You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
5. #STORMZ: The Herald has apologised after mistaking English musician Stormzy for Belgian footballer Romelu Lukaku on its back page.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
751 thumbs up and counting for Romans comment. That’s the maximum I’v ever seen on TJ. Doesn’t say a lot for Enda now does it! FG are almost out the door, Yeoww
You know this because you know all of them do you John? You generalise John, they’re individuals.
The only thing you can generalise about is people who generalise are generally idiots
Just look at the small number of students who bother to vote. They can shout and scream all they want but when it comes to the crunch, students are no where to be seen.
Before anybody has a go at me, stats don’t lie. Students don’t vote in high numbers.
So register to vote at the address you live in during the week. It’s not rocket science, you fill in a simple form. Granted, you can’t vote for the local gombeen politician who got the new road built and goes to every funeral in the parish, but you can still vote.
There were a fair few students on Occupy back in the day !! but definitly a small minority of 240,000 of them & some utter contempt from an insolent minority who passed by !!
Still no idea what the occupy movement was about. Doubt anyone protesting had a clue either. Apparently they were upset about something. Seemed to be mostly bored middle-class youth.
Wow, you (attempted to) egg the Taoiseach. Well done. How will that help your policy platform? Enda Kenny was in UCD to open a new student centre, something that those attending UCD and their predecessors have worked hard to get. These people should have had a day to celebrate their efforts. Do you think Enda Kenny or any decent politician would even have a meeting with any of your group after what you did today? Normal students participate in peaceful protests, petition their local TD’s, have public meetings, form their own alternative policies and actually get something done. Not engage in actions most would regard as criminal and childish.
I agree with you Seamus -violence isn’t the answer. I’d be raging if one of my kids engaged in this behaviour. Having said that, I have little time for Enda Kenny. He seems intent on targeting the poor, struggling families, people with special needs or disability, lone parents and, now, even our most vulnerable human beings aren’t deemed worthy of protection. What a legacy! It’s no wonder people feel the need to protest. However, all protests should be dignified and should never resort to vile measures that attempt to degrade and humiliate. It’s counterproductive as all the attention focuses on the incident, not on the true purpose of the protest.
”Do you think Enda Kenny or any decent politician would even have a meeting with any of your group after what you did today?”
Seriously mate, at this stage I don’t blame them for egging him, it gets coverage in the media and might make him think twice next time he breaks another promise. Which I will list if you aren’t up to speed on?
Niall, the Taoiseach was never trying to get credit for anything. Many groups invite Ministers or the Taoiseach to an event or an opening because of their position. You’re not just inviting Enda Kenny, you’re inviting An Taoiseach. There would not be as much media at the event today if he wasn’t attending. If groups don’t want him there they simply don’t have to invite them. To compare the actions of the French Revolutionaries to two guys who threw eggs at a man in a Student Centre in Dublin is disgraceful to their legacy.
Enda has lied and lied and lied . He has ridiculed and sneered at us . I am not surprised that this has happened , only surprised it has not happened sooner. I will say I do NOT approve of this behavior ,as I would be afraid that those responsible would lose more through their actions and Kenny would get all the sympathy BUT I do understand WHY.
He is at the end of the day a nobody with big ideas for dictating … REFUSE to be bullied .
…… I would love to have seen his face tho !
Enda will only attend ” good news functions”, the labour lads are only ever wheeled out to face public abuse and outrage. It’s seems a common enough strategy of this crowd.
European of the year award, Enda Kenny. Deal with media questions with regard to Savita…. Eammon Gilmore. The trend has been the same. Labour really are the whipping boys for FG.
That egg was probably thrown by a stereotypical UCD Abercrombie and Fitch wearing , fake tan covered, expensive jewellery laden, rich daddy having, regular drinking oompa loompa who could definitely afford fees.
Ciara Conway reveals on her twitter page at lunchtime how she’s loving the waterford blaa in the dail canteen today while there’s a protest outside her local offices,yeah just couldn’t make it up
I love the outcry that some people have over hearing about this. They are not moved by the death of a woman in a Galway hospital but they get all righteous when Enda gets an egg lobbed at him.
And so the last bastion of rebellion has fallen flat. The lower classes are too tired to care anymore, the middle classes too busy to care, the upper classes to comfortable! The student, the rebel, the future, the seed from which our country will innovate, pull through and succeed….and they f**ked up a simple egging!!! I’m gutted. We’re screwed…..:)
Can anyone see a trend. People on the streets, Gilmore and Enda being egged, protest outside the dail while they vote!?!! People are beginning to show their frustration :) bring it on
Just a bunch of cowards. Grafitti in the middle of the night. Throwing an egg from a crowd. Protesting with a scarf covering their face. Not one bit of legitimate protest.
Sean I guess the reason they do it in the middle of the night or cover their face when, sadly, mis-firing an egg is possibly indicative of the fact that in the banana republic you’d be rounded up and spend a night behind bars, at the Garda’s pleasure, meaning they would miss out on the next batch of egg throwing, its not like their throwing rockets or bombs, i suppose then it would be appropriate to discuss the legitimacy of such a protest, in the scheme of things an egg is pretty innocuousness i would say!!!
Very funny Vincent. Are you practising for Comedy Central. Unemployment is fixed at 15%. Cronyism continues. Minister continue to claim obscene wages and unvouched expenses. We are still committed to pay that lovely promissory note. We are bracing ourselves for the introduction of property tax and water charges. The USC will potentially increase in the next budget. Those of us working are being squeezed to breaking point, resulting in zero disposable income, thus no spending in the local economy. The weakest in society are having their services removed or reduced( home help, special needs teachers…). Please do me a favour poke you head outside your ivory tower and have a look around. A tiny little step into the bond markets does not equate to success when the extraordinary suffering of so many continues. Oh let’s not forget the thousands who have emigrated, they must feel very cheery with Mr Kenny.
It may have shown disrespect to Enda Kenny, but he deserves it!! He’s not thinking about being disrespectful towards us when he is putting his hands in our pockets, taking our money and giving it to bankers, bond holders etc!!! They should’ve pelted him with rocks for the way he has crippled the poorest in society!!!
Unfortunately he has let things get this way, he has lost touch with his eleggtorate. people don’t respect him or his government, because he has achieved nothing and lied about everything.
The only ones that do, are living in fear and probably still go to Mass of a Sunday…
Idiots who throw eggs at public figures ought not to even be in college at the tax payers expense. What good employer will hire someone who drags down the reputation of the insitution/organisation for whom they are fortunate to be a part of.
Not all students are there at tax payer expense some people pay big money to educate their kids…and sure didn’t they pay for the eggs …poor kids beans for the rest of the week some people need to stop watching and reading the news it’s stressing them out
“Fortunate to be part of”????? As a fourth year mature student of one of these institutions it’s safe to say they are fortunate to have students! A helluva lot of lecturers get away with murder when it comes to teaching..or lack thereof! And don’t get me started on the admin offices. It is the students paying their wages after-all, not the other way around!
Seamus you are Right. The French Revolution had something to do with Cake; Eggs are usually an ingredient in Cakes. So we need Flour and other things before we get to that stage.
Yes Sheamus your 100% right……..Are those egg throwers the business people of the futue, i hope they get the disrespect back, as they richly deserve…..As for the comments above, just goes to show the mentality of some of those who posted.——–
Yeah, we should take off our coats and lay them on the ground whenever Enda opens more buildings that the public never asked for, he is our master, and the least we can do as the “bizniz people of da futur” is obey every word until a scrap comes our way.
Total ignorance is the only way to describe the action of throwing eggs or any other object at an elected democrat & apart from that, there should be respect shown for the office of Taoiseach.
By all means have a protest but show some dignity & don’t turn a legitimate democratic protest into lynching mob, throwing objects will win you no support from the ordinary decent citizen as it associate your cause with the tracksuit wearing extreme left wing groups & their ignorant display of democratic protest.
Funny that, their illegitimate protest seems have won a lot of support from the ordinary decent citizen on here?
I’m puzzled? Could these ordinary decent citizens actually be showing disrespect for the office of Taoiseach. Could they be showing disrespect for our great leader (a thousand blessings be upon him)?
Ciaran’s got a point, Enda Kenny, like all TDs in the Dail, were democratically elected. Perhaps it would be more constructive to not vote in such politicians in the first place!
Also acting the maggot by throwing things at politicians only makes sense in the mind of extremists and only serves to isolate ordinary people who prefer dialogue and lobbying.
Stephen
Yes the public elected them but if you compare Fine Gaels election manifesto to what they have done since you would be forgiven for thinking that the opposition got in.
And boy is he listening to the protests as they have been commencing. Yes, you can bet that he will be taking head of the 30 minute marches here and there.
I deplore Fine Gael policies, if that’s what you can call the thinking of this government. Enda Kenny is not a fit leader for this country and has proven his incompetence at every turn, not to mention having a less than suitable relationship with the truth.
That said, if the best that the third level students of this country, has to offer, is throwing eggs at him. I really do despair for our future as a nation!
Throwing eggs is a far better alternative than stones; and gives the —hole a private look at what we think of him. Personally, I would go with spit or follow our simian friends, but that’s just me…
Next time a bucket of water would be ideal, as eggs have a tenancy to stray off target because of there shape. Plus everyone likes getting wet and wild especially on a cold day;)
Those eggs would be a portion of a student’s week worth of food while they wait for the grant money, if it ever gets to them. Huge sacrifices being made by the protesters there. They have my admiration.
disgraceful throwing eggs at our leader!!! such a waste when there are children going to school hungry. Even more shameful is the fact that they missed.
Students still looking for something for free. Some things never change. What makes them think they alone should escape cutbacks? Previous generations of students all had to pay fees. Why should this generation of students get special treatment.
Because it was a pre election promise not to increase fees. Remember the photo op with Quinn signing a ‘contract’. Students are fed up with the lies along with the rest of us. It’s not about getting anything for free……unless your a bondholder?
Well Dave I’m not in Ancient Greece and I’m using the term in context of the day! So maybe you should try living in the present instead of trying to look clever!
absolutely ridiculous. I don’t like enda kenny, or any of them to be quite honest, but I do hope they realise that the idiots responsible for this are not representative of the vast majority of students. they are a disgrace to the student movement and a disgrace to themselves.
Ryan I am a grad student who is currently working 3 jobs to makes ends meet! If you think throwing and egg will solve anything, then you really should consider emigration. Most of the jobs that are being created are for high end grad students ie IT and BioPharm. Fine Gael do not have a jobs strategy they have an emigration strategy. The difference being that I read your posts and I see a future banker, accountant or TV exec like the overly millitant students that grew up around me in the 80′s. The only effect that an Egg will have on change, is a fertilized one, that might develop into an intelligent force for change, clearly none of those around UCD today!
Idiot is an ancient Greek word, its literal meaning is someone who doesn’t take an interest/participate in politics, so I’m afraid you are wrong, these guys aren’t idiots. Maybe you are?
Thin end of the wedge! Politicians are now being seen for what they are; traitors. After the budget all will become clear to the people and TDs will get the boycott treatment, the people will treat them with the total contempt that they richly deserve.
Free education at third level is a new thing it is only in since 1996 or so. Enough wallowing and pointless protest Students get a loan, get a part time job get some initiative and move on. What about the countless thousands of people who did pay and managed to secure jobs in the 80s and 90s. This is what is like in most countries get over the mentality that you deserve something for nothing. Future generations may have more backbone as a result and therefore may be more aware of the importance of education itself. Nothing is decided yet on fees so cool the jets those who don’t have to pay £9000 per year like the U.K.
Shouldn’t the police and army etc who are supposed to defend this country from all enemies foreign or domestic have arrested this traitorous government by now?
Eggciting times, as students they should set up an eggcecution squad – 7 students fire eggs at the same time from behind the grassy knoll – who knows which egg hit him, fired by who – they could take them all into custardy as long as there’s no eggstradition… ;-)
No your trying to be condescending, your very successful as an idiot! Even using your defenition of the word, since as far as I can tell you have no interest in politics.
Ryan, no I don’t support the Shinners so having the PJ wearers here doesn’t suit me. The only jobs being created are graduate jobs so no need to emigrate, well except maybe the arts students that don’t go into politics. Wanting intelligent students, capeable of delivering effective change as opposed to egg throwing ones, in capeable of engaging in change, no brainer don’t you think?
Do you seriously think a grad student wants to Slavs away in tesco thanks to jobs bride or pathway to slavery courtesy of min harangue burton? And even if there was jobs for them there’re 15?of the population unemployed so there’s not enough to go around but your reading from a broken manifesto just like Vincent above who thinks employments down year on year. And if throwing an egg gets your goat up your in for a surprise I’m sure there’s more to come. Or is it that your jealous of students ?
There’s no doubt that the Taoiseach is doing a very difficult job. He was recently democratically elected by the people of the country. At the last election lots of noisy opinionated people claimed they could do a better job but didn’t stand. If the students who tried to assault the lawfully elected leader of the government think they can do a better job they too can stand for election. Any violence that is used instead of political action should not be condoned or tolerated. It is indeed a slippery slope to Fascism.
A man, whose family was German aristocracy prior to World War II, owned a number of large industries and estates. When asked how many German people were true Nazis, the answer he gave can guide our attitude toward fanaticism.
‘Very few people were true Nazis,’ he said, ‘but many enjoyed the return of German pride, and many more were too busy to care. I was one of those who just thought the Nazis were a bunch of fools. So, the majority just sat back and let it all happen. Then, before we knew it, they owned us, and we had lost control, and the end of the world had come. My family lost everything. I ended up in a concentration camp and the Allies destroyed my factories.’
Ah the Journal rabble rousers. Don’t you just love them. Let’s get out on the streets, burn things down, destroy property, tear up what we can. That’ll make the country a much better place won’t it.
Just as a matter of interest, why not do the water balloon form of delivery.
(Stick a couple of rotten egg yokes somehow in a couple of balloons)
Is it possible?
Like previous student radicals the egg throwers will no doubt end up in the establishment in the Dail or business or in the media in a couple of years. They always do. Remember Eamon Gilmore, Pat Rabbitte, Joe Duffy, Donagh Diamond, etc etc.
RTE on the 6.01 news said he had been at UCD – never mentioned student protests at all. Are they editing the news to keep students voices out of it? Well done The Journal for giving us the full story
How come we can open a new student centre and we have no money for repairs for the heating in a primary school.??Is this somewhat strange?or am I asking too much of equality??
CCTV from petrol station captured clear images of crash that killed Garda Kevin Flatley
Updated
2 hrs ago
Gaza
Entire population of Gaza at 'critical risk' of famine as Israeli aid blockade continues
21 mins ago
Dublin
Garda killed at speed checkpoint in north county Dublin
Niall O'Connor
Updated
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 187 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 126 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 165 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 129 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 91 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 92 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 44 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 41 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 150 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 69 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 88 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 95 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 40 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 56 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 107 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 111 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 79 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 60 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 100 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 83 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say