You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

'Heartbreaking to not have enough': UCC food bank runs out of stock 50 minutes after reopening

Students’ expenses for food are estimated to be between €250 to €350 per month.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Oct 2021

THE UCC STUDENTS’ Union (UCCSU) has run out of food at its food bank just 50 minutes after reopening it. 

The need for the food bank comes as students contacted the Students’ Union reporting that they were struggling to afford food after paying rent. 

In a tweet, UCCSU said they were “disheartened” to announce the reopening of the food bank but it was needed “due to increased cost of living, and cost of being in higher education as well as many other issues that strain students financially”.

In a tweet tonight, UCCSU President Asha Woodhouse said they had run out of food just 50 minutes after reopening the bank and “have had to turn students away”. 

“Heartbreaking to not have enough and to see so many students experiencing food insecurity,” Woodhouse said.

Earlier today, UCCSU Welfare Officer Caoimhe Walsh told The Journal that since taking up her position in June numerous students had rung her with concerns about being able to afford food.

“We’re getting a lot of students who were ringing me and telling me that once they paid off their rent, they had no money left for food.”

There had already been reports that students were seeking help with accessing food this year. “We saw an article online about how students had been going to Cork Penny dinners for food,” Walsh said.

UCCSU first launched the food bank for students back in 2019 in order to provide for students who couldn’t afford the bare necessities and are dealing with food insecurity.

Speaking about the food banks reopening today Walsh said, “it was really sad that we have to do it again… We were hoping that things weren’t as bad.”

The UCC website says that the average cost of living per month in Cork is between €1,240 and €1,880.

Average monthly expenses for students food are estimated to be between €250 to €350.

It also says that students can expect to pay a minimum of €500 per month for private rented accommodation before bills. On-campus accommodation at UCC is estimated to cost €600 to €680 per month.

UCCSU’s announcement of the reopening of the food bank on Monday came as the government launched the National Development Plan.

Two weeks ago, UCCSU, alongside the Union of Students Ireland (USI) slept out at the Dáil in protest of the student accommodation crisis.

Speaking about the student accommodation crisis Walsh said, “it’s getting harder and harder for students to afford [accommodation], which is just absolutely ridiculous. Something needs to be done.”

With reporting by Hayley Halpin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 63 comments
63 Comments
    Mute Raymond Barry
    Favourite Raymond Barry
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:25 PM

Stop partying 7 nights a week and eating well will not be a problem.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Oct 6th 2021, 4:37 PM

@Raymond Barry: I love how it always falls back to this type of lazy deflection from the crux of the issue – the rental market. Students aren’t partying 7 days a week, if they were they wouldn’t last past their first year of college. As young adults, they also deserve to be able to socialise at this important stage or their life.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 6th 2021, 5:25 PM

@Pedro: No, he wants them fasting in a cold room before they tackle their intensive studies. They should shave their heads and live like monks, and then teach hedge schools for scraps!

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Oct 6th 2021, 9:53 PM

@Raymond Barry: I somehow doubt the partying students are the ones starving.. believe it or not , it is a minority who party non stop wasting their parents money.. the rest actually want an education.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:54 PM

@Raymond Barry:

Part of a students learning is being able to manage money. I have no doubt the clever ones are top of the queue for free food and/or have part time jobs related to the sale of food!

Mute Ursula
    Favourite Ursula
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:55 PM

@Pedro: don’t blame everyone else for the woes of students, they are not entitled to anything others don’t have including food. It would be much better if you let them know they are only another cog in the wheel of life and shouldn’t expect what others don’t get either. Lots of jobs out there if they are hungry.

Mute SilexFlint
    Favourite SilexFlint
    Oct 6th 2021, 11:29 PM

@Raymond Barry: I spent my time in university not drinking, smoking, partying or doing drugs. Short of cash, eating koka noodles for a whole week, was not fun.

Mute Darren Sheridan
    Favourite Darren Sheridan
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:00 PM

@Raymond Barry: That’s not the issue. The issue is the price of rent. Not just for students either.

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:42 PM

“Average monthly expenses for students food are estimated to be between €250 to €350.”
    That’s roughly 60 to 80 euro a week !
    You’d nearly feed a family of 4 on that for a week in Aldi or Lidl.
    What are they buying !

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:51 PM

@Geraldine O’Riordan:
    Rough figures for example
    Tesco prices.
    Potatoes 2.5 kg..2.49 euro.
    6 pork chops..5 euro (3 meals)
    Ham joints about 7 euro. (About 3 meals)
    Frozen veg packets (2 for 2.50)
    Frozen pizzas 3 euro
    Own brand staples not too dear.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 6th 2021, 5:17 PM

@Geraldine O’Riordan: I’d hate to be a hungry student reading that list of food. It’s money they don’t have, after paying their high rents.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:02 PM

@Geraldine O’Riordan: tooth paste, soap, and lots more stuff. Bread, cereal, sugar, butter, salt and fruit and vegetables. I do understand the point but there is more to living than 6 pork chops and a few spuds with no gravy

Mute Atlas' burden
    Favourite Atlas' burden
    Oct 6th 2021, 11:57 PM

@Geraldine O’Riordan: my weekly shop comes to max 75 a week, that includes all meat, fresh veg, sweets, beer and toiletries. The only extras i need during the week are bread, milk and a few bits I may have forgotten. That’s for a family of 4

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Oct 7th 2021, 10:36 AM

@Atlas’ burden: could also go to Lidl or Aldi for the 49 cent specials of fruit and veg, would have a weeks fruit and veg for 3 euro. pasta is 49 cent in tesco, loaf of bread is 69 cent. some mince 2.90, sliced cheese 90 cent. I mean for a tenner you could genuinely have some good nutritious meals as a student. not to sound like a bore but when i was in Uni 4 of us lived in 2 bed apartment on parnel street, had to turn sideways between the 2 single beds to walk, one person bought and cooked dinner for everyone each day. We had the best times.

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Oct 7th 2021, 12:02 PM

@Atlas’ burden: You beat me to it! €60-70 per week. Make a menu for the week and stick to it.

Mute Darren Sheridan
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:02 PM

@Atlas’ burden: Price of groceries is not the point. Rent is.

Mute Ciaran Tuomey
    Favourite Ciaran Tuomey
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:31 PM

Isn’t this a matter for their parents

Mute Áine
    Favourite Áine
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:35 PM

@Ciaran Tuomey: not everyone has a supportive home or has a good relationship with their family

Mute Colleen
    Favourite Colleen
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:38 PM

@Áine: or parents with money to burn. The cost of rent is crazy.

Mute Áine
    Favourite Áine
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:47 PM

@Colleen: exactly right. Everyones situation is different, it isn’t for us to judge

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:08 PM

@Ciaran Tuomey: not everyone has helpful parents like varadkars

Mute Terence Martin
    Favourite Terence Martin
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:49 PM

@Ciaran Tuomey: Why would it be a matter for their parents? Everyone’s personal situation is different and I’m sure the majority are over 18 so you can’t tell them to ask mammy and daddy for help. They’re entitled to help if they need and if it’s available.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:17 PM

@Colleen: if you cannot afford to go to college, get a job, defer your course, then go to college and have enough to pay your rent. Don’t be relying on others to support you.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Oct 6th 2021, 6:22 PM

@Terence Martin: because the parents can still claim children’s allowance for them until 21 and in full time education

Mute Csilla
    Favourite Csilla
    Oct 6th 2021, 9:49 PM

@Craic_a_tower: no they cant, stop at 18

Mute Lotta Rossler
    Favourite Lotta Rossler
    Oct 6th 2021, 9:57 PM

@Craic_a_tower: unfortunately, that’s not True. Child benefit (I take that’s what you’re referring to?) stops at 18, no matter if the child is in full-time education or not. And in anyway, child benefit is only 140 Euro a month, that’s hardly enough to pay a student’s rent (or what they need for food and other cost of living).

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:31 PM

@Lotta Rossler: The well off must be getting it until 21 ….

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:44 PM

Well at least the foreign pension funds that own the housing are getting good returns for their investors.

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:03 PM

@Derek Moran:
    Suspend/ close off tax avoiding etc loopholes will give a much better return to our crucified taxpayers, but then we live in hope, which is about all we have left

Mute David Bishop
    Favourite David Bishop
    Oct 6th 2021, 3:40 PM

Over 60 euro a week on food?!!! Maybe they should stop buying swan sandwiches in M&S

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:48 PM

@David Bishop:

Part of a students learning is being able to manage money. I have no doubt the clever ones are top of the queue for free food.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Oct 7th 2021, 10:25 AM

@iohanx: copy and paste this again why
    Don’t you, snide l0ser

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:07 PM

I was once in McDolands and a few students sat down at the table. I got up to get salt and when I came back my dinner was eaten

Mute Michael Oats
    Favourite Michael Oats
    Oct 6th 2021, 1:28 PM

@Alan Campbell: this is definitely up there as number one contender for “didn’t happen of the year awards”

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:17 PM

@Alan Campbell: God you come up with some good ones!

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Oct 6th 2021, 2:30 PM

@Alan Campbell: sorry Alan, that was me but I was starving. You should have gone to McDonald’s I wouldn’t have touched that muck :-)

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 6th 2021, 3:24 PM

@Michael Oats: i had to go down two flights of stairs and I got stuck behind pensioner on a stick. Then I had to Wade through crowds to get to the salt sachets. So the scroungers had ample time to wolf down my breakfast roll with ketchup, double fries and diet coke

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Oct 6th 2021, 5:02 PM

@Alan Campbell: did they bin the rubbish or leave it there for you to do it

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 6th 2021, 5:04 PM

@Alan Campbell: You ordered double fries with a diet Coke? That’s a balanced diet all right.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Oct 6th 2021, 9:50 PM

@Alan Campbell: Lucky you.

Mute Darren Sheridan
    Oct 7th 2021, 2:03 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Judge Fiona

Mute Ed Dunne
    Favourite Ed Dunne
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:40 PM

Shouldnt be happening but it is so solutions other than food banks on campus are needed. Students need to be proactive about thier own food security too. I’ve worked in foodservice here and in north america….over there students put themselves through school by working a solid kitchen job…free food, an income through school and an essential life skill learned. Here we cant hire a chef for love nor money and any student wanting to work 20 hours a week in a kitchen will be taken seriously…..and well fed. Just saying.

Mute Jensen Bhroin
    Favourite Jensen Bhroin
    Oct 7th 2021, 9:11 AM

@Ed Dunne: Students aren’t really hired as chefs which is a trained skill so the jobs they get are generally not that well paid and tough and exhausting jobs that have long hours interfering with studies and which don’t often provide free food but ‘discounted’ food or in cases of fast food jobs, unhealthy food. I worked about 20-25 hours a week average, more when I could get it and over the summer, in a non-kitchen but well paid job (€12.50 p/h) while in college taking every shift I could (though the place wasn’t open on Sundays) and still barely scrimped by and while I was able to feed myself it did mean that I couldn’t focus on my studies and money was always a worry. What you are ‘just saying’ is rather ‘just ignoring’ the fact that the cost of living is untenable for many many people and suggesting a band aid approach that ignores wider issues that affect food security. This whole attitude is basically “why don’t students just work harder and smarter” rather than actually recognising and dealing with the actual issues.

Mute Enda Flaherty
    Favourite Enda Flaherty
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:15 PM

They are students. If someone offered me ‘free’ anything when I was a student, I took it. Vague memories of even drinking free pints of fosters which says it all! Unless they made sure only the people who needed it got it, what did they expect?

Mute Jensen Bhroin
    Favourite Jensen Bhroin
    Oct 7th 2021, 9:15 AM

@Enda Flaherty: I’d be more likely to read the story as they had too much demand from people that needed it and ran out before they could meet those needs. Most people will take something if it’s offered freely in a bar, restaurant or other general place, but most won’t queue up outside a foodbank or soup kitchen if they don’t need it.

Mute Mary Walshe
    Favourite Mary Walshe
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:55 PM

My son is a third year college student. His rent for this year is €3k, payable in full by Dec 1st, he is one of 5 in the house.
    He works 5 nights a week in a pub and has a weekend job as well, because he doesn’t want us to have to pay his rent or food costs.
    We pay full fees because we are marginally above the threshold for SUSI

Mute Dónal Ó Keeffe
    Favourite Dónal Ó Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2021, 7:21 PM

The charitable “Penny Dinners” in Cork will be grateful I’d say. If you really want to tackle the expenditure of students, a good place to look might be the cost of student accommodation.
    UCC are the largest landlord in Cork and I’m sure were in receipt of large grants to provide affordable student accommodation. Is it affordable or not?

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Oct 6th 2021, 9:56 PM

@Dónal Ó Keeffe: if students can’t afford the rent then they should not be attending college.

Mute Mango mango
    Favourite Mango mango
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:13 PM

@Dave Barrett: that’s right Dave! In fact I’m surprised that the government even fund primary schools. Only the very wealth deserve an education.

Mute Sara McS
    Favourite Sara McS
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:40 PM

@Dave Barrett: really so you think children with ability from less well off backgrounds shouldn’t aspire to being doctors, scientists, teachers etc etc?? I was lucky to live at home during my time in Uni but many can’t. The rents in the last few years are untenable. Most students despite your narrow view are very conscious of the cost to their parents and are slow to ask for extra funds I imagine

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Oct 6th 2021, 12:08 PM

It’s a f’ing disgrace is what it is.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Oct 6th 2021, 9:44 PM

Fur coat no nickers society

Mute Eamonn O'Hanrahan
    Favourite Eamonn O'Hanrahan
    Oct 7th 2021, 12:44 AM

Man… They should like change the constitution so that like there is a free education for everyone. And there should be like a right to be provided with free accommodation in a nice house in a nice area. No-one wants to live in a small house in a crappy location, and to have to pay for it is so like not cool. And man, the constitution should like give more and better social welfare. Yeah man. No-one should be poor man. And like we should help the mica people 100% man. And like all the front line dudes and dudesses should get a huge bonus man. A few grand at least. Man, there’s so much to be done to make things better. But no-one should get a job because of financial pressure, man, that would be demeaning and violation of their human rights. It should be a constitutional right to not be poor man. Peace man…!

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Oct 7th 2021, 9:35 AM

@Eamonn O’Hanrahan: you will have the National Woman’s Council on ranting next with all your ‘ MAN’ stuff.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:07 PM

@Eamonn O’Hanrahan: In a country where we give out degrees like smarties we should remember that eating too many smarties makes us sick. Too many useless degrees and reducing highly educated people to work in retail feeling worthless because they threw 4 years of their life away.

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Oct 7th 2021, 5:05 AM

Hold on a second what sort of journalism is this?

Food banks have to close after 50 minutes.
    Right but, how many meals were served? What did they expect to give out?

Hardly sounds like there was a mass stampede for food so this more sounds like they just didn’t plan many meals. The article seems very sensationalist bias.

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess
    Oct 6th 2021, 10:48 PM

If you can’t afford to go to col,Don’t

Mute Kian Griffin
    Favourite Kian Griffin
    Oct 7th 2021, 9:05 AM

@Ian James Burgess: Really? Be less of a pr|ck

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    Oct 7th 2021, 1:36 PM

@Ian James Burgess: you obviously didn’t.

Mute John Hetherton
    Favourite John Hetherton
    Oct 6th 2021, 11:53 PM

Jaysus, ye are getting away lightly down south. My lad is paying €800/month rent in Dublin and lucky to get it..

Mute Marcus Mc Cann
    Favourite Marcus Mc Cann
    Oct 7th 2021, 11:07 AM

a part time job maybe 1 – 2 evenings a week (8-10 hours roughly ) or a Sat or Sun would give them 80 to 100 a week … this would solve a small part of their problem. There are lots of bars restaurants and shops looking for extra part time staff coming up to xmas. They have to try to help themselves like the rest of us. We are all struggling with rent, bills, food etc.

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    Oct 7th 2021, 6:01 AM

FF FG the greens continue their assault on middle Ireland

Mute Colin Heffernan
    Favourite Colin Heffernan
    Oct 7th 2021, 7:28 PM

Did they not save their Communion and Confirmation money? No help from grandparents? None of this adds up. They can’t all be atheist orphans.