You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shane O'Neill Photography

Meet the gym owner who moved back in with his parents to launch an Airbnb for cars

Vehicle rental startup Fleet is due to launch in Ireland next month.

THE FOUNDER OF a Wicklow-based gym brand will launch an Airbnb-inspired car rental platform next month.

Maurice Sheehy, who owns Pure Fitness gyms in Wicklow Town and Arklow, will next month launch Fleet, a service that lets car owners rent out their vehicles when they’re not using them.

Sheehy – a nephew of ex-AIB chief Eugene Sheehy – said the startup wants to tap into the unexplored market of neighbours lending one another cars, as well as shaking up Ireland’s €320 million vehicle-rental sector.

“It’s pretty much impossible to rent a car in rural Ireland,” he told Fora. “Car-rental companies are based around metropolitan areas and airports. If you have car trouble, you’re left stuck a lot of the time.

“Being able to rent off a neighbour or someone in a locality and having that quick, social experience is a lot more enjoyable than having to travel and try rent a car in a city.”

A peer-to-peer car rental service is by no means a new concept. For example, US firms GetAround and Turo have both been in operation in North America since 2009.

Last year, Japanese manufacturer Toyota poured a reported $10 million into GetAround, while Turo has raised a total $101 million as of November 2015.

Fleet will go live in Ireland first, but Sheehy plans to launch it in bigger markets like the UK “fairly rapidly”. It is also hoped that “in time” it will be available in other English-speaking markets like Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

Sheehy also plans to tempt garages and other companies with dormant vehicles into using the service to “make a bit of extra revenue” from stock they find difficult to shift.

“I think every garage we’ve talk to have two or three (cars) that they’d be happy to put up on the platform,” he said.

Pricing will be set by the vehicle owners, but the final bill will vary based on the renter’s driving experience, age and other criteria.

“Based on the feedback we’ve had and from the focus groups we’ve had, we’re looking at less than €50 a day for the majority of people,” Sheehy said.

Maurice Sheedy, CEO, jointhefleet.     Picture by Shane O'Neill Photography. Maurice Sheehy Shane O'Neill Photography Shane O'Neill Photography

Insurance

He said he doesn’t anticipate any Uber-style regulatory problems and Fleet’s insurance will “supersede any insurance on the vehicle already”.

“The minute that car is rented by the client, our insurance supersedes everything else on it,” he said. “It won’t affect the car owner’s policy or anything like that and they’re covered from our side.”

The startup is currently in discussions with a “global insurance provider” to provide cover for the company, although Sheehy wouldn’t disclose the name of the firm.

To date, Fleet has mainly been financed by the 28-year-old, while a few friends and family who “thought it was a good idea” have also put in some money. About €300,000 has gone into the project so far.

“When I started the gym business, I bought the shell of an old house and over time slowly fixed it up,” Sheehy said. “I actually sold the house to fund this project.

“I’m moving back in with the parents for a while but I think it’s worth the risk. If you don’t take your chance, you’ll never know. I think I’d be kicking myself in a few years if I didn’t go for it.”

A farmer and horse breeder, Sheehy previously funded the launch of Pure Fitness by selling one of his racehorses.

He plans to launch a private funding round for Fleet six months after the app goes live, but won’t say yet how much he is hoping to raise.

When asked what his previous startup ventures have taught him, Sheehy said “patience” and has learned not to panic and to “keep the head down and work hard”.

Written by Conor McMahon and posted on Fora.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 30 comments
30 Comments
    Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:11 AM

Best of luck to him.

Mute Steve Austin
    Favourite Steve Austin
    Mar 25th 2017, 2:03 PM

So you start renting out your car ..it becomes an ex rental vehicle at time of sale or trade in..you have finance on your car you rent out does that make it a taxi/cab or is it a commercial vehicle to your finance company..economy of scale means this will not work on Ireland ..good luck to the 28 yr old !!

Mute John Birch
    Favourite John Birch
    Mar 25th 2017, 8:40 PM

@Steve Austin: guess they’re the main issues he needs to sort out w his insurance company mentioned in latter part of piece.

Mute Marcos Maguire
    Favourite Marcos Maguire
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:14 AM

You would want to be an absolute eejit to lend your car like this.

Mute Mistawez
    Favourite Mistawez
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:22 AM

@Marcos Maguire: The fastest cars are rentals..

Mute Lilly Passet-Nash
    Favourite Lilly Passet-Nash
    Mar 25th 2017, 12:30 PM

Why? You would make money off of your car while it would normally just be parked up, plus your car will be comprehensively insured. So if anything did happen, you’ll end up with a new motor

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne

Insurance company. How many drivers is on your policy Eh eh um oh let me see im with Air Bnb. About 50. I can just see the insurers licking their lips and rubbing their hands with delight.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:17 AM

@Eddie Byrne: heard him being interviewed a couple of weeks ago. He’s got a direct deal with the insurers, it doesn’t go on your policy.

Mute Mistawez
    Favourite Mistawez
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:15 AM

Sounds like a great idea, hope it works out for him!

If they can cover people who’ve passed their test, but have to wait 2 years to even rent a car.. They’d be onto a winner! This N plate bullshit is an excuse for higher premiums.

Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy

1. Won’t work here, absolute nonsense. 2. I wonder which bank is his lender?

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:28 AM

@Peter Brophy: READ THE ARTICLE. HE SOLD PROPERTY TO FUND IT.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Mar 25th 2017, 4:15 PM

@Ian Walsh: no need to shout

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:32 AM

Great idea, but at 50 Euro a day it’s way too expensive. I am a regular car renter at Dublin Airport and I never paid anything like 50 euro a day to rent a car. Although I am sure he will get some customers who can’t easily access Dublin Airport.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:47 AM

Be interested to see how parking fines/speeding tickets etc are covered ..and damage to the car itself.. other than that. good luck to him.

Mute Katie Wrest
    Favourite Katie Wrest
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Kieran OKeeffe: I’d imaging it would work the same as any rental, you are the driver for a specified time, so it is your responsibility.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:29 AM

Good concept, zero hrs contracts for cars that go straight to the scrap yard when finished, if only the employers could understand there is no moral equivalence between people and equipment which can be discarded! I can see operational issues with the insurance. The insurance vultures need to be clipped in this country. We need a centralised state insurance system with an extra charge on fuel at the pumps. Payouts capped unless you have life changing injuries, ie paraplegic etc in which case a monthly payment with ongoing assessments. If you want the bells and whistles then take out additional insurances.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 25th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Jarlath Murphy: Do you think the insurance companies make too much profit?

Mute Lilly Passet-Nash
    Favourite Lilly Passet-Nash
    Mar 25th 2017, 12:27 PM

I think this is an excellent idea. I would be interested in renting cars locally when I need them. So having such a company would make things much easier than having to travel to dublin to rent a car there…

Mar 25th 2017, 12:30 PM

Good idea for garages. Can’t see many people renting out their private cars.

Mute Clark Griswold
    Favourite Clark Griswold
    Mar 25th 2017, 1:57 PM

Great idea and works in other countries around the world. However, I would be worried about the insurance, pricing and I honestly think trust could be a massive factor. Myself and a mate tried to start a company where we would bring your car for it’s NCT and again trust was an issue with the idea of some unknown person driving your car.

Mute Bob Tallent
    Favourite Bob Tallent
    Mar 25th 2017, 2:44 PM

Great project. I wish the guys the best of luck with it

Mute Derek Trumper
    Favourite Derek Trumper
    Mar 25th 2017, 3:16 PM

Can just imagine it now two guards at your door asking your whereabouts as your car was seen leaving a shooting or armed robbery or never seeming your car again

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Mar 25th 2017, 5:57 PM

this has been around elsewhere for the past three years…

turo.com
    getaround.com

they are not doing very well apparently.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Mar 25th 2017, 2:47 PM

I have seen another company doing this in Australia- it seems to me to be a way of being able to afford a better car for some people- if you can hire your car out for long enough periods it pays for the flasher car.

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Mar 25th 2017, 5:27 PM

50 euro a day thats a laugh you can rent a car for 60 euro a week

Mute Eoin Bathe
    Favourite Eoin Bathe
    Mar 25th 2017, 7:02 PM

Use zipcar here in Canada. Brilliant service. Rent cars/vans of all makes and models by the hour or day. All essentially new vehicles with insurance and petrol/gas covered by Zipcar centrally. Have a credit card in each car to cover petrol and can be booked/reserved using the app or website. Keys are always in the cars and you’re given a card to lock and unlock the cars when your reservation starts. Cars are all across North America in grocery store parking lots and small lots throughout cities and universities etc. Small yearly fee of $35 CAD too…

Mute Roy
    Favourite Roy
    Mar 26th 2017, 5:19 AM

Bet the parents were fecking delighted !

Mute Niall O D
    Favourite Niall O D
    Mar 25th 2017, 5:55 PM

t

Mute Roghan Headen
    Favourite Roghan Headen
    Mar 26th 2017, 9:51 AM

Great idea, cars are a necessity not a luxury. Few Bob to be made here for those with cars that are parked up a lot.