandemic’ when theres 10 people dieing everyday because they took their own lives? Like hell they will.

Mute Cormac Dublin
    Favourite Cormac Dublin
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:28 AM

The 4th industrial revolution was coming! we we’re going to have to deal with this sooner or later, just a sooner than we thought!

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:54 AM

@Cormac Dublin: Hopefully the politicans and the legal profession will come under the hatchet with the austerity train that is building up speed coming down the tracks
    No need for 160 T D’s + all their advisors in Dail Eireann been grossly over paid. Cut out the agency system that is implemented by the politicans which is the major problem with the HSE been in a shambles for years

Mute Cormac Dublin
    Favourite Cormac Dublin
    Mar 31st 2020, 5:56 PM

@Criostoir Mac Ranghaill: I’m more a fan of direct democracy politicians should not be a career!

Mute John O Donoghue
    Favourite John O Donoghue
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:13 AM

God help the people working as they are the ones which will be paying for all this another tax if not they’ll increase the USC instead of cutting their own salaries

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:39 AM

@John O Donoghue: Not if we organise and demand that the cuts start from the top this time

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:44 AM

Prepare to pay to keep the status quo peasants..

There ya go, shorthand…

Mute Imagine !
    Favourite Imagine !
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:26 AM

Just stay inside and do your bit to help the crisis. This moment is about the health of our peoples. Its far more significant than profit. There is enough food for us all. Money is paper – just paper. The ECB can print as much of it as we need.

Mute Imagine !
    Favourite Imagine !
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:28 AM

@Imagine !: When they ask you in time “what did you do to help in the epidemic” make sure you can say I isolated and lived like a hermit to reduce the spread. If you can say that you will have done your bit. The economy will be fine.

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:24 AM

Create New Skills. Learn from the past. It is how we’re fighting this virus. Reflect on our past

Mute Bitcoin Buddy
    Favourite Bitcoin Buddy
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:01 AM

12% USC incoming

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:54 AM

@Bitcoin Buddy: 16% corporate tax you mean

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:57 AM

Suicides will be the biggest killer from all this. Not the Virus.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:15 AM

@Da Vid: also in todays news –

The latest survey of China’s purchasing managers suggests that some green shoots are peaking out, as companies return to work.
    The Chinese composite PMI, which tracks activity across service sector firms and factories, surged back to 53 from a record low of 28.9 in February. That’s stronger than economists expected.Crucially, that lifts the PMI above the 50-point mark that separates monthly growth from contraction.Both key sectors of the economy reported a pickup:

Manufacturing PMI: Up to 52 in March, from 35.7 in February.
    Services PMI: Up to 52.3, from 29.6 in February

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:52 AM

@Dave Hammond: interesting stats. It’s all down to how peoples behaviour and mood changes here, how the Government brings back ‘normaility’ over the next few months in stages. Consumer confidence is going to take a while to return to reasonable levels,while assuming most of those 4-500k claiming unemployment at the moment, do return to work.

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:12 AM

The new age of Autarky…

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:33 AM

The journal need to get some pieces that offer a counter view – to balance out the BS negativity from EY that are just applying economic metrics and tools and stats that are not taking into account the actual circumstances – saying there is ‘recession’ because the growth is down nd economy is technically correct by these definitions but FFS the impact of a global pandemic there every market in the world needs to stop for health reasons is not something that can be just ignored – grounding planes and halting businesses is NOT the same as them going out of business and job losses due to lack of demand – it just isn’t the geniuses who compiled these numbers have NOT included all the counter measures that the ECB etc are taking specifically to tackle the damage – the ‘quantitive easing ‘ -and significant reduction in rates will help fuel growth at mush faster levels to try ‘recover’ from this ‘recession’ – you don’t need an MBA to figure out that these are extraordinary times and applying a bit of ‘cop on’ instead of just doom and gloom and the world will end nonsense is a pretty pathetic and pretty unbalanced narrative from EY – lets see how well this ages shall we – lets ask the authors in EY in 12 months time to stand over their narrative – I am happy to bet that they will just say that they were pointing out worst case scenario and showing how bad the job losses etc were and statistically speaking they are right on the numbers – yes things are bad – but anyone with a brain can see that the engines of this economy can be primed for a much quicker recovery than any previous recession in history – the pent up demand for people who will buy new phones , go out to eat , holiday with the family etc can all be projected to recover again reasonably quickly once the worst of this current virus is over etc – pretty disgraceful negative doom merchant piece imo.

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:11 AM

@Dave Hammond: do you understand macro economics? Or just wishfull thinking?

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:39 AM

@Da Vid: I don’t, can you educate us?

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:24 AM

@Da Vid: I do – very well thanks – do you understand context ?

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 31st 2020, 11:46 AM

@Dave Hammond: i do, but i don’t buy into your own personal ‘context’. Will i ask my original question again perhaps?

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:31 AM

Free travel in the EU still, Brussels will keep the member state’s airports open at all cost including human lives but more importantly why do you think Leo cancelled the Ireland Italy game yet as my 11 year old daughter pointed out when she said dad have they not already bought flights and hotels.. I said yes tut tut twits

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Mar 31st 2020, 6:32 AM

I’m very interested in how capitalist countries will recover compared to centrally planned economies like China. I hope people are open minded about the clear advantages China will have and that they don’t succumb to anti communist propaganda.

Mute Karin Muller
    Favourite Karin Muller
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:05 AM

Stop the negativity – we don’t need it right now. We have proven in the past that we can recover.

Mute Burn_the_Witch
    Favourite Burn_the_Witch
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:48 AM

I wonder will they televise the Revolution, or will cutbacks mean it will lose out to the Olympics?

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:16 AM

EY ? What were they called before hand and why the name change?

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Mar 31st 2020, 4:06 AM

How phucking convenient.

Mute gk ricko
    Favourite gk ricko
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:43 AM

Let kill off millions

Mute marian
    Favourite marian
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:15 AM

Get the money from riches

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:38 AM

Author could also use this time to learn how to at least spell the virus right.. or stick to Covid19… conravirus is a new one… God knows its spelling should almost be in autocorrect by now!!

More doom and gloom just what we want at this time tx!! True or not we’ve enough going around need more happy positive thoughts.

Mute Peter Leonard
    Favourite Peter Leonard
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:19 PM

EY who were Anglo Irish’s auditors? Great bunch of lads

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:35 AM

No shit sherlock

Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Mar 31st 2020, 5:58 AM

Fook with your stupid articles people need positivity this is a life and death situation

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:33 AM

Comparing now to 2008 is a mistake. Take this on its own merits.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:27 AM

@Vladimir Macro: I Agree – Master Macro. ;-)