You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Google Street View

Gardaí investigate after threatening leaflets posted to locals near greyhound stadium

A number of flyers were posted to residents in Ringsend last Saturday.

A GARDA INVESTIGATION is underway after residents living near Shelbourne Park in Dublin were threatened with “severe measures” if they did not join ongoing protests against the greyhound racing industry.

The Alliance for Animal Rights (AFAR), which holds bi-weekly demonstrations outside the stadium, says it has nothing to do with the threats and condemned the move as an attempt to discredit the group.

The threats featured on flyers which were posted to residents living on South Lotts Road in Ringsend on Saturday 23 November.

It read:

We are a group dedicated to ending greyhound racing in Ireland [and] we are seeking the help of residents of Shelbourne Park [sic] to come forward and end this cruel sport…the residents have sat on the fence far too long, it is now time to act.
If you fail to act severe measures will be taken against you, your property and your neighbours…

Protests have been ongoing outside the stadium since an RTÉ investigation revealed in June that almost 6,000 greyhounds were killed for not racing fast enough in 2017.

However, AFAR’s Bernie Wright said the group was not responsible for printing and posting the flyer, which called on residents to join protests outside Shelbourne Park “every Saturday night”.

She told TheJournal.ie that AFAR had a good relationship with local residents and described the flyers as an attempt to alienate protesters and locals.

“A few people were very irate when they got the flyer through the door,” she said.

“We absolutely condemn it. We can deal with it, but the problem is that a lot of elderly people were very upset because what was said was pretty brutal.

“From our point of view, you don’t threaten people to try to get them on your side. We have nothing to gain from this kind of tactic.”

A spokesman for the Irish Greyhound Board said it was aware of the flyer and that the board condemned the threats “in the strongest possible terms”.

The board also said it respected the right to peaceful protest and had accommodated protesters at its venues, but also said that members of the public who wished to attend greyhound racing meetings were entitled to do so without facing threats or intimidation.

A Garda spokesman confirmed that Irishtown garda station had received a number of complaints from residents on South Lotts Road in relation to the flyers, adding that the matter was currently under investigation.

Gardaí also asked that anyone who may have witnessed anything suspicious in the area between 6pm and 8pm on Saturday 23 November or who had other information about the flyers contact Irishtown garda station on at 01 666 9600.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute ivy mike
    Favourite ivy mike
    Apr 10th 2013, 4:40 PM

My gf was walking just in front of me in madrid using the metro and a boy and girl no older than 14 tried to dip her bag. Such a boot up the hole they got . Ireland 1 -spain 0

Mute Alan Grouse
    Favourite Alan Grouse
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:13 PM

There was a wonderfully insightful show called ‘scam city’ made by the good people of nat geo. Presented by an irish bloke who travels the world investigating and revealing the elaborate and dangerous scams in operation. From the lowly card shark to organised crime. All the episodes are on youtube and he rated barcelona the worst place of all for pickpockets. The problem is beyond endemic

Mute Michael O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael O'Reilly
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:49 PM

Hand it to the French ! They are great at downing tools to support a cause…..we should take a few leaves from their books !!

Mute Dermot O'Shea
    Favourite Dermot O'Shea
    Apr 10th 2013, 4:38 PM

Damn straight Michael. Moving back to Dublin in a few months after 5 years in France, going back to university before hopefully returning one day. We gripe about life in France the same as one would anywhere, but overall a fantastic country to live in with a very particular but endearing people.

Mute Garion Bracken
    Favourite Garion Bracken
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:08 PM

I was completely safe in Paris, being on a bike tour and looking a little rough around the edges. That was until I refused to give up my seat to a local for him and his girlfriend to sit down in McDonalds. Boxed me in the face after I repeatedly refused to move. Then sat eating his meal knowing the cops were after being called. His girlfriend spat on the police station floor and gave out to me for not being able to speak french in the lobby, after which I was brought upstairs away from her. Aside from that… Paris is a lovely place.

Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:33 PM

Heard one of the security guards had an ART attack!!

Mute Tony Duff
    Favourite Tony Duff
    Apr 10th 2013, 10:12 PM

red thumbs WTF

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:21 PM

Not Ireland,was in Italy recently and noticed very few gangs in the train station.This was not the case a couple of years ago when I felt very unsafe.

Mute Aarum
    Favourite Aarum
    Apr 10th 2013, 4:36 PM

Only back from there myself and a Roma went to grab my bag as I boarded the train, I slapped his hand away and shouted at him and after I got on board he just stayed there looking for another person to dip.

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Apr 10th 2013, 4:55 PM

But AArum, will you not respect their ‘Culture’?!
    It’s in their culture to steal from you so you should just put up with it :)

Mute Brian Roche
    Favourite Brian Roche
    Apr 10th 2013, 5:33 PM

I disagree… Depends where you go. I was in Naples last week and it was horrendous. Rescued an American woman getting horrible abuse from down and outs.

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Favourite Patrick Gormley
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:52 PM

Bugger thier culture. It’s our culture to retaliate. Sc*mbags , all of them

Mute Taxi Bill
    Favourite Taxi Bill
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:27 PM

Do not be surprised if one day in the future another “Funny little man with a moustache from Austria” comes along with a “solution” to the Roma “problem” .

Mute drogcolm
    Favourite drogcolm
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:41 PM

We should be so lucky…

Mute Thomas Hannigan
    Favourite Thomas Hannigan
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:57 PM

And our city scangers are just lovely….!

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    Apr 11th 2013, 5:17 PM

#Godwins Law

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:43 PM

Distraction tactics are favoured, Reuters reporting that some bird called Mona is in on the gig!!!

Mute tRPmqSBY
    Favourite tRPmqSBY
    Apr 10th 2013, 4:28 PM

Felt sp unsafe in Paris. I’ve been there back in 2008 and I saw one city. Just came back from there last week and I was so disappointed on how it has changed. It’s dirty, lots of people begging and this feeling to be aware of the pickpockets all the time. Same here in Dublin where I got robbed 3 times in a short period of time… Whatever the reason is its getting worse and worse :(

Mute Dave Garrett
    Favourite Dave Garrett
    Apr 10th 2013, 5:37 PM

Was there last week for a few days and agree with your comment. Too many beggars and roma’s

Mute Marc Anthony Power
    Favourite Marc Anthony Power
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:44 PM

God…. even the robbers are emigrating…. at least they ve developed some taste and gone more upmarket. ..the louvre is much better than the board walk or Talbot St. …

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Apr 10th 2013, 7:02 PM

I am so annoyed that The Journal censors any comments that are to do with references to Romanian criminals,pickpockets and muggers . It’s as though WE are being censored . Whatever happened to free speech.. Please allow the truth to be aired.

Mute Fin Tastic
    Favourite Fin Tastic
    Apr 10th 2013, 7:40 PM

Romanian criminals? Are you for real? No wonder they censor your posts!
    Roma gypsies does not stand for Romanian Gypsies. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roma_(Romani_subgroup)

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Apr 10th 2013, 9:33 PM

And travellers are not Irish. Right.

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Apr 10th 2013, 9:56 PM

Nice one Fin Tastic, hiding behind a pseudo name,wonder where you are from. Another one afraid of publishing the truth. Only when the onslaught arrives will you wake up and smell the coffee.

Mute T Beckett
    Favourite T Beckett
    Apr 10th 2013, 7:42 PM

Luas ticket “inspectors” ought to do the same until the scanger problem on trams is dealt with.

Mute Alan Barber
    Favourite Alan Barber
    Apr 10th 2013, 5:46 PM

I was in Paris recently with my wife and we were plagued with would be pickpocketers at every tourist attraction. The were mostly roma girls who were very aggressive . Great city anyway and very enjoyable trip.

Mute drogcolm
    Favourite drogcolm
    Apr 10th 2013, 6:40 PM

I’d bust their f*%kin heads in!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:07 PM

Get a cross body bag or a satchel and always keep it in front of you. Over 20 years travel experience on 4 continents including cities like Paris and Barcelona, sometimes as a solo traveller, and (touch wood) never been as much as hassled. If you wear a backpack, you might as well offer your valuables around on a plate.

Mute Irene Bijedić
    Favourite Irene Bijedić
    Apr 11th 2013, 12:00 AM

+1 I was in Paris just before Easter & there was a lot of Roma gypsies about but they weren’t any more or less annoying than the Roma gypsies on our streets in Ireland. I had an across body bag with me & felt really safe. Paris is amazing.
    People should be wary all the time & especially in big cities..

Mute Emma Keenan
    Favourite Emma Keenan
    Apr 11th 2013, 9:10 AM

A friend of mine always uses a back-pack, but keeps both zips locked with mini pad-locks…keys are around her neck under her clothes.
    Seeing the confusion on a pick-pockets face was quite funny as they tried their luck while getting on the underground in London.

I’m a cross-body bag person though…

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:41 PM

Their called the Labour Party in Ireland.

Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:48 PM

They are….

Mute Sean O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O'Sullivan
    Apr 10th 2013, 7:34 PM

This is a record! About 30 comments before someone linked it to Irish politics!

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN BITCH
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN BITCH
    Apr 10th 2013, 7:53 PM

It was nice while it lasted. Let’s just get the elephant in the room….
    FUGGIN BONDHOLDERZZZZZZ

Mute Declan Hickey
    Favourite Declan Hickey
    Apr 10th 2013, 3:20 PM

Fagan and the artful Dodger made it to France. Got to pick a pocket or two.

Mute noel beggs
    Favourite noel beggs
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:53 PM

Robbng the Irish taxpayer every week collecting their dole as well.

Mute cornflaker
    Favourite cornflaker
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:59 PM

Bit of a coincidence that they go on strike on the same day as Paris st Germains biggest match of their history in champs league tonight. They’re picketing from the boozer I’d say :-P

Mute nicola burke
    Favourite nicola burke
    Apr 10th 2013, 11:02 PM

Absolutely agree about Naples. Desperate place. Filthy and Roma gypsies all over the place they ride the trains and everything, exactly what we have in the streets of Dublin just more if them. Did not see one cop the place is run by the mafia. Allegedly. All the local people on the trains were lovely telling us to watch our bags. Have travelled many places in the world and it was the most unsafe we ever felt.

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Apr 10th 2013, 11:26 PM

Great comment. I made a somewhat similar comment earlier about the same problem in Dublin , especially around Grafton St area but it was deleted by the powers that be @ the Journal. Let not the truth be known..

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Apr 10th 2013, 11:39 PM

The demographic in question was named on most other news outlets, but oh no, not here…

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Apr 11th 2013, 12:01 AM

Exactly, next the Journal will be denying the holocaust ever took place.

Mute Roger Moore
    Favourite Roger Moore
    Apr 10th 2013, 5:43 PM

In wonder where the pickpockets hail from…..

Mute Martin Harkin
    Favourite Martin Harkin
    Apr 10th 2013, 5:55 PM

Sligo

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Apr 10th 2013, 5:38 PM

Did they walk out through Louvered doors?

Mute Annette Kelly
    Favourite Annette Kelly
    Apr 10th 2013, 9:21 PM

Visit Antwerp on a fairly regularly and see very very few beggars but police are very evident.